Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Offley Place 4 stars

Kings Walden Road, Hitchin, SG5 3DX, United Kingdom

#2 of 9 hotels in Hitchin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 285 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    We had a lovely stay. Beautiful countryside setting- very quiet too. But it was a Wednesday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The milk in the room was out of date! There was only one pack of biscuits for two people & there was a dead insect in one of the cups also previous guests rubbish left in the bin! These are only minor things though & did not detract from a very enjoyable stay😁

    The shower was fab & the room was large. The staff were very friendly & helpful. We had our coffee/tea replenished at breakfast and drank it in the lounge - bought to us freshly made. A very nice touch

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    First class as usual and i would recomend to anyone who wants a trult authentic country house stay
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only issue we had were the strange lounge chars at breakfast, not suitable to sit and eat at a table as they make you recline.

    The staff were superb, the beds were the best ever and the location fantastic. All in all a wonderful stay in a lovely Hotel staffed by very, very nice people.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    9.6
    Sort out the minor issues you have a gem really.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disturbed very early in the morning by housekeeping staff gossiping in a store room next to my bedroom - for over an hour. Hotel management did apologise but sadly it tainted what had been an excellent experience till then. Breakfast was disappointing frozen sliced bread for toast, packet cereal - sure an establishment of this calibre can do better. That said I did not have a cooked break but that looked very good, although I heard that they had run out of some elements due to a bank holiday weekend.

    Staff on the evening of my arrival were superb. Loved the unique style of the hotel not more mass produced generic hotel furniture. Staff in the evening rustled up a meal for me despite being very busy with a function, their help was much appreciated, travelling as a lone female I do not often want to venture out for a meal alone.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful, very clean, very welcoming, very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t really anything not to like.

    Bar lad (Jack) was very knowledgable about the drinks and made us feel very welcome whilst in the bar. The young girl (Becka) who has now left the hotel was very very polite and very helpful, had great chats. We only booked for 1 night but stayed 2 after being made so welcome by both Jack & Becka.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    5.8
    Probably wouldn't return
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem was the room temperature. Far too hot to be comfortable. Main window could not be opened as it was directly onto the fire escape. The bathroom window was able to be opened, so thankfully some cooler fresh air was available. Slept on top of the bed but was still very uncomfortable throughout the night. Reception informed in the morning.

    All to a fairly good standard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    Can’t wait to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little unsatisfactory (fatty, chewy bacon, rubbery mushrooms but great poached egg!) but that probably wasn’t the norm

    Absolutely beautiful property, spacious & grand accommodation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Relaxing break. We were well looked after
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More milk for tea and coffee facilities in the room.

    Wonderful location. Beautiful building and comfortable room. We loved the lounges to relax in near the bar.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic Hotel, Wonderful Food.....we’ll be back.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - well done.

    The quality of the food, hospitality and comfort was exceedingly high. The hotel itself is beautiful and reasonably priced. Please try it as it’s significantly better than the hotels close to the Airport, but is still only 15 minutes away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel with fantastic staff. Just some minor tweaks would make this place perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were in room 5, one of the superior rooms and I did find the mattress too hard. My partner slept fine but I wasn't very comfortable. Also the hotel had the heating up way to high, not necessary and this added to me not being able to sleep particularly well. A cooler room and a slightly softer mattress would have made the world of difference.

    Lovely food, wonderful staff, beautiful historic hotel with huge rooms. The bathroom was also very big with a super bathtub and large shower. Very quiet at night so could hear an owl in the distance, not something you hear much of in London so that was really nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    4.2
    Very dissapointing and not as advertised in there website
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a very poor experience From start to finish Room had no heating Had to return the food in the restaurant

    This was a very poor experience From start to finish Room had no heating Had to return the food in the restaurant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    5.4
    Ok for an overnight stay but not fab!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast and service was not good. Bar drinks and service very old fashioned. The hotel was roasting and so hot all the time.

    The room and bed was comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    8.3
    Great value for money, well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could do with a lick of paint and a general clean up. It would be good to have a hardstanding pathway to walk around the grounds. The heating was turned off in the room, it took two hours to warm the room up.

    Lovely site, staff very helpful, great value for money, I would go back, food good, room good, bar manager was brilliant, early check in, relaxing, food and drink well priced, beautiful old building,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.2
    Would happily stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having to ask for the heating to be turned on. Not a huge problem but unusual.

    The food was excellent - preparation, presentation and taste. Couldn't fault it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Romantic retreat in a
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of biscuits on hospitality tray in room

    Breakfast very very good! Bedroom & furniture beautiful! Bathroom very nice with huge tub & separate power shower. Other communal rooms in house beautifully decorated with gorgeous furnishings. Bar cozy and a reasonable price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.8
    Great stay with potential to be fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot & temperature control very difficult. Too few pillows on bed & was not told to look in top of wardrobe for more, ok for tall people who would see them.

    Great Service, and a lovely old building, with modern facilities

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Stunning place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't normally leave reviews, but what a place! Stunning in every aspect, room was fantastic. Just a very nice place to be, whether for business or romantic trip away.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.1
    Very good hotel let down by poor customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lots of staff around but not many customer focused. Night Porter best staff member by far. Made an effort.

    8 people including ourselves in restaurant but took 35 minutes to get a very average cooked breakfast. No communication from waitress who did however apologise on delivery.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    A great escape location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s was SO hot in the room even with the heating off and windows open. The duvet on the bed was made for arctic conditions, but there was no alternative like a top sheet or blanket. Also there was only one pillow each and they were rather flat!

    Very friendly staff and a wonderful Breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    A relaxed weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only things I would change are a better choice of beers - the options were way too basic given the wide range of options available these days. Also, when piping music, I'd stick to classical, it suits the venue so much better than some of the bland music played during daytime.

    Room was spacious and comfy and the facilities were generally great and allowed for a relaxing experience. Staff were friendly and the food and wine menus were very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Restful break in lovely surroundings with great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They light a roaring log fire in one of the the lounges and it is lovely to sit there and sip a drink with the fire glowing. The staff are really helpful and the actual building is gorgeous with well appointed and comfortable rooms with country views. We have stayed twice in the last month and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.9
    A new find that could become a regular favourite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some parts of the room could be refreshed (water damage on bedroom wall, stained bedroom carpet and missing lamps in bathroom) and the water pressure for the shower was very low. None of them deal breakers in any way but if resolved, would really help to enhance the hotel further.

    The building itself is a beautiful piece of period architectural history that has been sympathetically upgraded without becoming too contemporary and losing it’s identity. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful and the rooms spacious and comfortable. Both the bar and the living room are great spaces to relax, especially the living room with it’s enormous roaring fire. Great parking & strong wi-fi. Would definitely stay again and have already recommended it to friends and family.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    6.3
    Setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of restful sleep - very loud guests and no alternative suitable room to stay Lack of action/responsiveness from staff and no manager

    Setting

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    7.1
    Nice hotel to stop on
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being an old building with wooden windows, there is a slight draft, so rooms not overly warm. But doesn’t spoil the overall experience .

    Lovely building, large room & bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.9
    Staff wonderful and the open log fire is stunning.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet access is dreadful, in desperate need of upgrading. The TV's within the rooms should be in a museum. Wine list is poor, needs to improve with some fine wines included. Merlot and Shiraz is a lazy pub menu, and chateau nerve de pape should not be classed as a fine wine experience.

    The staff are great, open log fire is amazing. Food is reasonable too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    liked the location and the situation of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would be improved with some redecoration and updating.

    liked the location and the situation of the hotel. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the service form staff at dinner and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Most everything was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dining room chairs were too soft, uncomfortable and too low for the height of the dining table. Decor could do with an update.

    Most everything was fine. Breakfast was exceptional and the yoghurt divine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Private and accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Driveway full of pot holes and no lift . We were on the top floor not for the faint hearted .

    We never had dinner there . The cooked breakfast was good Hot and freshly made and had everything on

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Excellent start to our holidays very easy to get to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff members of the Hotel where extremely friendly and helpful was given ideas of what was around the area. For anyone who doesn't know the area it would have been interesting. Breakfast was extremely good with a very varied mixture of fruit croissants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    5.4
    Nice location but lacking lustre
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It wasn't obvious how to open the windows. The bathroom tap kept dripping it had a stale smell to the rooms and the landings like there was insufficient air about the place. We wanted Irish coffees and the staff had never made them before and didn't make a good job. It was ok but somehow attention to detail was missing.

    It was a nice setting - the building looked attractive

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was delicious and all staff were excellently attentive. Unfortunately,only stayed one night due to travel arrangements,would have loved another night or two

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    2.5
    Skid marks in toilet and wasps in room... stay away!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wasps in room all night, complaint dealt with poorly and only stated that they knew about a wasp nest but didn't treat due to previous customer in room... so they left it for me to stay in??? Shocking response. What if I was allergic? Skid marks in toilet showed that the toilet (and other areas of the room) where not cleaned. Twin beds put together to make a single bed made this uncomfortable to sleep in!

    Lovely setting with nice grounds. Friendly bar staff and good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic!! cleaner than clean and exceptionally lovely staff
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The night reception gentleman was lovely, it was the night before my wedding and my nerves were a mess, and at 3:30am he made me a coffee!! total amazement

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Had to leave too early for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No help with suitcases and no lift, so tough if you are in top floor. We asked to leave our main suitcase downstairs - this seemed difficult for them. I think a 4* should have luggage storage. Toiletries and hospitality test less than generous.

    Had to leave too early for breakfast. They, at our request, left out toast and cereal. Sadly, as a coeliac there was nothing I could eat, but it was a kind thought. Loved the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    5.0
    Deluxe room was far from Deluxe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked a deluxe room - The most important thing for a stay is the comfort of the bed. We had 2 single beds joined together instead of a double bed and the mattress was bumpy. The most uncomfortable nights sleep I have had in a hotel ever due to the poor mattress. We asked when we checked in if we could have one extra hour check out from 11am to 12pm and they said they wanted to charge us an extra £15 for this!!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    Don't think twice this is going to be your best experience, if you travel for business, need to catch a flight from.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about this place.

    This was one of my best days on my business trip. I spend many days traveling for business during the year, and if you are like me so you can appreciate a few hours that give you energy for your next day's. I found this hotel on booking, I just wanted a nice place until my next flight front Luton airport, this hotel is 10 minutes by taxi from the airport in the morning so it was very easy. The hotel is builde in an old facility and reserved amazing, the back yard have hundreds years old trees and nice and peaceful atmosphere to clean your mind and think. The room I've got was big, with wonderful views and very clean and big bathroom, the bed was very comfortable and the total feel was very nice. I had less than a day in this area so it was all fast, the near town of hitchin is very nice and have nice restaurants, theater and bars. I can say that I'm definitely going to be back, with my wife and every time I will have to stay around Luton airport.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Warm and friendly manor house hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was limited for healthy choices.

    Classic vintage rooms, with stylish, solid furniture. Public rooms were accessible and grand. It quickly felt like home.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    Staff very friendly and helpful, very peaceful, lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and helpful, very peaceful, lovely building and surrounds... Could not of picked a better place to stay for a short break ... 10 out of 10 Thank you !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Good value elegance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were a little disappointed that the restaurant is closed on Sunday evenings, but we had been warned in advance and had a good dinner at one of the 2 pubs in the village

    Very interesting building in beautiful grounds. Lovely room and bathroom. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.1
    Convenient location for onward travel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Entrance Drive to car park full of potholes; room needs fridge to save going to Bar for ice; bought own almond milk and soya milk for breakfast although advised at time of booking; rooms need redecorating, damp patches on ceiling. Not a good deal for price charged.

    Staff very attentive and helpful at all times. Bathroom very good excellent shower. Good choice including vegetarian option for breakfast.Good size room with nice chairs to relax.Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful grounds relaxed atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Within the class of. Hotel they fulfilled their part

    The attitude of the staff, nothing was a problem. Our bedroom on the first evening was noisy but as soon as they were told they moved us to another room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    Stunning location — a truly memorable place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is simply stunning — the hotel itself is essentially a country manor house. It's beautiful. Offers a lot more character and grandiose comfort than you're going to find in most hotels at this price; especially if you get their 40% off weekend deal). Hugely recommended if you're looking for somewhere to stay in North Herts.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    Offley place weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was pre cooked the sausage and bacon were hard and let the hotel down a little bit

    17th century manor house tastfully adapted to a hotel. The restaurant served good food & afternoon tea reasonably priced

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely rooms if they don't have a wedding in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem during our stay and requested some kind of compensation. We were eventually granted it so very happy there, but it took a lot of persistence: we were told several times that nobody was authorised to make any real decision and that it wasn't really a problem.

    Beautiful building, classic reception rooms downstairs, huge light sash windows, tasty breakfast

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Nice location, good accomodation, great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had hoped that their would be a separate shwer of at least a hand shower in the bath rather than a rain shower. The large sized bath made up for it however.

    Excellent quality evening meal in the restaurant plus a very good English breakfast. Cooking was excellent and we will be back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.2
    A little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely hotel, the room was large with the biggest bed I've ever seen! Bathroom was modern with a lovely shower. What makes this hotel stand out though is the staff, they were extremely welcoming and very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    7.5
    A reasonable experience
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel requires an interior designer as much of the furniture and decor is shabby and worn out. Food was not of the expected standard, -in fact it was indeed pretty poor. Over priced T bone steak, tinned mushrooms, no yoghurt available at breakfast, and all in all a very boring basic menu. I shall likely return to stay over night whilst visiting the area on business, as the location suits and the environment is quiet enough to relax, but I shall certainly eat elsewhere.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Room fairly clean and reasonably spacious. Pleasing view from window. Very quiet as only 3 others staying in whole of the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.9
    did not like two beds pushed together too make one large bed...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel setting was great , close to 2 good pubs , and walking in the country side, //

    did not like two beds pushed together too make one large bed , it was better second time round , had one good size bed , food was good , many thanks mr parker

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    Great and friendly staff, Nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning was good, however not spotless. overall maitanance had Some back log. On the otherhand thats is not an exception in these types of hystoric, and large, buildings.

    Great and friendly staff, Nice location. In the country side but stil close to all main roads. Garden is very Nice. I would book a next time!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    5.4
    Poor service experience by put out staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tepid coffee, bored staff, changed room without notification or explanation, uncomfortable bed, old tv, broken tiles in bathroom, terrible wine list...... overall a bit shabby.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.8
    enjoyed the cook breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    enjoyed the cook breakfast . would be better if the double bed was one mattrese and not two kept falling in the middle , have booked for next week so cant be bad thanks , kev

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant, relaxing stay. Made to feel very welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two single beds pushed together so unfortunately a gap appeared in the middle.

    Spacious room, large comfortable bed (apart from gap!), quiet, good shower, nice freshly cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    The staff were amazing - could not have done more or been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing - could not have done more or been more helpful. A really enjoyable stay in beautiful peaceful surroundings. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nearby kitchen fan ran all night. Bathroom door didn't shut properly. Razor socket faulty and was reported but not fixed during stay.

    Location, room size, quality of food, friendliness of staff. Building.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.5
    Staff extremely helpful and courteous, rooms excellent, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff extremely helpful and courteous, rooms excellent, and they had Peroni on tap so all in all a lovely evening after a days trip travelling back from Poland

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    8.8
    Quiet and attractive location but within striking distance of Luton airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the chef seems to have a problem knowing how to cook chips! (brown on the outside but hard and raw on the inside).

    Everyone was friendly and helpful when we arrived off an overnight flight at 7am. They did all they could to get us into a room as soon as possible. All food and service was excellent except...

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.1
    Inexpensive hotel in delightful and convenient setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was poorly furnished in tired and cheap country house style. Very much geared to weddings for which it is perfect. Couldn't have been better for an overnight stop after a long flight (Luton airport close by but no noticeable noise from it).

    The visit was made by the staff who were delightful. The setting was excellent, the house elegant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful location, friendly staff, excellent views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts. Tricky for older people located on upper floors.

    Beautiful location, friendly staff, excellent views. Well kept for an old building. Toni, our waitress at breakfast made us feel very welcome and comfortable. Relaxed and leisurely atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel for a quite romantic night away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in our room, no 6, was a bit soft and creaky, but it appears old in keeping with the room style. Very minor problem!

    Friendly and helpful staff on reception, in the restaurant and the house keeping team. Location is great and easy to find. Food excellent. Room 6 is big with a great shower and a nice open views.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.3
    I would definitely stay again and, via the lanes, handy for Luton airport too
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather too keen to extract payment before I had even reached my room! Must have had some bad experiences, I guess, with non-paying runners. Most, but not all staff 'guest-friendly'.

    Good sized room and bathroom. Extremely comfortable bed. Plenty of power points for chargers and lap-top. Very spacious sitting room and Oriental Bar. Real country house estate grounds. Two pubs within pleasant walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    We stayed in the bridal suite and it was a beautiful room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    To make the bridal suite that little bit more special, we think the TV could be much bigger and maybe a small sofa could be an extra addition. Possibly turn the bath into a jacuzzi/bath combo. Other than that there isn't anything else we would change.

    We stayed in the bridal suite and it was a beautiful room with a lovely view. All the staff were very helpful and attentive which made our stay even more memorable. We dined in the Spencer restaurant and the food was exceptional and Dominic the waiter was very helpful and couldn't do anymore for us to make it a special night. Overall we would definitely recommend Offley Place and will be returning to dine in the restaurant again in the near future.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    8.8
    Worth a visit, staff are friendly and a pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit chilly, radiators didn't appear to be working properly, they had placed a small heater in the room in fairness.

    Pleasant, welcoming hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    5.4
    Shabby dated chic with poor maintenance but friendly staff
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom floor was dangerously shiny and slippy. You want clean but not dangerous. My husband fell the first time. Getting out of the shower was nerve-racking. No lock on door. One lamp broken. No hot water until we complained. 2 bulbs broken in bedside lights. Room was cold.Breakfast finished way too early at 9am!! Not good for us, normally you have until 10 at the earliest.Also they had no fresh fruit.

    The staff were very helpful. Breakfast was good, but no fresh fruit

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.2
    Historic country house hotel very convenient for Luton Airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really

    Very convenient for Luton airport (10 minutes drive) which suited us after a late evening flight arrival. Its in a lovely countryside setting with extensive grounds to the hotel. Its a historic house dating back to the 1500's. We had an excellent English breakfast and the overnight stay was excellent value with breakfast included.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    9.2
    Mostly excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a rather dreary affair, no joie de vivre. Staff please note. On a detail, the fact that breakfast was cooked to order was also excellent but why not cook the bacon rashers flat so that the whole thing is cooked, rather than carelessly doubled over on itself so part undercooked/flabby/unappetising. Also toast was DIY, but not a big deal.

    Super room on top floor, mid range/cost. Struck lucky with a booking.com deal. Building itself brill. Location in village excellent, near the Chef and Brewer pub on the corner which is also excellent for food and drink.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    7.9
    The grounds and building are beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the radiant head was not working when we arrived and the room was cold. The staff got it working, but then it became too warm during the night after the heat came up. The mattress had a sag to it, not as flat or firm as I prefer.

    The grounds and building are beautiful. The staff was very helpful. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    7.1
    Offley Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs some refurbishment as the floors in the bedrooms creak so you hear people walking all the time. Booked a deluxe double room with a double bed however mattress supplied was 2 single bed mattresses stuck together with sheets. Not the deluxe experience expected. The 2 mattresses kept coming apart so in the end we slept one on each mattress just to get some sleep.

    Hotel staff were very courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    9.2
    Great room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great room. Comfortable. Quiet. Breakfast fantastic. Arrived late of a flight. Night staff very attentive. It's a lovely old building with character.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    7.9
    Short but sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I couldn't find any fault at Offley Place, it was just what we needed before our onward journey.

    Buffet breakfast was lovely and cooked breakfast was available if preferred. Room lovely and clean and bed comfortable. A great start to our holiday

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    3.8
    Not Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The deco was very dated, the breakfast was poor, and the lady who served us was not the friendliest. Bed separated in the middle, the shower was cold and not very powerful. No air conditioning and could not open the window

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Hope to be back soon
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    Superb service from friendly efficient staff always looking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb service from friendly efficient staff always looking to make the stay as pleasant as possible - brilliant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Staff really friendly and helpful and the food was lovely too
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All great

    Staff really friendly and helpful and the food was lovely too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly welcoming staff. Quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything

    The breakfast yogurts made locally were very think and creamy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Luxury surroundings in beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find

    Setting lovely and room lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful location and a great stay for my business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Beautiful quiet place. Dominic who works in the bar and restaurant was attentive and excellent. A really professional person.

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: