Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Newby Bridge Hotel 3 stars

Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge, LA12 8NA, United Kingdom

#8 of 9 hotels in Newby Bridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1013 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the Jasmine Annexe. The room was dark and rather noisy, but comfortable.

    Great food - breakfast and bar meals. Great location for exploring the southern lakes. Hotel has a lovely, but small, swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    5.8
    The hotel was in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looked so much better online than in real life. Looking at pictures I was expecting a beautiful big garden I could sit in or walk around. Unfortunately the gardens were very rundown it had a very neglected look about it. The bedrooms we stayed in were very dark and a huge old wooden four poster bed took over the whole room making it even darker. All the furniture in fact was too big for the room. We were in rooms outside of the main hotel which I did not expect and it was quite noisy especially early in the morning wit delivery vans pulling up and unloading. The whole place could benefit from a new coat of paint.

    The hotel was in a good location. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay for exploring lake Windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is very small, not really suitable for serious swimming. Some late night noise from staff outside. Would have been nice to include cheese in the breakfast buffet.

    Spacious room and bathroom with tea making facilities. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast buffet. Friendly staff. Very nice pub/restaurant across the bridge (2 min. walk) with tables by the river side.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and pleasant! Would recommend!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff where lovely but when it came to food service they where a bit slow. We wasn’t informed on check in that there would be certain times we could order food which was a bit annoying when you have a hungry child with you.

    The breakfast was really great! The rooms where a good size, gardens where tidy and very beautiful pool steam and gym area was great. Loved the fact our dog was really welcome in all areas of the hotel bar and bar restaurant for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Just delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This Hotel is an old hotel and has been kept in beautiful condition, however there is no lift and Luggage to second floor is no fun.

    Food and Staff were excellent, with the choice of an al a carte restaurant experience or excellent Pub meals. The Hotel was way better value than nearby Windermere and has a beautiful outlook down the lake. The Hotel is located less then 10 min Drive to Lakeside, if you are looking to get on a lake Cruise. Rooms were excellent and spacious, although if your not an early riser, then rooms at back of Hotel are away from morning traffic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    A reasonable stopover when travelling to Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food served in the bar was certainly not the standard I would expect. The chips were rock hard with no moisture in them at all. Little choice of vegetarian options. The breakfast did not match the standard set by my recent visit to Holiday Inn for example We did not eat in the restaurant at night so cannot judge that. The staff were not over enthusiastic especially at breakfast and on reception on our arrival.

    The hotel was very clean and in a good position. It had wonderful leisure facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    We just used the hotel as a base
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn’t as clean as it first appeared and the price of the hotel for the night was expensive for the standard of hotel... bigger room, super king (or at least king size) bed Breakfast was really Average

    Hotel room was clean staff were exceptionally friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money but beds need upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The four poster bed in our room was very uncomfortable and creaked everytime we moved

    We had dinner in the Huntsman Bar which was excellent and good value for the money. The breakfast was also excellent, lots of choices and the cooked breakfast was hot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.5
    expected better based on what was advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast was lack lustre had to ask there was very little offered bar was uninviting didnt feel welcome some of younger staff in restaurant nice enough but overall staff lacked enthusiasm bad value for money

    Nice room with nice view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    Basic but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was in a separate building at the side of hotel. Very noisy, could hear room upstairs and doors banging. Services for the hotel began at 07.30 which involved a noisy van outside our window. Bar area very dated

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Great family retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a broken bed that by the looks of it had been repaired a couple of times before, but as my son wasnt tall enough to reach the bottom did not affect us greatly. Could do with that replacing

    Well kept hotel, all the staff was friendly and welcoming, nice indoor pool and jacuzzi and steam room. Lovely location, perfect for lakeside and steam train to lakeside. The rooms were clean and perfect for our family, the food was very nice, a good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, okay location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location isn’t suitable for people with no car, as there is no local shops and is only on a bus route with infrequent buses. But it was still doable

    Very cosy and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.0
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was in a cottage outside the hotel. This was fine but the room had a bad odour. Not cool. The receptionist who checked us in was not very friendly and seemed to not entertain any questions.

    The staff in the bar restaurant were good. As well as the service during breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Food was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s right on a main road so you have the noise from the traffic. Although we had to have the windows open as the weather was extremely hot.

    Food was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent location not far from many attractions. Lovely location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.5
    a good family venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cost of drinks at the bar were pricey. The changing facilities for the pool and gym were limited.

    helpful friendly staff, good food. the rooms were nice and clean no air con which would have helped with it being unusually hot but the Lakes is not known for its hot summers! easy to get to and good access to south and west lakes eg Bowness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Overall very good,with pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asabove

    Breakfast was supposed to be served until 9.30 but many items were not available at 8.45 when we came down, no bacon, bread for toast not available, and earlier in our stay only one small toaster between all the guests, good at times but poor at others.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have preferred a shower cubicle, rather than shower over the bath. It was not easy with bad knees to step out of the bath.

    Enjoyed using the spa. Very helpful, friendly staff. Good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.1
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts luke warm. No air conditioning when temperature was 30c outside. Parking difficult when car park full.

    Swimming pool superb. Breakfast had good selection. Room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Staffs are friendly, super clean room with every day room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs are friendly, super clean room with every day room cleaning. Superb breakfast and all good....nice location and worth for paying.... definitely recommend and will be visiting again👍👍👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Overall disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed for one night and decided to eat in the bar, bad choice! Food was terrible. Ordered selection of bread on the menu to start, when it came we received a slice of bread cut in half with a bowl of olives. Not my impression of a selection of bread! For main I ordered penne carbonara with garlic bread slices off the menu without chicken. It arrived spaghetti carbonara with chicken and two pieces of bread with garlic paste. It was tasteless, very bland, and not creamy at all. Worst carbonara I have ever tasted. My partner ordered the lasagne that was just as bad. It was like rubber and was tasteless. The whole top layer of cheese lifted up as one like a layer of rubber cheese! It was obvious that it had been pre made and microwaved. On the back of this there was a small apology from the waiter after we sent the food back, whom I felt sorry for, we then preceded to reception to raise the issue as I didn’t want to cause a scene in the bar. There was no apology from reception just let’s go through and remove the food from your bill. We then went to swan hotel opposite to eat. It was like night and day! A little more expensive but who cares I would pay more for good quality food and service and to actually receive what I ordered off the menu. The morning after on check out there was no ‘how was your stay?’ Or apology again for the food we received the night before. Customer service very very poor. It was like they didn’t care.

    The hotel is situated in a lovely location. Both the hotel and the room were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    The staff were excellent very helpful nothing to much bother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were excellent very helpful nothing to much bother. Room hotel very clean and tidy. Were hoping to call there again later in the year. Good location for getting about places. Breakfast lovely really nice coffee to.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel but needs to boost staff moral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff have only one speed slow. Breakfast room staff especially. Two female managers at breakfast time were the only ones on fast pace. Took staff 20 minutes to bring tea after having to be asked as staff did not offer any

    Room comfortable, hotel quiet good leisure facility

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was good for scenery however it was a at least 7-10 miles to main shops/fast foods

    The room was spacious The bathroom was beautiful Very clean Staff where lovely and welcoming Pool was good Great selection of extras e.g tea and coffee Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    6.3
    Not too bad. Wouldn't recommend. Emergency stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were v outdated and on the day of departure STANK Of Feces!! Something wrong with the plumbing i think? Really gross. Cudnt Breathe. Bathroom really needs renovation.

    The breakfast was good and restaurant staff were very accommodating. Gardens looked really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant but with shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator and a bath which was difficult to access - no shower. The decor and old furniture are shabby. No comfortable chairs in the bedroom only upright dining room chairs. Did not like the four poster bed.

    The staff is extremely friendly. The breakfast was enjoyable and dinner exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly but did not seem to what was going on evening meal ordered starter and main got the main but no starter when checking out was told nothing to pay had to convince staff that had a meal and wanted to pay for it

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    Great for people and dogs alike
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a wedding party on one of the nights we stayed and there was loud music until midnight and children running uncontrolled around the corridors

    The location especially, also the breakfast staff were all very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    3.8
    We were very disappointed with the hotel as the rooms we experienced were of a very poor standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived we were told we would be in a room in a cottage outside the hotel which was not what we expected. We didn't like the room as it was shabby and on further inspection discovered that the toilet had not been cleaned and there was faeces round the top of the toilet bowl. We went to reception and informed them of our findings and they offered us another room in the hotel which was a slight improvement. Again on further inspection this room was not very clean and there was no lock on the toilet door. On reflection we should really have made another complaint but we felt we didn't want confrontation and we decided to make the most of our few days. The rooms on the hotel website were nothing like the rooms we experienced and so we were very disappointed.

    The breakfast was very good as were the staff who served us. The bar staff were also pleasant. The meals in the bar were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Poor cleaning and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there for three nights ,and they never changed towels ;just they folded the wet towels over every day in the room .I mentioned it to the reception after first night and they said they would change them but nothing happened . There was a telephone in the room and I tried many times to talk to reception but no one answered. The breakfast is really basic , even no cheese ,nothing special compare to the money that you pay . I don’t think they clean the bathroom as I saw the same dirt and mark there everyday . Overall poor cleaning and breakfast despite the money they charge you .

    Location is amazing Staff are really kind and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable, with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of hot water for shower / washing at 7.00 am, however this had been rectified by 8.00 am.

    The food was good with a more than adequate selection of dishes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was right at the top of the hotel up loads of stairs, therefore the wifi was atrocious and didn't work at all. There wasn't even a phone in the room to call for room service or reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable hotel with good service and a good location near to the Lakes etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Evening meal was not great, the breakfasts were better.

    Good Hotel nice helpful staff good breakfast. Comfortable room with four poster and good facilities. Shower over bath was good. Parking was easy and private.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Well run,good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs some renovation

    Well run,good staff.Sorry I cannot remember the name of the young lady on reception but she was excellent.She handled our problem with care and understanding.She probably knows who she is😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy extractor fan outside by the restaurant, right by our room. Did go off by 10 at night but started again first thing in the morning.

    Lovely location! Easy access to trips around the lakes- close to Windermere. Good breakfast- friendly staff- clean and tidy!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent place, excellent views, excellent staff, Will return one day if they will have us ? !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a small observation, was that the room we were in, had a Jacuzzi bath with a hand sprinkler built in for washing your hair etc. It would of been better to of had an actual shower head fixed over the bath. I'm not really keen on baths, but I am being really fussy now. Just an observation, and not a moan !!!!

    The whole hotel experience was very good ! Staff are very friendly and obliging. The hotel itself is ideal for a short break or a long holiday. We chose to eat in the adjoining pub, and the food and service were 1st class. The beer cold. The breakfast self service and plenty of quality food to be had. The staff were brilliant. One young Polish girl in the breakfast room was like the "roadrunner" making sure everything was perfect. She should be commended for her attentiveness to detail ( well done - sorry no name badge available ) Cant fault the stay at all. We stayed in room 2 as it had a nice lake view which I requested and given at no extra charge. Four poster bed as well. Really nice, and would recommend this hotel, and will certainly visit again soon !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    Would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing i didnt like, if i had to be picky i would have liked a bigger bathroom.

    I thought the room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Plenty choice at breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like the receptionist upon arriving or for the duration of the stay,I had paid for the rooms well In advance so that we could be next to each other upon booking I was told that was fine as there were rooms available. When arriving the receptionist asked me for payment when I had paid weeks befor so this was embassing I front of my friends as they had paid me thier share so it looked like I hadnt paid then she told me we couldn’t have rooms near each other so we were on the ground floor our friends on the first floor this was a rotten start to our holiday the receptionist then proceeded to take us to our room the room she put me and my husband in was horrible no view the room was dingy the bathroom was cold as the window frame is broken and wouldn’t close I then complained and said I think we will go elsewhere as this was not what I had booked for, the receptionist then put us in a room next to our friends after telling us the hotel was fully booked up, what an earth was that all about when we had traveled from up north only to be greeted with problems, the towels were not changed the next morning our wet towels were still there when we got back from our day out the bathroom had silver fish all over the floor and the bathroom had not been cleaned in fact I don’t think any one had been in our room, so we were very disappointed from the start with a receptionist that knew nothing regarding social skills to make us welcome I insisted on saying hello to her as we passed but she looked at us all with insipid manner

    we Liked the location, we enjoyed the food. We liked the receptionist the day we were leaving she knew what she was doing we liked the bed very comfortable we liked the tea and television facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    Nice but a little over priced when there’s not many other options around for food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced restaurant food so ate in the bar instead which was still a bit overpriced! Also got overcharged for room and had money taken out of my account before it was supposed to. They issued refund straight away but the receptionist was a bit arsey about it! Sure she wouldn’t like it if it was her money disappearing!

    Lovely bar staff and food (but expensive), they were helpful suggesting where to walk. Nice little pool and view into the garden. Really nice breakfast and bed was comfy!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    In a nice location with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were allocated a room in the outside annex which was clean, but very small. We would not consider the bar meals as value for money and in comparison to another hotel in Keswick, the same meals were almost £4.00 more per meal at Newby Bridge.

    Spa facilities and location, staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall good stay which could have gained a higher review if the breakfast points had been improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At breakfast scrambled egg was disappointing - not creamy enough. Sausages brown on one side/half and not on the other. Bacon did not look "freshly" cooked

    Helpful staff in general

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Everything perfect for a business traveller.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    My first stay at this hotel, it will not be my last. Friendly welcome and a fabulous room. Had a quick dip in the pool and enjoyed some bubbles in the jacuzi. I chose to eat in the bar rather than the more formal restaurant. A wide variety on the menu, plus a specials board. The friendly informal service in the bar, made you feel like a regular, not a first time visitor. Food hot, tasty and more than generous portions. My room, ( No 3) had a comfy four poster, uber shiny modern bathroom with shower and generous wardrode with hair dryer and laundry kit. (iron and board). Everything perfect for a business traveller. One night felt like a short break. I will book again if I am in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Excellent, friendly staff and perfect location. Would definitely book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints about the hotel. However, Booking.com asked me 'reserve for free' but it actually full on booked the hotel. Once it's booked there's nothing you can do. Luckily I could still make those dates.

    The whole vibe was nice and chilled, just what we wanted. The breakfast included was also very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Great value, lovely food close to Windermere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fresh fruit rather than canned at breakfast would be nice. I think they need more staff - staff from bar to housekeeping to restaurant seemed to rushing from one task to another all through the trip. The pool changing room ( one tiny room) left a lot to be desired.

    Great breakfast sausage, lovely dinner in the evening, beautiful gardens, wonderful location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Great Monday to Saturday stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little outdated, noise from floor boards and plumbing what you'd probably expect from an older building (audible from other rooms too) DID NOT DETRACT FROM OUR STAY!

    Bar & Restaurant were great, warm and welcoming also in the ideal spot for exploring the local area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant but left a little to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness generally throughout.

    Room was very nice but the dust particularly behind the headboard, which also had large cobwebs attached to the headboard was really disturbing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Superb, and excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Hotel was situated in an excellent position, was very clean and had excellent facilities. Staff were first class, and looked after us very well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    A pleasant stay however did feel the joining Huntsman Inn was a little over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The adjoining restaurant that served food was a little expensive although very nice food. The pool which was a bonus for us is very small, and the gym very compact & bijou which consisted of 3 items 1 of which was usable due to error code. Also unfortunately due to the heating being on a timer throughout the building especially bedrooms it was very warm and uncomfortable sleeping even with having the windows open for air as the radiator thermostat valve does not work to turn off.

    The accommodation itself was very welcoming although a little dated in places. We stayed as bed and breakfast option and there was good selection of food on offer. All staff here are very friendly and always happy to help with any query you may have.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Location and bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights weren't working in the room and fire alarm with no clear instructions from the staff that it was a false alarm. Toaster didn't toast at breakfast.

    Location and bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Made our 5th wedding anniversary way more special than staying at home!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bigger bed would've been more comfortable. The corridors could do with a lick of paint and smarten up. The windows were old and the catches weren't very secure. The bathroom was very dated, could do with an upgrade.

    Breakfast area for dog owners was fab. Grounds were very picturesque. Bar was cosy with good food and reasonably priced drinks. Staff were very helpful and did their best to accommodate our requests.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing !!

    The staff were very helpful friendly and approachable Food was well presented and hot bedroom clean fresh towels daily coffee and tea facilities very good and the little extras in the bathroom had a wonderful weekend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable good centre.Ulverston was a nice surprise as haven't been there before
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The button for the jacuzzi was at the far end of the pool and no instruction to its position whilst sitting in the jacuzzi. Need for more disabled parking spaces as there are only 2 and one of those was taken by a car without a blue badge.

    The breakfast was really good,Staff very helpful.The pool was good,beds very comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Overall was lovely, the staff were great, food was delicious and the whole place is very reasonably
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress could do with a replacement, lovely bed, but very uncomfortable mattress - left me with a bad back for 2 days. Although the whirlpool bath looked great, I do prefer a shower - felt it was a shame not to have pne.

    Lovely sized room, nice food in the restaurant and breakfast was yummy. The rear garden is very pretty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    5.8
    Bed comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of room .. outdated decor.... and just overall a bit grubby and fawlty towers like ... whole hotel needs a makeover ..such a beautiful location for access to the lakes .. could be so much more. Breakfast was overcooked and reminded us of a factory canteen and the Garden room was far too hot ..

    Bed comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay. Staff made our stay comfortable with the friendly atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disabled room has no view

    Friendly and helpful staff. Meals. Nice and hot. Enjoyed all our meals. Nicely presented Everywhere nice & clean Good parking. Disabled room excellent .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bar drinks were expensive. Room could have been a bit cleaner - lampshades etc although bedding was nice and clean

    The pool and Jacuzzi and that it was available all the time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel with good choice of veg breakfast and rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel with good choice of veg breakfast and rooms were comfortable with in room facilities and entertainment. Special mention to the cookies with tea and coffee in room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay and would highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress in our room needs updating but that was the only thing!

    Location was amazing, staff were so helpful, food was delicious and the room was top notch!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyed the stay, but spa facilities prevented it from being very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool and spa very disappointing. Very messy changing rooms. Reception didn't at first have the correct room rate, quoted a higher price but this was resolved quickly.

    Room facilities good. Great view. Bed comfortable, but standard double, could have been wider

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    3.8
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room in an annex which had a bad odour felt damp and was certainly not worth what i paid for. Could not book the restaraunt as fully booked. Location was not as we expected as only one pub across the road no whete else to eat. As this was for my partners 50th which she had been looking forward to, we felt very disapointed and found somewhere else to stay.

    .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Great staff and facilities in agod location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in bar was a bit slow for food and the burgers were terible.

    The pool and my dad was ill and the staff on reception looked after him really well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Good but could have been excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very noisy and we had to be moved but staff were lax in this and we had to move them along.

    Food and bar was very good and a lovely environment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    Friendly staff and got better over our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night poor service over hour for food then sent it back The hotel caters for dogs didn't know that an I have allergies. Bathroom tiles in our room cracked sharp and need replacing.

    Location pool staff was friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing, and a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was obviously a busy time but not enough staff on in restaurant for dinner and breakfast, took over 1 hour to get our starters - it was the same for everyone else.

    Great location and food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    I loved the 4 poster bed and the breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only a shower head attached to the bath with nothing to attach it to the wall. The bath was good though.

    I loved the 4 poster bed and the breakfast was very good. There was also an easter egg left for me on my bed which I though was above and beyond.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    LAKE DISTRICT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in the bathtub,no curtains,makes the whole floor wet.NO LIFT.Crossing the busy street opposite the hotel.Breakfast menu needs a little change everyday.

    Had a room with a lake view,AWESOME. Good breakfast.Ample of parking spaces.20 mins walk/5 mins drive to the lakeside jetty for LAKE CRUISE.Great staffs.Clean big rooms,very classic.Very English countryside feel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.5
    Friendly, welcoming, food good, some service issues, dissappointed about lack of views as advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our main dissapointment was that your advert states that every room has either a view of the gardens or the estuary, the first room we had didn’t and the second room had a view of staff caravans and bins, so we felt that we had been misled as this was one of the reason we chose this hotel. The changing room for swimming pool is inadequate. The hotel needs a complete refurb. There were a number of new staff and they were left to muddle through a bit the whole business is in need of some on site direction from senior members of the team focusing on attention to detail including making sure basic needs like refreshing the toilet roll in rooms happens after service of the room, the food that is brought out of the kitchen is what it states on the menu and waiting is kept to a minimum. Parking was a bit of an issue, lack of signage for alternative parking.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, we didn’t like the room we were given and we were offered the choice of two other rooms without question. The food was well prepared and tasted nice in both the bar and the restaurant. Staff were very polite and when there were a couple of service issues they put them right straight away with a smile and an apology. The atmosphere was very relaxed. The water in the swimming pool was a comfortable temperature.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money for base to explore Southern Lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The very busy road at the end of the garden. Not that the hotel can do anything about it. Something to be aware of if you are expecting peace & quiet as it was impossible to have window open from 0630hrs. The small pool & jacuzzi within spa ok but steam room grubby & needs attention.

    Great size room (14) (3rd floor) (no lift) that was light & airy. It was clean & comfy with a lovely view from the front of the hotel overlooking the river which flows out of Windermere. Unfortunately the lovely view also had the busy road at the end of garden. It contained 1 double & 1 single. The en-suite was a good size which had a very powerful shower into the bath. Stayed B&B & breakfast had great choice. We opted to use cosy bar in evening as bar food good quality reasonably priced

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    5.8
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been better it was at the back of the hotel with a view of the bins! This room should have been used at a discount price when the hotel was full wither reason being were it was

    Grounds of the hotel and location was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent Hotel, Great food, Amazing Staff and Relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have just stayed at Newby Bridge hotel on my own for two nights with my Dog and it was incredible, the Staff were exceptional, as was the food and the room was lovely and cosy with a great bath

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    8.3
    Great hotel, terrible and overpriced on site food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our evening meal in the on site pub The Huntsman was terrible. Very overpriced and poor quality. Our meal at The Swan just opposite the following night was far superior, much nicer surroundings and better value. Don’t eat at The Huntsman!

    Helpful staff. Pool and spa. Great location - took the kids for a walk up Gummers How which was only a 10 minute drive away and we could see it from our room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    An excellent short stay location that was beyond our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More comfortable chairs in the bedroom would be welcome.

    The staff were both friendly and helpful. The hotel lounge and bar were tasteful and comfortable. The hotel restaurant and food ( Breakfast and main meal) were delicious , well presented, good value, as were the bar meals on offer. The bedrooms were clean and the beds comfortable and warm and the ensuite facilities were of a high standard. The hotel pool was a decent size and very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.5
    Warm quiet room
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in the restaurant in the evening was poor - mainly because of a lack of staff. The staff on duty worked hard and were good but several more were needed on each evening we were there

    Warm quiet room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    4.6
    Dirty, scruffy and disappointing.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was dirty and very scruffy. The carpet and rug were filthy with stains and general dirt from being walked on. The bathroom was very old fashioned and there was mould all over the ceiling. The curtains were hanging off the track. The room was in a small annexe and the door to the annexe wouldn't close properly and didn't feel very secure at night. The floorboards were so creaky I couldn't move without the occupant of the room underneath me hearing. For the price I expected something much better. I didn't eat dinner or breakfast so can't comment on them.

    The location is good as it is on the A590.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    Mid-week break to blow the winter cobwebs away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a little draughty being close to an open door but the actual windows were impossible to open. And the key system is a little outdated now.

    Staff, especially in the bar, were super friendly and attentive without going over the top. There is a lot of space in the public areas to relax and spread out. The area is a great base for moving around - lots to see and do within walking or ten minutes driving distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    A relaxing break to warm the soul!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has its quirks- but these are part of its charm. Nothing to dislike other than the temperature in the restaurant which was far too warm!

    Friendly and welcoming.Excellent food including a hearty breakfast.Comfortable and very relaxing.Enjoyed spending time in the pool and jacuzzi with lovely views of the garden.

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: