Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Murrayfield Park Guest House

89 Corstorphine Road, Edinburgh, EH12 5QE, United Kingdom

#177 of 185 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 675 hotel reviews

6.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.3

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    6.9

  • Facilities

    5.3

  • Staff

    6.2

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t see any staff- the door didn’t open. There was no wardrobe/drawers and the toilet/shower was tiny. The price for the facilities was a rip off

    Only that the location was convenient for the hospital but we won’t go back and have found other accommodation for the future

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn’t like

    The nearby location of Murray field stadium. Less than a five minute walk. Room and ensuite were comfortable and very clean and lovely bedding and soft towels. Breakfast was very good with good selection and both staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful and couldn’t do enough for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Good value for money, two minutes frim airport bus and the number 26.

    The fact that I was able to check in and check out beyond advertised hours via a phone call.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower is shoddy and broken. The bedroom lamps are broken and falling apart. The bathroom and toilet are not integrated as part of the room on the ground floor so you end up walking through the reception area for toilet breaks and using the shower (lack of privacy). For 95% of the time of my 2 night stay there was no one available at reception. The key for the door to the room doesnt work properly - it took a lot of jiggling around. I spent a fortune in uber fares over the bank holiday weekend as the location is not central. WIFI was flaky. No place to have breakfast and no kitchen (as far as I could see and I was not advised of one). The towel provided had holes in it.

    Nothing really. The guy who greeted us was friendly enough. The room was fairly clean. The TV worked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bathroom door in our room didn’t close properly, the lighting was poor so it felt very dark, and we almost got locked out of our room as the lock was stiff and the handle was difficult to turn!

    Cheap night’s stay in Edinburgh

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In all the booking information we were not informed that there would be no one at the property and that there was no breakfast provided. The first we knew of this was in small letters at the end of some information. The room was papered in black and so were all the corridor walls making it very dingy.

    not much

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken toilet seat. Broken cupboard. Faulty shower. Dirty room. No staff onsite. No milk available. One cup in a double room. Called for a second cup and was told to wait till 9 a.m. when somebody from the cleaning staff should be available. Not able to have a private conversation as there is no sound proofing in the building. On a busy street with traffic all night.

    Leaving

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some confusion when we arrived about which room we were in but to be fair we were a late check in and it was resolved quickly.

    Cosy place, with great access to buses to central Edinburgh or out to the airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared shower useless. Broken and hanging off wall. Seemed to be unmanned. You phone for instructions on arrival.

    Decent location on plenty bus routes and near the zoo

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff at all, didnt see anyone and had to phone someone to get the door code, old dirty soap bar left in shower, toilet seat broken, tv remote didn’t switch on...just a bit run down, could be great with investment.

    Location and price ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI did not work and as I had work to complete it was an inconvenience. No staff available to deal with issues, everything was done by a phone call.

    location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing else worked properly. The bathroom was separate; the room key jammed so the door would not open; the light over the wash basin didn't work, nor did the plug in the basin. The duvet cover was badly torn. There was coffee and milk but no spoons, and nowhere to rinse cups except in the separate bathroom. There were no staff there to assist. It was as if guests were abandoned to sort things out for themselves. Vert poor.

    The room was clean, the bed good. The location is good, on the bus route to city and airport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No onsite staff to aid in check in/out Have to call a number that’s taped onto the door to gain entry Mouldy room Unable to shut window so noisy and cold No working heating Never again

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone actually on site. Shower to be in working order on arrival. Towels dry on arrival. Remote control for TV provided on arrival. Correct room allocated on arrival, we had to try 3 different rooms before we could get access. Bed to have been made up and room cleaned, bins emptied and tea, coffee and milk to be replaced on day 2. We normally stay closer to city centre however, Edinburgh seemed to have been extremely busy that weekend and this was all I could find.

    Nothing much. Location good if you are a rugby fan. Someone appeared at 23.45 with milk and a remote control for TV which he tuned in before leaving on Saturday night and shower had been fixed on our return.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little noisy of others moving about. Private bathroom is separate from the bedrooms, meaning others can easily use it also.

    No frills cheap accommodation, get what you pay for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place was a nightmare. The shower was being “grouted” during our stay so we were unable to wash. The heating was minimal, the remote had a note on it telling us to turn the tv on via standing on the chair, the only window in the room was out of its frame - therefore would not close completely and meant a constant draft above the bed. The staff were never there and dodgy as!!! After coming home at 3pm on the second day to find the ?cleaner in our bathroom doing something with the grouting and still no availability to shower or have the space to ourselves we packed our bags and ran for the hills!!!! We definitely aren’t divas - just nice normal people, therefore our best advice is save your money and go somewhere else!

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More parking.

    At night everything sounds louder. Everything in that room squeeked: the bathroom door, floor boards and the worst was the bed. I could here people in the next room snoring so I was worried I was going to wake them by being awake. However, the room was clean, the TV worked well, I didn't find any bed bugs :) Very good value for money. I would recommend it for a value for money lovely room with good public transport and it's close to tourist attractions as well as town. Thank you :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double glazed window didn't fit the frame properly and as we were at the front of the guest house it was noisy. There was a strong draught from the window and if the weather had been cold this would have made sleeping very uncomfortable as the bed was directly under the window. The curtain rail was falling down.

    The location suited us as we were flying out of the airport on an early flight and the accommodation was near the Airport 100 bus stop.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were met with a note containing a number we had to phone to be given a code to gain entry to the guesthouse and were told our room number and that our room was open and the key in it. Theoom was in desperate need of an upgrade and needed mould cleaned from the shower. The bed was 'sinking' on one side as if the base was possibly broken.

    The room decor seemed ok but wasn't fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The absence of anyone at the guest house to welcome us on our arrival, the way we were obliged to spend money on phone calls to the owner to ask for towels which were promised more than once but never arrived. People detained at Her Majesty's pleasure would have been better treated.

    Leaving it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After arriving at the venue the owners did not even show up to check us in. Via the phone (which they did not pick up the first two times..) a lady told us what the code for the front door was and that our room was ready and open for us. Whilst arriving at the room we quickly discovered that the shower had a huge leakage and was very mouldy. Also the walls were very thin so we heard every neighbour we had. The beds itself were unfortunately broken, so let’s just say that the overall condition of the room was terrible... As the owner wasn’t able to charge the costs for the room from our card, we asked her whether it was possible to pay at the venue. She never responded to this, nor to the several attempts of contact we had made throughout our stay. However, on our last evening at the hotel a man who claimed to be send by the owner came to our room asking for the money which suddenly had to be paid cash instead of by card which we requested. Our room wasn’t cleaned during our stay there, we never had any clean towels nor did we get new tea/coffee. This hotel is not worth the name of a hotel and should be closed ASAP. Please do not make the same mistake as we did by booking a room at this hotel, it is not worth the money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not get access to guest house on arrival as no staff on duty. Had to contact Booking.com in order to get access codes for outside door.

    Excellent location. First room not suitable as heating was not working but was offered another room which was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Farce to get in, room was disgusting (chairs ripped, bathroom rails broke, wallpaper ripped with food on walls & wardrobe broken) we didn't even stay for breakfast with the bed piled in the breakfast room! Thus was my 1st time in Scotland and was for my birthday! Next time I'll go via big named hotels! Annoyed it drive 227miles for this place!

    How closer it was to centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to have fairly quick showers because the hot water would run out, but it would heat up again after about 20 mins. WiFi speed was a bit slow and temperamental for streaming catch up TV, but the description does say WiFi only available in some rooms.

    Clean, comfortable, close to centre, quiet and relaxing room, spacious with good storage facilities. We got a parking space on the property but it didn’t look like a huge amount was available so best to advise in advance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was horrible don't know where to start it was damp cracked tiles on the bathroom floor . Never even attempted to shower for fear of getting sick . The room was so cold the bed covers stained same with the extra blankets the pillows were a joke. I am really not happy and if this is the best you can come up with I must start booking elsewhere. I am booked into Hotel Hoher Freschen In Felkirch and I hope this hotel will not be such a health hazard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I saw no staff and phoned the number stuck on the outside and given the key number. I was allowed to leave my case for the day. When I returned I had to phone again to find out where my room was. There was no heating a small oilfilled heater full on gave no heat,the kettle switch cut out and had to be held down and no toilet paper. Almost fully clothed I managed 90 minutes of sleep.

    The bed was confortable and tea coffee was provided

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No host to welcome us, instead you have to phone to get a keypad code to get entry. Only 1 bath towel when we had booked 2 people. Only 1 almost-finished toilet roll, and nowhere else in the accommodation to get more. Shower tray plug hole was blocked with who knows what so tray flooded. Radiator in room didn't work.

    Price was very cheap (you definitely get what you pay for, i.e. you don't pay much and don't get much!). We felt lucky that our room was in better condition than those in previous guests' reviews - glad we read reviews so had very low expectations. We had booked a room with shared bathroom but lucked out and were given a room with en suite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was done by telephone and we had 3 attempts before we got into a room. No keys left and doors locked for 1st 2 rooms we were told to try. Sticker on the shower to say it could not be used. Clean towels were folded neatly on bed however, hand towels were both wet. No remote control supplied for TV. The shower room we were told to use when we phoned had only a trickle of cold water. When we spoke to management we were told there was a certain way to do things in order for the shower to work. By that time we had to leave and I was unable to take a shower. We were told plumber would come to fix our shower that day. On our return to the room at about 11.30pm, shower had been fixed but no cleaning had been done in the room. Tea, coffee and milk had not been replaced and the bed was unmade and bins not emptied. We rang the management again about these issues and some poor chap was sent round with milk and a remote control for the TV which he then tuned in for us. There were another toilet and bathroom with out of order signs on the lower level of the accommodation. I am not sure if we were just unfortunate with all the problems or if this is the result of having no management on site. We have stayed in other B & B's where the owners live elsewhere, however, they have always been there to check us in and appeared in person if there were any issues. We will not be returning to The Murrayfield Park Guest House and could not recommend it I'm afraid.

    Room was warm. Someone came out at 11.45pm to supply and tune remote control. Would have been happier if this had been done during the day when we were out of the room as we had reported it first thing in the morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoke smell Staff lied to us Staff was rude on the phone

    We were upgraded - but only because our room smelled of smoke and only after the very helpful booking.com customer service phone person talked to the staff for us. When I asked the staff 3 minutes priory, they said it was fully booked and we could not move rooms. Lying to customers. Well. Room was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well on arrival, stayed in room 3 in the basement, discovered no batteries in tv remote, the guy came back promptly and he tested batteries to discover no signal on freeview, he was away to speak to boss but did not return, so room was quiet and lonely, ended up going out for a while to waste time

    Bed was really comfy, got a great night sleep before my run in the Sunday,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On arrival, there was no reception, just a phone number to ring. We were given a code to enter the property and told our room number. The keys were left in the room. It’s a good job we remembered the code number as the key to the front of the property didn’t work properly. The inside lock to our room was broken, as was one of the beds. One of the bed side lights was broken and the TV remote had leaking batteries. The sink was blocked and the shower leaked from the room above. We had to phone the owner as no staff were obvious in the building, a maintenance guy came after an hour and fixed some of the issues immediately. We were offered a camp bed for the first night, (we declined and risked the broken bed). The bed was replaced the day after. The sink took three days to fix and the shower issue was sorted by asking the people in the room above to use different facilities. Parking was very limited, room for one car, or two if parked carefully. We parked in the next street as the main road outside is a double red lines. Breakfast was not provided although a room was laid out as a dining room it remained locked. Tea and coffee facilities in the room were not replenished during our stay.

    Reasonable location on good bus route to the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited over an hour to check in TV did not work and no battery in remote Rooms VERY cold. No heating at all. Shower plug was blocked with hair and dirt. ROOM 3

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom needing redecorating and bathroom shower Crap and no hot water and No staff and having to phone hotel number asked to use outside manager bathroom and ahower out of order I had to phone again and was advised to use a bedroom and luckily it was open and able to use

    Location and on on bus route and frequent bus service

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    EVERYTHING

    Room was very cold, no heating in the room despite requesting to the manager. House keeping was awful, room was not cleaned. Called the given number and left messages, no response even after 4 days. Did not like AT ALL. Pathetic service. Only interested in the money. However, housekeeping turned out on time to ask us to check out. Appalled by the behaviour and service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff when u had a question you had to phone a mobile no to reach someone also to check in you had to phone the mobile which I thought was disgusting

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 bathroom between 6 rooms, no hot water in shower, headboard on bed loose, no staff available, no beakfast, as its advertised as a b&b isn't that bed and breakfast, will never be returning, better off in homeless unit,

    Absolutely nothing, i repeat, absolutely nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not close to pubs, restaurants etc unless u get bus so not too bad, some broken things, TV often doesn't work or remote is missing on many times I'vw been there

    Average location, parking usually (I've been there many times) pleasant decor,quiet, internet good, hotwater coming quick, good for edinburgh's great buses service. Price is right

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No official staff present. Room door very difficult to open. Very cold, needed jumper and thick socks to sleep. Tv , no controls, no staff to ask. Poor lighting, unable to knit or read. Very uncomfortable night.

    Clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water pressure in the shared bathroom takes sometime to settle (not the end of the world)

    Cleanliness, hassle free check in/out, comfortable room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - There no people to open the door. There is only phone number and I had to wait and call few times. - I rented a room with bathroom. It appeared these are two separate rooms. To entered my bathroom I had to wear and go to the corridor only then to bathroom. This is not very convenient although another sink was inside my room. - bedclothes were old and with holes, unfortunatelly - there no internet inside room, only in corridor

    - Inside my room there were everything was it needed. (TV, a sink, hair dryer, heater, kettle, cups and so on) - All what I need additionally a suff provided kindly (by calling by phone) - No annoying neighbors or stuff (it's big plus) - Very nice a bathroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    General lack of information and communication. Bed could have done with a mattress topper. I could feel all the springs. A bit noisy being close to the main road. Radiator was switched off and there were no instructions as to how to turn it on. Was eventually sorted. Tiny TV up high on the wall. Although there was a breakfast room all set, breakfast was not on offer.

    Easy access to airport using 100 Airlink. Room was clean. Nice hot shower. Easy access via pin code, but you do have to phone them. Tea and coffee in room all good. Wifi good. Very inexpensive.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no key to our room (we could get in and lock it from the inside, but we wouldn't have been able to leave our things, go somewhere and then come back), when called to inquire, they said they would find out and call back. They never did. Good thing we were only staying for one night and we so tired that we weren't planning to go anywhere.

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating wasn't working however they brought us a fan heater but still needs heating fixed. Also no one met us at the door when arriving and when leaving.

    They called us to check if we were still arriving. Also how they made sure we were watm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only way to get informasjon was to phone a telephone number which was on the door. Luckily my batteries wern't quite flat. Without telephone no way to get in touch with anyone didn,t meet any personell on property. The outside door and code boks was on wall behind the bed, a bit noisy.

    the property was easy to find and on way to airport. There was also the facilities in the room to make tea or coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very disappointed in the cleanliness of the place , decor and fittings out dated No reception desk , had to make calls to a number on front door to gain entry Shower had cold water only Room was not cleaned / beds made 2 day on our return For the price paid could have got better else were

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving late in the evening meant we had to call a mobile number to access guest house. In the dark and wet the number stuck to the front door was not immediately obvious. Didn't actually see another human being during stay !

    Nice clean room. Plenty of space for luggage. Guest house is on main road, easily accessible by public transport.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff on site, shared bathroom poorly maintained, crack in toilet seat, bath was not clean, would not wish to use it, room STANK of cigarettes despite numerous no smoking signs. Constant noise from other guests speaking loudly in lobby until late. Main door left wide open all night causing a draught in the lobby. Did not feel safe. I would never book this property again.

    there was parking out front and the room was a decent size, bed as described. Not alot else to praise!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to phone to get access code on keypad. No towels, no pillowcases, no toilet roll! I called the number when I realised there was no towels and was told to try other rooms! Found 1 towel in the 2nd room. I would have left had it not been late and I was alone. No heating, I ended up sleeping in my clothes!!

    There was a bed with clean sheets

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    More tea bags and milk would have been appreciated as there were only 2 tea bags in the room

    Cosy wee room. Bed comfortable and clean. Lovely and plentiful hot water for the shower.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central heating in my room was broken, the owner decided to put a spin wash on at 22:45 at night for 30mins directly above my room, distinct lack of any form of staff seen for whole duration, allocated the wrong room so had to move, drain was broken outside causing a constant loud dripping noise and many more problems, please avoid.

    The shower worked and the bed was moderately comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no breakfast offered.

    I booked a double room but got put into one of the family rooms instead, which worked out a lot better as I had friends come visit me during the day and spend a little time with them. The staff that I met were lovely and the process of checking in was extremely easy and simple. The rooms did get a bit cold during the day but there was a plug in heater if this was required. I would highly reccomend this place, its easily accessible, near a variety of different shops etc, It's a nice, cozy place to stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    No light bulbs in bedside lamps. Couldn't get TV to work. Heating wasn't on. Owner didn't greet, just advised where room key was.

    Bed was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing to like about my stay here .. Absolutely atrocious .. When I finally got through to the manager to say I had arrived at the property he said he couldn't check me in ' because he was at the toilet?'.. What a coincidence that it took an hour for them to check in a poor man that I met at the entrance .... At the toilet again I presume ? I have no idea how this establishment passes safety checks never mind any other standards., No heating .. no lighting sine lights blew and then no boiler so had to shower in cold water .. And no refund... Avoid this place like the plague ...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At no point in the stay did we see any staff, the extraction fan in the bathroom rattled and drowned out everything. There was neither a TV remote or bulbs in the bedside lamps. The heating was not on until around 0630 in the morning. The number that was given for contacting staff did not answer the phone to rectify any of these problems. The parking is only 2 spaces outside, anyone else that is staying would need to park away from the hotel or on a busy main street.

    Great location for our needs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Never seen a worse welcome and a less unprofessinal staff on side. Zero support, recommendations and many wrong information, e.g. he told us that there is a bus to the airport in the night but there was no bus. The room was cold, heater didn't work, the lights did not work propperly, the shower and bathroom was so small, you can hardly turn around. The room was dark, not very clean, the TV did not work as well. The bed was too small for two people, there was also just one blanket and we froze in the night. Also, it was very loud in the house itself. Overpriced for what they offer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very dark, table lamps didn't work and ceiling light was dim. Bed was fairly comfortable, bathroom was ok, just a bit cramped and nowhere to put anything. The whole place needs sprucing up a bit, but for the price I guess it was ok. I was working, so it didn't matter so much to me.

    It's a short walk to Murrayfield stadium if that's where you need to be. Very cheap.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not present on arrival. Left out in the cold for a while. Then asked to change rooms once we were there.

    Lovely room. Good on site parking good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff wasn’t there to check-in in the afternoon had to phone. Room want allocated. Broken toilet seat at Room 4 Raditior didn’t work in Room4 and it was absolutely freezing. Mattress is pretty much st the end of life, felt like sleeping on a spring.

    Like the convenience of the location to Murray field stadium.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to sleep on the floor the first night because the bed was impossible to sleep on. It was a banjaxed metal spring bed. The metal springs were uneven and many pressed into my back. I complained in the morning and was given another room with a better bed. The first bedroom had no bulbs in the bedside lamps and the overhead light was dim. The second room did have bedside lights. However, the overhead light was extremely dim.

    The location was good for me which was why I chose it. There are no good restaurants nearby. However, a ten minute bus ride would have taken me to the heart of Edinburgh. The Holiday Inn beside the zoo was within walking distance. Food passable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    No curtain or rail ./ People could see in . Plaster in shower falling . Wallpaper hanging off . Electricity flickering . Made Fawlty towers look like the Ritz !

    visited for the rugby so excellent location . Price expensive .condition room terrible . No curtain ,curtain rail broken . People from street could see in . plaster falling in shower. Wallpaper torn

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold, one radiator turned off, turning in produced no heat. Summer duvet temp outside was -2 and felt like the same indoors. Tv didn’t work. No alarm radio as stated on site, no ironing facilities, bed side lights not working .

    The lication

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should b facility for fooding in the guest house

    I liked the Hotel location..friendly cooperative staff..and comfort....in a nutshell.'very much homely environment in a hotel'...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could feel all the springs in the bed. The bedside lamps didn't work (not wired into the mains), but the manager did find me a lamp to use. Place smelt of cigarette smoke; I think someone was smoking in the house. Check in only between 1pm and 5pm, otherwise there was no one to see and you had to phone a number that was difficult to read in the dark. More cleaning required really. The drinking glasses and mugs were dirty- one had lipstick on it from a previous user and the rest didn't look that clean either. The shower drain needs unblocking, as the shower base filled with water very fast and you had to wallow in it.

    The shower was hot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No curtains, wallpaper hanging off, 2 single beds for a family? Mound in the roof, dirty pillow, broken tiles, broken tv, no bulbs in the side lamps, leaking shower.

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First time in a very long time I have only had access to a shared bathroom, down the main hall and past the front door. Uncomfortable!

    Proximity to Murrayfield Stadium! Wow!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Grotty, dirty rooms with uncomfortable beds and lots of noise from neighbouring rooms. Didn't have breakfast (hooray!). We normally like to sleep with the curtains closed but there were none in one of our rooms (fortunately we were able to use the boot floor protector from our car!).

    Water was hot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle didn't work. Room smelt funny and no instructions re WiFi. Lot of things falling off like handles door stuck in bathroom. Other guest misdirected to my room didn't believe me when I said it was mine. Very much here's your key cheerio. Needs upgrading and better policing.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    |No staff on site. Room was not clean. towels on the floor in the bathroom. Dirty cup on the tray. Bedlights didn't work.

    Room size was fine and fairly well furnished. quite good factilites

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room with Shared Bathroom Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception area was very tired and the bathroom was accessed by crossing the open hallway, my fault i hadn't realised it wasn't ensuite.

    The room was lovely and newly decorated

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single room bed was similar to sleeping on a camp bed. Very wobbly and squeaky. The plumbing innthe building kept me up through the night

    It was very cheap.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took ages to get in and rang the phone numbers and no one answered . Only theee parking spaces and I got chapped at seven in morning to move car to let someone out

    Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room en suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very bad hotel, do NOT recommend. We arrived to a kazachstanian guy (who could barely talk or understand English) who was on his socks and had already had a few glasses of alcohol by the smell of it. He first showed us to the wrong room. When he showed us to the right room, the room was not clean at all. We had to wait a while so he could clean the room. When he was done he ONLY made the beds, the sink was really dirty and the toilet had pee stains all over the seat and there was NO toiletpaper. When we asked him how late breakfast was he said "depends on how much I drink tonight". When we came back from the city we could not get in as the door was closed, we rang the bell a few times but no answer, we called and got the code to open the door ( I think the guy was supposed to give us the code when we arrived but he didn't!!!). So when we finally got in the kazachstanian guy was there again, but this time drunk, we asked him why he didn't gave us the door code but no proper answer came out his mouth. If you want to keep guest happy fire this guy and get new staff because this has been a horrible expierence.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival you have to call to gain entry to the property one of the numbers is a digit too long and the other gets you through to a man who greets you with "hello" so for all I knew I had called a complete random. The front door is difficult to get open however when you are in clear instructions are provided regarding the wifi password etc. Whilst I was on the phone to whom I presume was the manager he told me to enter a room, as I entered there was already a couple in here and the door was unlocked they were extremely shocked when I had walked in (I later had no choice but to go back and explain I was instructed to go to that room my the manager, I apologised to them for his mistake). He then directed me to another room which was extremely cold. There was no hot water despite having an electric shower. You only get one thin pillow and the TV is extremely small. Nevertheless despite all this as I nodded off another guest was ringing the door bell and banging the front door as the key they had been provided didn't work. This consisted for 10 minutes before I had to get out of bed get dressed and let these people in. This is the second time I've stayed here and neither experience has been great. Despite the low prices I will in future pay a little more to have a comfortable stay and a professional transaction.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The electrics in room didn't work! Tv and bedside lights also light in bathroom... our keys wouldn't work in front door another guest eventually let us in. Bed was tiny and pillows may aswel of been non existent! Also radiator in room wouldn't come on so was dark dingey and cold.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Humping my suitcase up the stairs to tone entrance hall. I couldn't find anyone as I was leaving in the morning.

    The price was right and the late booking gave me an ideal single room. Cosy and clean. I'd book the single room again

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Murrayfield Park Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: