Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Oak House Hotel 5 stars

The Square, Axbridge, BS26 2AP, United Kingdom

#2 of 3 hotels in Axbridge

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 476 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    The bed was comfy ,everything was really clean and tidy,...
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With the breakfast it could be more clear with what the juices are, there were no signs to say what was what on anything.

    The bed was comfy ,everything was really clean and tidy, staff were lovely and breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Would happily return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a shade more space in the showerroom would have been great.

    The hotel and staff were great. The meals were most enjoyable. The manager was extremely helpful with breakfast tomato juice drink!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Over all very pleasant stay. Did not eat there except for breakfast which was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry look at previous answer

    It was impossible to use hairdryer near mirror. Also the flex on hairdryer meant you could not stand up and blow dry hair if you are over 4ft tall! Shower gel and shampoo a bit mean for two people sharing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Nice place, but room too hot to sleep in
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was thick black mould / mildew all over the shower head. I asked for it to be cleaned after the first night but it wasn't. The room was also unbelievably hot. We had two fans in there but we still got barely any sleep.

    Pleasant staff and nice character filled building. Great location and nice town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    A beautifully decorated value for money hotel with loads to do near by.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were fantastic for the £71.50 per night we paid. However on some days I have seen them going for much more. For the high price the room could do with just a few cleaning up touches. Some of the walls have marks that need painting and the cupboard in the room was in a right state needing fixing up or replacing. Moreover the view was not great as the building are so closely packed together in the town (not the hotels fault) and that means people could probably easily see into your room from the street. Also the curtains could do with being larger to make sure the whole window is covered. The shower screen should also be larger to stop water going ever where in the bathroom when having a shower.

    Decoration was very nice. Beds comfy. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was at no added fee and was a tasty continental and/or cooked meal. The area surrounding the hotel had lots going on and was nice to walk around. Also quite at night, good for sleep. Onsite free parking. Room had fan, heater, hair dryer, kettle, tea, coffee and a few beauty things. Value for money. Loads to do a short drive away.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.1
    Fairly basic room but a very good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a few cobwebs on the bedside lamps and one was broken. We did not report this as it was late. The shower room/toilet was a bit smelly.

    Good location in the town square and an excellent breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Short break away with the dog
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was excellent and clean. Bed was very comfortable. Food was excellent, both the evening meal and the breakfast, with high quality food used. Very dog friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.3
    A Lovely Weekend in Axbridge
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The in-room kettle looked like it had never been de-scaled, and while the soaker tub is a nice perk, being located in front of the window over-looking the square makes it a bit uncomfortable to use in the mornings or day when you'd like to. The curtains that cover the windows make the room very dark - a privacy screen or something of the kind would make the room a bit more private and the amenities a little more enjoyable. I'm sorry to say that I would not recommend the breakfast or dinner at the hotel - the staff was great and very kind and they obviously care a lot about their service, but having two people run the bar and the front of house restaurant inevitably leads to service issues. I think they could be great with some better planning. Until then, the lovely and delicious Almhouse Tea Shop across the street is the way to go for breakfast, and The Lamb is a good option for evening pub fare.

    We were looking for a place to stay with our pup for our anniversary weekend, and I'm glad we found this place. It's a bit pricey, but our room was adorable with a very comfy bed, and the location in this small and quiet town was exactly what we were looking for. All of the staff we met were very friendly and accommodating - even we got delayed leaving London for our trip and got in around 11pm. We really had a nice little weekend away visiting around there and Cheddar. I would certainly recommend a hike around the Gorge or an easy walk around the reservoir, both of which are very close to the inn. The hotel bar closes a bit early, but we found respite (and great conversation) over at The Lamb just across the square until the wee hours.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Super comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I really enjoyed the hotel, nice restaurant and the bedroom is so very cozy and comfortable! A good surprise after an international flight. I only stayed for one night but would go back again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Relaxed environment in charming village and dogs welcome
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy at night but that was due to some youths gathered in the square - totally not the hotel’s fault!

    Lovely room overlooking main square of Axbridge with comfortable king-size bed. We received a friendly welcome and our dog was made very welcome too. Our breakfast was served in bar area so dog could join us which was very nice. Overnight parking available just down the road. We felt this was a very nice hotel and plan to return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Perfect holiday getaway to Bristol coast, Cheddar Gorge and the Mendip Hills. We'd go back for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I would say it to alert the customer that the offer of a morning paper is charged. But this is so minor and didn't take away from one of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed in.

    This was the perfect British country inn on the village square. 10 steps from the pub where we took part in the monthly pub quiz. The breakfast was excellent. The rooms were very comfortable and warm. The little touches such as flapjacks, coffee/tea and water in the room, quality toiletries, and robes were much appreciated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.3
    Room looks unloved and uninviting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty and needed a freshen up dirty walls and ripped wallpaper,bathroom dirty grout and grubby glasses.linen didn’t fit the single bed so didn’t stay on throughout the night,room was uncomfortably cold

    fantastic staff and gorgeous breakfast!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely, relaxing overnight stay that exceeded expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They need to bleed their radiators! The gurgle from the pipes was pretty impressive in our room - plus being an old building you can hear people talking etc through the walls / floor. Didn't spoil our experience though

    The quality of the dining (dinner and breakfast) was above expectations for a modestly-sized inn, I felt the breakfast offered was great value for money as well. Staff were lovely and helpful, Axbridge itself is a tiny place, but pretty & peaceful and a great base for exploring the surrounding area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.8
    Chilled evening and nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fake flowers aren’t to my taste, but that’s a personal asthetic. Feathered pillow and quilt is again something that me and my partner are not fond of but was still a comfortable stay!

    Perfect sounding area, taking a walk to the the resivour. Room was modern with hair dryer and robes. The food was okay, small portions with limited range but it was tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely accommodation in a beautiful village
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Need more staff. Staff were pleasant but a long wait to get drinks and food and to get attention at reception. The food both myself and my friend had, was ok, but could have been better. Wouldn't put us off staying again

    Lovely accommodation in a beautiful village

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Superb hotel, great location, very good restaurant and bar.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb hotel, great location, very good restaurant and bar. Nice touches in the room - handmade shortbread, proper fresh ground coffee and cafetiere. The breakfast service, selection and food were fantastic. Will be back.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    10
    Friendly place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was all brilliant

    Friendly staff on arrival. Food was quick and cooked perfectly. Rooms were tidy and clean. Quiet overnight stay. Free local parking nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    8.3
    Would recommend as a short stop stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Artificial flowers everywhere! Also breakfast items not marked well, no gluten free bread, only a loaf of white or brown, also query on the milk, just in a jug, no choice. Had the eggs Florentine which were very nice (without the muffin!)

    The bed in the superior double room was really comfortable and the room itself was bright and airy. Had the tapas in the restaurant as only a la carte available after 6.00 p.m. but they were great (although no lemon mayo with the whitebait as advertised)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Thrilled to find and stay at the Oak House Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    Thrilled to discover such a gem at a bargain rate. The stay exceeded our expectations in everyway. Excellent food. Very professional staff. Great stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay, comfortable and the breakfast and lunch were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room generally needed dusting. Ceiling light had thick dust on it. Shower tray filled with water and did not drain whilst showering.

    Bed was comfortable. Room was bright and sunny and good size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    9.6
    Stylish and smart hotel with great food and great staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small details that might help you out... I would suggest ironing the robes. We didn’t use them but it was the only element of the room that would finish it off. Pillows were-not great. In room 10 you can clearly hear a door swinging (possibly kitchen door), that stops later on (gone 11pm), in the evening. When we first arrived it was rather annoying. Have a listen and see what you think. Food was great as mentioned earlier, however if the menu had a slightly wider offering we would have eaten there on our second night as well as our first......

    Bar areas and lounge we’re lovely. Really good feel throughout and nice quality feel to it... Drinks menu. Gin was superb and well presented.., My son loved the pork scratchings!!! Food was fab. Breakfast and dinner Staff great. Room superb, loads of space. My son loved his own tv and bed. Room amenities very good. Loved the espresso machine!!!!nice touch...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.9
    8 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy pipework...possibly trapped air. Room was clean but needed a few finishing touches in the bathroom with the toilet cleanliness and sticking door.

    Old building with plenty of character. Homely restaurant with excellent food and service.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    6.3
    Pleasant stay - would consider again if a few of the issues were resolved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room service tray left outside until the morning - still there when we left. First room very cold, second room very noisy with kitchen extractors. Food on second day not quite up to the cost.

    Food in the restaurant on the first night was excellent. Breakfast was good too. Location was a great base for exploring Cheddar.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    A lovely stay in a very quaint little town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were lovely, the breakfast in the morning was great and the service was very good. We will definitely be returning when we visit Cheddar again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    We loved our stay, just wouldn’t stay in room 8 until repairs had been complete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Shower door really needs new plastic seal, water pours out all over the floor. 2. Hot tap needs fixing, it runs randomly through out the day & night & makes a really loud noise, resulting in keeping you awake 3. Radiator had to be turned off due to loud banging noise Finally overall we loved our stay, just left needing a good night sleep, even bed was soft, very comfy. Not ideal to stay in room 8, would happily return but not stay in this room

    Food brilliant, location perfect, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    superb and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    some noises from running hot water

    bed was extremely comfortable, lovely village, excellent hotel and inn and great staff that were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.9
    Fab place for a weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed a little soft but that is personal preference. The window in room 6 bathroom was also a little worse for wear which made the room look a little untidy. These are minor things though.

    Amazing food, lovely staff, lovely bar with games to play.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    To short
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a problem with key for my room apart from that it was all great.

    The location is lovely, and the locals were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Comfy Room, Great Food & our Dogs where welcome :0]
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Should imagine parking would be a challenge in high season but there is a free car park close by but as we stayed in January we didn't have an issue.

    We had room 10 which was very spacious with a separate seating area, the super king-size bed was super comfy, food in the evening was great as was the breakfast both of which we had in the bar area as we had our 2 little dogs with us who where allowed everywhere in the hotel with the exception of the restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    great realaxing place
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    late check in with no problem - i requested a bath and got an amazing bath - the room is great as is the location (close to bristol airport and right next to the bus stop) i loves the town and the area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    10
    Great cosy place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything there, especially the seclusion of the property.

    The friendly and professional staff. Everything was as expected. I would recommend this place to anyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything from the friendly staff to the comfortable beds and clean bedding and linen.

    Excellent, professional and courteous staff. I recommend this place to anyone. Excellent choice of what to have at breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.8
    Comfy and pleasant place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some cobwebs in the room and the water in the bathroom was a little unpredictable temperature wise. But these things were minor.

    The room was very comfy, very nicely decorated. The breakfast was good, the hotel seemed quiet during my stay, I was the only person at breakfast but the staff still made me feel welcome.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel fantastic food and gin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t work the coffee machine in the room even with instructions 🤦🏻‍♀️

    Coffee was lovely and I’m fussy bed comfy and nice and clean food was fab no complaints at all

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    Too short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the coffee pod machine in the room but the coffee at breakfast was ace.

    Very nice service. It is not a chain hotel and you really notice this. Much nicer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    Okay Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn’t very comfortable, didn’t find the staff very friendly other than one barman.

    The hotel was really clean and in a ideal location. Restaurant and bar was lovely with a really cosy feel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely village and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was nice. But we were over the kitchen and the extractor was very noisy

    Really friendly staff and welcoming surroundings even though there was a busy function going on

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Hidden Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much not to like we would have liked to stay longer.

    Lovely warm welcome. A free upgrade to a suite on arrival. The bar and restaurant were well stocked. Fabulous choice of menus and wines. Great service too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.9
    Amazing restaurant, friendly staff.. beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only complaint, not really a complaint more if a observation.. the bathroom looked a little tired re silicone around the bath and tiles.. and the radiator came on and banged during the night, was quite noisy, but we did report that and they said they'd check it out!!!

    The food was amazing, staff very friendly.. we visited for a meal for our first ever proper date and they made sure it was a very memorable time!!! Hence why we decided to return..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    A very welcome rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park away from hotel (not a big deal at all just would be awkward if weather was bad and carrying baggage)

    Close to Bristol airport Toddler friendly Very welcoming staff Good breakfast menu

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.7
    Over all it's a nice hotel and we'll probably return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy extractor fan ( assume from kitchen) immediately outside bedroom window) - rather cold as radiators not working properly - reported to staff who put heating on for an extra time which didn't really address the problem. To warm up we sat in the bar and had hot chocolate which was rather expensive ( had the room been warmer we would have use the coffee machine in our room) Parking could be a problem as there are only a few spaces in the square ( we had the last space at that time)

    Comfortable bed and good breakfast (cooked to order). Location was good for us and in a pleasant little town at a good price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Cosy stay, pretty village.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few issues with cleanliness but nothing major. One of the rooms we rented was far nicer than the other.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Excellent would go again
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weather could of been a bit better but not bad

    The service friendly staff, helpful for other locations. Recommended other places to eat excellent food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.5
    Relatively good money for location and services.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very small and quite different to what I was expecting, based on the photos, but still good quality. The meals, whilst nice were arguably a little over priced.

    The bed was very comfy/

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    It was a good night overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy! Room at the front of the hotel and people made lots of noise when leaving the bar later at night. This woke us up! Also, had to move the car as could not leave it outside the hotel.

    Excellent staff, very attentive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    5.8
    Nice food and staff, shame about the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was pretty poor, uncomfortable bed, freezing cold (no heating), bathroom left a lot to be desired, window frame rotten and the carpet hadn't been vacuumed properly as there was old cigarette rubbish on the floor from a previous guest. Blanket on bed over duvet was pointless and looked pretty grubby.

    The downstairs area was good. Breakfast was really good. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu a bit restrictive when there for 2 nights - no specials and only a la carte on Friday night.

    Good value for money, would definitely stay there again when in area!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    My boyfriend and I stayed at The Oak House for a night upon...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My boyfriend and I stayed at The Oak House for a night upon our return from a long weekend away and were absolutely delighted with our choice. We arrived around 10pm but were greeted by a very friendly chap who showed us to our room without any fuss. Our room was beautiful - very spacious, a king-size bed (super comfy!), flat-screen TV, fully-stocked bathroom with bath and shower overhead, Nespresso machine (win!!) and a little table and chairs. Our room overlooked the square, which is beautiful. There was a little bit of noise in the morning just with local traffic coming and going but nothing that disturbed us too much. We were running a little late for breakfast in the morning but were advised that if the 10am time was a push for us then they would still feed us a little bit after this. Breakfast was absolutely delicious - I had scrambled egg with smoked salmon and boyfriend went for the full Oak House breakfast; both of us were pleasantly stuffed afterwards. We were eyeing up the little coffee area after we checked out but decided that as cosy as it looked, we should really take advantage of a day to explore so drove the short distance to Cheddar Gorge instead. However we will definitely be back to stay at the hotel - it really was lovely!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    10
    Very quent quirky hotel a lot of history staff extremely...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't long enough

    Very quent quirky hotel a lot of history staff extremely friendly definitely worth a visit we will return room was fabulous. Eleanor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent value for money for such a lovely hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being next door to the village church wasnt ideal as the clock chimed every 15 minutes throughout the night

    Excellent value for money for such a lovely hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    An overnight stay that turned out to be a real treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small ancient Inn with loads of character and features. May not be suitable for those who can't climb stairs but a real little gem in the centre of a charming little medieval town. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in a quiet area!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked specifically because we wanted the 'slipper' bath but the room was not available. Staff were however very happy to upgrade us to a dinner book to compensate

    Lovely old hotel in nice location. Food in the restaurant was incredible!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Greate place to see Cheddar Gorge from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee machine in the room had no instructions.

    Really close to both Cheddar Gorge and Cheddar reservoir with a number of places to eat in the square. Comfortable cozy room that was neat and clean. Good breakfast and enjoyable dinner too. Nice fire place to sit and enjoy a drink next to in the eveining next to the bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    lovely location Axbridge has a charming market square with...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    more choice of "reasonably" priced food

    lovely location Axbridge has a charming market square with the hotel at the heart of it 5 mins of the main road a short drive from cheddar gorge good food some reasonably priced some a bit more expensive large room with comfortable beds

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    A lovely gem which we will be using in future
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Moving the car at 9am but that was my choice as the staff did explain the free car park up the road but it was no big problem.

    The Staff were lovely plus everything about the way it was run plus the small touches

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Gorgeous hotel and gorgeous room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn’t like was because our room looked onto the square in the morning we couldn’t open the curtains as people could see straight into our room, it needed some sort of net curtains or something so it wasn’t a clear view in for the people outside.

    We booked this hotel for our wedding night, and it was amazing we had a bath in the bedroom and was close to our next destination cheddar Gorge. The staff were amazing and breakfast was great x

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    Nice breakfast with a varied selection.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had an issue with the hot water system which alternated between hot and cold.

    Nice breakfast with a varied selection. Comfy bed. Excellent location. Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of tiles on floor in bathroom starting to work loose

    The room was very nice, big and clean, friendly accommodating staff. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Arrived in the dark but woke up in extraordinary beauty all around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow steep stairs to access room hut that is what you expect in an old building.

    Family room was spacious, fresh flowers in the room gave it a personal touch along with the homemade shortbread biscuits under a little glass dome. Dolce Gusto machine in the room added bonus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.8
    Room nice and food very good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a major problem but due to a fair in the town square I wasn't able to park outside. There is a free car park nearby.

    Room nice and food very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.5
    Quite dissappointing for a 5 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking in local car park. Used room items weren't always replaced. Bathroom bin hadn't been emptied on arrival but they did rectify this immediately. Stayed for 3 nights on the last day we got bathroom items left that hadn't been left before. Room was quite noisy, something, possibly a boiler switched on at 7 a.m. and ran continuously till 10p.m. Buffet continental breakfast was poor very little cut fresh fruit, only 2 or 3 small croissants, small amount of granola etc all of which were not replaced or appeared not to be while at breakfast. Cooked breakfast could have been better bacon was quite greasy and fatty.

    Nice location. Comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.8
    Overall the Oak was disappointing. It looks great on the website so I was expecting a lot more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel a little tired. Room no 5 appalling value. Impossible to get under shower, toilet leaked, towel rack dusty. It all felt a bit grubby. Small room. Unpleasant.

    Fabulous helpful waitress. Food was pretty good, although always a long wait including breakfast - it took half an hour for two bullet hard poached eggs to arrive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.8
    Looking forward to a return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could not find fault with anything

    Good choice of breakfast, would serve other dishes Relaxing bar and lounge area Quiet location Informative and very friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen started clanging at 7 (might not affect most rooms). Basic decor (mid brown industrial carpet).

    Great location in a beautiful old square. Friendly helpful staff, clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.1
    Great for what we wanted but very quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found an empty vodka bottle in the wardrobe. Bath was lovely but leaked underneath when used. Should have net or voile over the window especially with bath next to the window had to keep curtains closed. Service at dinner especially was slow waited an hour for main course and only 14 in restaurant food was expensive for what it was. £80 FOR MAIN and dessert with bottle of wine.

    Good location and staff friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable with good food. Central location in a very pretty village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's didn't have it's own parking and we had to park in a public car park. The car park wasn't too far away but far away enough to be inconvenient (not great when it's raining or if you have children or elderly guests. The room was a little small for the money.

    The food and service in the restaurant was particularly good. Access to the accommodation via a separate entrance was a bonus i.e. you didn't have to walk through the bar area to get to the room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    Staff so helpful, provided extra bed for my son, gave us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff so helpful, provided extra bed for my son, gave us lots of advice about the area. Food was amazing. Very friendly atmosphere. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Would have like to stay another night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no obvious but here. Perhaps, one inconvenience would have been if we had wanted to stay beyond 9am the day of our departure, for it would have been necessary to move our car to a new parking place (but this is really scrapping the barrel to find fault).

    Axbridge. It is a beautiful little town. The hotel is bang in the main square. Part of the hotel is a very well kept ancient building. The staff were friendly and the food (both dinner and breakfast) was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.7
    Excellent breakfast and staff, but the rest falls short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there were a number of downsides to our room (the twin room, room #5). Firstly the shower wouldn't work, you're supposed to pull up the knob on top of the taps but it wouldn't pull up at all, so a shower wasn't possible. Secondly, the wifi, whilst it works great throughout the hotel, we could only get one bar in our room and it would constantly disconnect due to a weak signal, very disappointing. Thirdly, the condition of our room was not up to the 5 star standard we would have expected, given the rating of the hotel. The paint was flaking on parts of the wall, the door mechanism would constantly jam against the door when you tried to open it and the bathroom looked quite dated and shabby. These issues were mentioned on check-out and we were told they would be looked into, so hopefully they are rectified asap. Overall we were disappointed considering the £124 per night cost of this room, had it not been for a discount we had for our booking we would have complained, but in the end the room and hotel served it's purpose, but I don't think we would return.

    The breakfast here is amazing, can't rate it highly enough, the actual hotel, the food and the staff were all fantastic throughout out very short stay. The location was great for anyone wanting to check out cheddar gorge (the intention of our stay) as it was only 2 miles down the road, The Lamb across the road also serves fantastic food (the falafel burger for us) and delicious beer (can't remember the name but it was a czech stile pilsner).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    8.8
    for one night it was acceptable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was no lift and it was a struggle to carry suitcases to the top floor and the guy who checked us in and showed us to our room didn't even offer to help.

    Customer service. they were very accommodating in extending our check out time to 2pm.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable but no parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We overlooked the square which was lovely but rather noisy on a Friday night then people were setting up the Farmers Market at 5.30pm.There was no parking but a free convenient carpark nearby.

    Room was homely after some of the more impersonal ones we've stayed in. Breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could benefit from having an extractor fan, although this did not detract from our enjoyment staying here, we could easily have stayed longer!

    The bed was sooo comfortable and the bedding was superb - all of it oozed luxury. The breakfast was top notch, served in a lovely environment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    pleasant stay with a few minor issues.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite small with window overlooking back of kitchen. Kitchen staff smoking outside could be smelt and kitchen noise. Duvet was too thick for summer.

    Location, staff, hotel overall and the restaurant was fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Amazing, beautiful art and great attention to detail and had...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was fab, just the tables in the bar in the evening could have done with a clean.

    Amazing, beautiful art and great attention to detail and had a lovely chat with the lady who owns it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.8
    Overall, very goid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The management seemed disorganised and left the junior staff to cope alone with insufficient training.

    Food was excellent on the whole, the bed superbly comfortable and the staff were charming

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: