Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Old Grey Mare Inn by Good Night Inns 2 stars

Cottingham Road, Hull, HU5 2EG, United Kingdom

#14 of 25 hotels in Hull

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 490 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was great value for money, good food & drinks. Nice atmosphere and quiet in the rooms despite the bar below. We had absolutely no issues, would highly recommend.

    The fellas serving breakfast were amazing...I have Coeliac disease and need a strictly gluten free diet, these guys went out of their way to ensure every measure was taken and with a great sense of humour...which us Liverpool girls love...brilliant would highly recommend.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generator very noisy / disturbed all night

    Good location but our bedroom right outside a very noisy generator - this made worse by staff talking outside at approximately 5:40 am - a terrible nights sleep - if the room is to be used then sound proofing is needed. Very disappointed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small and the bed so hard I couldn't sleep. The bathroom wasn't cleaned when we returned after a day out.

    Good location for buses into Hulll City centre. Plenty of parking at the Inn.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are quite small and very hot. Poor circulation/ little to no air con. Awful nights sleep. Bathrooms could be tidied up a bit more, there’s is pipes coming out of everywhere.

    Great hotel for a short stay, lovely local feel and a great beer garden. Food was tremendous and staff very polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Near to the university which was ideal for us. Room was clean and staff very helpful. Great stay would recommend for short break. Beds are comfortable so had a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike !

    Dined here many times visiting daughter at uni, stayed over celebrating birthdays. Possibly one of the best nights sleep I’ve ever had. Food excellent as ever and staff very attentive. Shall be back !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only nitpick I have is that the shower in my room didn't work. The taps in the bath have a switch on them to switch the water from the bath to the shower but the one in my room (room 4) didn't work.

    My room was very comfy and quiet at night and the food in the pub was excellent. Everything was clean with the bed being refreshed daily. The staff were always very friendly and polite, making me feel welcome in the property.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken toilet seat lid Room 3, damaged key/stiff lock Room 16.1 Ceiling light not working Room 16. The bath is very slippery and there is a notice to say be careful but perhaps it would be good to supply shower mat as standard. Due to exceptional hot weather rooms were very hot overnight so a fan would have come in handy.

    Friendly staff, clean, very comfortable bed, water temperature good, efficient hairdryer. Nice spacious Rooms. Knew what to expect as have stayed before.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was good value. Only potential issue was it was sold as a 4 bed family room but there was only space for a double and a single. Didnt matter to us as were 3 mates on a reunion and the fourth couldnt make it but otherwise could have been cosy. Room a bit tired but clean but fine for a place to sleep it

    It was cheap and good lodation. Beer garden nice

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of students queuing at the bar for drinks/food long wait only 1 staff on. Air con or something directly outside window blocking it and was extremely noisy it did go off later in the evening which was a relief as it was hot when we went and needed window open rooms were a bit shabby but bed was very clean and comfortable. Toilet seat broken

    Pub area was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Old Grey Mare offered us a convenient place to stay due to attending a function at the University of Hull on a Saturday evening. We booked a double room without breakfast. The room was large with a comfy bed and even a sofa in the room ( I think we were in room 17) . The bathroom was also very big and was clean. Both bedroom and bathroom were in need of some repair ( handles broken on windows, furniture chipped and bathroom generally quite run down) . We could hear the pub below until quite late but we were staying in a pub so expected this! We cannot really complain for the money we paid, around £50. The location is great for the Uni and the room adequate. We did not use the pub however it looked great and has obviously been refurbished. I would recommend the old grey Mare but would be aware that it needs updating.. :-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Limited toiletries, I had to ask for these. I was unable to get a receipt at check in and it transpired I was charged twice for a room and had to contact the hotel however they were very quick to respond, were apologetic and immediately rectified the error

    Our second stay. Good price for rooms. Pub facilities were friendly, busy, lots of meal and drink choices. Good atmosphere. Rooms easily accessible and quiet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired and not very clean. It was noisy and the beds were not comfortable. When people passed the door talking it sounded like they were in our room. We had at the most 4 hours sleep on the first night. The sink and bath didn’t drain properly. The TV had limited channels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were ok, upstairs corridor was not great for my elderly parents with many changes in elevation (stairs) and lots of fire doors.

    Great staff, good food and drink

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed here for 1 night as it was close to the football stadium we were going to, the room was basic but had everything that we needed for 1 night, the bed was very comfortable! We also had drinks snd a meal in the bar which also was reasonably priced

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single bed on casters am a restless sleeper and woke in the night on the other side of the room !

    Good staff evening meal very good value overall nice friendly pub will use again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing when ordering food for my evening meal, half the items on the menu were unavailable (no steaks at all) and it was only about 6pm. The bathroom and wardrobe could have been cleaner.

    Good location, friendly helpful staff. Good if you like watching live sports, large screens situated all over the bar/restaurant. Food pretty good but only when they have what you want.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no where to sit to enjoy a drink at 5.30 pm in the evening customers complained it was too hot do all the window were opened hence it then become cold

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The catches on the windows in the bedroom were missing which meant we couldn't shut the windows properly so we couldn't block out the outside noise which were aren't used to

    Late check in as we traveled from South Wales Helpful cheerful staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very small room - window that didn’t close - the bed was small - our feet hung off the end - couldn’t get bbc on tv and shower was rubbish - my sister paid the same and got a very large room with a sofa a very large bed and large bathroom with good shower and could get all the channels - felt we should have paid £50 instead of £90!

    It was opposite the university where the event was held

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tap in the shower was damaged, which meant I had to bath instead, however this was a minor inconvenience. Very happy with our stay!

    The staff were VERY friendly! We’re very welcoming and could not do enough for us! The room was more than reasonable for the money we paid, it was very clean and a perfect location for anyone visiting Hull University (which we also loved). 10/10 for the old grey mare from us lot 👌🏽

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Overpriced breakfast, quality of the mattress was poor; rooms were small, carpet and skirting board need attention.

    The room was clean and particularly the bathroom. The person who was serving breakfasts was kind, and I felt welcomed. The breakfast okay, and there was a good variety of food to choose.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing every thing was spot on

    The staff was so help full and do any thing for you , as well it was a speacil day we ad a bottle of wine on the house which was so nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only lukewarm water in the shower, quite a walk to the room from reception.

    Very convenient, decent-sized room, good customer service, good choice of food in the bar, easy parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating in room was to much. Couldn't leave window open during night as noise out side from what I think might have extractors. Possibly

    Breakfast was amazing. Staff were lovely. Beds were very comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Missing light bulbs in room, poor maintenance overall. Radiator in bathroom extremely hot without ability to adjust temperature. Front facing room with inability to completely close window, very noisy traffic. (Tip: Ask for a rear facing Room)

    Staff were very cheerful and very helpful. Standard pub food and drink exceptionally good value for money

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy up till about 11.30, due to doors banging downstairs, presumably in the kitchens? It was quite loud. Needs more access points to bedrooms, as when you get upstairs you have to wind your way along windy corridors, and up and down mini staircases if you're at the furthest point as we were. Accommodation needs a bit of a design re-think, as better access and fewer stairs would make for a more relaxing stay.

    Really comfy bed, relaxed atmosphere, room nice and warm, bathroom very clean, good breakfast, great location. Excellent food in the pub and well priced. Right opposite Hull University and well placed for getting into town easily. The whole pub area downstairs has been fully refurbished and looks good. Hotel rooms next?!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the twin beds was very lumpy and you could feel every spring when you turned over - it was not a comfortable nights sleep! I left a note in the room the following morning stating such as we left as reception was not open, with contact details, but as yet they have not contacted us.

    Clean & Warm

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was icy outside and the windows in our room were open at arrival and could not all be fully closed. The breakfast was OK but service to restock the buffet was slow as only one member of staff was present.

    The accommodation was fair, it was clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed here a couple of times. On one occasion the bathroom was cold but generally I can find no negatives for what I paid.

    Friendly helpful staff. Comfortable rooms offering good value. Attached to a pub serving food so you don't have to venture out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bar was not open for the duration of our stay. The rooms were of a very poor standard for the price charged and breakfast was not included. The rooms seriously need updating. The beds were very uncomfortable

    polite staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little issues need addressing like the light in the room entrance not working , but can understand that when we stayed it was opening night of the full refurbishment of the bar / restaurant . Which is very nice.

    Very close proximity to the venue of our works Christmas party . Stayed here many times over the last few years ideals for our needs .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Read the fine print! The restaurant is under refurbishment, the front door is locked so you have to go round the back and try to find your way through to the reception (no signs to help). In my opinion it's expensive for what you get. No breakfast. Corridors are dirty and some smell of cigarette smoke. The room's radiators are on full and the windows are partly open, it's almost impossible to change either. Also, you might get someone walking through a door into your bedroom in the middle of the night!

    The manager was friendly. Very convenient for the university.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had no hot water in my bath. It was only warm, so I did not enjoy my bath much.

    I was surprised how quiet the hotel was, considering it's attached to a pub. The best hotel sleep in ages! I liked the fact there was a bath not a shower. Also enjoyed the food and coctails offer in the bar!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom fittings needed a bit of attention. Entry via the pub was a bit strange and the trek to the room seemed endless, but no noise or other disturbance in the hotel area.

    Good location, close to where we needed to be for our weekend visit. Walking distance to several pubs and restaurants. Ample parking space. Room was on a quiet side. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath water could have been hotter, noise from fan outside window off putting all though it was tuned off at night We were over 70 and put a long way from entrance with many steps up and down a long corridors to back of building

    Location was ok for the area we were visiting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom floor was not as clean as I would have liked- needed a good mop. It took ages for hot water to come but then it was hot. At breakfast the pedal to operate the bin for empty packets etc didn't work so you had to use hands to open a dirty lid. Not hygienic. It was also the only hotel I've stayed where the dirty room cups were not washed and replaced.

    The bathroom was very warm and the heat transferred to the bedroom so overall the warmth was very good, the bed comfy. Pete, at breakfast was very attentive. An issue with the washbasin plug was sorted quickly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They did not give us a key to the outside door despite telling us they had and luckily were with other guests who were able to let us in when we arrived late at night. The room was small and shabby. The accommodation would not give 2 keys so if you are travelling with someone else you have to share the key.

    The chap serving breakfast on Sunday 29/10 was excellent. Really helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The smell of frying and grilling in the downstairs bar areas. A noisy extractor fan outside the bedroom window, (which did however switch off at 11pm).

    The breakfasts, the cheerful staff, the location near the university, the clean rooms and the comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to turn the bathroom light on five minutes before we needed it so it could warm up! We also had to turn the hot water on for a while before it was hot enough.

    The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfasts were lovely, they made me just what I wanted and I was allowed to toast my own gluten free bread. The room was comfy and not too hot or cold.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 1 is on the first floor right at the end of a very long trek through the hotel with lots of steps up and down - just glad our luggage was not too heavy. Kitchen fan was a bit annoying but switched off around 10.15pm

    Check in was friendly and efficient. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Tea/coffee facilities. Have stayed here before.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little tired, although comfortable. Access to the rooms was a little awkward with luggage etc.

    Convenience of location, close to the venue I was attending. Room was small but comfortable and adequate for my overnight stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For those with reduced mobility, I counted eight small flights of stairs and seven fire doors between the main bar and my room at the back of the hotel. This could be an issue for those less mobile. Coffee at breakfast was coloured water that I couldn't even drink. Because this is a pub, I was woken early by deliveries, bottles being tipped into large recycling bins, and whoever was doing this having loud conversations right outside the window. Not a huge issue for me as I needed to get up early anyway, but would have been a nuisance otherwise.

    I stayed here for one night to attend a gig at the University, for which this is in the perfect location. On site parking. Breakfast was ok, dinner was standard pub fare. Room was clean and pleasant temperature with tea/coffee and working wifi.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was somewhat outdated. There was not always hot water from the basin tap and the electric shower was useless. Visiting at the end of September we could have done with some heat in the bathroom also. The rooms generally were good value but could do with a makeover.

    Location was good and food and drink is on site. Plenty of parking available . Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There weren't any big issues to complain about. The bathroom floor is very slippery but there is a notice to warn of this on the bathroom mirror. Perhaps slip mats might be advisable just to avoid any potential accidents.

    Room was clean, comfortable and affordable. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Situated opposite Hull University so very convenient for visiting or dropping off students.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and bedroom both Clean but dated and a little tired. Our room was quite a long walk down stuffy corridors with lots of sets of steps- this did however mean that it was away from the noise of the pub.

    Basic accommodation very close to the university.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room! It was the first room at the top of the stairs to the accommodation. All we could hear were the squeaky floor board's on the stairs and the door at the top of the stairs as other guests came and went at all hours of the night.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up by what sounded like all the shopping trolleys in Hull being moved outside the bedroom window followed by ten tonne of glass being smashed...I'm presuming it was bin day!

    Beds comfy. Room hot but they did supply a fan. Bath a great size

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My bed was a little bit noisy when I turned over and I could feel the springs moving, but for 3 nights that was easily bearable (my friend sleeps very deeply!)

    Stayed here before when my daughter was at uni and it never fails to please. We had brilliant breakfasts with all my needs catered for. I am coeliac and was able to take my own bread for toast and the very friendly staff advised me on the menus. My friend had never been to Hull and now she is a convert, especially to cafe gelato!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't have a room above the pub. Told by the manager I had an executive room. Well if it was I'd hate to see the others!. 2 windows wouldn't shut down road noise and wind all night long. Broken electric socket. Partially blocked sink and takes so long to get the hot water through I turned the shower on to speed things up a bit. Other issues. Think the manager could benefit from some training from his own staff. He booked me in but didn't update the system so it was still open to the previous occupant. This caused a small problem trying to charge to the room in the evening and this had a knock on effect when trying to a check out the following morning. Roomiously hadn't been checked after change over as there was a wet towel left hanging on the bathroom door!

    Good location with easy access to central and our of town areas. Evening meal and breakfast was good and the staff were great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors bang a bit as they close so not always a quiet night

    Great value and fab location. Really helpful staff who went out of their way to cater for our dietary requirements

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only downside I found was the long walk to the rooms, we were in Room 2 and had to go through several fire doors and corridors to reach it. Maybe in the future if there are any alterations consideration could be given to another entrance near the far away rooms for access.

    The staff at this hotel are without exception friendly and helpful. the breakfast was an excellent choice of food, all options were covered and the portions well sized and well cooked. the bonus of this hotel is the excellent choice of food available throughout the day until late evening, again well cooked and presented and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too loud music in restaurant and tables were very sticky. Refurbishment required? There was no indication on web that this was a burger type restaurant with limited conventional meals.

    Breakfast food and service was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When trying to pick up our bags after checkout they were a little understaffed (it was a weekend lunchtime and pub + rooms share staff) which caused a bit of a delay. Otherwise no issues.

    Good value, right across the street from the university where I was attending a conference. Convenient that the pub served food later than most restaurants in the area. No problem with noise (we faced onto the back garden). Wifi was pretty good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was a good size and very clean, with a comfy bed. Bathroom had a full size tub and shower. The food in the bar/restaurant was lovely, and the staff were very friendly. Overall I had a nice stay

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room small and the most we had paid at this hotel, used several times over the last few years, bed creaked, hotel entrance and room decor & carpets looking tired.

    Staff, breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could have been closer to the city centre, our room far from the entrance!

    Very decent value for the money, on a local bus route. Good quiz in the hotel/pub on the Saturday night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite simple style and oldish building, though rooms have all that's needed. Clean mugs would have been a good addition to the nice complimentary tea/coffee making facilities

    Very conveniently located just in front of the main entrance of the University campus. Cozy and quiet, a nice surprise given the good sized pub downstairs. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were small and not very well appointed. Two lights did not work. The TV was tiny! The bath was so high sided I slipped and nearly fell getting out after a shower.

    The bar and restaurant downstairs was excellent. The area surrounding was nice. The bed was small for 2 adults but very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is somewhat outdated - felt like the 1970's. There is a very long corridor with lots of steps up and down to get to your room - very unsuitable for people with limited mobility. The worst thing is the food - loaded with calories and even the side salad came with fried onions. In the year when Hull is the UK city of culture this place deserves an upgrade and a new approach to food!

    The location next the University was great for us, it was where we were going. It's out of town if you need to be in town though, although there are good bus services into town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too many stairs with luggage.

    Everyone was very friendly but, on one of the hottest weekends of the year, the lack of air conditioning made for very uncomfortable nights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in need of up dating, could not get breakfast at 0700 on Saturday morning.

    Was well located for my requirements, staff very good and food very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Firstly the room we were shown was not the same as appeared on your web site. We were actually booked in to a two bedroomed apartment which was - not the one we had booked. . We were originally shown a large room with a settee and quite differently furnished. Also it was the furthest room away from anywhere else in the hotel and with so many stairs to climb it was impossible for my husband to cope. Due to the generosity of other residents booking in at the same time we were able to swap with them but the room was very much smaller and a very small bed. Most uncomfortable!! We were informed by the Manager that apparently you are responsible for the allocation of the rooms so, therefore, we feel that your company is responsible for misleading me at the time of booking!!! I will not be using Booking.Com ever again. Kathleen M Smith

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellant value for money. Pub/Hotel very busy on Friday night due to Hull rugby being on tv. Were told that there would be a slight delay on food which was fine. Good pub grub. I had the ribeye steak and was advised to have it cooked medium rare as the steak was quite fatty. i appreciated this as I would normally have my steak blue and would have struggled to eat it. Breakfast good and my wife asked for boiled eggs, not on the menu, which they did willingly. Clean and comfortable bedroom. Staff very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much for them, even when they were busy on the Friday night We'll be back

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hello, I arrived at the facility but wasn't able to stay. I had a friend along that I needed to stay with me. It was very last minute, unfortunately. They didn't have any rooms available and weren't able to accommodate our needs. I was willing to pay extra and still got a "No" from the staff. I had to find a different place to stay and of course pay for one day. I can't rate the rooms or facility as I didn't stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For what I paid I can find no negatives.

    The hotel is also a pub/ restaurant serving good value meals. It is a little out of the centre but I was collecting my son from university which is directly opposite, so location was perfect. The rooms were surprisingly spacious, clean and comfortable. I opted for the full English breakfast which included the buffet continental. It wasn't the best breakfast I've ever had but for the cost it was ok. I will be back.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not ready until 2,45. We requested by EMail ground floor room but this was not possible as all accommadation on 1st Floor. My EMail stated that my Husband is disabled and has a problem with stairs ,there were in fact 32 stairs to our room On arrival we did have help with our luggage. There was constant noise from the air conditioning unit which was just outside our windows. No double glazing in windows.

    Staff in Restaurant very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great! Fab location for attending wedding in university opposite. Free parking. Great pub with food below. Rooms fine- much better than the pics online suggest! But best of all were the staff- every single one just lovely!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very large busy pub - packed with quiz night and sports TV when we arrived. Had to wait for a parking space to become available. Room accessed through a lot of doors, corridors and short stairs. Faulty radiator and bathroom sink. Thin uncomfortable mattress. Noisy from smokers outside the pub until closing time.

    Very good value for a double room as a stopover on our way to another destination. Basic room with TV, tea coffee and ensuite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No light over sink, hot water was tepid, water in sink did not drain away quickly, supper in sink did not prevent water seeping away,

    Friendly staff o light over sink, water was tepid

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toilet seat cover broken, two ceiling downlights not working and there were no bedside table lamps on arrival, so couldn't read in bed. The room was either cold, or boiling hot - no central heating temperature control, except by switching off the boiler in the bathroom next door. The windows were jamming and hard to close, so couldn't sleep properly due to traffic noise. Breakfasts were disappointing - coffee weak and insipid - no tea available and toast tasteless.

    The staff were friendly and supplied one bedside lamp. Good pub downstairs

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    An hour between courses on a not very busy night to get one of the poorest plates of fish and chips known to man. This is more due to it being part of a faceless corporation than any comment on the staff who were nothing but polite and courteous. The cloud Wi-Fi sponsored by Murdoch TV was not up to scratch 1/8 of the way through the 21st century.

    Quiet, easy to find, convenient. Perfectly acceptable as an overnight work stop but with a few drawbacks.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot. Uncomfortable bed. Lack of toiletries. Basic room facilities. Lack of breakfast service due to late time.

    Convenient location. Shower hot. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular

    We requested a quiet room away from the bar/reception area and that is exactly what we got. The room was clean, warm and comfortable - so no complaints.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen on the decor or the creaky floors the bath didn't feel safe either and the bathroom bin wasn't emptied from the person before 😕

    The food was amazing

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: