Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Old Bank House Hotel 2 stars

Gorey Village, Grouville, JE3 9FX, United Kingdom

#3 of 3 hotels in Grouville

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 59 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.8
    On the plus side Breakfast was very nice both mornings and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy with other guests both nights probably just unfortunate! Waited too long first night for someone to come to the front desk to give us out room keys even after going down to the bar to ask for assistance. Internet access did not work effectively. Would not go out of the way to return and we go to Jersey at least once a year.

    On the plus side Breakfast was very nice both mornings and staff serving friendly. Rooms were clean comfortable although basic, the fan was pretty silent and effective.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Relaxed, comfortable, hotel staff the islanders lovely people, a perfect few days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing we didn't really like just parking can be a little difficult at times as the hotel restaurant is open to the public.

    Great place. My friend and I found the hotel very comfortable and staff happy cheerful and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, homely accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No suggestions

    This is a cosy and very friendly small hotel. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were delicious, ordered from a menu rather than a buffet. Beds very comfortable. A pub style quiz was held in the lounge one evening and sometimes live music , though not during our stay. The location is ideal for exploring other parts of the island without needing a car. We spent 8 days there and bought an 8 day unlimited bus pass for £30 each. Without it each journey costs £2.20 cash or £2 with a contactless card: however, we used our bus cards sometimes up to 8 times per day = £16 had we been paying for each individual journey. The card is well worth the money if you want to visit lots of lovely bays, historical sites. It also covers travel to and from the airport. I would want to stay there should I ever visit Jersey again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    A pleasant holiday to jersey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking space.confusion over payment weather it should be to booking dot com or the hotel.if it wasn’t for the help and assurance of the proprioter I would have been very worried.

    Friendly staff, helpful management, good food

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    10
    Great staff! Nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    one of the dinner dishes we had wasn't very nice, although the staff were happy to bring something else

    the staff were fab, especially the Scottish lass

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None

    The staff were really friendly and helpful. Although it's a basic room it had all the amenities of Stand in shower, TV, Hairdryer and Coffee/Tea making facilities. When we booked the room as there was only one room left we didn't put any requirements on. On arrival the staff swapped us to a lower floor room to help with my mobility. You could eat in the onsite restaurant or go into town, which isn't far.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    The staff are lovely, nothing too much trouble.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room didn't appear to have been vacuumed sufficiently, dead flies along skirting - bathroom small and pokey, and décor a bit dated. I've also managed to pick up a number of bites, whilst I may have picked these up elsewhere, their physical locations indicate that I picked them up in the room.

    The staff are lovely, nothing too much trouble. Food outstanding, and the garden a lovely spot to sit with a pot of tea. Breakfast was great, and the staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Clean, friendly and a good base for sight seeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was too soft for my liking.

    The staff were very welcoming and the meal we had in the restaurant was delicious and satisfying. There was ample parking and the hotel was just a short walk from the beautiful beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Hotel good in a very good location and all staff very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Couldn't complain.

    Hotel good in a very good location and all staff very friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant was very good and hotel bar had a very good selection of drinks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    5.4
    It was ok for what we needed but there are better places at the same price on jersey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed some TLC.. the breakfast was poor a choice of 4 items then 75p for each item over... after paying for bed and breakfast I found this strange... never heard of it before..

    Location ... staff were ok..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.8
    jersey is lovely. Beautiful scenery and delicious food everywhere, but would stay in a different hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed too small, not enough pillows. Noisy room (people talking beneath the window,) Breakfast choice limited, no fruit at all. No marmalade for 2 days.

    A pleasant walk from the hotel to the harbour and excellent restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.4
    A bit hit and miss
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We didn't like only having a choice of only 4 items for breakfast and the quality of the food was very hit and miss. The room was very basic, we didn't like having the washbasin in the room and not the bathroom and the shower cubicle was far too small. On a personal note we don't like soft mattresses and the bed was too small. Breakfast is served from 0830 so this is not a suitable hotel for business travellers who may want breakfast earlier.

    The food served in the evening is very good and reasonably priced, the drinks are also not too expensive and the staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Great stay at friendly small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be good to be able to access breakfast a little earlier. Even if just cereal, toast and coffee. To enable getting to see the sights early.

    Great food, friendly helpful staff , quiet location in quaint little village. Close to frequent bus and lots to see nearby. Laundry over the road very convenient. WiFi was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    Basic.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was contaminated by cigarette smoke. Customers and staff smoked right outside my window.

    There was a car park.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Excellent would stay again ☺
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, good food, room clean & comfortable

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.2
    Great location, fantastic staff and a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, fantastic staff and a great stay!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loved it.

    Good Parking. Good Breakfast. Very nice management.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.5
    Staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very low and I have hip problems so very difficult to get in and out

    Staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    8.8
    relaxed and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very good breakfast. Quiet but excellent sightseeing location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.3
    The location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisey rooms from bar below and beer garden

    The location and staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcome

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Basic clean room but in a great location with a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a bit dated

    Basic clean room but in a great location with a lovely breakfast and great food in the restaurant for lunch or dinner

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly staff and the breakfast was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed room door didn’t close easily and there was no hot water for 2 days

    The garden and how quite it was

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    7.5
    Staff very friendly, bed comfortable, food and drinks good. Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No clothesline.

    My grandmother used to live in The Old Bank House in the early 1900s.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    A very enjoyable week.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We found nothing to dislike.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent and cooked to order.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.2
    will not consider this property again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    carpet stained, bath chipped toilet seat not fitted flush

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    4.2
    Thank goodness it was only 5 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    61 stairs to climb, tbere should be a lift.

    The breakfast wàS o.k. but the beds too low, not comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    2.5
    Don't have even hot water at room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't have even hot water at room. And rooms look like was before staff accommodation and now make a hotel. Very bad place to stay!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.8
    The island is beautiful, but this accommodation needs some serious tlc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a pub with rooms....not a hotel!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    5.4
    poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no lift top floor attic room with slopeing celing hit my head when using wc small cooked breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    9.2
    BRILL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    I was born in Jersey and it was great to see and take other people

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    5.0
    The location was superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is sad tired and dated. The bar shut at 9pm, there was no lighting in the garden at night so it couldn't be used. The breakfast was the same very day, no variety, no fruit, no yoghurt.

    The location was superb The Tea garden and the lady who ran it

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    7.1
    Gordy Village & Gorey Pier are an ideal location for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Found the bathroom a bit lacking. The shower was very small and hot water was a bit hit & miss. The washbasin was in the room not in the bathroom with the toilet.

    Gordy Village & Gorey Pier are an ideal location for exploring the island. On a bus route running every 15 mins to St Helier.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    6.3
    The rooms and facilities are very clean and well attended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast! It seems that fruit is an unknown quantity and the cooked food merely a variation of the full English Breakfast. Bearing in mind the many French and German guests a continental breakfast would be an interesting alternative. But please some fruit, bananas, apples, oranges, etc. not just the juice.

    The rooms and facilities are very clean and well attended

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.9
    great value and good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom somewhat 'tired' and could do with tidying and painting.

    great value and good location. Nice sized car park and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.3
    Good sized room and bath nice, light and airy.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Sadly the pillows were old and tired making sleep uncomfortable. Bar closed at 9pm.

    Good sized room and bath nice, light and airy.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    7.5
    Location to beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Windows rattled

    Location to beach.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37