Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa 3 stars

Cwm Taf, Merthyr Tydfil, CF48 2HY, United Kingdom

#4 of 6 hotels in Merthyr Tydfil

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 660 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.3
    Perfect location for the fan dance which is why I choose to...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were far to hot no fans available and no air conditioning. For the price we paid would have expected one or the other as you can’t have windows open because of the mosquitoes.

    Perfect location for the fan dance which is why I choose to stay here.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    The bed was very comfy, really enjoyed breakfast too
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was our wedding night we thought we would of had something extra as I explained it was our wedding night when I booked.

    The bed was very comfy, really enjoyed breakfast too

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    The food was excellent, but service was very slow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent, but service was very slow. This is our second stay at Nant Ddu, and there was a large deterioration in service at the restaurant. We actually had to remind staff three times that we were waiting for food or to order dessert etc. No tip for them this time!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    Not worth the money at all. Nice rooms and breakfast but hardly a relaxing weekend I left stressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rock hard, I was woken up every 10 minutes by traffic and doors slamming, our meal took 1 hour to arrive after starters as they forgot about us, the steak was saltier than the sea, the one waitress was very rude and after complaining about the meal did nothing to rectify it, the jacuzzi was broken and mouldy, the tables in the dining area were cramped and no air conditioning in the summer nights left us unable to sleep in the heat and staff were stood around talking when we were waiting at the bar for 10 minutes to order a drink.

    The room was spacious and the breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    6.7
    Needs some TLC!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Been to this hotel a few times now and the wear and tear is starting to show nothing a lick of paint wouldn't sort out.

    Staff were freindly, food was fantastic and bed was comfy all in all a lovely hotel but needs a little TLC.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.8
    Beautiful location & lovely garden area, spacious clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy generator outside bedroom. It was very hot so we had to keep windows open. Impossible to adjust volume on TV which was set very low. Disappointed with spa area & lunchtime food. Breakfast average. In all, for a superior room I wasn’t impressed.

    Beautiful location & lovely garden area, spacious clean bedroom

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    Location, staff were nice, food was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon, safety box, or fridge. The room was suffocating and we could not open the windows due to bugs. Facilities are oid. Bed was small and uncomfortable. Not good value for money.

    Location, staff were nice, food was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Location is stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit run down. The food wasn't great. The steak was grey and the crumpets had mould. There was also building work that we were not told of in advance which impacted so much we left early. When we complained we were told they were sorry and that was it.

    Location is stunning. Beautiful grounds and close to pen y fan.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, spacious and clean room, and despite some minor issues I would return.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No phone signal at all at the hotel (obviously not the hotel's fault!) My bathroom door would not close as didn't seem to fit in the casing (not a huge problem as on my own) Found the pillows very uncomfortable, very lumpy, tried all four and settled for the least lumpy one Cold water tap in bathroom was loose and spun completely to the left when closing it No tongs available to handle bread/toast at breakfast so hygiene issue & toast very hot to handle!! I would stay here again, but wouldn't want to pay more than 70.00, as I felt that for 95.00 I wouldn't expect to experience the minor issues highlighted above.

    Staff very friendly, room was clean and spacious and food was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    The property has lovely grounds and garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was in need of a bit of renovating.

    The property has lovely grounds and garden. We had to move rooms and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was good. There is a spa salon with great treatment offers and a pool and gym. There is fantastic walks close by.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    4.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not have the choice of booking a table when we booked the room. Evening of our stay we was told that we had to book and there was no room for us to have food. We was then told that we would have to eat in the bar area. As we booked a room I would have thought that we would have priority booking in the restaurant as it was a special anniversary stay which I noted in the extra comments.

    Location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in fab location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great stay, the food was excellent ( Fillet steak with peppercorn sauce was fabulous). We had the pool and Jacuzzi to ourselves- both were lovely and warm! The room was clean, quiet and cool. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is also only 5 minute drive from the base to climb Pen Y Fan.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    3.8
    Surroundings beautiful but poor room and poor service.most of the staff seemed pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom/suite very old and dated.curtains hanging off the fittings,tv not working as it should,triolet not flushing properly.no one asked if we enjoyed our stay. Restaurant staff were not trained and were not attentive,left without sweets because we got fed up with waiting for them to attend the table,had to ask for water for the table then had a pint glass brought to us which was in a pint glass and warm. For what we paid I would have expected better service and a clean suite

    Surroundings beautiful. Hotel very dated Food in restaurant delicious but service very poor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.0
    Poor quality room, over priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, dirty carpet, uncomfortable mattress, bathroom was dirty and poorly equipped - no shower, uneven Lino floor covering

    Resonably price and quality food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    An overall very pleasing stay made better by the friendly staff. We would definately go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ladies toilets adjacent to the Bar needed upgrading and the toilets needed maintenance. The toilet in our room didn't flush well.

    Very Friendly staff, good spa facilities, and the food was to a high standard and reasonably priced. A reasonably good selection of wines although a little short of Gin options.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    I have stayed here several times before as a couple and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was quite small and not very comfy and shower has no shower rail so difficult to shower without flooding which must cause floor problems. Everything else excellent.

    I have stayed here several times before as a couple and enjoy it so was pleased to be able to return on a business trip. Staff, Food, Spa, gym pool all excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Lovely apart from the Bathroom issues
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was poorly maintained, toilet seat ill fitting and fell off when I was seated, I fixed back on but it remained poorly fitted, shower curtain rail broken and difficult to shower.

    Hotel Building, Ambience, Food, Location,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please read above.

    Initially I was told nant ddu was awesome, hence I booked. I had the room at a 'deal' price of £119 on a Sunday night's stay, which I thought was still pricey for a night, but thought as it was such an AWESOME place then it's probably worth it. However for that price I thought the room was small, and very dated. Bathroom wasn't the cleanest and clearly needed repair. Also the room was above the bar which meant you cold hear the people the bar talking and laughing till closing. So based on this I thought the price was too expensive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely room and the restaurant was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived on Saturday afternoon, planned to use the spa until we could access our room. Weren’t given this option and were told we could use the bar. Bar was full of what we assumed was a hen party - incredibly loud so we left and went into Brecon. Came back, went to use the spa and this was also full of a huge group of women - we couldn’t relax and couldn’t really access the pool area due to this so we decided to go back to our room.

    Meal was lovely in the evening and perfect location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff were brilliant really help full and all greeted...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We waited far to long for our food even though we had a table booked st 8.15 We didn’t eat our main till 10pm fat to late

    The staff were brilliant really help full and all greeted you with a smile which is rare these days food was amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    too expensive, we did not use any of the facilities,spa or...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    price of room. we stayed in Monaco the week before 100 euro for the equivalent room

    too expensive, we did not use any of the facilities,spa or pool we just needed a room for overnight £145! however the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    I would definitely like to stay again & enjoy the surrounding area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very busy and short of staff so we did have to wait for drinks & our food order to be taken. However the food was very tasty & of excellent quality.

    The pool area was very nice & plenty of seating areas in the grounds to enjoy the sun. Ample parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Spa treatments and staff made it very pleasant - otherwise I would avoid !!
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is in need of a massive refurb - everything is either broken or shabby. indoor pool was very cold - jacuzzi only operating on 1 jet - headrests kept coming off - towels all over changing room. Moved room from Superior room - generator for whole hotel on terrace/fire escape directly outside window/door? Second room - slightly better - no shower / not even over bath just hose ? // TV remote had no back needed new batteries - phone in room did not work properly - door did not shut properly til lovely member of staff brough cutlery knife up to unbend door plate ? clothes (trousers and cardigan) went missing from room ?

    The staff are superb - each and everytime there was an issue they fixed it rapidly and with ease - they were constantly smiling and helpful - professional to the hilt. They are the biggest asset this hotel has without exception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    A lovely relaxing stay, beautiful surroundings, lovely staff, superb food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are very tired looking, no reflection on the cleanliness, which was excellent

    Location lovely, food was out of this world! Lovely staff, nice relaxing place to stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    Great trip and fabulous spot if you want to climb the Pen y fan
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is fantastic, certainly better than 3 star as are the staff, but the building is tired and in need of modernisation. We woke up at 7.30am to a builder trying to enter our room then had to leave the room because the drilling above our head was unbearable. But to be fair without asking they refunded our stay. The staff are the usual Welsh loveliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    The breakfast was a good quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not as expected and was definitely not value for money. We were asked to walk through the restaurant on arrival with all of our bags to stay in the older part of the hotel. The smell in the corridor was unpleasant and the decor was very dated with stains on the walls and the carpet. Also the shower in the bathroom was a hand shower with no shower curtain. We were really disappointed and cancelled two of our four night stay upon arrival.

    The breakfast was a good quality.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    A very enjoyable stay ,and would consider returning at some time in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service regarding the wait for food needs to improve.

    Food excellent. Pleasant and caring staff. Great position for touring the Brecon Beacons. Room Comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    The atmosphere on a sunny bank holiday Sunday night was really magical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom really needs updating! Clean but no proper shower and chipped bath. If it was really hot, not just warm, the lack of air conditioning would be an issue for me!

    Staff and restaurant. Really clean curtains and carpets and windows opening onto countryside with birds singing and children playing. Idyllic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Good food, bar/restaurant staff excellent, very 'tired' needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its just grubby. It needs a good clean. General cleanliness was OK bed sheets etc, but very 'tired', no excuse for grubby tables in the bar, sticky, I had to use a wet wipe to clean it, and it was filthy. Doors dirty with lots of hand prints, which obviously means its not been cleaned in a long time. Such a shame as could be a little gem of a hotel. Shame no interaction from hotel receptionist on arrival or departure.

    Food was excellent, and service in the bar was also good. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable, outside seating in need of repair. Local bar was dark and dreary.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff seemed to be reluctant to engage in polite conversation. None of the usual pleasantries like how was your journey or did you enjoy your stay! When we arrived at reception we stood for what seemed like forever before we were greeted by the younger female of staff.

    On the whole it was good, could do with somewhere to walk though.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Don't stay in room 2!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    What let it down for me was the en-suite bathroom. The distance from the wall to the bath, where the WC was located. is very tight. The shower (in the bath) was of the mixer type was a) very difficult to regulate, b) there was no shower curtain and, worst of all, the shower had to be hand held so was totally impractical. I ended up having to have a bath - which I really don't like to do.

    The bedroom itself was quite comfy although the plugs were not very convenient. The facilities are good and the breakfast aslso. We had dinner in the hotel which was laso good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful countryside stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting, very tranquil which made for a resting, stress free stay. Food was scrumptious and lots of spa treatments available. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    A lovely relaxing couple of days to celebrate our birthdays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Crab cakes were tasteless. It also seems strange that the traditional breakfast is included in the bed and breakfast rate but if you want anything else, e.g. eggs benedict or smoked salmon and scrambled egg you have to pay extra even though they cost less than the full breakfast.

    Sirloin and fillet steaks were amazing. So was the pork loin in brandy and peppercorn sauce and the sauté potatoes were delicious. My husband is a huge fan of sticky toffee pudding and yours definitely didn’t disappoint! The spa treatments were lovely and we enjoyed the pool and jacuzzi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    Adequate for my needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff not very proactive. Although booking was bed and breakfast, when paying the bill was charged extra for having smoked salmon and scrambled egg instead of the "welsh breafast". This was not made plain to me when ordering

    comfy bed large pleasant room and large bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointing and can't believe I was charged £125 for my stay. Rip off. Definitely not 4*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, toilet broke had to use public toilet in the bar. Room could do with a good clean. Shower useless. The spa was grubby and in need of TLC plus sauna broken. Dirty windows. Restaurant chairs some were ripped, tables not cleaned properly. Overall extremely disappointing! I have always wanted to stay but o won't be back.

    Food only.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant apart from the bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some public parts of the hotel feel a little tired. Whilst my room was great, the bathroom wasn't - poor bath shower in particular ie no shower curtain and very erratic water flow/temperature.

    Nice comfy room, great breakfast and dinner. Enjoyed using the pool facilities too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Happy once again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower stopped working for a few minutes when i was in a rush, and bathroom could have been slightly cleaner. But overall I was happy.

    Good food. Nice pool.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    5.8
    Great food, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 11 is right next to the fan units, which drone from 0645 to 2300. Water supply for the bath seemed variable in temperature and flow.

    Great food, great location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    The hotel is amazing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is amazing. the food they served was worth every dollar. the staff were very helpful and kind. the restaurant was busy all the time. the parking was very handy and had a lot of spare spaces while I was there. the location is in the middle on nowhere so if you need to get away for a couple days this place is perfect. I would come back to this place in a heart beat.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    A lovely getaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place as a whole could do with a bit of updating, not saying modernising because I did like the traditional feel, but it just felt a bit old.

    The staff were very friendly. The food in the bistro was outstanding!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice place to stay for a relaxing break in the Brecon Beacons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant was pretty poor. Table wasn't available at the time we reserved then serving staff kept pushing past us. Decided to eat in the bar area the second night.

    Good spa facilities. Good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    A wonderful experience and would definatly go again -
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am a veggie and would appreciate some more veggie options - maybe we could prebook some meals before we go?

    The staff were really helpful and pleasant and seemed to enjoy their work

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.4
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room was awful, the curtain rail was slanted so the curtain slipped away from the wall with the pressure of the water making it difficult to wash my hair without flooding the bathroom floor.. when checking in the female that greeted me was really unhelpful, having never been to the location previously it was not clear where the reception for the hotel was, I parked in the front car park & had to walk through the whole hotel to get to reception.. when I got to reception I asked if there was an easier place to move my car without having to walk through the restaurant/bar and the female showed me where the door was to exit from reception and to move my car.. After then moving my vehicle and unloading my luggage me and my boyfriend located our room (room number 6) which was back at the front of the hotel.. it would have been helpful for the receptionist to have told me it would have been easier to leave my vehicle where it was to begin with. In addition the location of our room also meant we had to walk through the bar and restaurant in a dressing gown and slippers to get to the pool etc which we both found very uncomfortable considering it was approx 6pm and there were large groups celebrating birthdays etc all being very dressed up in comparison to my post spa look. At breakfast the staff seemed preoccupied, I stated I didn’t want egg and asked if I could swap this with something else which the waitress ignored completely, I then asked again and she simply said ‘no’ before walking away from the table. When reviving the breakfast (which I must admit tasted lovely) the waitress practically threw the plates on the table before walking away. I tracked down a different waitress stood at the bar talking to another member of staff and asked for sauces (tomato and brown) which took 20 minutes for her to bring to us, by which time we had practically finished eating anyway.

    we walked pen y fan and did the four waterfall trail so great location for us and the spa facilities were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Could be a great venue, but not up to standard for the price charged!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard of accommodation (decor, furnishings, and the general style) Also the swimming pool area could have been cleaner. The jacuzzi had broken tiles and loose headrests.

    The hotel was in need of updating. Some of the rooms were very tired and nowhere near worth the price. The restaurant food was really good, and the staff were really lovely, and more than helpful. However, I do feel the price should be lowered until the upgrade is finished!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Very Nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stay in many hotels in the course of my work, I would say that this hotel has left me thinking of an excuse to trying to manipulate my work to bring me this way in the future. Despite the murky weather upon arrival making me think oh what have i booked! The moment I entered the building any doubts evaporated. My room was nicely decorated clean neat and tidy. Where this place wins is in the restaurant, the choice of food is varied, the quality of food is excellent to the point where being full from starter and main, I just had to have a pudding, just to keep the experience going. That said I was slightly worried when a fellow diners Cheesecake arrived, Cheesecake my eye! Wow! this was a Cheese Gateaux,....... Impressive. All the staff I came into contact with were welcoming, friendly, and with good humour. Churlish to put this as a negative, but those of you on Vodaphone this hotel seems to be in a dead signal area............................ which to be honest ain't a bad thing ;-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.3
    Alot of money as spa facilities need some tlc. Loved the location and excellent staff service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Jacuzzi was a huge let down as barely bubbled. Noticed this on previous comments. Dispensers in female showers completely empty. When last checked? Relaxing but overpriced as spa not up to high standard for price paid. Would stay again if lower rate as staff and location excellent. Bathroom needed deep clean.

    Paid extra for a huge bed which was lovely. Sound of river outside was calming. Dinner and table service was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Loved the exprience and friendly Welsh people, we will be back for more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was a bath shower hose however not fixed to the wall and no shower curtain.

    I liked the location of the hotel, and the croissants could have been warm :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It needs a little tlc in places. They have made great changes slowly. Spa facilities old now and lounge chairs shouldnt really have cushions on as not really hygenic as people sit on them with wet bathers. All they need to do really is remove the cushions so people use towels instead. I wouldnt like to lie down on them.

    Lovely place have been going there for about 15 years now.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely perfect location, facilities and food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed everything about my stay at this lovely hotel, it had such a wonderful homely feeling I didn’t want to leave. The pool and jacuzzi was fantastic. The highlight was the food exceptional quality and the hotel location absolutely beautiful 👌🏼

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.3
    Enjoyable but overpriced for the standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel reception staff were disappointing. Their demeanour was not particularly welcoming and they were very shy at coming forward with information/instructions. We had booked an overnight stay with several treatments and had never been before so it would’ve been nice to have given clear guidance as to where to find robes, that we were welcome to towels, where the changing rooms were etc. We spent several hours at the pool one day and I didn’t see anyone check the cleanliness/tidy up left towels etc.

    Catering and treatment staff were very friendly and helpful. The service at both the evening meal and breakfast was excellent. Staff were very attentive and food was of a high quality. The slow roast lamb was exceptional.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    I felt relaxed after a two day stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor could use an update.

    The staff at Nant Ddu are lovely—making us feel welcomed. It was so relaxing to walk up Pen y Fan and the sit in the jacuzzi back at the hotel. The food in the restaurant was very good as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing. With great food from the bistro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mouldy bathroom mat and no holder for the shower head and they only supplied 1 towel for a twin room.

    Excellent food in both the bistro and for breakfast. Excellent location for hiking the Brecon Beacons.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    A lovely gem of a homely place nestled between the Brecon beacons.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've stayed at more luxorious hotels for this price per night and it's a little tired in places but lovely, welcoming hotel.

    Very relaxed with no airs and graces. Extremely comfortable and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    A very comfortable nights stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet chain didn't flush properly & flooded the bathroom!! & sadly the jacuzzi on poolside wasn't working correctly.

    I loved the gorgeous white fluffy bath towels!!! & good selection of toiletries.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.3
    Will re-visit for food only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dated. Broken window. Damp on walls. Disappointed. Facilities were tired. Could be lovely but sadly did not live up to expectations.

    very good food and staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    6.7
    Nice stay, with fantastic food, but disappointed with the room we stayed in. Smart TV would be nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff seemed to be standing round doing very little whilst one person at the reception was trying to deal with three different groups of people at the same time. However all staff who dealt with us were very friendly and helpful

    Good food

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.9
    Fine, does what says on tin.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s tired... hotel of choice for work reasons and you can see improvements but rooms are very tired. Only EE/Orange mastso O2 no chance.

    Good food, good beer, friendly staff and gym is fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.5
    The hotel was a hidden gem and we had an excellent meal in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms looked a little dated and it would have been nice to have a proper shower rather than just a shower head.

    The hotel was a hidden gem and we had an excellent meal in the restaurant on the evening. The pool was great and quiet while we were there. Would definately look at returning in the future.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff were so happy/friendly and couldn't do enough for you from the minute you arrive to having dinner and breakfast. The room was extremely clean and spacious - was a superior room. OMG - the food was wonderful and again the people serving were so good at their job - Sorry to be typically British I had the biggest Prawn Cocktail and lovely piece of steak.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    excellent food lovely efficient staff couldn't do enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the rooms could have been more luxurious for a spar hotel

    excellent food lovely efficient staff couldn't do enough for you so relaxing loved it .lovely facial beauty girls lovely and friendly lovely birthday treat

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location, really beautiful spot.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very uncomfortable. It would be great if you like your bed with worn springs and hard pillows. The decor needs updating, there were stains on the carpet and the bathroom was very outdated.

    Great location, really beautiful spot. The staff were brilliant. Very friendly and really helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    Ideal for the occasion why we stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electricity kept going off. Bath Shower could not adjust for Cold water. Had to settle for a Bath. When first running the Bath, there was a slight discolouration of the Water.

    Room was Clean and Fresh Linen. Bathroom was spotlessly tidy. Restaurant was good. Food was stunning. Breakfast was plentiful and hot. Staff were fantastic and, couldn't do enough for you. Spa facilities were first rate. Spent 2 hours in the Pool, Steam room, Sauna and Jacuzzi. Even used the Gym.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent food and room but breakfast charge was very naughty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room rate includes breakfast HOWEVER!! If you have the full breakfast (normally charged at £13.95), it’s included, but chose anything else from the menu , like eggs and smoked salmon and you get charged £7 at checkout. I find this an annoying hidden extra. If breakfast in included it should be included, with no strings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful place with great food and welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the pool was a little colder than you would expect in a spa hotel was slightly too cold to enjoy

    The food was outstanding . Wonderful service. And helpful staff. Was a very welcoming place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    It does the job. Breakfast wonderful, bed is small and staff experience was mixed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a special occasion but when I called to see if we could get any cake or decoration in the room I was told you can only order Prosecco which was useless since we both don't drink.. .

    Swimming pool was nice and not crowded. Fresh fruit salad in the morning was great and breakfast selection was small but certainly did the job and it was nice to be able to order hot items instead of having them for hours on the buffet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    7.1
    Very overpriced. Especially for Merthyr
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was like something from the 1970s. Very basic and you had to move a big sitting chair to get into the cupboard

    Food was great room needs major update

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Another relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Nant Ddu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My daughters would have liked a shower in their bathroom, instead of just the bath with a shower head, but it wasn’t a major problem.

    We stayed at the lodge as part of our daughters’ 18th birthday celebrations. The rooms were lovely and the evening meal at the restaurant was excellent. The staff were helpful and friendly. Our second stay here and will definitely return, it’s a great place to relax and unwind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.3
    Great staff, great food, but the room could do a facelift...particularly the bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have given five stars, but the bathroom in particular could do with updating.

    Staff were excellent & the food in the restaurant was first class. We had trouble with our key cards getting in to our room but were offered a drink on the house in the bar while it was sorted. Rooms are spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems accessing room with keycard - staff were aware of issues but nothing had been done to rectify. Bathroom small and decor somewhat shabby. Steep stairs up to room

    Nothing in particular

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    Not satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The tap didn't work, the room was old and tatty, the pillows hard. the food awful and expensive, the service rude and the Jacuzzi fell apart when we were in it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.1
    Gym; Spa;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most things upstairs were a bit disappointing: bedroom was clean but communal areas not so much. Bathroom very much in need of update. Bathroom radiator not working. Shower would have been nice. Soundproofing poor - had to sleep with earplugs in due to noisy guests from adjacent room (or below).

    Gym; Spa; bar; restaurant all really good. Staff and evening meal were wonderful. Really appreciated a bath in the room, don’t often find that any more in hotels. Good size bedroom. For my needs it was great, I would probably stay again if I am in the area again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    5.0
    Dont bother. Find somewhere else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi is terrible The bar staff were shocking. Too busy rushing to chat, swear and have a laugh with their friend in the kitchen to provide service to customers in the bar There was no shower and the bath water trickled out . had to top up the bath with the help of using the basin tap water and the drinking glass

    The breakfast was by far the best part of the stay. Not only because there was anticipation of leaving but the food was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, fantastic food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren't the most comfortable. Not much choice of Real Ale or Whisky in the bar. No shower curtain in the bath which made showering interesting.

    Food was excellent. Spa was great. Central location with easy access to most of the Brecon Beacons.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    relaxing and well deserved!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    originally given room 1. I had not been in this area of N.Ddu , and was surprised when we went in that there was water running down one of the walls near the bed. My friend who came with me , and it was a treat from me and her first time there , has lung disease and COPD. I was a bit upset by this. Reception sorted room 23 out immediately , which is where I normally stay as its ground floor too , and I was happy. Still baffled as to why we were given room 1. Someone must have seen the wall.

    Stayed a few times before on different packages. The area is wonderful , the food in amazing. Totally relaxing break.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    6.7
    Good location and excellent staff. General facilities good but rooms need significant improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are very dated. Carpets and walls badly marked. Towel rail rusty and shower curtain rail (yes! shower curtain!!) practically hanging off the wall. Bath chipped and shaving lamp presumably installed by someone without a spirit level. In short, rooms feel like they belong in a 1980's B&B rather than somewhere claiming to be (and charging as if they are) a luxury spa hotel.

    Excellent staff and location. Ideal for a blast over the Brecon Beacons. Spa is modest but adequate and frankly, the only option ion the area. Restaurant serves good food (at a fairly ambitious price) but service is professional and efficient. Bar area at the front is basic and ideal for walkers wanting to enjoy some refreshment in a relaxed environment.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: