Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Overseas League Hotel 3 stars

100 Princes St, New Town, Edinburgh, EH2 3AB, United Kingdom

#85 of 138 hotels in Edinburgh

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 936 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in an old building so please do not expect extravagant room or something but the price is reasonable so in conclusion it’s money well spent.

    Bathroom is spacious. Breakfast is nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.8
    Edinburgh Value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice little place in the middle of Princes St. Good breakfast and comfortable room. Would use again , however staff told us it is closing end of January for total refurbishment which could take up to 12 month.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    It was a lovely little room, a good base for a short stay in Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good & hearty but only started at 7:30, most tours/day trips you had to be picked up in Old town at 7:45am.

    The place was very central, only a 10-15min wall into Old Town & Edinburgh Castle (which you could also see from the window)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.4
    Great location, nice staff but accommodation felt scruffy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had air conditioning controls but no working air con! So my (heavily pregnant) partner and I woke up halfway through the night with the room baking hot. I’d included in booking comments about my partner being pregnant so it would have been nice if we were offered a room with fewer stairs to get to it. Room was ok, but scruffy around the edges. Next time would rather stay further from centre and get a better standard of accommodation for the price.

    Nice breakfast, great city centre location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed edinbrough, would use hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit of updating with room we stayed in, but for price couldn't really complain

    Location was great, good choice at breakfast, better than expected.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    disappointed..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the day we arrived the restaurant and bar was closed. we were in the last room, room 18 on the 5th floor. the elevator only goes to floor 4.. the room was cold and cramped and our view was of the emergency staircase from the roof. we had breakfast the first morning but it was so poor we skipped it the second morning.

    the location was ideal

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.9
    Quirky, quaint, quiet old school hotel. We will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was in urgent need of decoration,broken sealant peeling paintwork etc.

    The room was tired and the bathroom in need of urgent attention decoration wise. Staff were very nice. Special mention to Michael in the breakfast room,what a character :) Great location for all the sights and shopping. Quirky is an apt description of this hotel and we will stay here again due to the fabulous breakfast, location and the excellent staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    10
    Good value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange noise when turning on the light of the bathroom.

    This has an excellent location on the main road, nearby the train station and walk distance many attractions. Great view of the Edinburgh castle. Very friendly staff. Good value for the services.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.2
    We really enjoyed our stay, and would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast with a wide variety of choices. The staff were very friendly. The service was excellent. They allowed us to leave our bags at the hotel while we shopped, which was very helpful. The location is great, and we had a lovely view of the castle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    6.7
    Comfort and ideal location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lift not working when we arrived but got fixed.Unable to have afternoon tea as was busy with other bookings. Dissapointed no afternoon tea was available.

    Clean room comfortable bed. Bathroom clean and supplied toiletries.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Warm comfortable and my room was great for a single person for one night.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    fifth floor window looking on to castle was too high for me to see out without standing up. a good sense of direction is essential!

    Bed was cosy and warm. Scrambled eggs were delicious. Luggage was left before and after checking out. Great view from restaurant window.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.8
    A charming place in the heart of Prague.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were some minor issues with towels and the number of bedspreads in the room (the room was booked for 3 people but it was prepared for 2), however all of them were resolved by the lovely reception staff.

    The location is everything! Within a minute's walk to Charle's Bridge and a couple of minutes away from the hustle and bustle of the main square in old town. Our room was on the top floor so we had no noise issues, despite crowds of people just outside of the building. The architecture and the lovely old-time elevator give this property some extra charm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Enjoyable got what we paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin with sofa bed and Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor in desperate need of a face lift grouting all cracked in the bathroom nice hotel if it was repaired

    Very cosy and warm with lovely view and great location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable but lacking some of the standards you would expect for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was awful. Yogurts not chilled. Centre display very poor. The hot breakfast not hot and we had to wait half an hour. The fried egg too runny bacon very salty toast only half toasted and cold. This is definitely one of worst breakfasts that I have experienced in your hotels.

    The position of this hotel is excellent. Rooms big but quite cold at this time of year

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    6.7
    Location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is an old building and it’s not exclusively bad but many things have to improve. Front office receptionist needs to improve customer service. Everyone we met in Edinburgh was very nice and in the hotel they were “ok” not very happy to have us. No wheelchair facilities. To go to the lift you have a few stairs. The room is good with space, but one heating no air conditioning. Windows are not double and air was coming in. We had a plug converter and tried to use but when we put it on the plug the plug got destroyed and tv went out. They didn’t have spare plug converts and we bought new ones at boots next to the hotel. Shower is not strong. Big and spacious but not strong. We tried to shower together but it felt like they try to save water at any cost. Our room was double standard but we had two separate beds. We had breakfast included so we asked for room service. It was supposed to come at 9am but I had to call them again to remind them. When delivered i didn’t feel very comfortable with the attitude of the man who delivered it. Felt like a favor. Too pricey for 2 nights and not getting what expected.

    Location is excellent. View is outstanding and it has a good breakfast Bus from airport stops in front and to come back to airport you just have to walk 5 min. There’s also tram to airport. We had a problem at the room and it quickly fixed. The man who fixed it was very good and comprehensive. Clean room and internet works perfectly and fast. Enough plugs for phones.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    We had an excellent time here and would definitely recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was absolutely nothing about hotel we didn't like.

    Location fantastic.Staff very professional and friendly. Breakfast amazing. Room had everything you needed from bottled water to toiletries.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location, good food no night shift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single room Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that Hotel doors are closed early. No overnight reception.

    The breakfast options. Location is perfect. Close to most attractions and transport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    Staff were all friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could be updated, although it's fully functional - the rest was lovely.

    Staff were all friendly and helpful. The view of the castle from the room was amazing. A little noisy as you're on a main road, but it didn't disrupt my sleep. Comfy beds and good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view of the castle opposite,lit up at night was superb, the room was comfortable clean and had all a weary tourist needed. The staff were polite and very helpful and the food delicious

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.5
    Just what we required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed and Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Red carpet at front of hotel needs to be kept cleaner - appreciate this is tricky in the winter - but would prefer none at all that one which looks grubby. There is a message outside next to the night bell to say if you ring the bell after hours and get no response you need to phone. Not what you would want to do at 2am in the morning - especially if your phone was out of battery - fortunately, young man let us straight in - so panic was short lived!

    Booked Exec room overlooking castle - bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Staff friendly, excellent breakfast, comfortable bed and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a room with no view, in fact it literally looked onto a wall. Some people might have a problem with that but I didn't particularly mind as it meant the room was quiet and dark

    Staff friendly, excellent breakfast, comfortable bed and great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location for a City break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the hotel needed a bit of TLC being an old building it had a few imperfections however this did not impact on our stay

    The location, comfort and food was excellent. Perfect for a visit to the City

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant one night stay.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift wasn’t working so a lot of stairs to climb.

    Staff were very pleasant. Room was okay but changed from one booked. Hotel made price change to recompense us. Views of castle from dining room and bar very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Great base for a short stay in the centre of Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Firm, comfortable bed, reasonable space, bath and shower in our room (some rooms only have showers). Location and convenience excellent. Substantial breakfast sets you up for the day. The historic building is slightly tired but has plenty of character and overall offers extremely good value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    5.4
    The breakfast and Michael who served us breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very, very dusty. Lots if cold air coming through the windows. Mouldy bathroom. Tired paintwork.

    The breakfast and Michael who served us breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Super location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation is a little bit tired, which caused me to mark down on VFM. But we will definitely stay there again.

    Fabulous location, and the view from of the castle from our room was amazing. Really warm welcome at breakfast and it was kind of the waiter to offer to move people to the window to admire the view when tables became available. Breakfast cooked to order.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.2
    Edinburgh Rugby trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have had more variety and better quality for the price

    Central location. Could leave our bags securely before checking in very late and with no issues at all.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and had a small window, the staff were not very helpful when I asked to change to a better room was so disappointed as I had paid the same price as a friend who had a suite.

    It was central

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    Staff friendly bedding towels etc clean breakfast excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needing some tlc crack in toilet sink toilet cistern took an age to fill not nice when sharing a room view awful glad given these points was for one night onlydisapointed bar closed at 10 pm

    Staff friendly bedding towels etc clean breakfast excellent room warm on a very cold night

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.3
    Location excellent for my purposes. Staff friendly and efficient. Simple but comfortable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single room Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was simple, not showy. ROSL has an interesting history and I was pleased to have a bit of time to skim the history which I found in the room. I know the London club and some of the people in the history too. The reception staff were first rate- especially the lady on duty on 22 November who gave good advice on where to eat in the evening- the in house restaurant was closed on 22 Nov.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Location could not be better. Friendly staff. Large rooms. What’s not to like!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to fault

    Fantastic location and lovely welcome from Laura who was both friendly and informative. We had booked a twin room and were given a suite which was spacious with a perfect view of Edinburgh castle! We had a great stay with a lovely fresh made breakfast. Amazing value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.5
    Overall e hours the stay. Receptionist on the desk was very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin with sofa bed and Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the waiter in the dining room had a very abrupt manner.

    Comfortable bed. Local to all amenities/sights. Stunning view of the castle, although the double glazing did very little to drown out pedestrian noise from a busy Princes Street, through to the early hours. If a light sleeper request a room at the back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay for our annual Christmas shopping would definitely return here x
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was brilliant perfect location for Christmas shopping the staff was really friendly and having breakfast with the best black pudding I have ever tasted 😊With a view of the castle just made our trip extra special

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lady who checked me in was border-line rude. And I stayed at the top floor and there were no elevator to the top floor.

    Great location. Clean rooms. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin with sofa bed and Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only slight annoyance was the fan in the bathroom it was so noisy (like a tractor ) and came on with the light so you had no choice but to suffer the noise The bathroom was large but could have done with updating

    The hotel was centrally located and ideal for getting around Edinburgh and bonus we had a wonderful view of the castle The staff made our stay outstanding they were without fail friendly and very helpful especially Michael who served breakfast but also gave out maps and tips re where to visit We will definitely stay there again thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location for all that this beautiful city has to offer.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't have a view - just a brick wall a foot away from the window. It was lovely and quiet though.

    The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant stay, comfortable and reception staff so friendly, location was fantastic too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in our room was really old and dates looking. I felt the waiter serving us breakfast in our very first morning here could have been a little bit more friendlier, looked like he didn't really want to be there

    The bed was comfortable. The reception staff were really friendly and the location was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    9.2
    Our stay was 1st class, we had Tea at the Dome which I would recommend the Christmas lights
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the old fashion look of the room, but not a major issue

    We found the room very clean, beds comfy, bathroom clean but the room a little out dated, didn't bother us as the views of the castle more than made it for that.we would stay again. Staff we all very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.8
    Table service for the inclusive breakfast with views of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms only have light wells not proper windows with a view. Room was a little too warm at night for me.

    Table service for the inclusive breakfast with views of Endinburgh castle. Awesome!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Great Location and Old World Charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soft furnishings tired and careworn. Toilet was slow to flush and for the cistern to refill. Checkout at 11a.m. was too early and breakfast finished at 9.30 a.m. which, again, was somewhat early.

    Excellent location, very pleasant and helpful staff. The place has an old world charm. Breakfast was very good with lovely views from the breakfast room across to Edinburgh castle. Good sized room with good blackout curtains, clean and fresh bedding and towels.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Needs a bit of an upgrade, but otherwise warm comfortable and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit dogeared, round the edges. Window didnt close properly, with peeling grubby paintwork. Mould on peeling sealer in bathroom. There was a half drunk bottle of mineral water on the bedside table.

    Very comfortable. Great location with lovely views of the castle. Good food, excellent breakfast in particular. Helpful staff. Felt welcomed and very safe there. Interesting background to the property, for which there was literature which explained it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    9.6
    Location Location Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was great really helpful. No problem at all!

    This is the best location just couldn't have asked for better. Perfect to get to EVERYTHING on foot. Food on Rose Street excellent. The view from this hotel is just outstanding. You see it at breakfast every day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.3
    Great staff and great location, a bit worn-down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and lockers needs an upgrade

    Great breakfast, great view to the Castle, friendly and helpful staff, historic Hotel with a story attached related to the more than 100 Year old Royal Over-Seas League. Central location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful view, central llocation, but noisy in early morning
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Castle view also means single glazed window between you and a 4 lanes of buses, somewhat noisy! Coffee at breakfast was stale.

    The porridge and view at breakfast were excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Very pleasant with good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wavy floors! I realise the property is heritage listed,but surely the floors could be evened out without demolishing the building? in present state they are seriously dangerous to elderly folks such as me.This needs urgent corection

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Unbeatable location and views. Olde worlde charm makes a change from identical hotel rooms everywher
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a little far but see above for the upside of that

    I’ve seen this property on princes street all my life but was surprised to see it on booking.com and at a phenomenally good price. It’s a bit olde worlde and a bit run down but that adds to the charm. The location is unbeatable, views of the castle and gardens amazing (just watch out that those visiting camera obscura can zoom in on your windows!), bed very comfy and breakfast was great - all that for a fraction of any comparable hotel. My 10 year old loved it. You have to park a fair distance away but with special tariffs for the parking and a cab ride to the car park only 3-4 pounds, it’s worrh every penny.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.4
    It all started so well.....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At a business event last night and came back to hotel late having been advised there was a night porter. Arrived back at hotel and stood outside hotel for 40 mins at 2am as porter had decided to go to sleep/ not answer phone or buzzer Seriously unimpressed.

    Good location at the heart of Princess Street. Nice receptionist.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    6.7
    The hotel needs more maintanence but overall is good
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower is terible i almost locked out in the bathroom because the door is stuck. Since it's an old building there is always sounds of crack in the wood pannel .

    the bed is comfortable and the location is very nice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    A beautiful hotel right in the heart of Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single room Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location is right on the famous Princes Street making all of the historic sights, shopping, dining, and transportation very accessible. The room was clean and the bed was very cozy! The bathroom has a towel warming rack which was an added bonus. The staff is super friendly, welcoming, helpful and available at all times should you have any concerns or should need anything. I highly enjoyed complimentary breakfast which over a coffee, you can take in the breathtaking beauty of Edinburgh through the large picture window. I absolutely loved staying at the Royal Overseas League.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    4.2
    The location is fantastic and the view from the dining room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The standard double room we were given was at the back of the hotel and looked and felt like a prison shell. The windows were overlooking a brick wall and pipes and moreover the heat did not work, so the room was icy cold. We reported this to the concierge and she seemed to know about it for some time. Needless to say they did not get the problem fixed !!! They just find a victim to stay in the room with an outside temperature of 3 degrees. The price was 126 GBP for this "experience" !!!

    The location is fantastic and the view from the dining room is great too. The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    10
    One of the best stays ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! The property is located on Princes Street which is in the very heart of Edinburgh. It is a main district for historic sights (Scottish National Gallery, Edinburgh Castle & Princes St Gardens just meters away), shopping, restaurants & buses. The Waverley train station is even within a 20 minute walk depending on your speed) -pretty much everything you need is very nearby. Complimentary breakfast was great, there is a 24 hour attendant should you need anything after hours & the property has a lift. It is a nice & quiet & I found everyone on staff very friendly & accommodating. I highly recommend & I will definitely stay there again!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    A very pleasant break in Edinburgh.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor in places was looking a tad tired.

    The location of this hotel being in the middle of Princes Street was an excellent starting point for seeing the sights and also doing some retail therapy. The attitude of the staff was very friendly and helpful especially for the traveller visiting this city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.9
    Late night reception a little cool but next morning a new...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Late night reception a little cool but next morning a new smiling face! Very difficult to arrive by car and parking far away without clear instructions. Made for a stressful start but the hotel was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    8.8
    Very clean, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building work (window replacement) in progress and using area outside our window as workshop. Meant we had to keep curtains closed all the time, fortunately view at rear of hotel was poor anyway. Builders started power tools at 08:30!

    Very clean, good location. Excellent breakfast and bar snacks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location with really helpful reception staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little tired, although bathroom had been refurbished and was spacious. Corridors were not particularly tidy or clean, although I would not go as far as to say they were dirty - just a little shabby.

    Great location. Excellent reception staff. Substantial and very nicely cooked breakfast. . Dining room views. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to park in a garage that was a pretty long walk away.

    It's in a perfect location overlooking the castle and around the corner from several restaurants, bars and shops .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location for Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you like the old traditional feel, then it works.

    The location is great. Right in the main shopping, tourist and restaurant area. We walked everywhere. Superb view from restaurant and bar of the Edinburgh castle. Hotel is older style, as name would imply, but comfortable. Our room faced the back and was quiet. Staff and service were excellent. Breakfast is very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    in the heart of Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view from the room Bathroom fixture outdated and broken (sink/towel hanger) stairs to get to lift - property could have fix a ramp.

    Great view from the breakfast room onto the Edinburgh castle Close to all shops/restaurant and bars; walking distance to railway & royal mail road Reception staff is helpful and friendly Spacious twin room Decent breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    The view of the castle was great and the rooms were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin with sofa bed and Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit noisy as our room overlooked a main street. The double glazing couldn’t block out all the sound from a Saturday night.

    The view of the castle was great and the rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    good hotel with amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn't like really. The breakfast could have done with some baked beans, as without them it was quite a dry full english. As we were at the front of the building it was very noisy at night, its quite a warm hotel so we had to have the window open all night, but that's a small price to pay for such a lovely view

    We liked the fact that we managed to get a room change quite easily when we was not happy with our first one, it was a nice enough room but up on the top floor with two very smal roundl windows that you could see the castle through but nothing else as they were so high up, it made the room very dark. The staff were all very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift only to 4th floor, we had room on 5th floor and huge bags which were difficult to get around the maze to get to our room. Room and bathroom was quite small and had no beautiful view (we didn't pay extra for the view though).

    Great location. Clean. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast included. Comfortable bed. Overall a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Great views, but PM noise from drunks
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A little shabby decor, but it is an old Hotel. Room was decent. Coffee pot should be thrown-out and replaced. Maybe a little updating would be more appealing. Noise from street was loud in PM.

    Staff very friendly. Room was #2 in the front - Street side.....late night partiers were up in front at 2:00 AM - very loud and could not sleep. Although the views were fantastic, maybe noise is not for you.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    10
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single room Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The size of the room the bathroom was of a good size to the shower was very good and very clean the tea tray had all you needed for a cup of tea or coffee and the bed was very comfortable the cotton sheets were very good as a women staying on her own I felt safe the hotel also has a lift for those finds the stairs a problem and one last thing the hotel is on Princes Street and you get a fantastic views of Edinburgh Castle the breakfast was good. And I would stay again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    We loved the personal nature of the hotel: a stylish old building with just 18 rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel, in general, was not very clean. Some maintenance was also required, to cracked sealant around the wash basin, dirty and broken pull-cords for the lights,

    The hotel was quiet, even though we were looking out onto Prince's Street. The view of the castle was fabulous, changing by the minute as the sun went in and out. The staff were very accommodating and friendly. The rooms warm and cosy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.9
    Comfortable and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was rather small although well equiped with all we needed.

    The staff were without exception very pleasant and helpful to deal with and the breakfast very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    The hotel is beautiful, the breakfast is phenomenal and the staff is incredible!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The hotel is in a great area of Edinburgh. We had the most beautiful view of Edinburgh Castle right outside our window. What a pleasure to open the window every morning and evening!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Elderly, with a good heart in the heart of Edinburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street noise. The place has a good history and atmosphere but it is a bit run down. Room 3 at the top of the building was inexplicably hot.

    Good view from the room. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.2
    A not good, bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin with sofa bed and Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom and decor are "state of the art" 1980. The paint is pealing/mildued in the bathroom. The walls and doors are scuffed up and dirty. The window sills are filthy. The bed is a ROCK. The iron is shared on a community ironing board set up in a shared hallway. There's not even a picture in the room - and I couldn't tell if the mud brown carpet was clean (given the rest of the room, I was suspicious), because it was - mud brown! The breakfast wait staff was actually surly. The work on window replacement in the dining room (think: drilling sounds) does not stop until 8:00 pm 20:00) - something not shared at booking or check-in. And this was a "suite" on the 3rd floor! I canNOT figure out how this hotel is so highly rated. I rated only ONE positive attribute, yet the calculated score is 4.2? This was my worst experience in a hotel EVER. (There's more - but I'm out of time!)

    The ONLY strength: locatiom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    The location, it was easy to get there and it was near the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Improve lighting in the room

    The location, it was easy to get there and it was near the station. The view of the castle was great. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was varied.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    7.5
    Exceptionally kind and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reminiscent of the Muppet's "Happiness Hotel". Windows wouldn't close completely. Wouldn't stay longer than 1-2 nights

    Exceptionally kind and helpful staff. Superb location (on busy, urban street).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    great location, castle view, pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Twin with sofa bed and Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    couldn't open window for fresh air sleeping. Water took forever to come through the taps

    The location, easy walk to local attractions. Large room and large bathroom with bath Comfortable beds Great breakfast and good service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Collation perfect but until a refurbished has been done we won't be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Sofa Bed and Castle View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms really need to be upgraded. The bathroom was clean but very shabby in fact I've never stayed in a hotel with such a dreadful bathroom. Location perfect

    Staff in breakfast room excellent friendly and efficient. Delicious breakfast. Excellent location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    3.3
    Disappointing and not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed comfortable, but sleep impossible during noise from nearby drunken rowdies that was relentless till 3.30 a.m. Couldn't close window as room was stifling and air conditioning didn't work. Lift out of service, which meant this 5th-floor room needed reasonable fitness to access. Bathroom nicely updated, though the toilet flush was pathetic, but grimy paintwork in the bedroom, especially round the windows, was matched by a thick layer of dust on the headboard. There may well be better rooms elsewhere in the building, as other reviews suggest, but avoid the top floor if you can.

    Comfortable bed. Good breakfast with great view. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    6.3
    Unmemorable
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were a little morose, I had to go and find the bar man to get a glass of wine, which he overcharged me for. My room (room 6) was at the back of the hotel and the window opened onto a fire escape so I couldn't sleep with it open. The room was very hot and stuffy as a consequence, and there was a lot of noise from the air conditioning/extract fan on the roof adjacent to the room. Hugely overpriced for the quality of the accommodation.

    The lounge bar had wonderful views of the Castle and felt comfortable as a single female traveller. The room was very tired but clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant reception,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Castle View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Requires step access. Even the lift to the rooms is down a flight of steps!

    Very pleasant reception, Excellent location opposite castle, on Princes street, near shops, food, station. Breakfast with a view.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Royal Overseas League Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: