Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Oakley Hall Hotel 4 stars

Rectory Road, Oakley, Oakley, RG23 7EL, United Kingdom

#1 of 2 hotels in Oakley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 217 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.5

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Very tranquil and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely and spacious and sparkly clean! Dinner and breakfast was great, very tasty. The Toffee Apple Mousse was probably the best dessert I've ever had!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    A very enjoyable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cooked English breakfast - bacon overcooked and left ready for serving (very salty too). Previous morning had eggs benedict - bagel far too chewy (muffins are better for this dish) and hollandaise sauce too oily and glutinous.

    Our room was lovely, beautifully decorated and furnished. Liked the underfloor heating in the bathroom and our little terrace. Dinner was very good - beautifully presented.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    I love this hotel, beautiful setting and gorgeous rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I love this hotel, beautiful setting and gorgeous rooms. Bathroom excellent. It is a big place and a few more guests may have made a tad more atmosphere in the lounge and bar areas.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    7.5 out 10 but missing that something to make you want to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed three nights in room 45 which faced the rear overlooking a huge patio. There were just small issues which are easily correctable. No carafe to make coffee yet your given huge coffee filters. I asked for a carafe and room service looked at me as if I was from Mars. Disgusting brown spots on two of my towels the first morning. Workman sawing and drilling at 730am below your window. The worst selection of fruit at the breakfast buffet in tiny cups which looked hours old. Breakfast buffet is on par with an express hotel but the cooked meals were very good. When you enter the lobby you see a massive bar which is only in use for private functions. Why it would be a focal point is beyond me if its not in use. Poorly designed room but large enough just not confortable. I know I sound picky but this was our sixth hotel this current trip and I feel for the money is not upto scratch.

    Within one hour and fifteen minutes of Heathrow. Very quiet situated on large grounds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely period property in the country.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s primarily an events hotel - weddings/conferences. When I stayed at the property there was a only one couple dining at the same time. Perhaps more effect could be made to attract dining business and to sell the 50 bedrooms to create a more usual hotel atmosphere when events are not booked.

    Lovely period property in the country. Nice staff - very good food and good wine list with Ruinart Blanc de Blanc at £95

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    We had a fabulous stay in a stunning hotel with a wonderful country house feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The map of the grounds could be improved by showing all the local footpaths across fields surrounding the hotel grounds or they could offer a map showing all the public rights of way. The countryside surrounding the hotel is so beautiful, it deserves to be explored.

    This hotel has recently been beautifully renovated, the grounds make for a wonderful walk. The grounds are still a work on progress, but the potential can be seen through all the hard work that has been carried out. The staff are very attentive and courteous making you feel cosseted and cared for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Superlative Hotel; supportive and helpful staff; awesome food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a small gym, map of running trails, and a guest book of information in each room. A card with the maids name would have been nice too.

    THE hotel is amazingly updated, clean, luxurious and the staff superb!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful setting, great room and lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Location, staff attentive and friendly. Room good size, clean and great to have separate bath and shower. The bed was the most comfortable that we have slept in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was very good

    Lovely hotel in a wonderful location. The staff were excellent, food very good bedrooms clean and comfortable and bathroom bright and airy with good toiletries and even your own rubber duck!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice friendly staff and very comfortable but internal decor gave a rather cold experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given a room in external building and was expecting to be inside the main hotel. Decor was disappointing as rather modern interior compared to beautiful old exterior of building. Lots of corporate entertainment taking place and thus gave a clinical feel to the place.

    Lovely location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Music at dinner

    The little touches in the room were lovely, and made us feel at home. It is such a beautiful property set in the most stunning grounds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Simply superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to dislike!

    Delightful hotel - large room, very comfortable bed/bedding. Excellent menu if dining. Professional staff. Beautiful grounds. I could go on......and on....and on!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    I’d definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room was too hot & it took ages for the air con to cool it down.

    The staff were lovely & friendly. I loved the little chocolates on the bed & also I liked the fact that breakfast is cooked to order & not the usual buffet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay, but too expensive. Would not do it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Initial booking communications were poor. Didn’t like Selecting and Paying in advance for food and wine, which was only part of the final bill. Bottled water not part of the package, left in our roo.

    Table service was excellent. Friendly staff. Nice surroundings.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.1
    Good bed, and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reason I booked the establishment as I wanted to treat my partner to the Bombay Sapphire tour and it was close by. As the offer was not available , I had to book all separately, including dining in the Glasshouse, which was not full or busy!! On arrival we commented on the hotel not being busy and were told only 10 guests were staying! The overall stay was very enjoyable, but I feel I was hard done by at not receiving the offer advertised on the website!!

    Good bed, and great breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    10
    Opulence and luxury at an affordable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely NOTHING I didn't like.

    I felt steeped in luxury from start to finish. Not only is the hotel a stately home but the acres of grounds are beautiful for walking in and exploring. The staff were super helpful and courteous and nothing was too much trouble. It would have to be the best hotel I've ever stayed in; in fact I extended my stay another night.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    10
    Would stay and recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us I don't think you could.

    The room was super clean and very spacious. The bed was extra comfy. The hotel was very quiet which was perfect for us to just relax from out busy jobs. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.7
    Very nice building and grounds, well presented but a little charmless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit soulless. Staff are ok but somehow give the impression they are all just temp's brought in. It just doesn't feel like anyone is really running it. Hilarious 1970's muzak in the dining room both for evening dinner and breakfast.

    Very well refurbished, good quality finishes throughout most areas of the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Impressive venue in fabulous grounds. Friendlly, professional staff but overall atmosphere was cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar lounge was 'sterile'! It has no atmosphere & not a place to relax with friends over drinks. Needs a good bar team to run it properly. The wine list was poor / limited considering the high quality feel of the hotel.

    After hours resident bar service staff were very accommodating, great service 👍

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.8
    Necessary !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Had to take this hotel as one of the closer to Car Fest site. Gripes are they whack up the price over this period. Staff are sometimes surly . Instance was request for omelette ( which was off menu ) was treated as if we had asked for something really difficult .Food in teh restaurant is distinctly average and over hyped on the menu. The place could do with a Spa and pool and would be much improved with these facilities , might even justify the price!

    Lovely rural location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.2
    Most relaxing and comfortable. We shall be returning!
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were a bit too firm, though nice and spacious, we had an extra big double bed. Couple of softer pillows would have been good. Had dinner there 2 nights out of three, but did not notice a change in the menu second time (third night).

    Nice to have the smaller croissants but would have been even nicer if they'd been warm. The coffee was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.6
    Walking in the woods.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner at the restaurant was not according to standards of this hotel. A helicopter landed at the hotel property and caused a lot of noise which disturbed all the guests. That was inappropriate!!! In addition, the helicopter was landed in the middle of the hotels park and it destroyed the whole scenery with its presence.

    Nice place.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    INCREDIBLE.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could have stayed for longer. My only regret was not being able to explore the premise as long as I would have wanted. :)

    IT WAS INCREDIBLE!!! (Plus Oakley is the last name of Tyler Oakley- a YouTuber- so that was a +)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.2
    England is forever
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have been good if the rooms could have been serviced earlier on the Sat am. As it was, it was past midday before we could return to our rooms.

    My husband and I were at OH with our son and daughter in law for Fri14 and Sat 15. It was an extremely comfortable break.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being able to easily have a Gluten free dessert in a two Rosetta restaurant, I was very disappointed to be only offered the usual sorbet , as a coeliac it's not a dad diet to me and I felt sure I would get something amazing but sadly I did not !

    Everything was fabulous , it was amazingly clean , the staff brilliant and attentive

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    8.8
    the grounds and standard of maintenance were very good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property could do with more facilities, there was no gym or swimming pool which should be standard of a hotel of this ilk and perhaps a billiard room too.

    the grounds and standard of maintenance were very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    You will love this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish the staff had been more knowledgeable about the history of the property.

    Fabulous - so gorgeous and comfortable. Brillant room and super generous amenities, excellent restaurant and absolutely stunning grounds. Loved staying here - wish we had been there longer!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Close to Bombay Sapphire Gin Tasting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The glasshouse restaurant on site was excellent a bit pricy but very good food and menu choice. Breakfast was included had usual cooked and continental but also had eggs benedict with salmon and there were other breakfast items cooked fresh that were included

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Stunning hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We attended a wedding and stayed overnight, the hotel staff were very helpful, polite and professional. The Hotel's location and ambience is superb, the grounds are wonderful. Beautifully decorated and furnished rooms. The wedding dinner was delicious and breakfast next morning was very satisfying ! Thank you for a wonderful time.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Amazing place- highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutely loved the place, the people and the whole experience. Similar to some of the 5 star hotels we stayed rather than 4 stars. Spacious big room, really clean and comfortable bed. We can park our car right outside the room so with lots of bags and two small children is really easy. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful, lots of ground for kids to run and around exploring. Thank you for making our stay so perfect!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were only here for one night as we passed through. Huge rooms, classic but comfortable decor. Lovely bathroom with very comfy bed and pillows. Stunning location. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    A Relaxing treat with very fair pricing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous setting with beautifully kept grounds. Staff were friendly and efficient. The restaurant was carefully furnished to high standard, as was the bar. The meals were a real treat, with chef's excellent touch showing on each plate.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found it hard to cool the room temperature down with the air con. We were surprised they don't have more spa facilities such as a pool for such a large and beautiful hotel.

    Hotel and grounds were beautiful. The room was clean and felt luxurious. Breakfast was incredible. Staff were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.8
    Diet Downton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The paths for the walks around the grounds were well marked. The breakfast felt a little like a premier inn breakfast. The bar and food prices were high.

    The rooms were luxurious, the grounds were stunning and hall itself was beautiful. The library is amazing. I had the best night sleep I'd had in months.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    10
    Perfect Relaxing Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff were extremely welcoming. The grounds were beautiful very peaceful The afternoon tea was delicious and with our 1 year son joining us the chef and staff accommodated for him as well, the jelly was a nice touch Breakfast in the morning was full of variety and tasty

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful, grand hotel in idyllic setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only negative comment would be that the gap between courses could have been bigger. The food itself was lovely however we could have ordered and eaten 2 courses within an hour.

    The room we stayed in was amazing. It was very luxurious and everything we required was readily available.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    8.8
    Our bedroom was very clean, well equipped & spacious...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisily clearing tables around us and setting up for lunch whilst we were having breakfast. It was only 10am and breakfast didn't finish until 10:30am

    Our bedroom was very clean, well equipped & spacious with a great view. Staff were generally excellent

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    5.8
    Dissapointing and expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to do at the property and it lacks atmosphere. I think to have 4 stars there should be a least some facilities, a gym, pool or spa etc. The Glasshouse restaurant had a very poor atmosphere particularly as they are trying to create a fine dining experience. Limited menu choice and expensive in a room that reminded me of a coffee shop in an upmarket garden centre. The chef forgot one of the ingredients on our main course and had to be reminded! When we arrived and asked for some afternoon tea we were told we should have booked. The waiter ( who was pleasant enough) went to speak to the chef and came back and said we could have a cream tea. It was nice but clearly the hotel is not geared up for any passing trade. Also throughout the hotel, the staff generally seemed pretty disinterested! It was the sort of place where in the main you needed to acknowledge the staff to get a response - not the other way around. In the evening in the 1796 bar a lady saxophonist was playing, but not very well. She was using a pre recorded backing track which helped a bit but when you went into the restaurant you couldn't hear the backing track so it was just blasts of intermittent saxophone. Not very tuneful! There is a huge pub like bar as you come into the hotel from reception but it obviously only opens when there is a wedding or a conference. I suspect this is their real market. Not the place for a cosseted weekend break. A bit of a shame. I accept that I should have looked closer at the facility details when I booked but it was Valentines weekend and I don't think it was busy, which is a shame. The final bill for 1 night with dinner and tea for 2 was just over £400 so quite expensive. Somewhere I would not go back to.

    The room was large, very clean and nicely appointed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    9.6
    5 star for the price of 4.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all very good.

    The room was spacious with all the extras you could imagine. Strong wi fi signal enabled me to work and stream a movie. Separate shower and bath.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    10
    It has the WOW factor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Garden Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect

    The rooms were spacious and luxurious with great attention to detail and little extras. The service was fantastic. The meals were delicious. The grounds were photogenic especially with 2 days of perfect sunshine. Lovely location and a 3 bedroom cottage which felt like it was in the middle of nowhere with fantastic views.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.6
    Excellent country hotel, stylish both inside and outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of a pool. This would be a great addition to complement the otherwise excellent facilities.

    An excellent room. Very courteous and efficient staff. Wonderful grounds, floodlit at night.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.6
    Super stay again...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Four Poster Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom door was broken & no repair man available to fix. We had to leave the bathroom door ajar all the time..

    The room was light & very clean. Not what Id class as a suite..as no separate living area, but adequate. The decor in this hotel is top class & very stylish & sophisticated. Food was absolutely superb also.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    5.8
    lovely place. not very impressed with the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were dead flys in the room (7 off them some next to the bed) when I mentioned it to the reception staff I got the reply of "it's a country house, what do you expect"

    The lovely setting.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    Perfect location for the perfect getaway..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Such an accommodating venue. The chef catered for a vegan afternoon tea and also an email meal as there was nothing suitable on the menu. We stayed in one of the Courtyard rooms which are very clean, spacious and away from the main hotel so there was no noise of Christmas parties disturbing you. Highly recommend to all.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    8.8
    Lovely place with overall excellent service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No prosecco by the glass - champagne at £15 per glass was way over the top. Dinner - lamb dish wasn't the greatest. Still water at £4.50 a bottle also steep as we drink a lot of water and tap didn't taste great.

    Room was lovely - yes bed extremely comfortable . Despite the rain on our friends wedding day the Library and grounds were beautiful. Breakfast really good Dining - Chicken dish and puddings superb. Helpful staff Thank you :)

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    five star hotel near Basingstoke
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    strange mix of old and new and a bar more suited to conferences. I didn't try the dining room because I have a liking for tableclothes and it wouldn't be somewhere I would take a date for a romantic meal, but everything else about it was good. I'm sure, judging by the breakfast, that dinner would have been excellent.

    excellent breakfast, great bed, good bathroom, a lot to like and much better than some higher priced hotels. It's obvious the owners have spent a great deal of money on some expensive fixtures and it deserves to be full.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    Great getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weddings all 3 nights of our stay, not a problem but the loud booming music went on til almost 1am. Would be more respectful to other guests paying a lot of money to stay to end discos by midnight. Would have also been lovely to have a spa area to relax.

    Beautiful hotel, were made very welcome. Room was well stocked and comfortable. Stunning surroundings and lots of parking. We were at Carfest great location for that!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    4.2
    Lovely setting, staff 'nonchalant'
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appallingly slow service, no acknowledgment from staff when you saw them, overpriced drinks,

    The food was good, bed was comfy, good air con, girl on reception when we arrived was very helpful and friendly...she should be promoted to staff trainer!!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    9.6
    Beautiful hall in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    12pm check- out would be more convenient than 11am.

    Very welcoming with baby, staff were very accommodating (especially when we turned up late to breakfast), beautiful grounds.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    10
    Coming back again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Second time in Oakley Hall and coming back.. The service and staff are best. Breakfast is abundant enough: fresh fruit, cooked breakfast. The restaurant food was as usual sumptuous. The amenities are superb and extra detail like the strawberries, champagne (which was included in the package), water, pralines, bathroom complimentary were top. The towels were fluffy, clean and our room in the main building is deluxe ! A haven of tranquillity. Have to return for longer stay !

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    7.9
    Quiet break in the countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Set in a beautiful location. I met Friendly staff,the room was comfortable, clean with a wonderful view. However the room service food took a while to arrive, when it did I took one mouthful and couldn't eat it, I have never tasted anything quite as awful to which the hotel immediately resolved. One thing I was impressed with, I left an article in the room, the hotel emailed me to say they had the item and they posted it to me. In all the years of travelling this is the first hotel, now that's a good service!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    7.9
    Clean and Staff Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bell boy and nobody showed us to our room we thought £200 per night for courtyard bedrooms would have been fairer and not £250

    Very clean and beautiful well kept garden friendly efficient staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    8.3
    Overall a very enjoyable stay indeed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit frantic/hectic, we had to wait quite awhile, appeared a bit short staffed. No gym or fitness facilities despite being a 4 star hotel and size of property and grounds suggesting incorporating these would be relatively easy.

    Very nice picturesque location and staff were generally very good and helpful.Bedroom is a good size and an extremely comfortable bed. Afternoon tea,drinks and evening meal were all lovely and staff were very attentive.Overall a very enjoyable stay indeed with just a few niggles.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    10
    Beautiful setting, well appointed rooms.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful setting, well appointed rooms. Staff helpful and accommodating. Food was also good. Well balanced menu which is supported by the wine list. A really great setting and location that made the perfect stay. Price paid for the room made it all the more brilliant

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.6
    A smart hotel in a beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one criticism, the breakfast room was busy and there weren't any drinking glasses for juice or plates available for the buffet selection.

    The design of the room and bathroom was perfect, everything we needed, spacious and well appointed. Loved the courtyard setting, made the room feel more private and peaceful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    8.8
    Fantastic place but let down by inexperienced staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant staff seemed inexperienced and poorly trained. We also spent the first night roasting as our air conditioning wasn't working properly. We reported this the next morning and it was resolved but didn't seem to get dealt with proficiently.

    The room and facilities were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    pure luxery highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing could have been better.

    We liked everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful building fab location & friendly staff pictures on the internet do not do it justice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit pricey

    Beautiful building lovingly restored & great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Everything else
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cost of drinks

    Everything else

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    fantatstic, will stay again. staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    coffee was not hot from the machine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    A luxury weekend staff fabulous very friendly and kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool

    The room was fabulous the bathroom enormous and duvet and pillows perfect

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location, fairly near to Stonehenge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was relatively small.

    Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.8
    The food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent in period property in grounds.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little quiet

    Excellent in period property in grounds. Good food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    The staff were friendly and very helpful, our stay was thoroughly enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Everything, it was fabulous

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Lovely facilities and pretty location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glasshouse restaurant at the hotel served delicious and well presented food, all other facilities were to a high standard also

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent throughout
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent throughout

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just loved the whole experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    10
    Relaxing & enjoyable, wonderful setting & location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable, beautiful room & facilities excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    All good.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was extra comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful grounds, blissfully quiet, very comfortable bed...
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful grounds, blissfully quiet, very comfortable bed and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    superb hotel set in lovely grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    NA

    very well appointed room super breakfast comfortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Executive rooms, large and clean, well equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Executive rooms, large and clean, well equipped.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and surrounding. We will return in the near future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £16 can ride to do 4 miles to Bombay Sapphire

    Excellent room, food and wine choices. Lovely breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: