Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Old Well Inn

15-21 The Bank, Barnard Castle, DL12 8PH, United Kingdom

#11 of 12 hotels in Barnard Castle

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 376 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, great food and wonderful location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room bit dated and mismatched but just observation

    Excellent food and location. Staff very welcoming and friendly. Loved the atmosphere and that customers could bring in dogs. So convenient to get to attractions. Staff even ordered me a taxi which I was grateful for.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Not really worth the price , walked around the town & saw much better for same price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room in need of major refurb, not cleaned to a very high standard, soap & shower gel dispensers both empty, breakfast limited in choice.

    Location was convenient ,parking right outside,staff friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    5.8
    Not a great experience but adequate as a stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was adequate but a bit grotty. The room felt like something from the 1970s and was very basic in quality.

    It was a convenient central location but there is only street parking. It was more fun in the morning, in the café/ breakfast room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    A great place to stay while visiting Barnard Castle! Warm, welcoming and very comfortable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath was great, but there was only a hand held shower, which wasn't a problem for me as I like baths.

    Welcoming staff and overall atmosphere upon arrival and in the bar in the evening Great beer garden. - lovely outlook and location Breakfast very good and great service Great sized room, with a comfy four poster bed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Room quirky with its own garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ordered a lamb curry which I couldn't eat as it was too hot!! Flavour was lovely. ..a shame as there was no mention on the menu that it would be so hot!

    Room quirky with its own garden. Old Well Inn is a place of character with no room the same. We have stayed before.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    4.2
    Over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced. The bar was geared for eaters only despite there being a separate restaurant. 3 tables were monopolised by exchange students who weren’t eating or drinking stopping residents from sitting down and enjoying the only facilities in the area. It felt like a Youth Hostel rather than a £137 a night Inn and The staff were unhelpful & dismissive. Clearly a place designed for transit visitors and not residence who have paid good money to be there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    Staff and room were lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't great. Just little things like dry sandwiches, no butter on jacket potatoes for example. Just a small complaint but a bit of care by the chef and the place would be perfect.

    Staff and room were lovely

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Great value for money stay in centre of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On-street parking. Not a problem in front of Hotel, but you should know.

    Great value for money stay in the centre of town. Rooms are large and well equipped - showers, tea coffee, etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our short stay will definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely friendly and helpful . The room was very large and immaculate The food was excellent lovely breakfast and the curry we had one night was freshly made and delicious

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.3
    A warm welcome at the "old well inn"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, nothing dislike,

    A warm welcome friendly atmosphere and a decent selection of ales made for a pleasant stopover..only further advanced by the excellent breakfast before we carried on our journey.. We hope to return later in the year and exploe the town further.. On street parking could get busy bet we must have been lucky and got more or less outside the front door..To say its situated on a main Street road noise wasnt an issue..we didn't have a meal on this occasion but those who did didn't go without judging by the portions we saw on their plates so you won't leave hungry..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking may be an issue for someone with a car - we were fortunate enough to park directly outside the front door.

    Very large room and bathroom with comfortable bed. Good restaurant directly downstairs. Within walking distance of the Castle. Is old but has charm. Breakfast was to a good standard, and well organised with a fair bit of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Bed and Breakfast...the best of both!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with a new iron and ironing board.

    Lovely breakfast and the most comfortable bed! Fab new coffee machine to make the breakfast even better on my recent visit. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good room and great real ale but maybe have dinner elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have answered "nothing" had we not decided to eat in the pub. It was not very good. However, breakfast the next day was fine.

    Great location for looking around this very pleasant little town and especially for the Bowes Museum (5-10 mins walk). It's essentially a pub with rooms but that was not a problem. Great real ale and friendly locals added to the experience. A pint (or two) and a book and I was happy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Good value, central location, lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was on street only, pot luck on whether you can find free parking near the hotel. The road is very steep, not good if you have to park some distance away with anyone with mobility issues.

    Great location to explore the town and nice walk along the river to the abbey. The hotel was great for character, from sloping floors, big bedrooms to history of the building. Not one for people who are fussy about their surroundings though, room had faint smell of damp. Restaurant is off the bar, food was good. We had the Indian shared starter which was excellent and very large.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Absolutely stupendous thanks to you all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave at end of stay

    Could not find fault with anything. From the accommodation to the service to the food and especially the staff , all credit to the Old Well Inn

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.5
    WE really enjoyed our stay here. We found the staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet in the room was a bit shabby and the tray for the drinks was also not v clean.

    Being served breakfast outside in the garden on the warmest day of the year.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.3
    It was Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room just needed snagging e.g. bath plug not attached to chai, shower jel empty , soap dispenser in bathroom sink empty , 2 door nobs on wardrobe has fallen offf, iron and ironing board left out in the room

    The breakfast was great , the bar was friendly, the outdoor seating good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    One night in Barny
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are redeveloping, there is still a long way to go but I am sure that they will get there.

    The location is spot on and the breakfast was very good. The staff are always keen to help.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.4
    needs sorting out..staff issues....service issues..no return visit.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Under staffed,poor service at evening meal. waited 25mins for staff attendance. Booked steak/wine offer only to be told some one else got it. Young waiter staff need training on communication skills. Mistakes made at breakfast,we were given some else's breakfast order, ok for us but not for them! Plenty of complaints from other guests too

    Large room.comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.6
    Don't waste your money.....go elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no reception at the property which is fair enough....BUT you have to wait at the bar to be checked in. It was around 7.30 the bar was packed so at bit of a wait. The room (rm 6) was very very dated, grubby and needs gutting. The lock on the door was hanging on by 1 screw a total waste of time. The carpet was awful. The wall light in the bathroom was hanging off and dangerous. Behind the toilet had never seen a mop. There was a nail head sticking up out of the grubby lino next to the toilet which cut my foot. No extractor fan. The wall next to the toilet had brown marks running down it. We decided to eat out that night and on return to room it was freezing....no heating. The fan heater provided was broken. So I had to go back down to the bar to report this and wait surrounded by very drunk men which I found embarrassing. I had to discuss this in front of everyone which as you can imagine was not very professional. The bar lady offered me another fan heater which looked like it came from a coal pit and said the heating will come on soon. I asked her if there was another room but she just ignored me. On check out I reported all this and was given a poor attempt of a so called apology . (Thankfully Iv just had a tetanus for my cut foot!.... Thanks) I think we must have got the worst room in Barnard Castle. Yes the building is old but it needs a total refurbishment.

    The breakfast was nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Lots of room, good food, place for toddler to play.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The heating was on full all night (even though it wasn't very cold weather), our radiator wouldn't turn down and was next to the bed, hence even with the quilt off, we were too hot and couldn't sleep well. A bit of general DIY a round the place would improve it a lot. Kids toy area could do with checking over.

    Meals were very good, cooked to order, a choice of portion sizes on some dishes was good. Big rooms & bathrooms. It's around 400yr old, so a very historical & 'olde-worlde' place, & has the kind of features and anomalies you'd expect, ie uneven floor boards that creak. They have tried to provide for a wide range of tastes/requirements.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    10
    comfortable,warm and relaxing,just what we wanted.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing all good.

    in a brilliant location,we could walk everywhere we wanted to visit.all the staff were very polite and couldn't do enough for us.room was large, lovely and warm.we recommend the hotel very highly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Lovely comfortable stay in this quirky and interesting old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the metal staples sticking out at the top of the four poster bed

    Lovely clean and spacious room with sitting area. Four poster bed was very comfortable. Large and airy bathroom. Excellent Vegan curry made for us in the evening by Rima the owner. Nice cooked breakfast in the morning with Vegan options. Clean bed linen. Nice big bath towels. Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took a while to work the shower out, and in the twenty first century nowhere should still have a shower curtain rather than a screen.

    All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great sized room with loads of character and good food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money and lovely people.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fabric of the hotel is dated which is a pity as facilities are excellent.

    Really helpful friendly staff who went out of their way to make us, snow bound, visitors very welcome. We were warm and comfortable, evening meal (home cooked Indian food made by our hostess) superb.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    A great find and one to keep coming back to
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom fittings were a bit tired.

    Our room No2 was beautiful and comfortable. The whole place was welcoming and we enjoyed so much we immediately booked another stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Good location, near to Bowes museum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor is a little bit tired being neither contemporary or period to the lovely old building. It’s clean though. We enjoyed the stay but just think it could be furnished better.

    Great location for the Bowes museum which is a 5 min walk away. Near to antiques center, pubs and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Thoroughly enjoyable. Would go back again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower. Attachment to taps but no attachment to wall only hand held option

    Spacious bedroom and en suite. No disturbance from open mic night from my room but entertainment available to engage with

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    10
    Short New Year Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful hosts and staff, beautiful room and excellent breakfast, fantastic entertainment, ideal location for exploring Barnard Castle and Teesdale, will definitely return.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Pre new year night at Barney
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was the bathroom, the on suite door lock and handle could do with changing,as were loose and I got locked in,😓,we didn't dare lock it again,and it didn't close properly otherwise,so privacy was a bit of an issue.

    Fabulous location, beautiful old building steeped in history, big bed in a large sumptuously furnished room,great ales and choice of spirits,all topped off with a great breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.5
    The room was extremely large and spacious with a wonderfully...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit close to the dining room though, meaning it was a bit noisy during breakfast hours. I must have missed this in the information but there were no towels. I also suggest taking toilet paper as the stuff provided was like tracing paper!

    The room was extremely large and spacious with a wonderfully comfortable four poster bed. Impressive sized bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable and the ensuite to small to be used comfotmrtably due to the narrowness of the room.

    Location was great. Staff were friendly and polite. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    8.8
    A delightful break in a historic property in Barnard Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were there on one of the coldest days of the winter so far, and the central heating although hot, struggled to lift the temperature in the room. A small fan heater would have been welcome.

    Room 2 is a huge room at the front of the Inn overlooking the main hill down to the river. The furniture is good quality and the bed comfy. The en suite bathroom is also big with masses of hot water. The curry for dinner was excellent and the breakfast nicely cooked and plentiful. The inn is centrally located in Barnard Castle and close to the Bowes Museum, the castle and the shops. Although given the weather, we didn't use it, there is a delightful conservatory and garden which abuts the castle walls which would be lovely in the summer.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    5.0
    In good position for centre but the hotel needed updating and lacked any atmosphere. Dissapointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to ask for clean sheets at 11 pm because the bed had not been changed from previous customer. The next morning the owner apologised, but the damage was done. The breakfasts were plentiful but over cooked or reheated. No one came into room to clean bathroom or replenish hospitality tray.

    Not a lot

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    6.7
    Rare eccentricity in this good value hostelry
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy bar in the evening, not good for an early night, no invoice on check in, couldn't park anywhere near, not much in town

    Old hotel in the centre of town with bags of character. Super breakfast, good Indian restaurant nearby

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.3
    The staff were really friendly - enjoyed hearing about the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door lock very dodgy - key kept getting stuck in lock !

    The staff were really friendly - enjoyed hearing about the history of the place. Bar friendly and warm good for relaxing drink at end of day!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.2
    Big room, big bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside to the stay was that there was some strange plumbing noises throughout the night, they went on for a while and were quite loud.

    Room was huge, bed was big and really comfy! Floors were a little creaky but expected for an old building. Bathroom was small but functional. We had a good stay, breakfast in the morning was lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Characterful spacious room with sofa and easy-to-use TV and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the integrated bath/shower - shower really needs a higher bracket, and bath was a bit slippery.

    Characterful spacious room with sofa and easy-to-use TV and comfortable bed. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Excellent real ale and magnificent curry!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Super comfortable inn in a pretty market town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately there's no car park, but it wasn't too difficult to find parking nearby.

    The accommodation as a whole felt slightly old-fashioned, but in a really good way - the Inn's a proper pub and the rooms have beautiful carved wooden furniture; I'd seen some photos but my room was so much bigger and nicer than I expected! As we were in Co Durham for a family event, my sister stayed at the Inn as well - both rooms were seriously spacious, and the beds were huge and super comfortable. Everything was very clean and the staff were helpful. My sister also had her small dog with her, so it was wonderful that the Inn is so pet-friendly. I'd definitely stay here again if I was visiting this area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    9.6
    Really a great experience all round. Recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating was off, but there was an oil/electric heater. Just cold in the morning for a shower.

    Such a lovely play. The location meant easy access to everywhere. Loads of history, loads of atmosphere, just enough quirks to be interesting but not annoying. The staff are very helpful and the breakfast is excellent. They made us and our little dog very welcome.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.1
    Ok just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated and very cold needed updating not worth the 80 we paid , was disappointed

    Breakfast was amazing and staff lovely made the place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.2
    Night away for a wedding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower could have been better, very low down and not very powerful. That's the only negative about the whole stay and it's not a major one

    The size was surprising, bedroom was clean on arrival and not cluttered. Enough storage space and bathroom is a good size

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    The room was extremely large and comfortable with beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could do with a little bit of work but was adequate.

    The room was extremely large and comfortable with beautiful furniture. For dinner we opted for the curry special which was exceptional and the breakfast plentiful and delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    I want to stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay was only a single day. There was nothing to dislike.

    Fantastically welcoming licensees gave me a guided tour of the historic parts of the building! Lovely bedroom furniture. Try the curry!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    3.3
    Cut the holiday short, stayed 2 nights instead of 3
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was horrible, old dated furniture. Broken locks to room and bathroom and broken light fittings. View from bedroom was of a dillapitated old coffin makers building. Room was cold, heating was on timer which came on at 7pm, too late to get ready to go out. Radiator in bathroom didn't work at all.

    Breakfast was nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyed and would stay again if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had requested ground floor room due to reduced mobility and two small dogs with us. Provided to us with no problems. Also had rear walled garden to exercise dogs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.7
    Good value for money in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a problem and needed explaining better. Rooms needed a little updating.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms very big. Excellent location. Food was brilliant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyable and atmospheric. Hoped to see a few ghosts but didn't!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in room 2 was huge but was 2 singles put together and was bit lumpy...needs new mattresses....otherwise all good.

    Historic old rooms and period furniture/decor.Great location close to shops and castle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of wifi. Room directly above bar and had to suffer the quiz over the tannoy system from beginning to end. Very limited menu, so did not eat in.

    Central location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    7.5
    Olde worlde comfort in Barnard Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little disappointing as seemed pre cooked and reheated in microwave. THe bathroom door didn't close properly and our room was on the Main Street and there was a lot of traffic noise, some secondary glazing would help. however the manager was willing to change our room to a quieter one

    The ambiance and the evening restaurant meal was excellent. THe chef even gave me his secret onion bhaji recipe, they were superb. The room was very large with a very comfortable bed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.6
    The area is stunning and i would like to return to Teesdale but not to the Old well inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was literally awful, the rooms where not cleaned to an acceptable standard, rooms 9 and 10 where damp . Previous guests items left in the room including face cream and used wipes, The beer in the bar was not well kept on Saturday we returned 3 different beers and I know my beers, We where charged full price for the beer and not refunded the next day when the management returned We where made to pay full price before seeing the room and were not offered any discount on the room which was not the room we booked from pictures given to us on Booking.com Id of never of booked this hotel on the room i was given. The attitude of the owner was not acceptable and they where not interested in hearing our justifiable complaints.

    The beer garden to the rear has a nice feel to it , yet the bar area is tired and needs major refurbishment. We did not try the food so we can not comment on that matter , the breakfast was acceptable and filling.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Without hesitation i would stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking which was my fault, read the signs about the market if you stay on a Tuesday.

    The room was amazing. The dinner was a great curry and the breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Old Well Inn
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was old with history!Lovely welcome, friendly staff other residents and locals friendly.Room was clean, comfortable, tea,coffee & biscuits provided.Toiletries provided, breakfast was delicious plenty of choice second time I have stayed here and will be back great price for room.Nearly forgot pets are welcome my cat enjoyed his stay aswell :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Good value small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dedicated car parking. Noisy music night if in room above bar

    Good value and well situated. Good food and helpful staff. Close to centre of town. Large rooms any pet fruendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    2.9
    Very disappointing
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff working the evening. Had to wait ages to be served at the bar to order food & drinks. I was advised to order food before 8:15pm and so went to the bar at 8:00 pm but had to wait over 5 minutes to be served only to be told that I was "cutting it fine". There was only 1 lady working the bar and taking food orders. It was quiz night aswell! When the food arrived it was average at best.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Traditional Old inn , great location, lovely beer garden, welcoming staff, good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very warm welcome from the staff. The room was spacious and comfortable with tea making facilities and biscuits. The owner had provided interesting information on the history of the pub and took time to talk to us about the interesting old well. There is a lovely beer garden at the rear with view of the castle. We ate dinner at the pub and were delighted to find home cooked Indian food on the menu, the onion bahji and chicken curry were delicious. The breakfast was great, well cooked and plenty of choice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant enough for an overnight stay - rather quirky - plenty of history - shower poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom was compact but clean and towels fluffy! Saniflow toilet & pipework worked fine but emitted unusually loud gurgles. Shower was very poor. Experimented with all combinations of buttons but in the end there was a choice of tepid or unbearably hot water and poor flow. Staff were pleasant but at times appeared rather laid-back or distracted. There was a pile of tourist leaflets in the room and information about breakfast etc but it would have been helpful to have things organised into a folder - including how to find password to connect to wifi etc.

    Room was spacious, beds comfortable, breakfast fine and atmosphere pleasant. Managed to park on the road overnight just outside hotel - no parking restrictions. Evening meal was served promptly and was very tasty.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    6.7
    An old hotel with some charms and a few foibles...if you are allergic to house dust, beware!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel entrance leads directly into the pub area. The doors and passage ways are narrow and difficult to manoeuvre with luggage. In keeping with the age of the property, the floors are uneven, and the carpets are showing their age. The shower has limited force of water coming through. It was disappointing there was a failure of the reception phone number to work, and for room service to be advertised as available, but unavailable in reality. The old chaise lounge was giving off sufficient house dust to trigger a runny nose and mild asthma attack in me. I stopped using it. Fortunately I had antihistamines and steroids with me, and I slept well after the medications. The bed and linen were free of house dust. The wrong TV remote was placed in the room, but was replaced when our repeated attempts at using it successfully was reported in person (telephone not working). Only street parking available, but unless you are a poor hand at parking, should not prove too difficult. Given the tight access into doorways and passages, I worried about fire safety, and the ability to get out safely other than lowering yourself out of the windows at the end of bedsheets and curtains tied together.

    The rooms and bathrooms were very spacious. The decor was pleasing...furniture was a blast from the past! The sheets were clean, and the mattress and pillows clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and towels were large and clean. The Smart TV was sharp and also doubled up as a wifi hotspot. The wifi connectivity and speed were beyond reproach. The breakfast was wholesome, generous and well presented.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.9
    Super comfy bed, lovely breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needed updating. It was clean but the towel rail was rusting, grout had began to discolour and shower was quite old.

    Super comfy bed, lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    2.9
    Never again will we stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dining room could have been better. tables too close together and very busy. food was poorly presented.

    Bed comfy. Noicey as room was on the high street.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.8
    4 poster bed was very comfortable and the size of the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our bathroom was not very powerful. ...car parking difficult but understand why..

    4 poster bed was very comfortable and the size of the room with its fireplace and sitting area was excellent. We had breakfast included which was fabulous and the staff were extremely friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.8
    Dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired, in dire need of renovation . Our bedroom was over bar, which was noisey. The pictures that we saw prior to booking made the place look a 100% better than it actually is.

    Breakfast ok, staff good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    6.7
    OK for a B and B try other places in town for the evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Evening meal was limited and even more so because half the meals were unavailable.

    Room was to the rear and very quiet no traffic noise. It also had dark curtains which I prefer as I wake up early otherwise. Bed was comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.3
    Nice location, friendly staff and good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We sent our back up driver to book us in and he was told to pay for rooms before he could have room keys ? After biking 58 miles to reach the place we weren't expecting that the first thing we would have to do was find our wallets and pay - very unusual first time we've ever had this ? Shower and grouting could do with a refresh - mouldy.

    Nice beer garden - Friendly staff - Good breakfast selection

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    10
    A quirky hotel with good service in good location at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly say ,nothing on the night we stayed,perhaps music night might be different but on site owner management were first class hosts

    Listed building and our room (3) was very large with large bathroom. Period features which we prefer if possible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Cycling through Barnard Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This property was one of the most expensive we stayed at, and I felt it was over priced. The shower was really only just adequate. It was clean, but very elderly and rather scruffy. The entire accommodation was needing a good re-decorate in my opinion, when compared to other B&B and Guest houses we stopped in during this bicycle tour.

    Staff could not have been nicer, and we had a great place safe and secure to keep out bicycles (we were on a long bicycle tour and stopped here for one night). The room we were in was lovely and very large, rather old fashioned, but very comfortable. Also, there was a live band on in the bar, which worried me (noise), but we didnt hear a thing, it was lovely and quiet. Breakfast was included and was fine.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.3
    Great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room 6 could do with a bit of a facelift.

    Great location for town, street parking not a problem. Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast and the evening meal was excellent. Pleasant bar areas with good selection of real ales. Beautiful beer garden. But... room 6 was a little disappointing and bathroom was dated.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    3.3
    The breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this for a party of family for a wedding but unfortunately I had to cancel my room but the rest of the family were not impressed by this place noisy unclean only the breakfast was the saving grace. They had not been informed of my room cancellation and wanted to charge me.

    The breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    6.7
    Ok, as long as you got a good deal on the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Website says they have parking - they have none of their own. There is some free parking on the street right outside, but the lady who checked us in said that we were lucky to get it, as it is usually not free. The building is a bit tired, to be honest. Bulb gone in one of bedside lamps. Bedroom was "traditional", shall we say... which is fine. But the wardrobe door would not close or stay closed and was permanently hung open, right in front of the door to the bathroom, meaning you had to hold it closed to get into the bathroom and to come back out - inside, a tangle of plastic and wire coat hangers permanently on view. Luckily we were only there one night, so we didn't unpack and were able to jam a leaflet into the door to keep it shut.

    Great location. Very good breakfast. Lovely soft bed sheets.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    4.2
    Love Barnard Castle but not this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room overlooked busy street with lots of traffic, windows shook, room was cold. No shower, cold water tap made horrendous noises every time it was turned on. Cobwebs. Had to park in a car park a good way from hotel having to drag suitcases up hill.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    7.5
    Adequate for an overnight,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom furniture should be returned to the rubbish dump from which it looks like it came from. The beds were not comfortable, the shower was mouldy, wall lights hanging off wall in bathroom. Large wardrobe doors kept swinging open. They had been closed with wedges of cardboard. We couldn't replicate this trick so had to move furniture to keep them closed as when open they blocked route to bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Great short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing.

    Extremely welcoming owners and staff. Our room (room 9) was one of the quirkiest we've stayed in with original stone floor, lovely comfortable bed and even its own outside door. Good food and exceptionally good authentic curry. Open mic night on Thursdays and occasional other music nights make this a great place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    old well Inn at Barney castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed as a couple, and two other couples stayed aswell, compared to their rooms, ours no8 needed updating but it was comfortable and spacious.

    Really enjoyed our stay at the old well Inn, large room, large comfy beds,breakfast was excellent, particularly tasty sausage.,couldn't fault the staff, very friendly and helpful, definitely will return.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.9
    Historical Lodgings in Barnard Castle
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room faced the main road and although Barnard Castle is a quiet place at night I was disturbed by the garbage collection early in the morning. Maybe I was unlikely with the collection day.

    The staff were very accommodating and it was comfortable. I would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    1st stay was good - 2nd not so - still good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed in room 10, very low and a bed spread that just wins the most gaudy ever - worth staying just to see it. Failed to provide invoice in the morning - makes expenses difficult.

    Breakfast service was good

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Old Well Inn traveller photo gallery