Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Nicolson Apartments 4 stars

28 West Nicolson Street, Newington, Edinburgh, EH8 9DD, United Kingdom

#181 of 855 Holiday rentals in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1197 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    10
    We found the address to pick up the key easily and the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything we didn't like, everything was just about perfect. ( apart from the corkscrew in the kitchen)

    We found the address to pick up the key easily and the staff were so welcoming and friendly. They couldn't help enough, a fantastic group of people. Our appartment was perfect for our stay, it was within easy walking distance to everywhere. Thank you

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    10
    Great wee apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, apart from the stairs. Our apartment was on the top floor but we were informed about this prior to booking.

    We had a great stay in our apartment. Although we only stayed for two nights, it is very well equipped for a longer stay. It was clean and comfortable, we would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    Comfortable Apartment In The City Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My experience was overall very good. The only thing I can say was negative was the fact that there was no parking near by so we had to spend £52.50 to park our car for 3 nights over at a near by Q-Park facility. I also feel more toilet paper should have been placed in the bathroom in case we ran out. The fact we were on the third floor without there being a lift was also tricky with all of the bags we had. The apartment was often too warm despite us turning the heating off so the windows were open all night whilst we slept.

    I really enjoyed my stay here. The bed was extremely comfortable and the sheets were really clean and soft. The window opens which I'm always thankful for as I like fresh air. The check in staff were all very kind and helpful. The location was really good and close to an amazing pub called the Pear Tree. The apartment was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, perfect apartment, really enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Drummond Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything we didn't like.

    The apartment was perfectly positioned and we were able to walk everywhere. Parking for the car was close by. Everything we needed was supplied and we were very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I checked in late and the process was long winded, lots of duplicated emails from the company which was confusing and had to go to their office between 930am and 10am with ID the morning after a late arrival despite sending it in an email also.

    Super friendly staff, the apartment was beautiful and in a great location. Extremely clean and we had a small issue with the shower which was quickly resolved and we were allowed to checkout later due to this. Would definitely recommend, great value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    This is a fabulous property and we felt very good value for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    This is a fabulous property and we felt very good value for money. It’s situated in a student area but we didn’t hear a peep out of the students during our stay. Around 15 mins brisk walk to the Royal Mile

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.8
    Amazing long weekend in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment itself was beautiful, comfortable and well equipped with basic necessities. The staff were very welcoming and the checking in and checking out process was very easy. We were also able to leave our luggage at the office either side of our stay which was much appreciated.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Brilliant accommodation, we will def use again when in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was in a great location only a few minute walk from royal mile. Property was immaculate with modern smart decor. Key collection made really easy for collecting keys later in evening as we did.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic accommodation. Short walk from the Royal Mile
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen Washer & Dryer Only a 8 min walk to the Royal Mile, about 15 mins from Princes Street Office staff were lovely. We were able to store our luggage at the office until check in time which was great. The apartment also had WiFi

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    8.8
    A perfect short stay in Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our particular apartment was on the fourth floor so we had to navigate four floors with our luggage.

    We liked the ice cream shop opposite. The bed was comfy. Convenient for walking around Edinburgh with easy access to the vast majority of tourist attractions. It was about 25 mins to the airport by taxi door-to-door.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    7.1
    Good home base for touring Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some facilities were not up to high standard. Most notable was living area. It had 2 tables with glass table tops which were not fixed to base. Also round tables were not practical for the living area and wasted space. Shower was hard to regulate. Walking up 3 flights of stairs

    More space and facilities that hotel or B&B and with washing and cooking facilities Convenient location, easy to get around and local facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.0
    Apartments very basic, didnt know bedrooms would overlook...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Drummond Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartments very basic, didnt know bedrooms would overlook eachother. Sofa's very uncomfortable and no dining table. Looked like poor quality student accomodation. Expel air and over mirror light in bathroom not working

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Drummond Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The process of providing evidences to get late keys is too complicated. The apartment is not comfortable for living: no hot water in the kitchen, hands washer; some devices are broken, not much light. There is no floor between 1st and 2nd floor inside and the smell from kitchen is in the bedroom on the 2nd floor.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The distance between the office and the apartment and system for collecting the keys was ludicrous. Basically the system failed to see the arrangements through the eyes of the traveller who is getting around with luggage. A key box with code - at the apartment - is the sensible solution.

    Kitchen facilities and lounge with dining table and chairs were great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Brilliant room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    EVERYTHING.Best hotel in Edinburgh!!! The room is very big and clean. there is a kitchen and there are everything you need in the kitchen. The staff are really nice and paticent as well. The location is good too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Faultless staff, location and amenities in Old Town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Drummond Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom in the loft had a very loud water boiler in it that didn't click off until 11 pm and the windows are rather old, so don't have the best seals - this meant street noise got through, too.

    The staff were incredibly friendly and offered good advice about the area. The location was superb - a stone's throw from all the historical buildings and museums in Old Town, and with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.6
    Our apartment was very warm and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really ,

    Our apartment was very warm and comfortable.Size was perfect for 4 adults ...it never felt crowded at all. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely re-book next time we visit Edinburgh.Will recommend to others

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.0
    .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issue with windows. The original windows are loose and rattled constantly due to high winds and soundproofing from secondary glazing was poor for a busy street.

    Good location, comfortable and spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    compact well maintained apartment but poor disabled access and noisy location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor TV reception, noisy street, key location pick up inconvenient, limited control on heating- on or off.poor lighting. Too many stairs to the top floor

    privacy, apartment lay out good facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Lively place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect . Can't really fault anything .

    The apartment was absolutely lovely. Nice ,cosy, clean and quite close to the centre . Everything we needed for one night stay was there . The kitchen had cups, cutlery, glasses, plates and even pans and pots 😁. Plenty of towels for everyone and much needed wi-fi 😁. We couldn't make it to their office to pick up the key before their closing time and the staff arranged a late key collection with very clear instruction for us . Next time when we will visit Edinburgh we will defiantly stay there again. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two double rooms and 4 of us but there were only really enough toiletries for 1 person - two at most. Not too much of an issue though as there were shops nearby to pick up more.

    Loved the central location. It was in a part of the city we hadn't been to before so we got to explore a whole new area. Staff were so friendly and helpful. They let us store our bags with them after checking out so we could continue exploring without having to carry everything around all day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed it and would stay again albeit I’d book a later train to avoid a long wait to get keys.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only inconvenience was the time allocated for collecting keys from the main office. After 3pm is quite late when we arrived in Edinburgh at 1pm and just wanted to get to the apartment and rest before going to a show. I realize that cleaning needs to be done but as checkout is 11am surely it could be done by 2pm. Also the man at reception seemed to relish telling me i couldn’t have the keys any sooner and that it was stated in an email to me that that would be the case. I honestly hadn’t noticed the time stipulation on the correspondence so maybe that should be in large print. He also told other guests that it was so good of them to have actually come at the right time in earshot of my party, clearly to make us feel stupid. The young lady in the office was the polar opposite and couldn’t have been more pleasant and helpful. However all that apart, we enjoyed our stay and were not disappointed with the apartment.

    The apartment was exceptional value for money. Very clean and comfortable. Within walking distance of most attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.3
    Overall Very poor!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s very small and you have to climb 7 + flights of stairs with your luggage as there is no lift. Also the bed was very poor quality. However the main issue for me is the fact it has NO WARDROBE!! I cannot believe that a flat that is over £200 per night does not have anywhere to hang clothes !!! Very poor.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location near the university during the Edinburgh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location near the university during the Edinburgh Fringe. Small supermarket nearby. Quiet. Nicely appointed apartment with good kitchen facilities and very comfy beds. Apartment serviced and towels changed regularly. We have stayed 3 times now and would return again. Veryhelpful staff in the office at Byre's Close where you also leave left luggage.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    6.0
    The apartment is a little far away from reception, And I...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment is a little far away from reception, And I have send the email informed arriving at early time, the apartment also replied they would clean as early as possible, but still, We waited until 3pm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location and our bedrooms were quiet because they were at the back of the property
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The building doesn't have a lift which didn't bother us but might be a concern for others. Could do with better lighting in the kitchen as there's no window in this room.

    Nice clean and comfortable apartment in a central location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and lovely apartment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that would improve the apartment would be coat hooks for outdoor wear.

    The apartment is in an ideal location for the Edinburgh Festival and for breaks to visit central Edinburgh. Despite being so central there was no noise disturbance. There are an abundance of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    Our Stay at the Edinburgh Nicolson apartments
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have been nice to have had 2 sets of keys.

    The apartment is situated about a 10 minute walk from High Street, but in a funky area. A little noisy in the evenings as there is a theatre nearby, but no drunken rowdiness

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.3
    Fringe fans
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were two couples, and a second key might have been useful in some circumstances such as wanting to do different things (although in the event was not required).

    All necessary facilities were there for someone spending most of their time at the Fringe, i.e. all modern conveniences to enable us to be out and about quickly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    Good location, easy access to most attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apartment is a little hard to find, especially when the actual apartment is not located on the same street where the key is picked up.

    Good location, easy access to most attractions.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Good environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quartermile Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For check in we had to go somewhere else, which we did not know before book. Opertion of the washing machine is bit tricky. Better to keep some instructions with the machine.

    Spacious. Clean. Well equipped

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location but some simple improvements would make it excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hob was old fashioned and difficult to use. The bedroom was noisy due to some kind of heating exhaust outside the window. The windows didn't stay open and had to be propped open.

    The position was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No views except walls and outbuildings small windows hard to open little or no air circulation. Also very heavy noisy doors.

    Good location clean spacious very well equipped

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    The area is situated in the heart of the city beside the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We only had one key between the 4 of us which meant that we needed to ensure that we stayed together. if one person headed home, we needed to wake them up to allow us entry.

    The area is situated in the heart of the city beside the Pear Tree bar which is a great spot to watch sport and hang out. There was also some plenty of eateries close by. The apartment was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    If the weather could be guaranteed, we would return every year to Edinburgh, a truly beautiful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No chest of drawers in either bedroom so storing items for a weeks stay proved a challenge. Some of the sash windows you can only open top down as bottom half won't stay up, not a problem for us but for some guests this may be a little challenging to reach and push back up (we were very fortunate to have exceptional weather during our stay so we needed the windows open).

    Location which was very central, décor, washer/drier, iron and ironing board, linen changed during our stay, dishwasher, shower and bath. Complimentary toiletries if needed. Tea/Coffee/Milk pots provided and bottled water. Staff are excellent, cannot fault them at all. We were so happy that we chose and booked the Nicholson Apartments.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Had a lovely stay, close to Edinburgh University so it was perfect for my daughters graduation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay , very friendly and helpful staff, perfect location very central, would definitely stay and again and not hesitate in recommending to others.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Great apartments, well positioned for the Meadows and University
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quartermile Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disabled access to the offices to collect the keys would be a slight problem as the path is narrow and steep, but it is in the heart of old Edinburgh

    Clean, tidy well presented, convenient location for us. Salisbury next door.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we had to leave!

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating and made us feel really welcome when we came to collect the keys! The apartment itself was spotless and beautifully decorated, we could not fault it; comfortable beds, great kitchen and a good sized bathroom. We also liked that it was right opposite one of the best ice cream shops in Edinburgh especially as it was really warm when we stayed! 10/10 :D

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Good location for downtown stay at Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Drummond Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no parking facility or public parkibg space in front.

    the entire property is well situated & within walking distance near the city. it's clean with most facilities provided. wid be a bonus if there is laundry sids provided.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.7
    Great location and a convenience store a minute walk away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quartermile Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This apartment wouldn’t suit someone with disabilities. The bath is very high to step into when accessing the shower and there was no grab rails. The double bed is also very low to the floor. Lovely apartment though.

    Great location and a convenience store a minute walk away.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Overall a lovely place to stay in a great location in a beautiful city.
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was an A/C unit from the building next door right outside the bedroom window and as I am a very light sleeper this wasn't so good - it didn't affect my kids who had no problems sleeping. Also the wi-fi didn't really work until the end of our second day here, I did phone reception about this but the guy wasn't especially helpful.

    The apartment was very clean, very comfortable beds, close to main attractions - would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location for a weekend or a full week in a comfortable apartment thats perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like about the apartment, we made the stupid mistake of walking to the apartment before realising you have to check in at an office in central Edinburgh, which is advice for others going there

    Great location, although the 'park' into the main town was a bit dodgy to pass. The apartment itself was absolutely spot on! Great facilities clean quiet comfy. The guys in the office were really helpful and the checkout process was seemless!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    A good alternative from staying at hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quartermile Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have provided hand wash. The WiFi connection at one point was somewhat unstable.

    The location was good. The whole apartment was clean. Heating could be switched on in the apartment. It was so cozy that I decided to stay in on my last night in Edinburgh! Good selection of TV Channels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Great location, comfy flat and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Drummond Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building is in a great location, just a few minutes walk from the Royal Mile. The flat itself is really spacious and comfy, the staff is lovely! Also, extremely convenient and helpful that you can leave your luggage in their office before check-in and after check-out.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.8
    Great except for little privacy of rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Drummond Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Drummond apartment are not 3 bedrooms. No room has 100% privacy as it's connecting to another room with a wooden blind. One is a mezzanine and not a room but a bed in an open shared space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    5.8
    Just okay, and that speaks volumes
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stingy with the basic amenities you would expect in this type of accommodation. The office is not very well sign-posted either... Firstly, the lock to enter the flat was very shoddy, we had to wiggle the key quite a bit to get in. There was no hot water in the kitchen and the hot water in the bathroom was of a very, very weak pressure. Extremely poor lighting (the main lighting fixture in the living room was missing quite a few bulbs) everywhere to an extent where I used the flashlight on my phone to be able to read a book without straining my eyes. Spotty WiFi, stains on the bedsheets and the carpet. As soon as we entered the flat we had to open all the windows and air out the place because there was no ventilation - at night it was quite noisy as all the windows were facing a busy street, which meant we couldn't have them open due to noise, which meant the rooms got stuffy and hot very fast. What annoyed us the most was the TV not working, or rather the way the issue was dealt with. We found it unplugged, which was probably a sign all along that they knew of this issue, as to why else would it be left like that? So it wouldn't work at all and the universal remote control wasn't doing much either and we tried to set up the channels but the issue seemed to be with the signal. We called for someone to come in, which was done whilst we were out. Rather than fixing the TV, it was left of with teletext - the cables were simply switched around, so whoever came out did just that and buggered off. It was the evening and we were knackered and just called it a night and went to bed (instead of watching a film or whatever as planned) and left a voicemail for the office saying they didn't do what we wanted. The next day we got a call back and although they apologised, they insisted we didn't know how to use the remote or the TV... Telling us what buttons to press, as if we didn't do that...

    Good central location, nicely decorated interior.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall a good arpartment - a very good distance from the city and family friendly city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Drummond Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the bath upstairs didn’t work and there was a lot of trash out side our front door. It floated on the street and the pavement. There seemed to be a lack of a dinner table in the living room/kitchen, we wondered why. That was the only things wee didn’t approved. Not big issues at all just want you to know about it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location and comfortable, modern apartment!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in reception desk was located a bit far (7-min drive) from our apartment, which could have been quite painful if we had to drag our luggages there. No tissues were provided, and very minimal toiletries provided. And no lifts leading up to the higher levels.

    Excellent check-in service by the staff who were very friendly and knowledgeable. Great location, directly opposite a popular dessert bar. Facilities were new and clean, well-maintained and the house was nicely decorated and modern. We had a very comfortable short stay there!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable, everything you'd need for a home from home. Check-in quick and easy and staff very helpful. Location good once you get your bearings. Bars and restaurants close by but doesn't get too noisy at night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Very acceptable alternative to a hotel especially if you want to do your own catering etc
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Drummond Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Street noise (bin emptying etc)

    Excellent for old town, specifically I was attending the royal college of surgeons and its ideally located. Lovely coffee shop at the end of the road "black medicine" well worth it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Apartment offers great space & value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in office is a very long walk with luggage from the apartments & it’s location is a bit bizarre down a very steep, narrow close. We saw a woman have to remove her shoes to get down to the office door, no steps just a very steep slippery slope, dangerous.

    Location, very spacious for family of 4, quiet at night but still within walking distance of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    4.2
    Far from. Centre. No parking. Many flights to walk up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were advised to park at the Radisaon and walk to collect the key. This was a long walk with very heavy suitcases. Myself and two young children. Key office down a steep alleyway and hard to find. On collecting key I was told its on first floor and I thought I'd just about manage that as my back was already killing and I was exhausted as were kids. It was a long further walk back past the Radisson where we could have just left and picked up the suitcases! Rather than suffer carrying them so far. On arrival it's a urine smelling door right next to a tattoo parlour with two drinks outside. To my horror it was not first floor. It was about 6 flights of steps up. I could not physically carry cases. They could not send anyone for a while. We were all drenched in sweat. Kids managed to get them up. Only suitable for very for young people without kids really. I am usually quite fit but since this nightmare have had to see osteopath and my back is still twisted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    6.3
    Good place for families but less reliable for business travelers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The flat had a problem with the WIFI for two days and it never worked on my phone. I was given a pocket wifi but it was insufficient for a business traveler. This was extremely disappointing. The location is a bit far from the office but they give you a map and you can figure it out relatively easily. However, this is inconvenient if you have large suitcases and plan to walk. The rooms are beautiful but the mattress is very soft. Not everyone would enjoy that. The kitchen is fully equipped and it is convenient.

    I like the size of the flat and the living room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay for a weekend in Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in and check out was straight forward with very helpful staff. We had everything we needed and more in the apartment. Location wise we were close to everything we wanted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    4.6
    Will not recommend to anyone ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water Heating equipments were faulty and burned my skin. The guy when I complained was very cold in reaction as if nothing happened.thanks for spoiling my trip.

    I liked the kitchen

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice flat, great location, but an irritating noise source just outside the bedroom window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some round-the-clock horrible noise generator just outside our window. Must be some sort of a heavily worn industrial air-con or a low frequency Battle of Zion drill. If you can tolerate sleeping with your windows shut you might just about manage to avoid insomnia. Thanks God the flat had plastic window frames on top of traditional wooden ones. And we manage to arrange the flow of fresh air from the quiet garden-facing living room across the corridor. Another way around it would be to get truly plastered but it would feel misplaced in Edinburgh and better saved for Glasgow.

    Sainsbury's and Tesco across the street, 10 mins from Royal Mile, 15 from Waverley. Great apartment fully fit for life (fridge, corkscrew, telly, etc.) Very friendly staff at the keys pick-up point.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location, newer apartment, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quartermile Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in process was the worst part. Couldn’t check in until 3, which is fine, but no toilets or spaces to change before heading out into the city. During check in the agent repeated multiple things more than once and took over 15-20 min to get us our keys. Also pretty sure our unit changed from the one we booked which was slightly odd but not a big issue since we were happy with what we got.

    This property is owned by a central group that owns several apartments in the area and our unit was very new and central to the city center. Had a separate living area and bedroom with very modern facitilies.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful place/annoying to park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trying to park and pick up the keys on the busiest street in edinburgh then having to park a 15 min walk away from the flat when you have a 9month old baby and loads of luggage was really not great. There should be more of a warning about the parking/keys situation. Was really not a great start for a family travelling all day.

    The flat itself was really nice, spacious and really well decorated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Great apartment in superb location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment is well maintained with a very comfortable atmosphere. Easy to find and in a great location. Despite being just off a busy road it was very quiet and there was very little noise from other apartments. The office staff are very helpful and they have thought of other things to make your stay very pleasant for example - will collect luggage for you, provide storage during the day, deliver extra sets of key, provide toiletries, tea, coffee and sachets of milk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.6
    Noce place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noce place. Walking distance to Royal Mile and primary attractions. Guys on reception provide all necessary information include special discount for close parking place - just 15 minutes walk or 5 minutes drive from location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.4
    Impossible to sleep because of the noise both outside and inside the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Drummond Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy.

    It was extremely noisy. Drunken crowds outside and very noisy neighbors made it difficult to sleep. Plus squeaky floors and a very loud water heating/supply system. None of the rooms were private.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful character, clean apartment and central to everything. Easy key process and lovely people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Drummond Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the apartment! Clean, central, and fabulous people. Rooms are a nice size, 2 bathrooms and love that the kitchen hahahahaha a washing machine!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    MOST ENJOYABLE STAY IN THE APARTMENT AND EDINBURGH - NO COMPLAINTS (EVEN THE WEATHER WAS SU
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    A BIT TOO FAR AWAY FROM THE "TOURIST ATTRACTIONS/SHOPS" - NEXT TIME WOULD LIKE TO BE MORE CENTRAL

    STAFF WERE VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY (GAVE EASY DIRECTIONS TO APARTMENT AND OFFERED THE CHOICE OF LEAVING OUR LUGGAGE ON DEPARTURE DAY TO ENABLE US TO SIGHTSEE "HANDS FREE" . WE THOROUGHLY ENJOYED OUR STAY. THE APARTMENT WAS COMFORTABLE - WOULD RECOMMEND TO OTHER TRAVELLERS.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Good location, staff were very friendly and helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hall carpet was very wet on arrival, think possibly from being cleaned prior to us arriving? Didn't bother us too much dried after a few hours

    Good location, staff were very friendly and helpful! Apartment was very clean and had everything you needed. Excellent value for money! Would definitely return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed very uncomfortable. TV Remote not working and only freeview available with no TV Guide.

    Kitchen was fully stocked, meaning we could have cooked at home if we wanted to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Overall, truly exceeded my expectations. Thanks for everything! Will definitely be booking again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing negative to report.

    The keys to the flat are collected from the office which is about 10 minutes away from the accommodation. Kerr was extremely helpful is making this a smooth check-in. I left my bag in the office early in the morning and left for my conference. After I finished (which was after office working hours), she had arranged for out of hours key collection and had my bag which I left in their office taken over to the flat. The location is perfect because it's smack in the city centre within walking distance to stations, shops, and interesting sites like Edinburgh Castle. The flat itself for a studio is pretty spacious (I'm terrible at the whole feet/square meter thing but you've got a massive super-comfy bed at the end of one end of a room and a couch and TV in the other end of the same room, a separate kitchen, and bathroom. So that's incredible for a studio. I was only there for one night and as I couldn't make it for in-hours key return, I slotted the key back in the flat's letterbox with no issues. The only thing to be aware of is that it was a might be a bit of a walk up. My flat was on the 4th floor. I'm not sure if there are lifts or not but I'd check with office and I'm sure they have arrangements for the event that you'd need disabled access.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Generally the place was very nice, good location, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    -heating did not work in one room -one set of towels was dirty -only one set of cosmetics for 3 people -the light bulb did not work in bathroom (above the mirror)

    Generally the place was very nice, good location, great people at the reception. We just had bad luck ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Overall very good experience. Short walk into the centre made better by good weather at the time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure was poor and went from hot to cold regularly. WiFi was good but had to sign in every 5-10 minutes.

    Clean, good amenities, nearby supermarkets for breakfast supplies.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Nicholson apartments are the best place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no smoking area which is not a big deal, but it was uncomfortable to go outside the building every morning.

    Good location near the University of Edinburgh. Clean and cosy apartment with nice furniture. Comfortable bed,fully equipped kitchen and clean bathroom with bathtub. There are nice cheap shops, restaurants and cafes in this area, a few charity shops where you can find some really good things on low prices. Great connection with the central part of the city, buses that go to Waverley station and Royal mile. The best choice for your stay in Edinburgh! Kind and friendly staff!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Clean and comfortable. Perfect for our requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could be better. Our apartment was up a couple of flights of stairs not a problem for us but it could be if had heavy suitcases.

    Very convenient for location to the university. Only a short walk to Waverley Station(15mins with a case) the Royal mile (5 mins) . Apartment was warm, had all amenities and was very comfortable. Bistro, coffee shops, supermarkets all very close.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.8
    Left a bit dissapointed unfortunately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds had a frame which meant anyone over 6ft hit the end of the bed making sleep difficult The noise from a fan outside interrupted our sleep The freezer on the fridge was broken The water out of the shower just dribbled out which meant made washing difficult particularly when washing hair

    Lounge was comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Excellent accommodation in a great location and the local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Doors need oiling as they are very squeaky, didn't affect us but suspect the neighbours don't like the noise :-)

    Excellent accommodation in a great location and the local agents are extremely helpful and polite, thoroughly recommended

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed staying there. Booking.com did not let us down thank goodness!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No can opener cheese grater cooker a bit tricky the soap dispenser was broken when we arrived Nothing serious.

    We went for the international science festival which was quite brilliant. Dynaqamic Earth exhibition was outstanding. There was plenty to compliment our diddy science club! The acomodation was perfect the train ride was a bit of a battle and the staff on the train were a bit 'ify' Edinburgh used to have city guides meeting travellers offering information and a welcome it was nice. It wasn't very pleasant travelling with kids. The services offered by these apartments were a welcome oasis in a busy city. Thanks!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful apartment and brilliant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was the only con. The dial was very sensitive and although you could still turn it on, ON/OFF button was broken. The rail to hold the shower head was loose.

    My friend forgot his book with Euros in it and to their credit the staff phoned us and organised for it to be returned to him. Location was good for University of Edinburgh or climbing Arthur’s Seat. Only a 10-15 minute walk to the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. If you like cooking you own meals, the kitchen has everything you could need.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Apartment as expected, easy to find and ideally located for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above - not clear what is meant by the questions.

    Booking.com have asked me to rate food and drink information given on Booking.com - I cannot recall having seen it on this website. Booking.com have asked me to rate the lighting in the room: not clear what is meant by this question. Do they mean the bedroom?? Anyway in my own words. You get what you pay for; we didn't pay a lot, therefore were not expecting luxury so bog standard is what we were expecting, and what we received. We took the trains with heavy bags, and the office for key pickup and bag dropoff, and the apartment itself were easy to find and ideally located. Us two fit and healthy adults +2 young children and all our bags were able to manage the walks easily through snow and rain and without complaint. Anyone going to Edinburgh should be fully prepared for the many steps and hills anyway. Staff at the office were very lovely and helpful, we didn't need to contact them between checking in and out though. We only used the apartment for sleep, breakfast and getting ready in the mornings, didn't spend a lot of time there so for us it didn't matter that it appeared cheaply fitted and poorly maintained as for our purposes it was fine. Bedrooms were on the side over the car park so nice and quiet, good blackout blind/curtain combinations in the bedrooms. Beds a little squashy for us personally, but this being the only reason we didn't sleep well. Took us between 10-20 minutes to walk to most places from the apartment, which was great as we could walk off most of the delicious food we found! We also walked to the Botanic Gardens and Stockbridge which took about 30 minutes back to the apartment.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Nicolson Apartments traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: