Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Overcliffe Hotel

15/16 Overcliffe, Gravesend, DA11 0EF, United Kingdom

#12 of 13 hotels in Gravesend

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 47 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.7

  • Comfort

    6.6

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.1

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    5.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    2.9
    Overpriced, very poor value, will not repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price for the facilities provided was very high, no breakfast included, decor extremely tired. The bed seemed to be a collection of springs covered with a sheet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    6.3
    We were greeted by a lovely man who made us feel very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were greeted by a lovely man who made us feel very welcome he went out of his way to place extra towels and a fan in the room as it was very hot, there was miscommunications about breakfast and a breakfast to share was given to us so we could still eat we were also told we could check out at 12 but the following morning the other staff members said it had to be 11. The milk in the room had gone off so we had to ask for new tea and milk etc. It was a nice hotel looked lovely inside and staff were welcoming overall the stay was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    5.4
    Owner and staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car park had old and decaying vehicles. Room had a cracked mirrored wardrobe that only closed with a bin against it. Room Smelled of old smoke and was too hot with no air con and road outside too busy to have window open. I hate to give a bad review but this hotel with a refurb could be great just because of the lovely owners.

    Owner and staff were lovely. Beds and pillows comfy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    Do not stay here unless they invest !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms where awful , carpet had stains from the 80s, paint had finger marks everywhere , tile missing from bathroom wall , ring stain in toilet , water blocked in shower , the room and hotel felt dirty , derelict vehicle in car park .

    Sheets and towels were clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.0
    Well located but need improvisation
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £130 per night, absolutely didn’t worth because of the room size,very old constructed and was so cold at night old style heaters not even a Water I mean £130 and not even a water that really was an issue and i think it was too Much the room price was not more than £50 but the owner was very nice man and he can do some improvisation for good reviews, small small things really matter allot.

    Property is alright

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    5.4
    The staff were extremely friendly and very attentive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The general standard of cleanliness was OK i.e. the bedding, linen and toilet, however there was a lot of dust, which made the hotel more shabby than chic, the hotel has a lot of potential and has a quaint atmosphere, it just a lot more TLC!

    The staff were extremely friendly and very attentive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.4
    Staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was dated and the room wasn't very clean. The carpet was badly stained and the bathroom floor and windowsill needed a good clean.

    Staff very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    3.8
    Dirty room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room. Dirty bathroom. Stained towel. Faulty toilet plumbing so dripping all night. One towel. Very tired looking and in desperate need of refurbishment. For £149 for one night I regret not sleeping in my car.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    3.8
    Way Overpriced not good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was like scaled up Over priced and had to pay extra for breakfast because it wasn't included because we booked through booking.com apparently. Beds were lumpy and we could not sleep because of the traffic and the beds. Breakfast was disgusting not worth £20 that we paid extra, TV on the wall needed to be on a bracket as you couldn't see it properly the screen was going purple all the time. Awful place to stay but had so much potential

    The overall look of the place was nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    3.8
    Poor Room Condition Bad Nights Sleep Due To Room Being Very Warm Fan Made No Difference
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was Given Room @ Top Of Hotel Up 4 Flights Of Stairs Room Was Very Hot Fan In Room Was On When We Opened The Door Stayed On All The Time Made No Difference Stains On Ceiling & Carpet Toilet Would Not Flush Propley shower Water Built Up In Tray Took A Long Time To Clear Overhaul The Room Is Tired And Not Worth The Money I Was Charged

    Property Was Within Walking Distance Of Bars & Eating Places

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant hotel, well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Foyer / public area small, but not really a problem

    Comfortable hotel within easy access to train and town centre. Room had all facilities expected, large and clean. Staff were pleasant and chatty. Night Porter very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    10
    Superb staff, great hotel, excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - the whole stay was superb.

    Really excellent - we stayed prior to joining a cruise, and the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful. I would definitely stay again, and would recommend it to friends. Many thanks for an excellent stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    6.3
    Convenient to Bluewater old style hotel but probably wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower head didn't work properly so sprayed in all directions and the shower cubicle was exceptionally cramped. The mattress was very worn to the point that the springs had a delayed reaction to springing back into shape. The car park, at the rear of the hotel, had a very tight alley way to get too and had two old rusted vehicles that didn't really feel you with comfort upon arrival. Would have expected an iron to be available if not located in the room.

    Staff were very friendly and the hotel had a nostalgic feel. Checking in easy enough. Prices at the bar were reasonable hotel prices.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Location excellent .i would like a refund because of the bed and not having a good sleep. Back pains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very bad not to standard

    Hotel is very good and location very good

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic fantastic and fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic, welcomed with a genuine warm smile and a professional manner. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    2.9
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of 123 pounds for 1 night!

    Overpriced

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    All the staff there are so helpful and kind
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the staff there are so helpful and kind

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.3
    Very pleased, could do with a good clean and revamp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice hotel , could do with a revamp.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    3.3
    Disappointed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty old and needs upgrading

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    5.0
    was ok for overnight to catch ferry but would not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to wait for staff to appear

    It was near the ferry

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a little updating

    No need to go out to eat, the hotel has a fantastic restaurant of its own.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice an comfortable

    The staff was nice and friendly

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    4.6
    Overpriced Overcliffe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very tired and in need of a major refurbishment. It was overpriced for the standard that was provided.

    Nothing much

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    The staff were so welcoming we only stayed one night but I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were so welcoming we only stayed one night but I would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.7
    Great staff but not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating and defiantly not worth the £89 per night without breakfast.

    The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for ne

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    5.0
    The bedroom was very warm on a very cold night when we arrived home late that night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very out datedneeds modernising and no rooms with a bath.

    Close to our venue.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly staff and excellent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff and excellent price

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Bed comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Bed comfy

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2016

    5.4
    Trevor the owner was very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was not clean or if it was, it didn't feel clean as it needs a bit of a facelift. The room was cold, even though the heating was on. The price of the room was quite high, therefore would have expected a few luxuries, like soft towels, nicer toiletries.

    Trevor the owner was very friendly. The food in the restaurant was exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    3.8
    Stayed here before Touring Cars at Brands Hatch, odd place,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed here before Touring Cars at Brands Hatch, odd place, stuffed animals everywhere and lots of dust! Also got charged a tenner for 3/4 pint of shandy and a glass of wine!!

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    3.8
    I booked a twin room (for a reason) and was given a double,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I booked a twin room (for a reason) and was given a double, but was rectified. The remote for the tv was missing. The shower didn't warm up. The coffee in the room was awful. There is no aircon and the windows in the downstairs room didn't appear to open so the room was stuffy and uncomfortable. Not enough towels for the twin room!

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    10
    Manager was absolutely brilliant, staff friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Manager was absolutely brilliant, staff friendly,accommodating and very attentive. Comfortable room with excellent beds. Lovely hotel, will definitely be our 1st choice.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.1
    The hotel is ideally situated, the staff are friendly and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The mattress was a little uncomfortable though not to the extent that it would ruin a nights sleep - certainly worth considering these being replaced in the near future. I was a little disappointed to find the restaurant was closed the evening of my stay, I had been looking forward to trying the menu, having looked before I travelled. However, the hotel is situated within a 5 minute walk from the town centre so there are other options available.

    The hotel is ideally situated, the staff are friendly and overall the hotel and room were clean and presentable. I've given the breakfast a good scoring although I was unable to stay long enough in the morning to try it for myself, I have heard from several colleagues in the local area that the food as a whole is of a very good standard.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Arrived on the Saturday afternoon and had an amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was great!

    Arrived on the Saturday afternoon and had an amazing greeting. I liked the man behind reception straight away. Very helpful and very friendly. As it was my first time in that area he told me where the nearest shops and entertainment were which was great. The bed was very comfortable and me and my partner slept great. Lovely quiet room was given to us as my 5 week old daughter was with us. She wasn't woken at all by any loud noises. Breakfast was also lovely. Thank you very much. The next time we visit the area we will definitely book back here !

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    8.8
    Lovely warm welcome, very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely warm welcome, very friendly and helpful. Offered us a room change because it was very warm and our room was on the top floor but we were happy to stay in our original room. The bed was very comfortable-had a good night's sleep.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    5.0
    Comfortable bed
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Found bug in kettle, bathroom floor had what looked like bloody foorprints, shower curtain old and stained and plumbing not great. Only 1 set of towels despite double booking so all in all quite disappointing.

    Comfortable bed

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.6
    Staff really went out of their way to make my stay great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    building needed some updating.

    Staff really went out of their way to make my stay great. Restaurant was lovely and beautifully decorated and lit. Had pianist in the evening. Cool, quirky, unusual decor. Nice to stay somewhere run by the owners rather than a corporation. Breakfast made to order and super tasty. Attentive service.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    10
    Refreshing to have the personal touch of a family run...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Refreshing to have the personal touch of a family run establishment rather than the usual hotel chain offerings. Liked the photographs in the restaurant of stars who have stayed in the past.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2015

    10
    The staff were attentive and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't like the fact that I had to leave.

    The staff were attentive and friendly. The hotel itself was well laid out and the décor was well thought out with interesting features such as the conservatory running the full length of the hotel with intimate lighting, rattan furniture and interesting items to interest the clientele. The bar and dinning room were beautifully laid out and the toilets had some classy features. The rooms were clean and comfortable with en suite and beverage facilities and TV. All in all a memorable experience.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    3.3
    Room was smelly, tired, mould ridden and in the eves of the...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was smelly, tired, mould ridden and in the eves of the building. No milk or powder for a coffee. Could not connect to the internet and had to go on a trek to locate someone to check in even though the script said 24 hr reception. £89 per night, total rip off and money taken up front before you even get chance to see the room.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    10
    stayed overcliffe hotel,before picking up ship at london...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    stayed overcliffe hotel,before picking up ship at london cruise terminal.Staff friendly and courteous, checkin quick and easy. Room clean warm, comfortable, overlooking garden . Restaurant exceptional ! all in all lovely start to my travels. I am a seasonal traveler and will definitely stay again . Thankyou

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    10
    Quiet and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Quiet and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    10
    This place Rocks ticks all the boxes.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    This place Rocks ticks all the boxes..

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    3.8
    Old, tired, grotty and not worth the money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Old, tired, grotty and not worth the money.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    3.8
    No heating on in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No heating on in the room. Had to be moved due to noise from road on the front. Aweful shower. Dirty toilet

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    3.8
    Nice tele in room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The whole stay there

    Nice tele in room

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    6.7
    Great location for Gravesend and Brands Hatch
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Was very dated. Not enough towels and beds were very squeaky.

    Great location for Gravesend and Brands Hatch

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    7.9
    Arranging an evening meal after I arrived late (M25 !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Arranging an evening meal after I arrived late (M25 !) and the kitchen was shut.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    The atmosphere was lovely and the food was outstanding.
    • Solo traveller

    The atmosphere was lovely and the food was outstanding. If you want to stay in gravesend then this is the place.

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Guests also reviewed these properties: