Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Owston Hall Hotel 3 stars

Owston, Doncaster, DN6 9JF, United Kingdom

#13 of 23 hotels in Doncaster

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 467 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    6.3
    Pool area and facilities were nice but a bit small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel in general was a bit dated. Our room was in a separate block not very nice, dull, uncomfortable bed and no view. Ok for one night but no for longer.

    Pool area and facilities were nice but a bit small. Main hotel is grand looking building.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Really lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought that everything was fine so no negative comments here!

    A lovely hotel, very comfortable. Had a very good nights sleep. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was superb, great range of food. Home made bread is just smashing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Excellent. Will come again. Would recommend it
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The windows were frosted so could not see any view. But it did not matter for overnight stay

    Everything was excellent-double bed shower and on ground floor with restaurant nearby. All requests were granted. The swimming pool and Jacuzzi and changing areas with showers were excellent

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Great staff, beautiful place and Golf, I have recommended to my colleagues
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, I will be rebooking

    This is a great place to stay, and the staff were superb. The night manager waited up to 1 am for me to arrive, as the A1 had been closed, and I was 2 hours late. Thanks again, really appreciated it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful setting and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not included in the rate and was very expensive for what it was. The golf course was not signposted very well and not up to the standard we are used to. Overall though it was a pleasant stay.

    The room was enormous! It was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The buildings are lovely. Nice big and clean. Set in a very quiet area of country side. Bedroom and bed very big. Bed very comfy. Lovely swimming pool hot tub and sauna Staff are very friendly and happy to help that includes the cleaning staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Expect better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom floor not clean, shower head broken and water squirting out the sides. Plaster missing from ceiling. The bed might be large but 2 single beds pushed together are just not comfortable. Not what u expect when paying those prices. I did not opt for the cheaper rooms either

    Lady on reception when I checked in was very helpful and polite, a credit to the facility.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    3.0
    I’d never go back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really rude and quite mean. I found it shocking and I’ve never been so offended my a hotel member of staff before. I felt upset and disappointment and shocked to be honest.

    The bed was condy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in comfortable historical country house
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hallways in the coach house smelt v musty, but this may be part of the historical atmosphere

    quiet historical country home with many original features. It has a lift to take luggage upstairs which is a bonus. The large Victorian conservatory serves as an excellent dining room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Lovely room nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When ordering our last drink there was no ice left and the bar staff were unwilling to get anymore, ok it was nearing closing time but warm gin is horrible and the customer who is paying £135 to stay the night should not be denied ice in there drink!!!

    Lovely room nice location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxing, lovely surroundings only negative was being beside bins and burning rubbish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the room was the bins and incinerator which the grounds men decided to burn rubbish which then blew into our room and left it smelling like bonfire

    Food and leisure facilities were excellent room was very spacious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice staff, dated hotel which needs maintenance but good sized room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came for the spa and the sauna wasn't working. The restaurant food at night was overcooked and dry. I skipped breakfast as didn't want another bad meal.

    The guy on reception was really helpful and friendly. The room was huge.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.3
    A comfortable but expensive room with unhelpful and rude staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices were high and no breakfast in the price. Bar closed at 1.00 a.m. even though we were residents. Payment system was not explained to us so had to make another journey a few days later for it to be explained by a ride receptionist.

    Rooms were very spacious and comfortable, even though the coffee / tea making facilities were hidden behind a door.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    No real probs , staff friendly and helpful , room and hotel...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of the meals seemed a bit over the top otherwise it was good

    No real probs , staff friendly and helpful , room and hotel very clean will be going back again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    A very good choice for an overnight stay while at a wedding...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very good choice for an overnight stay while at a wedding at Hooton Pagnall.We were in the coach house which is a short walk away from the main hotel.The room was clean but slightly dated.However for our purposes of a B&B stay it was good.Staff were very helpful arranging taxis and breakfast good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Great value hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed here twice now my one and only gripe is the rooms are unbearably hot and when I asked for a fan there were none available. Luckily I have relatives nearby that I borrowed one from and kept in the room.

    Staff are friendly and accommodating. Hotel and rooms are very clean. Breakfast was lovely and restaurant food is very good. Rooms are spacious with all mod cons.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Could do with a bit of renovating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water in the morning couldn’t have been any worse also The man the receptionist is quiete ignorant

    It was lovely the only thing that was really bad was on the first morning I woke up I had to be out early as it was a really important day for me and there was no water as there was a cut that really boiled my skin

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    The setting and grounds were beautiful and beds really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cobwebs and spiders on the ceiling (we stayed in the coach house) carpet had not been hoovered as covered in bits. Expensive for size of room we had

    The setting and grounds were beautiful and beds really comfortable. Staff were really polite and friendly

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.1
    The fact that there wasn't air conditioning in the room.
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there wasn't air conditioning in the room. It was a very hot weekend and it made the stay uncomfortable. The hotel was warm but the bedrooms were unbearably warm making sleeping very difficult. Also with the price that I paid you would think breakfast would be included.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    5.0
    Because it's dog friendly it's a bounce to us so would have to say excellent
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No shower in our room, overly hot,complymentry tray could be better. Breakfast overly priced, sausages to spicey for breakfast.

    The grounds ,location,fasilities good.staff nice and friendly. A big bonus is they allow dogs . Good secection of toiletrys.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.0
    Nice venue let down by the lack of wifi and waht i consider a dirty room - i wont stay here again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI was the worst experienced in any hotel I have been in. the room was dirty with dirty net curtains and cobwebs. there was no aircon in the room which meant a very unpleasant night

    The lead waiter / Barman was excellent and knew how to treat people and also knew his stuff. the location was very good and the hotel itself pleasant. Gym was well equiped

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    I’d come back, but some minor improvements are needed; maybe staff re-training in customer service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were friendly as were the girls in the spa, however I found all other staff we came across barring one barman to be miserable and unapproachable. I also had many drinks orders made wrong, so obviously wasn’t listening well either. We also asked for a fan as the room was unbearably hot, with no ability to open windows further than a quarter way up (which I’m assuming was for safety reasons) but there were no fans available so I had less than 6hrs sleep as it was too hot to sleep. I understand the hotel has had issues with fans but I think they need air con!

    The grounds were stunning and well kept, hotel was tidy and pretty. Food on the evening was nice, and prices I didn’t think were too unreasonable for a hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing and would book again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very friendly and made us welcome. I had a relaxing time in the pool. It is a shame that they do not offer a daily rate to use the spa as I do not play golf and I would have definitely have been back to use the spa when he plays golf. Large comfortable room in the extension. Worth paying extra for the executive room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV reception wasnt great so couldnt watch it. Breakfast was on the cold side and no choice of eggs. I had to ask for butter as there was none out. I wish you did pancakes for the syrup to go with that I saw on the table. So unimpressed with breakfast. Sorry.

    Was quite and relaxing. Loved the pool but sauna wasn't working.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    2.9
    Beautiful building, interior needs major investment to upgrade, reception staff require training.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Single and double rooms dirty, extremely basic with tired furniture More prestigious rooms dirty and in need of refurbishment Rubbish behind furniture Uncomfortable mattresses with springs near surface Visibly dusty rooms Dirt rims on cups Dirty worn carpets Dusty aged plastic flowers on display in reception No assistance offered for guest with mobility problems when relocated to upper floor Reception female staff unapologetic and non empathetic. Staff require training on customer service and making experiences special, and in being positively receptive to feedback.

    The female chef was professional and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.5
    Good breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only dinner menu available no snack menu. The dinner menu was poor not a great selection & my dinner was served 15mins before my colleagues.

    Good breakfast. Great shower.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect hotel, perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This stay was perfect from start to finish, except for the meal in the restaurant. At the time the food was amazing, however, I was sick throughout the night after getting back to the room on several occasions. My partner stated at the dinner table that the prawns didn’t look right but I didn’t take much notice. I now wish I had as I have been very unwell :-(

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    Peaceful and relaxing. A little overpriced for what you get but friendly staff and good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some confusion over breakfast because of a communication issue with the staff. When we left something at the hotel the staff couldn't contact housekeeping to see if it was found. 2 days later still waiting to hear back from them.

    The location of the hotel meant that it was very quiet and peaceful. The bathroom in the room was of an excellent standard and the products supplied were lovely. The food in the restaurant was superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    It was in a good location and quite big.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The window had been painted shut. It was a hot day and night when I stayed (26th May 2018). There was no air getting into the room. It was stifling

    It was in a good location and quite big. My room was an above average size. Wasn’t happy though that it was in the coach House a good few minutes walk from the actual hotel and leisure facilities. After paying £84 for it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Disappointing. Not impressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite advertising wifi throughout the hotel and being in the main hotel building, internet access was not available, despite repeated requests at reception. This was the case even in the restaurant and public spaces next to the hub and its boosters. The advertised postcode takes you to the village, near the hotel, where access is only through a locked gate.

    The pre-arrival call from reception allowed me to upgrade to a room in the hotel, as I have mobility issues, and my original booking would have been in the coach house a long way from the hotel's facilities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic stay overall ... the staff couldn’t have been more helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The other double bed in our double room was uncomfortable... saggy mattress.. really needed replacing. The single room was plain and needs a freshen up. The spa was fine but lots of little things weren’t working... no lights in steam room, lights round pool broken and shower into pool broken....and an ugly filter pump at side of pool. A few more chairs would be good as people having treatments had ‘saved’ their loungers with towels /books.

    One double bed in our room was very comfortable. Enjoyable breakfast Fabulous meals on Friday and Saturday evenings... we were well looked after Single room had comfy bed and good bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    7.5
    Nice rural setting in the middle of a golf course.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very disappointing view from our room over dustbins and golfcarts.

    Nice rural setting in the middle of a golf course. Excellent walks nearby. Nice cooked to order breakfast . Comfortable room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Beautifully peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just thinking about more infirm clients perhaps a bath slip mat

    Beautifully peaceful location. Staff friendly and helpful. Room comfortable and clean. Excellent spa facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    4.6
    Ok.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi the entire stay, No apologies. Staff didn’t really help out much - eg, Asking a basic questions and getting no answers. Room never got serviced even when we put a sign on the door after we were out the room. Invoices should happen instantly and haven’t received one yet - rang up to ask and said “ring back next week”.. not good enough really. Room has parts which could be improved, broken parts in th wall, there were dead bugs on the blinds. Disgusting.

    Lovely gorgeous location, beautiful views.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    10
    The hotel is in a lovely spot,the staff are really helpful and friendly,very accommodating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was well cooked but cold

    The room was large,bathroom very modern,shower was powerful,bath was quick to fill,had hot chocolate which is great for me as I don’t drink tea or coffee

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Looking forward to the next time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The last visit I had Newnham room which was very nice, apart from the toilet location. My knees were about 20mm from the wall which was a bit clostrafobic. and the entrance to the main room is very low so you have to remember to duck :-)

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved this place as the rooms were big you can use the gym and pool and the grounds are lovely and the staff are very friendly and such good value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    A nice few days away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place could do with refurbishment. Some rooms not in great condition and hall carpets need replaced

    The staff especially the gentleman at front desk was very helpful and was happy to help with a few issues we had.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.6
    This was our second visit, we stayed in the new rooms in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sucron for my tea !

    This was our second visit, we stayed in the new rooms in the extension . Lovely very tastefully decorated, large and with a wonderful bathroom. The extension has been thoughtfully added to "go with" the rest of the hotel, which often isn't the case with other hotels. Resturant food good although no sucron for my tea! We wanted to see the other rooms in the main house which are of a more tradtional decor and the receptionist happily showed us two empty rooms to compare, If we stay again we may well stay in one of these rooms although the bathroom isnt as modern but perfectly acceptable. These rooms were also large, not as large as the extension rooms though Would thoroughly recommend this hotel it stands in a beautiful setting and the golf course only enhances its ambience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    All went with no problems, most unusual in today's busy schedule.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to negotiate the high sided bath to get into the shower.

    The room was more spacious than expected, plenty of tea/coffee and even biscuits. Towels and pillows excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    5.8
    Probably wouldnt go back as my stay was pretty stressful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy room opposite kitchen, sound of lift and kitchen staff until 1030 at night. I asked the kitchen staff to close their door, which they did, but then I had to put up with the banging of the door every five minutes. I informed the manager who gave me a complimentary breakfast but I felt overcharged for room and felt that a partial refund would have been more appropriate.

    I liked the fact that I was able to book a massage for the same afternoon.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was dismal. Not worth the money to stay at this hotel. Dated and breakfast staff not trained at all.

    The chap on front desk very friendly and helpful. lovely grounds. the low score for cleanliness was because of the breakfast waiter taking my bread in his hand after touching his oily hair.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    In Doncaster's country side.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner is good but not extraordinary. A bit overcooked. Rooms are very tiny.

    Nice location in the country side near Doncaster. Good accommodation with a big fitnessroom and spa possibilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Lovely olde-worlde room and building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Neither the bedside lamp nor the lamp over the mirror in the bathroom worked. The former meant the only lighting in the bedroom was a very harsh central light: not very relaxing.

    Lovely olde-worlde room and building. Easy to park close to the building on a lovely site. The staff were universally lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant Hotel with wonderful views and faculties
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't control the thermostat so found it a bit warm but could have informed the staff.

    We ate in the restaurant at night and the meal was lovely. the breakfast was nice with good quality etc. All staff were lovely from reception to Italian waiter at night

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.3
    Great facilities and good food. Menu could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited menu, considering there are no other close restaurants. Our windows weren’t double glazed and the condensation ran down the wall onto a shelf. At first, I wondered why my phone was wet.

    Really comfortable bed. Great facilities

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    All in all it was a good experience and we will quite possibly come back again but bring the pooches
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heater in the executive suite made a noise while on so I ended up turning it off due to the disturbance in sleep therefore ended up quiet cold.

    The staff were amazing everyone had a lovely welcoming personality the atmosphere was great sat down in the bar it was so nice and a bonus to meeting Tim weatherspoon

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    4.6
    The Romanian waiter and reception were fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like one of the waiter manager ( grey haired man) that spoke impolitely to my wife stating hotel does not do room service!!! Even though it states in the room that room service was available

    The Romanian waiter and reception were fantastic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    SO much better than a Travel Inn!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to criticise at all

    The original building's slightly quirky rooms, scrupulously clean. The breakfast room was lovely with great views over the golf course. The staff were friendly and amusing, they obviously like working there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Business stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great period property, room was very comfortable, food was excellent and gym/spa also very good. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    Great but mistakes were made by the owston team.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were given wasn't serviced, bed wasnt made, old used towels, cups with coffee still in. Breakfast was also packed up 30 mins before it should have, we didn't experience the full breakfast service.

    The rooms are plenty big enough and gym and po are perfect for are needs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Friendly, family owned independent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds are in need of replacement. This was the only thing that took the gloss off of an otherwise great stay.

    The location (quiet and peaceful), the people (all incredibly friendly and helpful) and the property itself oozed character.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.5
    Adequate
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coach house rooms are in serious need of upgrading. My radiators didn't work, shower head didn't fit properly and the cold water tap was loose.

    It's value for money. The bed was comfy, it's quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Overall adequate, nice grounds, but more information from reception on checkin would hav been appre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    original room cold and heating not working well. They were good enough to give us a smaller room which was warm. All ok. Would have preferred more fish choices in restaurant instead of so many Pizza choices! Not what most people want in the evenings in a nice restaurant in a pleasant hotel.

    pleasant ambience in hotel, though we stayed in the Coach House which felt a bit remote though not far. Would have been a good idea for the Hotel confirmation to let us know where our room was in advance so we could have parked next to the Coach House. Would have liked to sample swimming pool which we were aware of from online details, but no info given on checkin and ran out of time in morning.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    8.8
    peaceful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the iron i used had something on it as i noticed when lifting the iron up from my blouse which had left a mark which i could not get out..... told front of house but said they'ed get staff to take a look but mentioned nothing with regards to my blouse which was ruined.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    The staff mainly the gentleman on reception made our trip,...
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    i upgraded to the exec suite, and to be honest I was quite disappointed with the room, the décor was a tad dated and I thought as I upgraded I would get some of the better rooms advertised on the website so the room I felt was disappointing

    The staff mainly the gentleman on reception made our trip, he sympathised with my thoughts on the room and couldn't have been more helpful!! he made the trip for us and on his reassurance of a different room we would defo return

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    A very comfortable overnight stay with good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfortable room , bathroom good and nice toiletries! Meals served in the large conservatory overlooking the golf course. Large bar area with comfortable seating and fire.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Staff were friendly and the man on the desk remembered it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly and the man on the desk remembered it was my partners 21st birthday and wished him happy birthday as we checked out which I felt was a good touch. The pool was lovely and relaxing we enjoyed that and felt super relaxed. The restaurant staff were friendly and very helpful too! One of the bar men went out of his way to fetch us some bottles of water as I wanted some for the room when we went to bed. The staff couldn’t do more for us. Very friendly, would definitely recommend and would go back!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Very enjoyable and excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good value for money. Lovely spacious,quiet bedroom with high standard of cleanliness and everything we could need provided. Great to have the use of the swimming pool, sauna etc as part of our stay. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.2
    Will definitely stay again. Lovely place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor attitude from one of the waitresses, think could do with a bit more training!

    Lovely large bedroom. Comfy bed. Plenty of free parking, lovely setting. Good information on check in and friendly welcome

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    An enjoyable stay for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedsheets had a couple of stains on them and a few holes.could have done with a long mirror in the bedroom.breakfast,which we didn't have,was quite expensive at £12.50 each.

    Staff were friendly and welcoming and the room was big and spacious.bed comfy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Had an enjoyable stay, pool was lovely, I had a facial on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had an enjoyable stay, pool was lovely, I had a facial on the morning of leaving, whilst my partner had a game of golf, said it was pricey for £18. Bed and pillows very comfy, after an hectic day we decided to order room service for something to eat, we ordered olives, fries and a pizza, pizza was cooked to perfection and very tasty, compliments to the chef! unfortunately I cannot say that about the breakfast, bacon and sausage well overcooked....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Relaxing and friendly as per each visit.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't fault the hotel..would recommend to friends and family without doubt.

    Staff very friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble,food and drinks very reasonably priced and excellent quality. Room very spacious and comfortable bed. Will certainly be back again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    3.8
    Nice setting and front desk on last day was helpful
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall level of service very poor, room was through a rabbit warren, staff member at the gym was surly and rude, bed was uncomfortable (way too soft) etc. etc. No 24 hour concierge so I couldn't tell them I was going to be late and ended up sleeping in my car in the car park!

    Nice setting and front desk on last day was helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.0
    Adequate but not luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The outside looks grand but the inside is a bit of a disappointment. The swimming pool wasn't open but the staff didn't know. The breakfast wasn't served to you. The tea wasn't in a pot.

    Good location. The room was nice. The food was tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    6.7
    Been here a few times and its starting to look a bit tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't get in touch with the spa team to book a massage prior to my stay. Drinks are a little expensive. Be careful when having a private party, golfers tend to invite themselves in, if the staff are informed they will remove them.

    The location is great. Great place for a family gathering.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    4.6
    Crap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above

    Nothing.....We encountered a few problems at this hotel, ok we got a discounted rate with booking early but getting locked in the toilet in our room faulty lock, good job my partner was in the room at the time Not Funny.....! Asked to pay for breakfast on being sat at our table, embarrassing.......! No soap in Spa men's shower, and ceiling partly missing, come on maintenance what you doing all day? Swimming pool dirty in corners, mmm nice....! Best of all reported it all to who I thought was the manager but turned out to be the owner, did not seem to give a damn about anything I was saying, and my cousin puts a lot of his clients up at this hotel, he was shocked when I told him about our problems. They probably get enough revenue in from the golf and gym members, and wedding functions, but word of mouth goes a long way, look after your customer and you get repetitive business, have a bad experience and they don't come back. Obviously so rich he's not bothered....!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Excellent stay with partner made to feel very welcome nothing was to trivial with staff
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    How the young lad in the evening served me with a smile and talked to me while mixing up the two drinks, very polite young lad. The lady who cleaned the room was extremely polite and very friendly, the room was very clean and spacious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.4
    Clean and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiters in restaurant could barely speak English and couldn't get a simple order correct. No cold meats or cheese for breakfast. Lousy wifi

    Food in restaurant was very good, breakfast OK

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    3.3
    Not worth the money or hassle
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was charged extra after confirming the booking, my 'family room' consisted of a makeshift bed from two different sized singles squeezed in to a dark and dingy room. The bathroom was filthy and the 'spa bath' didn't work. Our room was right at the top, at the far back of the hotel... we booked a family room wit pushchair access... I received no help in carting 2 small children, luggage and a buggy that I couldn't get up and down the stairs to our room. We was placed in s room with a door that didn't lock and also had a 3 inch gap at the bottom so the light was shining through all night and we could hear other guests right up to around 4am... no fault of anyone's but s decently fitted door would have helped.

    Leaving

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.0
    The toiletries were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have expected the rooms to be a bit more dated for the price. Carpet was filthy will a lot of stains on it, right hand glass in bathroom still had the last persons toothpaste in the bottom and sides. Room had a very damp smell and I presume the plug in ambi pur was there to try and detract from this. Room was near the beauty room so noisy early on and very dark, need the light on at all times. Only two tea bags but a huge range of coffee..... Overall expensive and outdated but busy for golf and wedding venues.

    The toiletries were lovely. From the outside the Hall and gardens looks beautiful. If you like a soft bed then these named rooms are ideal for you, personally I found them too soft.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nowhere to put toiletries in bathroom , no luggage stand and no early morning calls. The lights down to the coach house were dazzling to say the least, totally blinded you when driving.

    Lovely staff, Large comfy bed and pillows very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    4.6
    I think the hotel is dated and not value for money
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was too warm and the window would not stay open. The bathroom window was sealed shut so left the bathroom really steamy due to the bathroom fan not working. Shower was leaking. Curtains fell down. Breakfast was cold and no vegetarian choices on the cooked breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    The location and setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Managers indifferent attitude to our niece who was getting married at another venue and staying the night before and on her wedding night . She ended up very upset and had to move to another hotel 2 days before her wedding . Every single guest should be valued and spoken to with respect and understanding . All guests are all important and should not be told who is and who isn't in order of priority and how much they are spending . The rooms in the old stable were cold and the bedding felt damp Plates were cold in the breakfast room

    The location and setting Front desk staff Breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    7.5
    Front desk staff were very friendly and polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No atmosphere in the bar/ lounge areas - needs soft music and in the breakfast room too Plates were cold in the breakfast room Executive Rooms were very hot and needed fans

    Front desk staff were very friendly and polite Our rooms were very comfortable Breakfast room overlooking the golf course and food were fab

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: