Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Morangie Hotel Tain

Morangie Road, Tain, IV19 1PY, United Kingdom

#8 of 11 hotels in Tain

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 444 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    8.3
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent, one of our party had an early train to catch and was given a breakfast at 6am. We had bicycles with us which were safely stored in an outbuilding

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.8
    Few minor issues but thoroughly recommended if you are looking for a place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed was two singles pushed together, with the join you're always worrying about falling through during the night! Shower was rubbish, which I don't understand as there was plenty of pressure in the water taps, yet the shower it just dribbled out of! Shower mat was a paper disposeable one, cheap and nasty and not in keeping with what they were trying to achieve. TV was tiny for the size of the room.

    Staff are fantastic - can't do enought to help you and are so friendly! Plenty of parking space, nice big rooms, good food in restaurant (or bar), superb breakfast, for once I didn't have to go hunting a power outlet in the room!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    a charming well appointed friendly hotel that makes you wangt to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    This is an old hotel and a little faded glory which adds to the character of the building, it still felt like a traditional old charm hotel. We booked at short notice because of the weather and were not disappointed. The welcome from reception was excellent and we were given a lovely upgrade to a large room which was really comfortable and well appointed. We ate here later and the bar food was good value for money. Great portion home made food. Breakfast was great and the waiting on staff were really helpful kind and obviously well trained. I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing comes to mind.

    The hotel is quite old and I like this. It just has more charm to it than modern hotels, in my opinion. The room we were in was much bigger than I expected and was nicely decorated. Shower was over a bath, some people might not like that but it's fine for me. Breakfast was great. Thanks very much!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel with good food in an excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi was not great at all, needs a bit of looking at, but 4G was available so it was not a problem to get email etc.

    Nice hotel, food really tasty and staff were very welcoming.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.9
    The staff were excellent and very friendly, could not rate...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although not a dislike, the rooms are a little tired and out dated, but still acceptable.

    The staff were excellent and very friendly, could not rate them higher. The meals I took, breakfast and dinner were very good. The dinners I took x 2 were very good to excellent. The variety and quality were spot on.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Happy in the Highlands
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the room Only resturant and communal areas

    Love this old hotel. Food was outstanding! Sat in the lounge for dinner right by the fire. If traveling in the highlands a great place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.5
    Comfortable hotel with good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom needs upgrading, especially the shower.

    The staff were very pleasant. The bedroom was a good size with double aspect windows. The meals in the restaurant are of consistently good quality.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Hotel still good value but restaurant needs a rethink !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Menu has changed and not as good as it used to be in my opinion. Also very expensive now , most starters are £9 now which is too much. Posh nosh aspirations but not quite making the grade unfortunately !!

    Beautiful old building. Nice bar and restaurant.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Staff excellent and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Long wait to be served dinner,and a well done steak turned out to be medium rare. Sausages were burnt at breakfast,and fried eggs hard on the bottom.

    Staff excellent and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    5.4
    Alright for a one off stop, however expensive for the low quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor in the room requires updating. Carpet in the bathroom...really!!! Would have looked fab in the early 90’s.

    The food was very nice. The staff somewhat friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    Even without pre-booked breakfast (glad I didn't as it turned out) this was NOT value for money !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely appalling buffet breakfast. More like a sort of scout camp than a hotel. I typically look for low sugar cereals - muesli by choice. The prepacked Alpen has a sugar content that is way over the odds for me as a diabetic. There was fruit (prunes) if I wanted. Where was the fresh bread that I'd enjoyed the night before? I was offered a cooked breakfast but if I took that option then I'd be paying £15.00 for a coffee and scrambled eggs. I took a look at Google Maps and found The Storehouse of Foulis off the A9 about 15 minutes drive south of Tain. Overlooking the Cromarty Firth - I had a CRACKINGLY GOOD scrambled eggs on toast / coffee for £8.50.

    Food in the restaurant was really good. Particularly liked the broccoli and blue cheese soup. Fresh bread (although a somewhat miserly portion). I'd happily dine there again. The lady on reception when I arrived was delightfully helpful and very pleasant. I had high hopes of a great stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    3.8
    Was given a single room due to double booking - room was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was given a single room due to double booking - room was like a box room ! Not what you expect when using booking.com to book business trips. Unlikely to use hotel again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    4.2
    Dreadful.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Total rip off. No bathroom amenities, no shaver socket, no towel rails, shower door broken, room only 20 sq m approx, dirty carpet & slate bathroom floor, no phone or water glasses,no drawers or shelves to place clothes, no WiFi, bedroom door handle loose & main door into cottage broken ,only one bedside light

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night

    Once again the stairs, I guess its part of the deal in the UK

    Another great old hotel, we were made to feel welcome from the minute we walked in the door. Staff were very helpful and friendly and we felt part of the "family". The rooms had good facilities and were nice and quiet. We happily recommend to all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    “One off beautiful experience”
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s location is breathtaking and isolated. A real feel about life in the real North of Scotland. The couple running the place were so friendly and helpful and even had real ales😃. The food was all local produce. It was total chill out time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice, old hotel with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel would need some renovation, but it still has its charm

    Nice hotel with a history Friendly staff Good cuisine Spacious room Location - Glenmorangie distillery is around the corner, several golf courses, Tain and other nice, little towns (Dornoch...)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel with excellent food, in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The signage at the road could be improved and the drive and grounds given a makeover.

    Breakfast was very good, indeed, all food was very good. It was lovely to have food served on hot plates!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    6.7
    A somewhat tired hotel redeemed by several very pleasant members of staff and good cooked food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some worn and tired looking carpets and a badly damaged bathroom door and lock in our room. Bedroom windows difficult to close. The breakfast buffet was frugal with tinned fruit in juice and one bowl of fresh fruit. Some pretty hanging baskets, but in general, the grounds were uninspiring.

    Excellent and friendly staff and cooked food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    OK but felt very-priced given under-delivered on expecations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A big let down having stayed some years ago when the place seemed quite top-notch. Empty sherry decanter (and one sherry glass) in the room was a reminder of the days when there was complimentary sherry provided in the room. Best to take away the reminder. Great view from room to the estuary - but also not so nice view of the hotel's waste bins. Could have do with better draw space - had to keep clothes in piles under the TV table as bedside draws are totally inadequate for more than 1 night's stay. Dining was a little spoiled with noise of a football match on the TV in the adjoining bar. Fabric of room was good but stair/reception car park rather dirty/shabby.

    Room in the old part of the hotel - good solid walls so little noise from neighbouring rooms. Great size room with views and good ensuite. Plenty of parking. Good selection of dishes for evening meal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    A relaxing spot for a short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel is quite grand and traditional. Our room was large, bright and comfortable. We enjoyed an excellent breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location suited us very well, just on the edge of a very scenic, remote area. We were sorry we only booked one night here.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location for visits to the area, quiet, easy to reach from the A9. Friendly staff, very tasty dinner and breakfast. Spacious room although the decor is a bit stuffy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable and quiet. Not very congenial, somehow, and hallways rather tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Initially I was given small room with shower not bath. I had specifically booked room with bath. Complained and was given better room, with bath. Lights in the room stopped working one evening - this was fixed.

    Quiet, spacious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Been here several times. Handy for route north. Spacious rooms, good food. Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once you are inside it is great, if a wee bit old-fashioned, but outside it looks neglected. They could do with a gardener.

    Big bedrooms, clean, comfortable. Excellent food and very welcoming staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    An excellent, all-round experience. We would certainly use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The whole ethos of the hotel was excellent. Room was beyond expectation and from first arriving all the staff were attentive, willing and pleasant. The food was excellent and served quickly and efficiently. Nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Good value , clean, great location and town access. Sad to see a grand old lady be “modernized”
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appeared short staffed forcheck in. Desk staff a bit short . A little tired looking. Outside garden path ways needed clean up and tending ( broken glass, trash, no flowers )

    Location, breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Excellent base for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room Furniture is a little damaged and some stair carpets are showing signs of wear. Large menu choice for dinner and excellent quality of food. Large car park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    5.8
    Too expensive- go to Dornoch instead?
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room only deal cost £100 per night- very pricey. Much better deals are to be had across the firth in Dornoch.

    The food was excellent if a bit pricey. The room was very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn’t return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very dated especially the bathroom , shower very slow just trickled. Curtains not blackout so awake from 5.30am. Outside of building not very welcoming, first impression very run down.

    The bed was very comfortable , food was lovely and good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant clean and friendly stay would certainly recommend and also stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much just what I said in the above message.

    The Hotel is just a beautiful old fashioned Hotel spacious bedrooms very clean, although the bathrooms could do with being up dated as the suites look as they are still in the seventies but having said that they are very clean, any criticism I would say mattress in room 22 is far too hard, the Hotel needs a complete cosmetic lift from painting and replace hall and stair carpet as it is frayed on the steps of the stair leading to rooms 16-24. The out grounds could also do with a good clean up . But having said this it does not take away the lovely friendly staff and scrumptious food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived at 11pm to a less than warm welcome. No “hello”. No eye contact, no smile. Infact the only communication was “I’ll have to take a swip of your card for extras.”. I then walked into the bar for a late scotch, and the two occupants of the bar also ignored me, despite a cheery “good evening”.... My room had no cupboard space whatsoever for clothes, nowhere to lay a suitcase to unpack. The shower in the bath although nice and hot had a hanging curtain that was blown in by the draft so ferociously it clung like cling film making it almost impossible to wash. The bed was harder than a hard thing, probably the worst nights sleep I’ve had for a very long time. Breakfast was sparce at 7.30am no Orange juice, no Cranberry, almost no grapefruit. Breakfast order was delivered wrong, Shame...wont be returning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    A great stay with comfortable rooms and great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Ideal and friendly owners who provided an excellent stay for 4 weary travellers. Fire was already burning in the Drawing Room and breakfast the next morning was ...just what the doctor ordered! Coffee was excellent and families very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Overall, was a great stay and would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast on the Saturday and Sunday morning was not as good as during the week. (Different chef maybe!) Frozen croissants! Not much of a continental breakfast as offered.

    Loved the room and Comfy bed- great service at breakfast and evening meal by staff. Great location for getting out and about in car and walking distance into the town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    Amazing view from rooms in the front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dry air inside the room, probably due to heating which I eventually turned off.

    Amazing view from rooms in the front. Kind service. Tasty breakfast. Comfortable bed. Very close to Glen Morangie distillery.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice discover :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was a bit funny to use, it seemed changing the button for the temperature didn't really have any effect... it was either cold or hot.

    Great food choice and the staff was really helpful and cheerful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    6.7
    So glad I was upgraded to a superior room which really was nice. The room was large and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Evening meals were presentable but failed to suit my palate. First meal was a Thai green chicken curry which had little flavour and was more like soup on a bed of rice. Second meal was Lasagne which was well presented but tasteless. I would stay here again to lose weight. The portions were of a good size but I merely picked at the food.. Staff were friendly and the hotel itself was perfect location for my needs.

    Breakfast was expensive £15.50 per night. The size and layout of the superior room was nice however I do feel fortunate from feedback that I had been upgraded.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    2.5
    Fine to stay if you’re driving through and plan just to sleep the night and leave, nothing else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the most uncomfortable mattresses, glasses in the room were dusty, and the complementary water bottles were refilled with the cap put back on. When I asked for another one I was told I’d be charged, even after telling them the bottles were refilled.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay apart from small mistakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife requested some croissants to be heated up but unfortunately came out not even warm. Taking more care of the food orders would help.

    The friendliness of the staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surprised that the first night had been taken off my card. It was a work trip so by charging the first night to my own cards caused me issues when I processed my claim.

    I liked the old fashioned feel. FM of character

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was lovely. Having the jacuzzi style bath was a great extra that we didn’t expect (didn’t read the description properly). Had a meal there and it was amazing! Thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.6
    Wonderfully relaxing. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having had a wonderful fresh fruit dessert in the evening, it was a disappointment to be offered tinned fruit at breakfast. This is a minor comment however as the rest of the breakfast menu is magnificient.

    Beautiful venue with very cheerful and helpful staff. The evening meals offered are superb. My partner has to eat "gluten free" and the hotel produced a complete menu of gluten free options! A rarity in the Highlands.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could do with being updated. Also for people who are staying a number of nights, a greater change in the menu might be well received.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    6.7
    hotel in need of modernising ,my shower didn't work , reported in morning fixed quickly
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a lift although room was on first floor it was still up 3 flights of stairs and no thought of help with luggage , being disabled I would have liked someone to ask if I would like luggage taken to room ,

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV had a very small screen and the shower was too hot and seemed to be boiling or freezing and no in between

    Cosy bar area, with a nice atmosphere, walking distance to town, warm room, all very clean, hotel had lots of character

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.1
    The hotel was comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 guys, 3 double rooms, same price paid for all the rooms, one had breakfast included, had to pay an additional £15.50 each for the other two. Misleading advertising techniques the search

    The hotel was comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    9.2
    I’d definitely stay here again, a fantastic location for exploring the surrounding area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was patchy in the room however on my phone network 02 I had full 3G service so no problem. (There is hassel free wifi access in other public areas).

    The friendliness of the staff and cleanliness of the rooms. My room was well appointed including a trouser press, tea/coffee making facilities. The bed was a comfortable mattress/quilt set up. I opted to have dinner in the bar and there was plenty of choice available. Btw the battered fish and chips was outstanding.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    I would just make it passablePassable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room - Non-Smoking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift poor view from room noise from pets breakfast mediocre no selection of meats no black pudding

    New year eve dinner very good nicely presented good selection fairly priced

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Sufficient for our needs and no real complaints.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating in the room was cold for the first night but improved with time. The cold weather didn't help.

    Food was good with adequate choice. Service was first class.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Friendly family run hotel with lovely atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad signage at entrance found us going into trade entrance by mistake in the dark. Car got stuck on ice and mud. This driveway very badly maintained with waterfilled potholes.

    Food good without being cordon bleu and very good value for money. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Quiet and peaceful. Staff helpful and friendly. Lovely old Victorian building.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    A pleasure
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What's not to like?

    This was an excellent stay from check-in to check-out. This was mainly due to the exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. The food was excellent as was our room - room 5.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    3.8
    Dissapointed
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dated & tired looking, could not get shower to operate, bathroom was cold due to not being able to turn on radiator,car park & driveway entrance was in need of surface upgrading.wont be back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant village and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view from room to speak of. Dining room staff took a VERY long time to take the order having given us the menus. Also asked for water when menus were presented (to take tablets) but none arrived until we asked again as order was taken

    Very comfortable bed and well equipped room. Excellent wifi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Good location pleasant staff but disappointed with evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food over salted and salad very poorly presented with far too much on plate and staff member unwilling to return meal to kitchen to remove at least three quarters of what was on plate and on returning meal it still had far too much salad on plate

    Breakfast good evening meal poor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    Decent value for money, gorgeous building, romantic setting, great for a couple's weekend/quick stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Furniture a bit old, bathroom door defective, but not a big issue. A minus though for the awful vent in the bathroom - extremely loud.

    Great room with a view. . Overall a great location, nice staff, good food, generous parking, quiet area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.8
    Our stay was made very uncomfortable by hard beds and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our stay was made very uncomfortable by hard beds and very noisy fellow guests in the room above, who woke us every night in the early hours. The hotel food, staff and cleanliness was good. However, the building lacks insulation between rooms, which means the slightest noise from neighbours can be heard easily. This does not make for a very restful night.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    5.0
    Adequate as it is close to my family but the room looked tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Mon 4 Sep 2017 am the fire alarm was activated to which the staff did not follow any evacuation plan. My wife dressed and went to reception to find out if we needed to evacuate where she was accused of 'having a shower?' A gentleman followed her to our room where she was exonerated. Turned out one of the Morangies supplied hair dryers in another room had malfunctioned resulting in smoke which set off the fire alarm - lucky it was not a 'real' fire. In our opinion the room we stayed would benefit from a little bit of work or thought: * Bathroom extractor fan extremely noisy and ineffectual. * Nice chair placed behind the telly, so you could not sit and watch the TV without sitting on the bed! * No plug socket for the Gentleman trouser press hence took up room but unusable. * To use the hairdryer my wife had to scramble under a table to a double extension cable to plug it in, of which only one worked - so she had to unplug the table lamp to use the hairdryer. Not very elegant. * My wife could not quite understand the pink pillow protectors when the bedding was white! Did not look good.

    Staff were pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.6
    A great 5 days in a peaceful well run hotel. We will definitely return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit tired but spotlessly clean. I can't really fault this hotel

    Room was spacious and very clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly, very helpful and polite - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was amazing and other meals well cooked and presented. The hotel is in a quiet location but with easy access to the A9 road.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    I would certainly recommend this hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soap tray in the shower was clogged with scum but was noted by the receptionist.

    Very relaxed atmosphere. Easy walking into town centre. Very nice walks for our dog.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.9
    Great highland hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not very big and the gluten free option was particularly small only four items and beans 😔

    It had an old highland house feel and was very homely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.3
    A very disappointing stay and poor value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was incredibly dated, shabby and unclean. Peeling wallpaper, stained carpet, broken and dirty windows etc. The facilities were generally very poor. No wifi.

    The staff were friendly. Dinner and breakfast were okay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Delightful staff and food, would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our group stayed In a single room which was small and a bit noisy due to being near the kitchens. We couldn't fault the double rooms.

    Staff were all very friendly and helpful, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Huge bedrooms, clean and comfortable and food in the restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The driveway had big puddles at the entrance to the grounds. Front door handle spring was broken leaving handle dangling down, and main stair carpet was badly stained. These initial impressions let the hotel down. The hotel is grand Edwardian in style but a bit faded glory in feel. Bed was a bit uncomfortable.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. They are all local Scottish people which is quite unusual these days, and nice to see. Breakfast was very good, freshly cooked and well presented.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.5
    We had a lovely, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a lovely, clean room with a nice big corner bath. The dining area was good as you had the bar area and the restaurant to choose from. The food was excellent and large portions. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.2
    we will definately be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Shower was a bit old, and could do with being renewed

    The staff were excellent, the choice at breakfast was amazing and made fresh to order, the evening meals were also excellent, staff could not tdomore for you. the beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Enjoyed our stay and we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    The staff were excellent as was the food. The meals at breakfast and dinner were very generous in their proportions.The room was very comfortable and room service were friendly and made sure we had everything we wanted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    The staff were great and very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only issue we had was the water pressure was very poor in the room's shower.

    The staff were great and very friendly. The room was spacious. Dinner and breakfast were great. Lots of choices.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.8
    We travel to the Orkney Isles every year and always stop at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do think it needs some tlc in places, the carpet up the stairs to our room definitely needs replacing.

    We travel to the Orkney Isles every year and always stop at this hotel. So it must do something right

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    4.2
    Ok but would not book there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom window sashes broken - had to wedge window open with a blanket. Lumpy beds, luckily there were two so we did not have to share which would have made it hard to be comfortable. Breakfast buffet not refilled adequately - a large group grabbed it all to the detriment of individual guests - more monitoring required.

    Large car park Quality of food was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was terrible - a hole in the middle.I loved the hotel - dated though. Needed new carpet in some areas very worn. Things can be replaced whole respecting the history.

    Food was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful old charm property - clean and quiet location with friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We couldn't figure out to use the Jacuzzi tub and when we called the front desk, the new night staff was not able to assist. Wasn't a big deal - still had an excellent soak in the large tub. Great way to unwind after a long day of touring and sight seeing! The 'free wifi' was a chronic issue - in our room we were continually disconnected and had to relocate to be near the main reception (the lounge) to maintain connectivity.

    Quiet and clean location with a great comfy bed! Had a lovely dinner with a super dessert - the sticky toffee pudding was so-o-o-o yummy!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.3
    Spacious room, enough for an eightsome reel, which may have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strict portion control with breakfast sundries. Fruit juice of low quality.

    Spacious room, enough for an eightsome reel, which may have been apt as a large wedding party were also staying. Their partying till breakfast to a wee edge of the stay, but who wanted to rain on their festivities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    8.8
    A comfortable stay with excellent meals but in need of investment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Doors squeaked and in need of oil. Shower head gave a poor spray and in need of replacing. Hall carpet at reception was filthy. Generally the hotel was looking sad and in need of major investment compared to previous visits there.

    Bedroom was clean and comfortable. Good maid service for room. Tea, coffee, including decaf coffee replenished daily as were biscuits and bottled water ( plain & Sparkling) The menu was good and the food excellent as was the service at the table.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.1
    TLC required
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morangie House needs some TLC, and perhaps a cash injection. It's apparent that curtains etc are dated, this is such a shame. Our bed was quite hard so not a great nights sleep. The sherry decanter in our room was empty so we wondered if that was for decoration only, although on the website it was a characteristic of the hotel.tLC

    Morangie House is a beautiful building in a scenic location. Nice airy bedroom and very peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.8
    Don't be put off by the exterior!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside is a bit off-putting. It's a grand old house but looks really down at the heel from outside. The bedroom was therefore a pleasant surprise. The breakfast was adequate but mediocre. My poached eggs came hard, and the toast had been forgotten about! That said though, I'll go back - it still rates as good for what is available in the area!

    Huge bedroom and ensuite bath. A little old fashioned but not dowdy. The bar area is pleasant and atmospheric. The staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable beds and large well appointed room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains unlined meant room very bright and made sleeping difficult.

    Very comfortable beds and large well appointed room. A bit dated but that did not matter. Excellent bar supper. Large choice on menu. Really friendly staff. Welcoming place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: