Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Newby Bridge Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Newby Bridge, Newby Bridge, LA12 8NA, United Kingdom

#7 of 9 hotels in Newby Bridge

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1050 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    6.7
    Acceptable stay overall , served it's purpose but in no rush to book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bar staff for eve meal poor service/flippant attitude. Meal itself poor too considering the websites claims . Location of hotel abit detached from any obvious local resources

    Room fine. Quiet and clean . Reception staff approachable and professional. Breakfast staff / food very good .

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    10
    Cosy Relaxing Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel decor was quite dated and could do with some modernisation.

    Staff were all really friendly and helpful, price was good, lots of useful complimentary items in the room and it was nice to have the use of a pool and jacuzzi. Food was also very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    7.9
    Newby bridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didnt really dislike anything as only odd minor things not worth mentioning

    Staff n service very good n friendly. Breakfast was very good and our room was spacious n comfy n clean. Spa facilities not bad but cud do with bit of an upgrade, was ok as quiet when we went in so had pool to ourselfs. Would stay again as good location n quite a few places within 10/15 minute drive.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    8.8
    Good value in interesting location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception. We waiting ages for a receptionist to turn up when we arrived, then when she did finally get to the front desk, it was only to spend time dealing with a personal matter on the 'phone.

    Evening meal and breakfast were very good quality and the serving staff very friendly and helpful. Room was good size, comfortable bed and all expected facilities. Bathroom very clean and good shower, no-where to store or hang anything in the bathroom though.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    7.1
    Lovely location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately there was an issue at dinnertime and we had to wait over an hour for a bar meal. There was a difficult atmosphere in the bar that wasn't handled well.

    I love the quaintness of this hotel it doesn't pretend to be new but it provides all you need for a quiet night away. The breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    10
    Lovely place to stay whilst visiting the Lakes
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As I am waiting for a hip replacement, I asked for a room on the ground floor which unfortunately looked out onto a fire escape so the room was dark. However, we only used the hotel as a base so this was just a little inconvenience.

    The hotel was in a good position for us visiting the Lakes. The breakfast was superb and the staff very attentive. When we arrived we were shown into a room with a double bed, but as I had requested a twin room, the reception staff got house keeping to change the bed so we waited just a few minutes in their lovely lounge area until the room was ready. We visited the pool area and jacuzzi which are well maintained.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.3
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt very happy with the standard of care and services offered.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we arrived the room allocated although a double was not in the hotel but in a house across from it. The room was very small, no chairs to sit in and not what I would expect from a hotel such as this. The bathroom was cramped shower was in the bath and no grab rail to help you in and out. Also the room was not very clean and needed some TLC. However, once we had requested a move as not happy this took place and the new room in the hotel was very comfortable and much more what we had expected from a hotel of this area.

    Staff very helpful and pleasant and they could not do enough to help you. Food very good and arrived soon after been ordered piping hot and of a good quality.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    7.5
    staying here made us get out and explore more as there is nothing close by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the smoked haddock with poached egg was in my mind very poor as the egg was hard and the fish portion very small. we were in room 21 and i am sure the fire door was being used as a short cut, I had to jam our room door to stop it from banging every time another door was closed.

    most things ok but nothing to get excited about, the scrambled egg with salmon was very good. the room was done to a good standard. the main help yourself breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel, bar staff were fab, food was great, games room was naff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The "games room" was more like a storage room for stuff that didn't work anymore. Pool table & cues were faulty/broken, one of the games machines were broken and the other was blocked with a chair.

    Breakfast was great! Bar staff in particular were lovely on Friday & Saturday night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    5.0
    Dated and shabby
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we stayed in was the rotunda- the round building in the grounds shown on website. Was like staying in a goldfish bowl and we got fed up with people wandering up and looking through the windows. Was uncomfortable- fold down bed. Loads of fake antique furniture that was shabby and grubby. Would have been better to have a couple of comfortable chairs. Nice en-suite bathroom but otherwise room equipment basic. Seemed like repurposed room usually used as wedding venue- a way of making more money at the expense of the guest experience. Sunday night carvery poor- meat ok but small choice of vegetables- over cooked, dried out and overpriced. Generally probably ok in the eighties but now just old and tired looking.

    Friendly staff. Situated well for onward travel and days out.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    3.3
    The food was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The receptionist on arrival was rude never showed us where our room was. Family room was very small and dirty hairs in the bath leaked when used. Hairs in bed food was left found under bed. Small bed was right against the only radiator in the room and my daughter kept burning herself on it when a sleep. Would not recommend it if you have small children

    The food was good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    6.0
    Very disappointing, definitely will not be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was tired and needs a really good clean & redecoration. Seat pad Cushions in bar had the filling coming out. Cobwebs on the curtains. Paint flaking off everywhere. Cooked breakfast wasn’t hot. Bathroom floor tiles were cracked and no grout in places. Our toilet was actually missing a screw to hold it down, so it moved when sat on. Bathroom needed a very good clean. Wooden toilet seat unhygienic. Toilet brush was disgusting. Water was scorching and extremely dangerous. The noise of constant door slamming kept us awake each night. Swimming pool tiles were sharp underfoot and my husband cut his foot on them. Definitely NOT disabled friendly. I stated no stairs & we were given a room in a separate block to the main hotel. As we walked in our hearts sank! Very dated. Avoid Jasmin 1-6 rooms! We were in room 3 & were kept awake all night by the boiler backing onto our wall. It was very loud & vibrating all night. We also had a main road behind us, very busy & noisy. No double glazing. I have to say the Receptionist was really good and moved us next day when we complained.

    Lovely spa.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a little tired and the bathroom looked like it had been cleaned in a rush as an empty pot of the complimentary shower gel was still on the holder from the previous guest. Didn't ruin our stay though.

    Staff were lovely and friendly. Food was delicious. Breakfast was spot on. The location is amazing right on the south tip of the lake.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    4.2
    Shabby, dirty and not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shabby, dirty hallways. First room was in a separate building and was dark, noisy (cars) and smelt of dogs.

    Liked the old fashioned bar and breakfast room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    8.5
    Friendly welcome in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a good variety of food items available for breakfast, the cooked breakfast items would have been even better if they had been hot. Sunday carvery was tasty, with a variety of meats and vegetables available and would also have been even better if hot. The black mould in the bathroom and a lampshade held together with sticky tape do need attention when you have time.

    Attractive room with a beautiful view over the lake. All staff were polite, friendly and helpful. Ideal location, which was appropriate for our purpose.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    4.2
    Absolutely dreadful!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Meals ordered three served one still waiting forty minutes later and our meals went cold whilst waiting. Bar area needs a good clean and refurbishment. I was promised the manager of the hotel would be I touch about the meal which ruined my daughter in laws birthday, she has not rang back. Blind in bedroom fell down cut my hand reception said we will tell the manager, not happened! Towel hook in bathroom missing of door, yellow stuff up the walls in bathroom.

    Not a lot!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    4.6
    A pleasant view from our room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad smell in bathroom, very shabby in need of a complet refurbishment. Towel heater not working and sink slow running, reported and repaired next day. Floorboards in bedroom extremely creeky, would have hated to have been in the room under us. Carpet in room well worn and stained. Room was not vacuumed in the four days we stayed. Room hot but could not open window due to the very noisy and smelly kitchen extractor fan located on the wall to the side of our window.

    A pleasant view from our room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    9.6
    We were amazed to be given the Rotunda room stunning, what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing everything was perfect.

    We were amazed to be given the Rotunda room stunning, what a treat and it was our 51st Anniversary that week couldn't have wished for more staff were so nice will remember this trip always.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    9.2
    Great place to stay with olde world charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom needed some attention to paintwork and grouting. Not sure that 'back ground' heavy disco music was necessary in the bar. It was turned down on request however.

    Great location. Good value for money and helpful and friendly staff. The food was very high quality. The bedroom was very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable and the weather was kind to us too!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom - no shower, just a hand held shower head over the bath... Also the toilet made a terrible noise when flushed so could not flush it at night time for fear of waking other residents or my wife in bed...

    Comfortable stay. Room was pleasant and cosy, although see below for bathroom... Bar facilities and staff were both excellent and breakfast very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    7.9
    Bed was very comfy , clean , cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool was very cold and steam room wasn't the hottest but still very nice .

    Bed was very comfy , clean , cosy. Food was very good . Staff were very helpful ,friendly and polite. All in all great stay . Woukd recommend it !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay but facilities not as pictures detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool was really cold. No lockers available. Advertised as family friendly but no baby changing area in swimming pool changing rooms. Pictures advertises a baby in swimming pool in reality the baby is in the jacuzzi without it turned on.

    Came for a cheap mini (honey) moon as a family due to having a 4 month old. Picked the hotel based on nice location, close enough to explore different areas without traveling great distances (bowness on windermere, grange over sands). When we arrived we found nice, clean rooms and general areas however dated and could do with a bit of tlc. Although that said we loved the original features and decor matched these. We really enjoyed the food quality and choices in the bar and the staff were very helpful and friendly. A Beautiful dining room was available for a set menu and breakfast and the views of the gardens were lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    7.9
    Good location, comfortable and friendly stay without frills
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast arrangement was very cramped with a served buffet for hot breakfast in the corner and then a table arrangement with toaster, bread, jams, cereal etc close by. Disappointed in the breakfast selection, it just seemed very basic although the chef did cook us a couple of poached eggs to order. Any staff appeared hell-bent on getting tables cleared whilst chatting amongst themselves and not interested in guests unless approached.

    very friendly and helpful staff at check in and in the bar where we ate as we had our dog with us. The food was of a really good standard for bar food. Room (and bathroom) slightly dated but clean, comfortable and spacious so a good night's sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    9.6
    All all ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't really anything we didn't like except the heat in the dinning room. It was far to hot at meal times. Had to go into bar area for breakfast.

    All all ok.. Friendly staff and very helpful. Rooms comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy staff after hours in yard smoking and making noise directly under our room. Couldn’t check in till after 5pm. Dogs sat on chairs and being hand fed in bar by owners. Ripped chairs and dog hairs all over bar and hotel. Room ok but tired. Place stinks of dogs. Spa facilities are a joke. Place needs a total makeover but as this place accepts pets customers with dogs will rate it higher as they get to act as if they were at home.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    6.3
    very nice very clean but intrusive staff , never felt at ease staff walking in when getting changed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    staff walking into room whilst im getting changed , storing unused bed in our room , booked double room with large bed got family room with small double bed and single

    food nice , cleanliness friendly polite staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    7.5
    The view over the Southern tip of Windermere is lovely. It’s fairly close to the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa area was a disappointment, we visited the steam room only to find it looked tired and it felt dirty. There was no water to wash the seats down, the steam was a bit hit and miss (it’s not often I feel cool in a steam room!).

    The view over the Southern tip of Windermere is lovely. It’s fairly close to the road but not enough to affect sleeping. The food in the restaurant was very good with very helpful staff. Breakfast was good but not very well organised, it was not clear that it was entirely self service so we saw people sitting down ready for someone to take their order only to be ignored.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    10
    Love the food and the bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The family who totally took over the pool.It's one of the reasons we book this hotel but alas tjis time the mother father and son thought it appropriate to take over the whole pool and play piggy in the middle throwing a ball taking up the whole pool. We tried to sit in the jacuzzi but the child continued to jump.off it soaking us. Both times we went once in the evening and the mother was sat in the jacuzzi throwing the ball so the lad was running and jumping in for it and the father was swimming up and down at one point desperately trying to avoid the ball he elbowed me in the side at which point we gAve in and got out.we thought we might avoid them in the morning but hey Ho piggy in the middle so we admitted defeat and left.

    Love the food and the bar. The ease of booking in and out and being asked if everything was ok.love the way dogs are made to feel at home.been coming here for 45 years it's like a second home.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    9.2
    amazing can't wait for the next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really can not fault anything me .

    The bar staff very friendly ,nice views , prices very reasonable , rooms very cosy and spacious and the breakfast excellent .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    5.0
    The hotel was not as expected, it seemed nicer online
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was dated, not very clean, we were in a room next to the health suite and you could hear the door banging day and night. The shower was terrible running hot one minute freezing the next. The beds were uncomfortable. The adjoining pub couldn’t follow simple requests for food (mash rather than chips). The food wasn’t very nice. The breakfast room was hot and full of flies. When a door was opened there was a terrible smell. The health suite was disappointing and the pool was overly chlorinated so my child missed out on swimming which was one of the reasons for booking the hotel.

    The location was good. The hotel staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    6.7
    It was value for money and great for us to have our pet stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool was too cold and the rooms were stuffy and had a smell to them and perhaps the carpets could do with a deep clean.

    Breakfast was lovely and staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2018

    5.0
    Like being in a kennel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I understand that with dogs we can’t be in the main hotel but the ‘cottage’ we were in was dirty, uncomfortable bed & the 4 poster blocked the light, never again go there

    We were able to take the dogs it was cheap but I thought it was a last minute price

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    10
    Fantastic opportunaty to stay at this fantasic 3 star hotel at a price that is affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant prices were rather expensive but bar meals were priced reasonably

    We were surprised that we got a 4 poster bed - we were in a ground floor bedroom in an extension away from the hustle and bustle of the main part of the oldie worldie hotel - nice to walk around the extensive grounds - breakfast was awesome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    5.8
    We were in room 22 which was right next to the entrance to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    If we were in a room where we could have slept.

    We were in room 22 which was right next to the entrance to the spa. This woke us up Numerous times at 0530-630am. Constant banging of doors.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful room, and a lovely hotel with an excellent...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pre-prepared hot breakfast - over-cooked eggs, hard bacon, tinned mushrooms. Surely they can afford a breakfast chef, who can cook individual breakfasts, like other comparable hotels do.

    Beautiful room, and a lovely hotel with an excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 5, 2018

    10
    Great family hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing I would recommend as family holiday hotel

    Great hotel family rooms excellent food superb Leisure centre dated but brilliant kids loved it especially as it was empty a lot of time

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The noise from the busy road outside the hotel The public areas were a little tired looking.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was huge, it was very clean , we had a fabulous view of Windermere. The garden dining room had a lovely view over the beautiful garden.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 2, 2018

    8.8
    A lovely break, I would recommend to others, just not room 30!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As a late booking we were obviously given one of the last rooms available which was right next to the delivery entrance, next to some creaky stairs and opposite the cleaners cupboard!! Hence we were woken up at 6.30 by a lorries reversing up by our window, then the loud chatter of cleaners outside our door and people charging down to breakfast! If you get room 30 ask to change!! This was the only downside.

    Very efficient and helpful staff, the room was lovely and clean as was the rest of the hotel. Even thought we had a very last minute booking (cheaper!) we were treated just the same as any other guest. The buffet breakfast was great and catered for everyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    7.9
    Good staff but room problems
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    2rooms used, bedroom 6 behind reception used for elderly parent. Not warned about live band playing other side of bedroom wall until late. Bedroom 2 first floor overlooks front of hotel no privicy nets other than thick old curtains also noisy from guests leaving at 2am after party had finished

    Very friendly and polite reception staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    7.1
    OK apart from the privacy/ventilation issue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was like being in a goldfish bowl lacking privacy with only the sash windows for ventilation. It lacked a fridge & toilet roll holder.

    The Rotunda was pretty fancy .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant. but have had better value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    * Booked superior double, , The room we had, had a double and single bed which reduced space. Only one chair. * Dogs allowed In bedrooms. * Breakfast set up. Plates cold, area crammed and .too busy

    Location ideal for Windermere and other areas of interest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    9.6
    Super stay, set back from the road, spotlessly clean and pet friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose this hotel as it was pet friendly and we had no problem at all with taking our dogs. There were a few other dogs in the hotel and we never heard any barking or noise what so ever. The staff were very friendly and welcoming especially at breakfast. Although it is situated near to a busy main road the hotel is set back so it was quite quiet. The rooms and bathroom were spotlessly clean, smelt fresh too and were spacious. Breakfast was a self-serve buffet style which we perfer; cereals, fruit & yogurt, pastries, egg, bacon, mushrooms etc. The only thing which we would recommend is some airconditioning in the room or to be able to open the windows a little more. The weather when we arrived was very hot even at night and the room felt very close and stuffy. If we stay in the Lakes again and take the dogs we would definitely stay here but also ask for a ground floor room as we stayed on the top floor and there were quite a few stairs for the dogs to climb. We would certainly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 21, 2018

    7.9
    The receptionist on the day of arrival accommodated us even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Housekeeping started so early that you can hear the vacuum and all the banging by around 7. Sorry not an early person..

    The receptionist on the day of arrival accommodated us even though we were 2 hours ahead of time for the check in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were in the Jasmine Annexe. The room was dark and rather noisy, but comfortable.

    Great food - breakfast and bar meals. Great location for exploring the southern lakes. Hotel has a lovely, but small, swimming pool.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    5.8
    The hotel was in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel looked so much better online than in real life. Looking at pictures I was expecting a beautiful big garden I could sit in or walk around. Unfortunately the gardens were very rundown it had a very neglected look about it. The bedrooms we stayed in were very dark and a huge old wooden four poster bed took over the whole room making it even darker. All the furniture in fact was too big for the room. We were in rooms outside of the main hotel which I did not expect and it was quite noisy especially early in the morning wit delivery vans pulling up and unloading. The whole place could benefit from a new coat of paint.

    The hotel was in a good location. Staff were friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.5
    Great place to stay for exploring lake Windermere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pool is very small, not really suitable for serious swimming. Some late night noise from staff outside. Would have been nice to include cheese in the breakfast buffet.

    Spacious room and bathroom with tea making facilities. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast buffet. Friendly staff. Very nice pub/restaurant across the bridge (2 min. walk) with tables by the river side.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable and pleasant! Would recommend!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff where lovely but when it came to food service they where a bit slow. We wasn’t informed on check in that there would be certain times we could order food which was a bit annoying when you have a hungry child with you.

    The breakfast was really great! The rooms where a good size, gardens where tidy and very beautiful pool steam and gym area was great. Loved the fact our dog was really welcome in all areas of the hotel bar and bar restaurant for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 8, 2018

    10
    Just delightful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This Hotel is an old hotel and has been kept in beautiful condition, however there is no lift and Luggage to second floor is no fun.

    Food and Staff were excellent, with the choice of an al a carte restaurant experience or excellent Pub meals. The Hotel was way better value than nearby Windermere and has a beautiful outlook down the lake. The Hotel is located less then 10 min Drive to Lakeside, if you are looking to get on a lake Cruise. Rooms were excellent and spacious, although if your not an early riser, then rooms at back of Hotel are away from morning traffic.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    9.2
    A reasonable stopover when travelling to Scotland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food served in the bar was certainly not the standard I would expect. The chips were rock hard with no moisture in them at all. Little choice of vegetarian options. The breakfast did not match the standard set by my recent visit to Holiday Inn for example We did not eat in the restaurant at night so cannot judge that. The staff were not over enthusiastic especially at breakfast and on reception on our arrival.

    The hotel was very clean and in a good position. It had wonderful leisure facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    5.4
    We just used the hotel as a base
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom wasn’t as clean as it first appeared and the price of the hotel for the night was expensive for the standard of hotel... bigger room, super king (or at least king size) bed Breakfast was really Average

    Hotel room was clean staff were exceptionally friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money but beds need upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The four poster bed in our room was very uncomfortable and creaked everytime we moved

    We had dinner in the Huntsman Bar which was excellent and good value for the money. The breakfast was also excellent, lots of choices and the cooked breakfast was hot.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 6, 2018

    5.5
    expected better based on what was advertised
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    breakfast was lack lustre had to ask there was very little offered bar was uninviting didnt feel welcome some of younger staff in restaurant nice enough but overall staff lacked enthusiasm bad value for money

    Nice room with nice view

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    6.3
    Basic but comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was in a separate building at the side of hotel. Very noisy, could hear room upstairs and doors banging. Services for the hotel began at 07.30 which involved a noisy van outside our window. Bar area very dated

    Staff friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    8.8
    Great family retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a broken bed that by the looks of it had been repaired a couple of times before, but as my son wasnt tall enough to reach the bottom did not affect us greatly. Could do with that replacing

    Well kept hotel, all the staff was friendly and welcoming, nice indoor pool and jacuzzi and steam room. Lovely location, perfect for lakeside and steam train to lakeside. The rooms were clean and perfect for our family, the food was very nice, a good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel, okay location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location isn’t suitable for people with no car, as there is no local shops and is only on a bus route with infrequent buses. But it was still doable

    Very cosy and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    5.0
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room we stayed in was in a cottage outside the hotel. This was fine but the room had a bad odour. Not cool. The receptionist who checked us in was not very friendly and seemed to not entertain any questions.

    The staff in the bar restaurant were good. As well as the service during breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.6
    Food was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It’s right on a main road so you have the noise from the traffic. Although we had to have the windows open as the weather was extremely hot.

    Food was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent location not far from many attractions. Lovely location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.5
    a good family venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The cost of drinks at the bar were pricey. The changing facilities for the pool and gym were limited.

    helpful friendly staff, good food. the rooms were nice and clean no air con which would have helped with it being unusually hot but the Lakes is not known for its hot summers! easy to get to and good access to south and west lakes eg Bowness

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    10
    Overall very good,with pleasant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Asabove

    Breakfast was supposed to be served until 9.30 but many items were not available at 8.45 when we came down, no bacon, bread for toast not available, and earlier in our stay only one small toaster between all the guests, good at times but poor at others.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We would have preferred a shower cubicle, rather than shower over the bath. It was not easy with bad knees to step out of the bath.

    Enjoyed using the spa. Very helpful, friendly staff. Good food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    7.1
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts luke warm. No air conditioning when temperature was 30c outside. Parking difficult when car park full.

    Swimming pool superb. Breakfast had good selection. Room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    Staffs are friendly, super clean room with every day room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staffs are friendly, super clean room with every day room cleaning. Superb breakfast and all good....nice location and worth for paying.... definitely recommend and will be visiting again👍👍👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    5.8
    Overall disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed for one night and decided to eat in the bar, bad choice! Food was terrible. Ordered selection of bread on the menu to start, when it came we received a slice of bread cut in half with a bowl of olives. Not my impression of a selection of bread! For main I ordered penne carbonara with garlic bread slices off the menu without chicken. It arrived spaghetti carbonara with chicken and two pieces of bread with garlic paste. It was tasteless, very bland, and not creamy at all. Worst carbonara I have ever tasted. My partner ordered the lasagne that was just as bad. It was like rubber and was tasteless. The whole top layer of cheese lifted up as one like a layer of rubber cheese! It was obvious that it had been pre made and microwaved. On the back of this there was a small apology from the waiter after we sent the food back, whom I felt sorry for, we then preceded to reception to raise the issue as I didn’t want to cause a scene in the bar. There was no apology from reception just let’s go through and remove the food from your bill. We then went to swan hotel opposite to eat. It was like night and day! A little more expensive but who cares I would pay more for good quality food and service and to actually receive what I ordered off the menu. The morning after on check out there was no ‘how was your stay?’ Or apology again for the food we received the night before. Customer service very very poor. It was like they didn’t care.

    The hotel is situated in a lovely location. Both the hotel and the room were clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2018

    10
    The staff were excellent very helpful nothing to much bother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were excellent very helpful nothing to much bother. Room hotel very clean and tidy. Were hoping to call there again later in the year. Good location for getting about places. Breakfast lovely really nice coffee to.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel but needs to boost staff moral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff have only one speed slow. Breakfast room staff especially. Two female managers at breakfast time were the only ones on fast pace. Took staff 20 minutes to bring tea after having to be asked as staff did not offer any

    Room comfortable, hotel quiet good leisure facility

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location was good for scenery however it was a at least 7-10 miles to main shops/fast foods

    The room was spacious The bathroom was beautiful Very clean Staff where lovely and welcoming Pool was good Great selection of extras e.g tea and coffee Breakfast was lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    6.3
    Not too bad. Wouldn't recommend. Emergency stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were v outdated and on the day of departure STANK Of Feces!! Something wrong with the plumbing i think? Really gross. Cudnt Breathe. Bathroom really needs renovation.

    The breakfast was good and restaurant staff were very accommodating. Gardens looked really nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant but with shortcomings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator and a bath which was difficult to access - no shower. The decor and old furniture are shabby. No comfortable chairs in the bedroom only upright dining room chairs. Did not like the four poster bed.

    The staff is extremely friendly. The breakfast was enjoyable and dinner exceeded expectations.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff was very friendly but did not seem to what was going on evening meal ordered starter and main got the main but no starter when checking out was told nothing to pay had to convince staff that had a meal and wanted to pay for it

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    7.9
    Great for people and dogs alike
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a wedding party on one of the nights we stayed and there was loud music until midnight and children running uncontrolled around the corridors

    The location especially, also the breakfast staff were all very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    3.8
    We were very disappointed with the hotel as the rooms we experienced were of a very poor standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When we arrived we were told we would be in a room in a cottage outside the hotel which was not what we expected. We didn't like the room as it was shabby and on further inspection discovered that the toilet had not been cleaned and there was faeces round the top of the toilet bowl. We went to reception and informed them of our findings and they offered us another room in the hotel which was a slight improvement. Again on further inspection this room was not very clean and there was no lock on the toilet door. On reflection we should really have made another complaint but we felt we didn't want confrontation and we decided to make the most of our few days. The rooms on the hotel website were nothing like the rooms we experienced and so we were very disappointed.

    The breakfast was very good as were the staff who served us. The bar staff were also pleasant. The meals in the bar were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    5.0
    Poor cleaning and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was there for three nights ,and they never changed towels ;just they folded the wet towels over every day in the room .I mentioned it to the reception after first night and they said they would change them but nothing happened . There was a telephone in the room and I tried many times to talk to reception but no one answered. The breakfast is really basic , even no cheese ,nothing special compare to the money that you pay . I don’t think they clean the bathroom as I saw the same dirt and mark there everyday . Overall poor cleaning and breakfast despite the money they charge you .

    Location is amazing Staff are really kind and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable, with great views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lack of hot water for shower / washing at 7.00 am, however this had been rectified by 8.00 am.

    The food was good with a more than adequate selection of dishes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was right at the top of the hotel up loads of stairs, therefore the wifi was atrocious and didn't work at all. There wasn't even a phone in the room to call for room service or reception.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable hotel with good service and a good location near to the Lakes etc.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Evening meal was not great, the breakfasts were better.

    Good Hotel nice helpful staff good breakfast. Comfortable room with four poster and good facilities. Shower over bath was good. Parking was easy and private.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: