Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Kent hotel reviews
  4. Wye hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of New Flying Horse Inn

Reviews of New Flying Horse Inn

Upper Bridge Street, Wye, Wye, Wye, TN25 5AN, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Wye

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 621 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2019

    6.7
    Overall ok stay but less comfortable than expected for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was uncomfortable and felt very narrow for a single bed. The bathroom was a little tired looking with a broken frame on the velux window Breakfast finished at 9.30 on a Sunday which seemed a bit early since check out wasn't until 11.00. Service was very slow at breakfast

    Great location. Easy check in and check out. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2019

    10
    Fabulous stay in a lovely setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    This booking was for my parents and they absolutely loved their stay! We all had a meal in the restaurant in the evening which was very good indeed. Their room actually was a family room, so would have accommodated children as well in the large bunk beds. The setting is very picturesque and the room spotless. There was a nice size bathroom and some lovely toiletries.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 26, 2019

    8.3
    Good country pub with rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the staff were really welcoming and continued to be so throughout, the room was a good size and the food both at supper and at breakfast good quality

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    10
    Friendly, characterful, and lovely staff
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stopped off on our way from Skipton down to the eurotunnel, and really wish we could have taken the time to enjoy the stay more. The hotel itself was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful, and dinner was excellent. The room was comfortable and full of character, and we'll go back again if we have the chance!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2019

    8.3
    Good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were very lumpy

    Good location in wye village with plenty of parking available. Friendly, helpful staff. Nicely decorated room with a good bathroom, although the shower pressure wasn’t great. The cooked breakfast was very good but could do with improving cereal selection and perhaps adding some fruit.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2019

    9.6
    Good location, in a small village just off the main roads.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms a little noisy with other guests walking to and from rooms. This is very minor. I would recommend and I would stay again!

    Good location, in a small village just off the main roads. Therefore really well connected but quiet and peaceful. Bar was good. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2019

    9.6
    Nice village pub with rooms a short drive from Folkestone
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Carpet in room showing its age with a stain on it.

    Nice village pub with rooms. Very friendly and obliging staff. Good food and drink. Had everything we needed including full range of nice toiletries in bathroom, bottles of water, tea coffee, hot choc and biscuits in bedroom and it was clean and comfortable. Good choice for breakfast too!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2019

    10
    A very enjoyable stay and will use this accommodation again if in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We requested to stay in the room until 12 as we were attending a funeral This request was met without any additional charge

    Good selection of food available and reasonably priced

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2019

    5.4
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was extremely hot despite opening the window. Could hear people in room next door talking (not loud) so walls were paper thin. Wasn't clean - big stain on carpet,( when advised staff if this they said they were aware) dust on skirtings extractor fan dirty.

    Staff friendly breakfast amazing

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    10
    we would love to stay here in the summer months to take advantage of the gardens
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING!!!!!!

    this hotel was outstanding an older building that has been extremely well renovated with excellent fixtures and fittings we were in the beautifully decorated stable block with a very large wet room perfect for us the bed was very, very, comfortable and nice and warm we WILL stay here again when we are next in the area!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2019

    8.3
    The breakfast was amazing and set us up for our journey back...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was amazing and set us up for our journey back home! The bed was very comfy and our room was lovely and bright,only thing my bed side light didn't work but apart from that everything was good. The meal in the pub was fab excellent fish n chips! would well recommend.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2019

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. That's why we keep returning

    Good location. Quiet village. Warm and comfy rooms. Good sized car park. Nice restaurant and friendly and helpful staff. We go to this part of Kent to visit family every two or three months and there is absolutely no reason for us to stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2019

    10
    Superb - highly recommend a stay here and the food
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to report.

    The evening meal and breakfast at the New Flying Horse was exceptional. The staff very friendly and the room(No.1) was comfortable, clean, modern and provided all the amenities we required during our stay. We would highly recommend this Inn and would love to return again in the future.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2019

    8.3
    Excellent for an early start to France.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast and a nice restaurant. Used this as a short stopover for the Tunnel. It's about 25 minutes away and makes sense if you've got an early start.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    8.8
    Breakfast is served late at 0730, you then have to wait for...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is served late at 0730, you then have to wait for it to be ordered and cooked. Most people on business need to be in their workplace on time. I did not have chance to have breakfast even though it was in the price paid.. I was asked for my order at 0745 hrs by the time it had been cooked and delivered to my table I would not have time to eat it.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 12, 2019

    10
    Very warm welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was great.

    Very warm welcome. Lovely cosy room in stable block, very convenient for husb who has difficulty walking (‘disabled’ bathroom was much appreciated too). Pretty gardens in which to walk the dog. Kettle etc in room, very good breakfast included, served in main building (v picturesque). Only a short onward drive to channel tunnel.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2019

    10
    Staying here made our trip all the more enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative comments

    A very warm and comforting country inn, equal to any five star hotel. The staff were helpful and pleasant. The bedroom was very well equipped with everything needed for a relaxing nights stay. I would thoroughly recommend The New Flying Horse. My husband and I will definitely return.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2019

    8.8
    The staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were friendly. A great choice of drinks at the bar and served in appropriate glasses - we had a brandy and the barman asked if we wanted the glass warmed...a nice touch!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2019

    8.8
    Pleasant stay, good nights sleep as anticipated traffic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar clientele loud & foul mouthed - decided to drink elsewhere

    Pleasant stay, good nights sleep as anticipated traffic noise didn't materialise. Breakfast good

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 27, 2019

    10
    lovely pub, lovely staff, lovely room, lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Out of hours shower noise

    the overnight stay was perfect, the room, food & staff were all exceptional, however one issue that disturbed our sleep was the residents in room 4 taking a shower at 11:50 which resounded into our room and woke us up. I am sure that suitable additional sound insulation would remedy this situation. other than that would not doubt stay again

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2019

    9.6
    Great place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only reason I gave this a lower rating was I personally found it abit too far off the main road.

    All the staff were friendly and helpful. They made you feel welcome. The room no. 3 was small but very nice, clean and perfect for our 1 night stay before travelling on. Great food. Great value hotel. Would definately recommend it! The garden looked lovely even in January so that would be good in the summer months. Great place!😍

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2019

    10
    Very comfortable stay, great food and service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing I can suggest is that you offer dairy free milk, it’s not a problem as I’m used to carrying my own soya milk in my handbag but it would be great for more places to provide it with the pot of tea.

    The hotel was really cosy and warm. The food was really good, I’m a vegetarian and struggle to get decent veggie food in hotels but it was extremely good here. And the man who looked after me during my stay was extremely pleasant and professional.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2019

    9.2
    This is a great hotel with great staff, great parking and great food and beer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at breakfast was a tad slow, we ordered simple cooked breakfast (me: toast with bacon and poached eggs, wife: toast with poached eggs and mushrooms), as we were in a hurry to get to a meeting, unfortunately it took almost 30 minutes to get our food to us (I expect it was "because each meal is cooked to order", however this is still too long).

    Very flexible booking process as had to cancel first night and later re-instate it at short notice, not a problem. Very comfortable room, great parking, good food selection and well cooked and served as ever. This was our second stay and will definitely be back again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 19, 2019

    10
    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit more of the delicious jus on the duck and may be a coat hook on the back of the door but thats just trying to find something to say really.

    Lovely room, comfy bed, friendly staff, good food. The pub is in a good location in a pretty village set in the heart of gorgeous countryside.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2019

    10
    Perfect Nights Stay for a Special Birthday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a thing I would change!!

    The staff went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. It it my partners birthday and they did so much to help us celebrate! Thank you!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    9.6
    Perfect, would definitely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wobbly tap Slight confusion about rooms at check in but quickly sorted

    Breakfast was amazing! Tap was slightly wobbly in sink, but bedroom and bathroom were nicely furnished and a very decent size too Decent refreshments in room

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    10
    New Year at the New Flying Horse - a lovely way to see in 2019
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a last minute impulse to get away for New Year and I found this hotel which looked ideal – quietly located in the small Kent village of Wye. We arrived at 14:30 on the 31st, having travelled from London and enjoying a pleasant lunch in Faversham. The hotel is essentially an inn/pub with rooms above. We checked in and enjoyed a beer, reading in the bar which is comfortable and unpretentious, retaining a traditional feel and a lot of old features. An added bonus was the real fire. We were uncertain as to what to do regarding dinner later that evening – given the limited alternatives available given the size of the village. However, we booked a table for 19:30 and had a lovely meal. The restaurant area on the ground floor adjacent to the bar (and used as part of the bar when not for dining) was not rammed but there was enough activity to make you feel you had not made a mistake in choosing this as a venue. We were not disappointed. The food was delicious : generous portions, reasonably priced and served with courtesy and charm. We did not stay in the bar until midnight, so I do not know how busy it may have become in there – but if it did become raucous, we heard nothing upstairs in our room (No 1) which looks to be above the bar area. The room was very comfortable, spacious and well appointed and we slept well. All modern conveniences are provided, without unduly compromising the character of the building. Breakfast the following morning was served between 07:30 and 09:30 in the restaurant area downstairs. It comprised fruit juice and cereal followed by a cooked menu option which was varied and cooked to order. My partner had the full English and said it was very good – I had smoked haddock with poached eggs and wilted spinach : it was great and the portion so generous I couldn’t finish it. We had a lovely, peaceful New Year at the New Flying Horse. Service was excellent – friendly, courteous and unobtrusive. I would heartily recommend it

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    10
    New year's eve stay in Wye
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not very much! Only feedback I would give is to stock extra loo roll and tissues as we ran out.

    Beautiful location, friendly and welcoming staff, and charming comfortable room which was located in the stable block. Bed was super comfy and the room came with bottled water, tea and coffee. Breakfast was excellent - good choice of menu options as well as continental buffet. To top it all, there was a spacious car park at the back!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    9.6
    Fantastic and homely place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful homely place and perfect for traveling past London and towards the tunnel to Europe. The rooms were great and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was excellent also. We will surely be back again!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    10
    The new flying horse inn is a perfect place to stay rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing all perfect

    The new flying horse inn is a perfect place to stay rooms are very clean and comfortable staff are friendly and helpful. This is the second time we have stayed here and we will be back in 2019

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    10
    Little treasure in a country village
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Lovely location, plenty of parking, really helpful staff, lovely ensuite clean modern room, great choice for breakfast. Unfortunately as it was boxing day when we arrived the restaurant and bar had closed before we arrived but the staff were good enough to provide us with local takeaway details. So didn't get to taste the restaurant food. Would definitely stay here again. Great value for money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    10
    3 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit noisy on Christmas Eve but that was only to be expected really ! At least it stopped at midnight !

    Lovely room very comfortable and good sized bathroom Great breakfast very filling An enjoyable stay whilst visiting family in nursing home near by Lovely and quiet for the rest of my stay Nice garden

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money, if your looking for a good nights sleep with good food and drink
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, will defently stay again if down that way.

    Excellent value for money, nice touch of water in room, toiletries. Comfiest bed ever. Nice and quiet. Very friendly staff and attentive.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    We have stayed here several times before.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing.

    We have stayed here several times before. It appears that at sometime since our last visit the Inn has changed hands. It would appear that, from reading the reviews it may have gone through a sticky patch. However everything was back to just the way we like it. There have been no major changes and we had a lovely 2 day visit to the area. We will have no hesitation in rebooking when on our next visit to family in Hythe.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    9.6
    It was very clean and although the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sound quality of the tv wasn’t great. Being in the stable block had it positives ie privacy and no pub noise and negatives you had to put your coat on to go to the restaurant (it was raining and December) etc but I think it balanced itself out in the end! The walls of the stable block were quite thin, I could hear the tv in the room next door once we turned out tv off but it was ok.

    It was very clean and although the room Was small it was perfectly formed! Nice size bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    10
    Great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Fantastic value for money especially considering breakfast is included. Comfy bed, nice bathroom, has everything you could want. Ample parking and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2018

    10
    Lovely stay on our way to Dover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    Perfect stay on our way to the ferry in Dover. Manager and staffs are very professional and caring. The room was clean and tidy. Nice contemporary pub style. We had a very nice dinner in the pub just next to the Woodburner. Food was very tasty and delicate. Strongly recommend the scallops with trio of puree (curry cauliflower, beetroot and green peas) Will definitely stop there again! Thank you

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    9.6
    Great location for Ashford!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No porridge for breakfast! Possibly a chain on the door of the stables might make guests feel a little more secure as there isn't a lock on the inside of the door.

    Great location to Ashford and more importantly NOT paying Ashford prices! Staff were very friendly. Great parking.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    9.6
    Nice venue friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Empty packets should have contained shower cap sewing kit etc very annoying as needed shower cap

    Great pub nice room, dog friendly, good food, friendly staff nice location. All good apart from no shower caps or sewing kit etc as all packets were empty but when we told them the answer was well they shouldn't be empty not very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    8.3
    Loved the location and the beautiful bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved the location and the beautiful bathroom. Beautiful location and very thoughtful staff. Who are always on hand to assist with any concerns and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely old pub with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom is on the street and with old sash windows you can clearly hear every car that passes. Although few in number there were some going by quite early in the morning.

    Lovely old pub with good food. We had the family room (which could have slept 5) and is spacious and comfortable with a modern bathroom. Very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable and i would certainly stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean and spacious pub with friendly staff and good food. On my walk along North Downs Way this was the most expensive accommodation over my 3 days but the room was great and an excellent shower. The room was hotel standard.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    5.8
    The bedroom was very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quality of the food, shower did not work, the child in breakfast room had chickenpox we had to leave, Having 5 bouts of chronic diarrhoea after eating food and staff not very friendly and were happy to leave you waiting

    The bedroom was very clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    10
    Great location for the wedding we were at. Would stay again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not keen on the dark wood furniture in the bar and restaurant. Didn't go with the standard of rooms but it is only furniture but would be better updated as made the restaurant dark.

    Rooms very comfortable with everything you needed. Plenty of hot water. Bed very comfortable. All the staff very friendly and helpful with the 3 young children with us. Food was excellent and the choice for breakfast was great. Lovely garden to sit out and relax in.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    9.2
    Will be returning to the New Flying Horse
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The windows are only single glazed in the room.

    Unfortunately arrived at 8:50pm. But we immediately chose from the menu to make sure we ate. Then we were booked in. (This was fab idea from our waitress) Considering the restaurant finished serving at9pm, they went 'the extra mile' and set up a table for the 4 of us. We were made to feel very welcome and NOTHING was too much trouble!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant but not really worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mirror in the bathroom is set at waist height! I had to kneel to do my make-up and my husband had to do the same to shave! Our documentation said the room would include a bath but we were given the only room on site without one and had to move.

    The location from the Channel Tunnel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable stay close to the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Proximity to ferry, comfortable, clean room, relatively secure parking all pluses. Rural location can be viewed as a plus or a minus. No real negatives.

    Good location for someone travelling with the Channel ferry, but not too close so that it´s hectic. Rural location with the bedrooms in a separate outbuilding (the Stables) so that the noise from the pub does not disturb. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 5, 2018

    7.9
    A nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stated in one of the annex rooms not in the main building. No view from the room only a grassy bank

    Very friendly atmosphere, good location. Simple but nice food in the pub. A very good breakfast. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2018

    10
    We liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything. The staff were very friendly and on the ball. Food nice. Extended breakfast menu. We were impressed. We came from a business trip in London, and made a short stop over before taking the shuttle back to Calais. We highly recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.5
    Good mattress, narrow bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although the mattress was good, we found the bed far too narrow for two people. The description mentioned a large double bed, but it was only around 135 cm wide. Descriptions should always mention the width in cm. Terms like large, queen, king, super king are not interpreted in the same way everywhere. With cm (or inches) there is no confusion.

    Good location in quiet village. Conveniently close to the channel tunnel. Beds had good mattresses. Good shower. Had nice dinner.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    9.6
    A lovley old english pub with good rooms, food and beer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A great old english pub. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and the bathroom is a good size with a great shower over a P shaped bath. Parking is free. Its a great place to stop over on the way to or from the channel tunnel. We stopped for a night after travelling back from Riems, and it was just what we wanted , a relaxed atmosphere with excellent beer and food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast and evening meal was really good with a great...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thought it was a bit on the pricey side stains on the carpet in one room

    Breakfast and evening meal was really good with a great choice of helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant overnighter on our way to the continent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    WiFi in the room non existent. But that’s a very small issue in such a nice place

    Attractive and peaceful location. Very handy for the Channel Tunnel. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    9.2
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very steep stairs to our room, we are in our seventies, however it was the last available room when we booked, so choice was not there. Unfortunately, the window overlooked an ‘unofficial smoking/meeting’ area so window had to be closed for most of the time.

    The room was very clean, the bed very very comfortable. All the room facilities were perfect. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was absolutely first class and for the quality/service reasonably priced. The location within the village was perfect. Overall this is a top class venue for overnight stays and dining, highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    10
    We stayed for 1 night on route to Dungenness. The hotel was a lovely place to break up the journey.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived there was an issue with the booking as the hotel had myself and my partner with 2 children whereas the booking was actually for myself, my partner, her daughter and our dog. The hotel were extremely accommodating and allowed us to stay in the room that was allocated to us even though dogs are not usually allowed in that particular room. The room was very clean and the facilities excellent. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    9.2
    Thoroughly enjoyable break away with my wife, only wish we could have stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poached eggs slightly overcooked on my eggs benedict and low on toilet roll in our room, but these are minor problems

    A beautiful old pub in a lovely little village. The rooms were very well furnished and there were lovely little touches in the rooms. Our evening meal in the restaurant was delicious and the staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    7.5
    Nice little country pub
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tried to charge us for newspaper and as we had no UK cash would have had to make a card transaction for it! So they took back the newspaper!

    Nice little country pub

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    7.9
    lovely little pub - perfect for a stayover before heading to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bit of a wasp issue when we were there - need more traps.

    lovely little pub - perfect for a stayover before heading to Eurotunnel., food was excellent and bedroom lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2018

    7.5
    Lovely village location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stayed in the stables which was not connected to the pub itself. I realise that we were in the countryside but there were lots of spiders in the room and I’m not a fan 🙈 Just a small moan but the shower/bath was a little awkward to get out of. Would definitely stay here again as long as the spiders have moved on.

    Lovely village location. Food was very good. Pub was lovely. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    9.2
    A dog friendly place for a stay over before the Channel Crossing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi was very unstable in the room, but according the manager, thats not the normal state.

    Very nice, dog friendly Pub with a beautiful, large garden. The staff and the manager were very friendly and helpful. As we had a very early "take off" to the Channel Tunnel, we missed the breakfast, but the staff offered us some cereals and milk for the room. We liked especially the stable room (outside the main building) with the dog and the fact, that we had to leave very early in the morning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    8.8
    Nice and comfortable for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The carpet in the room and a few areas in the bathroom were visibly soiled despite the otherwise nice and comfy room, so could do with a bit of maintenance more frequently. A small fridge in the room would be a nice addition.

    Friendly staff, very comfy bed, nice room and clean, good and plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    7.5
    Nice place if you’re not in a rush
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast was nice food but took nearly 30 minutes from ordering. It seemed like they waited til all the guests arrived before they decided to serve the hot food. No explanation given and the sole waitress was left hanging.

    Comfy bed, room well kitted out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 12, 2018

    7.9
    Excellent bed, good room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking.com app on this occasion didn't pass on our requirement for pets allowed; the property had already let out the limited number of rooms with pets allowed when we arrived and charged us extra. Breakfast disappointing after excellent evening meal

    Excellent bed, good room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    8.3
    Good overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed for just one night to attend a 60th party nearby. Room was well appointed, clean and with a good bathroom. We particularly liked the bed which was super comfy! We had lunch in the restaurant on arrival which was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 29, 2018

    9.2
    We will certainly stop over here again if we ever use Le Shuttle again - now that’s a completely d!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff in the morning were a little on the quiet, non communicative side. Did what was necessary, nothing more, nothing less, still pleasant though.

    Food was excellent as was the beer. The evening were very pleasant and helpful. Beds comfortable and a full range of TV channels available if needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    8.8
    Very clean and well kept.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The young bar staff need some lessons in public relations, single monosyllabic answers tend to irritate! A thank you and have a good evening when you leave goes a long way !!

    Very clean and well kept.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 24, 2018

    9.6
    We absolutely loved our stay. Garden is stunning. Would definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need one squishy pillow. Both pillows were too firm.

    Bedroom was beautiful and comfy. Breakfast yummy. Surroundings beautiful and staff were really friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    10
    Over night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    This was an exceptional overnight stay, we had a very warm welcome from the staff and the room had everything you required. We had dinner in the bar area which was very relaxed with exceptional food. A good night's sleep followed a few pints in the bar and we woke up to a good full English breakfast with all the trimmings, again this was superb and set us on our way. Glyn & Debs

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel in a charming village!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was adequate rather than large, but still very comfortable.

    Beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, great choice of Menu and beers. Brilliant staff, good carpark, great location in a charming village. Will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    10
    Comfortable room in a nice pub. Massive garden easy parking etc would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fire alarm sounded at about 7 am. It was a false alarm. However it meant that all guests were up and ready for breakfast at the same time. As werecon a schedule to catch a Eurotunnel train it left very little time for breakfast and tbh the breakfast we had was awful. I can only assume the chef missed fried egg day at college as they were awful. Dinner the night before however was excellent

    The place is fine the pillows were the best we had in our whole road trip

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    10
    Excellent stay.
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee at breakfast was a bit too weak.

    The welcome and service throughout our stay was very good. The staff were pro active , able to answer any questions we had , organized a taxi when asked. Overall very satisfactory. I would go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    10
    Great stay in rural Kent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing not to like.

    Bedrooms well furnished and well appointed - good soft towels. Cosy bar area with restaurant attached - good diner menu and good food. Very large beer garden area with plenty of space and tables. Friendly staff and landlord very helpful. Took part in quiz night on Sunday which, although we are not regular quiz players, was good fun. Great place to stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    7.5
    An ideal, comfy, midway point on our journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a shame that the village of Wye seems to closing down - a number of empty buildings.

    We stayed in the converted stables which had been well designed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 31, 2018

    8.3
    Everything you expect in a very good country pub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stairs

    Great little village pub/inn. Great breakfast, good dinner. Good room. A great launch point for exploring Kent or heading to the channel crossing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    7.5
    I was very happy with my stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Found dining room rather noisy.

    The bed was very comfortable. Shower excellent. Glad of the excellent central heating when it turned cold in the late evening. Breakfasts good

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: