Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nelcon Hotel

38 Palatine Road, Blackpool, FY1 4BY, United Kingdom

#349 of 362 B&Bs and Inns in Blackpool

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 488 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    5.7

  • Comfort

    5.9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    5.8
    Get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated, curtains hanging off and dirty, rooms really need re painted. Electricity cut off in morning and there was no one around to fix I had to find the fuse box myself. Walls are so thin and could hear doors banging every time someone used the shared bathroom

    Staff were friendly

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    5.4
    Should have slept in the car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Dirty, dust everywhere, holes in walls and ceilings, floor laminate broken In places. Electricity was turned off at 8am assumingly to encourage guests to be checked out early.

    Not very much except the landlady seemed very nice and pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    6.3
    Cheap but not cheerful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor is very dated which makes it feel dirty. The photos on here are out of date. Shared toilets could do with being updated. The communal room was a mess/ maybe under renovation?

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2018

    3.8
    The staff were friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was smelly, damp and unclean. I made the children sleep in their clothes and use coats as covers to keep warm. I had to put our towels over the pillows for them to lay their heads on. If it hadnt of been a busy weekend because of a sell out event i would of changed to a different hotel if we had of been able to find one.

    The staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    4.6
    Accommodating and friendly staff, shared bathroom was clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t expect much due to price, but our room was filthy, wall paper peeling away, damp on the roof, pillows filthy upon removing pillow case. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable and I woke up with an eye infection.

    Accommodating and friendly staff, shared bathroom was clean. Close to town centre and easy to find.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    2.5
    Very bad and suffering.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They lied and not as advertised, no internet, very dirty and crappy place, poor hygiene, not enough heating, loud noise, poor services. Be careful, not be fooled like me!

    Nothing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    4.2
    Dusy
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were to start I booked two rooms one double room for self and one room with two single beds got two double rooms bedrooms were tiny and not very clean I have stayed in loads of hotels throughout the UK and foreign hotels but this to me was the dirtiest stay and I wouldn't give it a half a star rating even though the mangers were plesent

    The close Ness to town and the mangers were plesent

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    2.5
    Hotel appeared closed when we arrived , no one answered the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel appeared closed when we arrived , no one answered the door we had already paid in advance for the booking and we then had to find alternative accommodation and pay again

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    2.9
    As I walked in it smelt of vinegar in the corridors and my...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains and dirt from years ago filthiest place I’ve ever been in my life and they had the audacity to say I left the room in a bad condition looooooooool I entered the room in a bad condition

    As I walked in it smelt of vinegar in the corridors and my room smelt like wet dog.... I woke up to a cobweb with a spider on it crawling in my face I was promised WiFi and never received it, the only good thing about this hotel was that it included a bed and the staff were nice 😂😂😂

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing to say the least but the staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi wasn’t working, and the tv wasn’t either, the plug socket was hanging off the wall and there was a piece of metal slicking up through the floor. The bathroom was also out of order for part of our stay and was doing construction in there till late in the night causing a lot of sound

    The staff were very friendly, and the bedding was clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    2.9
    absolutley nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was a shared bathroom and shower which wasnr a problem. the problem was how dirty they was and for a whole 4 days they was not cleaned! staff asked to be quiet as leaving and entering, but every floor board and door squeked! rooms are small and dirty! tv is riddiculous size and electric heater was pathetic, turns itself off after two mins. window wouldnt shut so could hear everything all night. wall paper and boarder was all mix and match and peeling off. damp in one corner. the hotel itself was disgusting. never ever again.

    absolutley nothing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    2.9
    worst hotel we have stayed at in Blackpool.
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    DISAPPOINTING!FILTHY!rating 1/10 The hotel was filthy.beds needed changed,floorboards on bed base to hold mattresses up .springs through mattress.covers had stains,food stuck on covers along with fluids and hair.rotten window with gaps and holes so room frozen,carpets filthy and frayed,bare wires on lights,kettle mouldy and dusty,walls had Stains,headboards stained and filthy,slept in clothes with towels over pillow,coats on hoods up,hair and dust old food everywhere!60£ a night was robbery.strong hash smell also.rooms very close together causing noise.used bags to protect door shut.shared toilet was clean but didn't dare use the showers.Very small tv .radiators needed to be plugged in and lay in middle of floor no Protection from children.old shabby thin curtain hung to protect us from broken window. Not a place for families or children . Free tea coffee soap available.shame couldn't use. Hotels looks nice on outside,shame from second you step in its filthy.reception room is embarrassing. Staff where nice happy people though.i have went to blackpool for 20years and stayed at flats hotels and unfortunately this is the worst.if I had stayed here on first visit I would never return to blackpool as it ruined the trip due to lack of sleep and cleanliness.

    Loads of attractions

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    4.6
    Awful hotel so unclean and outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding was dirty, wallpaper was hanging off the walls, no remote for the TV, paint peeling off the ceiling, curtains didn't open, no spoon for making hot drinks, other guests really loud outside in the hallway, shared toilets one toilet seat was on the floor, light didn't work in the other toilet, showers were both dirty, floor outside shower also dirty. Wouldn't recommend anyone to stay there.

    Closeness to sea front

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.3
    Terrible, highly not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean was really dirty, in the bathroom was dirty clothes in the middle of the floor overnight, there was something looks like meat in the shower, pictures on the website really doesn’t show how terrible was in real. Highly not recommend, dangerously connected sockets, mold on the walls, holes on the ceilings and on the floors. One of the room stay open overnight because door lock was completly broken. In the rooms there was a sink, it was supported by a wooden beam!! The price was very cheap but really pictures on the web site was from different hotel, in real it is looks like public house. We tried to contact with staff but they didn’t pick up the phone,

    I would not reccomemd this even to my enemies

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    4.6
    The room size and cleanliness were dissapointing and there was too much noise next door.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like sharing a bathroom we only had a sink in our room, the cups were dirty and the ariel cam off the wall also the room we stayed in was shoddy so we decided not to stay afterall we were planning on staying one night to see how ut went but someone in the hotel next door was very rowdy so me and my friend left.

    The people owning the hotel seemed friendly enough i guess

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    3.8
    Shixhole!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Nothing just it was a basic cheap hotel!! No remote for tv,toilet and shower outside on corridor!! Bed squeaks and uncomfortable no cups to make a brew?!?!?! A shixhole!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    Basic but great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like the size of the room and the fact that it was a shared bathroom.

    Very friendly and warm welcoming staff, always willing to help us. Great location for enjoying the night life.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.4
    Pretty on the outside !! 🙃
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was friendly on arrival - room very small - wardrobe falling apart - the view from our room was a brick wall.... there was a very odd musky smell in the hotel. No glasses in room . Shared bathroom is something I’ll never do again. This place is more like a hostel - looks pretty from the outside but that is about it

    Check in the 2 staff that did this Wer really friendly!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    5.4
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite dirty showers were unclean. Had to get other guests to let you in though front door bed was uncomfortable plug sockets hanging off only got 1 pillow each in a double bed tv had no remote and went out of room came back in and it was on??? Smoke alarm was covered in cling film. Wifi dosnt work properly only good for 1 night

    Staff were nice and freindly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    Really pleased comfortable warm right size the extras were gd 2 I.e the tea/coffee andvtv
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest I was generally happy overall the only downside I could find was no breakfast but wasn't a bad thing as we was close to beaches shops etc

    Staff were really good hotel was comfortable pleasant and plenty warm enough my friend was really happy which was good we all agreed we would stay here again already planning our next trip thanks for a good four days

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.5
    very goog enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other people staying in the hotel with there doors open all the while staring at u while using the bathroom hotel could do with a bit of updating

    The owner's very friendly beds comfy u get what u pay for

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    3.3
    Avoid!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nothing like on the pictures, I think it’s changed owners, the property smelled, it was dirty throughout! It looked like the owner now lives in the main living room. Toilets/bathroom where vile! The bed sheets definitely were not clean. If you have children please Do Not stay here. The whole place is falling to bits, it needs a good clean! If ur a group wanting a place to put your head down and don’t mind a dirty room then it’s cheap enough. The owner was nice enough lad but the place really was filthy and smelly. They didn’t offer breakfast...not that we would have dared eat it!

    It was close to the tower and other attractions at the north side.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant overall and good for just one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't as clean as I thought and the locks on the doors and the plugs were loose and not sturdy. Also I didn't know the facilities were shared.

    Good service and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    4.2
    A big mistake coming to this "hotel". Waste of money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was very filthy, smelling of wet dogs and stale tobacco, the bedroom and beddings smelly and itchy. Toilets filthy, with no light bulbs, bathroom filthy and littered with clumps of hair and empty bottles on the floor. They had about 3 smelly dogs roaming about and that wasn't made known on their site. We booked for 4 nights, but only stayed for 1 night, before booking into another hotel. I wouldn't recommend this dump if it was the last hotel on earth! This place is not even fit for animals! The council needs to go take a look and shut it down!

    Nothing! I wasn't expecting the "Ritz" or "Hilton", but it was a complete waste of my hard earned money!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    6.3
    Did not say because of the condition of the bedroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bring more up to date. And making it more homely

    The bed room was very basic in deed. There was no wardrobe to put your clothes in just one bed which was hard little window a sink wot looks like the 50s with a broken tap. I did not stop I went anther hotel which was 100 per cent better.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    Hosts friendly good range of beverages in the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathroom facilities were filthy. Clumps of hair in the showers and loads of empty loo rolls and bottles lying around. There was a massive spring sticking out of the mattress where my son cut his back. Was going to mention this at check out but no-one was in. Worse of all was the smell of the place. I can't even describe it but it was absolutely awful.

    Hosts friendly good range of beverages in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.4
    The rooms were small but cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared facilities

    The rooms were small but cosy. had a sink and a t.v. although my tv didn't work. The owners were really friendly but the facilities needs an intense clean. The shared toilets were not pleasant at all and I looked and the shower and decided against it. I would give the place another go though. depends what you are looking for I guess

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    2.9
    Liverpool girls
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's absolutely filthy, don't think it's had a clean for year's, don't know how this place is still takeing bookings. Needs closing down!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    6.7
    Was realy close to beaches was realy close to everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didnt feeling the room safty was up to much as my room key opend my partners door next door and also was the key to get into the main property

    Was realy close to beaches was realy close to everything ready local shops parks

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    Needs alot of attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was offered to us by booking.com due to our original hotel having no room for our stay when turning up. Neither the hotel or booking.com told us about this prior to visiting. Location is great for Blackpool centre. Owners were really nice. Unfortunately the bedrooms were dirty and outdated. The shared bathrooms were also dirty and just not very pleasant. The hotel needs alot of attention.

    Friendliness of owners and location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't find any faults as it states they r under refurbishment

    Very friendly was asked if we would like our cases took upstairs. Value for money also

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    3.8
    I was appalled and wouldn't of stayed if I'd of got my money back, I'd rather of stayed in a tent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anything

    We didn't like anything about the place, it was a shame, as the owners were down to earth people, the whole place smelt like a dog kennel, the bedding smelled like sweat especially the pillows, you could literally smell the previous occupants sweaty head, I wouldn't mind, but I paid £59 for the night and I see a lot of people only pay £20, I was wondering why, the rooms were in dire need of a renovation, the bathrooms were disgusting with stains in the toilets, the showers were filthy with hair all in the shower base. Not ideal to take kids either. Absolutely appalled. The missus had a flea bite behind her ear and my daughter had a flea bite on her ankle from the revolting bedding. I wouldn't recommend the hotel if it was the last hotel on earth until it is totally revamped, as a Plasterer and general builder, I would love to take on this as a project and get it tip top standard that it needs with plenty of changes done to the whole building. Sorry to sound so blunt, but I am very annoyed and disgusted with the place!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    3.8
    Awful place. Don't do it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badly run, very disorganised, appears to be in the middle of being decorated (I hope anyway!). Says there is WiFi but had none. Room was badly decorated, door didn't close properly, bed was falling apart, no storage for luggage or clothes except a dirty bedside table. Shared bathroom was filthy- dirty walls and clumps of hair on the floor. Also got woken in the early hours by loud hammering noises. Couldn't bear to stay both nights!

    It's not too far from the beach

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.9
    Cheap night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit dated but it was 30 quid for 3 of us for the night. I'm not going to complain about anything at that price.

    Clean bedding and a comfy bed. It wasn't the Ritz by any stretch of the imagination but it was a good sleep in a bed. Neil was very friendly and his dog bronson. Tea and coffee stuff in the room aswell so we were all happy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    2.5
    There's nothing to like it's all rubbish and hygiene...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It smelt, it was untidy and looked horrific. We had a look around and had to walk straight out! Avoid at all costs!!

    There's nothing to like it's all rubbish and hygiene is poor, it's a mess all over

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    Lovely couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs work done to it and needed abit of a clean. Gave used soap in sink. The matteress was to big for the bed bases.

    They was a lovely, friendly couple, very helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    4.6
    The owner is very nice, the place neads closing down, and re vamp da whole pla
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place

    The bed was smelly, room 13,electric sockets were hanging of da wall, outer casing had holes in it, the sink was almost of da wall,, the tape moved, iv took photo, it was so bad we left at six am, on a Sunday morning, after driving 276miles to get,there was shouting and rowing till 345am,,no light bulbs in loo, shower room, mouldy, dirty, didn't have shower, the quest living room, well what can I say, curtain half of wall, dirty, we spoke to other bods in next road about our hotel, we didn't not name place, or road, they said is it,,,, hotel and road. The other hotel two streets away wear cheaper and looked proper nice, but I'm going to contact da council in blackpool, as health and safety,.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Short overnight stay but overall good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shared bathroom could do with a really big clean empty bottles all over hair n muck in shower.

    Owners was so friendly a young couple with good potential. We traveled with a 1year old so we ad a pram n to save carrying up stairs n struggling they allowed us to keep it in there frnt room. Room was clean n tidy n owner brought clean towels on arrival. Only thing i would suggest if aving a few spare pillows in room as we ad t use the towels under ares. Id book here again 🙂

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    4.6
    It was ok you get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers a bit grubby . The decor is old . The smell off dog when you walked in . I think the ceiling in the room was a fire hazard as they were polystyrene tiles ( attic bedroom)

    The staff were lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.4
    You definitely get what you pay for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a complete makeover. The owners need to realise that it's a business and be a little more professional. Although they were very very nice people. I believe they slept in the lounge? The lounge was very grubby with mess all over and that's where I was taken through to do paperwork etc. I'm very honest and I actually thought I'd walked into a squat! I think the owners may be new to owning a hotel? So probably have a lot to learn and I hope they get to grips soon. The rooms were very dated and the bed was awful with broken boards underneath the mattress to hold it up as the base was broken! We travel a lot and have stayed at some awful and some amazing places and I am honest with all my reviews to be helpful for improving places for the owners benefit. The curtains were hanging off by a couple of hooks, the nets were filthy, the bathroom facilities were grubby. The whole place needs a complete overhaul. The owners were half naked which I thought wasn't too professional, but they were very welcoming and did make us feel comfortable when arriving. I also believe that nothing would have been too much trouble for them. I just think they may have taken on more than they could handle with this place. My partner was homeless at one time in his life and actually said he'd stayed in better hostels and squats. I really hope the owners can get this place up and running to a great standard for their benefit and the benefit of their customers. I wish them well in their chosen profession.

    The location was good. The owners were very nice salt of the earth people. Price wise it was cheap at £20 a night but you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.3
    The staff are fantastic and we was made to feel welcome.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are fantastic and we was made to feel welcome. The hotel it's self could do with some money spending on it the beds need replacing they have seen better days. I would recommend the staff just not the hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    2.9
    Disgusting and uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The whole house was dirty and unusable and very unhygienic

    Nothing. The toilet and shower was unusable, dirty and full of grime. The bedroom was dirty and had been hoovered

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Shouldn't be open to paying guests
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Virtually everything. Very grubby, dirty and run down. The bedsheets and bed covers were discoloured and I slept outside the bed. Very poor facilities and the shared bathroom was also a disgrace.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.3
    Worst accommodation ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty carpets dirty doors dirty bed sheets dirty windows dirty curtains which were having off the rail that was hanging off the wall the whole place smelled like sweat and tobacco

    Nothing at all to like about a room that was worse than a prison cell

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money. Really friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having an en suite can be annoying but again, I felt I got what I paid for and was more than happy.

    I booked last minute extending my stay and paid £34 for 2 people for 2 nights. For this I expect nothing more than a bed which is what I got so I was happy. The staff were incredibly friendly and I would 100% stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    2.5
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very disgusting was in there 10 minutes and had to come out dirtiest place ever not fit for animals bedding hadn't been changed very dirty carpet stains on the bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    2.5
    Would not even recommend to a homeless guy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff (a young boy),ignorant and never showed us around.reception smelt of weed and a squatters den.Room was disgusting,bedding,curtain,cracked walls,broken ceiling light etc..... One bathroom to share with everyone with broken lock.also filthy inside!

    Nothing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Good if you need a place just lay your head.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a massive fan on shared bathrooms. Rooms are quite small but that's what you expect for the money paid

    Friendly couple who ran the hotel. Bed was good. Room was ok. Free WiFi was a bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Quickly checked in and settled into our room, we only needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very shabby and the wallpaper was peeling off . Just needed redecorating really but it was clean and comfortable.

    Quickly checked in and settled into our room, we only needed the room for our stuff and a bed to sleep in as I went with a friend for a day/night out. Very close to the beach and Blackpool tower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    You get what you pay for with the rooms. Hosts are great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You get what you pay for. Don't expect a 5 star hotel at this price. We enjoyed our stay. The hosts are a lovely couple. Made us both feel very welcome. We would recommend and we will be staying again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    It's in the process of being done refurbished and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's in the process of being done refurbished and the owners are fairly new so it's not quite perfect yet and looks a bit dated, but the people who run it are exceptional! It's not that expensive and serves it's purpose

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    An experience in what you get for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't the best for hygiene. Was very outdated, but to be fair, the owner said they hadn't had it long an was going to refurbish the property. Hopefully they do.

    The owners were very friendly. Also polite an honest.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    3.8
    Shower freezing, everything was filthy the bathroom was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower freezing, everything was filthy the bathroom was shared, the room was not worth 80.00 what so ever went to check out was nearly sick with the smell that was coming from the reception area there was a guy sleeping in there beer bottles all over its got to be the worst disgusting place I've ever stayed tbh it wants shutting down

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    2.5
    Absolutely horrendous, would not recommend to my dog.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about it.

    This is a hostel, it was run by young couple who didn't even show us to our room. The room was so small u had to walk side wards past the bed. The window was broke I had to put a towel in it to stop from banging. There was a broken Tv. with no remote. The bed sheets looked like they hadn't been washed. I slept on top of the bed fully clothed. A shared bathroom which I walked into the owner having the toilet with a can of beer by her feet she hadn't locked the door. The whole place stunk like sweaty feet. I'd of rather of camped out on the beach. Wen checking out the guy who runs it was asleep on the sette with his boxers on and bottles of beer all around him. I left the key on the table and left first thing. £125 for 2 nights In this dump. I was heartbroken. I have bites all over my face I would get this place shut down its that bad.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    2.5
    DON'T BOOK
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    DO NOT BOOK! should't be allowed to receive guests! VERY DIRTY, smell, dirty sheets, dirty room, dirty bathroom. Had to sleepe with my out clothes on, just not to make contact with sheets

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Everything about our stay was very good, the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything about our stay was very good, the staff were very welcoming and nice, room was clean and had everything that we needed. Overall lovely stay, would stay again & recommend. :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.2
    Looking forward to stay next year as it's our annual girlie weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having a lift as there are lots of stairs ,but manager helped with our cases was very helpful when ever we needed anything.

    The manager was very friendly great atmosphere,great location close to everything.really comfortable beds

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.3
    Worst hotel i have stayed in or even seen
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt like the property as soon as i walked in it looked dirty and very shabby the room was extremely disgusting this place should be condemned wasnt even wotth the £18 i paid for it i even spoke to a young couple who was staying there and they had the same thoughts as me the so called owner was wearing shorts that was way to small for him everything was a joke

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn't let my dog sleep here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No way was I expecting the Ritz as it was dirt cheap. But you expect cleanliness. Bleach is 50p in Aldi and it's doesn't cost much to wash sheets and put the Hoover round. AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE.

    This hotel was absolutely filthy. I checked in went upstairs for all of two hours then checked back out. The people were alright but everything was so unprofessional. I walked into what I perceived to be someone's living room. People lounging on the sofa. I felt like an intruder to be fair. Very awkward. As for the rooms they were disgusting. The sheets on the bed were dirty like the last guest had a munch and left it there. There were stains on the sheets and when I turned it over there was a huge pee stain on the mattress. The plug sockets were hanging off the wall in my step son's room and the key got stuck in the door. He came to sort the lock out with a drill etc. The communal showers were nasty, I wouldn't let my dog wash in them. The sink had limescale and some sort of black substance by the sink hole. Generally the place was diabolical at best.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    2.9
    Don't be daft
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place did no match the photos the room we were supposed to have stopped in the door lock was not screwed into door frame goodenough the bedding was filthy and looked like someone had just got out of the bed

    Don't be daft

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    6.3
    Very low budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt more like a hostel than a hotel

    Owner was very polite and was honest that he was aware of improvement needed and that he only took over a few weeks ago.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.5
    Dirty weekend
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy and his Mrs were lovely that ran it no problems getting in and settled.. was like staying at your scruffy mates house but perfect for the price it cost was dirt cheap like the hotel lol.. wicked little place for a roadtrip

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky doors.

    Warm welcome. Informed us right away that they were in the middle of doing the place up. Clean bedding. Not far from the town and 15mins from the beach.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    3.3
    Nothing it was dirty from the outside an even more on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything the hotel was a mess everything was falling apart the doors on the rooms was dodgy the pug sockets was falling off an tv was tinny an didn’t have a Control with it the Curtains was falling off the windows the hotel was just so dirty even the windows

    Nothing it was dirty from the outside an even more on the inside everything was falling apart don’t even no how they was even letting people still stay it was. Disgraceful would have asked for me money back but I payed on my card....

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing and very homely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The new owners were amazing and made us feel at home and we now have new friends for life. They invited us for a drink to get to know them and it was the best experience I've had at any hotel! The decor was slightly outdated but very clean and tidy! There is great potential for the hotel as it's very close to the prom and town, exellent service and value for money!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    The owners was great and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners was great and friendly. Was so welcoming from the time we got there to the time we left always checking to see if we need anything. We will be coming back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    Short overnight stay, staff pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest the hotel is currently undergoing renovation so scores don’t reflect truth really, I would have no hesitation to book again once work has been completed. Owner was friendly and very honest when we arrived as to ongoing works etc so would like to go back once completed to give a true account of the hotel

    Good location, basic rooms but all that’s needed really

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    The staff were brilliant when we checked in, when we needed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a little cold when we first got there but the heating soon warmed the room up.

    The staff were brilliant when we checked in, when we needed anything extra for the room and in the morning went above and beyond to make sure we had enjoyed our stay! The couple were lovely and we can't wait to book again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Lovely wee home from home b n b 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That they didn't offer breakfast however I think this is something that they will be doing in the near future

    Sid and vanessa are lovely people who went above and beyond to accommodate anything we asked for.the environment they created was like a home from home and me and my little boy felt very comfortable and relaxed.great family ethos. They both very helpful with local information also and finding places. We're given a welcome folder on arrival that had tourist information also and Wi-Fi password which I found useful. Beds comfy,room clean, hot chocolate tea and coffee also very nice.i would definitely recommend this hotel and me and my son will be back.thanks again. Laura and kensei odell (7/4/18) xx

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    3.8
    Awful, only booked as only place we could get In. Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, space, decor, facilities

    Even at the price this place was disgusting, dirty, small, cramped, no breakfast, told same as everyone prior that he’s not been there long and it needs a refurb. Kettle but no cups/ tea/ coffee. Shared bathroom was vile. No excuse for dirt and mould however cheap

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Loads of fun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn’t really work but everything else was good! The stairs killed me off though haha

    We didn’t end up staying at the Nelcon due to problems but instead at the Coniston. The coniston was great, cheap and very friendly. Beds were really comfy too! Also, the hotel was really close to the arcades and one of the best cafes in the world!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    mel the manager was lovely very nice,friendly person,makes you feel very welcome,we had room 9 was good value for what we paid,they are in process of refurbishing we stayed few nights.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Staff were amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were amazing! couldn't be any more welcoming! Mel in particular was a gem was so kind and so down to earth! went above and beyond with anything we needed and always made sure we were ok and happy! will 100% be back next year! couldn't ask for a better host!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Welcoming, friendly and great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely fresh bed sheets were ready for us arriving, Mel was extremely accommodating especially since we arrived extremely late. She was so welcoming and friendly and really made our whole weekend. The bathroom and shower (although they are shared) were constantly cleaned throughout the whole weekend. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the weekend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    2.5
    Terrible I'd really love a refund
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no radiator, the rooms smelt like smoke, my wardrobe had rotting food inside. I only stayed for one night of my 3 because it was so cold.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75