Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Oak Lodge 3 stars

80 Village Road, Enfield, EN1 2EU, United Kingdom

#10 of 12 hotels in Enfield

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 408 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.4

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room extremely small, only 1 cup, only 1 pillow very uncomfortable, and shower dribbled. Toilet room so small there was no room for a toilet roll holder. The room was dirty, with visable dirt around the shower, the toilet and on the carpet. We couldn't wait to get out. Poor value for money. Spend a little extra and stay in the premier Inn

    The bed was comfortable and the towels were good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very limited (4 cars max) had to park up a side street. Room very small and bed not good. No wardrobe to hang clothes. One light bulb worked out of 8 in central light. Musty smell.

    Clean room and linen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not a double it was a single with a small double pushed up against the wall, the carpet was tread bare and filthy, the room was generally dirty, the toilet seat was loose and the ensure over all was incredibly small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower had no power and much of the walls in the room were dirty. Needs re-painting! The available iron was very old and did not work. The bed was not very comfortable.

    The staff were very friendly and chsnged our room to a slightly bigger room.There was a kettle and tea and coffe station.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You couldn’t park as taken up by builders vans. Shower didn’t work and only produced a dribble of water. Complained to owner who did apologise and allowed use of another one. Breakfast shown advertised but on arrival told there was none and that I could use a cafe down the road. Only given room key, and had to knock to get in. No where to put away or hang clothing apart from a couple of hooks on the door. Carpet in room misshapen and cut.

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continual Noise from water tank. Cigarette smoke continually entering room and couldn’t find source. Told staff in morning but they didn’t seem to care. Terrible nights sleep because of noise from water tank, and bed sheets were dirty. Mirror in bathroom was hanging off the wall. Lots of people running up and down stairs throughout night.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom Opposite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower too small, buttons on mattresses, bed base looked worn out. I expected breakfast, unfortunately I was told it’s no longer provided although it’s indicated on booking

    Staff were very friendly, caring and professional

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a hotel! it's much more like a hostel for homeless people. We booked a night away from home and deeply regret it! The pictures on the website was totally misleading and should be removed! Here are just some of the challenges we had to be faced with: 1) we changed the first room were checked in because bits of the carpets was and wires hanging out of the ceiling (Building site). 2) the second room we were offered, there was no hot water in the shower. therefore, we was offered a third room with single beds and we refused. Although, we stayed in the second room there was so much things wrong: broken radiator cover, mis matching furniture, carpet in poor condition and patched with other pieces of fabric to fill the gaps, makeshift bathroom door handle and to top it off a remote control with dead batteries. 3) The reception had to call the manager at home to get permission if we could use a shower in the room with the twin beds. permission was granted after about 15, then we had to shower in one room and sleep in another. 4) throughout the stay we could hear a very noisy boiler, people coming and going and the receptionist calling and speaking to other residents.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No WiFi Shower - in the first room it didn't work, went to a second room and worked but very low water pressure Cold Room that one colleague actually went out and brought a heater to keep him warm! but rooms need updating Breakfast was expensive

    it was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom Opposite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower room/toilet was tiny the door lock was a screw the toilet seat was broken, the shower had no handles. The bedroom was cold with a draft from the closed window, the bed creaked the carpet was not one I’d put my bare feet onto, light bulbs were missing , kettle was nasty, decor was old scruffy and had grim round the edges of the shelf by tiny sink, there was a loud boiler type noise going on and off through out the night, the man at the reception was unfriendly no one was there when I left, it was more like what I would imagine a diss hostel to be like

    The towel was clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have not been able to contact the property about issues, as there was nobody on reception when I had to leave. However: Draught in room, so even with radiator turned right up, room never warmed up. Woke up in night, cold. Mould in toilet/shower room. Shower head broken/leaking. Shower rail broken. Had to hold shower head to direct water onto body. Shower door did not close properly, so water ran into toilet area. Toilet seat not tight. Moved around! No soap. No internet connection in morning. Staff (at check in) wearing scarves! Toenail embedded in carpet!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was up to my expectations

    Been to the Oak Lodge numerous times and it is always a great stay!! Always satisfied with my room and the staff!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was beyond broken. The mattress was sunken and we kept meeting in the middle. The slates underneath had snapped in various places and so the mattress fell through in several points. The most uncomfortable nights sleep I have ever had. There is no way to turn down the heating and it was too hot. The shower is subaverage.

    Not much. It was located close to my parent's house. This is not going to be a useful feature for many people.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little tired, it was clean but a coat of paint and some general tidying up like updating a bit. and they need to invest in a new mattress it was passed its sell by date.

    The bed linen was clean. And it was quiet. We were given a bigger room then we booked at no extra charge. Tea making facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was when the weather was really cold! I woke up freezing, sadly quilt not quite up to standard for time of year. I would use again, and make sure I asked before reception closed for extra blankets if it was going to be cold and heating shut offf early hours

    Clean, good location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can hear people talking next room, can hear people walking on wooden floor in corridors, Parking space only for 3 cars while there are more than rooms. no shampoo or conditioner only small soap,

    Bed not comfortable, can hear squeaky bed from other rooms. walls between rooms not well insulated, not easy to find specially when its dark as not well signage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom Opposite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms (18) can do with updating ☺

    Welcoming, polite,helphuff staff 10/10, great location for what i needed.staff was able to sort my issue with a mattress in 10 min.thank you very much Julie 👍

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom Opposite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were a little thin, there was a couple in the room beside me. But the best hotels can have the same issue! The bathroom floor was a bit cold!

    It was clean, there was hot water! Staff were friendly Exactly what I needed for one night.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet too light, hotel needs upgrading although it's not a hotel ! shower room was freezing but shower hot, insulation if walls very poor.. Phone ringing during the night..not worth £60..

    Bed was comfy enough but duvet too thin for winter..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom facilities very small, cold & lighting too bright for such a small room. Room cold. Light from porch shone through the blinds, illuminating the room all night.

    Linen clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Although very dated it was immaculate the domestic was even cleaning all the brass handles on the doors. The hotel is really friendly and has a local pub backed on to it with amazing food. Although jersey is expensive its a place I would go again and would Definately stay in the oaklodge again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking on site but roads nearby to park also.

    The staff on arival and upon leaving were very friendly. Good comfortable accomodation with a good shower and plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was broken, The tv didn't work and couldn't be fixed, the wifi didn't work the first night and no one there at reception to help us. The bed wasn't made the next day, no milk for tea, didn't clear away old tea bags from table the next day Very Cold room and bathroom Couldn't park on the hotel front, complained but owners were not there. I expected more for £60 per night.

    The location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall to the next room was so thin I was woken us several times by the guest next door and their loud snoring! The mattress was lumpy and the tiles in the bathroom loose and very slippery when wet (clean bath mat was provided)

    Room was clean and in good order

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms, location, Environment and most importantly the receptionist.

    This is the worst hotel ever. Pictures on booking.com are Very misleading. The hotel is horrible and badly kept. We arrived when the rooms were cold and heaters weren't working. The beds had no blankets as well and after we complained the porter brought us a portable heater but couldn't get us blankets. The hotel staff are very rude and have poor customer service. I wouldn't recommend this to anyone neither would I consider booking this hotel again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom Opposite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room seemed a bit tired and the bed was a little hard.

    Excellent location for my purpose and at just £45 for my one night stay, the cost was acceptable and reasonable value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was fairly noisy at night, there were people coming in at all hours and I had to go upstairs to ask people in the room above me to keep the noise down. This was a 1am

    Very nice staff member, bet was very comfortable and the en suite was a bonus

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything else. Horrible bed, VERY VERY dirty room. And I mean VERY dirty. There was a cup of smoked cigarettes on the window sill, hairs in the bathroom and the carpet was lastly hoovered many moons ago. Everything was covered in dust, hairs and cobwebs, truly disgusting. And they charge £69 for this with no breakfast. "Parking" was actually a driveway where only 2 cars can be parked and it was already full.

    That it was close to the venue where we were attending an occasion.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real breakfast option, but there is a Greggs up if you turn left on the road so not an issue for me. I was worried about car parking as it really is a drive for about 4 cars, but did not get blocked in, but it something to prepare for next time. For some reason, no ITV 3, but plenty of other channels to choose from.

    Checked in by Julie who was lovely and so was another lady who was there the next day. Very genuine and friendly. Wi fi really good and code provided to take with you at reception. Shower good and large, great mirror that didn't steam up. Room large and comfortable. Lovely location and quiet, despite being on a main road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booked hotel because of parking. Only 2-3 parking spaces for the whole hotel. I know its subjective but the mattress was extremely uncomfortable and only about 400 mm of clearance around the bed. (end and sides) Not much room to move around

    The one staff member I met was very pleasant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the rooms are so small and that you don't have a breakfast room, £7.50 pp is a lot of money for a continental breakfast, that you have to eat off your knee

    the rooms were very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    cleaning staff.

    I did not have breakfast, on Saturday when I returned late at night to the b&b I noticed that I had not been left any tea bags ( nobody around to speak too) on Sunday morning I obtained the tea bags, I went out in the morning when I returned about 4pm my room had not been cleaned, no clean towels bed not made, I spoke to reception who provided clean towels but was unable to have the bed made or the shower etc., cleaned

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All Of the Above

    NO food ROOM, not clean / door to shower room NO lock No Handle NO door furniture Door had to be slammed to shut as did not fit properly In General very poor accommodation Had very little Sleep due to noisy Plumbing and other equipment Humming other guests shouting banging doors etc. If it was possible I would ask for a refund

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower took ages to get hot water and then to mix cold water didn't work. So you either froze or the water was too hot to shower

    Beds were not comfortable they were squeaky. Pillows could have been 4 instead of 2. Breakfast should have been provided. Or even some biscuits

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was awful, 3 rooms later, cash only, bedrooms in state of repair, floor soaking wet.

    Absolutely nothing, you would have to pay me to stay there again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rubbish and very creaky and i had a drunk next door for 2 nights who snored very loudly and kept me awake. He ruined my stay and i left early to sleep in my car. The hotel is an old guest house nothing more. I am not happy. It was a waste of money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about this property was disgusting, the toilet and shower room was absolutely disgusting, it had a horrible sewage smell as they use electric shredder for their toilet flush system. The bathroom barely had any space to stand, the toilet is literally in front of the door. The bed was disgusting and dusty, it was broken but had been repaired with a wooden panel underneath the mattress, the windows were jammed so it had to stay open all night. There's wiring all over the room which seemed very dangerous. We couldn't access the wardrobe as it was blocked by the bed. The state of the room was disgusting and literally full of dust everywhere, seemed like no one cleans it or Hoover's it. There was nothing good about this property at all and I will not recommend to anyone or stay here ever again.

    N/A

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No lock on the bathroom door, just three gaping holes and it did not shut. No bedside light, no phone. In one of the rooms no hangers or wardrobe. Generally, shabby and overall mean accommodation.

    Comfy bed; clean bedding and towels. Julie was lovely and helpful. Easy access to Enfield Town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The rooms were small. Our first room was far too small and the bed wasn't a double, more like a 3/4. We changed after the first night. The second room was slightly bigger with a double bed but the mattress was cheap. The room decor was 'tired' it very much needed a lick of paint and attention. There was damp in the bathroom above the shower. It was difficult to open the door to the bathroom because of the bed position vis size of the room. One person might not have a problem but two was difficult, we struggled. Wifi was impossible. It hardly worked for the first couple of days then broke down and we had no internet for the last few days. We checked out early.

    The receptionist was lovely, polite, friendly and very helpful. The linen was changed daily however except at the weekend. The room was very clean. It was value for money. Ours was a last minute booking as we were let down by another hotel on the day we meant to check in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We managed to get the last room left which was just a liitle too small. The proprietress was ever so apologetic. Didn't really bother me too much as it was just somewhere to sleep.

    Friendly service. Clean and tidy room with a newly refurbished shower room. Ver keen prices compared to other venues.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Overall the experience was very unsatisfactory. A very small room and no hot water in the shower despite giving them time to rectify the problem.

    the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of smoke in the reception area, road noise in our room at the front, noise from voices and phone in reception all night, en suite was shabby, carpet was stained. Parking was awkward as I had to block someone else in and reception couldn't say whether that would be OK.

    Price and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) on arrival doorbell wasn't working so had to wait a while for answer. 2) on checking in, they had no history of my booking and I had to pull out my phone to prove that I had indeed booked. person behind desk then had to call manager and in his words "tell that other guest he cannot stay tonight" - as if I was an inconvenience even though I had a valid booking. Would also stare at me as if I was silly - I am the one being checked in right? not the other way around?

    At least I had a TV

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, unhygienic, the tap for the shower wasn't working and so I had to use another shower on another room of the hotel. The room is tiny, you can everything from the other hotel rooms surrounding yours.

    A friendly member of staff dirty

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped bathroom, no parking on site, inability to use credit card staff mentioned that the card machine did not work on the day.

    Ground floor accommodation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were tiny for one . The bed wasnt a double . There was a loud humming noise in room 14 all night. They didnt have any fans in the rooms so we had to buy one . This is 35c . We got moved to number 5 witch had sky lights and had no blinds so it was very light in there from 4 oclock in the morning . The shower in room 14 wasnt running hot . All in all very poor for nearly £300 for 4 nights .

    The night porter was nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom Opposite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had to leave early (7am) each morning to get to my conference and so missed breakfast in my room as this only started at 8am. There were tea making facilities however.

    I was given a warm welcome by the receptionist and offered a room upgrade to double although this room was tiny. He advised on local restaurants and then, very kindly, lent me his Oyster card for the bus into town and back as I only had cash which wouldn't have been accepted. I didn't see him after that so wasn't able to pay him for the journeys or say Thank you properly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom Opposite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Air conditioning or fan. The room was too hot at night during stay due to heatwave. Coffee was not available in room sachets.

    Friendly Sraff. Great self catering facilities.Nice garden to sit and have meal in and relax.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very basic and small . Was offer one room and did not even have a lock on the door. It's as if he not finished the hotel yet. Travel lodge is cheaper and you get high standard

    Rooms very basic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A problem with the shower, no hot water. They had a problem with the water pressure recently so think it was related to that.

    The staff were excellent, they ensured our room was ready early as we were unable to check in during check in times. Very helpful and friendly and room was very confortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast available but too late for me.

    Small single room but perfectly adequate for business travel. Parking in front of house and nice garden to the rear. Shops and a small park within easy walking distance. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we got downstairs it was facing the road and the traffic was all throughout the night too.

    The staff and how clean and nicely furbished the place is

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit of an issue, the shower room was tiny apart from that it was fine.

    Free wifi was good and the staff were really nice. Good location near places to eat. We used this as a stop off before moving on somewhere else so can't really comment about breakfast etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was expensive for what it was, just bed and no breakfast. The room was noisy from traffic and other occupants. The shower was either scolding hot or cold as the mixer didn't work properly, and the water came out as a horizontal jet! We will not be staying here again.

    The only thing that was positive was the cleanliness of the bedding.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room smelt of smoke, shower didn't work properly, noisy people downstairs during the evening and into the night, card machine not working and so I had to go out and get cash in the morning. The breakfast option on line was £7.50 for breakfast in the room, that was for a very small bowl of cereal and as far I could make out little else. I declined.

    Convenient for the purpose of my trip. Bed was comfy enough.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a little cramped and no car park.

    A nice place to stay if you need to be within this area of London. Room was good, although rather cramped (bathroom sink is one of the smallest I've ever seen). Staff was kind and helpful, I would stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ensuite bathroom very small, door didn't close and when my husband used the lock he got locked in and I had to summon help! Smell of drains. Shower not fixed to the wall properly. Old fashioned metal window frames let in draughts and road noise-a good thing that the heating was good.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and warm. Nice to have a garden.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no toiletries in room They did not have a key for us to lock our room We have made a reservation 3 days in advance and they did not have us

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very small and the bed was also small for a double and right up to the wall on one side. Was supposed to be parking we were told to park on the street opposite and there was no offer to move one of the other cars allowing our car to be parked also, one of the reasons for staying there was because it said there was parking.

    Not a lot.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    • The reception area was cigarette smokey. • The first room we were given was a little bigger than a cupboard. • The WC was smelly and in need of a clean. • The small double bed was hard against one wall so either my wife would have to climb over me or vice versa (to get into/out of bed). • The one bedside cabinet could only provide a light for one person. • There was no wardrobe - just a series of hooks behind the door. • There were no chairs (or room to place them) or a side table for tea/coffee etc. • The subsequent room we were offered had no fixed electric socket for the kettle - just a floating lead from behind the bed emerging by the bedside cabinet and bedroom door - causing a trip hazard as one entered the room and risking spilled water by the bed onto the open socket. • The kettle did not work and its replacement was very slow. • The shower room (again very small) had no facility to hang/place towels. • The wash-hand basin was just that – it was too small to wash more than ones hands. • There was terrible access to the ‘Hotel’ and room for only three cars at a pinch (for 16 rooms!!) • To take breakfast (only served in room - no other facility) one would need to sit on floor or bed and eat off lap! • Do I need to go on?

    The receptionist was initially curt and only mellowed when we expressed dissatisfaction with the room. The relief receptionist was very courteous and tried to help but was unable to provide what the 'Hotel' did not have.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Basic Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception smelled of cigarette smoke when we arrived. It was on quite a busy road and is not double glazed so it was quite noisy. Breakfast was overpriced.

    The room was spacious and well decorated. Good design. Convenient for public transport.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I arrived the person on duty said he wasn't expecting me so I felt uncomfortable. The wi-fi was unreliable especially on the last day when it wasn't working so I Left early for the office to complete my work.

    It was quiet and located close to the place where I was working. It met my need which was a quite place to work .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room felt small. Very small window, window facing other house and therefore minimal natural light in the beedroom. Neighbours in next door bedroom too noisy between 1-3am..could hear everything. Unable to sleep..No night porter intervention.Disappointed.

    Very friendly welcoming receptionist on arrival. Beautiful fire place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were helpful and friendly; provided extra items (e.g pillows) when asked; cleaned to a flexible schedule to meet my needs. Location is safe. Public transportation (bus, commuter train) just a short walk away. Easy, flat, pleasant 20 min walk to town centre with historic area and modern shopping.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very small shower/wc ensuite. A bit tired and could do with some maintenance (shower head had a life of its own but once tamed it was hot and plentiful!) Functional but not nearly luxurious. Fine for business but the wife would kill me if I booked in here!

    Easy to park, reasonable price, handy for Enfield and A406. Clean bedding and towels and ample tea, coffee and toiletries.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom Opposite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Choice of milk sachets - but I didn't ask if they had any different

    Helpful staff regarding transport and other requests. Generally nice and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had to ask for extra pillows/no hair dryer in room, no milk, no coffee,no table ,no wardrobe. only one wooden chair.No breakfast available, just as well, as we would have had to sit on the bed to eat it,if we could have got it !!struggled to move around the room with two of us in it .Very cramped and basic.

    staff really helpful,and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to bed only on one side which is not good for elderly. Smoke alarm covered over with a plastic bag. Curtain pullback hanging off wall. Smell of cigarette smoke for some reason. No vent in toilet or window that opened. Dirty under bed. Price far too expensive for what was offered. Pipe sticking up out of floor in en suite.No hairdryer.Room not ready on arrival.

    Friendly , apologetic lady on arrival.Off road parking.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold when we arrived as radiator was switched off and took quite a while for room to warm up. Suggest during cold periods radiator left on low to take chill out of room.

    Clean and comfortable. Easy access to public transport.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we arrived late evening and as we were leaving early the next morning the only facility we used was the shower. We were either scalded or frozen. The window curtains looked liked the dirt was holding them together so we didn't dare touch them!!! yeuch. the owners husband should take lessons from the staff on how to be polite to people. the divan of the beds were broken. it was all very dated and obviously old. not my type of hotel. perhaps this market is aimed at alternative clientele. Observed many 'work men' at this hotel

    All the staff were very customer focused, friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold even though heating was on in the small room. No wardrobe or drawers. No catch on bathroom window and couldn't be closed therefore it was freezing in there. No radiator in bathroom either. Clean and nice bed sheets but so cold.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist didn't know what they were doing, couldn't find our booking, visa machine not working had to go to cash machine to get cash. Noisy all night, residents banging about at 4:00am. Free car parking consisted of finding a side street to park on. Room was very basic, double bed pushed up against the wall, shower room poor condition. Would not give this 2.9 more like 1 and that would be for the late night receptionist

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff on arrival No iron Should've offered to call us to make payment when machine was working not having to go out our way to pay

    Was greeted by receptionist. How did you get in? Erm we opened the door! We were given a different room to what we had booked and were told we were lucky to get our room changed. Hotel did not have an iron!! Our clothes needed ironed. Surely a minimum expectation for a hotel facility. Card payment didn't work had to walk a mile into town to get cash to make payment

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heating in shower room/toilet. Just had to make sure that door was left open overnight. No problem for shower in morning.

    Couldn't pay be debit card as machine wasn't working. Had to get cash from machine. No problem though

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was run a bit like Fred Carno's army. No light on at front of house, no obvious house number, no credit card connection so we had to go and get cash. Heating did not work so had to get a heater, no sugar at all on premises so all in all not a good stay. They need to pull their socks up if they wish to survive

    The shower

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: