Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of North Lakes Hotel and Spa - A Thwaites Hotel and Spa 4 stars

Ullswater Road, Penrith, CA118QT, United Kingdom

#32 of 44 hotels in Penrith

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1390 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    7.9
    The rooms are comfy and have what you need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t appreciate being woken up at 7am by a cleaner letting another couple into our room because they had lost a shirt out of the window above!

    The rooms are comfy and have what you need. The food in the restaurant is fantastic. The spa is wonderful. We had a few spa treatments while there which were amazing. Fantastic place to go for a weekend away without the kids.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s just off the motorway so not the best location, don’t judge a book by its cover, doesn’t look much from the front outside, but once inside and enjoying the experience, you forget about the location and what the exterior looks like. My treatment also finished a bit short of the time but the spa facilities are clean and very nice. The pool is very nice also but can get a little busy. They had a swimming lesson on at the time, with one instructor and one child. Their lane was bigger than the allocated swimming lane, not ideal if there are a few wanting to swim as it’s too tight to pass.

    The pictures are a true reflection of the hotel itself. I love all the exposed timber roof and open dining and bar area. The breakfast was really really nice, staff very attentive and the rooms very comfortable. We Stayed in one of the new suites.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    We spent four nights there, and came away delighted that we had been. Overall a very good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The design of the shower was not to my liking. The barrier to prevent water being spilled on the floor of the bathroom left a great deal to be desired, as it was too short. Unfortunately, no matter how hard one tried, the bathroom floor was pooled with water after every shower. The shower in itself was excellent. Also, a toilet brush is a requirement in every bathroom, in my opinion.

    The staff were excellent. Friendly, helpful - nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was also excellent. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. Spacious car park, but with limited disabled parking spaces.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    4.2
    Restaurant food was:_
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant food was:_ 1) Poor quality 2) Extremely overpriced 3) Had to have a shower and change of clothes after meal due to terrible smell of smoke from fire in Restaurant 4) Restaurant staff very rude

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant ! Will be coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flies were a nuisance in the restaurant. Customers service was brilliant although none of the staff had name badgers on. Would of been a bit more personal if we were served by one person.

    We loved the design of the hotel. Some brilliant touches the open fire to cook on was clads

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Very clean and the food was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the bed and shower as I suffer from back problems it wasn’t comfortable due to sagging and causing me more pain. The shower was more of a trickle due to the size of the head, would have preferred a bath

    Very clean and the food was amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.2
    A very comfortable and enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were large and very comfortable. All amenities were excellent and the restaurant was well furnished and served a nice variety of food that was well presented. A lovely property to stay for one or more nights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    PLEASE put in your hotel info not suitable for elderly blind or people with mobility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This Hotel is very challenging for anyone with mobility or sight problems as the floors were uneven in the doorways the threshold had a ridge and you had to lift your wheel chair or rollator over it.The ramp to the lift felt as if you wereclvery little space and the use of the shower was definatelimbing Shap each time. Bathrooms small had to reverse in to usetoilet and the use of the shower was definately a ligistics test. Beds too high and when you eventually managed to struggle on to it it was impossible to turn the lights of unless you has 6 foot long arms

    Staff wonderful very caring and curtious. Appealing hotel to look at light and airy and convenient for the Lake and M6

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Purpose of stay was to break up journey from Midlands to Scotland and this was achieve in comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning in restaurant area set too high, therefore rather nippy!

    Stylish hotel recently refurbished to a high standard. Restaurant and bar were comfortable with standard of food high and excellent service.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    5.4
    Good spa facilities and location to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issue with lots of flies in the restaurant. We ate there once but not again. It’s understandable that there may be some given the weather but we were swamped with them during dinner and there wasn’t enough being done to sort it. We ate at other establishments nearby and it wasn’t a problem.

    Good spa facilities and location to town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    A regular favourite
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all

    Great location, very handy for the motorway yet quiet. 24 hour front desk staffed by knowledgeable and interested staff. Spacious, clean and interesting rooms. Reliable modern food. Lovely pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Rather pricey for wot we got!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Files in restaurant at dinner & breakfast. Whilst I realise they r difficult to deal with & inspite of them the breakfast buffet was uncovered & better left on table I assume as normal. I mentioned to a member of staff, he initially sed we've not covered food as we'll b busy but then did cover food. Unfortunately due to gaps lefttge flies got under the messesz. He did, v kinledy get a croissant from the kitchen for mum mum thou.

    The chambermaid who changed the bed from double to twin (I'd requested a twin wen I bkd) was absolutely lovely & v efficient. Spa was nice too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.6
    No massage!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel for the simple reason of it was my boyfriend's birthday and I thought I would treat him to a spa and massage for the night. I rang to book 2 people for lass he got told they were booked in for 6pm. When we arrived to go for them I just happened to ask if it was for 2 as they only seemed interested in me. And guess what they person who booked it on phone only booked one so this was a pointless stay. We didn't get out massage as wasn't fair just one of us going for one. Waste of alot of money when could of been somewhere else. I am not a happy customer and will never be returning for that reason

    Bed was lovely and comfortable. Hotel and room lovely and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower was very lack luster. I left a charger in the room but that disappeared It was a bit noisy so close to major roads

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bar and restaurant were very nice. Nice areas to sit outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    The whole stay was made enjoyable from being clean &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole stay was made enjoyable from being clean & tidy to comfortable & very relaxing. we had a great nights sleep, the food was beautiful & the staff were very friendly. The Spa was a lovely experience, just beautiful waking up & going for a Sunday morning swim, followed by a large selection of food for breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed. We will definatley be returning & would 100% recommend for anyone wanting to get away for a relaxing weekend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was brilliant had everything you needed, we had breakfast in bed and it was excellent. We used the spa and facilities which were a lovely treat. The restaurant and staff were fantastic. Couldn’t fault a thing. :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    relaxing chilled excellent attention to detail total pick me up weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to dislike

    everything from walking in the staff were great this hotel has the wow factor the rooms are fab the bar and restaurant are excellent nothing is to much trouble for the staff we will be coming back for another stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.6
    I liked that the hotel had an indoor pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was riddled with flies. Especially the continental breakfast, where croissants etc were left uncovered. I also had a few issues at the spa, id spent £400 on treatments, i was 7 minutes late for one treatment. They said they couldn’t do my treatment nor could they give me a refund. After complaining to the hotel manager, who was lovely, he rectified this immediately for me.

    I liked that the hotel had an indoor pool

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.5
    I liked how amazing the staff were helpful on everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need updating. The bunk beds are terrible.. a few safety measure need to be thought about... like cords haging over the bunk bed on the top bunk.. a really easy thing to fix... told reception on departure and they we great said they would take it on board and check the other rooms.. which was good... food it super over priced and off putting we were going to have afternoon tea but at over £70 for 2 adults and 2 little children was crazy.. staff were attentive and super kind and helpful.. the town is only a few mins walk away so fab location..

    I liked how amazing the staff were helpful on everything. The location is amazing and the facilities are super.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.0
    Expensive for a hotel where health and safety is disregarded, and customer service seems unimportant
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One of our party fell into a drain with an unsecured cover and hurt her leg. So far no apology. One of the beds in our room was broken. Workmen showed up outside at 07:30 and started noisy machinery used to maintain or repair the hotel. Staff were mostly polite but not friendly, so better for business and not leisure. There were other issues too. I paid about £140 per night. Quite disappointed, as I thought it would be better and without incident.

    Close to the motorway.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    ideal base and would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only down side was workman were working noisily outside our room from arrival at 3pm to 8.30pm - got to be done I guess though. Evening meal expensive - but was good.

    Good quality breakfast, Spa facilities good. .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.6
    Only here for one night but was a fab stay defo come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only little thing breakfast was lovely but could of been a little bit hotter.

    Hotel staff were all so friendly spa was fab hotel lovely clean and decorated lovely. Weather was lovely so it was lovely sittin outside in the garden area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Fabulous short break in north lakes with great food, ambience and fabulous leisure facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was stylish relaxed and had great eco attitude. There was interesting original artwork and great furniture. The pool and gym were fabulous and state of the art. The kids got a giant cookie each in the room with their names iced. The bunk beds in the family room were exciting for them and they loved the uv lights with the gentle glowing snowy mountain pictures along the length of the bed. The beds were super comfy. The restaurant was flexible with my dietary needs and felt special to eat there in the evenings.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel and will definitely come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seem to have plenty of space in restaurant but they made us wait for a bit before getting seated.

    Do not look great from the outside but the inside is very well designed and decorated and got some 'wow' factor. Room was very nice, confy and big enough. Meal was great, very happy to visit again in future!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    We spent five nights here and found it very comfortable with good facilities and would return.
    • Couple
    • 4 Poster Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The evening menu was the same each day and as we stayed for 5 nights we would have welcomed more choices or a bit of a change. I also felt that it was quite expensive and more in line with London prices than Lake District area usual restaurant costs. The smell from the feature evening 'fire grill' was not very nice when we were seated near it and we asked not to sit in that area again as a result.

    We liked the comfortable rooms of which there were plenty to choose from to sit and have a drink or relax. The winged chairs were very nice and I understand that the hotel has just been updated. The choice of furnishings and colour scheme was very relaxing. We liked the breakfast choices and the bar snack menu was very good for during the day. All the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel, wonderful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little warm without air conditioning, other than that nothing to fault our stay.

    A lovely hotel with great facilities. The staff were wonderful, really attentive during meal times and nothing was ever a problem. Excellent service all round.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking was very difficult. Inattentive staff in restaurant, had to approach them to find out where our table was and what was what for breakfast.

    Comfortable room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Stress free chilled out weekend
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Came here for a weekend break with my wife, lovely clean comfortable rooms, nice pool/steam room. Excellent restaurant with good food and an excellent breakfast choice, will be booking again .....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Receptionist was friendly but was very sick (virtually...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was friendly but was very sick (virtually coughing and sneezing over us!) and should not have been customer facing with that level of cold. It also took 20 minutes to be seated for breakfast despite tables being available. Not very efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.3
    Lovely hotel, very clean, nice atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was supposed to be a relaxing spa but when we arrived in the spa area it felt like we had just joined the local leisure centre at family swim time, kids everywhere, splashing around like it was a leisure centre. I’m happy to see kids playing but not when it’s supposed to be a relaxing spa area. Also at the time we was at the hotel there was a private function christening on, which was fine but we was then restricted to indoor parts of the hotel, the only very small outdoor area was in use for the christening so we couldn’t sit outside at all on what was a very rare hot day in the uk.

    Lovely hotel, very clean, nice atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Much better than expected- really was fantastic! Wish we stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Spa was fab, and after a swim you were treated to a piece of fruit. The beds were enormous and very comfy- also enjoyed the wallpaper on the ceiling of map topography. The artistic poems by the lifts were a nice addition. Breakfast was ace!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic hotel with very expensive restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant prices are redicously over priced. The starter of 3 prawns was £12, steak (albeit well cooked) With peppercorn sauce £30.Add in desert and couple of drinks £62. Goosefat chips were horrible although that might just be down to personal taste.

    Hotel is very good, clean, nice local touches and leisure n spa excellent. Staff throughout hotel esp restaurant very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.6
    Ideally situated close to the village centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideally situated close to the village centre. Only a 10 minute walk. Lovely comfortable bed and the room was lovely. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were friendly. The spa facilities were nice too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location, friendly but overpriced
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced - you can stay in a country house hotel with all the luxuries for the same price. Nearly £5 for a latte in the bar. Rooms nice but nothing special. Meeting room looked half finished.

    Friendly, local staff. Great food. Well placed for driving and yet still quiet. Good gym and spa but pool not great for doing lengths.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    On arrival met by very friendly reception staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On arrival met by very friendly reception staff. The rooms that i have stayed in a clean and spacious. The SPA is clean and well maintained and quiet. The restaurant staff are attentive and friendly (have personalities)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Room was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the restaurant was very slow - difficult when you have small, impatient children.

    Room was lovely. Good use of space for childrens bunk beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.7
    Expensive hotel, which did not meet our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The boiler had broken in the spa so the pool was icy cold. There was building work going on at the time which was disruptive. We asked if our rooms could be together and they were on different floors - the hotel said this couldn’t be adjusted as we had booked through this website

    Clean hotel. Comfortable bed. Nice decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Spa break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Back of Toilet seats grimy in the changing rooms and corners of the floor. Eve meal restaurant poor choice. Not in keeping with a spa. Over priced small portions

    Rooms clean and comfy bed. Spa staff friendly. Excellent massage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, but facilities probably over-used by the locals to be comfortable for the guests.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ben was uneven/slanted toward the headboard. Pool got busy very early, by 6:30am it had 6 people in due to gym/spa members.

    Pool was fantastic, food was really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely to have use of the gym and spa during the stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower wasn't great, leaked and very little pressure

    Lovely to have use of the gym and spa during the stay. Room was really nice, and even had real milk for the tea/coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    The hotel is exceptional and the staff are so helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is exceptional and the staff are so helpful. I’ve stayed in hotels all around the world but never in a hotel as relaxing as this one. Superb stay will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the only thing I disliked. It was far too soft and felt like a waterbed. I didn't get much sleep unfortunately.

    The restaurant was brilliant. The breakfast was amazing with the pastries and hot food was cooked to perfection. Our evening meal was delicious. I loved the chefs table starter.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice to get away and celebrate a wedding in an idillic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    weak coffee at breakfast and no milk in the room for tea and coffee

    The coffee at breakfast was very very weak but coffee in the cafe was lovely. Room was very hot at night but hotel on the whole was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful spa hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flow of people through the reception area and the restaurant could be problematic and there didn’t seem enoughrestaurant staff on duty at busy times.

    The room was lovely. Very comfortable and clean. The spa, swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room were very well equipped and luxurious. I had a vitamin C massage with Sarah who was warm,friendly, professional and a great massage therapist. The breakfasts were brilliant continental and hot food served to you. Car park was large.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    Relaxing and well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little disappointed i couldn't book a treatment but i had left it too late and tried to book the day we arrived.

    Comfy bed. Loved the Herdy mugs in the room (went out and bought some for myself) and the tea and coffee branding. Spa was lovely and the food was very tasty and very well presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel to break up a long journey to and from the south.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely spa area, hotel and room decor very nice.

    Felt the dishes were a bit overpriced. I had a Goats Cheese and Beets starter which was mostly beetroot and with very little goats cheese, my husband had scallops - 2 on the plate and quite tasteless. Also felt the steak dishes could have had more on the plate for the money. Very small portion of sauce, half a grilled tomato and fries. We had to pay an extra £3.85 for a very small portion of green beans and the same for some onion rings. Quite disappointing overall.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Extremely pleasant and relaxing, couldn’t babe asked for a better stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was fantastic!

    The hotel facilities were fantastic, better then we expected and the staff couldn’t have been more helpful and friendly! Nothing was too much to ask and all staff were willing to go the extra mile!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing and refreshing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were a little short mannered and there were so many children in the pool. I think a cornered off section for them would be useful so length swimmers can carry on whereas this was not possible at points.

    The restaurant was amazing and the staff were so friendly. There was one lady especially with a short bob hairstyle who served us both evenings. She was so friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    Relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly overpriced . Swimming pool is relaxing but small . Food in restaurant good but portions very small.

    Fridge in the room was useful . Comfortable bed. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    It was a great place to relax with young children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool needs to be cleaned a bit more as was getting a bit manky in the middle from paper falling out of peoples pockets.

    It was a great place to relax with young children. They did the small things well for the kids and they loved it. Nice pool and gym for adults as well. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel, excellent facilities, just off the motorway but no noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so uncomfortable - such a pity.

    This hotel is absolutely beautiful! So well done and great for families. The room with bunk beds for kids is gorgeous, all the little touches make such a massive diff- cookies for kids with their names, even got ‘VI Little P’ robes, fudge each and hot chocolate. Loved the smeg mini fridge, complimentary water, juice for kids and coffee machine in the room. Majority of staff were excellent 👍🏻. The breakfast is absolutely delicious, something for everyone. We ate their in the evening too and the meal was amazing- 10/10. Swimming pool area was beautiful, kids loved it, changing facilities were spotless too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.5
    The room was not value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The colour of the room. The wooden plain shelf and small table in the room.

    The room was painted in grey which was boring. The shelf in the room was not nice it just look like plain wood. The table in the room was plain wood too. For £135 per night a better room should have provided. Then there is white radiator in the room nowadays you don't see that in hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Paying for bed and breakfast online for whole family then...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying for bed and breakfast online for whole family then being told to pay extra for both children’s breakfasts Upton check in, not good! Other than that would go again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    lovely modern family hotel with great facilities and access to the Western lakes and Penrith.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay extra for kids breakfasts - unexpected extra cost. Breakfast was acceptable but very average - no hash browns / black pudding

    Really lovely sized family room. Nice modern decor. Cookies with kids names on were waiting for us - the kids loved that!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful welcome, great food, swimming and spa... great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had booked a standard double room (along with a family room). Unknown to us, the hotel upgraded us to a 4 poster suite as they knew that we were going to be married at Gretna Green whilst we were there! The check in was fantastic and the lady who checked us in and out was amazing (& helped us with recommendations for a florist & a restaurant too) the spa and swimming facilities great, the open fires and eating choices were fab. and the breakfasts were gorgeous. We'll be back for our anniversary!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Amazing, coming every anniversary
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of Gin

    Loved the decor amazing style. Pool facilities amazing. Spa and treatment rooms was amazing. Food was amazing too! Can’t explain! We loved every second.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed i asked for was not provided. I was told that they will move me to another room, but that never happened. I had human feces on my towel. Ate in the restaurant, and when I took the last sip of my wine, there was grit at the bottom, which I also ingested. The bed was made very very poorly, and there was still rubbish left in the room. We had to clean the bath ourselves before using it. My total Bill came to £670, and all i got as a sorry, was a £40 meal. I have left my details with the hotel manager, and no one has yet called me.

    The food was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Definitely going back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only 1 plug in our room - it was manageable for the amount of time we stayed there but had we stayed longer, an extension cable would have been great. I found the cooked breakfast was only warm - maybe due to the layout? Not sure but would have been better hot! Even so - I would stay again

    All the staff were really friendly, the facilities are brilliant and the interior decor is gorgeous (the outside does not do it justice!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    A lovely break for our minimoon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was beautiful - a little more variety at breakfast would have been nice (hash browns)! Spa was lovely! Staff very friendly! A lovely hotel :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel shame it was spoilt by other guests. Complained to hotel and no reply.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact a boys rugby team was staying in the hotel. The noise they caused running up and down corridors and at breakfast. The breakfast wasn't up to the usual standard the eggs were cold.

    The beautiful pool and spa area. The room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    Leisure facilities and pool area were great - clean, warm and relaxing. Id recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service for the evening meal was slow. More noticeable with having children who were eager to eat and move through the various courses. We had to ask for courses, bill and ordered wine several times. The restaurant was lovely but a little cool in both temperature and ambience. Felt a little like eating in an up market service station like Tebay or Gloucester. Some background music would have helped. Beautiful and functional room. Plenty wardrobe space but not a set of drawers in sight.

    A extensive choice of meals for both children and adults. Food was tasty and well presented but portions a little less than expected for the price. Breakfast options and quality was top!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside of the hotel looks dated. Needs a lick of white paint instead of the sky blue paint they have. Inside very nice.

    Good hotel. Poor location. Handy for motorway but Penrith not the best town in the world.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Lovely place inside the building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting an hour for dinner to come out But the Manager did apologise and refund the drinks And the toilet/bath in the room was for a midgets And I’m 5ft

    Staff where amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sink in our room was cracked and one of the cups for tea had several long dark hairs clinging to it.

    The food was absolutely delicious and not overpriced. The beds were comfy. The staff were lovely and the children loved the pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.....

    This property had fantastic facilities, plenty to do in the hotel without going anywhere else.. the staff were all great, they couldn’t possibly go above and beyond anymore than they did... the service was 2nd to none, so spot on... room service was really quick

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    6.7
    All in all we really enjoyed it and would definitely recommend to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Children’s bunk beds were newly installed and had a void/gap down the back- my daughter managed to drop her reading glasses down the back- very helpful member of staff had to get us a pole and sticky tape to help us retrieve the glasses otherwise the bed would have had to be dismantled to reach them! Need to install a fillet piece of wood at top to avoid repeat of this :)

    Very comfortable room and relaxing atmosphere in spa, bar and restaurant. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    The croissants were indeed extra flakey and delicious!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was very busy at all times so me and my partner only spent a hour in there all weekend, which was after the children left at 7.30pm on Friday evening. I feel there should be more 'adult only' time over the weekend. This gives people without children time in the pool as the pool is quite small for so many people/children if you would like to have a relaxing and/or swim.

    The croissants were indeed extra flakey and delicious! The bed was extremely soft and comfortable but I suffer with lower back pain therefore too soft isn't too good for me after a two night stay. The facilities were really enjoyable, however the hotel was extra busy with it being half term/valentines week therefore we didn't managed to get a space for a massage in the spa or any other treatments, which was a shame. All in all, me and my partner had a fabulous weekend in the hotel and would definitely return and make sure we had an appointment in the spa.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.8
    the bed was really comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room, whole hotel had a really bad smell, walls really thin so didn't sleep much thanks to room next door being loud. breakfast was just under 13pound and could of got a better one from a local cafe for alot less

    the bed was really comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Amazing and relaxing highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Was really slow to check in that's about it but no issue at all

    Room was fantastic and clean. Really comfy bed. The whole hotel was lovely and the spa was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    Okay for stopover!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No children in pool at stated times. Bathroom a bit dated , climbing into bath to take shower not easy for more mature clients

    Restaurant and lounge facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Staff were very hospitable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very hospitable. The little extras were wonderful VI little P dressing gown, personalised cookie - fantastic touches and the restaurant and food was exceptional.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were quite small in comparison to hotels I have stayed in previously. I felt the menu choice in the hotel was a bit limited, but th food we did have was delicious

    The hotel was beautiful and the staff were very helpful. There were lots of lovely little touches that really made our stay so lovely

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.7
    Over priced, spa is the least relaxing place to go. Wouldn’t go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa facilities. Couldn’t relax as children screaming in the pool all weekend. Swimming lessons going on. More like a public baths!! Wasn’t able to get a massage either as booked up from spa days! So paying guests couldn’t get full use of what they had paid for. So not value for money in the slightest

    The hotel was great. The room was beautiful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    A luxurious weekend in the heart of the Lakes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room is being refurbished/rebuilt so is restricted. Breakfast was slow because of many guests but no room. Breakfast was until 10 and because all guests were on weekend breaks they wanted to have a late breakfast, but that meant that there was a queue from about 9.20. Perhaps more staff on or extended time for breakfast would have helped.

    The swimming pool is a good feature. The room was very comfortable. Staff very nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    Very nice rooms ,fab décor.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice rooms ,fab décor. Nice touch water & fresh milk in fridge. Excellent buffet Lunch ,great choice & quantity . Our evening meal was fabulous at our conference. Piping hot and delicious. Special mention to the lovely lady in charge of the restaurant didn't get her name (she retires soon) Her customer service and efficiency 10 out of 10 WELL DONE !

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: