Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Muckrach Country House Hotel 4 stars

Dulnain Bridge, Grantown on Spey, PH26 3LY, United Kingdom

#12 of 24 hotels in Grantown on Spey

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 128 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    9.3

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Pet Friendly Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable. We stayed in the brand new out house. The room was roomy with a surprisingly high ceiling. The view through the patio windows was to the West and uninterrupted. When we stayed the landscaping was not complete but it did not spoil our enjoyment on tea on the patio an coffee in the morning. The meals were superb, the staff attentive and friendly. We will definitely be back. Ps the dog loved it yo

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Stunning hotel!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pet Friendly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wow! Stunning hotel with very helpful staff. We stayed in the steading, which included a double room, en-suite bathroom & living room. Couldn't have asked for more, just a shame we only stayed for 1 night.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Very calm and relaxing, a respite from the busy roads of Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were sightseeing and traveling through Scotland and did not take enough time to just relax and enjoy the beautiful setting of this house.

    The house was more than a country house, superbly decorated yet very warm and comfort able. The room was excellent - furnishings, decor and bathroom w heated shower and towel rack. The dinning room atmosphere was open and spacious, with a view of the grounds, The food was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having been told by the waiter there were no steaks available that evening, but beef wellington was on the menu. When I ordered it, was told it was no longer available, but sirloin steak was. The steaks duly arrived cooked as requested. They were tough gristly and of very poor quality. My wife did not eat hers & I just carried on eating as best I could for a while. Then complaining to the waiter, the cost of both meals was removed from our bill. That however wasn’t really the point. A ruined dinner, then followed by waiter service so slow at breakfast, only one waiter to attend to a fair number of guests resulted in an extremely poor performance. Just what you don’t need after a seven + hour drive with a further five to follow the next day. Overall, not a happy experience and a poor choice considering the cost.

    Breakfast food was fine with a decent selection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    Can't wait to go back there again. David R Hampshire
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good.

    Mark the manager gave us a warm welcome and explained That we should have read the booking instructions that told us to ignore the sat nav (which took us down a very deeply rutted farm track) Anyway we had a lovely couple of days in a beautiful hotel in a stunning location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel with amazing food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing - they couldn’t have been more helpful. The meal we had in the restaurant was also wonderful, and the rooms were lovely - really luxurious. We will definitely be going back for another visit!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel, great staff, lovely food and a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fabulous hotel, great staff, lovely food and a great selection of gin & whisky. What other hotel has a highland cow in their grounds..... Archie is quite photogenic! Would definitely go back. 10/10

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely flawless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property is stunning and the service is lovely. We ate at the restaurant both nights and had absolutely terrific meals with service by an attentive and engaging wait staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful quality in beautiful surrounding great attention to detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing no negatives at all

    We were upgraded as a surprise. Our room was just beautiful! Dinner was superb. Staff very kind and helpful. And only 15 minutes from the Caerngorm mountains

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    7.1
    Stylish property nicely decorated but a bit stiff and lacking in ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait a long time to check in and then the lady doing it was very abrupt and not welcoming. Same lady served our dinner also in a very unfriendly way.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully presented upmarket Country house. Friendly and hard working staff. Very attentive. Great location for both Cairngorm national park and Speyside whisky trail.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    It was a wonderful hotel - it was luxurious without being 'blingy' - extremely comfortable with absolutely everything well thought out. The surroundings were stunning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing

    This is probably the best hotel in the U.K. We have stayed in and we regularly stay in 4 star hotels. Set in beautiful ground this small hotel has been tastefully restored the interior design is perfect. The staff were friendly helpful and hardworking nothing was too much trouble. Evening meal and breakfast were tasty and we weren't charged the full price for breakfast as we just had eggs benedict. Worth much more than the £99 room rate. Will definitely return and recommend to others.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good.

    Lovely surroundings, when we eventually found the Hotel, the Sat Nav. took us over the fields! Lovely food, an amazing breakfast, try the Porridge, with Fruit berries, cream and whisky! Dinner excellent too. Our room looked over the fields with cows and hills beyond. Will be back sometime.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of any.

    Great hotel, spotless clean! Staff are nice and helpful. This is the best hotel in our UK trip. Both breakfast and dinner are excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in worldwide with outstanding food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing I did not like

    One of the best places we have stayed in world wide. Very quaint yet modern. They pay attention to every detail. Food is outstanding. We had dinner and breakfast at the Hotel and rate it A+. Rooms were comfortable and bathrooms very nice. Location is terrific.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    4.2
    Below expectations. Not the best service for what you pay.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-out. I have stayed in more than 250 hotels and this was probably one of the top worst check-outs i've done. The person who appeared to be the boss, did not even look at my eyes, crossed more than 3 words which pretty much where "give me money" and did not asked how was our stay, nor offering us breakfast option. We had a couple of minor problems, and he did not seem to be interested. On top of that, bill was 198£, and we paid cash, he said, do you want the change? Really, I am not a picky person but I will not come back to this place as long as this individual is there. And that is a pity because I work for a Luxury travel agency and that place looked really nice to me to sell.

    Restaurant staff at night were attentive and friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Very comfortable bed, luxury feel to bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly odd to have artificial flowers and antlers accessorising such a high quality establishment

    Very comfortable bed, luxury feel to bedroom. High standard bathroom and quality toiletries. Well priced menu.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    The staff particularly Jack and James were uniformly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It may sound a little pedantic but the brochure left lying for patrons to read suggested that the evening menu was changed regularly. Our experience having stayed three nights was that it did not vary at all and that might be picked up on by inspectors. A suggestion might be the occasional "special of the day" which other hotels at which we have stayed manage to produce just to give some variety to a menu which might not otherwise come within a 4* classification. BUT - overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and might well return one day.

    The staff particularly Jack and James were uniformly welcoming helpful and chatty. Sue was also very interesting in describing her plans for the future. Spud the Piper was an unexpected bonus. He was also a very nice man to chat to.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    A lovely hotel in a beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very good but unfortunately there weren't enough of them. The ones on duty were so busy that there was quite a time to wait for drinks and food.

    A lovely hotel in a beautiful location. Excellent food.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    10
    Wonderful haven in the hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room/conservatory was beautiful-felt as if you were in the garden. Food was excellent - evening meal and breakfast. Beautiful touches throughout hotel-loved the tartan themes in bedrooms/cushions. Overall wonderful hotel in a beautiful peaceful setting. Would've loved to have stayed longer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    Well-decorated hotel but food and staff just okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately we were allocated the Dalwhinnie room which is over the kitchen and is not sound insulated at all - you can hear the loud kitchen extractor fan. Food and staff were just okay. Would not stay again.

    Well decorated and comfortable lobby and common areas. Lots of good furniture and decor.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Amazing place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was excellent! Food, staff, whisky selection... the only thing to say is that the pictures online do not do the place justice, it is really great!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    Fabulous attentive staff, access to the library to eat with...
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Pet Friendly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A longer stay

    Fabulous attentive staff, access to the library to eat with our Bulldog, too many hotels are saying they are dog friendly but only in your room, this hotel really is dog friendly. The food and Ale here are superb.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    10
    Cosy hotel, beautifully furnished, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If being critical at all - it appeared the hotel was understaffed on the Saturday night. Bar staff were waiting on tables, taking orders and payments, clearly struggling.

    Really comfortable , relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Cosy hotel, staff willing to help with anything.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    9.6
    An experience worth repeating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was so modern we could not get it to work. The restauranWas very busy so we had to wait for quite a long time between courses.

    The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas and ther was a roaring fire. Our room was enormous with excellent views The shortish Xmas menu had a good choice and wines by the glass were reasonably priced

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    9.6
    10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit disorganised at check out with fill in staff. Over charged, but was later rectified.

    A warm and welcoming atmosphere. Staff very helpful. Food was very good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Dream came true
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    Excellent peaceful and luxury yet comfortable atmosphere, we felt very welcome. All the details were well thought through. The room was spacious and in excellent shape.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    Fantastic .
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Pet Friendly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wood burner was not working in the library which is the only place allowed to take my very well behaved dog.

    Everything beautiful location,place so clean and the smell when you enter lovely,Christmas decorations fantastic. The manager the best and staff very nice.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    One of the best! 5 Stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I feel that the price for the size of the room we got was a bit expensive. For £150 for the night I was expecting a larger room. But that is my only qualm.

    I adored the Muckrach Lodge, it had everything I wanted, from the countryside feel to the close location to Aviemore! It's a stunning house!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    Business trip to the Highlands with my dog
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Pet Friendly Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise coming from above our room on the 2nd night was really bad, sounded like footsteps across a laminate floor and the person above must have not wanted to sleep and in turn we did not and had to leave 7AM Exhausted. The staff don't start till 8AM so I wasn't able to tell them I left due to noise but I did leave a message for them to call me on their answering machine but have not heard from them.

    The breakfast was possibly the best I have ever had, Scottish food at its best for all meals. Really accommodating staff who made us and our dog very welcome,. Beautiful grounds stunning scenery.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.2
    Really lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor irk was our forgetful waiter!

    Seriously lovely hotel. Very well decorated and good atmosphere. I would have no qualms about staying again. Rooms beautiful and very comfy bed. Breakfast and dinner also excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    10
    Perfect Highland retreat with the loveliest staff!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't fault the staff or hotel!

    We were very late arriving and the staff could not have been more helpful. They made sure we had some top notch grazing boards to nibble on. When we had to leave very early they filled our thermos flasks and made sure there were breakfast pastries in a box left for us. We honestly couldn't fault them, thank you so much for being so accommodating and looking after us! The hotel is immaculate and just perfect. Just wish we could have stayed longer!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    10
    Best Hotel in Scotland's Highlands!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike. The rooms were all completely redone about a year ago, and they certainly did a great job!

    Quiet, spacious, very comfortable room. Bathroom is fantastic: great lighting, terrific shower (separate from tub), lots of shelf space for two guests to lay out their things. Bed is great too! The restaurant is excellent: the food is very well prepared and creatively presented. The chef was quite willing to make a couple of changes we asked for, and the results were great (dinner and breakfast)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful location and setting, more staff needed to keep service levels high.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You get the sense the staff are overworked, which does impact service. In the morning, we headed down for breakfast and there was one member of staff setting up the breakfast tables, operating reception and handling breakfast orders/ service. For this reason, we arrived downstairs and only a handful of tables had been set up with cutlery, we had to find our own menus and my (vegan) breakfast took over 45 mins to arrive (despite the fact I'd emailed well in advance of my stay to say I was vegan and ask if they could cater for me). Luckily we were not rushing to head to the airport, as the slow service would have made us very late. Overall this was a disappointing end to an otherwise very pleasant stay.

    Beautiful decor, very tastefully done. Good food, the chef was able to prepare me a vegan dinner. The lady who booked us in was very pleasant and made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    Lovely decor, friendly staff, comfortable room and delicious food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel has recently been restored from a derelict old building. It was a gorgeous mix of traditional with modern touches. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was delicious and staff were really helpful. The communal spaces were great with a few different rooms you can hang out in and order food and drink to. We enjoyed a lovely relaxing weekend here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    10
    Service and food were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very young and sometimes showed lack of attention to detail. But they made up for it by being friendly and engaging.

    Service and food were excellent. Rooms we very nicely dome and arranged.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    8.8
    In the heart of Speyside ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are no lifts in the hotel. Our luggage was kindly carried by the staff to and from our rooms.

    The facilities (e.g bath rooms), the decoration of the common rooms, the kindness of the staff. The restaurant was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    7.5
    Hotel with good potential yet to be realised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service provided by kitchen and restaurant staff was poor and not what we expected. We discussed this with hotel manager and she was appreciative of our comments and apologised for what had happened.

    Rooms very comfortable and soft furnishings throughput hotel were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    7.5
    Great location and high standard accommodation - shame we had the worst room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More staff - especially on reception - they don't have anyone! Hotel Manager did not handle my reasonable complaint well. Don't stay in 'Glenlivet' - when windows are open, noise and smell from kitchen extraction horrible!

    Great location and the rooms have all been renovated to a very high standard. Food was great, although service was very slow - they're clearly struggling with staff issues.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    beautiful location amazing food recommend to anybody they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful location amazing food recommend to anybody they would not be dissapointed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful beautiful setting and wonderful food. Would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave 😀

    Bed was exceptionally comfy,luxurious shower and bath, very spacious bathroom. Staff were lovely and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful romantic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel, romantic, comfortable and cozy. Great food for dinner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location superb food fantastic just magical

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Customer service and standards of a by gone era
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pet Friendly Garden Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All of it was amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More parking spaces possibly

    Bed was amazingly comfy and shower was lovely and powerful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    First Class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    n/a

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    A delight for all the senses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Gourmet meals, excellent breakfast, each suite beautifully furnished. Located in a peaceful but easily accessible setting with lovely views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    The location is outstanding, well positioned, and surrounded...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pet Friendly Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is outstanding, well positioned, and surrounded by nature.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    9.2
    Very nice place!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pet Friendly Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower clogged

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    An excellent choice of hotel to round off our holiday in Scotland.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfy bed. The food was very good. The staff were exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.2
    Our room had beatiful views and was very confortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had beatiful views and was very confortable and cozy!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.8
    Happy with the room, bed was very comfortable, amenities were nice, but the hallway noise was loud.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meal was ok, not great.

    Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Grantown on spey great stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator but they take up and down your luggage of course :)

    Great bed and bathrooms new all and great cuisine

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    very cozy place, lots of trails around and a nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very cozy place, lots of trails around and a nice restaurant loved our stay in a hotel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Everything 😊
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pet Friendly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like

    Everything 😊

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent saty in a beautiful hotel - A hidden gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Drinks from the bar a little slow during busy dinner service but didn't spoil the experience

    Friendly staff, great food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    5.4
    Overrated - a very disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of welcome, staff shortage meant very inadequate service e.g. Tables left uncleared, fires not lit,

    Beautiful furnishings, comfortable beds

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.6
    really enjoyed the stay just wish it was longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    excellent staff and surroundings

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    10
    Perfect
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pet Friendly Garden Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Incredibly friendly staff and owners. We have stayed 6 times now and have No.7 booked already.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Loved the way the hotel was designed and decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there isn't anything that I didn't like.

    Loved the way the hotel was designed and decorated. Bar and restaurant were lovely too.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    5.8
    Fools
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out my facebook review

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful interiors, bed extremely comfortable, lovely modern bathroom. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast and lunch both delicious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    10
    Amazing service from lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing service from lovely staff. Met every expectation!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.6
    Cosy, gorgeous rooms, good food, beautiful decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Pet Friendly Garden Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near a well travelled road

    Cosy, gorgeous rooms, good food, beautiful decor

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.3
    Good in parts.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Style over substance.

    Location. Breakfast staff. Much better standard than available generally in the area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel, lovely food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was slow due to staff shortage! Easily fixed though!

    Beautiful hotel, lovely food!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    10
    Everything was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was excellent. Would definitely return and recommend to friends!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    great place to stay as a treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    expensive

    very clean, smart and has investment rather than run down like some hotels

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    9.6
    High level of luxury, all newly renovated, generous rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    High level of luxury, all newly renovated, generous rooms, everything very tasteful, nice bar, library etc., the food in the restaurant was outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    7.9
    Beautifull location, nice house with open fires and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Menu was too simple compared to the ambiance of the house, quality was good however. Staff could be better trained in etiquette, also in comparison to the grandeur of the house.

    Beautifull location, nice house with open fires and very nice room and bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    10
    The decor was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. It was all first class

    The decor was fantastic. It felt like you were in someone's home rather than a hotel. The Dalwhinnie room on the top floor was so quiet, no noise at all in fact - I'm a light sleeper so was very pleased. Food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    7.1
    The staff are very polite & friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was not a small fridge in the chalet. The location is not very good for dog walking without using a car. There was no where for cigarette butts outside the chalet & the ones that had been thrown by previous guests where not removed.

    The staff are very polite & friendly. The bed was extremely comfortable, the two meals we had were very good & most areas were clean.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.2
    The staff were really friendly and helpful, the food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the garden room with the window open for fresh air at night, the noise from the kitchen air conditioning disturbed our sleep.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful, the food was very classy and (mostly) delicious and the room was immaculate.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    8.8
    Food was wonderful- both breakfast and dinner were delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was wonderful- both breakfast and dinner were delicious. We stayed for 3 nights and chose a different meal each evening. Fabulous! Hotel is tastefully decorated in a contemporary manner with cosy, well proportioned public spaces in which to enjoy a dram or two. Lovely roaring fire. Our dog was made welcome too.

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: