Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of New House Country Hotel 4 stars

Thornhill Road, Cardiff, CF14 9UA, United Kingdom

#6 of 47 hotels in Cardiff

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 279 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    8.8
    Loved it and would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was too firm for us , although this hasn't been a problem on previous visits. The heated towel rail didn't work and the sink taps were a bit of a mystery.{at one point we had a great deal of trouble turning them off ! Rm 16

    We liked the whole atmosphere of the Hotel. The view was stunning and all the staff we met were polite and friendly. We only stayed one night this time and the breakfast was wholesome and plentiful. The room was clean and spacious although a pen and paper would be helpful.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    10
    Great views over Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could do with some updating.

    The views are amazing and well worth the short drive into Cardiff, the room was very large and clean, the service was fast and helpful and the best bit of all - the breakfast was the best one we ever had!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    New House Country Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing was that the bar was a little small, so when you have an event there it could be a bit of a wait for other guests.

    I really enjoyed the stay at the hotel, the staff were great, it was clean and comfortable and the views of the city were fantastic.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.3
    The view from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with the room except the bathroom. It needs updating. Especially the shower. Water gets all over the floor while you take shower as the shower head is fixed & the shower panel is useless in this case. I had to use all of the towels to mop up the wet floor.

    The view from our room. Comfortable bed. Good quality breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    A necessary visit for family reasons made more nearable by the calm surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A minor issue, but I did find the pillows to be bulky and uncomfortable.

    The location was perfect with delightful views over Cardiff and the Severn Estuary. Very peaceful and relaxing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    6.7
    It was ok disappointing overall especially went as a 60th Birthday celebration nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast, plates weren't hot, weren't offered more tea, coffee or toast. Poor selection of food ie no offer of boiled, poached or fried eggs, or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs or egg benedictine which i would expect at this type of establishment and 4 star, very disappointed.

    Staff were friendly, though not 4 star service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    I rarely write a review but this one is hard earned so here...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I rarely write a review but this one is hard earned so here goes... Absolutely brilliant customer service - I brought my very poorly father who is currently using a wheelchair and my mother who has Alzheimer’s. A potentially very difficult trip as you can imagine but the staff could not have been more helpful and attentive! Every single member of staff was always polite, caring and supportive... and genuinely smiling throughout so that you never felt like you were a burden. Awesome setting and beautiful building too with easy disabled access! 5* easily in our eyes! Oh and the food was delicious too! Perfect all round!! Thank you so much New House Country Hotel!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    Terrific place with great views outside of Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wonderful place and location outside of Cardiff. The family room was large and comfortable, with a large bathroom (both bath and shower); the room appeared to have been recently renovated. Beautiful view of Cardiff overlooking the grounds with a small patio from a window/door. Staff members all very friendly and accommodating before and during our visit.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not good. Breakfast terrible. Seems like the breakfast was cooked hours before ordered. Not real fruit juice and no green tea. Coffee bad. Evening meal expensive and not good the lamb was dry and bland which was disappointing as was looking forward to whelsh lamb.

    The staff are lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and homely rooms in smart grounds.
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was rather underwhelming in terms of dinner menu range and breakfast service.

    Great view across the M4 (which you don't see or hear) to Cardiff and beyond......as long as it isn't raining. Fabulous location on the edge of town. Safe parking off road.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.1
    Very enjoyable experience
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet area in the marquee area was poor.

    We atended a wedding it was lovely and the hotel staff were excellent. The food was very good and the service was also good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.6
    Nearly good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food in the restaurant sounded great but tasted less so. Went to the pub up the road for our second night. No privacy in restaurant from noise of neighbouring tables.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    We stayed at the venue for two nights as party of the Bridal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar prices!!

    We stayed at the venue for two nights as party of the Bridal Party! Absolutely amazing views, the food was delightful and the staff were extremely polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    A classy stay with a lovely view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    A beautifully decorated room that was very comfortable with a lovely view over the hills towards Cardiff bay. Despite there being a wedding happening overall it was quiet. The buffet breakfast was good although they forgot about my wife's order of a poached egg and had to be reminded. We were staying as we were attending a concert at Caerphilly castle and in truth we both wished we could have spent more time at the hotel itself as it was so nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.5
    It was a brilliant day and would go back there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit expensive but was worth it

    Was a lovely venue was at my niece wedding and was a brilliant setting for her wedding day staff was great our room was amazing and the views from our room was outstanding

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.2
    This is an elegant hotel, well worth a visit
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather fussy registration for wifi. Slight irritation that the restaurant closed so early.

    spacious rooms, the terrace and general feeling off quiet excellence

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Lovely room and a beautiful location and lovely views over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely room and a beautiful location and lovely views over Cardiff. I had a lovely vegetarian breakfast and the staff were extra helpful. It was my honeymoon night so the staff had upgraded my room and made the event even more special. I would recommend highly as on a Summers day a drink on the patio is wonderful. The place has a touch of class.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Had a very relaxing couple of nights here..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was great. Fabulous views over the countryside. Room was very comfortable and had a balcony which was great. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly disorganised staff at breakfast time almost like they had not experienced so many people staying at the same time Nothing major just not fully joined up with everything

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    We enjoyed the hotel and would return.
    • Couple
    • Twin Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was difficult to find. Customers should be informed that digiting in the postal address on your website into their satnav is NOT going to get them to the hotel. The only real negative was - the coffee. This was quite awful. The food was good, but some of the dishes, for example the starters, were very small.

    The ambience and the staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Would definitely stay at the hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Were disappointed with evening meal, however the meal that was returned was taken off the bill and complaint dealt with in a very professional way.

    Beds were very comfy and rooms very spacious. Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast was very good. Hotel was very peaceful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone was so helpful friendly and kind. I couldn't fault anything on the day of our wedding. The location of the hotel is absolutely great and especially overlooking Cardiff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    I love it. In comparison to 4* /5* hotels I've been in this was better
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was as slightly difficult but that's because the building is on a hill side. Rather the hillside building than better parking

    Breakfast was lovely and filling. Room was beautiful and the view- wow. Building was really nice too. So overall perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    One night stay for family birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Saturday night stay so there was more night-time noise up to 3 am in morning from wedding party guests. We normally stay at this hotel during the working week so avoiding these conditions. We were in a twin bedded room which had obviously been recently upgraded to a good standard but the old lumpy mattresses need changing and let down the room upgrading.

    Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location and outstanding views of Cardiff Bay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception is a bit pokey but that is no issue. Bedrooms are a little dated but clean.

    What a location, with outstanding views of Cardiff Bay. Stuck in the hillside with breathtaking views, quiet location and can understand why it is a wedding and meeting venue. Great breakfast and food generally was a high quality, although a little pricey. Rooms are large and airy, mine had two windows that opened easily and allowed air flow as their is no air con. Nice little bar and seating areas with views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable stay in a luxurious environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hangers for our clothes in the bedroom and there was not as much choice for breakfast compared to other hotels, ie fresh fruit, smoked salmon, granola and when I asked for soya milk with my tea I was told there wasn't any, although some almond milk was later found.

    Amazing view from our room and the room itself was just beautifully furnished and decorated. Staff were very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall an excellent enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ample parking but short walk to hotel. Not usually a problem but in bad weather visitors would find carrying luggage difficult.

    Comfortable room with stunning views across open countryside to city of Cardiff. Excellent breakfasts, courteous friendly staff. Hotel within easy reach of main visitor attractions.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    6.7
    Good dinner Good location and views
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit spartan eg no carpets or pictures, no chair for desk, no hangars, no tv clickers, though latter two points quickly rectified by helpful staff. Turns out we ( a couple) had a family room - mix up on room allocation in that third member of party was given a suite...... But our family room would have been a bit tough on a single traveller too.

    Good dinner Good location and views

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely amazing hotel. Stayed there the evening before and after the wedding, beautiful inside and out. The staff couldn't of been anymore helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Would highly recommend 5*+

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.7
    Location outside the city overlooking countryside, served...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not quite as convenient as we expected from M4. Decor and little tired. Breakfast orders became a disjointed affair and took longer than we’d reasonably anticipated.

    Location outside the city overlooking countryside, served our need for accommodation en route. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Another happy stay :-)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Another lovely stay, well organised very helpful staff. The building is well looked after and rooms spacious and clean. Very comfy beds great view and excellent food :-) couldn't ask for more when I am away from home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.3
    Lovely house with huge clean room and great views. Very average breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast very average / poor quality croissants. Very noisy group of guests on night of arrival and difficult to block out noise to relax. No local beer or food available in bar.

    Very lovely house in general with great views (if it wasn't raining the day / night we were there) Bedroom massive, bathroom massive. Clean, but many coffee cup stains on furniture which was a shame.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    It was a lovely short break for myself and my husband, with stunning views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was a bit dated for younger people. Could of had some lactose free milk, but I hadn’t said beforehand due to only knowing a short time ago. The option of Almond milk was offered, but I don’t like it.

    The room was great in size, with a separate room for the bed & bathroom. The bathroom had a shower cubicle & a jet bath, plus two sinks. Lots of space to move around in, with fantastic views across parts of Wales from the windows. Bed & breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, comfortable country house hotel with lovely views and friendly staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good once in new room

    Staff are very friendly and breakfast was great. Room initially given had view of kitchen roof (room called Princess) so asked to move and got lovely room with beautiful country views . Dinner in restaurant was very nice but bit pricy - bar food may be better value. Very comfortable bed in new room and shower was great. Just ask not to be in the attic with roof views!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Apart from some minor quibbles, a very enjoyable stay and one we will repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed could be bigger! Just about a double so tight squeeze for two adults. Rack or shelf for toiletries in bathroom would be good. Floorboards in the room above (we were in "Baroness") were so squeaky, they woke us up every time someone upstairs got out of their bed.

    Location, friendly and helpful staff, lovely decoration, great value/tasting breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay would highly recommend for anyone visiting Cardiff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom door to outside. We had a ground floor room and the door although locked did not fit properly

    The room had two double beds and an excellent bathroom. Lovely views from the bedroom window

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    It was a convenient location for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lifts our room was on the second floor. The bathroom although it was clean was terrible the ceiling was so low and sloping that it was impossible to-shower getting out of the bath I hit my head on the ceiling . The light on the ceiling was so close to the mirror over the sink that you’re face would feel hot from it.

    The staff were polite and helpful . The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Love coming here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry to say I don't like your soap. No lather at all :).

    I just love this hotel. Simply the best views of Cardiff on a sunny, rainy, or even a misty day. Quite beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.6
    It was exactly what we had hoped for, a warm, relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings with good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walk from the car park to reception quite a distance in poor weather. The addition of porridge to the breakfast menu would be welcome.

    Attractively decorated room with stunning views over Cardiff. Friendly, helpful staff and lovely food. Overall warm and relaxing atmosphere in the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    The welcome was warm and friendly, the staff were helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very uncomfortable so not a great nights sleep which was unfortunate ... we have mentioned the problem to the staff of the hotel

    The welcome was warm and friendly, the staff were helpful and food was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Very good.
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    disabled access limited. Did not affect me personally, but a family member was restricted.

    Large room with king size bed. Excellent views towards Cardiff, good sun terrace, for summer visitors.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    A real find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent aspect across the city of Cardiff and Cardiff Bay. The balcony had uniterrupted views. Quiet,had excellent nights sleep.

    Comfortable, large room spotlessly clean. Bathroom large with good linen and toiletries. Nice and warm despite the very cold weather.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Although spending our Christmas with our family it was a lovely hotel with warm and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration was a little dated.

    The room was large and spacious, however was a little dated. We had a lovely veranda with a magnificent view over Cardiff Bay and out into the Bristol Channel. The large bed was very comfortable and the staff were great, in fact I would say they saved our Christmas so very happy with our stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Fulfilled purpose, clean and relaxing apart from stress of finding a parking space in the dark
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding s parking space was difficult as the car park was full of evening guests with no easily identifiable dedicated spaces for hotel overnight parking.

    The room was spacious relaxing and calm with a lovely view of the city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful setting, fabulous bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beer was very expensive even given that you expect to pay more in a hotel.

    Beautiful setting, fabulous bedroom. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. Shame we were only staying for one night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    9.6
    Outstanding hotel with great service and outstanding views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Meals were rather expensive in the evening but breakfasts were delicious.

    when we got there we were upgraded to a four poster bed with fabulous views over cardiff city and bay .Bathroom was very spacious and a good television.Coffee,tea and biscuits were replaced everyday and everywhere was spotlessly clean.You must go there for the views and the gardens.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful place but needs some attention to detail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping could use some improvement. Beatiful view but dirty diaper on patio detracted from it. Had to call attention of cleaning staff to it. Diaper picked up but cig butts left. Key card didn't work and had long walk back ro reception to get it fixed. Lone wall fixture in room lacked 1 of 2 bulbs which was never replaced despite asking for it. No TV remote in room.

    Beautiful location. Helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Beautiful room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.6
    Was sufficient for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Sheets has cigarette marks and room smelt like a smoker had been in there - Very dated decor - WiFi barely worked - Astroturf on the balcony gave the place a cheap feel

    - View from the room was pretty nice - could see all the way into town

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Picturesque lication
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there for an event in Cardiff, not the wedding being held there. Despite there being quieter rooms away from the wedding venue we were right by it, so once back at night could here the bass of the music, also outside our room, on the front, people congregated to smoke, so was noisy from that too! We did mention this on check out and we did receive a discount, we would stay again but ask for the quiet room

    Good size room, great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice hotel worth the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was average - possibly due to pressure of wedding. WiFi in the bedroom was slow - but OK in Reception area. WiFi should be password free and instant access. Decor is a bit dated - but that is personal opinion. I accept they were staying true to the period of the house.

    Bedroom and bathroom was very comfortable, large and clean Great view over Cardiff from the bedroom and front terrace. There was a wedding in the hotel on the Saturday night we stayed, which was very noisy - normal for a wedding. IT DID NOT IMPACT on the rest of the hotel and could NOT be heard in our bedroom. It is difficult to control the noise from a wedding and the staff should be congratulated on a job well done.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Isolated but awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long way from town but worth the sacrifice.

    Robbie Williams fans had booked out the town so this is where we ended up. Our gain. Spectacular facilities, grounds and serenity of well maintained property. A perfect anniversary location or wedding venue.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room looked and felt a bit dated. Scuffs on wall paper, plug in sink not working and toilet flush a little difficult.

    Spacious room with great views (22) Very clean, lovely towels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in beautiful grounds with fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A mix up with an incoming customer who came into our room before we booked out catching me nude in the shower!? Housekeeping did apologise!

    Beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting, lovely grounds, fantastic views overlooking Cardiff a real gem find!!!! We loved it, highly recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    An escape to the country
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I was in what appeared to be a loft. The bathroom, with its low ceiling was not very good for taking a shower unless you were under five foot tall. There was no fan, despite the searing heat.

    The atmosphere of the hotel and the breathtaking view of Cardiff, as well as the close proximity to Cardiff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    10
    Marty
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good nothing to not like

    Really nice country house hotel. I can honestly say you will not be dissapionted if you stay at this hotel. It was my first time staying there and will not be the last... Staff were excellent.. bedroom and bathroom were great. The views are fantastic especially when sitting outside and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Lovely wee find in Cardiff! Will stay again if I am in the area!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    From the minute I walked in the staff were fantastic - even when I managed to lock myself out of the room! The restaurant staff were so helpful and cheerful. Oh and the food was delicious too. I travel pretty much very week but don't recall having such a well presented breakfast anywhere! The bacon was thick sliced, decent sausage and perfectly cooked egg.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic Views
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Bedroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The wifi was very difficult to connect to on my phone as it kept logging out. There were some mistakes on the bill at the end and I felt that some of the communication could have been clearer.

    Large twin room with lots of space, lovely private terrace to sit out at. A lovely rural location away from the main towns. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were always helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.7
    Charming hotel but too remote
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location long way out from Cardiff. Very busy road to enter/exit property. Lack of dining options in local area. Ask to upgrade to dinner bed and breakfast from room only but declined!!

    Large comfortable bed. Modern bathroom. Nice terrace to sit out and enjoy sun setting. Fine views down to Cardiff. Breakfast cooked to order.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    Perfect high quality country retreat with lovely staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Perfect country hotel. Breakfast ordered from a menu with fast service, included such as kippers, or smoked haddock, porridge, full English or other excellent choices. My room was a huge, delightful, comfortable twin with very high quality fittings. Staff incredibly helpful when I needed to print a document. There was a wedding reception under way, but I didn't hear a sound from my bedroom or the restaurant. The view from the hotel is amazing and the hotel is perfectly set in lovely grounds. I would happily return for a longer stay. 10/10

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.2
    I liked the location, out of the City but not far, with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wasn't offered an a la carte menu which would have suited me better.

    I liked the location, out of the City but not far, with brilliant views over the City. A good location for people with business in and around Cardiff, as well as visitors. The facilities are good. The bedroom comfortable and large, which I like. The house has plenty of smaller rooms in which to relax.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay, ideal for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cooked breakfast not so very hot; but still very nice to eat. Fresh fruit salad was nice, but would have preferred a wider selection of fruit in it.

    good quality yoghurt, I'm gluten free. family liked the croissants. gluten-free toast supplied on request. Did not ask if they had any gluten free cereal available.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Comfy, cosy yet spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On this last trip I tried the New House burger for my room service dinner. Service was good, lovely crunchy chips however the burger although tasty was a little on the dry side for me. Saying that it didn't spoil my stay at all.

    Have stayed here a few times and like the comfy, cosy feel of the hotel. I do stay here for sentimental reasons also and that it is ideally situated for visiting family and friends.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    8.3
    Great charm in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need more light in our room. Difficult to read. A few minor technical problems which the hotel promised to sort out after we left.

    Very Charming indeed. Great view over Cardiff. Nice lounge. Very good breakfast. Very nice room, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    7.1
    Warm welcome but cold room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was unheated when we arrived, radiator not working properly, so it was very cold. Oil radiator was brought in, but due to cold weather room didn't really warm up. We were offered another room but were on our way out to an appointment and decided to stay in original room. Lighting in room was poor. We believe that breakfast should be included in room price and not charged as an extra.

    Location and friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.8
    Beautiful location but....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor cooked breakfast - not hot, no fried eggs, sausages bland, dried up beans and black pudding. Tea really weak. Not good value at all considering what the breakfast cost us.

    The location was beautiful

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Wonderful view from the window down the mountain over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Watch out that although it appears as a Best Western, there isn't a Best Western logo visible at the entrance.

    Wonderful view from the window down the mountain over Cardiff and Cardiff Bay. Real value for money rate the day after Boxing Day!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    8.8
    Don't forget your pillow
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pillows were rock hard, so uncomfortable I couldn't sleep, if I go back I'll definately take my own

    nice room, room service, nice atmosphere throughout hotel, quiet location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    4.2
    Bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast services was a massive disappointment I am a early bird when I stay away breakfast says it's start serving at 7am Saturday went down at 10 past 7 no hot food out this was due because they had a wedding party staying so I was told the food wouldn't be out until they started to come down for breakfast.... so what's wrong with my money then I said I pay a very lot off money to stay for one night to be told I would have to wait for food never stay there again

    The beds was great fantastic sleep

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    8.8
    warm stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Bedroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the restaurant would benefit from a carpet and would give it a better ambience. The food was good but a tad overpriced. There should be decaf tea in the bedrooms. we coulodnt get wifi. the bedroom were very dark. And this site is bad as you cant wseem to correct anything!!!

    The hotel warm and cosy throughout. Comfy beds

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    5.8
    Could have been great . . .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Scruffy, depressing room with a foul drains smell in the bathroom that made us retch. It seeped into the room even though there was a heavy, noisy door as well as bathroom door. The heavy door made everything hard work, especially with arthritis - eg, filling the kettle and using the bathroom in the night without waking partner. Some of the staff were grumpy - not many smiles in this hotel. The grounds were gorgeous, but were limited for walking in. There were no hotel leaflets - the incomplete pack in room was dirty and out of date. We really needed a written map. Hotel extremely hard to find. Booking.com gave misleading service and bad maps/directions - indeed, wrong directions.

    Some of the staff went out of their way to be kind and accommodating and everyone was efficient. Food was outstanding and quick to deliver. No-one bothered us, the hotel itself (not our room) was beautiful and we were able to enjoy the lounge and garden and totally relax. Prices reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.5
    Lovely hotel and probably a great venue for a wedding ...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The on/off switch for the desk lamp didn't work properly and there was a wedding at the venue - noisey revellers in the courtyard between 2am and 3am. I doubt if the staff could have done anything about it but if I was hoping for a good night's sleep I'm afraid I didn't get it! Wifi worked on day one but I couldn't connect the following day.

    Staff were helpful beyond what I expected, the room was very nice and comfortable and provided with many additional little extras which made up for the noisy guests.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.6
    Great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone to not drag the outside tables and chairs at 8am. Allowing people to smoke directly outside hotel so if windows are open the room smells. Charged £11 for museli and apple juice

    Room size. Bathroom size. Views were amazing. Tea, coffee and water in rooms. Sofa in room. Wooden shutters on windows made it feel more homely

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly staff, clean comfortable and quiet rooms,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of parking when a conference is on

    Very friendly staff, clean comfortable and quiet rooms, delicious breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Bedroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting. Friendly staff and great restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: