Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Oak House BB 3 stars

Beal Lane Shaw, Shaw, OL2 8PB, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Shaw

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 337 B&B reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.5
    Welcoming staff, friendly & chatty, large comfortable...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor quibble, I like to get up early to beat the traffic, I would have preferred an earlier breakfast time (7.30), but not a problem on this occasion.

    Welcoming staff, friendly & chatty, large comfortable bedroom, ample car parking space, good location for all local amenities, good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Just what we needed, overall a lovely b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our room was really hard to get to a certain temperature. It was either far too hot or ice cold.

    Staff were super friendly and welcoming - the rooms were a good size with comfortable beds. Breakfasts both days were also really good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    Felt over charged
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had 2 windows one opened up in to the breakfast room thr other opened up to a wall. It was roasting hot like literally cooking.

    The lady who let us in was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.3
    The location was easy to find considering we weren’t local.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was easy to find considering we weren’t local. The host was super friendly and cooked an amazing breakfast. We slept well and had a very pleasant stay :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stay, great value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good. Apart from the road can be a bit noisy.

    Really nice place to stay. Great breakfast. Front rooms are a bit noisy next to the road but quietens down by midnight. Highly recommended stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    7.9
    Overall very happy with our choice of accomodation in Manchester
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a little disappointing - really was expecting something far better as we normally receive far better when paying this sort of price but it was edible and served it's purpose

    Fantastic location for ease of getting anywhere as the b & b is next to a tram station. Great location for take-a-ways as there is at least six different cuisines within less than a 5 min walk. Staff are fantastically welcoming and the room was great in size. The best part of the b & b is the fact they are very happy to provide accomodation for 4 legged companions as well so this is a huge bonus to ourselves as well as many others i would imagine.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Great place, friendly staff, perfect location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly welcome from the staff. Nice room and the location was ideal. Also a big car park. The room has everything we needed. Staff were great throughout the stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Not sure how it could have been made better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only stayed for one night in this very welcoming location.

    if only all B and Bs were to this standard I would never use a hotel again. The room was larger than most hotels, modern and clean looking with thought given to the little touches. My wife was very happy with everything.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    you have to stay there you will not be disappointed wow.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wow, the room was wonderful, planed out for your comfort, you had coffee and tea making, lots of room and a big double bed, very nice, the best night sleep in a long time. the bathroom wonderfull big lots of room, shower was so nice, and the breakfast, ho my god, so fresh cooked to order we had the full English, Stuart was so lovely, we would defiantly stay there again the best i have stayed in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    Good Value for Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst bathrooms were modern bedrooms were quite outdated and very hot, difficult to have windows open due to location and alot of noise.

    Bathrooms were very modern, clean and tidy, lovely secure car park and amazing cooked to order breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    Good spot for a clean room in Shaw
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea after 9am even thought we were sat in the dining room for ages after.

    The bed was really soft. Nice and warm room. Breakfast ok. No chance of extra tea after the 9am cut off even thought we were all staying there ahead of a funeral and it was a time to chat and catch up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Exactly as described 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only issue was couple in another room above us having a blazing row at 2am waking us up and with one of them storming out after arguing with each other for at least half hour :@ But not the b and b’s fault at all.

    Perfect for us and ticked all boxes on location as visiting family in the area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    Lovely 😊
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and bathroom were lovely clean and spacious had 3 mirrors so was brilliant no having to wait for each other to finish 😀.....breakfast was really good great start to the day....

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    Good facility with friendly staff and i would recommend the hotel to others.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    The room was comfortable although the traffic was a slight issue. I slept ok so no real need to complain. The breakfast was good and set me up well for the day ahead having met really friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Everything was extremely good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Someone in adjacent room making lots of noise through to 2.00am and then hearing them vomiting in their bathroom from around 4.30am. We realize that this is no fault of the B&B, but it was the only spoiler for the weekend.

    Everything was extremely good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some road noise but as B and B was on a main road that was to be expected.

    Warm welcome, bed was comfy and breakfast was good also had a place to eat if you wanted to take food back to the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.7
    Friendly and helpful staff but room design and decor very strange.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No hot water in the morning. No record of our booking on arrival. Room decor very poor. TV remote needed new battery as didn't work. Position of electrics in room very poor. TV position poor.

    Cleanliness of the room. Room upgrade FOC

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    Good location, friendly welcome, great for one night stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower a bit compact and no soap shelf. Pillows a bit basic. Towels quite thin. But all fine for a one night stopover

    Very kindly welcome. Nice car park. Very good quality breakfast ingredients and well cooked

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.8
    A compromise.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The matress was extremely soft but thankfully I had 2 beds so just jumped onto the other one. No restaurants around but plenty of take aways.

    It was very clean and the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hosts and delicious breakfast!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a fair bit of traffic noise from the road in our room and the bed was not the best mattress but for the cost I could not fault this place. I do recommend it.

    The host and hostess were very friendly and accommodating. This B&B is excellent value for money and the breakfast was delicious. I loved the cafetière and thick sliced toast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.3
    Otherwise the location was very good for our requirements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a main distribution centre in town (?) and there were trucks going past the hotel on the Friday night.

    Owners are really lovely and the breakfast excellent. The room is very well decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Good value stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is a good, clean and comfortable place for a stop over. They have things well set up and the breakfast was freshly cooked and well presented. The owners also provide a lot of useful local information. Would definitely use it again if passing through the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    It was like a home from home.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was like a home from home. Really cute place, and for a young female adult travelling along way from home on her own I felt safe here. Owners were really nice and open to have a chat or help in any way. They were even kind enough to upgrade my room. Well work a 3 hour drive there!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.2
    Very good b & b, centrally located to the town and transport links.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A very clean bed and breakfast with friendly proprietors who make you feel welcome. Nice size bedroom and bathroom. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast each morning. Very spacious on site car park. Great location in the heart of town. I would not hesitate to return if in the area again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Highly recommend
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely clean cosy room . Wonderful and delicious freshly cooked breakfast. Great location 5mins walk to metrolink tram stop . Very helpful friendly staff .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location for our overnight stay to visit the Theatre in Oldham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's in a great location,just a couple of minutes walk down from the Tram station (Shaw and Crompton).There are pubs just a minute's walk away,with a great Wetherspoon's - The Shay on your doorstep. Very handy for Oldham,which is just a couple of Tram stops away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Would like to (and may well) stay again! Great accommodation with good links to city & local area...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I spotted a few crumbs beside my bed but they kept their noise down after midnight...

    Friendly staff with good communication skills, spacious well appointed rooms with comfortable beds, large tv, breakfast bar / dining area and extra chairs, pleasant bathroom. Great location for tram-link into / out of Manchester. 10 mins to M62. Plenty of space in free car-park. Good mobile reception. Spectacular nearby countryside. Tasty fry-up with locally sourced quality ingredients . Rooms at the back a little quieter but all double-glazed anyway. Overall very pleasant experience!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    8.3
    Warm and Friendly service
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was right on the road, unfortunately it did get very noisy.

    The Hotel is run by a very warm and friendly couple. Very polite and I was well received. The room was very clean, tidy and very spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.7
    Reasonably priced could be run better and warmer
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fist night slept well was realy tired. Following night couldn't get comfy. Room cold couldn't sort the radiator. We stayed two nights each morning we sat in a very cold conservatory alone waiting quite a while 20 mins minimum the owner on each occasion appoligussing his alarm didnit go off. I explained we were cold and room cold he just asked didn't i try turn radiotor . We were always first in that room waiting on food I think the others knew what the service was like. And yet they ask you the time you want and it's supposed to stop serving at 9 am .which is usually the time he starts cooking. Breakfast was nice and in with price. On the 2nd morning the cuttlery wasn't clean and my daughter noticed the table hadnt been wiped same hair im mat from day before. So realy if they got their act together the buisness would be fantastic but lots little annoying things don't make it a great place pity could be lits better.

    Car was parked safe and near by. Welcoming

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.6
    Price does not reflect the standard of service you will receive !
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only two minor comments. One being close to the road but it did not affect my sleep and quietened down at night. Although it was delicious, the mushrooms on the breakfast were a tad greasy. Everything else was perfect and again the service from the gentleman, outstanding!!

    I was welcomed by an extra warm and friendly female member of staff. The room was cosy, clean and provided everything I needed, including a very hot deep bath. Added extras were the breakfast bar, warm plush duvets and ordering my breakfast the night before so it was ready for the time I needed. Overall the standard exceeded the price I paid. Extremely happy the owners should be proud of the service, standard and facilities they provide. Shame I will not need to come to Oldham anytime soon!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    4.6
    Non - breakfast with bed.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I made a booking which was supposed to be bed and breakfast, only to be told that breakfast was only available from 7.30, which is useless if you are working. Wouldn't have booked if I'd known. Never had this elsewhere.

    Nice bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Cheap B&B. I had no experience of such a basic B&B.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window could not be opened without climbing on a ladder. The air in the rlom soon became insufferably stuffy. The Internet service was terrible. The WiFi extender or router needed rebooting every few minutes. The owners blamed Virgin, not their poorly designed own WiFi LAN. Breakfast was far too basic; only instant coffee an no croissants.

    It was near enough for Saddleworth. It had one dood pub nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    4.6
    Not overly impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very hot day/night and there was no fan in the room. Therefore we had to open the window to cool it down. As the hotel is situated directly on a main road, the traffic noise was bad. In addition, there was a dubious looking hair on my breakfast plate. Not impressed.

    Comfortable beds

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.3
    Worth the money, would come back. A great place to start exploring the Peak District and Greater Manchester.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself could use some maintenance; the shower tube was temporarily fixed with black tape, the floor had some stains on the carpet, had some small damages on a wall, and the room was not well lit, leaving a depressing first impression, which is a shame because it is really spacious when you look beyond the dated brownish wall decoration and the poor lighting. Also, be aware of the busy road with heavy traffic right under the windows.

    The male owner was very friendly and very kind. It was fun having breakfast with the host around to serve the guests, you feel kind of special with him smiling around. The en suite bathroom is very modern and tidy. Also the TV inside the room is quite big and works well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other visitors shouting and banging the front door late at night when they come home, no respect for the other guests

    You are made to feel very welcome and are always very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    While the place is nothing fancy, it is homey and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Both the TV and internet reception was spotty at times

    While the place is nothing fancy, it is homey and cozy...plus the full English breakfast was outstanding. Hosts were great, friendly and very effective in carrying out their respective rolls.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Great B&B
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very quiet as at the back but windows opened into dining area so no fresh air and due to weather very stuffy

    Very warm welcome. Staff very helpful. Room very clean and good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Perfect for a quick stop-over.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lock on my bedroom door needs some attention - the lock tends to stick. I was in No 4

    Perfect for a quick stay. The room was comfortable with everything one could need and the hotel in a good location for accessing other places. Good selection of places to eat in the evening which were nearby.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Lovely owners clean and tidy breakfast good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs to address noise from traffic better windows perhaps.

    It was very clean, breakfast was lovely and the owners very friendly, would recommend and hopefully will stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was one of England's few summer days - so the room was hot - a small Electric fan in the room would help on occasions like this... otherwise all good

    Very Nice - a warm welcome, a clean and comfortable room - we liked the small breakfast bar/table in the room - and a good full English breakfast .... very good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    Just the job
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to order breakfast the day before so if you want cereal before your cooked breakfast tell them the day before, the hosts are very amenable

    Hotel right in the centre of town, close to bus & railway plenty of pubs & eateries on site parking & a great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly, organised and efficient.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sausages weren't the best quality

    The staff were very friendly, organised and efficient. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the bed comfortable. Breakfast menu was extensive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a little trouble turning on the bedroom radiator & the door was difficult to lock but not a major problem.

    The location was good for us. Off street parking, friendly staff, comfy bed & an excellent breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    We stayed at Oak House BB for two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at Oak House BB for two nights. We asked for a quieter room away from the road, which we got. The owners were lovely and friendly and helpful. Nice size room, the beds were extremely comfortable, my son didn't want to leave! Nice breakfast cooked to order for us. A lovely B&B

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    6.7
    I like that was clean, easy to get to, has parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The person who greeted us at the beginning was not friendly at all. She was giving us sarcastic answers to our questions. Also she blamed us for her card machine not working, saying that there was something wrong with our cards when in actual fact I tried them before and after and they were perfectly fine.

    I like that was clean, easy to get to, has parking.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    2.5
    What more can I say? Thanks for my lovely breakfast, and that of my wife.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was to our satisfaction. Bed comfy. Owners lovely, next time in the area, we will be asking if the same room is available, because it was QUIET.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were excellent and very friendly. Check in was completely painless - we were able to pay by credit card from our room. Check out is quick and painless too. Breakfast was delicious and cooked well. The room was great. The shower was very good. Overall a lovely little place, and highly recommended.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic B&B with even better Hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Both Stuart and his Wife were excellent hosts, extremely friendly and very accommodating. They genuinely put themselves out for their customers and definitely 'go the extra mile' - all too rare nowadays, I am afraid. They were brilliant and I have no hesitation in recommending them and will definitely be staying there again next time I am in the locality.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Great staff and service, would certainly return if we needed accommodation in this area again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing I can think of.

    Clean comfortable well equipped room of an adequate size, just what we wanted. I could not rate the WiFi as we simply did not connect, but as everything else was perfect, I'm sure that the WiFi would have been good too. We had a leisurely breakfast and requested additional toast and coffee and we were promptly supplied with both. We would certainly return if we were needing accommodation in this area again in the future.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    7.5
    Bathrooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out time. I had to pay half extra day so my mom and my 3 years old daughter can stay until midday. 10am is very unusual chek out time. And i have been told that this is not good that i ignored that even i was trying to explane that i didn't ignored it, just didn't see it. Too early. And kind of left a bitter taste in my mouth. Not good way to talk to the customer.

    Bathrooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    9.2
    A brief, but pleasant stay.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As stated above - rumbling lorrie's late at night.

    My stay was for just one night. Upon arrival I was greeted by the very friendly owner. My room was spotless, warm and very comfortable with a very high standard of decor. The only gripe, if any would be location within the property - directly at the front on a fairly busy road which seemed to attract a lot of HGV throughout the night. Breakfast the following morning was served very quickly and was very enjoyable in again, very well presented surroundings. Wouldn't hesitate to book up again if I was in this neck of the woods in the future. Would probably opt for a room not at ground level at front tho. Over all - Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    5.0
    Located close to where I needed to be
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room I was given after the room I was showed was changed due to "circumstances" was located right next to the dining room / laundry through a window that is curtained off both sides giving no natural light and an unholy racket from the washing machines and dryers and from every breakfast guests order to scraping plates and shifting chairs ! I was totally let down by this place I suspect someone who knew the rooms issues had refused it hence being given to unsuspecting me will not go back and wish for a refund diabolical !!!

    Located close to where I needed to be

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2017

    10
    Well placed and comfy
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the bed was so comfy. the room and bathroom were clean and well presented. the B&B was near a wetherspoons and a taxi office. it also had a big secure car-park. Breakfast was well cooked hot and tasty .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    7.1
    Good but some improvements needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room when we got there even though the knew when we were arriving, bed not comfy, TV too low on wall, thin walls, towels rough and small

    Good parking, very clean, good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    10
    Excellent. Would definitely recommend if you're in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very friendly welcome upon arrival. Clean and very comfortable room and a lovely full English breakfast. Great value for money. Would not hesitate to recommend.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    4.2
    Cheap, but not very cheerful.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap, but not very cheerful. We were made to feel that our presence was somewhat of an inconvenience. The property is also rather tired and needs updating.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold on arrival Could of done with the heating in the room to be on before our arrival

    From the minute we arrived to the miinute we left the service was excellent From the landlady to the house keeper

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    9.2
    Great little find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little cold in the room but was warm and cosy in bed

    The location of the bnb was excellent 1 min walk from the tram into the city centre, easy to find, great value for money. I asked for a quiet room and was given one at the back of the building didn't hear any thing. Room was basic but had everything you needed and more. Will definitely stay here again when visiting our friends in Oldham.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.6
    Clean, comfortable, food good 😀
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really I am fussy but was very pleased overall I stayed one night - can't fault this place at all

    Very nice clean accommodation, breakfast cooked to order - tasty breakfast 😀

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    The owners were so friendly, the room was clean and the bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners were so friendly, the room was clean and the bed has to be the comfiest I've slept on, and I go away a lot with work so always in hotels. The cooked breakfast was perfectly cooked. Overall a fabulous place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    9.2
    A short but enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me the bed was a bit too hard and the traffic noise I was not used to so next time we stay I will ask for a back room rather than at the front

    The room was spacious and had everything we needed for our overnight stay. The lady that greeted us and served us in the morning was very friendly and welcoming

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    10
    Great hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only stayed for one night but the place was lovely and the land lady was very pleasant. I didn't have breakfast because how early I left but I would highly recommend this hotel. All shops and everything you would need is in the area

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    7.9
    clean and comfortable room but quite noisy due to its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the location is easy to find, the BnB is on a main road which was very noisy at night. The room I had was one of the front ones which looked out onto the main road so it was extra noisy.

    The room was very clean, had good facilities within it and was very comfortable. The bed was comfortable too. The lady had everything ready when I arrived and I didn't need to wait to get into my room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.8
    The room was clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ground floor room can be a bit noisy as close to the road.

    The room was clean and modern. Breakfast prepared to order (we had cheese omelettes :)). Nice experience. The owner and his partner were helpful and polite.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    comfortable, clean, great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit chilly. The bathroom had a radiator which we turned on but it didn't warm the bedroom up.

    Really friendly service. Room and bathroom were pristine. Excellent value for money. Free safe parking. Fantastic full English breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    5.0
    Basic accommodation even worse breakfast - it served a purpose
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating in room was switched off although it was a very cold evening. We put it on ourselves. Expected to decide what we wanted for breakfast immediately on arrival even down to how many pieces of toast! Apparently we should have read the email asking what we wanted beforehand which we did not do. Instant coffee served in cafetiere. Nothing set out for cereal or juice in breakfast room so we were not offered any. We only wanted a bed for 1 night so that's exactly what we Got!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    A comfortable bed and clean room, that tried to go the extra...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited breakfast option if you do not want an English fry.

    A comfortable bed and clean room, that tried to go the extra mile for a BB. Good parking and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.8
    Stuart was very helpful, there was a bit of a mix up on the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road noise was a little bit of an issue, perhaps triple glazing could resolve?

    Stuart was very helpful, there was a bit of a mix up on the booking but Stuart went out of his way to make sure that I was looked after. Would recommend.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    6.7
    Great place but ruined by paper thin walls and drunk idiots
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely B and B very well priced and good staff. However did not get a wink of sleep due to ridiculous noise of people in next room (including someone being sick in the morning). This should have been addressed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    Good place to stay convenient for all transport links.CENTRAL TO TOWN.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the cost of staying has increased,some rooms a little noisy.

    Most obliging will prepare any breakfast preferences within his power could not ask for more, Nice and clean and comfy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    7.9
    Good location but noisy road
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Constant traffic noise,I was working nights and took to wearing ear plugs.Location would have been higher rating as for normal guests who don't work nights as everything is on the doorstep. Pubs (spoons) takeaway places and supermarket all within 2 min walk. On reflection I might have picked somewhere else because the site does say busy road so that was my fault.

    Good WiFi ,comfy bed, decent shower, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    Friendly staff, good freshly cooked breakfast (no cold...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was next to a moderately busy road. Fine for us, but no good for light sleepers.

    Friendly staff, good freshly cooked breakfast (no cold buffet food here!)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    9.2
    Top breakfast clean friendly B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were right at the side of the front door which slammed every time someone came in or out but no problem after midnight wouldn't stop me staying again

    Clean lovely Breakfast comfy good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    7.1
    Oak House is ideal for business travel, breakfast too early for someone on a break or holidays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Internet was not accessible in our room. Apple or Android phones couldn't connect to Wifi. Oak House is right on the road & we couldn't sleep with the trucks passing all Sun night. Sat night was fine.

    Bedroom and en-suite was clean, bright & bed was comfortable. Car park at side of the house was a great asset. TV in the room kept me sane when traffic kept me awake.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.5
    Good but could have been fabulous...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked a single room and when I got there I found that I was in the single bed in a family room and there was no bedside light or bedside table or power socket nearby which caused a lot of inconvenience. I would have rated the property far higher if I'd have been put in the double bed which had a bedside table, a lamp and a power socket! It was also on a road that was used by a lot of lorries, even at 1am, so I had to shut the windows to cut down on the noise but that made the room hot! The noise is quite subjective though as I live in the middle of nowhere with little noise and no light pollution. I had the veggie breakfast which was a full Engkish with no meat. It tasted great but would have been fabulous had it have included a veggie sausage or two. So to summarise - very good but could easily have been fabulous :-)

    The location was good insomuch as it was easy to find and perfect for getting to my client the following day. The staff were great, leaving me a key and clear instructions as I arrived after midnight.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Oak House BB traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: