Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Northcote Manor 3 stars

Burrington, Umberleigh Bridge, EX37 9LZ, United Kingdom

#2 of 2 hotels in Umberleigh Bridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 40 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    2.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    10
    Excellent will visit again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi fi was awful. It kept coming in and out throughout the hotel but the property is in the country so that should be expected. But that was the only thing we could have a little complaint about.

    The room was excellent big comfy bed and large Duvet, The breakfast Menu was extensive and the food delicious. We had an evening meal at the hotel and although quite expensive it was worth every penny, exceptional food. The staff were fantastic especially with our dog and the service was great you were made to feel at home

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    We had only one very small complaint, and that was the lack of comfortable seating in the lovely gardens. This would have allowed us to sit outside for longer and enjoy the peaceful surroundings.

    The bed was really comfy and the room well laid out. The staff were attentive but not over the top. We stayed for 9 nights and ate in the wonderful restaurant. The food was really good and because we stayed so long we had extended menus to choose from. Overall we had a wonderful stay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    7.9
    A great short break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was poor generally and non-existant in our room (even at 3.00am).

    Excellent setting, relaxing generally, very friendly staff and first class dinner.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel, took my dogs with me and they had a lovely walk in the grounds and woodland area. Peaceful, quiet location. Excellent breakfast. Staff very helpful and accommodating; I asked if I could have breakfast a little earlier which was promptly arranged. Room was stylishly decorated and was clean and comfortable. Looking forward to returning again!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    Enjoyed everything until we went to bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The one thing that spoilt the whole experience for both myself and my wife was the bed. The size was superb, plenty of space, beautifully presented and exceptionally clean, but the mattress was so soft. I understand its a personal thing but we are both now suffering with bad backs and we just did not get any sleep the whole night long. It completely ruined what would have been a perfect stay. When I checked in the morning it turns out its a' V Spring ', a superb make, but was made in 2003.!! Come on Northcote Manor, 180.00 per night and you are using a 15 year old mattress. Was it just our room with an ancient mattress or does every room have one..... it was such a shame.

    The overall charm of the property. It was exceptionally clean. Breakfast was lovely with good service . We were upgraded to a superior room [ Monkleigh ] directly over the main entrance overlooking the front lawn and the fields beyond. The grounds alongside the main drive were great for a little hike through the Rhododendrons and ferns.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    The taxi service that was recommended to us by your hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxi service that was recommended to us by your hotel cost £60 from your hotel to high bullen hotel which was a short journey, we contacted them and they took off £10 and even that we thought was expensive for a 10 miuete drive. We were told we had to pay from South Milton as this is where they are basted. We feel we should have been told this then it would have given us a choice and we wouldn't have used them

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Overall,quite enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Car park was a little distant.On the first morning the Full English Breakfast was really dry.Probably prepared way before we sat down.One of the worst I've ever had.

    A lovely old country house set in vast woodland.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.0
    Not overwhelmed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed decorating ... ceiling need patching up & repainting. Couldn't use the kettle unless you put it on the floor ... lead wasn't long enough for the electric point. Staff on arrival ... tall young guy offered us a tour which was absurdly poor !! Reception area wasn't defined .., looked like a bar ?! Price of the room was excessively expensive for what was on offer .... will have to up your game considerably to justify the price of 225 for a nights stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent last minute local break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower above bath wasn't very secure and the shower screen didn't allow much protection, hence a drenched floor.

    Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Evening meal was delicious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I know there are plans for a Spa and that will be a fantastic addition, especially if the views are part of the experience...

    The setting is fantastically tranquil with beautiful views. The Hotel has great charm, the bed was super comfy and the food delicious. Staff also need a special attention as genuinely friendly and keen to help.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely setting, relaxing and quiet location. Brought our dogs and enjoyed walking in the grounds and woodland area. Friendly, helpful staff. Will return!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    The staff made it comfortable, but the environment could have secured it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband and I almost didn't book in, we arrived and the entrance and front grounds were very unkempt I thought your property was dirty and I dreaded what I booked. However, I realised that I had little option as we were miles from nowhere. We were led to our room and stayed for a meal and two nights, it had faults in terms of air conditioning but your service and food did make our stay enjoyable. You have a lot to offer, just make it more welcoming.

    The staff were wonderful, smart, friendly and very obliging. The meals were good and pleasantly served

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    7.1
    Don't think it's like the brochure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a dead wisteria at the entrance which is flowering profusely in the brochure, which is out of date. Very run down and tatty décor, all brown grey and black. Dying flowers in a dirty vase. Nobody there to create a welcoming ambience. Good restaurant and food, but you could hear what every other diner was saying as there was no background buzz.

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Great city escape, found peace, fully charged!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Be patient to find the location, and drive a big car in the country lane in Devon. Most British people are used to drive in the country lane, I am not. But at the end it's worth it.

    A beautiful house surrounded by green hills, sheeps and cows. Perfect for city escapers. Birds singing and sheeps bleating, peaceful! Food in hotel restaurant is a great experience, worth a try!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.1
    Lovely, quiet and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in felt a little unloved. No pictures on the walls or any kind of decor. Needed a little refresh of paint. This would have made a massive difference.

    The food was exceptional. Décor downstairs was also in keeping with the property

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    9.2
    It was a very comfortable and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have liked an overhead shower in the bathroom.

    the room was spacious and quiet and all the the staff were very attentive. the food was very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    The ambience and peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ambience and peaceful location. Very helpful and friendly staff. Room very comfortable with nice little added touches.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.6
    Nice quiet stay with great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We felt a little rushed at dinner which was unusual as every other time we’ve stayed this hasn’t been an issue.

    Polite staff, very quiet location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    We will come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The house is fascinating, personell very polite, the stay was very restful, breakfast at its best.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    A nice break in our journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a pity the weather wasn't better so we weren't able to enjoy a walk around the property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely setting, relaxing environment. Staff friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no wifi

    no wifi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    Would definetly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel lovely staff loved it

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Food excellent, lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    The fact that they turned the bed at night. It felt so special.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    8.8
    Wonderful short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet and hidden away country Manor House. Staff friendly and wonderful breakfast. Room was spacious. A real treat!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    6.3
    The meals prepared at restaurant, our room draperies were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They were attentive but they were really focused on that day's wedding prep

    The meals prepared at restaurant, our room draperies were well worn, wood perk was dirty in room and bath.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.9
    Delicious cooked breakfast and friendly welcoming staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coming back at night in the dark - the car park was not very well lit to see where to walk to the hotel entrance

    Delicious cooked breakfast and friendly welcoming staff

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    5.0
    Nice location in a quiet environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The price / value ratio is in our opinion not given. Infrastructure at least in our room was very old fashioned

    Nice location in a quiet environment

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    10
    Wonderful location, gorgeous rooms which all seemed to have...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wonderful location, gorgeous rooms which all seemed to have great views ans lots of space, a spacious dining room and delicious breakfast and friendly, helpful staff. Just perfect - I hope to return.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    8.8
    The remote location, quietness, high standard of the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    when we arrived at the property we were not aware that there was not a receptionist and we waited for a while before we realised that we had to walk through to the next room to find a small bell we had to ring to get somebodies attention!

    The remote location, quietness, high standard of the hotel in general!

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    9.6
    The setting of the hotel grounds with views over north Devon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The setting of the hotel grounds with views over north Devon was pretty special. The staff were very helpful particularly those serving us in the restaurant. Our room was very nice although not in the old part of the hotel. Ideally they could make it clearer where the rooms are so people can make the best choices about old vs new.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    Great, secluded setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Great, secluded setting. Excellent staff and superb food. All round a lovely two day break.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Staff were very attentive and helpful and made us very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very attentive and helpful and made us very welcome

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2015

    8.3
    The welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The welcome. Good food

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    7.5
    Building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food at dinner expensive and mediocre They do not serve cocktails

    Building. Staff

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    10
    LOCATION.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TOAST WITH BREAKFAST VERY THICK AND NOT TOASTED. JUST WARM BREAD.

    LOCATION. PEACE AND QUIET. FOOD STAFF.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: