Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Norseman Hotel

Riverside, Wick, KW1 4NL, United Kingdom

#13 of 13 hotels in Wick

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 303 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.3
    A night at the. Norseman.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Norseman was a friendly and comfortable place to stay and handy for walking into the town, our only criticism would be that it's looking a little tired inside now. The rooms were clean and comfortable, just a little dated.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.3
    Location and the staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cross road’s motel feel , noisy plumbing from neighbouring rooms . Dried out buffet breakfast items . Would prefer table service

    Location and the staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.9
    A good comfortable hotel in a good location for visiting tourist spots in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the beds was very wobbly and we felt the breakfast times could have been a bit later

    Although one of the beds was a bit wobbly the comfort of the mattress was fine, the towels were lovely and thick and of a good size. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Truly the best service I have received at any hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having to leave without fully enjoying the selection of fruit that was available but I wouldn't have been able to walk to JoG with so much inside me!

    The staff! The receptionist, Sheila, on hearing that I was walking the final part of my Land's End to John o'Groats walk the following day offered me the opportunity of leaving some of my gear in reception and pick it up on my way home. Additionally when hearing I would be leaving quite early suggested that I see "Harry" in the breakfast area and he would endeavour to help - he certainly did proving me with tea and cereal etc before I left the hotel at 05.15. Truly beyond my expectations, the staff identified were a credit to your hotel as were the bar/restaurant staff, thank you. The room was good too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable, relaxed and satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was in room 101, the bathroom floor has loose tiles, and the phone was not connected?

    Ground floor room was very accessible, food was good and plentiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    the staff were very pleasant and room was comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast buffet was great except the yoghourt ran out on our second day!

    the staff were very pleasant and room was comfortable. The view of the gardens at the back were pretty with spring flowers.The location is very central for the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Good service from hotel staff & manager.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit dated, but ok.

    Good service from hotel staff & manager. Food in restaurant was fine, but service was a bit slow. Excellent help with sending left items to my home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Enjoyed our stay very much, we will be back soon.x
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    having stayed before, I knew the hotel is lovely inside, but from the outside I must admit it doesn't look very inviting, a wee bit of a revamp to the outside area and entrance would give it more kerb appeal.

    Have stayed before and found everything great, plenty parking, the food is always very good, and staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Health and safety issues need addressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower operated from taps,difficult to control temperature.Bathroom not clean. Unable to open window, no extractor in bathroom so room very steamy after shower.Single bed duvet very thin and no extra blanket in room.Fire alarm went off for short burst continuously from around 8am, caused by toaster in dining room situated under the detector.

    Location,easy parking.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.1
    Visit to see family
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 chair in room so had. To sit on bed shower not regulating well very very hot Service in bar disappointing

    Breakfast very good fresh fruit excellent also hot food good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent breakfast - best of all experienced in Scotland on week’s tour with fresh raspberries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire exit door signed to car park did not open. Security issue??

    Good for an overnight stay - would want a better room than 217 for 2 people for longer stay. Maybe due to error in not correcting occupancy to 2 adults or because last minute deal? Larger and more attractive rooms seen through open doors following morning.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent place to stay looking forward to our next visit to Wick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing that we thought let down the breakfast was the sausages. I felt that a more local sausage from the butcher shop e.g Harrolds would have put this in the top bracket of places we have stayed. Looking forward to staying there again in the future.

    The food was excellent, Sunday carvery superb couldn't fault it. Portion size was brilliant at no point did my husband, daughter nor her boyfriend say they were hungry after eating there and we stayed for 3 nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Very pleasant indeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minor point of the whole stay would be the distraction caused by one of the waitresses chewing gum with her mouth open. She would give Sir Alex Ferguson a run for his money. It was unpleasant to watch and we felt it was inappropriate in such a good hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    6.7
    No VAT receipt with my company name and address on it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No VAT receipt with my company name and address on it. I cannot claim back my stay on company expenses therefore I will not be staying with you again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Highly recommended. If in Caithness, stay here.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was patchy, but worked well when between having to switch access points. I always thought Wick hotels charge over the odds but in fairness to the Norseman, breakfast is included as well as free local gym access.

    Great Highland hospitality. A very comfortable space with great food and a well priced bar. Staff were friendly and exceeded expectations when offered to prep me a breakfast prior to the set breakfast time, as i was checking out before the crack of dawn. Highest quality bedding, didn't want to leave!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Excellent hospitality in the best hotel in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I couldn't fault anything

    It was a very friendly,warm and comfortable hotel. The buffet breakfast was excellent,Great location with views of the river and right beside town centre

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    excellent from the start to finish
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole stay was superb from the moment i arrive to the moment i left, the staff were very helpful and attentive and this made the stay very comfortable. The hotel is very cosy and i will use it again when i am back in the area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    4.6
    Receptionists very helpful both on arrival departure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant staff talking among themselves instead of looking after guests. Poor dining room service Beds were soft.

    Receptionists very helpful both on arrival departure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    4.2
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very outdated and in need of refurbishment. Mattress was soft and in need of replacing. Parking at hotel was full so had to park in car park across from the hotel. Teenagers were outside in the car park revving their engines until about 1am creating a lot of noise. Overall not worth the money paid and pictures and reviews on website not reflective of actual building.

    Breakfast was of a decent enough quality and room was a good size

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is a reasonably-priced place for a short stay in a remote and beautiful area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The décor is looking a bit tired (pine cladding on walls, for example), although there had been some re-painting of my room interior (in a hurry as the fittings were partly covered with paint). Main complaint would be poor noise insulation in the bedroom, allowing voices, TV and so on to be heard at night and in the morning. Staff making up and changing rooms were a bit uncommunicative in the morning - usually I would expect a "good morning" and even a smile.

    The hotel is relatively modern and situated right in the centre of the town. It was easy to find and park and the staff were mostly welcoming and cheerful, especially on reception and in the bar and restaurant. The breakfast buffet was quite extensive and there was a complete selection of fruit, cereal and the usual cooked breakfast items. The croissants were indeed above average!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.4
    Overall apart from hotel room needing an update did not effect our pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom and especially bathroom in need of an update as flow of shower over the bath was very poor and made squealing noises. Also banging noises from pipes on occasions.

    Hotel entrance and lounge area nicely decorated with nice seating in lounge.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    10
    Never been dispointed with a stay at the Norseman, just ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff, well situated for Main Street shops. Close to the river for easy relaxing walk. Ideal connection stop for Pentland firth ferries to Orkney.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room could have been a little bigger. But was still really nice!

    Staff was extremely helpful and nothing seemed like a problem. Very accommodating!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant centrally located hotel in Wick.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What's not to like!

    Quick and pleasant check-in reception. Tea/coffee facilities in room. Ground floor room redecorated, quiet and convenient. Excellent breakfast with fresh fruit and just about all one would want.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Great - would recommend to others and go there again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn`t like.

    Lovely breakfast , friendly ,helpful staff , nice warm room. Comfortable, well appointed sitting rooms . All facilities when and where required.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    8.3
    Pleasant stay with friendly staff and good food. A little overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mainly just the price could have been more reasonable as there was nothing that stood out as really exceptional about the hotel.

    Easy to get to. Close to all local amenities. Nice walks by the river.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    We will return to Wick some day and will book this Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked this Hotel.

    This is a spacious Hotel in the middle of town. We had a Bar Snack which was a generous portion. The Breakfast was good which we enjoyed. We would return to this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    4.2
    Rooms very terribly noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very terribly noisy. In one of the next door rooms we could hear two ladies talking and undesrand what they were saying. They were not shouting just talking normally. Above us it sounded as though a herd of elephants were in the room. Terrible sound isolation not unusual behaviour by other guests. When I complained at reception I was told it would be passed to the manager ; when I remarked that they must get this type of complaint all the time she said she is not usually on in the morning I could see on her face she was very well aware. Terrible night sleep at a very high price

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Very comfortable! Food
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely comfortable,location close to John O'Groats for ferry to Orkney Islands. Staff very obliging. Walking distance to shops and restaurants. We would stay again!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    overall clean and pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We decided to eat in the hotel on the 2nd night and were advised it should be fine even though they had a big function. After waiting 45 minutes for a starter and then being told it would be some time later but no idea of how long, we cancelled the order and ate out. Disappointing lack of service, they clearly could not cope and to my mind made a mistake in taking dinner bookings, people who ordered before us were still waiting when we cancelled.

    The reception staff were excellent, knowledgeable and helpful. Location very handy for those like us who travelled on public transport; they do also have parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Room had everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had everything we needed. Dinner at the restaurant was good. Breakfast service was excellent, so was the food. Bus service was right outside the door.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    It was clean and the staff were friendly
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower only spewed out COLD water. Fortunately there was a bath so I used that - but would have preferred the use of the shower. This was very disappointing. Also the bathroom fan mysteriously would come on all by itself after the light was turned off and the normal period of after running had concluded - ie some 10 mins later the fan just came on - and there was no way of switching it off.

    It was clean and the staff were friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.7
    An average hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The performance of the shower between 7.00am and 8.00am was very poor.This was probably because there was a lot of demand for showers at this time. A shower taken the previous evening was perfectly satisfactory.

    The staff were friendly and helpful.The location was excellent. Food was definitely in the pub grub category but was still ok .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    brilliant place, brilliant staff, brilliant service, fully recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The musty aroma in the corridors

    The staff were exceptionally friendly, helpful and professional, service was impeccable. Location was ideal, meals were terrific. Room facilities were perfect. Worthy of the price paid

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    9.2
    Good location,comfortable and not expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We were given a ground floor room, never heard a peep out of anyone, we slept very well. Excellent shower/bath (plenty of hot water), good size fluffy towels, nice toiletries and soap. Kettle with tea/coffee provided. Great breakfast, with the best fruit salad I have ever had in a hotel, buffet style cooked breakfast, choice of teas. Good restaurant in hotel. Friendly staff, fast check in/out. The hotel does not look like much from the outside, but is nicer on the inside, I liked the tartan carpet! Free parking provided.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.5
    Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room overlooked car park which given it was a Friday night was a bit noisy with boy races, closing car park over night could help to resolve it.

    Excellent food and very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with thin walls.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls between rooms are very thin allowing unnecessary noise contamination. The hotel like many other is tied to coach party trade this marks the hotel very busy and as always the coacheers are up packing and using the bathrooms very early (05.45). Out neighbors argued all evening, snored all night and bashed about from 0545 and arguing until they left at 07.45. Nice.

    Nice hotel with good facilities and near the town and river walks. Fruit package in room very nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    3.3
    The room me and the wife were in was Damp and a smell ! the staff that were there to help couldn't g
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stop employing people that don't give a crap only want money at the end of the day it's your reputation as a hotel chain to see that!

    Scotland and scenery

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    I was very impressed that the cot for my toddler had a sheet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing what I can mention was the walls of the building are very thin...so you can hear any noise coming through it. We heard a gentleman snoring upstairs through all night. I mean that is something which staff cannot change or affect...it is barely the structure of the building. but it can affect overall experience of your stay.

    I was very impressed that the cot for my toddler had a sheet and 2 lovely blankets in it (it was not only the plain foldable cot with nothing in it). It was well prepared for the child who enjoyed sleeping in it very much ;) Overall staff was very nice :) food lovely, nice and clean room!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Wick holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Bed was huge and comfortable, there was a bath too , Food was really nice and not pub grub would definitely go bk , hotel was within traveling distance of lots of tourist places, we went all over from john o groats to castle of mey , rock rose gin distillery and Duncansby stacks...all worth a visit

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    5.8
    Average Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dated, very noisy guests although not hotels fault, surrounded by trees and the noise from hundreds of crows woke me very early. Reception was not manned until 0730 which was not helpful as I needed to check out and leave. Breakfast was cold as always is in buffet style. £85 is a lot of money for this hotel

    Bed was comfy, room was clean as was the rest of the hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.5
    Did not live up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing stay. Booked superior room with garden view but no garden view. We were told that any room could be designated superior by the provision of fluffy towels, bottled water, and a fruit tray. Restaurant provides mediocre pub food compared to other hotels we have stayed at. Buffet breakfast adequate but unappealing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    Excellent stop off with a dog before ferry or after for Orkney
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception area small and bit awkwardly positioned . Shower could be better

    Great Dog walks nearby , good food .... steak was beautiful . Bed comfortable . Great distance from Scrabster for overnight after ferry.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.5
    Nice room, good food and nice staff. Location not ideal and some noise which is not within con
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge crows nest in tree outside room and some late night wheel spins in car park directly across from hotel.

    Friendly staff Good food with good portions

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    4.2
    Overpriced Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 206 Superior room was 2 single beds with a tiny TV Shower was terrible very low pressure from a mains powered shower. Not value for money at all very disappointed

    Location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much to dislike. The room was a little to warm during the night whilst trying to sleep, too warm for me at least but better being too warm than not warm enough. It was nice to have the window open a little anyway.

    The bed was large and very very comfortable. The hotel location it very central to the town of Wick, a very short walk to all amenities. The staff were very accommodating and friendly and the meal we had in the restaurant was lovely.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    7.5
    Old boiler letting hotel down
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold room and no hot water. But I know this isn't their usual standard so willing to forgive this once.

    The food in this hotel is worth the stay, and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are average. When I stayed there was no heating and no hot water which I think they should have mentioned at check in. After complaining I did get a small discount but would rather have been able to choose whether to stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    5.4
    Clean and friendly. Not worth the cost of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very expensive for the standard. Very tired and dated. Electric Shower was freezing for a full 5 minutes then too hot to stand under despite trying to regulate it. Cooked Breakfast was cold. I ate at 0815 and breakfast was served till 0930. Very disappointed as I had paid extra for a "superior" room!

    Staff were really helpful. Room was clean. Evening meal was enjoyable and not overly expensive.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    4.6
    No heat or hot water and wrong room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water or heating. No phone call to say there was no hot water or heating. Not given the superior room I had booked.

    Biscuits in the room. Ease of agreeing new price due to problems.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    7.5
    Good location by the river, great breakfast & very friendly helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was on arrival around 8.30pm, we found our room was cold. The radiator, although set to full on (5), was cold and although we tried turning the thermostat a few times, there was no heat coming through. Having had a long day travelling we decided to get into bed to be warm.

    Breakfast was very good with everything anyone could want. Service from all staff was excellent. Room was quite good with coffee/tea making facilities & toiletries also supplied. Lovely thick white bathroom towels.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    Ideal for a satisfactory short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of atmosphere in public areas. To access rooms one has to walk through the lounge and for some hours that evening a function was being held there. It gave me the feeling that I was 'crashing' the party each time I walked through. My single bed was ok but the mattress sloped quite badly to one side which made me feel I might slide off it in my sleep!

    Convenient location. Within walking distance of railway station. They took notice of my request at time of booking for a room on a higher floor. Quiet clean room overlooking garden. Free Wi-Fi. Superb breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.8
    A Peaceful Night in a Pleasant Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no expectations beyond what we got - a good night's rest at a reasonable price

    We had a ground floor room - important for old fogies. The bed was comfortable and everything needed was close at hand. Staff were courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was slightly cold, but may have had a lot to do with the fact that my friend and I had got soaked to the skin on our bikes before we hacked in !!

    Loved the fact that all the staff we met were local to the area. Everyone was lovely. They went out their way to give great service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel and friendly staffr
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bar snacks would have been useful. Noisy at front of hotel at night thanks to boy racers in the car park opposite. Early risers banging doors shut.

    Friendly staff, good food, comfortable room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    4.6
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant arrangement poor for couples. Obviously catering for large groups. Misleading picture on web site. Squeaky beds and noise from adjoining and rooms above.

    Staff very good and willing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    5.8
    There was nothing special at all to like
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a classic double but got a double/twin room with a pair of bunk beds pushed into to it making what would have been a room with ample space quite cramped. The advertising photos of the outside showed gardens. In fact the major outside area is car park, both for the hotel and town parking between the hotel and the river. The view from our room was the back of a transit van! Furthermore we have spent the last two weeks touring the highlands and invariably paid less per night for better accommodation.

    There was nothing special at all to like

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    Is a car park the best place Wick can offer it's kids at night?
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were groups of youngsters in the car park opposite until the early hours some letting off fireworks, some in cars or on motorbikes, some drinking ... they didn't cause a real problem, but I felt the need to keep checking on my car out of the window.

    The hotel itself was fine, no problems at all, clean, comfortable etc.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2016

    6.3
    Right place, good touches but overall needs reinvigorating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel looked and felt very tired. The staff although very good also looked tired and a little scruffy.

    Fruit bowl and water in room was a really nice touch.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    7.5
    Civilisation in the Far North
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel seems to be strained coping with large tourist groups and separate independent guests for dinners. We waited for half an hour for a table to become free for dinner on one night (12/9) and then gave up and went into the town for dinner. Next night the dining tables were also full (13/9). So we spent our money outside of the hotel which was a pity as I chose the hotel for it's menu. However we did get to see Wick.

    Nice place to come back to after a hard days tourism on the Orkney Islands. Very helpful receptionist. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.5
    shower did not work properly, which means that no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    shower did not work properly, which means that no confortable hot water did not come out. quite difficult to adjust the temperature and strength of the water flow.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    7.5
    A reasonable night in an out of the way place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is in need of some TLC - decorating etc. For example the very comfy bed, on further inspection was torn and old looking underneath. Also the description that my room would "have a view of the river" while correct, failed to mention the much nearer bus stances and car park that were in the way!

    It was clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Food was OK and good value for money. The buffet breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    9.2
    Well placed for a final push to John O'Groats!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing of noteworthiness.

    It was good to stay in a busy hotel that is clearly able to host large tour parties without compromising the service level for individual travelers.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    6.7
    pleasant , comfortable stay with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although comfortable the bedroom / bathroom needs refurbishing and updating.

    evening meal which we had was nice, despite some of the reviews. Great selection of fresh fruit for breakfast which was superb , best I have had in a long time.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    5.8
    Not really a holiday hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel needs some TLC ... Bit dated and holes in the stair carpet. Quite expensive for what it offers. If I was on holiday I would be disappointed. Breakfast was good and shows potential on the whole.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    3.8
    Chose the Norseman as opposed to Mackays. What a mistake!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything. Food mediocre and not hot. No follow up from the staff. Customers had to clear tables before sitting down. Service was poor. Room was next to the door leading to the car park so it was noisy.

    The two ladies on reception were happy and very pleasant. Same with the lady who served at breakfast. They were the exception!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    3.8
    Needs some work done to the so called "superior room".
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The towels were not changed. The towel heater did not work. The carpets in the room were very dirty. The window was filthy. The toilet bin was not emptied.

    The breakfasts were passible.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    7.5
    One night in Wick
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building and facilities need some investment, particularly the bathrooms. The very young staff were overwhelmed at breakfast and the service suffered. Not their fault at all - they were unfailingly cheerful and helpful, but needed management support, rather than being left on the front line with no help.

    A very convenient location, with very helpful staff. The receptionist was particularly professional, calm and efficient. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    6.7
    peaceful location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff were under trained with little experience, there was a tour in and all focus was on them. they had no prawns left for my starter and my main order was wrong

    quiet peaceful room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.9
    nice time in all a pleasent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the town was a bit run down

    room was clean hotel was nice location for going sightseeing good food well priced

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.7
    Good food and tidy
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from hotel

    Good food and tidy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.7
    Staff are very friendly and helpful with good service all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is very dated and tired in appearance throughout

    Staff are very friendly and helpful with good service all round

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    the room was a nice size and had a good view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel very outdated

    the room was a nice size and had a good view

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    2.5
    It was not clean food not good the worst one on our trip to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not clean food not good the worst one on our trip to Scotland by far5

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    Sunday lunch was the best carvery ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sunday lunch was the best carvery ever

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff and good central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's next to a public car park so was expecting noise but it was the rooks that woke us early

    Friendly staff and good central location

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: