Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Wishing Well 3 stars

Oakney Wood Drive, Selby, YO8 8LZ, United Kingdom

#4 of 7 hotels in Selby

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 866 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Given the kitchen fitments in the main bedroom area suggested this room could be used by a member of staff. All this was a surprise it need not affect the use of the room which was spacious. However, being on the ground floor the full size windows could not be opened at night, for safety reasons, to allow fresh air in. So a fan had to be used left on constantly. On one side of the bed there was no table and the Fan extractor in the bathroom was not working. Other than that, slept well !

    Good Location, Staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hairdryer in the room. Breakfast was awful....good job we took our own! Absolutely no idea how to make an Irish Coffee. 2 of our party wanted an Irish coffee...they got what looked like a latte with a shot of whisky thrown in. Someone else ordered Cappuccino...looked like black coffee with fairy liquid on top. Truly awful.

    The room was a decent size

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some mould in the bathroom

    Staff were very nice, can get food next door and very nice. Rooms were very clean windows open amd get a fan so good in hot weather

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike if I had to say one thing it would be that a shower cubicle would have been better than a shower over the bath

    All the staff were friendly and very helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy location to Selby (25min walk) comfortable rooms basic but good food. Very helpful and friendly staff. Looked after our bikes overnight as we were a cycle team for charity.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was not particularly clean - cobwebs in corner of our room. Carpets in corridor required hovering. My bed was not very comfortable, I could feel the springs; it wasn't attached to the headboard and kept moving. Breakfast was mediocre; our eggs were solid; there wasn't a great deal of choice. The stay was not very good value.

    The staff were friendly and accommodating, the location of the hotel suited our requirements.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hair on edge of bath. Dirty cup on tea making facilities. Dirty mark on bathroom wall. Music was far too loud in breakfast area wore akin to a nightclub. Cleaners standing outside main entrance smoking. Cooked breakfast looked like it had been sitting on the hot plate since it had been cooked early in the morning. Why did I only get 1 burnt sausage on the last morning? Dirty window cill in the restaurant area. Have photos if required. Electronic door key failed twice.

    Bed was reasonably comfortable. Towels were changed OK

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room was non-smoking there was a musty, smoky smell. It had carpet and if it had been a smoking room at one time, the carpet would have held the smell.

    Large room, comfortable bed, good shower (but in tub so a bit awkward to get in and out), large towels,. Lots of parking, not right in Selby but easy to find, a good place to stay to explore the area. Friendly, helpful reception staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in room, also could have done with more seating in room eg. large room but only one seat.

    Excellent friendly staff, relaxed atmosphere and a good selection of food available in restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Definitely a hotel to avoid. Especially ignorant breakfast room manageress on duty 27/5/2018 No fruit juices in jugs and only one glass. Self service at half 9 must've meant go and get your cutlery and cups from the kitchen as none available in the room. Manageress on her mobile and prepared to argue rather than correct the problem. I wouldn't ever return AVOID at all costs they're unprofessional and slovenly here

    Little to praise here. It's located on an industrial estate and adjacent to a main road. Room at best could be described as basic, and not overly clean. Had to ask for a hair dryer. No tissues or hand soap only a foam dispenser

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little tired in need of paint touch ups...

    The room size was great for a family of 4. The room had everything we needed.... plenty storage space... good size tv with freeview.. tea and coffee... large bed... bath and shower. Downstairs the facilities for children were outstanding!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Considering this accommodation was also an eatery, the food was very average. Portions not generous and lacking in featured ingredients.

    Comfortable, convenient location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. At breakfast, there were no tongs to pick up toasts, not enough tea spoons, breakfast arrangement was a bit disorganized. 2. The bathroom smelt a bit.

    The staff were very nice, quiet location, room and bedding were good enough, shower was nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room. Poorly trained staff in bar/restaurant. For example, when my food was served (pizza that was like cardboard with poor quality ingredients) the waiter asked ‘is everything ok mate!’ And no, he wasn’t Australian. In the morning I was greeted by a cleaner smothered in tattoos who had to find the waitress. The cooked breakfast was pre-cooked & cold.

    Well greeted by courteous & helpful receptionist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is just a niggly thing but the shower was connected to the bath, would have been nice to have had a power shower but this was nothing drastic to complain about with the bargain state of the room.

    We booked the executive suite whilst away for a weekend in York. The room was so spacious and airy, it was perfect. Jacuzzi bath and again a large bathroom finished the suite off. Staff very helpful and room very clean. Will go again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was filfty. A skid mark on the toilet. Damp in the walls. Pubes in the bed. No phone in rooms. Tv small. Noisy room. Not a pleasent stay

    It was horrible

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot, could not open windows as above kitchens so fan was going and all the smells from the food were coming in the room

    Location for where we needed to be

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about very nice

    The food was very nice and reasonably priced drinks were normal prices aswell would recommend a stay at this hotel to anyone not that close to the town center was lovely to be able to sit outside aswell

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE ROOM WAS RATHER SHABBY

    DID NOT SEE ANY TEA TOAST WE WERE NOT TOLD WHERE ANYTHING WAS THE STAFF WERE NOT TOLD TO INFORM US AS IT WAS OUR FIST VISIT WE ASKED ABOUT ANY TEA BUT IT WAS TOO LATE THE BREAKFAST WAS DISCUSTING IT APPEARED TO HAVE BEEN COOKED ON A DIRTY GRILL ALL WASTED SET OFF ON OUR JOURNEY WITHOUT A DRINK.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Many fittings now requiring replacement, for example taps in the bathroom sink were very difficult to turn on and off. Carpet in the corridors and on the stairs was very worn and dirty. The outside of the premises was very unkempt, our bedroom window overlooked the hotel rear service yard and it contained junk and was very untidy. The outside patio was untidy with borders full of weeds and cigarette butts.

    Good value breakfast, easy free parking, clean and comfortable beds, friendly receptionist..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. They saw we were taking wine to our room and offered us glasses and ice. The room was spacious and really clean. Considering there is a bar downstairs it was completely silent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom round the edges was dusty. No hair dryer in room. Lift out of order. Bacon had black bits on it must have been cooked on a skillet.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing good

    Staff very helpfull, we had intended to stay for one night but they managed to retain room 21 next to lift(my partner has walking difficulties) so stayed several days longer staff excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighting in the room when you want to do makeuo for a night out is very hard to find a right spot.. Also view to top of the roof was not charming, at least we had privacy tho ;)

    Liked size of the room, having a fan in room during heatwave was amazing bonus! Food as great as when I used to live in Selby 3/4 years ago! Would deffinitely book again if needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was broken so I had to carry my suitcase up the stairs - and everything is a bit old. It needs an update but wouldn’t stop me staying again

    The staff were friendly, excellent location, nice breakfast and great value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was ok for us .

    The location 20 minetes walk to selby train station and bus services were great to York that's what we wanted weather was a bouus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the third time we have stayed at The Wishing Well and each time we have been very happy with the service, the room and the facilities. The room was clean, tea and coffee provided and a nice comfy bed.....what more is there to ask for!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The full English breakfast leaves a lot to be desired , eggs hard and like leather, sossages neaded a chain sow to cut them other than that the rest was good, Will come back but not for breakfast, Tom Couch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact the tv is bolted down so you can not spin it round, the fact when i pulled tye quilt back therw was blood stain from a cut on the quilt cover

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with a bit of a tidy up, bowl cracked and siliconing needing attention.

    Value for money both room and restaurant. Would stay again when in area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows in room were too soft. Excessive noise from fans / machinery with windows open at night. No handrails in the shower / bath

    Great staff. Value for money breakfast. Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More steps could be taken to prevent cars using the motorcycle parking (I’d suggest cones or refresh of the paint or a sign). Cars happened to leave early evening, so bike could be moved and locked up overnight, but a bit annoying after long journey when you just want to lock up and chill!

    Really good value. Room comfortable enough and clean with deep bath and powerful shower. Ground anchors for motorcycles and easy access to lots of good routes around Yorks. Noise not a problem due to double glazing and room well insulated from bar below.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not made up and cleaned on the Friday night, and I was told its because there was things on the bed (my daughter soft toy and an ipad) Had i been made aware of this i would have removed the items, but I was not given an opportunity.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rooms were dated looking, in need of an updated fresher look. In family room mattresses on children's beds were uncomfortable. In restaurant not all plates and cutlery were clean. Food stains on chairs also.

    Double bed and pillows very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn’t like was the food and coffee in the restaurant.

    I didn’t think any of the food I had in the restaurant included the breakfast was up to a good standard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stained bed linen and woken by guest (s) in the room above at 2345 and 0545! When they walked around our ceiling light rattled loudly and alarmingly. Restaurant food not very nice.

    Size of room and powerful shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was made up for a family with two divan beds next to the double, made things a bit cramped.

    very helpful staff at reception and in the dining room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid £10 for a late checkout but housekeeping came into our room anyway while we where sleeping then several members of housekeeping had a very loud conversation outside our door making it impossible to get back to sleep.

    Amy on reception was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fire alarm went off twice whilst I was there, once at 6.40am and again the next evening at around 9pm. I was told this was due to the smoke alarms being outside of the bathrooms. It made be deaf for 24 hours.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived approx 13.50 at the hotel but could not check in until 2pm even though the rooms were ready, apparently company policy, we did not think this made business sense!! and it has certainly made us think about whether we would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was over cooked, & slow service, and no coffee refills available the machine was turned off at 10am and Breakfast wasn’t served till 9.55

    The Bed was very comfortable and the pillows. The Reception Staff were lovely, very welcoming and helpful as indeed was the Male Waiter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was average unfortunately, missed all the touches that make the difference, bits of food on the floor and seats. The room was basic and not sure why a lot of the rooms looked like they'd been broken in to at some point with a crowbar.. weird. Not for me.

    I'm not sure I liked anything sufficiently to mention, very basic. OK I paid what I did but there are so many minor things that could be dealt with to make the stay a much more acceptable experience. For myself away on business I need just that bit more than they offered. A shame.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old & dated. The shower curtain was broken & hanging down. The bed was extremely uncomfortabel, I could feel the springs underneath me. The light seeped in under the door keeping me awake.

    Nice to have a bath.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    very clean, lovely food, rooms spotless and modern, was like a posh premier inn, stayed here twice now and i would not pick any other hotel in the area to stay. bar area is really clean, drink was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was not particularly well prepared. Battered mushroom starters were overdone and batter hard. I ordered Fish and chips, fish was soaking in fat so difficult to eat. I ate is all though as I am not fussy. I imagine others may complain. Worth mentioning though as it is just training on frying that is required to correct. Room was a little tired but everything worked (except TV control).

    The staff were excellent and seemed happy in doing their job both in the hotel and bar area. Wifi worked which was important to me as a business traveller. Shower was excellent!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    checked In on Friday 16th at around 7 o’clock left the hotel Arrived back at around 2:30 in the morning got ready for bed and my partner left her cigarettes and lighter on the side woke up in the morning (Saturday) left the hotel for the full day didn’t come back until Sunday night went to sleep woke up on Monday was suppose to check out at 12 but asked the staff for a late check at a extra cost when it came to checking out I went to the front desk to pay the extra cost for the late check out and the woman at the desk told me that we had been smoking in the room and had to pay a fine I told her that no one had been smoking in the room as I personally don’t smoke and don’t like the smell of cigarettes she then told me they had photo graphic evidence I asked to see the photos and she couldn’t show me them so then I explained to her just because there is cigarettes and a lighter on the side doesn’t mean we had been smoking in there ain’t we allowed to empty our pockets after a long day and leave our stuff laying around the room the women at the desk then had nothing to say then went to speak to some one else in the office then came back to me and just asked me for the £5 for the late check out I paid it using my card and left it at that a couple days later I went in my online banking to then see they have deducted a extra £100 with out my permisson !

    Nice and quite

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast selection was basic lighting in room was poor decor slighty dated

    Bed was comfy staff where friendly and attentive roon was large and spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was embarrassed and humiliated when I tried to purchase drinks with a Scottish £20 note only for it to be refused. Again when I tried to use Scottish £20 at reception it was refused. The member of staff stated that their management had told them not to accept these notes. I now have first hand experience at being racially abused.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sheets had holes in them, the TVs could be updated and each room should have a hair dryer in. I did require more of a veggie selection at breakfast e.g. quorn sausage for breakfast

    Staff were lovely, room was spacious

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are very uncomfortable and I ended up with a sore back the next day. Free wifi is good but only if it works, its very slow and the location of the hotel limits your won mobile signal

    The location to where I needed to be the next day was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise, lack of sleep, room I was given had some sort of timed compressor underneath going on all through the night.

    Friendly staff, great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shaving light over bathroom mirror. Room lighting was too dim. If my wife had been with me she would have complained about insufficient illumination both in the room and in the bathroom to do her makeup. I arrived early (per my booking) and was told the room was ready but if I wanted it immediately, I would have to pay a surcharge. Set my visit off to a poor start. No mention on web site of additional charges for early arrival. I refused and went to the bar.

    Super staff. Good food.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have to say the breakfadt was a disappointment. Was cold but i nust say after speaking to reception this was removed from our rooms. So happy in the end would just not have breakfast again. I would also say it be nice if the disabled rooms had walk in showers or some sort of seat. As my grandad is disabled and had room 2 but the bath was not great for him.

    The bed they was so comfy. And the staff very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More choice at the bar for shots etc..

    Although the hotel looks rather tired it was clean & the staff were very helpful with local knowledge etc. The Bar staff where attentive & looked happy to work there. Sophie in the bar was always smiling & happy to serve you.. all round an excellent experience especially for New Years Eve.. Even tho our bar bill was £240!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet needs updated to reflect the modern view the hotel is attempting.

    The food in the restaurant is great as well as the place itself, very busy but has a seperate adults dining area. The staff were very friendly and polite. Everything in the room you’d expect to be there and they were very tidy & clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Happy overall. Location isn't a romantic one, but we were there to attend new year celebrations nearby, so this wasn't the purpose.

    Toni on reception sorted us out a taxi at short notice on New Years Eve. Taxi was fantastic too, so she saved us a job phoning round.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although very handy for town and motorway links you are on the edge of a business park.

    Very friendly and helpful staff the receptionist went out of her way to help us with taxis.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast served too early - no chance of late start if wanted to eat Noisy area at back property - overlooked by room Fire alarm activated without notice and lots of noisy banging on morning of the second day.

    Room extremely generous in size - all comforts needed in room apart from hairdryer -would have been nice to have this in room without having to ask reception (fortunately had my own) Staff pleasant and check out easy Good location and price Nice resturant with good varied menu

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do will decorating as it looked a bit drab and the lighting not very good.

    Beds very comfortable,not enough hangers in ward robe.Windows very draughty. Meals very good,all in all it was good for a short stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was poor. Did say in response to “was everything alright?”, No and was given an immediate discount. But second night went elsewhere. Breakfast was alright choice of cereal, some fruit, ok. Bread for toast was totally hard on top edge where it had stood exposed to air. Cooked breakfast, adequate, quantity variable, 1 sausage 1st morning, 2 the 2nd. 2 large pieces black pudding 2 nd morning after request but none first and so on......... Staff fine.

    Double room a good size, could have been a family room. Close to where we wanted to be to visit family. Access to trading estate where hotel is is very busy with queues at times to get in and particularly out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a little disappointed as I thought breakfast would have been included in the price and for the price off 59.00 thought it would have been,that was my mistake on booking. On entering the room the window had been left open I'm assuming to try and rid the room of smell of food, which was very strong on enteeing.

    Wasn't there long enough to appreciate all the facilities. But what I saw looked nice. The bed was very comfortable and room pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattresses in room one have springs that made sleeping uncomfortable but pillows were very comfy which is a must for us.

    Didnt use this time as was having meals at familys but used the restaurant in past and it was lovely.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location. Easy to find and great base to explore nearby York or Leeds. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Facilities are good and offer a good value option evening meal and a drink.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above Food shocking, crossiants rock hard, stale, bananas black, grapes well past date, coffee flask did not work, main meal at night very poor

    It was warm and a place to stay, looked good from outside but extremely disappointing inside. Floor moved, every movement of upstairs residents could be heard, linen and towels poor standard. Staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was quite pricy for what was served, the breakfast was very limited, pastries were hard and fruit looked like it had been out for a week! The bananas were genuinely grey!

    The bed was comfortable. Everything was clean and tidy. The room was good value! Staff were very nice!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a 2night stay,we were given a room to the rear of the property,and unfortunately had a restless night due to a generator humming intermittently all night outside,we asked to be moved,and we were given a better ,quieter room,so had a better night,apart from a rumpus caused by drunken guest in the early hours!!!

    Comfy beds.have stayed here a few times before,and always found it good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The intrusive noise coming from the restaurant's freezer which affected our night's sleep. The hotel should address the problem urgently.

    The receptionist was extremely helpful and enabled a change of room due to the intrusive noise coming from the restaurant's freezer which affected our night's sleep. Our new room was on the same floor but at the front of the hotel and we had a great night's sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast wasn't brilliant, had to keep asking for everything. Hot water, coffe, then butter, then bread and plates. Not sure if it was bad luck or if that's how it always is.

    Kids play area was good, bar was nice and the playground was good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not great! Eggs and bacon undercooked. Pastries where rock hard! Tea and coffee facilites poor.

    Very spacious and comfortable. More than expected for the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds were on wheels so that when you sat on them, they moved 6 inches. One floorboard in our room was broken. Breakfast was terrible: orange juice was room temperature (and it had only just been filled up), croissants seemed like they were a week old. I asked for scrambled egg with my breakfast and none of the liquid from them had been drained, so my whole breakfast was sitting in it. My daughter asked for a boiled egg with hers and the egg arrived sitting in the middle of the plate amongst all the other food - no egg cup!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most things were fine. I do think that for such a long stay the room should have been vaccuumed at least every 2nd or 3rd day. Although the cleaning staff were lovely that would be my only gripe about the cleaning. I had a family booking of 10 on Sunday for carvery lunch. Our 'server' was so bad that I made a comment to the Manager who was run off his feet but totally professional & 'understanding'. I know that new staff need to be taught what to do but a smile, following simple instructions & clearing a table of dirty dishes in a timely manner isn't rocket science. THE MAJORITY of the Wishing Well team have been outstanding in their customer service. WIFI & Mobile Phone Coverage IN & AROUND the Wishing Well is hit & miss & from my room, it was very much a miss a lot of the time especially mobile phone coverage. I had to sign in to WIFI everyday! Not being able to call loved ones from my room or getting through to them & losing connection or having to go OUTSIDE for coverage on some occasions was really a huge inconvenience & disappointing. It is below par for the standards the Wishing Well otherwise achieves.

    Some staff were absolutely amazing & went over & above. 1 or 2 other's let the Wishing Well team down by being inefficient and unhelpful (even new staff can smile!!).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    my girlfriends portions of chips we ordered was crappy and not very appealing or appetising.

    fairly easy location to find. bedroom was huge and everywhere nice and clean. staff were all polite and attentive. nice bar and restaurant area. would stay here again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt the restaurant let the hotel down. We waited too long for our main meal. When we enquired after a 20min wait, we were told it would be another 15-20mins, after another 15mins, we asked again, we were told ANOTHER 15-20mins, my chilli had a lot more rice than chilli. My scrambled eggs at breakfast were a strange texture and not palatable. My husband enjoyed his full English.

    Room was spacious. Glad to see a fan in the room for warmer nights.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location may be an issue for some if you do not have a car. The view from my room was not great (as the hotel is situated in a retail park where the other places are shut).

    Clean rooms. Very spacious. Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness Breakfast Rooms were freezing cold Staff totally unhelpful and rude ( calling customers lyres )

    Filthy place breakfast unedible staff have no customer service woman called Toni on reception told us Booking.com have no clue what they are doing, & when asked to speak to the management team she told us they didn't know what they were doing either which clearly must be true as a follow on phone call was arranged for Monday 6th November to sort out an over payment issue and we are still waiting & today is Thursday 9th

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: