Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Neeld Arms 3 stars

Grittleton, Grittleton, SN14 6AP, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Grittleton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 443 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really everything was as expected, nice pub with lots of character.

    We had to leave before breakfast was served so the hosts kindly supplied a continental breakfast for us and allowed us use of the facilities early in the morning.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Evening meal excellent, menu had usual pub food on it plus some "non pub food" which we chose. The avocado starter was different and excellent, my wife had the mixed mushrooms, chick peas and rice in a brandy cream sauce which she said was superb. I had the atlantic hake which aso was perfectly cooked and superb also. Bed was very comfortable. We would happily stay again to break our journey. Also very nice to have decent coffee with breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and lodging is dated and the furniture is older and shows wear and tear. It's very basic it's no frills but very clean and the bed is comfortable.

    The pub is very casual and typical country pub, no fancy bells and whistles but it's clean and the location is close to many things to do in the Cotswolds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 5 at the front was noisy until the pub closed with people chatting under the window. The black mould in the noisy shower needs a clean up. We thought the mattresses were lumpy. Only cereal offered for breakfast, would have liked some fruit or yoghurt as don't like a cooked breakfast

    The evening restaurant meal in the old pub was very good. A good full English breakfast (partner)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff around in the morning. Waited ages to pay and then I had to go and find someone, via a very rude cleaner!

    Walking distance to grittleton house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait until 9 for breakfast, however, it was explained why.

    The Neeld Arms Inn is a pleasant and friendly pub with rooms. Rooms are clean, bright and spacious. Excellent tea and coffee making facilities in room with an abundance of sachets. Food in restaurant was good both in the evening and at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little. Just broken light in bedroom but there were side lights. Temperamental hot tap in sink but water was hot once it got going.

    Large room and bathroom. Comfortable bed. Very quiet in room considering it was a pub. Excellent evening meal and breakfast. Staff very friendly. Powerful shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have been here several times and it never disappoints. This time the owner was away and his staff were just as amazing. They could not be more helpful .The young guy who checked us in was very welcoming and had a real " no problem" attitude. The next day when we were given breakfast the French woman serving us was really friendly, smiley and the breakfast was excellent. We ate there in the evening and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were disturbed by our non welcome. Our dog was ignored. The room would benefit from several cosmetic repairs and the wiring to one of the lamps seemed a bit dodgy.

    The inn is situated in a lovely village. The service at breakfast was cheerful and quick. The room was large, light and airy. Breakfast was very tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room overlooked pub entrance with noise from customers at tables. Also particularly irritating noisy aircon outside window only switched off at 22:30

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early checkout although I understood the need to clean my room. I was offered a seat in the pub.

    The food! My dinner was the best ever scampi and chips! My breakfast the best scrambled eggs ever.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor phone reception with EE which is obviously beyond their control so they gave me the WiFi details

    From the moment we arrived we were made to feel at ease and well looked after will be visiting again directly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old pub with a lovely busy atmosphere. Our room was very large with a four poster bed. We had an extra heater that we could switch on as it was very cold outside. The owner and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    Lovely family run business in a beautiful village. The staff were lovely and nothing was to much trouble. The food was really good and reasonable. Definately would love to go back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could have done with a shower curtain but really thats about it! so no complaints

    excellent food. nice beer. really nice people running the place. dog friendly which was a real benefit

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it was Sunday Breakfast was not started until 9am. As I had to catch a certain train we eventually negotiated that they would leave cerealsout for us and we would help ourselves to some bread. We were not offered any reduction on our bill despite the help yourself simple breakfast. The room was freezing as the window was wide open when we arrived. We discovered that the window would not shut properly and so we ended up blocking the draughty with towels and cushions. There was no heating in the bathroom and it was quite cold in there.

    Bed was fine and bathroom very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cobwebs on the ceiling, lampshade was broken and the resulting shade was burnt, window latch broken so could not shut the window - room 2

    Quite location, comfy large bed, hot shower, additional heater - room 2

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was hot and tasty. The evening meal was simply delicious, as well as the desserts. Bed was comfy with soft pillows - my favourite! Biscuits and plenty of tea and coffee sachets, as well as complimentary shampoo/conditioner/soap. I will definitely be going back next year! Not that far away from Bath for Christmas shopping and near a park and ride. Not far from Bristol, and very close to Castle Combe; an idyllic retreat, as well as a motor racing circuit. Took 10 mins to get there for the Christmas fayre in the local Church last Saturday. Travelled with a family member and managed to do so much in 2 nights and 3 days.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was friendly. The food was amazing the room was cute and the pub to it was the coziest most idyllic pub we've seen during our trip. You need the car to get to bath etc but it's definitely worth it

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a twin room which was very quaint but the mattresses were very springy and uncomfortableZ, could do with replacing!

    Excellent breakfast and evening meals! Ate in the restaurant both nights!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The duvet could have been bigger. The bed was very large but the duvet was only a double which was too small to share with my wife. Could do with a king or super king.

    Very friendly and welcoming. The building has a lot of character. Breakfast was delicious and the menu looked amazing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television was too small for the room and outdated. There was numerous ring marks on furniture. The window wouldn’t shut properly. The furnishings generally could do with being improved considering the cost of the room.

    It was in a old village with lots of history. Had lovely comfortable bed. Was atmospheric, antique, quirky and the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was delicious and the pub offered lovely home cooked food. Overall our experience was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pub was busy from late afternoon until after midnight. There is no sound insulation in this old building. Poor sleep. Some things need attention: hot water tap can't be turned off; window won't close properly so always a draught.

    Very good cooked breakfast. Nice big room. Dog friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly bar staff greeted on arrival and showed to our room which was as described, being a good size with generous ensuite. Sound night sleep. Good dinner was an excellent home made burger, best for miles! Matched the next morning by a good cooked breakfast. Dog friendly in bar and room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car park is very small, although there is on street parking. An old building so ill fitting windows, lack of plug points. The shower head was tricky, no shower curtain and it soaked the floor. The stairs are quite steep, not suitable if you are disabled or had difficulty walking.

    Lovely comfortable bed, excellent breakfast, friendly staff. Had an evening meal, good choice of menu, well cooked, great presentation, although a little pricey for a pub meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no attendance to our room during our 2 night stay. Having eaten in the pub for the two nights the second evening the food was returned as it was inedible.

    Location for our visit was excellent. The room was huge as we were allocated a family room for the two of us. Staff were friendly. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No key to lock the bedroom door! Window catches broken so would not close properly. Room was above the bar next to the road and had really poor soundproofing so was really noisy.

    Good sized room, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bottle of water in room. Otherwise perfect and would recommend.

    Busy pub but accomidation was quiet and private. Home cooked food was great and very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels not changed. Bins in bedroom and bathroom not emptied. Helped ourselves to clean towels, which were sited on the landing.

    Bed very comfortable. Food excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A good clean.

    The property was a disappointment compared to others we had stayed in. The overall appearance was shabby and in need of a good clean. I do not refer to the rustic appearance of an old pub as this is the type of pub we prefer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Two things that I would like to let them know is put the bed linens in the cupboard or somewhere rather than leaving on the floor outside of the guest room. And get rid of mold from the shower cubicle.

    It is only 15mins from Castle combe. It is a lovely small village. I and my friend enjoyed food from the pub.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    REALLY hard mattress. In our room,the shower sprayed out water over the bath as shower screen was far too small. Shower head had to be hand held as shower stand was broken. Sorry Charlie but Boo does cook a better breakfast than you!!!

    Stunning building. Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Good off road parking

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An excellent cooked english breakfast, but would have been nice to have a fruity breakfast alternative.

    Pretty location, easy drive to Bath. Staff friendly and very helpful. Meals very good. A great place to stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We couldn't get the key to our room to lock and had numerous attempts to get the situation fixed. The staff weren't very friendly at all and didn't really make us feel welcome.

    It was handy to the expressway.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't fault it!

    We really liked the character of the pub. The room was clean and cosy. The staff were really friendly and helpful, we loved the local, relaxed and welcoming vibe. The food was incredible and really good value.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Lovely village pub excellent value for money The food at both dinner and breakfast was superb all freshly cooked The room was excellent and both me and my colleague had a perfect nights sleep Mine host Charlie is a most accommodating chap and made us most welcome Highly recommended to all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't bother us but this is a working restaurant/pub so it can stay noisy until midnight.

    Friendly staff, excellent restaurant, stunning old building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No staff around upon arrival, would have been handy to have an intro to the building including times that the doors are locked.

    The room was great, perfect location for events at Grittleton House next door.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was a little too hard for us. Parking had to be in the street,a slight nuisance.

    The steak and kidney pie was devine,and the beer good,staff first class.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We made a first-time visit to the Neeld Arms with two members of our family from Australia. All thoroughly our time there. A great example of an English pub in a very attractive village. Clearly very popular with locals as even on the Monday we arrived the bar and restaurant were very busy. The host Charlie and his staff, made us feel very welcome. We stayed for two nights and dined on both evenings and thoroughly enjoyed our meals. The menu and wine list provided a good choice and prices were very reasonable. We definitely look forward to returning to the Neeld Arms for another short break in the not too distant future.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't make up the room on our second days stay.

    The room was spacious, the four poster bed was divine, bath was large and all the amenities included. Staff very accommodating and food in the restaurant was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whistle sound from the shower pump

    We had a fantastic stay here , lovely room and friendly staff, well worth the money !!! Get new pics up on booking.com the ones you have does not do it justice

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy as had room above Bar and in front. Previously stayed at back of building and nice and quiet. Didn't ruin my stay tho

    Nice room and good food in restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the noise from the fan of the fridge kept us up all night & the bed, although massive, was very hard. Having said that, some may prefer a hard bed.

    The staff were brilliant! Approachable & very friendly. And the food was lovely, very generous portions!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly welcoming staff. Beautiful location. Good food enjoyed in the evening. Highly Reommend. Close to Chippenham and Castle Combe ...........well worth a visit

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main course vegetables were a bit boring and I have had better duck, though the sauce was good.

    Beautifully designed bedrooms, lovely bathroom and toiletries, fantastic shower. Friendly helpful staff. Starter and pudding were magnificent. Pretty village close to the M4. Lovely full English breakfast. It is a very friendly village pub though there are quieter tables for diners, it is a pub not a restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything. The room was a good size, the bed comfortable and the pillow, food was excellent, we had three main meals here and they were all plentiful and delicious, including the desserts, the breakfasts very good too. The staff including the owners were very friendly and welcoming, being an old building the floors did creak a bit, but that added to the character of the place. The tea/coffee making facilities were very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Kitchen extractor fan a bit noisy when running but in no way would deter booking again

    Bedroom very good considering the age and style of the building. Dinner in evening excellent with great ambiance in the bar. Set in a very lovely small village.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great! Staff could not be more helpful. We were travelling with our 3-year old daughter and they promptly arranged for an extra matress. She was delighted to sleep between our beds! Beatiful property. Even though it was old, everything was very clean and tidy. Felt like a hobbit :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to complain about

    everything was very comfortable. food excellent. staff very friendly, nothing was too much trouble, landlord very friendly and we appreciated that he was the one-man band at breakfast, cooking everything himself, so it came out very fresh and hot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was a true english inn run by an english gentleman

    Large bedroom, character bar with new oak timber earing area. Chris landlord was friendly and good to talk to, locals friendly, village very pretty and pub oposite a manor house.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room lighting was a little dim and another chair in room would be good.

    Great little country pub. Very accessible to Cotswolds and Bath and only 1.5 hours from Heathrow. Very helpful friendly staff and great breakfast and meals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window blind needed repairing/replacing, as did shower hose. Just minor things ...

    Friendly staff, excellent food and lovely attic oak beamed room. Breakfast starting at 9am on a Saturday suited us perfectly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good base for visiting Bath and other places of interest in the area. Landlord, his wife and all their staff are charming . The food is exceptionally good, especially breakfast. A very restful and relaxing place to spend a few days.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed could have done with a topper on the mattress as I could feel the springs.

    Lovely country pub set in a gorgeous village. Room was lovely and very clean. Ate in the pub and had the best sirloin that I have had in a long time. Wifi was good. Breakfast very nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleanliness in the room could do with a bit of improvement with dust on most ledges and light fittings and also on top of the four poster bed canopy.

    Friendly and busy locals pub with restaurant and accommodation. Full in the bar at 5.45 on a Friday afternoon and remained so well into the evening. Restaurant similarly popular. Saved from closure some years ago by enthusiastic locals. Very quiet location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike about this Inn.

    When ever I'm in the area I will always try and use Neeld Arms, the owner and staff are excellent. The food is also excellent and very good VFM.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like!

    Absolutely everything! Good location with free parking available, friendly and very helpful staff, great food (not your average pub food), full english breakfast included, spacious - lovely decorated rooms, neat and clean and with Castle Combe (said to be the most beautiful village in England) in a 5 minute drive distance!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like!

    Good location with free parking, friendly and very helpfull staff, great food (more than your average pub food), full english breakfast included, Castle Combe is literaly 5 minutes away with car and generally the perfect choice for a visit to Cotswolds! 100% recommended!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I couldn't break my journey back to the ROI by staying here again, because Badminton was on and the place was fully booked!

    Superb setting near Bath - ideal for a short stopping off point on a long journey to Devon from ROI Friendly, warm and approachable owner and staff, great food and a great night's sleep in a 4 poster in a cosy room I loved everything about the place and would highly recommend to anyone travelling thorugh the West Country I always ask myself: would I go back to this place? when travelling Answer: Neeld Arms: " in a heart beat!"

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like

    The staff were all so friendly and really accommodating, perfect location for the Badminton horse trials It really was a lovely village pub and the food was excellent

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent place with a very good restaurant and breakfast. Comfortable rooms. Very friendly staff. I've already been there and was happy to come back again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, accommodating every request and willingly supplying any information to make our stay and journey to the nearby Castle Combe pleasant. The bed was good, and the shower was clean and rather modern - which was surprising, given the historic location and otherwise rustic surroundings. I should perhaps say that Neeld Arms is probably the only place around where you can find food, so you will be relieved to know the food there is really good as well.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much food choice for vegetarians. Could have a veggie burger/sausage on offer.

    Had breakfast, lunch and dinner there. Food tasty and nicely presented. Friendly staff, willing to chat even during busy dinner service. Booked two bedrooms, double had nice large bed. Spacious room with kettle, tea/coffee. Smallish TV. The triple room in the attic was also spacious. Proper full English breakfast included.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only slight gripe was we had the attic room and the double bed is pretty old and uncomfortable. Definitely needs a new mattress!

    Really friendly and homely atmosphere. The pub was lively and atmospheric in the evening. Food at the pub is INCREDIBLE! Higgledy piggledy little place with a lot of character.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would help to have some brighter ighting in room.

    The room and on suit were large and clean. the added bonus was a four poster bed. This is a very old traditional pub. We stayed to attend a wedding reception at Grittleton House. The landlord was very helpful on arrival. Unfortunately we had to leave early due to unforeseen circumstances so couldn't stay for breakfast would return in the future to try their menu.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In an ideal world the villlage would be further from the motorway

    The pub is popular and comfortable with excellent staff and good food. Beds were comfortable and we felt welcomed it was an excellent base for exploring the area.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast selection limited. Room was directly over the bar and was noisy at times. So if you wanted an early night then it could be a bit disturbing.

    Very comfortable beds. Good English breakfast. Warm room and a warm cosy village pub. Creaky floor boards but plenty of character.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not used to squeaky floorboards above us.....however it is an old style English pub.

    Accommodation comfortable . Staff excellent. Dinner very good,breakfast excellent. Terrific value for money

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service was slow for breakfast even though there were only three others there as well but when eventually served went smoothly.

    The dog came free, great breakfast and lovely comfy four poster bed 😀 good meal in the evening and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You need a satnav to find it and it's nearer 15 mins from m4.

    It's a lovely place to stay, staff very friendly and welcoming, good food, great prices and beautiful setting.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its not fair to pick fault with the Neeld Arms but I felt the food a little expensive. Could not pick up Phone signal at all.

    Nice shower, bathroom, comfortable bed. Warm Room. Evening meal very nicely cooked. Breakfast very nice and plenty of it. Quaint would sum it up. Very busy locals pub with log fire.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was really comfortable and the breakfast was lovely. Good location for my needs. Would definitely stay here again. Staff were friendly and accommodating !!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over bath in room 6 would be awkward for a tall person because of the ceiling beams

    Lovely big room. Great bath with loads of hot water. Owner very kindly let us check out a bit later too.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit creaky.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the food was great and the room on the top floor was massive and very comfortable!

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: