Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Norfolk Arms Hotel 4 stars

2 Ringinglow Village, Sheffield, S11 7TS, United Kingdom

#3 of 10 B&Bs and Inns in Sheffield

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 581 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    SUPERB, UP UNTIL BREAKFAST ON THE SATURDAY MORNING WE LEFT..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 2 nights

    BRAKFAST ON SECOND DAY, BEFORE WELEFT WAS ABSOLUTELY AWFUL..THE WORST EITHER OF US HAD EVER HAD AND STAFF SULLEN, UNHELPFUL..IT WAS A REAL SHAME AFTER THE REST OF THE TRIP..MY WIFES BREAKFAST TOTALLY INEDIBLE AND MINE HALF COOKED..

    ALL FOOD, EVENING MEALS, FOIST BREAKFAST FANTASTIC WITH BRILLIANT STAFF..

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    7.1
    Hit and Miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was a bit hit and miss in the room. Our view from the bedroom was obstructed by the two peaks of the adjoining marquee. It was a busy night in the restaurant and food orders had a 45 minute delay which was explained on placing our order. However it arrived within 30 minutes, but was awful, burnt chips and an overdone jacket potato with an overheated filling. To be fair the waitress did offer an alternative for the chips, but they didn't look particularly appetizing either. Regretfully no decaf tea - a shortcoming of many hotels, not just this one - and a fixed shower in the bathroom which is a problem for those of us that are less than 6 foot tall and don't want to wash the hair and struggle to get in and out of a bath!

    Extremely warm welcome on arrival. Iron & ironing board in the spacious room an added bonus. Plenty of hot water and good towels. Good wifi in the public areas. I would recommend this hotel for an overnight stay. A good location for onward travel to or from the Peak District. The room price was very fair.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Great place and despite the weather will go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stouts or darker ales on tap would be nice, but sure it is seasonal. Better weather?

    Terrible weather and great feeling in the Norfolk Arms. Made to feel welcome, very good and flexible food options. Much cheaper than a lot of places in tourist areas. Good ales. Wish they had a couple of stouts.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a fab place to stay, very clean all the staff were very nice and helpful. The food was great, the room was big and clean with fantastic views. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Very conveniently placed on edge of peak district park with great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv remote not working properly

    Clean, spacious and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and efficient and the food was both delicious and reasonably priced. The hotel is very busy with lots of locals and cyclists, we certainly look forward to visiting again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.5
    Another good mid-week stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are good value, but need a little TLC, (cleanliness and missing curtain hooks). Plus busy on a Wednesday night (which is good), but made the meal a 50minute wait.

    Friendly staff, great location and good pub food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place. I may well return. Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite minor, but a slight delay booking in around 10pm when utterly exhausted but staff were, to be fair, very busy with restaurant customers. With a heavy wheelie case the stairs were a nuisance although I was just at the top of the landing so not far to wheel and I had a good view of the surrounding country and the large car park. There was an offer to carry my case but I am not that feeble just yet!

    Comfortable clean well appointed spacious room with bath and shower. The small breakfast {£6.95] plus the possibility of fruit or cereals was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Beautiful Hotel in Stunnng Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain had no weight to it and flapped with the force of the shower allowing water escape all over the floor.

    A beautiful old building with amazing views perfectly located for accessing the walks we had planned. The rooms were comfy and well equipped, the shower was powerful and hot water plentiful, food was delicious and reasonably priced and the staff were extremely helpful, what more could you ask for when you want to chill out after a hard days exercise! We particularly liked the fact that breakfast wasn't included in the price as quite we have to miss breakfast due to an early start on activities, but breakfast being served from 7am was a bonus allowing us to grab some food before heading out for the day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Totally unexpected gem!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was stunning! The staff were welcoming and full of knowledge of the hotel and area. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The bedroom exceeded my expectations Comfortable bed great touches like kettle iron hairdryer etc! And a view to die for! The bar is lovely and inviting Breakfast was fresh and full of good produce Tasty bacon and sausages This was a absolute gem to find Can't wait to come back again Can't fault anything!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Very nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had no wifi at all in my room

    The accommodation was wonderful, I was in one of the cottages/chalets at the rear. The food in the bar was excellent, couldn't fault it and the staff were very polite.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyable peaceful stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely setting, welcoming owner and a nice friendly atmosphere. Room was comfortable and food was nice. I had a peaceful stay in a pretty part of Sheffield

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    10
    Hmmm... Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not fault anything

    Fantastic breakfast, great pub atmosphere in a wonderful location. Would love to stay again, next time bring my wife. The staff were friendly made me feel very welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Great place would definitely revisit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over bath was a little awkward

    Great pub stay! Great room with lovely views. Spacious room. Lovely beer garden . Fresh cooked breakfast was very enjoyable. Great locals. Close to Sheffield for necessities. Great staff! Value for money!! Added bonus of jazz band - really enjoyed the music!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money in a beautiful location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short staffed on both nights for the evening meal. WiFi was a bit hit and miss. Food was plentiful but a little bland.

    Lovely staff and nice, clean and comfortable property with stunning scenery.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant indeed. A nice find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress could have been better on the bed. Not the most comfortable!

    Superb location with great views of rolling valleys. Very busy popular pub with very friendly staff. Room was very spacious and nicely decorated.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Would recommend this hotel to everyone. Staff very accomodating and the food is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Always think that chilled semi skimmed milk should be made available rather than unpalletable UHT. No water glass in bathroom area.

    Comfortable quiet annex suitable for walking impaired. Annex very well appointed and modern. Super comfortable bed, excellent HD DVTV. Good supply of piping hot water for the bath. Fantastic rural setting.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Highly recommended for Sheffield or Peak District
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Have stayed at the Norfolk Arms several times and would definitely return again. Friendly staff and great atmosphere. Very comfortable rooms, great location. Fabulous dinner, another excellent stay, thank you.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Good stay overall would go back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there were signs of neglect when it came to cleaning as there were some cobwebs and dead flies on the floor by the window

    The rooms was larger than expected and had a good view looking over open countryside plus the Hotel had good parking facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a beautiful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having children in the room next to the honeymoon room - probably not a good idea!

    We stayed in the honeymoon room. It was lovely. Bright, clean, comfy with beautiful views. The staff were lovely. Although very busy, our food arrived within 30 mins.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    Excellent staff, very friendly welcome and just had a special something!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I could comment on was the mattress. It was fine - just not the best quality but we still slept well.

    The most friendly welcome I've experienced for as long as I can remember. The staff at the hotel are the most friendly and professional people. The lady who checked us in came and checked that our food order had been taken as the pub was very busy and it was getting close to the time the kitchen closed. The food and breakfast were really lovely and extremely good value for money. We thought we'd entered a parallel universe - it was that good! That says a lot from someone who travels for business and stays in many different hotels. We were all very impressed :)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Not long enough. So much to do could have done with a couple more days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No problems.

    Nice sized room with lovely view. Breakfast was really nice, generous portions. Staff friendly and helpful. Not sure what the genius perks were so cant comment. The meal we had on arrival was lovely too, my salmon nicosie salad was gorgeous. Obviously popular place as we were unable to get a table on our second evening, we should have reserved one.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Stayed before and will again, Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could be abit pricey for those who are on buget but it is good value for money

    Set Just outside Sheffield this is a wicked Pub/Accomodation. With ample parking, good food and good beer this place is definately value for money. Stunning views from the pub and a beautiful beer garden, if its not raining. Have stopped here before during work trips, mainly due to the large parking but will keep comming back when in the area

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Will be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last orders for dinner were a little too early at 8pm (on a Sunday). The breakfast started too late for us to join (8am).

    The location, cleanliness and professionalism were all great. The bed was very soft but that suited me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel is quite away out of Sheffield which is awkward on public transport but to be fair I knew this when I booked it. I arrived in Sheffield by Train but had originally planned to drive.

    Great Hotel, Nice Rooms, Friendly Staff and a really good bar with Lovely, Reasonably Priced Food Menu. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Hidden Gem Welcoming pub/hotel on the edge of the peaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go!

    Location Food Value for money Absolutely recommend,friendly efficient service, without the pomp and ceremony of a posh place. Loved our stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money and somewhere we would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit smaller than we would have liked but still cosy. We arrived on a very cold day so it would have been nice if the heating had been turned on when we got to the room which was in a separate annex.

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The place was popular with walkers which added a lively atmosphere to the pup, which we found very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    This hotel is very popular with local walkers.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a long wait for food at times Quilts on single beds were too large for the beds and so they hung over down onto the floor ... uncomfortable! No walk-in shower and so it could be difficult for older people.

    This hotel is very popular with local walkers. There was a jazz club on the evening of arrival so it was extremely busy, there was a lively atmosphere around the place. Plenty of parking spaces. Spacious warm room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    I took a great experience with me. Staff had been so cooperative and rich in hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing to don't like about Norfolk Arms.

    The treatment of staff was friendly and exceptional. Food is delicious. The room was as fresh as a Daisy and as clean as a starfish. It was sparkly bright and had all daily necessities. Norfolk arms made my trip one of the memorable tours.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Will definitely be visiting again soon 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were incredibly helpful from the moment we walked in, booked us a table instantly found us a quite spot to eat, was so friendly and chatty . The rooms were beautiful and clean , we will definitely be back as soon as we can!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.1
    Rooms great. Food very poor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not good. Dinner v poor and breakfast inedible. Staff responded well and breakfast not charged. However put a cloud over visit.

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    A relaxing weekend break , in a very comfortable hotel , with superb surroundings .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing springs to mind.

    The room had a superb view , looking out onto the Peak District , and was spotlessly clean . The breakfast was excellent . Log fires in the bar area .Very polite , friendly and helpful staff .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant 2 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No wi-fi connection in stable block. Room poorly sound proofed and light permanently on outside window.

    Friendly staff, flexible check-in, good location, comfortable room, hot shower with nice towels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ‘double bed’ was two singles put together creating a gap in the middle which was very uncomfortable. Food wasn’t amazing, gluten free burger was very dry, the bun was rock solid and was like warm. Waited about 30 minutes on average for food to come.

    Staff were friendly, room was large, very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Location and outlook is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little cold. The room was very big which was great but with only one small radiator. But nothing else to complain about it was lovely.

    Location and outlook is beautiful. Staff were very friendly and the pub is so cosy. Big spacious room with a bath.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Really friendly and helpful team.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving.

    Really friendly and helpful team. Great food and beer Great location for walking into Sheffield or the Peak. Really had a great stay with my 9 yr old son.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    7.5
    Light up my night
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had room 2,that was OK but the curtains were too thin, the outside lighting were very strong to light up the pub outside. I could not stop the lights from lighting up the room, the room was light enough to walk around without the room lights on. Till they turned them off around 2300 to 2400hrs. After that all was good ,untill the barrels were moved around at 0800hrs outside. All for the need of blackout curtains or shutters fitted properly (pitty )

    Staff were good,so was the bed,room was Ok, shower was Ok ,water was hot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were brilliant, I was unfortunately ill on my stay after accidentally eating gluten - they brought my partners tea up to the room, asked if I needed medical help/wanted for anything - and they catered for people with gluten intolerances! Lovely, clean, comfortable room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect Romantic Break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely Getaway, fantastic break and incredibly romantic, only downfall is the 10/15 minute drive into the town but definitely worth it for the location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    great find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable bed, plenty of hot water and food excellent. And at the edge of the Peak District. This turned out to be better than we expected and we will return for sure. Location was great for waling in the Peak District.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    A bargain stay
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had been to a funeral in Sheffield so we didn't need to eat so stayed in our room. Unfortunately there was a Monday Jazz night in the Marquee under our room (7) It was very noisy. Perhaps they could have used other rooms Not above this on a Monday night unless they were fully booked.

    Large room Bath AND powerful shower Could alter radiator to get correct temperature

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Friendly staff. Food was fantastic. We had a double room near the front which could possibly have done with an extra radiator in it as the room was quite large and only one source of heat but nothing that couldn't be lived with.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Lovely weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was good!

    Lovely location just on edge of Peak District, 20 mins away from Bakewell, good atmosphere, friendly staff, nice food, stayed in the Luxury room which is a large, beautiful room with nice views and four poster, decided to stay 2 nights so changed to Superior room due to availability which was a bit smaller but still lovely, very clean and nice bed, will stay again 😀

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel which we would recommend to friends and would certainly visit again
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were happy with all aspects of the hotel. The only niggle was the toast served with the scrambled egg which rather dry (unbuttered but egg on top.) We prefer Warburtons!! However this was a small thing that did not adversely affect our enjoyment of the hotel and its facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Would definitely stay here again - highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Twin beds pushed together as a double room is fine for us, however... neither bed was particularly comfortable and one in particular curved noticeably inwards so it didn't work as a double and was quite uncomfortable. The room was great and we still slept well but would really benefit from new mattresses. Also, the option of hot chocolate for night time/non-tea/coffee drinkers would be lovely.

    Brilliant location; close enough for a taxi to bars/restaurants in the evening but far enough to feel in the countryside and to combine a city break with Peak Disctrict walking. Lovely bar and great food. Great sized room (room 4), nice bathroom and good facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    A warm welcome, good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Very pleasant staff, clean warm rooms. Bar and restaurant offers convenient meals, including a good range of breakfast items. Vegetarians well catered for. Have stayed before, and will stay again. Parking is easy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    One night stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All that we saw was good, though we did not eat or spend much time there other than sleeping.

    Good views over surrounding countryside and down into Sheffield.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.7
    Location location and location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy stay the rooms are not insulated so don’t expect a quiet stay if this is what you want The disabled room 14 needs to have the bathroom repainted as there is a hole in its roof plus the toilet isn’t a disabled one

    Location location and location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    Romantic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get the tv to work but sure they would have sorted it if we'd asked- had an early night instead.

    Very cosy, great food, lovely hot water and heated towel rail. Quiet in our room, despite being warned there was a jazz event going on downstairs, we barely heard anything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.0
    We moved to the Doubletree. More expensive and not in such a great location, but comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was at the back in stables and was small and cold, particularly the bathroom. The room door opened directly onto the outside and the key did not work consistently. The member of staff who came to help with this did not acknowledge the problem, but it was very cold! The doors slammed very noisily so when our neighbours went in and out we were woken. The worst thing was that the bed was uncomfortable (cheap coil sprung mattress). There was a car parked outside our door which we had to walk round or climb through a pile of snow.

    Location great Most of staff excellent Good about is leaving early.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    6.3
    OK for one night but would want a better room/facilities for longer stay. Would try it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating not on in our room on arrival - it was very cold and took quite a time to warm up. Also no heating on in the bathroom until we asked at reception. Bathroom was quite dirty around the edges of the floor and rather shabby

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Pleasant restaurant and lovely views from the property

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    I liked literally everything about this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked literally everything about this property... the customer journey from start to finish was Suberb, The room was beauriful, top class food, great staff and fab views...

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff conversations were a little to be desired at times! Discussing other customers when they had left which wasn’t professional or right

    Peaceful location. Lovely rooms and bar area Food very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    I stay at least once a year, feels like coming home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room was a bit chilly but helped by the fan heater they had left in the wardrobe to add to the central heating.Have

    The staff are very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice place disappointed by the food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very busy during the day so with our meals in the evening we had frozen chips instead of the usual hand cut chips

    Very nice room with lovely views

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.8
    Dissatisfied
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty bathroom, very average service, poor quality breakfast couldn't even get the bill right after two attempts. Had to point out they hadn't charged for breakfast.

    Location close to family

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    The staff were super friendly and professional I enjoyed my stay enormously.
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    The service was absolutely stunning, I couldn't have felt more comfortable and at home, two friends and I travelled a long way for a meeting the next day and felt rested and restored by a night's stay at the Norfolk Arms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Will return and choose room in main body of this lovely old hotel/ pub.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insulation between walls of old stable-block-bedrooms quite inadequate so that all conversations, television and activity could be clearly heard.

    Good potential for future visits. Tasty food, fifteen minutes from Sheffield centre yet fields in all directions and countryside walks from doorstep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay and would choose again in this area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was a bit mouldy Shower in bath Shower could have a had a bit more water flow

    Large twin room. Surfaced parking, Good for motorbikes Convenient location on edge of national park Good menu and breakfast although not included

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.3
    Lovely location, room a bit dated and bed was uncomfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable, the door didn't fit the frame so light shone into the room from underneath it and let sound in.

    There was a bonfire celebration while we were there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.6
    A friendly and welcoming hotel with wonderful views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our twin beds was a bit wobbly.

    Excellent location on the edge of the Peak district with wonderful views but near to Sheffield too. Friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast was really good. We would definitely stay there again. Good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    Really enjoyed our one night stay here as a springboard into...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really enjoyed our one night stay here as a springboard into exploring the Peak District. The room was fine, no complaints, comfortable, clean and quiet. Overall a very enjoyable stay, would recommend it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    I liked everything, the room had a nice view of the countryside. The room was clean and warm. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. There were plenty of guides for local walks in the area provided.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Would definitely stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy when people were walking past the room but this is the case with all corridor style hotels.

    Lovely dinner in the pub restaurant. Excellent size room. Really friendly reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    well placed location with comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were commendably honest about the pub being busy with function so had to eat elsewhere. The music from function room stopped at 23:00 as promised so not really a negative but could impact younger families perhaps - didn't bother us.

    V comfortable beds in a decent size room. Well placed on edge off Dales but close to city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location for the Peak District at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi could be stronger. A few leaflets in the room on local walks would be useful.

    Very helpful staff. Very good food - both breakfast and in the evening. Great location for exploring the Peak District. Room was very clean and comfortable. Will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Lovely and cosy, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel host weddings and functions so it's best to check before you book as it can be very noisey late at night if there is an event happening.

    Welcoming staff, large bedrooms with a very comfy bed. It was nice to have a bath in the room. Food in the bar downstairs was lovely and a good range of ales, would recommend to anyone looking for a nice break in the Peak District. Close to hathersage and burbage valley for walks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff and a very nice location with lovely views.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff and a very nice location with lovely views. Food in the restaurant was very good and they used a lot of local produce, the menu was varied and they even had a large gluten free selection. Rooms were comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our table for two for the evening meal was a bit small. My husband has long legs and was a little short on leg room. I am sure they would have moved us if we'd asked though.

    The location, the building had character, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Lovely view from our room, plenty of hot water for bath/good shower, nice towels too. Evening meal was very tasty and well presented as was the breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Excellent.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to book. Warm and welcoming. The staff were very polite and helpful. Our room was lovely, warm,clean, comfortable with everything we needed. The food was really good. Delicious breakfast and evening meal. Will certainly stay again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    5.0
    Minor disrepair and subpar cleanliness and other details detract from an otherwise nice room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I get the impression the rooms used to be quite nice, but ours had a lot of little issues. Sink stopper was stuck, shower curtain was moldy (enough to smell), one bed was the worst I've slept in the whole trip (springs sticking out—I'm not picky about bedding). Floors didn't seem to have been cleaned in a while. Body wash hasn't been refilled in a while and seemed to be diluted with water. The room itself was a good size, but the bad bed, loud road and multitude of minor disrepairs added up to a poor stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.1
    Seemed a nice enough place for an overnight stay at a reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps up into property with luggage was a pain. We booked 2 rooms- one for myself and my husband and the other for our teenage daughter. The rooms were not even in the same building - ours was in a courtyard away from the main hotel. Also no obvious way to get back into main building once the door was shut. Mattress not very comfy but adequate for one night.

    We left early before breakfast due to other commitments so didn't sample any facilities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful enhancement to my visit to Sheffield.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to stay longer but will return.

    Wonderful location easy access to Sheffield and Derbyshire moors, room spacious, comfortable and very clean, excellent breakfast, staff first class, nothing too much trouble and very friendly at very reasonable price. Wonderful fresh cakes in fridge in lounge, very tempting and well worth being tempted.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    The view was fantastic and the property inside and out...
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main meal we had took a very long time to come out even tho it was a basic meal we ordered. The breakfast in the morning (cooked) seemed to taste very watery.

    The view was fantastic and the property inside and out really was beautiful. The options available for breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.9
    Comfy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room not that clean..looks like the room is due for a makeover. Party on that night , noisy ....

    Staff lovely ,helpful,friendly. Nice big room and bathroom ,comfy bed Meal at pub excellent ,hot,fresh ,lots of it ..highly recommended. Superb location for walking ,cycling hope to return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Very helpful and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room "Room Only"
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and accommodating staff. We mentioned in passing that the TV was not working, later when we returned to our room a new one was installed, thanks Jeff!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: