Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Normandie Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

96 Sussex Gardens, Westminster Borough, London, W2 1UA, United Kingdom

#268 of 356 B&Bs and inns in London

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 917 hotel reviews

6.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6

  • Comfort

    5.1

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    4.9

  • Staff

    6.5

  • Value for money

    6

  • Free WiFi

    6.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2018

    4.6
    Wont stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff are fairly blunt. No iron or ironing board available and the rooms aren't the best standard. Also, unsure about security, as had to leave the key on the reception desk everytime you went out. few times i came back, no one was at reception so could have taken any key

    Large room on the ground floor

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.9
    Cheap and cheerful. Great location. Pub and chippy round the corner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Maybe a small kettle and cups in the room.

    Cheap and cheerful. Staff were lovely. Clean and tidy. Was so tired by the end of the day I would have slept on a washing line so can't say m7ch about the bed except it was clean. Full breakfast was substantial and my friends said it was well cooked and set them up for the day. I just had toast, which was plentiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.1
    Suitable place to stay overnight in London.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small bedroom. No tea/coffee provision.

    Excellent situation with walking distance to Hyde Park + Marble Arch and to the tube at Paddington and Edgeware Road. Staff were happy for us to leave our bags early and pick up late.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    4.2
    The smoke alarm was disconnected , the toilet didn’t flush...
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The smoke alarm was disconnected , the toilet didn’t flush properly , the shower was scalding and wouldn’t turn down , the plug sockets didn’t work and the toast at breakfast had mould in it !! Good location but needs a serious look at !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    5.8
    It was only a short walk from Paddington tube station,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My dad and I ordered a twin room. We expected to have 2 single beds, instead we had a double bed and a metal framed bunk bed which was quite disappointing. The shower was terrible. We got there at around 2:30pm and it was freezing cold - it wouldn’t go any warmer. Thankfully it was a hot day so we didn’t want it too warm. However I got up to have a shower in the morning and the water was scolding hot and couldn’t be turned down - it actually hurt my skin to be under the water. My dad went down to tell reception because it was impossible to actually have a shower that hot. The woman at reception told us to leave it running on hot and eventually it would cool down. We left it running for 20 minutes and it was still uncomfortably warm but not as bad so I just sucked it up and had a shower (since there wasn’t much time left). I imagine the shower was so cold when we got there because other guests had been given the same advice and ran all of the hot water off in the morning.

    It was only a short walk from Paddington tube station, making it very easy to get around London. Staff were friendly. Beds were fairly comfortable, and we slept well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    6.7
    Basic accommodation, friendly helpful staff fairly central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small basic room minimal toiletries, shower temperamental with heating of water mostly cold. Would have liked choice of cereal/continental for breakfast instead of hot English breakfast as advertised but not available. no hairdryer in room

    The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    3.3
    very very poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not recommended to new customers, i will contact to regulatory authority to record my complaint.

    very bitter experience, i had. bath room was not working properly.rooms were in shabby conditions.staff was not cooperative. double rooms was booked/paid but shifted to single room .no refund for difference was made. not recommended to others at all.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot water was on a timer, so you couldn’t have a shower any time of day, unless you wanted a cold one. We found this very bizarre for a hotel. The taps on the sink wouldn’t turn off properly, so water was running all the time. No internet in rooms, only available in dining room or reception.

    Breakfast and location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is very small. The shower water is either too hot or too cold. Cannot adjust water temperature. To get less hot water, you have to leave the tap running for half an hour. Will not recommend my friends to here. One staff is very rude and does not answer question.

    The breakfast is good, although english breakfast is the only option available. Some staff is very friendly and even make recommendations for travel plan. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    3.3
    Last day the new staff really good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet doesn't work or not available at room. Old carpet Old mattress Bath very small No hot water during the day Saturday Sunday staff with no knowledge

    Last day the new staff really good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    5.0
    Reception Staff From Hell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Entering our room for the first time was not very welcoming. Very bad smell of dirty and musty carpets. Reception staff totally rude. When asked if there was a problem with wifi all I got was a shrug of the shoulders claiming there was no problem in reception area. Despite it saying wifi available in all rooms. He didnt care and turned away. Morning shower cold water only.. Again when I told them about this and asked for another room, they said no other rooms available and that I can leave and find somewhere else if I wasn't happy. All this despite paying for 4 nights.. No refund was offered. Now, having to share reception area for wifi with other guests on one double seat couch reception staff constantly grunted loudly in an attempt to move us away as he used that couch to eat his lunch. And finally it states clearly that no responsibility is taken for damaged or stolen property left in the room. Yet you are required to leave your key on the reception desk prior to heading out for the day. Upon return all keys are left on the desk for anyone to take despite reception desk being unmanned. Disgusting KEEP AWAY AT ALL COSTS. You've been warned..

    Breakfast and kitchen staff were quite pleasant and friendly. Rooms were also tidied up as best as possible.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2018

    4.2
    BAD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    half of the staff were rude, WIFI didnt work for the 4 days we were there mentioned it to the staff and the answer was "the lights are on, it is working so what do you want me to tell you", the clean aspect of it.. the carpet had several stains that make me question the overall cleaning of the place, the bathroom was extremely small, and the walls are made of paper so be reasy to listen to every conversation around you. Unfortunately this stay made our visit to London less fun and romantic than expected, so I wouldn't come back neither recommend this place. Next time i will pay more to go to a legit hotel rather to something that is more in the hostel category .

    i only like its location, the englosh breakfast (although is the only breakfast option so dont think about anything healthy), and the water preasure at the shower was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    5.4
    Dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    In six days they never cleaned our room. The carpet wasn´t clean. The bed wasn´t well done. The bathroom was very small, it was impossible to wash your face in that lavatory. They only gave us one small soap in 6 days. Breakfast was poor. There wasn´t a lift.

    I liked the location. It was easy to go anywhere by bus or train

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    7.9
    really good location, 5 mins from Paddington and lots of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower too hot to get under, scalding, unable to adjust. simple basic but friendly

    really good location, 5 mins from Paddington and lots of food options nearby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent value for a budget central London venue.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have benefitted from tea and coffee making facilities in the room

    Excellent value for a budget central London venue. Friendly staff, available 24 hours. Nice breakfast, great value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant Location, lovely staff & good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The choice of fruit would have been nice at breakfast. The hotel/rooms need a refurbing /modernising. The shower only went Luke warm.

    The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We liked the waitress service at breakfast. Great value for money and great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    6.7
    great location of the hotel, 5min walk to Paddington station...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    English breakfast , toast , butter, jam. Each day the same. Room furniture very old

    great location of the hotel, 5min walk to Paddington station, 10min walk to Hyde Park, 15 min walk to Oxford street.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    8.8
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is great. The value is amazing for the price you're paying. The staff at reception was really friendly and helped immediately. The rooms were nothing special but clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    7.1
    Staff were absolutely brilliant, could not fault them in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the fire alarm fell off the ceiling, the shower was either hot or cold, one plug socket not working, light bulb gone over single bed.

    Staff were absolutely brilliant, could not fault them in anyway!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    2.5
    Disgusting hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything - it is a hell hole

    I have never written a review before after decades of traveling for work mainly. But I must warn you about this hell hole. This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, it was absolutely disgusting. I booked this last minute, was uk90 pounds per night but I did not check reviews properly. This hotel should not even be on your web site, it is ridiculous that you allow hotels of this standard on your site. Staff were horrible, absolutely rude, no hot water until 7pm so I had to take a cold shower before going to dinner, filthy rooms, filthy beds, absolute squalor - it is disgusting. Really rude and horrible staff. Do not stay here

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2018

    5.0
    Just ok somewhere to put your head down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no facilities like coffee and tea making in the room. There was no hairdryer and the where the TV was placed it was impossible to watch.

    Area easy to reach city centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: May 3, 2018

    7.9
    Three Stars (I doubt it) but great location for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small - but for what you are paying and location was exceptable. The carpet was tired and the stairs creaked somewhat. Not a place for elderly of disabled as there is no lift and I was on the 3rd floor and breakfast is in the basement. So if you have mobility issues let them know before hand.

    Location is excellent - 5 mins walk from Hyde Park - 30mins from Covent Gardens. The breakfast was fast and efficient, but slightly restrictive - tea/coffee/fruit juice followed by toast (plenty of it) and full English - no fruit and yoghurts. Desk was maned 24hrs. Booking in fast and easy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    2.5
    Worst hotel ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel very old and not refurbished. The bathroom door was broken. The hot water wasn't available. No available staff to support the client. The only staff available is the person at the front desk. No amenities offered as mentioned on Booking.com. The state of the hotel doesn't match at all the description about it on Booking.com. So misleading to a great extent. I can't find words to describe how bad this hote,l condidering the fees required per night and compared to similar hotels in Sussex Gardens area.

    Nothing. It was the worst ever I ever visited. Please refere to what I didn't like about it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointed experience : we gave up.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You pay for the room even before you see it. We were travelling with our grandma and we didn't except to be in the third floor with a lot of tiny and tired stairs, but that's even okay, old building. We just let our stuff because it was late and we needed to have dinner, when we came back to the room and after a day of travelling with 28 degrees we wanted to take a shower but there was not cold water, we couldn't take a shower because the water was burning, boiling!! It was impossible to find a way to have cold water, we complain downstairs but the only answer of the guy working on the night shift was that he couldn't do nothing and we had to wait to see the manager the next morning. The manager didn't appear or at least not on time the first two days so we had to leave the hotel to don't waste our time, the receptionist told us that we wrote down our problem and the owner will treat it in the day. The night same problem and same answer from the receptionist, who was different than the first night and not even aware of the problem. Finally we couldn't take a shower for three days, three day where it was 28 degrees in the city and with an old lady. No solution was found even if we were travelling with an old lady. It's a shame. The room was ok but looked very tired and not super clean. No glass to brush our theets, no carpet in the bathroom and two towels for three persons (we had to ask for a third), no wifi in the room cause of the very very low signal, holes in the sheets and so on. To sum up, if there's a problem nobody's here to help or find a solution. We do NOT recommand this hotel, and we are very disappointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant, comfortable, great for one or two nights stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't shower in either room booked (2 rooms booked), both showers did not work and couldn't reduce heat - was scolding.

    Friendly owners, comfortable rooms, great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    3.3
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cold with a stale smell. The bathroom was extremely small, toilet seat and taps broken. Shower was too hot to use. When I raised this I was told I didn’t let the water run for long enough.

    Breakfast was served by good staff and delivered hot.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    10
    Would definitely stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower was a little too hot and we couldn't work out how to get any cold water, but it didn't matter too much.

    The beds were comfy, the place was clean and the breakfast was just what we needed. The staff were always so friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a perfect location to get to anywhere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    3.8
    Only the location was good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very unkind person at the reception, no hot water to shower. The windows were very thin so it was very cold in the room and the heater was not working. Not enough space in the breakfast room for all their guests. I would definitely never return to this place it has absolutely no positive point except from the location.

    Only the location was good!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    5.8
    Handy location for a brief stop-over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little bit of a muck up on arrival - communication breakdown and had to wait for someone else to arrive to sort out our booking. Gentleman at front-of-house was very matter-of-fact with little warmth. Had problems with the shower and when I mentioning this to the night porter - he acknowledged that our room often presented problems with the shower. Pity we were not warned of this when initially checking in - which would have been the responsible thing to do.

    Handy location to Underground and shops. Breakfast arrived on the table quickly and well proportioned.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    3.3
    Definitely wouldn't go back. Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pio, the guy on reception too much... Asking me to do a video review for his boss to see within a few hours if being at the hotel. Way too familiar.. No change at reception when I paid, so I had to go for change. Shoudlve been their place to do so. Then came the knocking on my door for the change when we were snoozing.... Then the phone calls to our room. But tried to answer the phone and it didn't even work. Me and my daughter were in a room near reception in a corridor with a door that banged every time someone walked through.....this was very frequent. Hence I did not sleep. I had to get up at one o clock to ask if Pio and the customers could be quiet as my 12 year old daughter would like some sleep. Noise most of night from other guests above our room (banging!!).,.. Next morning the breakfast came as you got it. No option. Room was shoddy...no knob on wardrobe, no tea or coffee in room, crap bed covers... No duvets. Was glad to go home. Very bad customer service. Ruined our little break away to be honest.

    Can't say I did.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2018

    6.7
    Good for 1 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very small corridors getting in and out of room a bit of a challenge. Not brilliant rooms but good for a overnight stay.

    After the terrible reviews we were pleasantly surprised. Breakfast good but not coffee. Room OK for 1 night. Very basic but comfortable enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 15, 2018

    5.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom door was broken. You can hear everything from other rooms and people in the hallway. Heating didnt work properly. Too expensive for what little they offer.

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for no frills stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internet connection was weak in my room, making it almost impossible to use. The room could have been warmer, but I think that's true of any place in London in winter...

    The breakfast was surprisingly good for the price. The staff were really nice. This is a no frills place and the comfort and facilities do reflect that, but it was generally perfect for what I needed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    7.9
    Okay to fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was cold (on the top floor), there was a draft from the window. One of the lights was hanging from its place on the wall but that was just amusing for us.

    The staff was nice. We didn’t eat at the hotel so can’t comment on that subject. Room was fine (if you leave out the temperature).

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    4.2
    An experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The entire decor is very tired and as soon as we walked in we could smell something that resembled wet dog. The bed was seriously uncomfortable and only dressed in a sheet and questionable blanket. The hotel has character but the old Victorian features are dressed up in 70’s chic carpet and plastic flowers. The rooms are tired and we had little towels that honestly I didn’t want to use. We didn’t complain as we felt it wouldn’t do any good, we did read the reviews before we came and knew it wasn’t amazing. The staff were fine, a little quirky but no issues with them. I wouldn’t stay at this hotel again, I’d pay a couple quid more and get somewhere that has rooms with tea and coffee making facilities, a duvet and no smell of wet dog!

    The shower was hot and powerful, the hotel is in a brilliant location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    7.9
    Very good value for money in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warmer room

    Room was as expected for the price, room was basic but very clean, bed was comfortable and linen very clean, we stayed during the 'Beast from the East' and the room was a little cold, breakfast was very good :-)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    9.2
    Comfortsble, warm, welcoming; perfect for what I needed.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a bit of noise from the other people in the hotel. But it’s to be expected in these old buildings. I took earplugs for sleeping which sorted me out perfectly. The bed nearest the window was a little chilly. So we slid it further into the room. Problem solved.

    The staff were very accommodating. Breakfast was absolutely gorgeous, with nothing too much for the lovely lady who was run off her feet. Set us up perfectly for the day and GREAT to have included in the room rate. I didn’t even need any lunch! The room was basic, but extra linen was in the wardrobe and the beds were more comfortable than other places I’ve stayed; it was also bigger than more expensive hotels. I loved the original corbicing and fireplace. TV was large and looked new. Extra heater already in room and on, plus the radiator. My request had been took into consideration for location of room. Bathroom was small, but actually nice and warm whereas other have been freezing! Seemed very clean. Clearly seems like a family run hotel and they’re doing their very best. Location is excellent. Free travel guides offered on arrival. I travel to London regularly and will book here again if I find another good deal! The hotel staff are obviously not speaking English as s first language. I believe other people have taken their tone and different way of speaking as rudeness when it’s not. Having lived elsewhere in Europe I can see how the mistake is easily made. Check in is 1pm, out at 11am, again that’s much more generous than other higher priced hotels I’ve stayed at. Overall the staff were friendly and seemed genuinely surprised when I thanked them for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    8.3
    It's good but the old man recepcionist very bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the cleaning girls were great but the guys at the reception horrible. One night, we entered the hotel and there was a receptionist (the older man) DRUNK. He spoke saying "fucking job ..." I did not like that at all. I work as a receptionist and never would never drink a beer at work and even less I would be drunk.It is an old hotel and does not have an lift. I had to climb 3 floors with the suitcases. Never mind, that detail was not important either.

    breakfast was delicious, every day is the same breakfast (English breakfast), they do it at the moment. breakfast is from 7:30 to 9:00. The room is normal, a double bed, carpet floor (as everywhere) and a small bathroom. There could only be one person in the bathroom. You have to ask at the reception for the hairdryer. They give you towels and there is Hot water in the shower, the bed is very comfortable, I had to ask for two more pillows because they are thin. The cleaning girls are very nice, they prepare breakfast too. At breakfast there is coffee and tea. My boyfriend loved the cofre in the hotel . There is water and orange juice from bottle (Not natural). The reception is 24 hours. In general it is very good. Because it is a quiet area, and the metro is 5 minutes from the hotel. It's zone 2. It's a good area, the rooms are silent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    2.5
    WORST EXPERIENCE EVER
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Don't stay there ! The staff is awful ! The wifi doesn't working ! They ️are liars! Vey dirty room ! Microwave breakfast! Everything was awful!

    NOTHING

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 22, 2018

    3.3
    I would never stay at this hotel again.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was freezing cold (we had to sleep fully clothed plus also had to use the bedspread off the single bed too). There were no facilities for making hot drinks within the room. The bedside furniture was missing drawers and falling to pieces. The bathroom smelled of foul water from the toilet.

    N/a

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    7.5
    Not a good one ... The first time we have been disappointed ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked the accommodation last April (2017) for the 14th February 2018 (Valentines Day)... We had booked a double room with a double bed... We did not get a double room, we had a vey, very small twin room...Reception were not able to give us our double room as booked and could not understand how this had happened ?...They said they would look into it ... No one would appreciate the inconvenience this had caused us ! ... It appears, booking ahead does not guarantee you the room you had booked ... It spoilt our night out in London...We will not be staying at the Hotel again ! ... No tea/coffee facilities in the room just in the dinning room... The Wi-Fi can only be accessed on the ground floor and basement, not as advertised as being in all areas ! ...We were on the second floor... The hot tap in the on suite was not fixed to the basin properly so could not use vey well and a light bulb above one of the beds was broken........

    The location and the Breakfast...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    5.4
    The staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were told breakfast was until 09:30 but it was 9, so missed it. There was a pipe knocking in our room so didn't sleep well.

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    3.3
    Horrible. The worst hotel I’ve experienced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Terrible. Dirty rooms and bed linen. Grumpy reception staff. Poor security - anyone can take a room key off the reception counter. Cold room. Bed springs stick into you. Towels threadbare. B token taps in bathroom.

    Breakfast wasn’t bad. Cook lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    3.8
    Awful hotel. I am considering contacting environmental health at Westminster council
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room/hotel was extremely tired. The room had two broken plug sockets which were dangerous. The shower was too hot or extremely hot. The room had no tea/coffee facilities and the breakfast was ok. The faults with the room were reported and I got a don't care attitude.

    Nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2018

    6.7
    Love the continental breakfast and location is great
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower is way too hot. It can’t be adjusted. We need to take water from the sink manually to have shower

    Love the continental breakfast and location is great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    2.5
    This hotel is dirty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is dirty!. there was dried blood on the bed sheets and nod cold running water. Dirty bathroom, rubbish in the bins, stains on the bed throws .. when we spoke to the front desk they were rude and unhelpful... I do not believe that this hotel should be accommodating guests and certainty should not be a 3 star

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    5.8
    Not vrea
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was cold, draughts from window, radiator didn't work. Small bathroom, Felix water. Wi-Fi only worked in public areas (then OK).

    Staff were pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    5.4
    Not that bad , regular one .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was extremely cold , window are not good . No tea/coffee in the room . WiFi doesn’t work ( only at the reception)

    It was small and the staff was friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 3, 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money property just a few minutes from Paddington and Edgware Road.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fire alarm went off at 02.00 and wasn't fixed until 03.15. This can happen in even the best hotels and the guy on checkout apologised for it, so I'll take that apology. I had a room in the basement and the wifi in the room wasn't great. Could have done with shampoo for the shower. Otherwise facilities were great.

    All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was much better than I expected and the room had workspace.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    3.8
    Awful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Biten two days in a row, think it was bed bigs, although can't prove it. Wi-Fi didn't work in room. Bedding looked very old. Decor outdated. Fire alarm went off three times through the night, two nights in a row. I've stayed in hunfreds of hotels over the years, all standards, but this was probably one of the worst.

    Tv was ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    5.0
    Health and safety issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No kettle or cups in room couldn't get through fire door into room as hinges are on opposite way so unless u are a contortionist don't stay in room 12

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2018

    2.9
    Terrible. Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The window in our room didnt shut properly so we were cold all night. Not to mention ths fire alarm going off at 1 am and the guy at reception not being bothered or apologetic at all. The room was old fashioned, dirty and made us feel very umcomfortable - itchy too! Disgusting.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    5.0
    You open the fire door to get to your room and have about an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    You open the fire door to get to your room and have about an inch to get your key into your door.. no heating except a three wheel oil heater and no hair dryer and reception guy was laying on sofa when I checked in. Cardboard under sink covering broken tiles and bed lights didn’t work

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2018

    6.3
    Been both to better and worse places.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can be really noisy in the rooms downstairs, espacially in the morning. Smell of fried food from kitchen is really strong. I got the cheapest room, but it still should not be the reason for half of the bulbs missing/not working, sticky TV remote or mould in the bathroom.

    Good localization 5 minutes from Paddington station, walking distance to Kensington Gardens. Big breakfast, nice staff, rook cleaned daily. Plenty of space in the single room. No problem with leaving suitcase for few hours after checking out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    3.8
    Dissapointing - even for a 2star hotel at the price paid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot water on my second morning. The extractor fan was broken with bare electrical connections on show. The towel rail was not properly fixed to the wall and hardboard was covering plumbing under the sink. Only one light out of 3 worked. The chair was broken and could not be sat on. Only one of the double socket next to the bed worked. The wifi did not work. Due to the position of a fire door it was extremely difficult to access the room (no.12). The reception staff were abrupt and appeared more interested in what they were going than serving clients. The whole place was tired and desperately needs upgrading.

    The lady serving breakfast was very polite and accommodating

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    5.0
    Obstacles to a comfortable stay and too cold to sleep - don't bother.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is no disabled parking + no info on such parking in the area. I had an issue signing in because no-one was there when I arrived so I had to wait in the cold. It took half an hour before I could sign in. There were no dropped kerbs or wheelchair ramps. There was minimal assistance with my wheelchair and no help was offered on anything - I had to raise several points. My room door was held open by wet towels and the room was freezing. The portable heater didn't work properly and there wasn't enough bedding to keep me warm so I couldn't sleep properly. I could go on and a refund is clearly in order...

    The kitchen staff were friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    4.2
    Location perfect but hotel was awful
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was drab and need modernisation. We stayed for NYE, when we got back to the hotel at 01:20 my husbands room that he was sharing with my sons fuse had gone so there were no lights. He went down stairs to complain, was told it would be sorted but it was not. They couldn’t shower in the morning as the bathroom was too dark. In the morning as we checked out the owner was asleep on the couch in the reception! There was no kettle??? What hotel doesn’t offer complimentary tea and coffee???? I booked two rooms together in January 2017 but my husband and son were on the third floor and me and my daughter were on the first floor, not even close

    Location was perfect, easy to find

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2017

    5.0
    Cheap stay, no frills
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor decoration, exposed wiring, plugs not working, carpet dirty, dusty mousetrap under the bed, no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    5.0
    Excellent breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very uncomfortable bed. Mattress needed to be replaced. Decoration was tired and needs updating.

    Excellent breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff in the restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 19, 2017

    6.7
    Pretty much what was expected for money but no need to not repair things that are broken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot tap in bathroom was broken, towel rail lying in bottom of wardrobe and no mirror in bedroom (to see to dry hair).

    Location good, bed comfy and pretty quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2017

    7.1
    Good value, good breakfast, let down by the rude receptionist
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist had a bored and uninterested approach that I took to be quite rude. When asked whether I should leave the key when going out (as there was information to suggest you should do so), he replied no, just don't lose it. In the morning someone had left their key and a message "no one here when checking out".

    Great location only a few minutes from Paddington train station. Excellent value for money, particularly considering it included a good cooked breakfast that was served within minutes of arrival in the dining room by a cheerful and efficient lady.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 14, 2017

    4.6
    I wouldn't return.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Where to start... I arrived quite late (11.45pm) but the reception was billed as 24 hours. When I arrived there was no one around. I was a lone female and when I tried to enter the reception area, a man appeared to unlock it and told me to wait. I sat for a few minutes - the sofa was covered in someone's belongings, including their dinner. I got checked in pretty quickly and the staff member wasn't rude, but wasn't friendly. He told me my room was on the first floor and that was that (it was actually downstairs). Very basic room but what was expected for £40 a night for a single room. There was just a sheet and blanket on the bed so it got a little cold (it was -1c outside so a chilly night). There was an additional heater in the room but it made a weird ticking noise so I turned off to get some peace. At 1am, the fire alarm went off for 10 seconds and stopped. Nothing like that to wake you up and keep you up. Obviously there was no actual fire as it was switched off quickly and not followed up. I had an uncomfortable and restless night. The fire alarm went off again at 7.10am (I was already awake). When I went to breakfast, the only option seemed to be full English. I know this suits most people but when I asked for a bacon sandwich, the staff member had no clue what I was asking for (English was her second language, which I appreciate). I was offered coffee and toast but skipped. When I tried to checkout at 7.45am, reception was locked and no one was around, so I had to leave my key on a table... all in all not the best experience. I've stayed plenty of places that are basic, but with friendly and helpful staff, those things don't matter - this was not the case here.

    The hotel is a very easy 5 minute walk from Paddington station which has all major transport links to anywhere you need to go in London.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    2.9
    Stay away from this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No heat in room. No receptionist at the desk at times. Double charged. No elevator. Dangerous staircase. No hot water until 6 pm. WiFi not reaching upper floors. Kitchen staff rude and feisty. Poor breakfast. Lazy services. Light bulbs missing in room, so lighting is poor. Hazardous railing on stairs. Poor cleanliness. Receptionist sleeping at the reception during work hours (see photo). Guests couldn't get in to leave keys.

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    7.5
    Clean, warm comfortable and secure accommodation at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above

    Didnt try the food but the smell of breakfast was delightful. (Next time I stay I wont have a curry the night before). Room was ok although clearly on the list for a refurb in the near future. Shower worked well. Altogether it was a pleasant experience and I felt comfortable and safe there. Not a bad price for central London. Staff I met were helpful and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    5.8
    Would not stay here again, but you get what you pay for I guess
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor breakfast, no cereals or fruit, hot tap in bathroom was loose and could not be turned off correctly, one bed side light did not work. On the first night their fire alarm went off twice due to some ones bedroom radiator was to hot.

    Just close to Paddington station

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    3.3
    Horrible
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely disgusting place. 1.Dirty, freezing rooms 2.No shampoo or shower gels in the bathroom, only two pieces of used soaps 3.Rude staff Do not to book if you dont want to ruin your holidays in London.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    5.8
    i wont be staying here again definitely not wore 80 ponds
    • Solo traveler
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the was awful .bunk bed next to tue door has u go in . the hot tap wasnt working.was broking the wardrobe was look like everything with a iron board and heater was no kettle to make a coffee in room cone to breakfast i jave to move tona different table throw in there.the furniture needs ti be update .

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2017

    7.9
    The room was basic and in need of refurbishment, but overall...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was basic and in need of refurbishment, but overall it was clean. The shower although scaled was hot and powerful enough. The bed was comfy but there were no extra blankets and it was cold. Don't expect toiletries/ tea coffee etc. For a cheap bed for the night, a shower and toilet in a fairly central location and a good cooked English breakfast included it was very good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    6.3
    This is a budget hotel with a comfy bed and a hot shower at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a budget hotel with a comfy bed and a hot shower at a reasonable price. If you are not bothered about a kettle and makings and dont mind mouse traps in the ensuite this is the place to be. As a bloke looking for a place to kip I would use this again, but not to impress a lady. Thankyou

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2017

    4.2
    I'd like to have a refund..
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was dirty, the house alarm went on two times during the night, it was freezing in our hotel room! One tap was defect and when we had breakfast, the staff was very unfriendly and the basket of the toast was dirty!

    The area was nice, but the hotel was very bad!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    6.3
    Too expensive for the level of quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room Ensuite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very worn out interior. My room STANK of fried bacon every morning. The fire alarm went off 2 of 3 mornings without any fire emergency.

    The location and distance to public transport.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    4.2
    The room wasn’t very clean, the bed was uncomfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room wasn’t very clean, the bed was uncomfortable and dirty clothes underneath the bed, shower was very dirty and no mirror in the room r dressing table and it was very cold

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2017

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very dated, had to look under the bed as dropped something and seen clearly not ckeaned. Wall light fitting coming away from the wall. Shower needed repointing. Overall disappointing but I didn't pay a lot so had to put up

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    6.3
    Worth booking if you’re only pay £20/£30 per person. Didn’t have breakfast so can’t comment on that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating wasn’t working therefore it was extremely cold in the middle of the winter. Bed is OK. Staff are nice but a bit useless. Over night staff at reception was sleeping when we came in and didn’t look to happy about being disturbed even though it’s a 24/7 reception.

    For just over £20 a night each. You can’t go massively wrong. Ensuite was nice, shower was good. Room was out dated but you get what you pay for.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    6.7
    Property is one of many on the area, easy access to major transport. London a wonderful city to visi
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs, the lack of amenities ie toiletries, tea/coffee facilities, fresh linen. We stayed 9 days. For the cost it was fine, quite basic but ok.

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Normandie Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: