Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of MW Townhouse 4 stars

11 Spence Street, Newington, Edinburgh, EH16 5AG, United Kingdom

#166 of 185 B&Bs and Inns in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 59 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    Gorgeous building and great location!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - only tiny thing is we didn't get chance to have breakfast there, but only because we were up and out super early for work

    Great location, highly recommend to others, gorgeous building, polite and helpful staff (via phone and left us the keys etc) rooms lovely and big, parking for our car at the back, nice bathroom. Great pub up the road for food!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be a bit updated, but lots of period features also. Cold bathroom despite very hot radiator.

    Large comfy bed in a large room with clean facilities and lots of hot water with piping hot central heating.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.4
    For th
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lack of customer service. There is not a reception area. If you want to check in on your first day or any kind of service, you have to call the posted number. But that is not convenient for international travellers who may not have a mobile phone or one that has the appropriate SIM card for the area yet. Also, there is no phone in the room to call reception or to call out. Again, you would have to find your phone. The room was also quite chilly, and there is no way of turning up the heat, as it is on a timer.

    The location of the property is in a quiet part of the city and getting around is either a walk/bike ride or a short bus ride away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    If you arrive after 7pm, don't expect breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not have breakfast because it had to be 'booked' by 7 the previous night, which is before I arrived. Check-out at 10am is quite ridiculous for a Sunday. Room was quite noisy

    Large and nicely-appointed room, very clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    5.0
    Disappointing for the price and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was small and very very basic. Breakfast not included in the price despite being 'mentioned' in the description. Not sure why it's advertised as 4 star - my room had no fridge, safe etc. and there were no other facilities that would consitute a 4-star rating. Separate bathroom was very inconvenient - not even a sink in the room, and the motion activated hallway lights only stayed on for 7 seconds meaning I was left in the dark fumbling with keys to unlock my door every time.

    Quiet location. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable large bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The WiFi was not strong enough to consistently reach my room on the second floor. If WiFi is important then insist on a ground floor or first floor room Major drawback in an otherwise nice place. Staff is rarely on site although easy to reach by a free phone call.

    Comfortable large bed. Close to a bus stop that gets you to anyplace you need to go.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.0
    Too expensive !
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area is not too quiet, We heard outside noise.

    The area is very Good, We can walk to center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.5
    Its just alright
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is cold

    Location is fab

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.7
    Property is alright
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is dated and it felt unclean.

    Quite close to city centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    2.5
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't what was expected, very boring and plain, the room we got were not on any pictures, very disappointed

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was squeaky

    Excellent location 10 minute walk or regular bus services

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    3.8
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were cold. The bedding felt damp and the quilt did not conver the whole bed.

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.5
    Edinburgh stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were too hard.

    The room was very big. Great location with the bus stop right outside with a direct bus to the city centre.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2016

    9.6
    Great room, friendly staff and location that met our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast has to be pre-booked

    Great room, friendly staff and location that met our needs

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    5.8
    Staff were pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt the accomidation was over priced for the basic facilities that it had

    Staff were pleasent

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.8
    Lovely clean bathroom, with large shower unit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely clean bathroom, with large shower unit

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    7.9
    Location and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A little cramped but then again we paid for cheapest room.

    Location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    3.3
    The shower was OK.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Host couldn't be bothered to greet me on arrival. Attempt to charge extra £10 for arriving after 10pm. Attempt to charge a 2% surcharge for paying by card. No breakfast before 8am. Awful decor in the room. Uncomfortable bed. A never-to-be-repeated experience

    The shower was OK. That's about it

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    5.8
    Staff were friendly, very helpful and easy to communicate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The sheets looked dirty and had stains on them. I had to put a shirt on the pillow and kept the socks on as I was not comfortable lying on those sheets. There was dust almost everywhere (kettle, sink, table). As we went there for the NY eve (and decided very late to do that), we paid a huge amount of money for that room (£200).

    Staff were friendly, very helpful and easy to communicate with (they texted us to ask when we will be arriving, they replied very quickly and let us know that we will have a discount if we paid with cash).

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    7.1
    Nice en suite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed side lamps didn't work. Used the desk light. No bolt on inside but there was a door wedge. Breakfast not included and was expensive when I asked but there was a sainsbury cafe within a mile or so.

    Nice en suite. Lots of hot water but did have to run the tap a while to get it. No problem with the WiFi. Handy car park. Spare blanket available without asking.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    4.6
    The girl I went with
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A hotel of 1s... 1 key for room door and front door. Which says to me every lock is exactly the same. Not good for security. 1 toilet roll, not enough even after room has been cleaned. 1 spoon which wasn't cleaned when the bed was made by "cleaners" 1 hour (barely) to get "breakfast"... Toast and a bit of cereal. 1 very cold room 1 disatisfied couple with the room

    The girl I went with

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.2
    Spacious room, comfortable bed, good location for buses to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Two light bulbs not working.

    Spacious room, comfortable bed, good location for buses to the centre.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.1
    Staffs are attentive.
    • Couple

    The room is too cold. The heater may not work properly

    Staffs are attentive. Location is at the edge of newington but still manageable by foot

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.1
    Onsite parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Onsite parking.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very thin/un-insulated walls - adjoining room guests could be clearly heard which was disruptive.

    Good location.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    9.6
    comfortable safe cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    comfortable safe cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    9.2
    The fact that it was clean, tv programme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that it was clean, tv programme

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: