Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Gloucestershire hotel reviews
  4. Tetbury hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Oak House No.1

Reviews of Oak House No.1 This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

1 The Chipping, Tetbury, GL8 8EU, United Kingdom

#6 of 14 hotels in Tetbury

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 21 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    10

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    10
    A perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wonderful hosts, great location, with excellent breakfast offerings. Nic and Gary created a bespoke Cotswolds itinerary for us that made our visit all the better.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2018

    10
    Exquisite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Absolutely nothing .

    It is a beautiful house on one of the most wonderful villages in the Cotswolds, Tetbury.It is quiet and you can feel the simplicity of life as it was probably 1000 years ago . Nicola and Gary , the owners, cannot be more friendly, helpful and funny . Great stories and incredibly helpful in planning the days we spent there . Do not hesitate if you are thinking in spending quality time in the Cotswold area .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.6
    I will go back to this gem of a hotel made so special by the owners Gary & Nicola!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Interesting hotel with great art that gives u so much to see (& know) and lots to talk about. Very charming hosts, fabulous cooked breakfast, and our suite was lovely. I could hang around there for a while 😀

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    10
    Sensational standout property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was amazing! A sensational six star standout property with eclectically opulent interiors which was a feast for your eyes. Wonderful hosts with scrumptious breakfast and afternoon tea. WOW factor all round.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    10
    A fantastic house and fantastic owners!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing, every think is simply perfect!

    The afternoon tea and the breakfast are exellent! Really a fantastic experience! Gary and Nicolas are the best in the world and the house is a wonderful museum of contemporary art!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2017

    10
    A little moment in heaven
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to leave this incredible place .

    Just outstanding welcome, care, breakfast - the best in all England!- Interior Contemporary Baroque with a touch a surrealism , nevertheless so warm and cosy. Nicola and Garry are exceptional hosts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    7.5
    Super friendly owners and fun unique property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite with Four Poster Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom didn’t have a proper shower

    Super friendly owners and fun unique property

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2019

    9.6
    Beautiful house with unique, bohemian decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beautiful house with unique, bohemian decor. Very spacious rooms. Gary and Nicola are lovely hosts who cook a great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    9.2
    Great place - no better hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet- if only because we had to say something wasn't perfect

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: May 19, 2018

    9.2
    We enjoyed being house guests and it was an enjoyable visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very warm welcome from Nicola and Garry and a most splendid Afternoon Tea in the garden started our brief but very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    9.2
    Where you go to spoil yourself
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Friendly hosts, interesting decor, luxurious feel, just the place to spoil yourself at, for a special occasion, or just to relax

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2017

    10
    It was all good excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was all good excellent breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2016

    9.2
    Stunning home and interesting hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Slightly on the pricey end of our budget.

    Stunning home and interesting hosts. We could have spent all day talking to them! The rooms were beautifully furnished and the bed was super.

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2015

    9.6
    Gary and Nic's hospitality was amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothiing

    Gary and Nic's hospitality was amazing. Our welcome was delightful and all of our needs were met. No.1 Oak house also arranged a restaurant for us in the evening and the food was extremely good. Nic's cakes on arrival were spectacular and her full english breakfast outstanding.

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2015

    10
    The owners treated us like special guests but also made the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners treated us like special guests but also made the house feel like home though it was a much better decorated home than what I could ever achieve. The breakfast assortment was vast with fresh ingredients & homemade fare. My birthday omelette topped everything. What a special way to start my day.

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2015

    10
    We have stayed in many hotels throughout the world and now...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing we didn't like

    We have stayed in many hotels throughout the world and now and again we come across a little gem of a place which ticks all the boxes; stylish, different, elegant, quirky, comfortable ...... Gary & Nikki were welcoming, warm and interesting hosts. Afternoon tea on arrival was served with hand-made cakes and scones. Breakfast was a delicious feast of home cooked and home baked favourites. A treat to be repeated

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2015

    10
    Perfect experience for us of a 3 day stay in Cotswold area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect experience for us of a 3 day stay in Cotswold area. Amazing host of very handsome and energetic Gary plus very caring and great-cooking Nicola. The whole house is one of the best designed with all the arts and unique furnitures. Really enjoy the breakfast time chatting with Gary and Nicola and we become close friends. Lastly, excellent orientation from Nicola on what to do in town and made our trip so lovely. Thank you, Gary and Nicola. We will be in touch.

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2015

    9.2
    Absolutely fabulous stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Absolutely fabulous stay. The hosts are lovely and friendly and make you feel at home straight away. The room was large and comfortable. The breakfast was incredible - i would highly recommend the oak house to anyone who is looking for a relaxing getaway

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2015

    10
    From arrival to departure we were treated in an excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From arrival to departure we were treated in an excellent manner by the owners. A very homely atmosphere with a visible willingness to assist visitors in any possible way. The premises are maintained to the highest standard and we look forward to another visit.

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2015

    9.6
    Everything about this place is special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything about this place is special

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2015

    10
    The owners, the style of the place, the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The owners, the style of the place, the breakfast

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: