Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Newton House Guesthouse 3 stars

82/84 Abingdon Road Oxford, Oxford, OX1 4PL, United Kingdom

#37 of 65 B&Bs and Inns in Oxford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1028 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not very friendly staff, really pricey, stayed in 4 star hotels for less.. no communal space ( no garden or lounge .. so it's just your room and breakfast for well over £100 per night)

    Walkable to town, clean room , tea/coffee etc were good, my room was at the back so away from the road and breakfast was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice guest house rooms are very smart clean and comfortable can't fault it the breakfast was beautiful guy who owns it is a nice guy with a nice welcome definitely going back to this very tidy guest house

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs to the top floor were very narrow and steep, especially with cases.

    It was very close to Oxford and walking distance to everything we wanted to see.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very narrow car park access and egress was tight but that said very grateful for a parking space

    The location was great within easy walking distance of Christ Church and the Centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was really excellent and the food seemed fresh and well-presented. The premises seemed like they had been spruced up in the last few years so they were modern but getting a bit tired in places. A spring clean would have been good as there was dust behind the door and along the skirting boards and along the base of the bed. That said, the bed linen was spotless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was old and shabby, very dated, not particularly clean, noisy with poor double glazing. Photos on booking.com are misleading. Woudn’t go back or recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of stairs, no lift.

    There is parking in the back of the property, which is always a bonus. The rooms are small, but cozy. The owner and staff was very friendly. There was a great selection for breakfast. Eggs to order, bacon, sausage and toast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly the woman who greeted us was terrible at hospitality. She scowled at me because I entered through the wrong gate to the property (the gate which actually had information about the property). She just grunted and showed us to our room. The Breakfast was terrible. Small portion for a full English and the ingredients weren’t very satisfying. The bacon was like rubber. After paying $220 up front I defiantly felt ripped off.

    The location was good and the beds comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could quibble about the tight parking spaces but that's the only issue we had - and, frankly, getting parking in the middle of Oxford was a huge relief. Most people need to use the "Park & Ride" scheme which is efficient but much less convenient.

    We wanted a convenient place to overnight on a 24 hour stay in Oxford. Availability of parking was a huge plus, as were buses into town 2 minutes walk away. Walking into town took 10 - 15 minutes. A comfortable room, not much traffic noise and a good breakfast in the morning made for a relaxing stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can only guess that the hoover had broken as there were bits on the carpet quite noticeable on a dark coloured one. Not a big deal for us once it was explained that someone else had been helping out. Really not an issue as everywhere else was spotless. The signage to the rear car park was non existent, though common sense told us to turn into Newton Rd to gain access to the rear of the building. ,

    A lovely warm welcome to a spacious room on the top floor, a lovely bathroom with toiletries provided. ( though they were three different fragrances ! ) The tea/coffee in our room were a nice touch, as was the water.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a noisy room above floorboards so creaky very disturbed sleep. Their television very loud late in the night and early in the morning. Never seemed to stop walking round the room.Bathroom needed a good clean, mound and mildew in shower and on shower head. Breakfast undercooked too.

    Comfy bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast room was a bit crowded the tables were very close together.

    room was roomy great distance from oxford center friendly host breakfast was lovely loads of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the shower was minute and broken. It was difficult for my 6ft tall husband to fit in the shower. Car park was small and not up to standard. The hotel was unrecognisable from the website photos.

    We liked the fact that you could walk into Oxford in 20 minutes

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It had been noted in a review before - so we were warned - but there is no signage to the car park at the back of the property. It is a narrow road to get in and it still doesn't say anywhere that it is the car park for Newton House. So simple to put up a few clear notices!

    The location is good - not too far out of Oxford. The breakfast was better than many, but please don't put the toast in a bowl - must be standing up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit of a heatwave and so would have liked a sheet or light duvet. There was a winter duvet and extra blanket so would be cosy in winter. I didn’t ask for one so perhaps it was available on request!

    The hotel was pleasant and clean. Our room was very modern like decor although nicely sympathetic to the age of the building. The breakfast was excellent in every way. The owner and staf were very friendly and helpful. Would return again when next visiting Oxford

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large clean bedroom and bathroom (#1). Comfortable beds. Well located - about 15 minutes walk to center. Helpful owner. Excellent hot and cold breakfast with fruits and yogurt. Parking a bit tight but fine with the help of the owner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is tight and it’s a bit of a walk into town.

    The bed and the room were wonderful and the only reason the I held my selection as the second highest is that the parking was a bit disorganised.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had phoned and asked not to be on the top floor as the stairs are a difficulty for us. They had forgotten and we were on the top floor. We were moved after one night but in a three night stay this was disruptive. Wardrobe doors falling off.

    Location was good. Easy in and out of the city. Cooked breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was a bit limited and quite tight to get in and out of.

    Very comfortable, great location for exploring Oxford, friendly staff, superb breakfast cooked to order.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had should have realised what was in stall with the half decorated hallway. Appalling dump is a fair description. Rooms dirty, facilities akin to 1970 . Food bland, staff surly , decor, awaiting total renovation, value: a total rip off! Why in 2018 are we expected to pay £130 for a doss house. Do yourself a favour, book into the local YMCA.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was on the ground floor and heard the front door every time someone came in. Bedroom door is not a proper door. The shower is very small and the toilet didn't flush properly. Could hear the traffic. Breakfast was disorganized, many items were missing. Everyone had to wait a long time (at least 30 minutes) before being served. Wondered if they were new in this business.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall there was nothing we could fault. The room was clean, with an immaculate en-suite which had a refreshing power shower. Breakfast was one of the best we've had. The choice was excellent. We were welcomed by the owner Martin who made us very welcome. We would definitely stay here again when next in Oxford.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prior information regarding parking arrangements would have been helpful.

    Very pleasant and helpful owner.Interesting decore. Good choice of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All very good. Though veggie breakfast a little bit hit and miss due to misunderstanding with staff members

    Parking. A real bonus in oxford. Lovely room. Warm and comfortable. Easy check in and excellent location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car parking is a bit cramped, but the owner will move cars. The stairs are steep, fine for me but you'd want to be on the ground floor if this was an issue.

    The B&B was very close to the city centre, you can walk, it is nicely decorated and the rooms newly decorated. Breakfast was quick and lots of choice. The staff (owner) was friendly and helpful. The place was clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room ok, furniture is very old , side tables are so small difficult to keep belongings.The handle on shower door was broken. Bedsheet replacement after 3 days.

    location is good , .8 miles from city center

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast wasn't very organised. Guests didn't know if there was a system and staff didn't explain so you needed to ask other guests.

    Good location for city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The overall place was shabby and my room with double and single beds plus pull out futon felt crowded. There was no lobby or sitting room. The kitchen/wait staff could not speak or understand English (In Britain), Although close to city center there were no restaurants in walking distance serving dinner.

    Room was very clean and bed comfortable. Owner pleasant and accommodating and full English breakfast. Easy bus ride from train station,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is generally well kept, but I think it is a bit 'tired' and is fairly basic, maybe that could be better reflected in the price.

    The guesthouse is clean and generally comfortable. They offer a good quality breakfast, with good choice for all taste. Staff was very polite. Good touch with water in the room, and plenty of tea, coffee facilities. Not exactly in the centre, but close enough if you don't mind walking a bit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very comfortable, breakfast was tasty. Didn’t really see any staff, even when we checked in and couldn’t find anyone when we checked out but that’s not a problem. Shower was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out of center of town on main road. Very tiny room. No hospitality or visibility from the owner; you are on your own, not what we expect in a B&B. No fresh fruit at breakfast and staff doesn’t speak or understand English.

    Bed very comfortable; room clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Exterior doesn't do it justice.

    Excellent breakfast. Only 10 min walk to the city centre. Rooms comfortable and modern although there are original features re fire places

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was more than adequate, but a bit of a language issue getting what we wanted. Perhaps a menu would be helpful to indicate what is available? Even a little chalkboard which can be easily altered . Parking was extremely tight and I was a little concerned for my partners beloved car.

    Nicely decorated, clean and modern room. Short walk into Oxford.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    yes there is parking but not enough for cars per room, slightly difficult communication problem with staff but otherwise very good.

    good breakfast, comfortable, warm room, hot water

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ran out of croissants for breakfast. Toast wasn't properly toasted. Difficult to communicate with some staff. Insufficient sound insulation between rooms.

    Comfy bed. Good size room. Possible to store luggage post-stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe just ask for rooms at the back if you are sensitive to noise: our room was on the road but there is double glazing so ok and we slept very well!

    Super nice welcome from owner, very professionally ran, absolutely spotless. I have not been in such a good quality b&b for a long time. Good breakfast: excellent croissants and pains au chocolat. Good bedding, clean sheets and good quality. Good place allround, you won't be disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking is a little tight but a bonus in Oxford to be fair.

    The room was clean and comfortable, nicely decorated. The breakfast was lovely, plenty to choose from and the full breakfast was really nice. It really was just a 10 min stroll to the centre and parking tight but available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The water pressure in the shower was pretty low and disappointing. Car parking is very tight and we had to leave our keys in case they needed to manoeuvre our vehicle.

    The food was freshly prepared and delicious. There was a good choice to select from and a great range of hot and cold drinks. The bedrooms were smartly presented, clean and tidy. The bed was very comfortable. We were grateful to be permitted to arrrive late and collect a key.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a dislike but a constructive criticism. A printed breakfast menu would be helpful and information about helping yourself to tea and cereals. Great breakfast otherwise. The

    Convenient to walk into Oxford City.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park was too small and we had to leave our car key with the b&b owner so she could move it if necessary to let other cars in or out - not overly happy with handing car key over to complete stranger in city we didn’t know...

    Spotlessly clean, lovely breakfast, nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    First of all, the hotel itself was comfortable, clean and well located in Oxford - only a 10 minute walk from the city centre. It also had a good and hearty breakfast as well. However, the staff really shone from my experience. My partner sadly took ill shortly after arriving and the owner could not have been nice - he immediately provided us with various items to help look after her and was genuinely concerned. Thank you very much for that!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was dissapointed with breakfast. Eggs were not well cooked. Toast was under toasted. A pity as we really rated the place as a whole.

    Friendly, well run, comfortable,good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is perfect for getting into the city by foot or bus. The room was very comfy and well laid out with a really comfy bed. The breakfast was excellent and there was plenty of choice. This is a good place to stay if you drive as they have free onsite parking. There are pubs and places to eat close by too if you like dining out.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To be expected in England: low water pressure (lots of good hot water though) and small room. Comfortable nevertheless.

    Beds were very comfortable, breakfast was good, staff very friendly. The location was perfect, as was value for money. Great for people out all day who just want a good bed and a clean place to sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park is small so you may have to leave your car keys with the owner in case he has to shuffle cars around, but the car park is a great bonus.

    Good location within walking distance of city centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing to be said here, everything was ok!

    We were made feel very welcome. Our Host was very helpful in finding interested places for us to see in Oxford. The breakfast was very well prepared. The room was not very big, but the bed was excellent. Everything was very clean and tidy. We will be happy to stay there again in the future!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, an easy walk into the centre. The staff were lovely and extremely accomodating. Extremely comfortable beds and stylish rooms. Great cooked breakfast with lots of choice. Thouroughly recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the double glazing in the room may need updating - its at the front of the house which is on the main road and the noise from the traffic could be heard. May be off putting to some but not a massive problem for us, just need to note it could be off putting to some people.

    A very comfortable stay and well placed for walking to all the nearby sites in the city center, Christ Church and river walks being closest. We booked a twin room which had a double and a single bed. The beds comfortable, there was a good size en-suite with a lovely large shower. The staff were helpful and accommodating. Great breakfast choices. Parking on site was very useful. A good stay. a bit noisy at rush hour despite the double glazing. Overall still a good stay and I stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mirror by the table for drying hair and make up. No breakfast menu. Seemed a bit didfuncional at breakfast time

    Good location excellent room good breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom was a little too warm during the night.

    Bedroom was clean and comfortable. Staff were polite and efficient. Car parking space was much appreciated. Breakfast was plentiful and good quality. The location was easy to find coming into Oxford off the A34.The walk into Oxford was pleasant and about the right length. Very good value for money guest house.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs to an attic room with small windows. Light bulbs not working on bedside and not soundproofed from other attic like rooms

    Very nice bnb with large breakfast room serving good heathy breakfast. Informal and respectful staff. Private house feeling with The White Rabbit and nice wall etchings. Excellent shower

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything we didn’t like.

    Lovely room well appointed and smartly decorated throughout. Good location 10-15 minutes walk from town. Enjoyed a city break with friends staying in a triple room at the front of guesthouse. A bit worried at first about traffic noise but wasn’t a problem at all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is conveniently located at a 10-minute walk to city center. Breakfast is always fresh and cooked at the moment and Martin is always available to make sure everything is alright.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was a little temperamental but was good in the end. Baked beans weren’t the best. Parking was very tight.

    Very good hot drinks selection in room. Shower gel and moisturiser provided in shower room. Free parking and WiFi was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance is not maintained with cracked steps and litter.

    The room and bathroom were clean and spacious. Beds comfortable. Most amenities there. Walking distance to city centre. Bus stop just outside.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very clean and well-run; excellent location; breakfast is the best you will find anywhere. I have been coming here for the past 17 years, and it is my go-to place in Oxford.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One low drawer had a handle missing which made it hard to open.

    The friendly staff, excellent breakfast, comfortable beds and location. In a very cold spell the guest house was kept really warm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wonderful host fabulous choice at breakfast cooked to order a stretch of the leg from Oxford perfect location I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at newton guest house were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was extremely lovely and freshly cooked to order. We would definitely go again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast menu was extensive. Car park was a tight fit. The property has a lot of stairs if you are on the top floor, go down for breakfast and up to use the facilities. Location was excellent to walk into the city

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Little bit out of town, but the walk woke me up in the mornings, however a very regular bus service

    very homely as soon as you entered, staff were friendly, room was bright, clean and had everything I required. Bed was comfy. Breakfast was really good and all included in the price All in all - great place to stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very conveniently located Bed&Breakfast with private parking facilities, not to far from the center of Oxford (about 10 minutes walking). They serve an excellent Full English breakfast. The rooms are very adequate with confortable beds, but relatively small.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location to visit Oxford, within walking distance. B&B very cosy, breakfast was hot and lots of choice. Would definitely stay here again :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't think there was anything negative

    It's very close to the city centre. It was very comfortable and breakfast was fab! I often have to go to Oxford to the hospital and will definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy as our room faced the major road and the windows are not sound proof.

    Nice staff. Reasonably close to the city center. The croissants were extra flaky.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was self service, no menu to know what the options were. Tea and coffee and milk not replenished in the room on the second day

    The guest house was within walking distance of the city centre

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom very small and on a slope (!), shower poor, not very powerful and also temperature kept changing from freezing to scalding throughout showering. Bedside tables need drawers for underwear etc. Pillows awful, disappeared to nothing when laid on, bed a bit small.

    Breakfast good, location reasonably close to centre, staff friendly. Room clean which is really the most important thing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a large room was nice ,the problem was it was on main roon ,the window were not good let all the road and people noise in to your room, and we were on the second floor , we didn't ask to move rooms but if we were their longer than one night we would of asked to move rooms

    Clean room, comfortable bed , clean shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Far out from city center. Hard to catch a bus in. Many are full and don’t bother to stop. Woman who greeted us was a bit peeved we were early but the gent who was there was all smiles and very accomadating.

    Room was beautiful Little store nearby to buy sodas and snacks.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is very small and getting your car in and out could be a little difficult if the hotel is full. But the host is always available to help you out with it. So not a big concern

    The place was very clean. The host was warm and welcoming. A very short walk to the city centre. Parking is available and the host allowed us to park the car there beyond check out. Basic, but great value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to check in when the door was locked. You had to call the reception staff who played cool without welcoming guests. She gave me wrong information about breakfast time.

    The full English breakfast is authentic and the bed is comfortable to sleep in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise. Proper marmalade not having to dig down a near empty jar. Serve toast with cooked breakfast- it was cold by the time the poached eggs came.

    Very comfortable beds and very clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Room was a ground floor but we heard no traffic noise .Room was airy and bright ,breakfast was really good there is some decorations going on but this was fine .Finally parking was tight we arrived at 2pm to 5cars on site when we returned later around 9pm there may have been 12-14 cars wondered how we would have gotten our car out in an emergency ,we did ask if we could leave our car in the car park the next day (check out was 10-30)as we were meeting our Grandaughter for 1hour in Oxford centre to be told no as people were arriving wish I had known you could arrive this much earlier we would again had some extra time with our Grandaughter

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old bathroom. Breakfast ok but no particular extra. Manager not visible. Employee doing the job with jo extra.

    Good location. Parking in the hotel. Large room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park not big enough for everyone, we had to drive around looking for on-street spaces. Not lit at night, 3 cars were vandalized the night we were there. Security lighting is definitely needed.

    Great breakfast, lovely staff. Walking distance of city centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Newton House Guesthouse traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: