Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Old Rose and Crown Hotel Birmingham

Rose Hill, Rubery, B45 8RT, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Rubery

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 227 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no bar or restaurant for us to have an evening meal

    Room was comfortable. Staff were friendly set in a lovely location with walks in the grounds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Nice room but facilities could be better for the price.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor onsite parking and not very clear. There was an event taking place on the night of my stay, which I had not been made aware of. Consequently I couldn’t get anything to eat. No evening restaurant, despite the list of facilities and photos of the hotel food suggesting otherwise.

    Room very nice and spacious. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Adequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was utterly quiet and a little in need of some care and attention. Could not find the bar until the next morning -- no atmosphere.

    room was quiet and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    I believed from the photos that food was available in the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I believed from the photos that food was available in the evening but it wasn't. Not sure if it was because there was a function on but couldn't have food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Warm welcome, spacious room, comfy bed. What more can you ask.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to leave early to get to NEC for Crufts before the madness of Birmingham traffic and so didn't have time for breakfast, hotel made me a bacon sandwich to take with me and I could help myself to fruit and pastries to eat when I got there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.6
    Great value stay in clean, comfortable and spacious room
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel only gets good rather than excellent for facilities as it has no bar or restaurant. However, there's a decent pub/restaurant within easy walking distance and other good restaurants a little further afield. Otherwise, excellent rooms at excellent rates.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value in pleasant location
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big room, kingsize bed plus sofa and a good English breakfast. All at an excellent internet rate. Well decorated and spotlessly clean. No bar or restaurant but both available within walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    Cosy room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been good if there had been a restaurant attached to the property.

    Cosy room. Pleasant staff, including room cleaner. Footpaths nearby with good walks.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.8
    Would happy return - in better weather !
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV reception not good. Can understand why they don't serve evening meal - normally not an issue but on a cold snowy day, didn't really want to venture out.

    Room was traditional and cosy. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable stay with a good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since I always have work to do, I would appreciate a proper desk / table to put a laptop and files on - these are a rarity. Although the hotel was set back from the road, there was still some road noise, due to the traditional sash windows.

    The room was of a good size, with all the facilities one would expect from a mid-range hotel room (kettle, hairdryer etc.) Breakfast, which was included in the price, was well cooked, and there was a fair variety of options.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Had the full English breakfast and it was good, the coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been a tad warmer, couldn't seem to turn the heating up.

    Had the full English breakfast and it was good, the coffee was delicious. Typical English style pub/hotel/guest house - think it's also a wedding venue, dated decor but comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.2
    Good clean modern room, no frills choice, great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My tv didn't work but I didn't have time for that to be an issue and therefore never bothered to try and get it fixed. Bathroom small but decent shower. I miss the days when you used to get biscuits with your in-room tea/coffee lol. Be aware, as in the description, B&B doesn't do food apart from brekkie.

    very friendly place and well located. Room very clean and well furnished. Breakfast choices are good though I only had continental style by choice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Very welcoming and relaxing place, would highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cleaner mistakenly threw valuables away - but these were found when it was realised, so quickly resolved.

    Great size room and very comfortable, large beds, also really good quality breakfast. Were flexible in letting us add a person to the booking at the last minute, which was very helpful. Friendly staff. Easy, free parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Super helpful staff who went out of their way to make the stay great !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff went out of their way to provide breakfast even though they didnt normally provide breakfast until later on weekends. Staff couldnt do enough for you.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    The owner-manager booked me in and was the first person in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner-manager booked me in and was the first person in ages to offer to help me carry my bags to my room. The room was very spacious, included a sofa, was very clean, warm and comfy. I was advised where I could find a traditional 'country pub' nearby -The Old Hare And Hounds - and there I had an excellent supper of a pint of pulled pork and chips with a pint of real ale for a fiver! Breakfast was excellent and service from the owner manager and from Richard was friendly and prompt.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    Cheap and good quality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sausages in every hotel are a let down and again here they need improving. It really does let down an otherwise excellent breakfast.

    Very quick check in and all staff polite and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    Lovely rooms, lovely beds, all very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only thing which slightly spoilt it was a rather surly girl serving breakfast. Meant to serve till 10 am but was rushing us to finish up our food and to clear up at 9.50am! Also she seemed oddly reluctant to bring us extra milk for the cereal as there was no enough! She brought it in the end, and all was well, but a shame as everything else about the hotel was really lovely

    The rooms were lovely and the lady on reception so helpful and charming. Breakfast excellent. Beds wonderful. Really great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous Location & Gorgeous Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just a few small things that might be useful for future guests: The car park was pretty rough gravel with pot-holes (not good if you were in heels - fortunately I was in flats) and whilst it was clearly signposted as the Golf Course car park, the signs didn't make it clear that it was also for hotel guests - so I ended up having to find a member of golf course staff to ask. The length of cord on the hotels hairdryer was very short which made drying my hair a bit of a challenge. Would have been nice to have a normal hairdryer provided with a decent length of cord - but perhaps they've found that these get stolen??

    The location was gorgeous - surrounded by woodlands; plenty of parking; the bed was really comfortable; good sized TV screen; lovely comfy sofa in the room (this room was apparently their "Bridal Suite") - felt really pampered!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Home from home
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Loved this Hotel, location great, gorgeous surroundings, breakfast is fab, mire than anything though is the staff, so welcoming and helpful 10 out of 10 !!!!😊

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    6.7
    It was adequate for my purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although there was a TV in the room, it was almost impossible to watch due to the continual loss of the signal - extremely frustrating! Could have done with more shower gel! only had one very small bottle (sample type) to last 3 days... I could have asked but felt that I shouldn't have to.

    The countryside setting was lovely. Looking out over a golf course with the Licky Hills just across the road

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.5
    Lovely property, shame about the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a shambles - one member of staff trying to remember everyone's order and often failing. Don't know why she didn't use a notepad. Only one jog of milk for the whole room. Had to ask for a bowl.

    Lovely, newly refurbished room and bathroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    7.1
    Very accommodating but terrible breakfast experience
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast experience was not as expected. Oversize tablecloths meant getting up and down was a case of wrestling with it and unfortunately I had to do this several times - see below. No napkins on any table, I saw one table with a small milk jug and a couple of cereal bowls had dried on food. The orange juice was poor quality, even for packet type and the radio was too loud on a Sunday morning and tuned into a commercial station. There was one member of staff serving a maximum of three tables and so it should have not been a problem for her. However, she never engaged with the customer eg. to ask if they wanted more toast. I had to ask for my ordered coffee again and I was practically at the end of my breakfast. When it arrived it was very weak. By this time it was too late to order any more. I contribute routinely to Tripadvisor. It is only because of the accommodation of my booking that I haven't made these comments more public. I think the management need to retrain their catering staff.

    The receptionist, over the telephone, was very accommodating because there was more than one change to the number of people staying. I'd booked for one, changed it to two, but then my wife wasn't able to join me after all, so back to one. The receiving receptionist was also very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Very friendly staff, and comfortable room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I am vegan and the staff went out of their way to make sure i was comfortable and had the right milk for my tea and food for my breakfast. This made me feel very welcome, and i would recommend without hesitation

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    A hidden gem of a countryside hotel. Perfect for families with children.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. Was a perfect overnight stay on the road to another destination. A gray place for weddings and family events.

    Charming country side hotel with beautiful surroundings. We loved the hiking area next door with ponds, travels and the beta view of Birmingham a short hike up a hill. The breakfast was first class.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    Excellent place for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some minor maintenance issues, the sausages at breakfast were very poor quality although presentation and service were great.

    Excellent location, quiet at night, comfy bed, very clean throughout and very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No snacks or drinks available, although I understand this may not be tenable at the moment, even some bottled water in a vending machine would be awesome? Just an idea.

    Great value for money. Management flexible, friendly and professional. Location serene.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Had a great stay in a great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cant think of anything other than our room just had a shower rather than a bath too, but now I'm being picky

    Comfortable clean hotel, friendly staff and just a 1 minute walk to a golf course and tennis courts. Small variety of self serve cereals and yoghurts for breakfast but then placed my order for a full English.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    A pleasant, comfortable night's stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV reception was intermittent, but it do not bother me particularly. Wifi access was not very straight forward so I did not use it.

    Very comfortable bed and spacious room, pleasant location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Amazing location, family friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the drinks making facilities could do with a clean, our mugs had some stains which we had to wash off

    Attentive staff, great view from the hotel, lovely breakfast, comfortable rooms, serene rural settings and within reach of a few family attractions

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.2
    A Rose In The Crown Of Rubery
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was ideal for the area I was visiting for work and was surrounded by idyllic country views. Although the hotel does not offer evening meals, the locale has some good country inn restaurants for evening meals. Breakfast was delicious and catered for every request. If possible, request Room 10 - a lovely sitting area with a generous sofa and TV and a huge bed that you melted into at night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Will definitely use again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (No Breakfast)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only improvement I can suggest is a slightly larger TV but that's a very minor point.

    Staff were lovely and very helpful. Bed comfy. Room clean and tidy. Peaceful location. 15 min drive to central Birmingham. Will definitely use again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    9.6
    Great accommodation, close but not too close to the southwest of Birmingham.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike about my stay.

    Staff made me feel very welcome. Were polite an efficient. Clean and comfortable room. Plenty of free parking space. Delicious breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.6
    The staff were so helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Access to a laptop or a PC for Checking in on Line were not available.

    The staff were so helpful and friendly. Breakfast was served without any effort and with enthusiasm. Comfort of room and shower facilities for example hot water anytime we needed to shower. Bed top class and tea making facility in room contributed to making our stay very satisfactory.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    Very pleasant weekend accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was very satisfied. Perhaps having a cash machine at the hotel could be useful, as it was a trip of a few miles to find the nearest one.

    Staff were very attentive and breakfast was very quickly served and good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.5
    Impressed and value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    signage for parking and location of reception not as clear as it could be

    location - easy to get to from motorway and only half an hour drive from city centre and NEC

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.6
    Great nights sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    Breakfast was nice and reasonable choices. Room was really comfortable and quiet. I had a great nights sleep. Location a bit further from the uni than planned, but when factored into travel time it was fine. Some shops and places to eat close by.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.6
    Quiet B&B in SW Birmingham
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You have to dine out in the evening as the Hotel does not offer evening meals.

    The breakfast is freshly cooked to order and a perfect start to the day.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.3
    Location was good with some places to eat just down the road...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing was our bathroom window didn't close which was only minor

    Location was good with some places to eat just down the road And the place was peaceful.breakfast was stunning and staff was fantastic

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    10
    GREAT PLACE TO STAY EVERY TIME 😀😀😀😀😀
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (No Breakfast)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that if i done book early enough I could miss out

    It is set in some lovely grounds and the staff are so friendly and helpful. Just a lovely place to stay 😀

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    6.7
    Value Accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are getting a little tired and the thick plastic mattress cover made for a sweaty night. No evening meals, though there are pubs and a Chinese in walking distance.

    The staff were more than accommodating and the breakfasts very generous. It's very good value.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    9.2
    Great Hotel at Great Price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (No Breakfast)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower head was a bit old and seemed to spray water in all directions. There was no plug socket near the bed. Not a major problem but a pain for charging phones.

    Room was clean and and relatively up to date. Bathroom was clean and water was hot. Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    5.8
    Bah humbug
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid my bill on arrival. Was handed a room key, and told the same key opens the front door. I was told that the staff go home at 6:00pm and if I needed anything, I had to ring a bell for attention and someone would come downstairs to me at some point. No evening meal served. Was told to walk half a mile into town for some food. When I went down to the dining room for my breakfast, I had to return to my room for my coat, as it was so cold in there. The food was ok, no choice given really. The staff were just there. No mingling, or communication with the guests. It was a cold atmosphere and a place I shall be crossing off my list of somewhere to stay at. I'm not fussy, but I am well used to staying in various hotels up and down the country each night of every week, so I know what I'm talking about.

    The room was comfy and warm.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    8.8
    Great for woodland walks . Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast - sausages very bland - you need to use local butcher ones . Breakfast room cold - sofa infront of the radiator Room noisy from busy road - no double glazing Room cold - no double glazing TV tiny for such a big room Taps in bathroom - need attention - limescale Downstairs ladies stinks of damp

    Location - good for walking Family room - 2 double beds Price - reasonable Breakfast - unlimited coffee / toast etc Staff very helpful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    8.8
    Refreshing overnight stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of hairs in the shower and a rolling cigarette filter on the bathroom floor by the bin/

    Probably one of the most comfortable hotel beds I`ve ever slept in.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    6.7
    I won't be back.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They wanted to increase the price if I paid by credit card. They claimed that this would be a small amount but I don't believe that this is ethical after taking the booking at an agreed price.

    Lovely area

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    8.8
    A comfy bed in a great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bathroom was basic - towel rail did not work . Shower cabinet leaked at the corner foot mat was a bit scanty Food and coffee were not so great.

    Bed was really comfortable and that is the most important part for me.A lovely spacious room with snug curtains that kept out the cold at might. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    5.4
    Not
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lounge in which to chat with our friends and family. We were offered the breakfast room for this purpose but was refused a cup of tea there and was asked to vacate by 6pm as it was being locked up. I got the impression all staff went home at that time.

    Room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Fantastic hotel. Highly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This hotel is fantastic. The staff could not do enough for me and I would definitely stay there again. Comfortable rooms, peaceful setting and wonderful breakfast. I miss it already!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel on the edge of the Lickey Hills
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV too small to comfortably watch.

    Located by the Lickey Hills country park and adjacent to the golf course. Very comfortable bed. The room was furnished with desk and two armchairs. Clean ensuite bathroom with shower. Good range of breakfast items (included in room rate). Great discount through booking.com

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    A lovely stay for the working week
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Windows didn't close properly as original sash and drafts. There were thick curtains to help but it did mean the road noise was more evident without a seal on the room. Room partially cleaned each day but certainly not dirty, just cups and glasses and towels missed.

    The breakfast was lovely, staff very friendly and helpful, good sized rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Excellent value for money . Will be returning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows were old and very lumpy!

    Apart from the lumpy pillows it was a really lovely hotel with friendly staff and very comfortable accomodation. Nothing was too much trouble . Breakfast choices were excellent and tasty, freshly cooked to order. Lovely location .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Un-manned reception and no telephone in the room (in a hotel?!) made it extremely frustrating when there was no hot water. I booked to stay as I had an important day and wanted to avoid the stress of the M6......Hugely inconvenient to have to have a freezing shower to begin the day. Very poor customer service.....Nobody at reception as I left. No room service is also an inconvenience. The price is good, but as The Premier Inn and Travelodge are similarly priced and do offer customer service and hot water, I won't stay there again.

    The price

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.2
    Very pleased
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all good.

    Very comfy bed and a nice freshly cooked breakfast. I arrived quite late but the staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    7.5
    Nice clean B&B
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    However my room was situated from the high road side and it wasn't that quite as I expected it would be nice to have some nice latte or cappuccino in the morning with some fresh rolls.

    Very quite area for some one who comes from London perfect.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    10
    Very comfortable. Pleasant location. Great value hotel for Birmingham and Worcestershire.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The walls between bedrooms are a little thin and I could hear another couple getting ready quite early in the morning. Ok if you're there on business and need to be up early too.

    The beds in this hotel have to be the most comfortable I've stayed in in this country! Super value. Breakfast cooked to order and very tasty. Very spacious family room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    9.6
    nice rooms, quiet, no evening food, but very good bars down...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i asked where i could get food, and i was told i could drive to Sainsburys, when there was a really good bar restaurant, 5 minutes walk away.

    nice rooms, quiet, no evening food, but very good bars down the road.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    9.2
    Amazing value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No down side.

    Friendly staff. Great room with a view. Able to walk out of hotel and straight into Lickey Hills. Fine breakfast. All good and great price.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    7.5
    Okay for short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy room with external aircon unit/facility under window from believed to be linked with kitchen and this was on virtually all night. Although free wifi not good for trying to do any work as very slow and struggles at times, which did hamper work wanting to do. Not good for anyone with high mobility needs as no lift.

    Comfortable rooms, Good Breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    8.3
    Close to top marks, just needs a little improvement.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrid brown carpet in the bedroom, which really didn't feel clean underfoot. Tiny little telly on the wall in a huge, family bedroom. Two lovely big windows looked out onto shrubbery/hedges, no view.

    The staff couldn't do enough for me, they made me feel very welcome. The service was very good. The bed was very comfy and the pillows soft. The shower was huge...

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.4
    Set in lovely grounds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar, poor quality towels, no especially clean

    Set in lovely grounds

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful place in lovely surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place in lovely surroundings. Staff are amazing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Happy
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That there's no restaurant

    More surfaces in the bathroom, to put toiletries, would be helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Very beautiful location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very beautiful location. Hotel on its own is a small but the staff very courteous and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Quiet and comfortable perfect for my needs
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Quiet and comfortable perfect for my needs

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    3.3
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift, dusty and cobwebs.

    Very good waiter at breakfast, only good thing about the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful Grounds...... Naff Phone Signal... Good Value!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Phone signal

    Amazing Ground and park around hotel........Good breakie when it got there!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.3
    While a quiet pleasant location is attractive the need for modernization and refreshment is paramoun
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are on the shabby side in need of a revamp and revitalization

    Quiet location at the base of the Lickey Hills

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    In a beautiful location, staff very friendly, food fresh and hot, delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Comfortable rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable bed, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bigger bathroom

    Comfortable bed, nice breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    One night business trip. Good accomodation and good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everythign great. Breakfast cooked perfectly to order.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    7.9
    Staff were very nice and welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had cold water for the shower and I thought it was just the fused. 2nd attempt - still remained cold.

    Staff were very nice and welcoming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    4.2
    I felt that I was a problem they had to put up with because I paid to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Not a thing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable room, lovely location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable room, lovely location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in a traditional styled hotel. friendly staff , comfortable bed and nice breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location next to small park. Rapid check in. Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: