Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Best Western Burnley North Oaks Hotel and Leisure Club 3 stars

Colne Road, Burnley, BB10 2LF, United Kingdom

#5 of 6 hotels in Burnley

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 682 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    The staff went out of their way to be helpful, which was the best part of the stay.
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The cooked breakfast was not good. We didn't have breakfast after the first one.

    All the staff were exceptionally helpful, with the exception of one on reception (perhaps a trainee?) As I have gluten and dairy allergy I was very impressed that they had gluten-free cereal and coconut milk as well as gluten-free bread

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Ideally located for my trip, excellent staff, good brekkie - all in all recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was both a wedding reception and a prom on the evening I stayed so quite noisy and hectic but peaceful once in the room.

    The welcome was very friendly, staff great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Fantastic!!!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect!!!

    Fantastic stay, extremely friendly and helpful staff and perfect location. Room was clean and comfortable. Beautiful food served in the restaurant and great selection of drinks. Callum the server during our meal was friendly and gave great recommendations. Easy and pleasant check in and check out. Lots of onsite free parking. Leisure facilities were great, lovely pool, sauna and hot tubs. Lovely building. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic and peacefull
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa in eveining full of men chatting away no peace atall reat of time was fine could twll em to keep it down or put up a sign

    Very clean lovly looking lovly location food was nice service is fab

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.2
    Good for an overnight or 2
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old Grade 2 listed building so you have to expect some quirks. It was clean and quiet and the food I had was good. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Great leisure centre & reasonably priced family bar/restaurant just 2 mind walk away
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There had been a smoker in our room, but hotel provided air freshener which solved the problem.

    The leisure centre facilities & lavender spray to put on pillows for a restful sleep

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Daughters birthday weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is superb in every way facilities second to none .We were made to feel very comfortable the children loved the swimming pool and the gardens .The staff were very friendly and helpful especially Ramsin in the leisure centre and pool made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.3
    I'd go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only problem was that we were there in a heat wave and the room was really hot, even though we were in the newer wing, as there's no air conditioning. And they don't have face cloths!

    Staff were terrific - nothing was too much trouble. They worked really hard as the place was very busy a lot of the time we were there. They dealt with issues quickly and with a great manner - they were concerned to make sure we were OK and very polite the whole time.,

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Countryside and the spaciousness of rooms/bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meal time service was slow and other customers got restless and angry at the wait which got you stressed.

    Countryside and the spaciousness of rooms/bedrooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    A go back to place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff not on duty 24 hours

    The location is superb, the surroundings are beautiful, it's reasonably priced, staff are very helpful, food is delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Would stay again. Had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seating area upstairs had glasses left on tables when we passed on our way out and were still there when we came back!

    Meals were lovely, especially breakfast. Bed comfy. Good lighting in all areas of the room (for applying make-up!)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.0
    The property was a lovely listed building with a fabulous...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with the decor updating and I’m afraid it was not clean at all. Dust and rubbish visible under dressing table - spills that hadn’t been cleaned up. Even found hair in my bed!

    The property was a lovely listed building with a fabulous stain glass window and glass roof. The staff were very helpful and cheerful especially at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.9
    Location and style, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Awkward - the access to rooms and facilities which themselves were good, were difficult/complicated. Like a warren

    Location and style, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had bar meal which took nearly an hour to get. Even though there were no other people waiting. Was good food though.

    Fantastic old building. And added bonus with pool and leisure facilities

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    I attended the rayner wedding party on Saturday and the food...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I attended the rayner wedding party on Saturday and the food was disgusting .. I had profiterole for desert and the cream inside of it was off! This made me really poorly wouldn’t eat again from here

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was terrible around the corridors and bedrooms we had to be moved but the new room wasn't much better. Rooms very poor quality in comparison to the entrance and reception needs alot of renovation to warranty the price they charge

    Reception and entrance were beautiful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Second visit and better than b4 .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room key card kept failing. 75 percent of time. Thanks to leisure staff who kept running to reception for me as had a disabled room a long way from reception and up and down quite a few steps.

    Locally sourced ingredients really tasty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant trip to a wedding with friends.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit dusty, the mattress was smaller than the base making it uncomfortable to get in and out of bed.

    It’s a beautiful building and nicely furnished. The staff were very polite and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointed having stayed in the past
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taking money off my card when booking in prior to using it when questing it got a very curt reply Room old basic , light comes in via the blind All the stairs being old no offer of help with carrying luggage

    Car parking free swimming pool ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Business trip
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room wasn’t to my liking but the front desk got me another room within 10 mins no fuss and very very helpful would give 10 stars if I could

    The hotel was very impressive looking and would love to stay again, the gym could use some upgrading

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.5
    Having enjoyed stays in the past so I was disappointed this time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No sign of any management Front doors to hotel heavy & difficult to open Reception staff too abrupt when I complained of a loud fan noise adjacent My view from the room was just a brick wall 6 feet away with cigarette butts on the roof bellow the window

    Breakfast & Bar Staff friendly & helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Well kept, nice surroundings, breakfast was good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel seemed fairly empty but my room was one of the furthest away, took a long walk and many staircases which was annoying

    Well kept, nice surroundings, breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Could of been so much more!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar staff, were left waiting over 20minutes still nobody arrived to serve us. Bar looked like it hadn't been cleaned from evening before. Bathroom in room wasn't clean. Hairs in the bath and on taps,soap dispensers covered in dust and were leaking.

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location, reasonable value - but lacking the important touches
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1) Internet was patchy at best in the lobby and non-existent in my room. 2) The place is rambling so its can be a very long walk up and down stairs. This was made more annoying by a security card that wouldn't open some of the doors en route, resulting in two arduous trips to reception. 3) Small food portions at dinner

    Central location with free parking and good gym and spa facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.5
    Kids liked the pool and bunk beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors hard to close. Made a lot of noise when closing could hear other rooms having the same issue. Room very dusty in places

    Kids liked the pool and bunk beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyed staying at this hotel, it was the perfect location for our trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The long walk- although it was expected as the hotel is a listed building therefore no lifts!

    Staff were fantastic and very accommodating! Beautiful stained glass windows!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dismissive attitude of staff on reception when we asked to be shown room on arrival. Also when do they ever smile. Dining room staff brought up coked breakfast at the same time as they brought up the porridge. Dumb or what??

    Location. Room size. Breakfast. Grounds of hotel. Grandeur of hotel. Parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    10
    A great experience worth stopping if you are in the area ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Few minor niggles in the room other than that no issues

    The hotel is within its own grounds, the building is very nice inside with the staircase and stained glass windows a real feature. The gym and pool are nice and enjoyable to use, the restaurant was a good standard but a touch high in cost for food ad drink, captive market. I will be staying there again, as it suits the location for me

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Lovely building, large rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was small and there were private swimming lessons taking place in one half which made the space more limited. Breakfast was pricy at £10 per person per day so we didn't eat there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    It was a relaxing and special day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could have been informed that our room was at the end of a long up and down at the other side of the hotel (although we did giggle about it). There was only one socket in the whole of the room for,phones,tablets,laptop,haircurlers,hairdryer,kettle. ..

    Friendly, efficient staff. Entrance ,staircase,comfy seating,real fires.Free use of the leisure facilities.Clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    6.5
    My first stay in a best western hotel unfortunately it wasn’t great. Breakfast was way overpriced so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A view of a wall and loads of fag ends thrown outside the window and not removed. Disgusting!

    The room was clean and the bed was comfortable staff were friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Leisure centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visited many times now and each room has different brands of televisions which may gift you with additional channels (SkySports) depending on the room given.

    Leisure centre

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    4.6
    Getting better so will give them another chance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Housekeeping and cleanliness need to be worked on. decor and carpets still in need of some repair or replacement

    It was cleaner than last time and the room was pleasant, the food was also much better.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    He room was basic but very comfortable. Great value for money. Food was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were brilliant nothing to much trouble. Especially Vikki and Tanya they were fantastic.

    It was a lovely place to stay really loved the history of the building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Staff on arrival were very welcoming .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that bothered us were the room doors that had to be banged to close.

    Staff on arrival were very welcoming . The room was very spacious and very clean.The spa staff were also very welcoming and the spa facilities were clean and a bonus to the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Very enjoyable. Excellent staff and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have been cleaned more thoroughly before we arrived. There were also some bits of rubbish on the flat roof outside our bedroom window.

    All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout the stay. The food was excellent. Free access to the pool, sauna, steam room and gym was a real bonus.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    Good selection for breakfast, evening food nice too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were based near a function room and music was loud and went on till 1am! Beds could have been bigger.

    Good selection for breakfast, evening food nice too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice room with the biggest bed i have slept in and in...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I kept getting lost in the rooms as it was my first stay.

    Very nice room with the biggest bed i have slept in and in the morning the waitress was very friendly and was very helpful. Fab breakfast to start the day well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.8
    It is ok. We had a good time but not spectacular venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom outdated, tired and needed updating and it is a long walk from where we were up and down stairs to get to reception and dining area. The spa facilities some pools were grotty and needs renewing.

    Facilities that have been updated are good such as bar and reception and dining area

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    3.8
    A very creepy crawly hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were given had 2 single beds right at the bottom end of the hotel even though we were a couple. The walls had ants crawling all over them. I was a pregnant lady who is afraid of creepy crawlies. Was absolutely disgusted. Would never book here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable, good value - I'll be back.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Having travelled a lot I often like a nice light breakfast. Yoghurt, cereals, fruit salad, fresh fruit. None of this was on offer - or of poor quality. The cooked breakfast was fine but I didn't take it as it was too heavy. LOTS of stairs in this hotel - be VERY clear if you find stairs difficult.

    A very nice "old style" hotel with a great spa, gym, pool. The bar has a real feel to it and the architecture is very original. nice to get away from the corporate hotels into something more individual. Lots of parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    3.8
    I wouldn’t stay here again, very overpriced and not clean. Reception staff weren’t helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel didn’t seem clean. We paid £100 for a smallish double room whilst our friends had a suite and were only charged £84. When we asked how this works as we thought this unfair we were told rooms are allocated on first come first basis and they didn’t want to offer any kind of refund.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Housekeeping staff being a little loud on a Sunday morning although we were next to the dirty laundry cupbord but it was only 9am and there were still guests in their rooms.

    We had a lovely large room which was overlooking the front grounds. Great shower and lots of hot water. Was extremely warm too on a very cold snowy night.Fab selection of hot drinks and biscuits. Didn't get to try the leisure facilities or have breakfast as I was unwell during our stay so can't comment on that. Great access to roads, motorway and rail links. Would stay here again as great for the price. Beautiful old building too.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed to be cleaner as there was dust on the desk, table and fittings. Parts of the hotel need decorating and the decor in the room a bit grubby.

    Leisure facilities were good. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is very dated, like a cluedo murder mystery weekend but none the less if you like old and traditional then it would suit you perfect

    Breakfast was good, location for us was good, plenty of parking, the gym for a hotel gym was very good, food was of a good standard

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff at breakfast were very pleasant but it was a somewhat chaotic experience , crazy toaster , flasks of tea or coffee , self service for drinks on all three mornings. Saturday morning and Monday morning breakfast was fine but on the Sunday it was like "paddy,s market" . Presumably because of two weddings the previous day and another one on the Sunday we were moved to a large function room, there was no advice about this and no signage to indicate the change of venue. Children running riot and with food stations in different corners it was a challenge, luckily no accidents happened . Staff clearly under pressure. Large number also meant that hot food provided buffet style and we much preferred the fresher experience of ordering what we wanted to eat on the other days.

    Bedrooms were comfortable , good beds , appropriate temperature , well serviced and spacious. All the staff we experienced were polite , helpful and very welcoming. Hotel facilities were fine and overall it was good value for money . If I was ever to be backin Burnley I would stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointing return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining room very cold. Main meal quite nice but over priced, a few tables dotted about, very sparse. Bar freezing , not enough comfortable chairs and had to put drink on floor as only one table that was already in use. In previous visits the bar has been very welcoming and have had many a nice evening chatting with other guests. On arrival mid afternoon there were the remains of a lunch party on the first floor lounge. Six hours later still there. Have stayed many times before but not for a while. We feel it is being run on a shoe string and will be a great shame to let a beautiful hotel decline. The staff are very helpful but few and far between. Do not think we will be returning in the near future.

    Bedroom comfortable and clean. Nice bathroom. Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    5.4
    No great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flowers I asked to be put in room were not ready on arrival so had to stall my partner. Never anyone at the bar, breakfast no clean cups and food not great. Asked for late check out fee to make up for mess up with flowers and was told it was ten pounds an hour.

    Not a lot, nice building?

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    We enjoyed it so much, we want to come back later in the year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A comfortable room, with a comfortable bed. Despite it being wintery outside, the hotel was warm and welcoming throughout. The leisure facilities were first class, sauna, steam room, swimming pool and gym, all well-maintained and the pool was a good size.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.5
    Good but the dining experience let the hotel down.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant food was terrible on the night unfortunately. Must have been an off-night for the kitchen but to have 50% of the starters not available and then receiving a French Onion soup full of celery and a very poorly cooked main course was disappointing. To be fair to the management, when this was raised with them the following morning, the response was just what you would expect from a good hotel.

    The building is nice, with some great character features and the room was comfortable. It is nice to have the pool and steam room / sauna on site - although a hot tub should be hot!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    5.4
    Shame about the late night parties
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First room I was given had poor dated fitting, cupboards didn’t close properly. Rubbish view of an alleyway. I had to climb up stairs, then back down several flights to get to the room in a maze. Both nights Friday & Saturday they had discos going on until the early hours. I asked to be moved the first night as it was too loud, and I could hear someone being sick next door. The second room was much better. But coming home late (11pm) I had to walk through groups of drunks staggering about and shouting. Not a pleasant stay at all. I think it would suit a wedding party, but would strongly recommend not for families. I would take my wife or children to stay.

    Good location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Enjoyable place to stay in a great location
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shame we couldn’t check in till 2pm as the wedding was at 2pm

    Excellent place to stay, very good location. Amazing building and grounds Overall very nice place

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Great time, kids loved it. Will probably go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom and pool were a bit tired around the edges.

    The staff were really friendly and helpful, the grounds and main house were beautiful. We swam both mornings and had the pool to ourselves! Bliss.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    7.9
    Was adequate for needs so would come back again
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar snack was not great Room too hot but better when radiator turned off and window opened

    Friendly and helpful staff Gym facilities good Bed comfortable Location good

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.2
    a quiet comfortable night with a big breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one small complaint - orange squash NOT orange juice was provided at breakfast - we need to move on from diluted watery drinks - fresh orange juice is the way forward. Rest of breakfast delicious !

    I was placed on a quiet corridor in order to avoid a very noisey wedding crowd staying on the upper floors - I thought this was considerate and was welcomed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    Staff very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We noticed that the foyer upstairs from the main reception had been used for a meal, with the plates and drinks being left their on the evening. We came back late(2am) and passed the same plates/glass etc. We went down to breakfast at 9 am and they were still there.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Very good service at breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    I thought every thing was just about perfect, loves the pool...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    numerous flights of stairs and a route march to the room.

    I thought every thing was just about perfect, loves the pool and spar, nice bar lovely comfortable bed and a really nice size room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t appreciate the long wait for dinner to be produced and the service from the bar was laughably inept ! Wrong order delivered twice !! Didn’t enjoy having to scour the dining bill. To correct it only to find we had been charged for two Eton Mess that were not our table . The upgraded !! Aroom we were assigned had a broken window, cobwebs and a cafetière full of coffee left by previous occupants !!

    Love the fantastic icture windows in the main entrance .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Loved it but family rooms need to be bigger
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was far too small for 2 adults and 2 girls,my nephew got an upgrade and his room had a large double bed and bunk beds yet ours had a sofa which was too small for2 girlsso we had another bed brought in which made the room much smaller

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Overall a very pleasant experience although service levels need to be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar tender in the bar was unable to make an Irish Coffee. He served up a filiter coffee in a coffee cup laced with Whisky . When we complained it wasn't how we expected an Irish Coffee to be served, he asked if we would like cream with it. Then promptly came back with a jug of milk. Quite bizarre. The other drinks ordered at the same time were also wrong. He put rum in the cappucino instead of in the Hot Chocolate. It meant that all 3 drinks weren't what we had ordered. We didn't drink them & left them on the table. The bar man never reapperaed, so I mentioned it to reception shortly after & asked them not to charge our tab with them. Also on checking-out, I realised that although 3 of us had ordered & taken breakfast this had not been included on our bill. I pointed this out to the receptionist & paid the extra, although it isn't really my place to administer the charging system.

    We chose the Hotel due to its proximity to the Birthday venue. The Hotel room & facilities were more than adequate for our needs. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel and would have no hesitation in recommending it to other travellers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The blue lighting chosen for the bathroom was very strange and made everything look odd.

    Hotel had a very pleasant ambiance and was sympathetically decorated to match the period. It was also cosy throughout and the room was lovely and warm. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and all in all we had a very nice experience.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Great sleep and a great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine but I seemed to get put into the furthest room rite next to the store room I'm thinking about staying again but I want to stay in the room with the big double bed and a better lication

    The bed was comfy I didn't get dusturbed I enjoyed my stay

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    All round excellent expetrience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The large hot tub was very severe and caused pain in my legs

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Everything was good...except I had to ask for a hot plate to serve my breakfast on as the stack of plates were cold.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.7
    The hotel has the potential to be a great venue, with good spa etc, but is not delivering on service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were poorly trained, particularly in the restaurant at the hotel, and several dishes on the menu were not available, or were not as described when they arrived. There should have been a Christmas Eve function, but this was cancelled without me being notified before I arrived, and when I complained about the inconvenience and lack of communication I found the manager on duty unapologetic and rude in manner. Customer service seriously lacking here.

    Rooms were warm and spacious, though many are not easy to access with steps and no lift. It's a grand old building with character, and includes great facilities such as a warm pool, spa etc. The restaurant menu was promising, and the buffet breakfast good, but the organisation of the service in both cases was unfortunately lacking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed it.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only problem we had was waiting for our Sandwiches on the night time when we arrived it didn't affect our stay though children played and we just watched the tv.

    Beds really comfortable. My children throughly enjoyed their stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Quality and value for money hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    we were really impressed by this hotel which used to be a house,had some really marvellous feature's especially the magnificent staircase with a beautiful stained glass window half way up,room was first class,booking in very efficient and quick,all the staff were excellent,but have to mention the assistant manager Calum,we asked about the history of the house and found him to be very knowledgable,and gave us quite a bit of time on this subject, definitely a asset for this property and also John behind the Authors bar who was very pleasant and hard working as well as serving drinks was also serving bar meals,we had a bar meal served in main hall sat by one of the many impressive fire places in property,a lovely big open fire.Would really recommend this hotel. Duncan Hamilton.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    6.3
    a satisfactory but non inspiring stay. Access is poor for elderly with luggage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Route march up and down up to 12 fights of stairs to get to room with heavy suitcases / no lifts. Bed of a very basic standard.

    Nice historic building, reasonable room facilities,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    3.3
    Poor service with no care for guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked out a day early as on the first night we had no sleep. From party music to loud guests, staff banging on doors, kids running the halls and more this was on going from evening till small hours then again from dawn. We had no rest or sleep. We asked for a refund and for the manager to be in touch and still waiting

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    We had a great time in this hotel the spa and swimming pool made up for all the stairs .
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a bit far away from the entrance to the hotel , lots and lots of stairs for instance we checked in and made the mistake of going to look at the room before we brought in our luggage it was a long way back to the car and of course to go to the bar stairs stairs stairs .

    The room was lovely nice and warm and a nice bathroom .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location, staff amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the furniture in the room were worn and not very nice. The TV had no signal and the batteries were dead in the remote

    The setting is beautiful and was decorated beautifully for Christmas. Staff were brilliant as always.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    2 night break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room very small and as far away from entrance as possible. With a 3yr old and very new baby this made carrying luggage very hard work

    Stunning. Clean. Staff helpful polite. Food amazing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel and great staff.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed the night for my boyfriends birthday. The food was lovely as was the room. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They even went out of their way to make it extra special as it was my boyfriends birthday. The room wasn’t ready when we got there as they were switching our rooms but this was no problem as we sat and had a drink in the bar whilst we waited. Gorgeous place and would definitely go again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    We will be booking again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is like a rabbit warren! Could really have used a map. The room numbers were sign posted but there must have been an easier way to our room.

    HUGE bed so loads of room for a larger person. Shower was heavenly, The best we have had in a hotel for a long time. the room was spacious and very clean. The staff were super helpful and friendly even when busy with 3 functions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.7
    The main hotel itself was beautiful and very comfortable...
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The maze I travelled through to get to the room was inconvenient with luggage, but the room was comfortable and good for the price. The bathroom is in desperate need of updating and could do with a little more attention when being cleaned. Service at dinner was very slow and the food cost nearly as much as the room did, which seemed disproportionate.

    The main hotel itself was beautiful and very comfortable when I needed to sit and do some work before leaving after check-out. Good check-out time of 11:00am, which was convenient for my purposes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    3.8
    Nightmare Restaurant
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff, restaurant was a disaster 2 hour wait and the kids meals were still frozen ... Will never use Best Western Again. We had a party of 10 rooms . Looking for full refunds.

    Nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: