Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of New Madeira Seafront Hotel 3 stars

Marine Parade, Kemptown, Brighton & Hove, BN2 1TL, United Kingdom

#35 of 60 hotels in Brighton & Hove

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 909 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Amazing location and nice staff, but the rooms need a bit of tlc
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean initially but during my stay the room wasn’t cleaned properly, the tv was faulty, the sink was broken.

    The view, decent shower, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Very comfy bed, 5 girls in 3 bunk beds the room was nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very comfy bed, 5 girls in 3 bunk beds the room was nice and big and bathroom a good size. The bar/club was one of the best I've ever been to we had such a great night!! Location is great as you right in the thick of it all. Would highly recommend and would definitely stay again!!! :)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    5.4
    Great location right on Brighton pier
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff not very friendly and when we asked about attractions and night life didn't know anything or just couldn't be bothered. Rooms very hot and basic.

    Great location right on Brighton pier

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    VIEW FROM BEDROOM WAS GREAT, OVERLOOKING THE BEACH AND PIER.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    MY INITIAL ROOM WAS NOT WHAT WAS BOOKED AND THE STAFF WERE ONLY GOING TO JOINT THE TWO SINGLE BEDS TOGETHER TO GIVE ME THE DOUBLE ROOM THAT WAS PAID FOR. ALL WAS RESOLVED AND I WAS RELOCATED

    VIEW FROM BEDROOM WAS GREAT, OVERLOOKING THE BEACH AND PIER. COULD ALMOST SEE THE FEAR ON THE FACES OF PARTICIPANTS RIDING THE HIGH-WIRE.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Really close to pier so ideal for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cups not washed in room one day and floor not hoovered. Could have been an oversight as done following day.

    Lovely staff. Very friendly and helpful. Parking at £10 a day cheaper than some places in Brighton. Beautiful view of sea and pier from room 125

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location just about makes up for the deficiencies
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot and stuffy, with no air conditioning or even a fan for cooling. We had to leave the window open for ventilation which was very noisy (the hotel is on a main road), and we were woken by drunks shouting in the street outside in the early hours (to be fair this happened on only 1 night out of 3 we stayed there). The flat screen tv was about the size of an A4 sheet of paper. Every floorboard in the building creaked. The lift has a capacity of 2 persons only. The shower was very old fashioned and difficult to adjust the water temperature.

    Very good location, just a few metres from the beach, directly in front of the Brighton Zip. The staff were friendly and competent. Reasonably priced despite the deficiencies.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    noticed kettle, furnitures, TV remote covered in dust. Shower not very powerful.

    I liked the flexible check out time. I travelled from a distant so late checkout that was offered to us really helped. Staff who welcomed us was friendly. Location of our room was brilliant, could see the beach out the window.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.9
    Light, airy hotel with room overlooking the sea. Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lift was small so I walked the stairs but not too much of a problem as I am fit and able.

    I found the position along the seafront could not have been more perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    4.5
    Shower could do with a new head as water was hardly flowing from the small attached shower head.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor shower facility. This is my second complaints about poor shower facility. I am not likely to be back as hotel shower facility is below standard. either shower hot and cold adjustment not working well or shower head water dispenser too small causing one to spend more minutes trying to wash up. I have spoken about this twice now but don't seem a priority for the hotel management. I am taking my patronage elsewhere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    Excellent staff at reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities are very poor. For two night we spent 283,00euro + 20 Euro for parking. (Totally out of price for this room) All the hotel need to be refurbished. The room was old and not clean. The bathroom terrible with a very noisy fan. A very bad experience.

    Excellent staff at reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    The room had a lovely sea view and it was really big.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor was a little dated and the bathroom not too clean. The carpet had a couple of holes in it and the tv was tiny, not that we used it but if you wanted to watch something you would be disappointed. We booked a double room but were given one with four single beds instead. It worked out ok as we pushed them together, but not ideal for romance.

    The room had a lovely sea view and it was really big. There is a nice bar downstairs. Location is excellent, right by the pier and a five minute walk to the centre of town. The staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    4.2
    Underwhelming. Save yourself the disappointment and go elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was poor and the room was smaller than I anticipated, overall underwhelming, when I enquired about some compensation from the roughly £180 I had spent for the room, it was ignored.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.0
    Very disappointed with the hotel and I wouldn’t recommend it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told before we arrived that the hotel was disabled friendly, we were shocked that it clearly is not! There are 7 steps to climb to get into the hotel! This caused us distress as one of our party is a wheelchair user and has very limited mobility! Our room although had a sea view was too warm, we could only open one window a little and the others were fixed so they couldn’t be opened at all! The bathroom was very tiny and had a sewerage smell! Not pleasant at all!

    The hotel is in a good position for all attractions

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.5
    We had a lovely sea view from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No conditioner - for anyone with long/high maintenance hair, make sure you bring your own! The room was quite warm, we had to leave the fans on all the time to keep cool. The shower was a little underpowered.

    We had a lovely sea view from our room. The linens and towels were fresh and clean. Always good to have free WiFi as well!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.3
    A place to crash in but wouldn't have stayed more than 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    water pressure was almost non-existant. Stairways and corridors were incredibly narrow, outside window shill was filthy and had some smell coming from it.

    Room size was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Room abit tired, but perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were abit tired, having a sink next to my bed wasnt ideal, but all in all good value

    The location was perfect for our stag party! Nice breakfast in the mornings. And having a night club in the hotel was a bonus (it was packed)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    It does what it says on the tin!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was grit and a torn off corner of a shampoo sachet in the bottom of the bath when I arrived. The back of the telly looked like it had never been dusted since new. There was paint peeling off the wall in the bathroom and the sink was also loose.

    The staff were super friendly, check in was smooth and quick. The night staff were lovely, I was late back to the hotel every night and security was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    I had a brilliant time. Breakfast was a bit expensive for what it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room wasn't bad, just a few handyman jobs that needed attention. The room an okay size. Bathroom wasn't great to be totally honest. Definitely needs a deep clean. Windows could do with changing, but for the price it was okay.

    The location was great, the hotel was a little dated but overall wasn't bad for the price. The stay were helpful and friendly. I would maybe come back and stay if I was to return to Brighton in the near future. Thank you!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    4.6
    The shower wasn't working the first day, old furniture,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower wasn't working the first day, old furniture, room really noise. I spent 3 nights at the hotel and the cleaners didn't clean the room everyday apart from doing the bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Staff were very friendly, great location on the sea front
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 10 Bed Dorm Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was pretty loud in the room you could hear people walking around above you. Only one shower for 10 people was quite tough

    Staff were very friendly, great location on the sea front

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.8
    Hotel in good location, room good, extreme loud music coming from bar made it an uncomfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The extremely loud music coming from the bar / disco (from arrival time 7pm to 2.30am), it was not possible to get a rest during this period. Requested a quieter room from reception but was told none available Very disappointed

    Room was fine: spacious, tv channel good selection, tea / coffee available in room, it was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Would stay again but not on Marathon weekend, when hopefully the prices would be lower.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neither of us had a good night’s sleep as the mattresses were uncomfortable, which was unfortunate because we were running the Brighton Marathon. The bathroom door wouldn’t close properly and the view, even though that’s not why we booked the hotel, was a brick wall.

    The room was a very good size for what we needed and the facilities were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    As a first time guests at this hotel.. I would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer all the windows to be able to be opened and there does need to be a small fridge especially in the summer times this would probably make me not come back again in the summer

    The location was absolutely amazing the view was fantastic and such a quick walk to the pier the staff are so friendly and helpful and the room was fairly spacious for four of us would come back again but not in the summer as stated above there was no fridge

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    2.9
    Will never go back
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too noisy on the Saturday night. There is a club inside the hotel and this was not mentioned in the advertisement. The room where we stayed had no telephone while telephone was included in the booking.

    Only the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.0
    Great location- Poor service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was zero ventilation in the room or bathroom. The room was being cleaned every day but what they were actually doing to clean it, I don't know. Unfortunately, this is quite standard for hotels in the UK but...I still expect something different from a 3-star hotel. Plus, the rooms on the seafront have a gorgeous view, but they're extremely noisy. You're better off sleeping away from the main road (the seafront) and the crowds that will wake you up at 4 as they're walking home from the near-by bars. And let me put this straight: I loved the fact that bars were close and fun but you do not want to be woken up in the middle of the night once you have decided to call it a night.

    Very centrally located but just outside the lanes enough to make it suitable for a business trip

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    5.4
    The hotel has a lot of potential, but is need of a major makeover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel appeared very run down. The carpets were pretty awful and the beds lumpy and uncomfortable.

    The location...right across from the beach. Our room was very spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    they should have put double glazing on the windows difficult to sleep because of the noise from the road

    great location.walking distance to most sites. great view from our room though because its right next to the main road it was noisy (traffic noise)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.9
    Staff are pretty helpful and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was suffering from asthma so I didn't like the carpets in rooms. Also, my room was on second floor and my next door guests were too noisy.

    Staff are pretty helpful and friendly. Location is perfect.Hotel has elevator, too. Morrison and Sainsbury are on walking distance. There are few restaurants and pharmacy in nearby areas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    3.8
    It
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy run down hotel. The water poured through the bathroom ceiling and we had to move at two o clock in the morning.No compensation was offered !!The disco downstairs pounds through the whole hotel until three in the morning then you have all the people on the street ! The hotel is pricey and you don't expect such poor value for money ! Please I don't like to complain but please don't waste your money booking this hotel !

    It

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    The location is super cool.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy room, I had to use hearing plugs. The temperature of the room was too high even when you turn off the heater it keeps warming day and night..... Some strange traces on the bed cover and lots of dust on shelves.

    The location is super cool. It's located in front of Brighton pier. The view is also nice especially when your room is facing to the sea. Nothing to contest against the staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay in wonderful Brighton
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really except maybe the coffee was not strong enough.

    Friendliness of staff , amazing location of Hotel . The room was nice , wetroom very pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed the stay and would return if breakfast was included at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from nightclub. Breakfast not included in price of the room which I felt was a little excessive.

    Sea view room was great. Good central location. Parking a problem and traffic wardens a nuisance.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.7
    Very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy from the club. Couldn't sleep till 2 in the morning. Music and people being noisy outside. I complain to the reception. No form of compensation. £145.00 one night. Not happy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    6.3
    The staff were very welcoming and friendly just shame the room didn't have everything working.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't get any channelles on the tv beside bbc1 and bbc2 even though they promised all channelles. One of the heater didn't work and the bath tap was broken so couldn't have a bath.

    The room size was great and the bed was really comfortable. See view is recommended.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was not nice and the lights were insufficient in the bathroom as well as in the room.

    Very good value for money. If you don't need much and you don't spend a lot of time in the room the hotel has everything you need. The location is good, directly on the beach and walking distance from everything in Brighton.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is above a nightclub which I was not informed about during my booking. Rocking it till 3.30 in morning great for a party not for business trip.

    Friendly staff good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    Great stay for a great price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bathroom very dated and needs to be made nicer(hide pipes, painted etc), the furniture a bit simple, chairs uncomfortable, phone ring tone was like a fire alarm, very uncomfortable when it rang, male receptionists indifferent and not very welcoming.

    The location was really good, the bed comfy, room size good for two people, view over the ocean stunning, hotel and room were spotlessly clean, female receptionists very helpful and nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.4
    Not a hotel for comfort or luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were sent to was horrific. Half the ceiling ready to fall down, bathroom tiles missing, sink about to fall apart and the bath was full of chips. The room was also freezing and there was a smell!!! When we complained we were told we had to email the owner to try to get a refund! Eventually we were shown another room at the front of the hotel which was a lot bigger and warmer. Although the view was good from the window it still wasn't worth the money paid to stay here.

    The location was good. Reception staff were pleasant and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.1
    Take ear plugs. Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Single room 317, be prepared, you are stuck in the middle of 2 other rooms with paper thin walls, bring your own ear plugs, you will need them.

    Single room 317, be prepared, you are stuck in the middle of 2 other rooms with paper thin walls, bring your own ear plugs, you will need them. Thankfully on the Sunday night I asked if I could change rooms, and they were more than happy to help. I got moved to room 319 which was 5 star compared to room 317

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.6
    Tatty, noisy and disappointing, expensive price tag for a tatty property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise, the tatty room, the bathroom stank like a Cuban cigar lounge, the carpet was minging and we had water from the upstairs bathroom leaking through the ceiling into our bathroom.

    The only positive was the view and the bed was ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    4.2
    disappointing made worse by car damage
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room, attitude of the blonde receptionist, being charged for car parking. having my car keyed outside and not having cctv coverage. do not park your car there

    breakfast was good staff helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.9
    Near to Brighton Pier.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cold. Mainly because I am from tropical country and am not used to UK cold weather.

    Near to Brighton Pier. Beautiful sea-side scenary looking out from the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.3
    Lovely staff, nice food, hotel needs updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are young and going on a hen or stag night and you want to stay local then this could be a place for you. Unfortunately the family room was very tired , the carpet had burn marks and needs replacing. The bathroom was a bit small, you could was your hair whilst on the loo. The wardrobe arrangement (hanging rail) was above the kettle , so you could steam your clothes, and the TV was the size of a laptop screen. Oh and the lift will only take 2 people.

    The staff are really nice and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. The seaview was stunning. The beds were comfortable clean and fresh.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Not bad place to stay if ur a group of lads /ladies up for a bit of laff,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place is in need of a makeover, not exactly the Ritz, but for 4 guys to get their head down for the night, with a clean bed and towels after being at Football match was okay for the money,

    Good Breakfast, Nice friendly staff , The disco was an added bonus for us ,had a good laff with the few hen parties stopping there , Not a bad pint served either

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    Amazing experience - huge room with the sea just across the street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the ''do not disturb'' note at the door, the housekeeping entered the room.

    The bed was extremely cosy. The bath was huge. The room itself - the size was above my expectations!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.9
    good for a value hotel in its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    room was small. bathroom was on a tilt.bathroom floor carpet was very worn.bath was scratched to bits.

    staff very friendly even rang us a taxi. club underneath hotel wasnt too loud.The bar was good for pre drinks.great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    Freezing and sore throats 😟🤧
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows didnt close properly and room was freezing all night even under the blankets my children were all ill with sore throats and i got a cold in my back as i was near window and one of the rooms had water dripping for roof to floor

    Bed comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel, would defo stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a lot to dislike, ink stain on sheet, mould on under side on bath mat. Nothing really

    Location and most things about the place, staff friendly and breakfast adequate. Room very nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    6.7
    Ok but would not go there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very dated and shower took 10 minutes to warm up which wasted a lot of water. Carpet was well past replacement. Wish I’d have paided 30 more for a hotel I knee would be better. Thought this was a good discount though when in reality i feel I paid the going rate for that type of quality.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.9
    Location is great, would be lovely if you get a sea view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with updating, pictures do not reflect the rooms. However the room was clean.

    Location is great, would be lovely if you get a sea view room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    5.4
    It was ok but I think next time we stay somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What genius perks? Lift not working, we were on 3rd floor. Room was very basic. Cord Windows letting in the cold. Room certainly not as advertised.

    Not far from Coach Station or Theatre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was very good value for money. £7.00 for a full English breakfast and fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, fruit juice, coffee /tea. This is their lower winter price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, with everything you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, with everything you need. Really friendly and helpful staff. Our view from our room was not the best, however we did not request a sea view and the view did not effect our stay in the slightest! Good size room, with everything you need. Lovely cooked breakfast with a great choice of cereals and juices, plus fruit and yoghurts. The hotel also is home to a club & bar however when in the room it was very quiet. No noise from street or entertainment downstairs. Could not fault this hotel & would highly recommend to anyone!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    6.7
    Really nice location but let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No breakfast included in the cost of the room, no value for money. Really too expensive.

    We did not have breakfast since it was disappointing that it was not included in the cost of the room even though it was extremely expensive, this need to be reviewed so that customers get value for money and not being disturbed by this problem.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    6.3
    This hotel reminded me of a youth hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only avail on request. no food avail during the day tea and coffee only avail if bar staff were there. Double room clearly a single. we had too request a change. Door hit bed on opening. for 2 people too use this room 1 would be expected too climb into the bed as it was pushed against the wall. no wardrobe/space allocated was over the shelf provided for tea/coffee making!!! This hotel is not suitable for children stairs are too narrow and deep . 2nd double room provided for our 3 room booking had torn bedside lamps snd a broked shelf over the bed. matresses stored under the beds(unexceptable) bathroom didnt close. its clear this buildibg is old and some rooms need updating

    Staff did the best with what they had too offer. view convience too pier excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    3.8
    Horrendous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t clean, especially the bathroom. Shower is like a drip, so don’t expect to be clean. Some of the staff are so rude! Don’t answer the phone room nor when you call from your mobile. Many health and safety issues. Don’t reply when you send in a complaint so having to take it further. Don’t expect help when you’ve got a lot of luggage either. All in all, do not waste your money here.

    Good view from a sea view bedroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    5.8
    too noisy!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    it is too too too noisy, because this hotel near a pub, people play music and sing until 3.am, we cannot sleep whole night. 太吵了!!!!

    a good location, nice staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable experience - would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the bed wasn't to our liking but that is not to say it wouldn't be to others.

    The staff were lovely and the location was absolutely ideal!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Should be improved, or could be by thethe way. Some rooms (like mine) had a really bad "panorama"! Please check you windows and the ceiling on the third floor

    Seafront, Amazing! Really close to the Pier, the Sealife, British i360, and just 10minutes by bus from the station. The position is great! The staff is super nice. My room was really huge one, And toilet as well. Really nice. And clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    3.8
    We tolerated the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell of drunkenness ,vomiting which improved by keeping the window open with a spacer because the sash didn’t work.

    Staff were polite , sheets were clean,bathroom was clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    A modern Fawlty Towers in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    although the room was clean, the curtains, carpet & furnishings were cheap, cheerful & unmatching. The kettle didn’t work, so couldn’t make a warm drink in the room. Some of the paint work was chipped and flaking and although the room was nice a warm in temperature, the room felt cold with lack of character.

    The photos on the website of the rooms were NOTHING like the room we stayed in. The website makes the hotel look more luxurious than it is. The rooms and hotel are tired, and in need of a real up-to-date revamp. The Funky Fish nightclub & music really devalued this hotel & made me dread to think what peak season customers stay at this hotel. I’m glad we stayed here out of season and didn’t get to experience the Hen & Stag do’s that I can only assume frequent this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Relaxing and comfortable stay. Clean hotel with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, spacious hotel and rooms. Friendly staff throughout our stay. As the hotel was a little quieter for that time of year, we were automatically upgraded to a Seaview room which was fantastic.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.8
    The room is cozy, you probably can get every necessary thing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The music from the bar(?not really sure) is a little bit loud for the people who live in the first floor sometimes

    The room is cozy, you probably can get every necessary thing in the room. Near the beach that you can go there for a walk easily:)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv was tiny.... But other than that it was faultless. Call me the terminator because i'll be back 😆

    Brilliant location, literally 2 mins to the town centre and 2 mins to brighton pier. 24Hr reception which was important as I was staying out until late most nights. Power shower worked fine and room was nice and clean

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Compact room BUT friendly staff, Great location and perfect for a base to visit the sites at a good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decoration (but clean) corridors. Small double bed and single glazed window (still warm on a winters night though)

    Great location. Friendly helpful staff. Sea view/Pier view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.1
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit cold and the duvet a bit thin .The war the room is set up means the last bed can’t see the tv. Not enough plug sockets. The carpet could do with a deep clean. Old fashioned lift. Dad wasn’t so keen on the breakfast.

    Nice touch having the kettle and tea in the room. Loved the closet room. Great location. Clean. Sealed cups in the toilet were a nice touch. Good value.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.5
    Fabulous Views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floors and balcony were a little rickety & gave you the feeling of you may just fall through! Street parking, so you have to go pay your meter in the morning and know that you must move within the next 4 hours

    Location was great, along with the view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.0
    Not restful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a night club attached to the hotel which we didn't know about. Kept us awake until way past 2am. One of our party couldn't sleep well as the room was boiling hot and the thermostat on the radiator was broken. She had to have the window wide open and a fan on all night... In late November. ..

    The location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only weak spots were - breakfast not outstanding and lift rather small (also no disabled ramp outside building)

    Close to the Pier / Steine area. No problems with wi-fi or tv. I somehow managed to get a disabled bathroom (very spacious, out of proportion to the bedroom almost!)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous location and weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Read poor reviews but hey this is a character hotel in the heart of Brighton, yes bit dated yes not spick and span but great location, staff and yes a club heard a bit of noise but away for the weekend and enjoying Brighton.

    The hotel is character on Brighton front overlooking the pier and sea. Sit in bed enjoy the view. Old property, large airy room, soft cosy towels and a comfortable bed, what more do you want for a weekend in Brighton!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.5
    Just a one night break. Very lucky with the weather we woke up to a beautiful sunny day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud traffic noise. Nice large windows giving good view but all single glazed. Only one of the windows could be opened. Room was greatly overheated and remained too warm overnight even after the radiator had been turned right off and the window left fully open (in November!) Furnishings were OK but rather shoddy. Beds comfortable. Bathroom just about adequate.

    The excellent Seaview. Very central location, near to beach, pier, and not far to the lanes.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.6
    Outdated and noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon entering the property, the first thing we saw was a member of staff cleaning sick off the floor while the girl still had head inside a bin. The room was extremely outdated. The windows were so thin at the front of the hotel, we could hear screams outside and the bass from the disco downstairs vibrated our walls until 3am. Would not recommend this hotel for a decent night sleep.

    Location is good, on Brighton pier. In walking distance of the main shop district. Easy check in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    It was a great, family friendly, well-located and overall beautiful place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of our window latches didn't work but we sincerely understand that they cannot be opened fully due to safety reasons.

    In the evening, even though we left it on a latch, the security guard came to let us know that it wasn't fully closed which let you know that you were safe. The staff were extremely friendly and held conversation well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    5.8
    Didn’t match price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was stiflingly hot despite the heating not on -came from water piping under floor. It was noisy, our request for adjoining rooms was ignored. The place was in general old and dated, be warned there is a bar and nightclub on premises-this is not family friendly or romantic as advertised. It was also very expensive compared to other properties in the same street and location. We were sucked in by its location to the pier but when we arrived there were many other properties available.

    The view from the front windows was spectacular

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    3.8
    awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Dirty room..... Tiny TV at the other side of the room to the bed !!! Bathroom dirty Carpets from the 60s !!! At £100 plus easily the worst value for money ever... And I am a regular traveller

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: