Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ormonde House Hotel 3 stars

Southampton Road, Lyndhurst, SO43 7BT, United Kingdom

#11 of 21 hotels in Lyndhurst

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 615 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There was nothing that I didn't like.

    The building is old - consequently there are creaky staircases and sometimes noisy water pipes but this all adds to it's character and by no means detracts from the comfort, warm welcome and amazing food.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor was tired and in need of updating. Just little things like making sure the curtains were in good repair makes all the difference. Maybe a couple of pictures on the walls would help as well.

    The breakfasts were hot, plentiful and well cooked. The staff were superb, very friendly and polite. They also accommodated my dairy free diet very well. The location couldn’t have been better either.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decor was tatty, the tv had a bad signal and there was no hot water for a shower in the morning.

    The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was nice. The location is brilliant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a room in the very top eaves of the hotel at the front of the hotel, the room was very warm and the main road that runs in front of the property was very noisy from traffic all the way through the night, so I would choose a room at the back of the hotel.

    The evening meal and breakfast was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed disappointingly small for room advertised as one having a large bed. Linen too big for the duvet so cover came off the duvet during the night and had to be replaced. Informed at checkout that Room 12 has the smallest larger bed. Not much bigger than a standard double.

    Great bath and breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like about this place really good location an if you get the lady we had than it's a bonus.

    We both loved the lady that booked us in and showed us to our room what a great sense of humour we laught for ages really funny and inviting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quit noisy after 11pm, one wall was damp and the restaurant price high

    The most I liked was availability to stay with my dog, even poo bags in the room and towel and treats for her by the entrance door, location was amazing right in New forest. Welcome was friendly, bathroom was modern, the garden Area great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very good just across the road to the forest . Breakfast very good . Locally sourced food . Cooked perfectly , evening meal good too .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the room décor and bathroom are very tired looking, there was mildew around the bath. The room smelt very doggy but I appreciate it is a dog hotel and if we'd of had ours with us we possibly wouldn't of noticed. please don't let this put you off the value for money is great with the food included. I think the room just needs an update.

    The staff are lovely and very friendly. The food is amazing and our dinner and breakfast were top quality. We had room 14, the bed was huge and comfortable, but it could do with a re-fit. The location is perfect for a little walk to the village and pubs etc

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a wonderful 2 night stay. Wish we’d been able to stay longer. Excellent accommodation, brilliant staff and lovely food. Very close to lots of beautiful walks. Fabulous for our dog too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was very tight and we had to park on the grass - muddy verge. Although it was free parking - Bonus!

    The friendly helpful staff. The hot tasty breakfast with lots of choices including fresh fruit, cereals, full english. The bed was comfortable with crisp duvet and pillows. Accommodated our allergies. Good email communication before we arrived. Thanks

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really nothing to complain about.

    Everything was excellent. Food cooked to order and delicious needed to order by 6 pm and book meal time. Breakfast first class. Location perfect for exploring New Forest. Staff friendly. Perfect location for cyclists and dog walkers (dogs made welcome) as straight across the road into the forest. Car parking fine. Secure lock up for bikes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing we didnt like.

    We stayed in one of the garden rooms and it was more than we expected. excellent value for the money. Breakfast was delivered piping hot. We also ordered evening meal to be delivered to our room on the first at an extra charge, the meal was fantastic, my husband said his duck was the best he had ever had. Excellent value. We enjoyed it that much we are going back in September.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was a little dated, but it fitted in with the country theme well. And the room was very clean which is more important to me!

    Great location, right in the heart of Lyndhurst. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious and had a separate living area and bedroom. It was very warm and clean. The spa bath was a bonus too. We got an evening meal and breakfast included which was delicious - the evening meal in particular was delicious! Excellent value for money. Would thoroughly recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only niggle is the dated decor which although it could do with up dating, it did not impact our stay at all.

    Fantastic customer service. Breakfast was delivered to the room and was wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. Staff were very friendly and polite. If you have a dog then this is definitely the best accommodation that you will find.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some general areas are starting to look a little tired.

    Food excellent and great value for money Staff all hapoy &go out of their way to help you Bar open until 0.30pm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a bit tricky, a popular hotel and a lot of cars. Position probably not suitable to enlarge parking area. Hot water tap not really hot but a minor negative compared to all positives.

    Travelling with my dog and this stay has been the best of any place we have previously visited. Dogs welcomed throughout the hotel. Stacks of towels laid ready in the porch for rainy/muddy walks. Huge bowl of treats if wanted and water bowl. Catered for in a lovely sunny conservatory which was comfortable and social for owners and also considerate of non dog guests who would prefer to eat without four legged visitors. Bedrooms were also geared up with clean sheet to lay over bed - just in case. I only ate breakfast but was greeted with a big smile, order taken and food delivered promptly and was delicious. Was offered fresh, hot croissant or chocolate pain, lovely fresh fruit selection as well as juice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    3 Dogs in restaurant whilst other guests eating! Website and ALL paperwork stated NO DOGS IN RESTAURANT Very unhygienic, dog hairs on floor, wet dog smells! Wouldn’t return again. Ruined our visit.

    Receptionist was welcoming and very helpful, lovely lady.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows smelt a bit stale. The pillow case was clean but the pillows smelt stale.

    The breakfast and dinner were the best in years. Compliments to chef Richard. Very pet friendly. Treats for the dog. Towels for the dog. Wonderful toiletries. Lovely room. Comfortable bed. Perfect tea and coffee facilities.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    really cant think of anything

    All staff extremely friendly and helpful and informative on local surroundings Breakfast and Dinner was served timely and hot Dinner was beautiful and generous

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower leaked a little at the bottom.

    Staff - friendly, welcoming, polite, helpful, attentive; Cleanliness - whole hotel; Food - choice, cooked perfectly; Drinks - choice; Breakfast choices and food - cooked to order; Room - clean, tidy, spacious, well equipped; Value for money; Location of hotel; Very dog friendly!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eating breakfast were people book in was not good , shower was rubbish ( did not work ) hand basin had a leak . Staircase made a lot of noise . Guttering had rain water pouring down , room was cold . Disabiltey park bay take up with non blue badge holder

    breakfast was good , room was clean , bed was good but a little small .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I paid through paypal and there was some confusion when checking out leading to me paying twice. However this was rectified quickly.

    Clean hotel considering it is dog friendly ....lots of muddy wet dogs coming in and out during our stay! Our room was lovely, in the attic with huge bed and small sofa which our dog found very comfy! The English breakfast was tasty and served very hot. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated room interior, both in terms of general style and overall condition of fabrics on bed / sofa / curtains etc. Wall-mounted hose hairdryers are always terrible.

    Great location, very good breakfast, ample parking (although hotel wasn't full). Good utilities (dishwasher, microwave, oven, washing machine) in our suite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs abounded the ceiling, though the rest of the room was spotless. The furniture and bed linen was a little dated.

    The dinner was excellent and far exceeded my expectations. It was outstanding value for money. The receptionist/duty manager was fabulous. She was so friendly and made us feel at home immediately.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a little noisy because it was right next to the reception and you could hear people going up and down the stairs.

    The room was a good size. I was in the down stairs room which I think was disabled access room because the shower was huge and had a rail to hold onto. The tea and coffee making facilities was great and the desk space was good. The bed was huge.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit uncertain about having the same key to the room as the outside door; would mean everyone had the same key!

    Lovely big room with tea and coffee facilities - parking right outside the property. Only a 10 minute walk to the town centre with a lovely walk just over the road with the ponies all around. Fantastic breakfast and staff were great. Very nice stay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor a bit tired and old fashioned.

    Location is brilliant , opposite the Beaulie road and forest, near lots of restaurants and pubs. Very cosy hotel, our fourth visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was well equipped, warm and convenient. The breakfast 10 out of 10. The dinner excellent. The evening chef has a way with sauces. The chicken with mushroom sauce was divine. I want to go back for another dinner now.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water pressure for the shower only so so, though we were on the top floor.

    Absolutely stunning dinner, well worth staying in for food at least one night! Location is excellent for access to Lyndhurst

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The evening meal (we had the pork draft) was ok, but not that special for the price. Also the shower was rather cold on the Sunday morning when we left.

    The Room was very good and the Hotel staff basically friendly. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heater in living room faltey thermostat potentially dangerous. Heater in bathroom rusty and grimey .Toilet flush button missing

    King size bed. Nice conservatory to have breakfast in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's an old building and could do with some updating. While the room was comfortable and a good size the bathroom door was a nightmare because of the way it was hinged. Try to avoid room 12A!

    Friendly staff and excellent cuisine for a small hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel looking tired/outdated. Heating not working, but heater provided; only EBf supplied-had to ask for EarlG. Spa bath not working-despite operational notice still on wall.

    Breakfast was very good - freshly cooked to order etc and a very good choice. Also the dinner offer of 2 courses for 2 + a bottle of wine was good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised our booking form said £305 we paid £115 deposit but final payment was an additional £230 which made the total £345 I am just puzzled at the difference.

    The breakfast speciality muffin and smoked salmon was delicious .My husband enjoyed the haddock and wished the portion had been larger he opted not to have the poached egg with it.We thoroughly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    a king size bed as booked, a tired bed that was old and needed replacing,view was not particularly good,curtain rail in a most unusual siting.

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy minifridge, which prevented me from sleeping, however, as there was only a small bottle of water and some milk in there, I switched it off . I couldn’t regulate the thermostat on the radiator, which meant it stayed hot, so had to open a window, which meant traffic noise from the main road.

    We enjoyed the extra space of the superior double room. The sofa was comfy and the bed was huge!! .We had a Lovely bathroom with a bath and shower and Lovely big towels. The breakfast was lovely, I have coeliacs disease, and enjoyed my choice for breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms were comfy but a bit tired. Hot water tap was near boiling and cold water tap was freezing - could do with mixer taps

    Good staff, great parking and superb location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dressing gowns, no condiments for the breakfast delivered to the suite

    The breakfast that delivered to the room was massive. Fruit, pastries, full cooked breakfast and toast. The fridge had milk, orange juice, yoghurts, jams etc and chocolate spread.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately, the room smelt of dogs. The plug-in air freshener seemed to only enhance the smell. Spent a lot of time with the garden door open, despite the wet weather!

    The room was very spacious with a separate sitting area, sofa, electric fire & TV. It was more an annex really. The en suite was also spacious. It also had a door to the garden, which was a bonus.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the top floor, and while spacious, and had various bits of ceiling jutting into the room where it had been converted from an attic. The room was also overly hot, and despite rotating the valve to defrost mode, the radiator continued to give off heat.

    The hotel is in a good position with access to green spaces just over the road, and an easy walk to the centre of Lyndhurst. It has a number of parking spaces available, adequate for the number of rooms. Breakfast is served via a buffet for cereals and juices, and the hot portion is cooked fresh.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were brilliant, the food excellent and the location was wonderful, just over the road to the new forest entrance so no need to use the car at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit dated

    For a 3 star pub/Hotel it was acceptable. The staff were great and the chief was good enough to prepare dinner for us, even though we arrived late.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Creamy floorboards in the bedroom above us!

    We liked the location and it's proximity to the excellent Italian restaurant just down the road. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was incredibly noisy and I didn't sleep at all. I would have got more sleep staying in the car.

    The manager was very pleasant, and responded well to my complaint.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Velux window was a bit hard to close, but the room was quiet and it was warm so not a bother

    Very good scrambled egg and salmon, lovely staff. The Pegola Italian is great - amazing desserts are brought to the table for selection & Beef Massiman at Anissa's (2nd building in town on the left).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We feel we were misled and thought the breakfast was included in the room rate. The advertising should be clearer on booking.com

    The food was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If the hotel was full there would have been inadequate car parking space. The front garden was well laid out, but looked much bigger in the photograph than it actually was. we did not have an evening meal there the prices were to high.

    A quiet location with friendly staff. A nice ground floor room with toilet and shower. The meals were excellent and promptly served by pleasant waitresses, who made sure we were satisfied..

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We just stayed the one night,ideal location in Lyndhurst for ease of doing anything.Warm welcome & excellent breakfast that was delivered to our room.Would definitely hi back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast wasn't very good. Poorly cooked and didn't taste very nice. Room was very hot; fan was provided but was very loud. Didn't sleep very well at all. Property itself was quite tired and needed updating.

    Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Drinks at the bar were very reasonably priced. Only a short walk into Lyndhurst.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For the money it was what we would expect

    Very comfortable - good location (apart from traffic through Lyndhurst) - friendly staff - dogs welcome and good food and menu. We have stayed before and would definitely recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely warm welcome when we arrived, the room was spacious and very clean. Breakfast was superb. Easy walk of main shops and easy drive to many of surrounding areas. Would defiantly stay again :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE BED AND ROOM WERE OK, BUT THE SHOWER HEAD NEEDED REPLACING. SOME PARTS OF THE HOTEL, PARTICULRLY CORRIDORS AND LANDINGS NEEDED UPDATING. APART FROM BREAKFAST THE RESTAURANT WAS EXTREMELY LIMITED AND CAR PARKING WAS RATHER RESTRICTIVE - ALTHOUGH SELFISH PARKERS ADDED TO THIS PROBLEM. I STAY IN HOTELS REGULARLY AND FOR THE COST I EXPECTED A LOT MORE.

    BREAKFAST WAS EXCELLENT AND SOME OF THE FEATURES WERE VERY PLEASANT.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant decor was very dated, with poor lighting. Also the choice of music playing in the restaurant was strange to say the least (the wedding march for instance).

    The homely unfussy feel of the hotel....all very relaxed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and comfortable but the bathroom let it down slightly. The plumbing was noisy and a crack in the wash basin. It was however clean and functional and didn't spoil our comfatable stay.

    The food was excellent, fantastic breakfasts. We only had 1 evening meal and it exceeded our expectations, it was superb and fantastic value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More seating in the garden would have been nice as the weather was lovely but no where to sit ..

    I have celiacs disease and the chef when that extra mile for me , the food was exceptional.... The rooms were large, clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road traffic but nowt you can do about it!

    Lovely location of hotel, great to relax in garden & conservatorywith drinks. All staff aminable ,very friendly, food delicious nothing too much trouble. Enjoyed our stay & would recommend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    old fashioned decor, seemed like a place for OAP's, breakfast tea wasn't great quality and the place seemed like it needed repairing in places like broken windows and the staff apart from the very young restaurant staff, were a bit antisocial

    The breakfast always arrived hot and the hotel residents were quiet even though rooms were very close together there wasn't alot of noise

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have never stayed anywhere so dog friendly and all rooms take dogs which we have never had before either. As mentioned in other reviews, there are towels in the entrance if needed along with treats which was well thought out. The room was large and spacious and a very comfy bed. The fridge in the room was a good touch with fresh milk in. We had all the usual additions such as tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryer. Considering how many dogs there might have been there on our stay it was in no way a noise distraction to anyone. As for the food- well done to Colin and the other chef who we didn't meet, for such well cooked food at every meal. Cooked to perfection especially the pork belly with good crackling! We ate there 4 out of our 5 nights so that gives a good idea what it is like. While talking to others who have been in the food industry/butchers they all agree about the quality of the food and the way it is cooked. The location is walkable into Lyndhurst and across to a walk from Bolton's Bench in the New Forest. There are many walks in the area which are only a short drive away as is the coast around Milford on sea and coastal towns also. We will definitely come back when in the area. Regards to Debs also for her care and banter throughout. Regards from Maddie 🐶

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed had a strange "indentation" in the mattress on one side, but I slept on it ok (I suspect one of the springs had broken).

    Food served at the hotel restaurant was very good. Weather was good so had the option to be served on the patio overlooking the well kept and pleasant looking garden.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just the one item that was a bit poor: the bike storage could do with being improved. The door frame is broken and inside needs a big tidy up. The space is there to hold what's there plus numerous bikes but it's poorly organised.

    Rooms, lounge, breakfast were all great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Obviously good for dog owners but we are not wild over dogs - but in was not a problem.

    Homely, Clean, helpful staff, amazing food. Just what we were looking for - a relaxing few days away! A very good centre for exploring the New Forest.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no criticism

    The hotel is in a brilliant location for going into the New Forest All the staff are very friendly and willing to help if required The meals are excellent The room was a good size and was kept very clean and tidy The hotel was dog friendly which was important to me

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the third floor and the stairs are very narrow. Difficult to carry luggage up and down the stairs. The weather was very warm and the room was uncomfortably hot. Even with the windows wide open and a fan going full blast the room was unbearably hot so we had little sleep. When we checked out the owner made a comment that he hoped we hadn't been too hot so they are obviously very aware of the issue. Arrive early to get a slot in the car park!

    The bed was very comfortable. Plenty of sachets of coffee, tea and hot chocolate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mould on windows. Cobwebs on ceiling. Decor very plain and in need of updating

    Service of breakfast to room was very good and prompt every morning. Fridge well stocked with everything you needed. Bed very comfy, staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no hot water for the bath on our last evening, don't know why. The room must have been north facing as a little bit dark, but this wasn't a problem for us as it was a heatwave and it stayed cooler that way. Our window didn't unlock when we arrived, but a handyman soon came and sorted that out for us. You have to know the system about ordering breakfast the night before, and if you're eating there you must order dinner by 5pm - all fine once you're used to the system, though.

    The room we had was called a 'suite' but was actually in effect a spacious studio flat. The kitchen had oven, microwave, washing machine and dishwasher, as well as a sizeable kitchen table to easily seat 4 people. Loved that they would deliver piping hot breakfast in an insulated box to your room if ordered in advance, so you didn't have to leave the dogs alone - and they even do it with dinner if you want. It was hot so we ate on the patio next to lovely gardens. We had our own front door and plenty of gardens to wander in with (or without) the dogs. The breakfasts and dinners were nicely cooked and tasty. Loved our jaccuzzi bath, bed was huge and comfy, selection of cereal and tea, coffee, etc were left in the kitchen, extra touches such as a cafetiere and large refridgerator with milk, yogurts, jams etc. Plenty of space for your own stuff too. Walking distance into Lyndhurst town centre, or just across the road from the hotel - straight into the New Forest!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was comfy, but a little old, meaning you rolled into the middle during the night. We were on the second floor and it was very very hot. I dread to think how it would have been if the weather had been warmer. Shower pressure was a bit low.

    Nice building and setting. Clean and decent sized rooms. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice staff (or owners, not quite sure), we were arriving very late and they arranged our arrival in a perfect way so we could get into our room at 3am and get some nice sleep. The property is 5min walk to the high street so a plenty of restaurants and pubs are easily accessible.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing at all, was great all round.

    Loved the location and they fact the allowed dogs, even though we didn't have one was still very clean. Thanks guys.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of decor to all areas looking very tired and dated. Bed quite uncomfortable and needs to be renewed. Window stays need to be fitted for safety reasons.

    Staff in all areas v/good. Food good standard and varied.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being served milk that was sour. Having to pre order dinner food on arrival. Menu was on a chalkboard in reception, so had to write down menu from the board then go up 2 steep flights of stairs to my brother and his wife who were resting after five hours driving, to see what they wanted for dinner. Then wake up my husband to find out what he wanted, then return to reception before it it was too late to reserve a table. The next night we ate in town, even though the food was excellent at the hotel.

    Good breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being right on the top floor, the room was rather warm and the bedding inappropriately heavy. The small fan helped, but cool summer bedding would be the best solution. Unfortunately, the whole place has a rather dated look to it, and for the price, I would have expected an overall nicer appearance. Staff, though efficient in carrying out their duties, didn't come across as friendly or fully engaged.

    Breakfast was reasonable and my room faced the back garden, so was peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very impressed with our room, it was spotless, comfortable and a good size. Fresh milk in room a lovely touch too. The hotel has a very homely feel and the staff are all great. Breakfast was the highlight - the quality of food was excellent! Will definitely return

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two flights of steep stairs to the bedroom - decided to leave suitcases in boot of car and take change of clothes etc in small bag to room as we were only there one night.

    Comfortable room, good size. Good breakfast - choice of cereals, fruit and cooked to order hot breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing we did not like. The only slight problem was that it was one of the hottest day of the year so the room was really hot but the fan supplied made it bearable. In a perfect world we would have liked climate control in the room but it is not something you would expect in this type of hotel.

    Really freindly and helpful staff. Very flexable and allowed my wife to finish off some work using the WiFi sat in the garden after we checked out. Really Comfy bed. The room was quiet and had a nice view. It is only a short walk into the town centre and the walk across the common can be started from opposite the hotel. There was adequate off road parking. The breakfast was brilliant and made even more enjoyable by having it outside in the pretty garden. Would thoroughly recommend staying in this hotel and was amazing value for the price we paid.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: