Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of No38 The Park

38 Evesham Road, Cheltenham, GL52 2AH, United Kingdom

#1 of 24 hotels in Cheltenham

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 426 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    The free taxi to the sister restaurant was brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was looking a little tired in places and everything was very expensive (honesty bar & mini bar)

    The free taxi to the sister restaurant was brilliant! Beautiful hotel the decor was exceptional

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    The quirky decor of my room.
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That a bottle of water cost £6. That you had to pay (on top of a hefty price for the room) extra for a hot breakdast - of course this was a ‘choice’. There was also a crying baby in a room near me!!

    The quirky decor of my room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.6
    Love this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love this place. Shame they stopped doing fresh baked chocolate chip cookies in the evening but still tea and cookies. And of course AMAZING BREAKFAST!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.3
    Love the design of the hotel and the bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had too much salt inside and outside of the cup from the dish washer. Notify the team working there but I had salty coffee for 3 days in a row.

    Love the design of the hotel and the bedroom. Comfy bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    6.3
    Not too impressed at the welcome, initial impressions a little disappointing for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arrival a little disappointing. After waiting for someone to appear he didnt have any idea that we were booked. Then he disappeared and asked when we booked, how we booked and looked puzzled. Finally after returning took us to a room, which he seemed uncertain was available and he knocked and knocked and finally we were given the key and he left. At this point we found the bed to have a stained bed cover, so not an impressive start. After my husband pointed this out and advised how disappointed we were he moved us to another room. No information in the room regarding breakfast times, meal options or how to use the tv, coffee maker instructions ... Breakfast was acceptable tho when we arrived the selection of pastries was somewhat limited and we had to ask what options were available to us. The waitress brought us a menu with prices for a cooked breakfast tho we didn't know what was inclusive in our breakfast we had opted for when booking. Very vague not much communication all round. Felt unwelcome even tho this was my birthday and should have been a lovely experience.

    The room size (after being moved due to an issue in first room)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Quite possibly our favourite hotel in the U.K.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I only had one night there and not a week!!!

    I love everything about this hotel. The staff are wonderful, the rooms are a complete dream, the decor is unbelievable...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.2
    The honesty bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no conceirge desk so it sometimes felt intrusive to ask for things for the staff behind their 'private' door. Having said that, the staff were amazing.

    The honesty bar. Beautiful surroundings and tastefully furnished.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That my sister and husband got a far bigger room with lots more in it than my husband and I were in but payed the same .

    It was a nice small hotel. Lovely lounge to sit in .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Excellent, wonderful, fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved it all.

    No 38 was truly wonderful. A unique place to stay with the best of home comforts. The team made us feel so welcome. Just sad we had such a short stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Lovely Hotel but far too hot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows only opened 3” and no air conditioning left the room averaging around 29 degrees Celsius. Far too hot to sleep! I asked the staff to help but they could only provide a fan which simply pushed the hot air around the room.

    Great rooms, breakfast and kind staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.3
    Beautiful venue in a stunning location
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Try to avoid in the warmer months. The room was like an oven and the fan did little to remedy this, especially as we were traveling with our dog. The windows barely open so it was also very stuffy.

    The welcome was great and venue is beautiful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked venue for wedding reception, were not told prior or at booking that music was not allowed after 10:30pm, music was unceremoniously turned off at 10:30pm and guests left in silence - spoke to senior staff member on duty that evening who was surly and unhelpful. I do not recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, massive comfortable bed, gorgeous bath and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very warm and it was not that hot outside. Could be very hot in mid summer.

    Lovely hotel, massive comfortable bed, gorgeous bath and friendly service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Warm, welcoming and stylish hotel, great breakfast and amazing rooms. Just a bit nois
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sort the slamming doors out! when you have a room next to one it is quite a disturbance everytime they slam shut. Our room's door also had a slamming door which we tried our hardest not to let slam! Also no mirror in the room at all, either near a plug or at a dressing table. Not great for the lady guests trying to dry and style hair. Also it is on a very busy road.

    Huge room and bathroom in fantastic heritage style to compliment the building. Wonderfully comfortable, very large bed. Great breakfast. Very friendly and welcoming staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Business travel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevator is missing because the buliding is old. The continental breakfeast should include more foods, for example ham or salami.

    The staff was very very helpful and kind. The hotel was clear and beautiful as well as the rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel but came away exhausted due to sleepless night and poor response to our complaints.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise which resulted in a sleepless night for us. The fact that we have had no response to our letter about these difficulties.

    The staff were excellent; the atmosphere was relaxed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    A charming place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All staff were lovely, but it was sometimes difficult to find a member of staff when needed (for check-in, check-out and breakfast). Our room (on the top floor) was very hot and stuffy, but the fan provided helped and it was whisper quiet. The pillows provided were too thin and not supportive.

    A beautiful building in a great location. The room has the best tea/coffee facilities I've ever found in a hotel (proper tea pot, real milk provided, etc.) The turndown service and wake-up tray were lovely touches. The continental breakfast (included in the price) was good and the cooked breakfast was brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel in an ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well considered and beautifully appointed hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the room was perfect and the location was ideal, just a short walk to the centre of Cheltenham. Honesty bar was a nice touch for a late drink.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely staff, nice hotel, comfortable and clean. Slightly overpriced though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a few things missing from our room which should have been included and breakfast wasn't included ( we got it free because of a mix up with parking) which we felt would have made the hotel slightly overpriced. We were very impressed with the manager who sorted a few misunderstanding instantly and pleasantly and the chef who was so friendly and cooked us a wonderful impromptu meal.

    The staff were lovely, an amazing chef who cooked us a wonderful impromptu meal from what he had in the fridge, delightful and unexpected.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    a beautiful luxury stay. We had dinner at the Tavern and the main meal was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking shound be free

    everything. Always appreciate a very clean hotel. bath/shower product. interior. pre breakfast tray. continental breakfast. in room tea/coffee. complimentary taxi to their other hotel/restaurants

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Luxury B&B in the best sense of the term: service is great and staff couldn't do enough for us & dog
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dog friendly, super staff, great room, lovely location by the park, room was so well appointed, stylish, and HUGE; fantastic location near the park and quiet overnight.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    4.6
    Sadly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly we didnt enjoy our stay. Had a small dark room in the roof, which was very hot despite opening windows etc. lots of very expensive add-ons (e.g. parking, breakfast not included) felt like they were constantly charging for extras which affected the ambience and overall feel of the place. Was not worth the money, have stayed in nicer for less.

    Pretty building, great location for exploring the Cotswolds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    We were given an upgrade on arrival which was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given an upgrade on arrival which was lovely. The staff were welcoming and attentive. It felt more like a home than a hotel, very relaxed and easygoing. The room was gorgeous, incredibly comfortable and definitely went above and beyond expectations! Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    An excellent hotel choice if you are happy to walk a short distance into Cheltenham for dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although breakfast was included in the price, tea and coffee was excluded. Very unusual and should have been made clear at the time of booking.

    A very homely and relaxing feel with very helpful and accommodating staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely comfortable hotel in a great position. Would I stay again? No I don’t think I would.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bent into Low hanging lights over bedside tables. Toilet set into a corner too tightly. Disappointing breakfast was tasteless.

    Wonderful bed.large towels.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Loved it-they really looked after us and made us feel homely. Thank you!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice to have a couple of chairs to sit on.

    Bed was lovely and hard!! Good for my bad back! Bathroom was amazing!! Very clean. No carpets which was great in the rooms....!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honesty bar was a good idea but was very overpriced especially when you had to pay £3 for just the little bottle of mixer. Prices and charges weren’t explained very well, especially if booked through booking.com. A pre-authorising charge was asked for at the start of our stay even though money was taken by booking.com. also continental breakfast was explained to be free and cooked items were extra but we were charged £9 each which we didn’t mind since it was excellent just wished it was explained more clearly.

    Morning croissant and orange juice wake up call. Complementary taxis to sister restaurants in Cheltenham. Double bathroom was great especially the showers. Bed was extremely comfy. Continental breakfast was good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    2.5
    disappointing management attitude
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no understanding of medical emergency circumstances, no full or partial refund offered, no alternative date offered

    a member of staff took the trouble to telephone me

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Cosy weekend escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mini-bar prices

    I loved everything about the room, especially the big freestanding bath. The decor was stylish and the room was very cosy. The staff were very friendly and as per their recommendation we had a fantastic meal at No. 131 which is part of the same chain. Breakfast at No. 38 was good too! I’d definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Great experience at a Cheltenham boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Apple TV and Sky TV was not working properly but we do not particularly mind since we are contented with regular TV programmer and the WiFi is good. If you are carrying big luggage, please ask for a lower floor room since there is no lift.

    The room is very cozy and well decorated with stylish furniture yet comfortable and practical for use. The toilet shower is very good. The cooked breakfast (with additional charge) is well worth its cost with quality; even the complimentary continental breakfast spread is also adequate and nice. Mark is exceptionally helpful and polite, especially with my big luggage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    The staff were wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking should be included as it’s available on the property. Breakfast would be better if cooked option was included in the price. Bring back the turndown hot chocolate please!

    The staff were wonderful. The room was clean. Lovely feature bath

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, romantic and calm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little warm and windows were not easy to open.

    The good morning tray was a lovely touch. Fresh croissants and freshly squeezed juice left by our room. I loved the pet policy that staff can bring their dog to work and we met several of their fur family. The toiletries and rooms are exceptional quality and the decor in general is very calming. Also, great breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Absolute luxury and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was the height of luxury. The room was huge and the en suite bathroom was the biggest we've ever seen in a hotel. The staff were so helpful and went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and that we had everything we needed. We were offered a complimentary taxi to a couple of eateries in town for our evening meal. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order for us. We could not fault this property. We wanted for nothing.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel and experience with a few minor issues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The selection for the continental breakfast was very limited and all cooked food was at an additional charge. The attitude of some members of staff could be improved. The car park is small and fills up quickly and at £10 per day, a space should be reserved.

    The roll top bath in the room was excellent. The bed was huge and very comfortable. The offer of orange juice and croissants delivered to your door at a time of your choosing in the morning was a nice touch. The room was quiet at night but this was mainly because they were only one or two other guests when we stayed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly disappointed that we didn’t have a bath, as we booked a very good room, however this was our expectation no fault of the hotel. Tiny little niggles for us, but overall excellent and would highly recommend

    Beautiful little touches, fresh orange juice and croissants delivered to your door, honest bar is amazing, staff were very friendly and helpful. Excellent customer service, a stunning hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to stay! Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got hot milk on turn down the first time we came and didn’t on the most recent visit. Abit more milk in the room would be great for ea and coffee :)

    2nd time back! The turn down service is fab! Lovely and cosey when we got back after our meal. Orange juice and pastries in the morning before breakfast is great. Staff soo friendly and welcoming. We had room 1 which was amazing for the price we paid and perfect space for our little one to crawl around!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    Warm and welcoming
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few extras that can get in the way of a otherwise perfect experience. If you fancy a bowl of fruit before your cooked breakfast....thats two breakfasts at 14pound each! Norris McWhirter popped them in his book for a Record Breaking £5 for a small 27g bag of crisps from the minibar Free parking 6 months ago is now £10 overnight with a story about this been paid to the council even if it’s a private drive. In all fairness you do expect to pay for parking in a city centre hotel so this is fair enough.

    Such lovely and friendly staff with huge welcomes on arrival. The rooms are lush. Super comfortable, trendy, lush bathrooms. The best English breakfast I have had in years A warm friendly place to spend the night:)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing Christmas present for my parents
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor customer service prior to arrival by hotel reception as to clarity and reassurance re my booking (a present for my parents). My parents found the information about breakfast misleading as to whether breakfast was included and no clarification given by staff. Coffee was priced extra and expensive. I had paid for breakfast but they were met with a menu for £14 for either Continental or cooked breakfast- later sorted out but being older they felt anxious about this. They had the hot breakfast and found it nothing special for the price (which the hotel did waiver) as apparently it is only continental breakfast included which they didn't want but as both are the same price the receptionist saw the point and didn't charge them any additional. Expensive in room snacks. No complimentary biscuits as per standard in most British hotels. No bath in the room-I emailed the hotel asking very nicely for an upgrade if available, no upgrade given or offered and the hotel was far from full and although it is not expected many hotels offer an upgrade (even at extra cost) when available. A bit mean in my opinion. Parking is extra at £10 a day. Too far to walk to restaurant for those a little older or not very fit- even though the staff say its a 5min walk. There is a free taxi service to the hotels sister restaurant but the hotel receptionist got the time wrong and parents were sat in the reception for 15minutes waiting in front of the receptionist before she realised that maybe they weren't just hanging out in the lobby for an fun?! Mine and their experience of the hotel reception was poor- the hotel is part of a small chain and head office were helpful but the hotel staff need some further training in customer service.

    Rooms and reception areas nicely presented and stylishly decorated. Beautiful building.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged £10/night for parking on the property - again probably my own fault for not properly reading all details in advance but seeing it is parking on site and seeing the roomrate, I would have expected this to be included in the room.

    Really lovely hotel - very well designed. Added bonus was that we got a free upgrade when we arrived. Breakfast is very tasty in very nice room (being slightly on expensive side if not included in room rate - we didn’t realise it wasn’t included which is obviously our own fault but might be worth keeping in mind when booking through booking.com). Staff was very accommodating and rooms have all the necessary comfort and more. Overall great stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    It was like a dream weekend home, with all the amenities and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Struggling with this response...nothing.

    The whole experience - the sitting area with fireplaces, the dining area, and the bedrooms and bathrooms were simply superb!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a leaky chimney which was quite annoying They were charging £5 for a bag of crisps in the room!

    Lovely boutique hotel. Very cosy. Feels like a home from home

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    9.2
    Really great quality and aesthetically top notch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honesty Bar a bit overpriced, particularly given the irony of it being about 'honesty' and charging £5 for a small beer! The TV was really complicated and kept switching off, gave up in the end.

    Beautiful designed interiors and lovely touches in the bedroom such as a nespresso coffee maker and sky tv. Staff friendly and rooms peaceful and private. The quality of the bed and soft furnishings second to none!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable but could go further on basic comforts
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve only once had a bath there - that’s how I relax so would be good to have them in more rooms. Breakfast never included in better rates and a cooked breakfast costs additional even when breakfast included which isn’t good value.

    Lovely staff and cosy lounge and honesty bar etc. Beds v comfy and showers excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.8
    We stayed at131 not 38, your info is wrong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You keep telling me that we are staying at 38 when you changed the booking to 131.

    We stayed at131 not 38, your info is wrong. 131 was fine & the location excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Superb. Lucky Onion known their .... onions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The plumbing/ventilation in the building made a bit of a racket one night, but did not last too long. Staff were very helpful in trying to sort it out.

    Staff lovely and helpful, beautiful rooms and excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.8
    Lovely building and rooms. Shame about the add-on's cheapening the experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged for parking in their own car park despite there being no mention of this before booking. It's included in the small print once you've already confirmed...so beware! Only continental breakfast in included in the rate. Both of these cheapen the experience I think. Staff had a 'computer says no' attitude and customer service was pretty poor unfortunately.

    Room decor was well considered and loved the stand alone bath.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    A perfect escape for a romantic weekend, great location...you’ll wish you could move in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that we felt wasn’t really up to standard was the breakfast. The first morning we just had the continental breakfast, which was included, and was perfectly adequate, but nothing to shout about, and if you wanted eggs, you’d pay extra (circa £8/9). The next morning we both ordered an English breakfast which took about 45 minutes to arrive, cost £14 each I believe, and consisted of one relatively small mushroom, a rasher of bacon, a sausage, half a tomato, 2 eggs and some bread which didn’t know if it wanted to be bread, toast or fried bread! Everything was nice enough, but not great value for money and again, nothing to shout about - which is a shame, given that everything else about our stay was pretty perfect!

    We adored the hotel - the ambience, furnishings, finishing touches, lovely quiet and comfortable bedrooms, and the staff were really lovely. A faultless hotel, perfect for a get away for two (or we said we’d love to hire the whole place one day, perhaps for a big birthday!).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    5.8
    Not Cheltenham’s best.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is poor, bathroom shower flooded with every use as tray angled the wrong way, loud heating/mechanical/plumbing noises at 0700 in the morning wasn’t a great way to wake up. Very expensive as was a race weekend. Well out of town.

    Friendly staff, great breakfast. Free taxi to 131 for dinner (very good) as no restaurant on site.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    very nice, we would definitely go there again, highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything at your place. The night manager who was there when we arrived was so nice and we felt really welcome. the breakfast was excellent, the room was comfy and homely and we loved the interior of the hole place. the only thing we need to tell you that there was 6 lamps around our bed but not a ceiling lamp so in the evening it was a bit diffecult to look for things in our luggage as the room was quite dark. in the bathroom there was nowhere to put our toiletries and we needed some brighter light around the mirror for shaving and for putting on makeup.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    Staying at No.38 the park was wonderful and made our weekend in Cheltenham very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast wasn’t included in the price which we weren’t aware of when booking.

    Lovely greeting from staff on arrival and they were very helpful with any questions we had throughout our stay. Really nice touch with the complimentary taxis to 131 and The Tavern. I loved how there were two dogs in the hotel, it gave a homely feel to the place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    Overall good but noise requires investigation as it will put guests off.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I stayed in room 6 - the room was gorgeous and shower was lovely. However there was constant noise in the room - a very loud, rattling vibration that kept me awake all night.

    The hotel is absolutely lovely. I have also stayed at No 131 the Promenade, so I am aware of the quality. The hotels are like home from home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel - more like a home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a full English breakfast to be included in the price

    Beautiful hotel - more like a home. Very friendly staff. Love the idea of the “honesty bar”.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    9.6
    Home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family in the room next door decided to play on the landing outside my door at 6am... not the hotel's fault though

    Staff were genuinely helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    super stylish hideaway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the only very minor gripe is that there is very little storage space in the fab bedroom. would have loved a chest of drawers to put clothes away and keep the lovely bedroom tidy.

    so relaxed stylish and comfortable. great service and brilliant breakfast . we will certainly be returning.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.6
    Can’t wait to come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1st Floor front rooms are a little noisy, you can hear the cars outside and also the music from downstairs comes on very early BUT there are earplugs in the room

    Comfy Bed, amazing decor, friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    9.2
    The room and hotel facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little chilly Cooked breakfast was at an extra charge We were asked to pay an additional £10 for car parking but this was although this was not added to our bill as we had our documentation that said car parking was included

    The room and hotel facilities Good continental breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Gorgeous boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that could possibly have been improved was the pillows!

    Gorgeous boutique hotel. Didn't want to leave. Delicious food, lovely drinks, friendly staff and whole hotel beautiful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Great Stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely property situated near the city centre. Staff were really nice and available at all times. Rooms were really well decorated, with the bath being a great addition.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    A hidden gem! What a find! Cant wait to come back again!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - All was amazing! Couldn't fault them on any level.

    The personalised letter on the bed welcoming me to the hotel. The croissants and fresh orange juice delivered outside my door in the morning. The fab interiors and massive bed! Really enjoyed my stay and will definitely be coming back again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Great small boutique hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Really great small hotel. Visiting for a conference at the racecourse and the hotel was nearby. The staff were exceptionally helpful, in particular helping me out in the morning to get to the conference when it was raining and taxis were unavailable. Couldn't ask for more!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.1
    Lovely place nice staff please sort out continental breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to put your toiletries at all , heating confusing Really disappointed with continental breakfast very limited choice and no croissants or bread roles with half an hour to go before breakfast closed ....so great bed but very poor breakfast so disappointed such a shame

    Beds and linen shower room complimentary taxi to sister hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Absolutely stunning, loved every minute of our experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is tight for space although you are offered a parking permit for the local roads, so it really isn't a problem. The rooms could do with some additional furniture to place toiletries and additional items on, although this isn't a deal breaker.

    We loved everything, there is nothing not to like about No 38. I booked for my partner and I with our wedding taking place in Cheltenham. I contacted the hotel to confirm my booking and ask if there were any extras such as champagne. Alice was extremely accommodating as soon as she knew it was for our wedding offering an upgrade to the honeymoon suite. All of the staff were so polite and helpful from start to finish. No 38 is by far one of, if not the best hotel I have had the pleasure of staying at. The detail is perfect all round, we loved the beds, furniture, decor, the rooms, showers, claw foot bath in the room, large showers, everything. The hotel was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel with 5* luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors to the rooms are very heavy, I let ours go by accident which caused an almighty crash, maybe slow door closers would be a nice addition for butter fingers like myself. No sparkling water in the mini bar, again something minor that didn’t really effect my overall enjoyment, I’m sure if I called down it would be no trouble to bring some up. No lift in the hotel so be sure to ask for a low floor room if you have mobility issues, again not a negative for us but something to think about.

    I had a fabulous night at No38. My partner and I stayed on a Sunday evening. We arrived at around 3:30 and parked right outside, there was room for around 6 cars. We were greeted by a friendly face who checked us in, showed us around the downstairs including the honesty bar and breakfast area, she took a few details and took us up to our upgraded room. All the doors of the rooms were open which made it feel very homely. We stayed in room 11 on the top floor which was gorgeous. The room had the biggest bed, a beautiful bathroom and all the facilities you needed. It was evident nothing would be too much for the staff at this hotel. Everything was thought about, even a little bag of sanitary products for ladies that may be caught out and the Bramley toiletries supplied were to die for! We had such a beautiful stay and hope to return very soon!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Excellent comfy stay, good value for money, good breakfast and friendly staff. Very happy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one and only issue, (and it was a small one) was that the water from the shower room overflowed into the bathroom after a couple minutes of using it, but this was easily resolved by putting a bath matt in the way to block it.. like i said, it was a small issue and that was the only issue we encountered!

    The bed was so comfortable and the bath in our room was great! Check in staff were very friendly and told is everything we needed to know and even some helpful information about where to go and what to do. We appreciated the interior design as well. In all a very pleasant stay!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    can’t wait to come back!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Go here, it’s pampering on a new level. The bed is fantastic, the decoration is FABULOUS, the drinks & nibbles are wonderful and how about getting a newspaper on a tray at your doorstep with freshly squeezed oj in a bottle with two croissants... we loved every second here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Luxurious comfy room and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee came out of machine cold, no biscuits, no green or herbal teas (imagine I could have asked but would be nice to have them in room, also some hot chocolate or instant coffee). Breakfast not included in rate.

    Bed was super comfy and the bath tub was amazing. Luxurious room and friendly welcome.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    6.3
    Too expensive for what you get have stayed in cheaper boutique B+Bs with much better facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom on small side no iron in room requested this but it wasn't delivered. Hated communal tolletries no individual ones this is an infection risk and just nasty. Continental breakfast included in price not English. Considering 2 nights cost £603 we felt b+b nickle and dimed everything which left a bad taste fair enough in budget place not high end as this is.

    B+B was confortable communal areas really stylish. Honesty bar a nice idea

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    A real find in Cheltenham!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    What a fantastic property - the welcome at check in; the beautiful room with fabulous linen and everything you could want provided,; the furnishings and accessories all over the hotel and the ambience. We will definitely stay with you again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Our stay here was excellent, staff were really friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay here was excellent, staff were really friendly and helpful. The owner has 2 beautiful rescue dogs, who are both gorgeous. The attention to detail was evident throughout the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    6.7
    great building and fab bathroom, room was okay. sort the windows out. love the free taxi into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    windows didn't open very wide so fresh air was difficult. no hot chocolate treat they normally do, and no special treatment as it was our anniversary at the restaurant or hotel.

    trendy and tasteful , nice staff, other guests were couples, no kids.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    The room had a very comfortable bed and we were well-looked after. It is close to the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My husband likes an armchair in the room - there wasn't one, but Issy ( the receptionist) went out of her way to make sure that one was found and brought to the room. There wasn't a shelf near the wash basin for a lady to put the cleanse- care products she needs when travelling and we were taken aback by the cost of breakfast - so declined it!

    The reception was very friendly and we were made to feel welcome after an arduous journey.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Super luxurious hotel with all details covered
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Every detail is of a high quality. Super comfy beds, nespresso machines, rain showers and quality produce at breakfast. Great location which is a sort stroll into the town centre.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    Absolutely wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't find anything wrong with this hotel.

    This is an absolutely wonderful hotel and the staff go out of their way to make your stay very enjoyable. Rooms are spacious, light and the decor is out of this world. I highly recommend staying in this charming hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly noisy room as on the front of a busy road - not their fault.

    Lovely complimentary orange juice and mini pastry left outside the door first thing as an appetiser before breakfast. Also complimentary taxi service to their sister hotel in Cheltenham centre for dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.1
    Fab hotel shame about the staff :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was lovely great location fab rooms. But very disappointed in staff booked B&B wasn't seated in morning. 5 minutes later was given a menu but wasn't told we would be charged for anything cooked off the menu. Booked this hotel for a treat for are 11th anniversary, bit more expensive than we normally pay thats before we got charged £24 extra for breakfast!

    Room was excellent and large.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: