Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Edinburgh Park 4 stars

15 Lochside Avenue, Edinburgh, EH12 9DJ, United Kingdom

#59 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2093 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is adjacent to both the railway line and the tram. If you're on the sides where the track pass there is some noise which could be disturbing.

    Overall a good business hotel. There is a pool & gym with a range of equipment. The food in the restaurant is acceptable and the staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not many restaurants nearby if you wanted to eat elsewhere, but just a minor notice

    Bed was very comfortable, room service quick and tasty, nice staff, close to local retail park for some last minute shopping, close to tram but also calm

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Couldn't reduce air conditioning temperature so was too warm and uncomfortable. 2) Hot breakfast was dry and overcooked because we didn't go early enough but, with it still on, it should have been kept fresh. 3) Breakfast was expensive! 4) Pancake machine... yuck! 5) For the high price the parking should be free to residents and the awful breakfast.

    Good facilities, great location for public transport into town or to the airport, clean and modern.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great. The handle bar you can hold from in the shower was loose and I was afraid to take hold from it. The shower floor was pretty slippery, but there was the anti-slipping plastic thing I recommend everyone using.

    The bed was excellent, and the shower was wonderful, especially the rain-shower. We rested here very well. The staff was also wonderful, especially Sofia! She helped us on phone when we got a bit lost on our way there from the airport and prepared our arrival while we took a taxi there. She was very welcoming and friendly, thank you Sofia! Tip for others coming there from the airport, don't take a bus, it doesn't stop near the hotel even if they have a stop called Edinburgh Park. Take the tram!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not many facilities within walking distance. Linens were dirty but we're exchanged quickly.

    Pet friendly and no surcharge for bringing your dog. Well connected with transport links, with the start of the M8 motorway and a train and tram station next door. Free parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was great plenty choice, but if things were finished they were not replenished, very quickly or never

    Great modern feel, pool & gym which was brilliant!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice to have a small outside patio area to enjoy the good weather with a cool drink

    Lovely hotel , very comfortable and clean and the staff were very welcoming, the swimming pool was nice too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could do with some air con. They do have a cool setting but takes a while for the temperature to come. Once it did though, it was fine

    The bed was really comfortable and room was a good size. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice! Location is fab and excellent for tram/train. Would definitely recommend and will come back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we received our room key, the room was bright and clean but I was on the understanding that the room would have a bath but only had a walk in shower. On booking.com app next to all the queen superior rooms they all have a bath icon. We contact reception and they advised they only had one room left on the property with a bath but this would be a down graded room. This room was very dull and unclean. Myself and my partner decided to stay with the original room. The staff at the property on arrival weren’t very helpful at all. We used the facilities at the property, the steam room had tiles falling off and wasn’t very clean.

    The room was bright and clean. The bed in the room was very comfortable. The hotel is based in a good location, you can get either a tram or train straight into the city. The parking at the hotel is £4 for 24 hours, I thought this was really good. The day we checked out the hotel let us to continue to use the parking for that day so we could go into the city centre using the train to avoid parking cost in the city. The staff member that helped us check out the following day was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Clean. Friendly. Toilet did not fully flush. Had to call staff into my room to explain the ridiculous shower apparatus because of a lack of in-room directions. Service at two meals excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. You can park at the hotel, only 4 pounds per night, and the Tram stop is just a few minutes up the road. You can be in the heart of Edinburgh in less than 15 minutes. It’s so easy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was a language barrier on a few occasions including calling reception before arrival and when we were ordering food and drinks on more than one occasion

    Loved the location and modern feeling of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - cleanliness (carpets, mould in bathroom, bed linen) - interior - temperature too high

    - compensated for complaint about cleanliness & temperature with offered free breakfast to go and taxi to airport - distance to airport and tram stop

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault was that booking.com had the wrong post code listed, so it took us almost an hour to find the hotel, but the nice man behind reception give me two vouchers for free drinks.

    The lovely waitress in the restaurant went out of her way to accommodate my dieter needs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave!

    The staff were friendly and extremely welcoming! Everything was just perfect, from the entrance, bar, dining area to the room! I would happily stay here again! Breakfast was delicious and had so much option. I enjoyed this hotel very much!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a little disappointed to be woken at 06.40 by the sound of reversing bleepers and then 20 minutes of the sounds of industrial bins being emptied. We would have thought that this activity could wait until 08.00. Given the price of the room it somewhat spoiled our visit.

    Very comfortable room with all the facilities you would expect. We had a lovely dinner in the hotel and the staff could not have been more helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that I was on the 1st floor and had to walk by the conference rooms while tbey where octupied when entering and leaving room

    Location of hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window view was train &tram tracks

    Friendly & helpful staff. Very good dining experience. Very good room facilities. Excellent full Scots breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was so disappointing on each of our 3 mornings. On the first morning the coffee machine stopped working and the filter coffee in the flasks was average. The scrambled eggs were stone cold and had to be returned. Morning two- we decided to try porridge and it was very runny - it looked like it had been topped up several times with milk and no extra oats. Morning 3 - again the coffee machine stopped working . I felt that there could have been more tea and coffee provision left in the room each day - only 2 teabags and 4 little pots of milk- not enough. Also it was quite noisy at night being close to a busy road and we could hear traffic throughout the night.

    The location was very good - close to the tram stop at Edinburgh park and about 20 mins on the tram to the city centre one way and the airport the other. The staff were very friendly and helpful, particularly at breakfast and apologised several times for the coffee machine not working and having to queue for a table.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel is perfect, one of the best i have ever been ! The facilities are amazing and the access is really easy. The location is great if you want to be close from the center ( 20 min by tram) but away from all the rush of the city. Most of all, the staff is so nice and helpful, you will be received with a smile.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower water was just lukewarm & you to be careful as can be slippy upon exiting, just put towel on floor.

    It’s was clean, spacious and staff excellent. Only there on a b&b basis but breakfast also excellent!! The pool & sauna very refreshing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel, but difficult to find during the weekend by car, when the business park is closed. Please always give alternative postal code when booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shortage of staff on evening, reception was also bar tender. Had to wait. Postcode and address should be more accurate as sat nav took us to where we could see hotel but not actually drive into it. No breakfast in room card given on our second day.

    Comfort of the bed and pillows. The bathrobes. The double shower heads and the balcony.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrived early and was given a room, so that was good. After paying we were charged £4 to leave the car, I thought may have been waivered due to our stay .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor not great ceiling tiles in bathroom loose . Overcharged on drinks bill. Booked with breakfast included but when we got there it was room only. Had to pay for parking, expect this in city centre not outside the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely expensive for what it is! Nearly £700 on a 2 day visit, in both mine and my partners opinion this is an extortionate hotel stay for a standard hotel. Disappointed in that

    I liked the room is was very nice, the restaurant food was ok. A little more could have been offered.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to get a room change at 10pm due to the hot water tap in the bathroom not working. Had to wait 20-30 for the staff to check for another room.

    Very clean, comfortable and very accessible to local transportation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged for parking. No usb ports in room. TV very outdated with only 5 channels.

    Comfortable. Swimming pool and steam room we great. Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could have been better was the chips in the restaurant. They just were not hot enough for me.

    The warm welcome we received at reception was second to none. Outstanding!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. The tram is near by and easy to use although would of preferred more in the city centre.

    Very much enjoyed our stay here. Staff are very helpful and very friendly. We had a little problem with our first room we stopped in but staff were great at understanding! Highly recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had an issue with the room TV - not working properly. Went to reception to get fixed and provided with new batteries for the remote. Unfortunately, this didn't help the problem but as it was late and had my son we just went to bed. Had we been staying longer then it would have been more of an issue. HOWEVER 10/10 to the receptionist at checkout as she was very apologetic and explained they were currently updating all the TV's but had not got to our room. For our inconvience they reduced our room rate by 10% without any prompt and also didn't charge for car parking (which I think was £5 ). So was happy with this.

    Staff at the bar / restraunt were particulary hopefully. Layout of bar area nice. The receptionist was very helpful at check out see below comment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely amazing our stay! Staff was very helpful special staff on reception. We just really enjoy our stay. Room was very nice clean and tidy. Food in the restaurant was delicious 🙂 Definitely we will come back 🙂 Thank you everyone who make our stay incredible 🙂

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - all good.

    Room size good, lovely shower room, nearby tram and train noise limited by good sound proof windows. Come bed mattress and pillows. Room temp just right. Tv channels, coffee, tea selection good. Location is best port of all along with value for money. Great for tram link to city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    The range of TV channels left a lot to be desired as two of them didn't seem to be working. The shower in the changing rooms of the pool didn't smell clean and there was a hair ( not mine) on the newly made bed which was the first thing I found as I Iay on the bed

    The swimming pool was lovely. The layout of shower and bathroom in my room was very unusual , good use of space with mirrors in the door no door on toilet took a bit of getting used to. The bedside light was very ambient and relaxing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't really like was the view and the noise all we seen and heard were trains and trams...

    It was a nice bar and restaurant area the room was nice and big and we didn't have to leave our dog at home...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not hovered It was some sanitary bag under the chair . Anyway room was lovely. Thank you 😊

    Holt was great with good location and nice breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had very little time in this hotel as I was travelling for work but the bed was comfy and the showers were fantastic. I loved my stay here even if it was only a quick stop.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of our booked rooms was cold, but the staff provided extra blankets and a heater

    All round good hotel! Staff lovely, rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The veg sticks and dips starter we picked on the kids set menu was dismal but the restaurant staff were quick to sort this out with an alternative free of charge.

    Super friendly staff, clean and modern hotel in an excellent location. Swimming pool and facilities were great - warm and clean. Rooms comfortable and well equipped. Kids set menu excellent value for money at £6 for 3 courses and kids eat free for breakfast which is top notch and so much choice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool Was shut in the morning and only found out when we were in lift! Daughter was disappointed

    Enjoyed our stay, reception staff were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our second nights stay was disturbed by "boy racers" speeding round the neighbouring carparks and and round about.. had to call the police at 12am after listening to it for an hour, spoke to hotel main desk apparently this has been an ongoing issue.

    Hotel location was perfect for traveling by tram into the city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good, no complaints at all!

    Everything was very very smooth from start to finish. Service, prompt and professional. Food very good indeed, fish both nights cooked to perfection. Really enjoyed it. House keeping on it! We came back from breakfast and room done! Well done an example most hotels should follow!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Evening meals had very little choice and did not offer good value

    Breakfast was amazing, the pool and gym were great and never too busy and a nice choice of drinks in the bar

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Had a 3 night stay, very nice. Easy to get the tram into the city. Some might not like the train / tram line running past the window, but it's was ok for me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff very kindly upgraded us to an Exec Suite as we were celebrating our birthdays and pregnancy and generally were so lovely to us. The room was great and the location outside of Edinburgh but only 10mins from the city was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of the breakfast

    The hotel was in a great place to commute to the airport and Edinburgh centre. Lovely bar area and pool/steam & gym area also.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting to be seated for breakfast :

    The only issue was standing in a line waiting to be seated for breakfast. I find standing difficult & struggled a little with the wait. However the serving staff were so pleasant helpful, overall breakfast was excellent :

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of breakfast was not up to the price (fatty sausages, canned juice, youghurt which was not youghurt, canned fruit). Coffee was fine (Nespresso). The rooms were quite smashed and need a caring hand.

    Nice staff, modern look of reception and restaurant area. It had a free gym and pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Bed was extremely comfy, the hotel were very nice to us and gave us a cake and a box of shortbread as we were there for an anniversary. Staff were very friendly and answered questions promptly and thoroughly. Always helping and were so lovely about our celebrations.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast choices limited on continental menu - no natural yoghourt, despite asking 2 members of staff, very boring fruit salad. Could not get entrance code to swimming pool to work.

    Swimming pool is good and not busy, good choice of food at dinner, friendly helpful staff. Good location very close to Edinburgh Park tram and train station so easy to get into city centre, or to airport

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warmer lighting in the room and a little more choice on the tv

    I loved the size of the rooms and the fact that room service was available, with a ready to deliver breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that when I went down for dinner I kept getting sent away as they weren't ready. The weather was bad so they were putting on a buffet that we had no choice in taking as they weren't doing the A La Carte menu. Fair enough the hotel was full, however people sitting in the bar were getting the A La Carte menu so I don't understand why they got the choice but no-one else did. Then there was the TV in the room. When you pay about £80 a night you like to just stick on the TV before going to sleep but there were no freeview channels, you had to pay extra if you wanted to watch anything. I thought that was quite cheeky considering what I was paying a night. But at least there was WiFi so I just had to watch YouTube on my phone instead.

    The bed was huge and it was quite comfy. The bathroom was spacious and very clean and always warm. I also liked the view from my window.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was Cold as the air conditioning unit did not work so towels did not dry, no bath. The breakfast was very over priced, we did not try it because of the cost. Only a very small changing room for the pool area so when busy it was difficult to change.

    Very good location as on the tram line so easy to get around. Staff happy and helpful, nice bar area with plenty of room to sit. Hotel was clean. Room very big and bed very comfortable. Good location for airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location: good selection of shops and food places to eat. Railway station close by. Short tram ride back into the centre of Edinburgh or to the airport.

    Polite staff and very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under the bed wasn’t clean there was white power everywhere, the food was not cheap and staff struggled to speak English and bathroom wasn’t the cleanest

    I liked how the food was and how it’s animal friendly and the pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of stains on the carpet in the room and check out in the morning was unstaffed which would have been fine but we had to pay the £4 for parking to be able to leave which was a tough frustrating when we had a flight to catch

    Room was large and bed was comfortable. Option of room service and breakfast being brought to the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite small and I actually fell over the bed resulting in a trip to A and E and being on crutches for the rest of my honeymoon

    Staff were very friendly and handled any problems well

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues to relate.

    The staff were so friendly and we were given an upgrade to an executive room at no charge. Very handy to public transport into the city and back to the airport. Beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If I was being picky then the bath towels could be bigger and more shelving/hooks in bathroom, but otherwise no major complaints.

    Location for our purposes was great - road links and tram make it a great base. Staff were friendly, food & drink was ok, wifi was excellent. Would definitely come back when in Edinburgh. Extra bonus - Krispy Kreame donuts opposite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the rooms appeared nice and clean overall, there still were lipstick stains on the water glasses. No big deal, but still something that can easily be avoided.

    The stay was actually two parts - we thought we'd leave for home, but then our flight got cancelled. Thankfully, the Novotel still had a room for us, with a complimentary upgrade to the Excelsior suite too! The shower fixtures in the Novotel are one of the best we had in a while: Large overhead rainshower and easy to use electronic thermostat that you can operate without standing in the actual shower. The restaurant is pretty good too, you even get Haggis at the breakfast buffet. Locationwise, the surroundings aren't anything to write home to: You'll either have a view of two fast-food outlets, a motorway or trains. But it is nonetheless pretty quiet thanks to good soundproofing and the hotel sits neatly at a tram station right between Edinburgh center and the airport, so getting to all the interesting places isn't an issue at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to not like!!

    Everything about this hotel is absolutely perfect. It looks great, modern and very clean throughout. Staff were so friendly and helpful, always happy to help. Room was perfect with a very comfortable bed and pillow. Shower was fantastic and it was completely spotless. Breakfast was fantastic. There was a great range to choose from and the coffee was delicious. I made a mistake when booking, only booking for myself and not my mum too! This mistake was rectified straight away with no problem and the girl at reception was absolutely lovely helping with this with ease. I wouldn't use another hotel in Edinburgh as this was perfect. Very close to the tram stop and just off the motorway. Again absolutely perfect!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On Saturday night the bar and restaurant staff seemed a bit over stretched.

    Very reasonable price. Good facilities, including bar with decent selection of drinks. Rooms clean, large and comfortable with a good shower. Check in and check out very efficient. Excellent location for the tram into city centre or to the airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of people were stranded due to the red alert snow & cancelled flights so there was a buffet on for dinner - it was £20 a head for a poor selection of food The first night we were given the choice of a la carte or buffet so we chose the menu as this was cheaper however our food took over an hour to come, although we were given a free glass of wine due to the long wait We were given an accessible room which didn’t have a bath and was unkempt The tv either wouldn’t turn on or would turn itself off after a while and had limited channels when working - staff had a look & got it working for about 10 mins before it shut off again, we informed reception that it still wasn’t working but no one came to look at it again The room was cold despite the heating being on so we were given a portable heater but it still wasn’t cosy The room wasn’t made up and we had to request toilet roll I believe the snow & lack of staff contributed to these issues so cannot say what the hotel would be like on a normal week

    Heated pool & steam room with gym Good breakfast Handy for tram to airport Staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television was crap if I’m honest, it had like 4 tv channels and they weren’t even good ones!! I think you neee to improve the tv.

    The bed was so comfy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff could not locate the booking and were unfriendly and accusatory. My mother had paid for this stay and I felt that because my partner and I are both 19 we were viewed suspiciously. We were given 2 room key cards but only 1 worked and because of how I was made to feel upon arrival I didn’t want to complain. We were advised that breakfast was served until 12 on Sunday. We arrived for breakfast at 11.10 am only to be told service had finished at 11am. We were very disappointed and my mother who has stayed in this hotel on several occasions will not book it again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Regarding the breakfast, sausages could be upgraded, taste cheap.. nit picking maybe, but makes a difference, £14 is a bit steap also. Pool could be warmer.

    Very clean, nice hotel , friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could be cleaner with more attention to housekeeping. The pool and gym were small with mixed changing facilities that were inadequate for the number of people using the pool.

    The hotel was very family friendly, clean with friendly welcoming staff and a good restaurant. The hotel was clean and parking was reasonable at £4 a day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom carpet was dirty needs a good cleaning also shower was cold no hot water and toilet to high otherwise my husband enjoyed his stay

    The staff was brilliant as it was my husband birthday we got given a free drink a boxes of shortbread

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV viewing options the worst I have ever experienced in a hotel. Such a clunky slow setup. Bring an iPad, use the WiFi and forget the TV, its hopeless.

    Very convenient for tram into City or Airport - couldn't be better. Comfortable rooms and a decent enough restaurant/bar - and whilst the burgers are decidedly average, the pizzas are excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing but I was surprised the beds were 2 large single beds, I thought we were having a double, but no problem. I'm not happy with paying for parking £4 per day 😐

    We were attending a wedding in Edinburgh so location was good easily got taxi from and return to the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Worst standard TV selection of any chain hotel but hey this is Edinburgh and there is plenty else to do. Shower was not great - not a lot of power and not too warm.

    Lovely welcome and helpful staff team. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Selfishly, I would have loved some of the waste land at the back of the hotel to have been fenced as a dog park!

    We were traveling with two large dogs. The staff were superb at finding ways of accommodating us whilst not distrusting the other guests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On site opening times for the pool and gym were limited and as we were only staying for the one night we were unable to use them as we had hoped. The carpets in the rooms were a little marked and the curtains were a little dusty but neither were too bad. However a previous occupant in our room had set an alarm on the television thus resulting in us being woken up at 5am which we were less than pleased about.

    Accessibility via public transport, proximity to shopping centres. Facilities on site were good, and the en suite bathroom was particularly good for a hotel in this price bracket.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steam room was broken on the Sunday ☹️. And Hotels in general need to start adding more plug sockets in rooms, mainly near the head of the bed.

    Over all I enjoyed everything I can’t pin point one thing I like more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Sofa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My biggest concern was the staff, I don't feel like they were very welcoming at all. When we first arrived we weren't shown about or told about any of the facilities. We weren't even shown our room or told how to get to it. We were given the key and pretty much had to guess what floor our room was on by going to each level on the lift. Another major incident for me was on our last stay at the hotel. Me and my partner went down for breakfast at quarter to 10, under the impression breakfast was on to at least 11. However, it stopped at 10, the women never informed us, we paid £30 for a buffet breakfast and never received the full experience of that as they began to take the food away at 10 !!! I feel this was a complete waste of money and we not only could enjoy our breakfast fully but we felt extremely uncomfortable as we knew we had to leave for 10.

    The hotel was amazing, beautiful pool, comfy bed and the hotel room was very spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Edinburgh Park traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: