Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Moss Grove Organic 5 stars

Grasmere, Grasmere, LA22 9SW, United Kingdom

#6 of 22 hotels in Grasmere

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 494 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our stay and there were only a few minor negative points.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Strange breakfast arrangement crossing the hallway to consume the food I had thought that a five start hotel would have 24 hour service? Reception was caged off after 9pm. Car parking was a bit complicated - not enough room for all residents cars without 'motorised musical chairs' No dedicated lounge / sitting room

    Central location very good Staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Would stay again.

    Spacious, clean, rustic! Would stay again. Booked because offered one night stay on a Saturday which many places do not. Breakfast was also included and was lovely!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable four day stay in central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass shower door leading to the bathroom, just a swinging door with 3-4 inch gap round straight of the bedroom didn’t offer enough privacy when visiting the toilet

    Lovely staff, couldn’t do enough for us, very clean and comfortable room. Loved the Cumberland sausages at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bed was too hard and pillows too soft for our taste and gave us back ache, but apart from that the room was very comfortable. Parking could be tricky, but the staff were helpful and moved their cars to make room.

    Enjoyed the spa bath and separate shower which were appreciated after a day's walking. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Lovely relaxing stay, good room and nice breakfast. Very quiet location in the center of Grasmere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking had to ask other guess to move cars when needed to leave.

    Lovely room, very large bedroom and bathroom. well organized in a good location, pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    I felt very comfortable and welcome here and will definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was on the ground floor and it was a bit noisy especially in the afternoon when I tried to take a nap and also in the morning. I could hear people talking in the kitchen. But evening was fine.

    The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The staff are exceptionally kind and welcoming. The breakfast was quite good and plentiful but not sensational or anything. It was more or less what I expected. It's centrally located so easy to get to restaurants and trails around Grasmere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice & Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great and the staff wonderful. I wouldn't necessarily call it a 5 star hotel though, I would think you would get more value for money with 5 star. Breakfast was nice albeit odd.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better seating arrangements for breakfast

    Central location, warm and cosy,very peaceful and quiet. Staff very helpful, lovely organic breakfast very good choice of food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    The staff was welcoming and friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was welcoming and friendly ... the room as excellent couldn’t fault it and the spa bath was brilliant. You couldn’t get a better location great value for money we will be staying again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable and fantastic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing we keep coming back. Our favourite hotel.

    Very comfortable and fantastic breakfast. Friendly and welcoming situated in the heart of the Lake District.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Property is in the middle of all the bars restaurants etc so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property is in the middle of all the bars restaurants etc so everything is in close proximity, buffet style breakfast was something for everyone, also they have a dvd collection which you can choose from if you fancy a late night , hot tub was fantastic

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    Nicest place to stay in Grasmere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a little better. I felt this was the only thing that let Moss Grove down. It would have been nice to have more of a cooked breakfast instead of food like crostini and spring rolls. It just seemed a bit of a mis-match. There was plenty of different types of organic cereals & jams but bacon, tomato & a choice of eggs to go with the sausage that was provided would have been excellent. Parking is a bit tight, definitely not enough for the number of rooms. I'm really not sure where we would have parked if we hadn't got a space. We arrived about 1pm. We knew we couldn't check in til 3pm so popped in, told the owners we were parking up & went & had a wander round til 3pm

    Loved the location, perfect right in the middle of Grasmere Village. Walked out & there were the cafes, restaurants & pub. After walking round Grasmere, I really think Moss Grove was the nicest place to stay. Rooms gorgeous (we stayed in number 3 at the front of the house overlooking the village). Bathroom huge & the jacuzzi bath was a lovely touch. Liked that you had a separate shower as well. Bed was really comfortable. Nice selection of teas & coffee in the room along with a teapot & little shortbreads.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    An incredibly comfortable stay at Moss Grove Organic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    An incredibly comfortable stay at Moss Grove Organic. A luxurious and much larger than average room, which was self contained with sofa, TV, balcony with sun loungers, tea, coffee and sumptuous bathroom with shower and big bath with a spa function to disperse the aches and pains after a long day's hike. Thanks John for kindly allowing me to go into the kitchen early so I could set off in good time to catch up with my guide at the various meeting points. It made all the difference to planning my day. A great location for accessing all the different areas of the Lake District. Will definitely return!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    The outstanding location the room size and all the little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning in rooms

    The outstanding location the room size and all the little extras shortbread in rooms organic shower gels etc e made this different to all other accommodation stayed in previously. The breakfast was good but better tables in the dining room would have helped and also air conditioning or fans in the rooms in this hot weather.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.8
    SUPERIOR room overpriced. Breakfast was VERY good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad things: room in the attic ( and this SUPERIOR one did not have a balcony which is not clear when Booking for SuperiorRoom), 2nd floor, sloped celling in the room, VERY HOT (the weather was hot and no air conditioning nor even a fan), the proximity of pubs means late night drunken laughter (but you can close one tiny window and get cooked). Breakfast from 08.30 (come on, some people like to go walking early at times!), semi-self service but the BEST CHOICE AND QUALITY OF FOOD SO FAR for me ( maybe except a breakfast in Milan).

    Good things: location for walks, nice welcome, restaurants and pubs around. The room relatively modern (including bathroom), spacious and clean (except the shower- extensive mold on the grout and I will spare you looking at photos), good bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommend to stay here. Had a lovely relaxing time in lovely surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Absolutely loved it here. Staff were spot on, room was fantastic (we stopped on the room with a hot tub), breakfast was ample and Grasmere is a lovely place. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    The location was excellent close to other places to eat and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much not to like other than no bar on site but drinks are available 👍

    The location was excellent close to other places to eat and drink in the evening but no crowds in the evening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Setting in the village can be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went during heat wave would have been nice to have fans in room as ontopfloor so difficult to sleep.

    Setting in the village can be. Quant rooms. Very comfortable bed and Jacuzzi bath. Good choice of continental organic breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful location and hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A minor negative, Though the room was superb,Bed was very high in superior room to get in and out of

    Very spacious and luxurious superior room and stunning location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you book a superior room you get a balcony overlooking the village which is perfect for a glass of wine in the evening. The buffet breakfast was wonderful, comprising local and organic foods.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfy lovely beds needs more staff.
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The self service breakfast. The food was all mixed up. The breakfast chef / agency worker was moaning about being over worked. ( he was the only one in the hotel ) No staff in hotel over night just cc tv. Wall paper on ceiling hanging off.

    Very clean and comfy. Very good position

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable stay. Would certainly return & recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything !

    Very quiet even though we were close to the road. Good parking. Very comfy bed & pillows. Large ensuite. Breakfast was fresh & tasty with interesting variety. Staff were very pleasant & helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a fantastic place with a lovely ambience. Rooms were super spacious, spa bath in the very spacious bath. Breakfast was delicious and not just the traditional. Staff were very helpful and attentive. Convenient location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    Really enjoyed our stay celebrating our first wedding anniversary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was very warm weather and room was too warm to sleep. Could have done with at least a good fan available.

    Lovely warm welcome. Room was clean and bathroom was great with a lovely spa bath and shower which had fantastic water pressure. Breakfast was lovely and catered for everyone. Relaxed, friendly atmosphere in a beautiful location. Would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.7
    Good place to be
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dining room facilities are at best inadequate, since you cant really get a table to sit at, but may end up sitting with your breakfast in your lap in order to eat. Although it was holiday, I could have used a working table as I need to work a bit also on holiday. WIFI superb

    Have a hard time understanding that the breakfast can be award-winning with generally days old bread, some even date expired. This doesn't mean that breakfast was bad at all - it wasn't. Great room with a nice bed and balcony. Drainage from shower needs improvement though

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable eco place to stay in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Option of mood lighting would be good in the bathroom. And opportunity to have some prints or photos of Lake District landscapes on the bare walls?

    Eco theme; breakfast buffet; large bathroom and spa bath.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great location for climbing some of the best known Lakeland fells .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personally, nothing.

    Wonderful central location for exploring Grasmere by foot and the local area. Lots of places to eat within a few minutes walk. Lovely organic breakfast, refreshingly different to the usual English affair. Huge bathroom with spa bath and separate shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    A lovely restful luxurious stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are less mobile be aware that the stairs are quite steep up to the 2nd floor as there are no lifts. There are some rooms on the ground floor though.

    Beautiful spacious room with superking sized bed and gorgeous furniture and a nice view overlooking the village. Bathroom was huge with a fantastic spa bath and a spacious shower. Quiet and picturesque setting in the heart of Grasmere village. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Delicious homemade shortbread in the rooms too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely overnight stay. Would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were not great.... we both woke up with stiff necks.... Maybe having a choice of pillows could be an option.

    Our room had a lovely view of Grasmere....Good sized bedroom and great bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    A most enjoyable stay and we will come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing not to like as all was perfect to our requirements.

    We found the facilities to be extra special and the beds extra comfortable, breakfast was also very good with a selection of everything you could wish to eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    Not 5 stars quoted
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast arrangements were both limited in choice and awkward in dining /lounge room area. I though that whilst the hotel was nice enough, it did not strike me as the 5 stars it states or price commands . Room we had was nice, but lacking in personality and rather basic.

    Location, friendly enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent quality accommodation, large room and bathroom,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent quality accommodation, large room and bathroom, serving good choice of breakfast offering something to suit everybody's dietary requirements. Situated in this lovely village with a variety of walks right on the doorstep, would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gluten free sausages and gluten free crostini were delicious. Relaxed, self service breakfast in an informal dining room. Huge bed with soft luxurious linen. Spa bath very relaxing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    We had a lovely break in Grasmere and surrounding areas and would definately use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For us it was a warm, comfortable hotel with very friendly staff, which is all we needed.

    Everything about the hotel was pleasing and the fact that it was right in the centre of Grasmere was great. We didn't have an evening meal, but the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Lovely boutique 5 star standard hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This would rate as one of the best places we've ever stayed in - excellent location in the middle of the quaint village of Grasmere, parking out the front, gorgeous looking hotel, welcoming staff, beautiful premises, huge rooms, luxurious bathrooms, super comfy beds, delicious breakfast... would return today if we could! Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff were excellant, very friendly and nothing asked was any trouble. Room was superb. Huge bed and everything in the room was very comfortable. Great WiFi too. Balcony was a real added bonus. Fully recommend and will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Probably the best B&B in the Lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very well appointed rooms, ultra comfortable bed and a jacuzzi bath - hotel room luxuries in a B&B. Outstanding! The lounge area is also very comfortable and I’m mad with myself for not realising this until breakfast time. The breakfast, by the way, is very very good. Loads of selection and mugs if you like yo start your day with a mug of tea. 😁

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    A very pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bedroom was on the second floor without lift. 60 years old + like us would have preferred the first floor. Also was under the eaves so had to keep making sure not to bang our heads on both sides of the bed. Next time will make sure to book a room on first floor.

    Lovely breakfast - great bathroom - hotel a very central location in Grasmere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    A very pleasant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like other than wifi was very weak from our top floor room.

    Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, couldn’t ask for better! Breakfast was an amazing selection of choices.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel. Beautiful rooms and great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When told breakfast times which were from 8.30 explained on a course. First day was fine but on my second and last morning even though had reminded man felt a nuisance which was a shame after such a pleasant stay.

    The room was absolutely beautiful, so spacious and lovely spa bath. Was made very welcome when I arrived

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable stay at centre of village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double or Twin Room - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's in a good location at the centre of Grasmere. The ground floor bedroom and bathroom were spacious. The spa bath was a lovely treat as was the underfloor heating. Bed very comfortable. The breakfast was a continental type as advertised. It was a nice change from a full English and the member of staff at breakfast was very friendly and helpful. The house wasn't too busy and the breakfast seating arrangements were fine for us. Comfy area available for sitting during day and evening.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Lovely place will visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very kind my partner is over 6 ft tall so on arrival changed our room to accommodate his height without us asking. Nice attentive staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Lovely break - we will stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are very well presented and have a welcoming feel to them. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely with lots of choice, and staff were on hand to make poached or boiled eggs if you wanted them.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.4
    Overall always enjoy a visit to Grasmere but would we stay here again-not sure at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed in our room was incredibly hard and consequently we both had disturbed sleep and woke up with aching backs. Sorry to say also breakfast not as good as last time we visited Bedroom had sloping ceiling on one side with no warnings with resultant banged heads when forgot about it when accessing chest of drawers under it. Comment to hotel staff suggesting signage would be appropriate did not even result in an apology from them!

    Great location Good sized bathroom

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    A lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t easy to find. Please do not follow sat nav. Once we worked that out we stopped going round in circles. Once in the hotel we soon forgot the trauma.

    The property was lovely. We had a lovely room with a beautiful bed. Heated bathroom floors and a wonderful spa bath to relax after a long walk

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Excellent!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay! We stayed in room 2 for Valentine’s Day (with a hot tub) and the room was lovely! Each section (bedroom, bathroom and lounge area) was large and spacious yet had a very comfortable feel to it! The hot tub was great and we was told on arrival how to use the jacuzzi bath, hot tub and under floor heating etc so that made things easier too! Honestly couldn’t fault the place! Staff was friendly, although there’s only 11 or so rooms it was very private and you couldn’t hear much noise as we had a bose sound system in the room and you couldn’t hear our music when in the reception area (right outside our room) so that’s a bonus too! With the room we was greeted with a very good selection of teas (normal and herbal) coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits, and sparkling water in our room along with bathrobes and slippers which was a very nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    A tonic..!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact we had to go home.

    The staff where all very welcoming, helpful and friendly. We loved the high ceilings and spacious rooms. And the way they where tastefully decorated. It had parking right outside and our dog was made welcome.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Our stay was relaxing and stress free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was comfortable and the jacuzzi bath was relaxing after a hike!

    The staff were amazing and there was plenty of choice for breakfast.I am gluten free and they provided gluten free sausages,bread and made crostini for me.All organic produce too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Winter getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the breakfast, there wasnt much hot choice... What there was, was lovely, but no full englush to set you up for a day in the hills

    Perfect little spot in Grasmere and the decor, furniture & hot tub were all so cosy & inviting... Hot tub was on and ready to go when we arrived and was lovely & hot... Jacuzzi bath was even better after getting back from a long wet hike...Moss Grove is Perfect for a winter getaway... Staff couldnt be more helpful, recommending places to eat & local walks. I will return as Grasmere is such a lovely quiet village, but still close enough to Ambleside & Windermere... Thanks for a lovely stay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.1
    Quirky slightly odd experience. Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was chaotic, help yourself from the kitchen, not enough sit down tables to eat. No door on toilet, no toilet roll holder, old tv so screen layout meant half picture was missing. Home made toiletries were not nice. Large bathroom but small bath.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.2
    suite with hot tub
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a let down would expect more from a five star hotel. A full english would of give the stay a 10/10 from me.

    Spotless room. Comfy bed and great spa bath. Hot tub was superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    5.8
    Nice big comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaner had cut corners in the bedroom, there was a lot of build up of dust on the bed frame, had not been touched for weeks, 👎

    Nice big comfortable bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Perfectly relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a shame the yoghurts were from Somerset rather than The Lake District.

    Loved relaxing in the spa bath and having the underfloor heating. Bed was comfy and huge. The buffet breakfast had a great variety and was delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    Overall we enjoyed it very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen on the buffet breakfast, not what you’d expect for a 5* Hotel would prefer full English and table service.

    A lovely location and room was excellent!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.8
    very disappointed,not good enough in all aspects for a 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night

    was looking forward to the breakfast and it was nothing special.we had no milk left for us in our room so when wanting a cup of tea at night theres no one on reception and the kitchen is locked

    the bed was comfy and the hot tub was ok.The hotel is central so easy to walk round the village

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    A cosy Winter break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only tiny negative I noticed was a bit of dust on the bedside lamps, but it was really not an issue for us as everything else was great.

    Really comfortable room, lovely bed, underfloor heating in bathroom really appreciated when staying in December! Great breakfast and really helpful staff, dietary requirements well catered for. Lovely comfortable lounge and complementary tea and coffee in the afternoon. Nice to stay somewhere so eco friendly too. We would love to stay again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Accommodation was superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation was superb...home from home.........Big comfy bed and good quality linen and towels. Breakfast was totally organic healthy food. Super location in the centre of Grasmere. Hosts were very informative but respected peoples privacy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Lovely but..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Hot Tub
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing is step to the bathroom was hard to see and ended up falling over banging my head/neck on the bed frame.

    Lovely room, loved the hottub, bed was really comfy and location was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    The hotel is in a fantastic location in the heart of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is in a fantastic location in the heart of Grasmere and the staff were extremely friendly and welcoming and not imposing in any way. The rooms were very large and unique and one of our rooms had a lovely balcony overlooking the front. The self-service breakfast was really well presented with many choices. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Slept like an angel
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If our room had had a seperate walk-in shower that would have made it perfect. But just a minor niggle, it really was a lovely stay.

    We had a lovely welcome and were given an upgrade. The bed and the linen were super comfortable. The buffet breakfast was very varied with excellent quality foods. We were right in the centre of Grasmere and could walk to everything.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.8
    Adequate facilities but not wowed by anything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of breakfast could have been better- the seating and dining arrangements left something to be desired- lacked atmosphere.

    Liked the informal breakfast. Liked the location. Quite liked the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    notbing ee did not like but a couple of observations. pillows were very soft but I appreciate that is a personal opinion! Breakfast was not quite as comprehensive as it has been in the past but nevertheless excellent.

    warm welcome.....very clean room.... great facilities..... very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    A very nice comfortable hotel in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the rooms are very large and comfortable, the buffet breakfast and lack of a bar etc, made the hotel feel more like a guest house or B+B than a hotel.

    The room was very nice with a large bathroom. The hotel is located right in the heart of Grasmere. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Delightful accommodation in an idyllic setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a limited number of tables so some guests sat in an armchair/on a settee with their breakfast on a tray or at a low, round coffee table. They may not have minded but I wouldn’t have been happy with that arrangement especially considering the price of a night’s accommodation. We had a room in the eaves - if you have any issue with ascending or descending a short flight of steepish stairs, request a room on the first floor. However, I would still return and thoroughly recommend Moss Grove.

    Luxurious facilities; a wide-range of delicious & interesting foods on offer in the self-serve breakfast: locally sourced, vegetarian and “healthy” options. The staff are very welcoming and I don’t think anything would be too much effort! Add to this the beautiful setting and plenty of restaurants and bars in the village - what’s not to like?

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for a romantic weekend in Grasmere and beyond.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom too warm and when we opened the window we were woken by the smell of cooking in the kitchen

    We stayed at Moss Grove for my husbands birthday weekend in Grasmere. The room was an exceptionally large bedroom with an even larger ensuite bathroom plus a spa bath. We had to sleep wi5h the Windows open as the room was so hot even with no heating on.... The breakfasts were delicious with a fabulous array of cereals with added seeds & nuts to select from, fresh fruits, yoghurts, mini bites and hot mini Cumberland sausages plus delicious fresh homemade bread, wonderful. We feel in places a few touch ups to the paint and decor are needed! But would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable, friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable, friendly. Great breakfast. Helpful staff. Great location. Easy to get to by train and bus. You don't need a car to have a great time in the Lake District.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely, comfortable room with a view but a bit pricey for overall experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast and health and safety hazzard coming in and out kitchen with trays and busy breakfast traffic.

    It was self service but appeared to be run by a member of staff. Everyone was bumping into each other in the kitchen and coming in and out of doorway. Seating in lounge was varied and some not suitable for eating at (all dining seats/table taken). I think using member of staff to take orders or only having hot stuff in the kitchen might be better. If cold buffet was in larger space I think it would work better. To be honest a more traditional breakfast service would be better all round. No issue with food itself- very nice actually but cold toast by the time I had queued in kitchen. Self service, continental breakfast when paying quite a premium just strikes me as a bit lazy. It's location saved it- only double left in Grasmere and room and bed was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.3
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to help yourself to breakfast make own tea toast etc. first 5 star hotel we have had to make own breakfast. We arrived half hour after breakfast started. Most hot food gone

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    a great weekend away for a honeymoon and it was a very relaxing and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast menu could have been more extensive,although what was on offer was really nice,the lay out of the breakfast was a bit cramped and there could have been more tables in the breakfast/lounge area

    The room was really well layed out with lovely furniture and the bathroom was massive with an extremely nice spa bath and shower

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    A lovely hotel in a great location with friendly staff. We had lovely break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    It was a lovely hotel which had been recently refurbished to a very high standard. Our room was really large and well furnished. The hotel gave excellent access to the local shops bars and restaurants and provided easy access to the Lake District attractions. We were on a walking holiday and had a great3 days.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    An ideal spot for our purposes and an individual environmentally responsible place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to be careful of the stairs down into the bathroom. Another time would ask for a room all on one level.

    Relaxed, obliging and friendly. Very comfortable with excellent, beautifully cooked breakfasts.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    6.3
    Breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bedroom far too warm no air conditioning, noisy if window left open. A fan is available but the noise of it disturbed our sleep. A very uncomfortable silence at breakfast would have benefited from a little background music.

    Breakfast was very good. The decor was of good taste and the property appeared to be very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.1
    A bit disappointing & quite expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a room (9) on the top level. The ceiling of the room had very low rafters which were quite dangerous. It was very easy to hit your head, which my husband did. I would avoid rooms 8 & 9. The decor throughout doesn't have much charm or character. The Mediterranean breakfast which was self service in the kitchen. For what you pay for this B & B I think you could expect more. Not much choice & everything organic!

    Grasmere is a lovely town. Kylie who manages Moss Grove Organic is lovely! There would be no business without her, the other 2 gentlemen are not very friendly at all!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking wasn't to spacious for our large car. Breakfast was nice however it would if been nice to be waited on. Paying all that money you would expect it.

    I found the room was nice and big and very cosy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    6.3
    Great location but disappointed with the breakfast..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 5 star guest accommodation, I think it's a bit much to expect guests to go into the kitchen and collect their own breakfast.

    Great location and lovely bedroom.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: