Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Northern Hotel 3 stars

Clerk Street, Brechin, DD9 6AE, United Kingdom

#3 of 3 hotels in Brechin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 137 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    pity they didnt tell us the full story until after we had booked, basic hard working hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we were well aware of the bike festival being held in the town before going what we didn't know or weren't made aware of until after confirming a non refundable booking was that the hotel was a central location for said festival and that we would have issues accessing their car park, which I had phoned ahead and enquired about their car parking arrangements before finalising the booking, so was annoyed when an email arrived a few days before our stay saying that we might have issues. In real terms we would have booked elsewhere if we had known or been made aware of this before confirming any booking. Concern about the safety of our vehicles did spoil our stay somewhat. My partner found the beds to be on the hard side whilst the rooms etc of the couple staying with us were reported as being fine. wifi was slow. Lighting in hallways at rooms was on the dark side which gave a bit of fun when trying to put the room key into the door.

    central in the town and non stop & pleasant staff especially the owner manager, it seemed that she was on the go all day. Breakfast was produced to a good standard and again staff very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    We had managed to book one of the last 2 rooms available...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee at breakfast wasn't good.

    We had managed to book one of the last 2 rooms available that weekend and were allowed to choose extra large bed. Really comfortable. It turned out it was a family room, lovely and spacious with a larger bathroom too. Just excellent. Delicious croissant at breakfast too.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel in centre of brechin
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel,perfectly located. Clean rooms,great shower and very good WiFi signal. Food in restaurant was amazing and breakfast exceptional. Staff very helpful and manager helped me with printing from hotel computer

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    Most of it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First thing was when went to the bar there was no staff went out for a show back to the hotel about 11pm went bed and was above the bar and the music was being played till 1am 1.30am & the noise outside from people leaving the bar but I would like a response from booking.com not like other times I make comments

    Most of it

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice local hotel that if I was in the area or had friends who were visiting I would definitely .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I could complain about.

    The food was very nice, I like that they cooked fresh and not pre made. Staff were friendly and pleasant. Room was comfortable bed good size and the shower had good pressure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.2
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the room for what it was, the noise heard in the room and coming from the bar until it closed. The damp marks on the wall. The wait to check in.

    The room size was great and the decor in the bar and reception were lovely and breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    3.3
    Not as advertised on website, poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had phoned to say we would arrive late, no lights from car park, room was wrong, very loud disco, hotel in poor repair and unclean, room did look like it had been decorated recently. Did not want to chance breakfast...would never recommend. Clientele dodgy and seemed to know night porter which makes me think they were living in hotel.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, nice food, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was situated on the ground floor presumably as we had a pet, this was located through a door located next to the hotel bathrooms. This area could be dressed up a bit (i.e. plastic sign on the door directing you to the rooms looked a bit shabby)

    The location is perfect and the restaurant was very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    Disappointed in the decline in this beautiful spacious apartment ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our second stay and we were disappointed with the decline in the apartment including badly stained carpet ceiling in bathroom very damaged damp and stained, microwave not clean found socks under bed from previous occupants. No plug in kitchen sink. We were saddened at the decline though staff at hotel seemed to be unaware of it and apologised. The beds were very clean and comfortable as were the lovely white towels.

    We liked the Caledonian Railway as that was the reason for visit. We like the town centre location spacious apartment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    A fine place to be for our needs
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say about this

    The beds were comfy the room was adequate for our needs had never be to Brechin before and we were going to a golden wedding just perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    5.4
    It served its urpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise, the chilliness of the whole place including the rooms

    The staff were lovely despite being rushed off their feet and clearly in need of more colleagues

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    Just what we would have wished for.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was limited. There was difficulty locating our bottle of wine which arrived after our meal was served.

    The home made scones were excellent. The bed was so comfortable. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Staff were very welcoming, cooked breakfast in the morning was excellent even for fussy eaters and the accommodation was ideal for what we were looking forl

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    2.5
    Booked a room as an offer sent to me by booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a room as an offer sent to me by booking.com. Turns out they had made a mistake and could not honour original price. I called and asked to change this and was offered a room well over my budget. Explained this and the manager offered me a standard double for £80 (more than was advertised on booking.com at full price) and so I declined. Still awaiting a refund and cancellation as hotel have advised it was booking.com who had to amend this. Was looking forward to my stay so was disappointed.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Very friendly and great staff. A great place to stay. Comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 23 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I found mould under the bath mat in my room. I bought bleach and cleaned it myself. The cleaner also moved some of my things around and I was a little troubled about that. Otherwise every thing else was very good.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends. Thanks to everyone,I had a really good time.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed with an apartment that was in a separate, dilapidated building and was shabby and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note that this review relates to the family apartments. The family apartments are in a separate building, which is dilapidated, not very secure and exits onto a busy road. This wasn't evident -- to me, at least -- at the time of booking. The 'on-site' parking is, therefore, not really on site. The apartment was shabby and dirty, with an entry door that appeared to have been forced and patched up at least once. Other problems included, for example, that there were several table lamps that were plugged in but had no bulbs in them, representing a real electrocution hazard to young children. My dissatisfaction on arrival wasn't really addressed, with the only suggestion being that we could pay more for rooms in the hotel proper. When I said we'd rather just continue our journey and look elsewhere, I was told that that was up to me but I'd be paying for the accommodation either way.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    BAD BREAKFAST.NO STAFFF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in breakfast was terrible.one poor girl on her own and the tables were not set properly.we had no orange juice.no milk in milk jug..no butter for toast.and when toast did turn up after several reminders!it was wrong!brown not white.not hot and not even toasted!!!!so very dissapointed with breakfast .considering the price of it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.1
    Nice location, nice hotel, little overpriced for the rating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location, nice hotel, little overpriced for the rating I would give it. The food was poor. Breakfast and the lunch we had on our arrival. Not up to any standard.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    4.6
    A dated premises, apartments are across the road from the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The carpet was stained and unpleasant, all of the furniture was tired, the couch and bed uncomfortable. There was no phone to connect you to the hotel which was across the road. I would have been uncomfortable if I had been alone there. There was no booklet about the hotel and locality which is usual in hotel apartments that I have stayed in before. These two reasons meant we were not really connected to the hotel and had no reason to go there at all. The curtains in the second bedroom were very thin so it was daylight by 4am. I did report that to management so hopefully they change them. Parking is provided (about 10 spaces) but it is across the road behind the hotel so awkward to load and unload the car. There is no lift in the apartment building and no offer to help us, we were on the third floor! There is traffic noise, not deafening, but it is an old building with single glazing and on a main route.

    We stayed in an apartment. the privacy was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    7.9
    good ,central location.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being on the main road, traffic is very noisy from about 6.30 am until about 8 am

    good ,central location. Free parking. we were in an apartment which is across the road from the main hotel, and the kitchen had everything we needed. Also the views were lovely.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    5.4
    Average stay, a bit overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They forgot to clean my room, change used bedding / towels etc before my arrival, but staff dealt with the issue quickly and efficiently. Ribeye steak dinner was average.

    Good location / free parking nearby. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    7.1
    Could be so much better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the down side my evening meals were some of the worst I have ever had working away from home. Very poor standard just a real bug bear of mine when the owners of a hotel do not recognize that the food they serve just lets everything else down.

    I thought the bedrooms were very neat and tidy, really nice pleasant hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    9.2
    The Staff were more than helpful and catered for all our...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff were more than helpful and catered for all our needs. Breakfast was excellent, parking was on site, WIFi was good, and Location was central.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    6.7
    Good, cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    New windows maybe in the apartments?? They are that thin, it was like having the window wide open when traffic went past

    The space we had in the apartment was very cosy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    8.8
    A Little Gem.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing not to like.

    Comfortable rooms. Excellent, friendly and welcoming staff. Of all the hotels to choose from in the area this would always be my first choice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    5.0
    Never again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disorganised .No one on reception. Had to search for staff. Was kept awake by drunken wedding party guests allowed to run around around hotel corridors until 2am. Received abrupt phone call immediately prior to visit demanding to know when I'd be arriving. Was told to hang on and kept waiting on phone for 8minutes. Unacceptable.

    Clean room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    6.3
    We won't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 usable bedside lamp between 2 rooms. No mirror in one. Toilet roll holder hanging off wall. Nowhere in bathroom for toiletries. No drawers for clothes in bedroom. Apartment entrance dirty.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    8.8
    comfortable and friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    this room is on the corner of the hotel at a junction so can be noisy from passing traffic

    we were given the bridal suite which was very comfortable and quite spacious. Staff were all helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Great location close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked breakfast to be included in cost however plenty of eating places close by and we also had dinner in the hotel which was lovely. We look forward to going back.

    Loved location we used one of the apartments which was spacious and clean and great for families, we were in area to take 2 little boys to journey on the steam trains which was in walking distance.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    2.9
    Extermly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath shower screen was inadequate when you shower the water leaks everywhere. The two other beds the slats missing and falling off. I had to ask the staff to replace the bed. The beds were not suitable for adults. The extractor fan from the kitchen was extremely noisy could not sleep properly. Staff did not replenish shower gel bottles.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.3
    Lovely hotel/staff but.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked staff to call us a taxi and they refused and gave us a number. Single beds - it's been years since we've had an actual single bed in a hotel and even worse was there were single quilts too - as a petite 5'2" female My feet were hanging off the end of the bed and the quilt didn't cover all of me - my friend is 6' so was much worse off! The bars were closed when we arrived back in the evening and it was only about 2320 - although we were allowed to purchase 1 drink each and take it to our room we would much rather have sat in the bar/lounge for a drink. Most hotel bars stay open for residents nowadays.

    Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.1
    Comfortable hotel in the centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price which, although typical for Scotland, seemed steep for the location.

    The room was comfortable and the breakfast was a hearty one. The interior of the hotel is surprisingly good compared with its rather austere exterior

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    9.2
    All rounder excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to come home :(

    The staff were amazing, welcoming, professional and very helpful! Went out there way with everything! The food in restaurant was fresh and delicious at reasonable prices! The cleanliness all round the room, restaurant, reception were spotless! Great stay!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    The apartment they offered was excellent, clean and spacious.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The apartment they offered was excellent, clean and spacious. Great to not just have a room but an actual whole apartment

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    7.9
    Dinner and breakfast was good, staff friendly and competent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Dinner and breakfast was good, staff friendly and competent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Large nice room,clean,great shower.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large nice room,clean,great shower. Tasty breakfast and dinner in restaurant was delicious Definitely will be back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.1
    Basic hotel that works
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The disco below can get noisy

    Smooth check in A parking for a car

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Booked last minute so couldn't be picky, good value for money but a bit noisey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saturday night music finished st 1am and was noises as people left.

    Breakfast was good and staff friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet paper of the very thin variety. Could definitely use a better loo roll

    An excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    4.2
    Speechless
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was above the very noisy hotel pub and the room was cold. We were given a fan heater. The hotel lobby and restaurant were also cold!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Lovely size room and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely size room and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    4.2
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    service

    location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.2
    Very enjoyable. Excellent dinner especially the Cullen Skink.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street entrance needs refurbishment.

    Comfy bed and spacious lounge. Equipped kitchen and good bathroom. All very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.1
    ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    shower head was filthy

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    It was very nice, good food and breakfast spot on, would certainly stay again,thank you
    • Couple
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carling lager was flat

    A very enjoyable stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel, we always use the Northern when we are in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast, waiter maybe needs a little more training on meeting and greeting guests but he was friendly nonetheless.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Had a really comfortable stay, with nice food and friendly staff. Thank you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Liked everything.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.0
    Not good would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bar downstairs which was playing loud music all night. Couldn't sleep well. Also the family required maintenace work

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee

    Friendly receptionist, clean rooms & bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.9
    Quaint friendly hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was average and took a while to be served. Room was quite small and no bath but for the most part it was okay

    Excellent staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Staff were helpful and everything was orderly and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were helpful and everything was orderly and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    6.3
    Easy to get to
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast. Cheap low quality ingredients. Sausage nearly raw :(

    Easy to get to

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Good wholesome Scottish Food excellent service nothing was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can not improve on perfection A Scottish Honeymoon

    Good wholesome Scottish Food excellent service nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a bit soft for my liking

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful and very clean room nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.9
    Stayed in the apartment and was perfect for seeing family in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Large Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the apartment and was perfect for seeing family in the area

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Would recommend the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Large Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hand rail on apartment stair required.

    Perfect situation near centre of town. Car park behind hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    9.6
    Enjoyable break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good sized room, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    Very convenient for Town Hall. Very cosy and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No biscuit

    Spacious room And shower Free parking Lovely curtains

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    9.2
    Location, staff and food were all good to excellent, no...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not anything I disliked.

    Location, staff and food were all good to excellent, no complaints. Would stay again if the need arose.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.6
    Stunning food
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Secondary glazing to cut down outside noise

    Staff were extra friendly which helps when a lone traveller. Food outstanding.Would definately stay again

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    10
    brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast would be better as a buffet

    Room was beautiful

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel, Amazing staff
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff from reception, bar staff, restaurant, cleaners were excellent. So friendly and nothing was too much bother

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    9.6
    Good weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room rate

    Food was excellent accommodation comfortable but a bit expensive for the room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    10
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Showers are amazing 😄

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Super friendly and super clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would hAve liked bed to be bigger as we're used to sleeping in super king but not a big deal

    Staff were excellent and breakfast excellent

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    6.3
    Won't be returning!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very close to wedding with loud music and dancing,when complained staff suggested couldn't have been in worse room,no apology

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    10
    Quick break at a Scottish gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent stay. Very obliging staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    6.7
    Breakfast was a bit of random meat and fruit to be honest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit of random meat and fruit to be honest

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    8.8
    Staff a bit slow with our evingu meal and really slow at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff a bit slow with our evingu meal and really slow at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    10
    Fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Mini Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were fab, especially the gentleman that welcomed us and went out of his way to make the kids comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.5
    Good food reasonably priced, pleasant helpful friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good food reasonably priced, pleasant helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.5
    staff were good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    got woke up at 130 with a party leaving the hotel complained

    staff were good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.6
    Great spacious room - and great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    secured wifi not available in room

    Great spacious room - and great food. Very comfortable stay

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    Traditional old style hotel but rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good car parking and newly refurbished room

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: