Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ox Pasture Hall Country House Hotel 4 stars

Lady Ediths Drive, Scarborough, YO12 5TD, United Kingdom

#17 of 28 hotels in Scarborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 160 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    We come back and want more :-)
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and competent staff, excellent lunch and breakfast, Large vine card. Very good walk around with the dog. Plenty of space in the rooms, enjoyed it very much. A place to come back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.0
    Nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a sandwich and tea when it came the bread was dry and just a few green leaves the filling however was good - no crisps as stated on room menu and charged over £20. When we arrived a member of the kitchen staff was smoking whilst transporting food on a trolley to another building. Orange juice for breakfast poor not fresh

    Nice location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice place but been to many better so it seemed very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar was supposed to be open until 11- yet at 10.45 all the pumps were off and the till was cashed up. We went for breakfast at 9.15 - it said breakfast was until 10am and yet there was no orange juice left, hardly any fruit. Had to ask for coffee.

    Lovely room overlooking courtyard garden

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Luxury stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival we were upgraded to a suite. Beautiful location, gardens were stunning. Dinner each evening was an exceptional experience. We have been singing it's praises to everyone who will listen. If it hadn't been such a beautiful location the lack of wifi would have been a problem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.0
    We enjoyed our visit ,the setting is perfect, only a few niggles, they would not put us off visitin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parts of the evening menu , some of the dishes needed a bit more care and attention. The Summer pudding was not a Summer pudding. The Rissoto lacked flavour and no Parmesan. Cod over cooked.

    The room was very very comfortable. The setting, quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Exquisite location , attention to detail and dining experience
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast portion poor when fewer items ordered on English breakfast , portions of each live not scaled up to make a substantial offer

    Superb evening meal , high end quality . Speciality breads and butters offered , small taster also offered - amazing Nice attentive service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure what is in the surrounding area if your just to stay for a night away, however we never really looked. Haven’t got anything bad to say about the hotel. It was excellent.

    We attended the hotel for a wedding- which was beautiful. The room was fabulous. The place is just gorgeous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    4.2
    Stunning location, but well overpriced.
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extremely uncomfy and noisy. Well overpriced. Room grubby and run down!

    The views were stunning! We certainly couldn’t complain about the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Ruined by the above bad comments
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out dated room with poor facilities. Tea and coffee poor and water left in kettle. Carpet was dirty. Hairs found in the bath. Upstairs used the lavatory and the smell came down into the room and was awful

    Staff were lovely. Food was good. Setting was beautiful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Lovely rooms and beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure was terrible And hot water wasn’t even warm not great for a morning shower Limited drink choices and no card machines at the bars

    Lovely rooms and beautiful location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful only spoiled by staff attitude as explained above.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    After I had booked was told wedding guests got discount on their stay, as I had already paid we asked for this discount when booking out. They refused, saying we should have booked direct with them on the phone..i.e. not online, to get the guest discount. Thought this quite mean spirited. All the other wedding guests paid less than us for bigger rooms.

    Lovely food, very comfy bed, gorgeous décor. Went to a wedding everything was perfect. Beautiful place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    Some rooms were lovely & location is good but expensive if you’re in an old room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny and, apart from the nice new bathroom, in desperate need of a refurb. Old furniture and a squeaky bed with an uncomfortable mattress. Poor TV reception and absolutely no chance of WiFi or phone signal. No light on the corridor outside so difficult to unlock the door. A bar tab was opened in the wrong room number - staff obviously didn’t check keys when tabs were opened and we were charged for other people’s drinks when we checked out.

    Good food. Manager was very helpful in trying to rectify mistakes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.4
    Don't think we will be going again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathrooms were very poorly cleaned and the shower heat control was difficult ( I ended up not using it.) Not good value for money

    Shortage of staff - evening menu was very poor but a very good breakfast. Alcoholic drinks/bottles were expensive, Chabis especially very over priced But all the staff were very obliging and pleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel in stunning location with very friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel bar closed at 11pm which would have been nice to sit and drink in cosy bar later.

    HUGE bed. Loads of space in room. Separate area with settee and tv. Very attentive staff. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    One to return to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have anything negative to say about our short break

    Lovely hotel set in great grounds nothing was to much trouble. The breakfast set us up for the day .We ate in the restaurant on both nights and could not fault it . Jay is great making sure every thing is running smoothly always around but not intrusive in any way Our two dogs also had a great time playing in the extensive grounds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.2
    WE had a very pleasant and relaxing stay
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The availability of good ales was non existent. The only beer was Thwaites bitter at 3.6% from the keg and carbonated

    The bar was very cosy with a log burner. We visited on 1st & 2nd December and the Friday evening was very quiet . We had the bar to ourselves and the barman was very attentive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.3
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel room wasn’t the cleanest. The bath was chipped, and there was hairs in there. I dropped my charger in between the bed and drawers and I picked it up with a lot of dust. However we did check in earlier than expected so I guess it’s our own fault as they didn’t have a lot of time to clean!

    Attended a wedding, and the staff and facilities were absolutely amazing. Couldn’t fault anything, they all went above and beyond for the bride and groom; especially Jay.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Will be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor WiFi reception, had to get dressed and leave the room to make a call in reception, not ideal if you were on business, but other than that fantastic stay

    Everything!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    5.0
    The whole stay was a very bad experience and it spoiled our weekend.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very overpriced for the level provided. The service and attitude of the staff was appalling. The food and service in the restaurant was very poor and over stated. The restaurant allows dogs to be present and in fact there were 5 dogs around the table occupied by my wife and I - something we didn't expect and other guests should be warned about. The welcome greeting was very poor and offensive and simply asked if we planned to eat in the restaurant and if so we must eat before 7:30 pm. These were the first words to greet us when we arrived.

    Location was good. The wines were good and the list offered was good. Parking was easy and more than adequate.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    A well enjoyed stay and would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was in a good quiet location but close enough to Scarborough town. The meals we had were well prepared and presented. The room has a good view of the pond and a nice scenic views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.3
    The location and the hotel were a pleasant surprise. A good find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position of the hotel, the gardens were suberb.

    The owner was extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble for him, very attentive. Enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    10
    We needed a complete rest and this we achieved during our stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The current owners have only had the property for approx one year and are in the process of bringing everything up to scratch which I am sure they will complete within the the next year. This did not detract at all from our visit.

    The situation is stunning with lovely gardens, lake and courtyard which is excellent for people with dogs. Our room was situated over looking the lake and the surrounding countryside. The room consisted of a lounge area and separate bedroom with a large shower and bath. We enjoyed all our meals, breakfast and evening. The bar and surrounding seating area were excellent. We found all of the staff friendly and efficient and bent over backwards to help. We look forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    On the whole our stay was enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the restaurant is in need of front of house and a wine waiter. We were not shown to our table and had to serve our own wine and go to the bar for further beers

    location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    10
    attended an evening wedding party which my wife and i thoroughly enjoyed.we will be back with friend
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the breakfast was a bit slow and items missing from the plate which the staff rectified straight away

    the buildings themselves made us feel relaxed and comfortable also the staff were excellent they were attentive and helpfull

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Very dog friendly and very comfortable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant hotel with nice friendly helpful staff. We particularly liked the way that our pet dog could sit with us in the conservatory as we ate our meals. We will certainly return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not working in the room. Coffee was not great. On our second night (Friday) there was a wedding on which we had not anticipated but it was not overly intrusive: not very noisy in our room but kept us semi-awake until midnight.

    Food at dinner especially was to a high standard. Staff very friendly. We especially appreciated that our dogs were welcome to stay: you could even take them in to the conservatory for breakfast! Great walking trails nearby without having to get in the car. We would return.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    6.7
    Sorry to say but I wouldn't go back!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We paid for an upgrade but appeared to be in a standard room The shower was cold and had no pressure, it was also too dark. Very bad WIFI no papers to read Wafer thin walls, we could hear next door but 1 chatting!!!

    Great location, good staff although they all seemed to be 16? food was nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.4
    The suite we were in was excellent, lovely rooms and view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dogs eating off the table in the restaurant and being fed off the dinner plates and by fork. Toilet was dirty and even after I complained and was told that it had been cleaned, it had not !!! Bed cover had dirty marks on it and one of the towels was badly stained. The dinner Menu was very limited and the food was average. The waiting staff in the restaurant never smiled and were abrupt. The dog hairs all over my dress from sitting in the bar and the restaurant.

    The suite we were in was excellent, lovely rooms and view over the lake and the bathroom, apart from the toilet, was really nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Very beautiful place just the poor service at breakfast let it down.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of internet connection and service at breakfast was very poor. Had to ask more than once for table setting as they were all dirty. Then had to ask for a clean table cloth, clean tea cup and napkins. We felt like an inconvenience!

    Extremely dog friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    We felt disappointed at the hotel but enjoyed our small break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor, restaurant service slow. The gardens were well designed, lawns mowed but the flower beds were covered in weed. There were two dirty fountains not working and rusty chairs in the courtyard.

    The room was very good, light, and well decorated

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    5.4
    Nowhere near good enough for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had an extension lead trailing across it at knee height and dangling out of the window when we arrived - wouldn't normally be too bothered about something like that, but at this price point, you hope for less trip hazards upon arrival. The bath panel was falling off and the seal around the tub was almost completely decayed. Again, not a massive issue, but for the price, you expect better. Cups in room were dirty and tea/coffee/biscuit selection was incredibly disappointing for a hotel charging over £150 a night. Their archaic tab system for the bar was also infuriating - how hard would it be to let customers charge to their rooms, or better still, pay by card at the bar?

    Beautiful location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel in lovely surroundings but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable. Breakfast could have been better, black pudding very hard , sausage burnt & bread for toast just normal brown or white , would have expected better for price paid . No sign posts to hotel & as it was up a long lane a sat nav was useful .

    Lovely room , clean with nice outlook over garden & pond . Staff friendly .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Excellent dog friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were lovely, upgraded us to a suite from a classic double room. Jay was brilliant . I'd definitely recommend this Hotel and would love to go back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing, break in tranquil surroundings. Worth a return visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location offers a tranquil, oasis in the Yorkshire countryside with panoramic views of the surrounding farms and woodland. Great food to be enjoyed whilst overlooking the beautiful gardens and grounds of the hotel. Enjoy the quiet and the open skies, all within easy reach of Scarborough, the beach and

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Quite simply we'd have liked to linger longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing not to like about Ox Pasture Hall during our stay; which is a good enough reason to look forward to our next visit.

    The location of Ox Pasture Hall is in a beautiful North Yorkshire countryside setting but only a few minutes drive away from the hustle and bustle of nearby Scarborough. The property itself has oodles of old word charm but has been tastefully modernised to meet the demands and expectations of today's discerning travellers. The room my wife and I occupied for two nights was spacious, clean and comfortable, and it had the most wonderful view overlooking a picturesque lake and unspoiled rolling countryside. And I'm not sure where else you'd find a swallow's nest above your bedroom door and have a face-to-face encounter with a hare during a stroll around the grounds! Happily for us hare wasn't on the menu during our visit but the restaurant did offer a good choice of dishes and those that we tried all went down very well. A further convenience was the hotel's private car park, situated right alongside the hotel, so we didn't have the hassle of having to find somewhere to leave the car; which could have been the case if we'd opted to stay in Scarborough itself. Without exception the staff were helpful and courteous and, without doubt, we shall return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Stunning views beautiful place
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everyone was so helpful and friendly the room was immaculate we could take the puppy everywhere with us too Stunning location with nice walks

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.8
    Lovely venue for a wedding
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service from staff wasn't with a smile! Rooms overpriced when the sink was cracked, wallpaper coming away. Breakfast was a long time to be served once we had ordered. Staff were not organised, and systems appeared slow!

    Lovely venue for a wedding

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lighting at night from outside venue into hotel and the access door previously used locked.

    The bathroom toiletries and tea/coffee products in the room. A fully equipped bedroom eg iron and ironing board etc.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    A very good find and they looked after us well.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weddings with loud bands on both nights, but ask for quiet rooms away from function hall

    Very good staff, especially the manager. Good Breakfast. Very good for dogs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WIFI not working. Room advertised as supreme double was very small and underwhelming. Not really a £180 a night room.

    Nice place. Very helpful staff rescued us when we got lost in town. Couldn't do enough for us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.3
    Tired but friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt sorry that they seem to be struggling at the moment. Everything looks tired - faded glory. But they are trying.

    They are very welcoming to dog owners. Lovely setting.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    10
    The customer certainly comes first.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    1st class accommodation, excellent food, beautifully situated. The Manager Jay and his staff were always helpful and courteous but most of all cheerful. I travelled with my 4 month old puppy and they could not have been kinder. Well done- most unusual in an English hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    A good peaceful stay in the North Yorkshire Moors.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I did not like!

    Friendly and attentive staff. Professional and efficient it all ran very well. The room and bed were very comfortable. Views from our room and the dining room were very good and the food great. The whole hotel was very nicely designed and decorated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.8
    Staff friendly and courteous and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room full of dust, old dirty bathmat, marks on all furniture, cheap lamps, no curtains on four poster, bathtub in need of replacement, cold shower in the morning. Overpriced at 200 pounds a night!

    Staff friendly and courteous and helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful Weekend Bolthole
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wait for food when ordered was exceptionally long, up to 45 minutes. However, when it arrived was very good. Reception area very small and untidy.

    Rooms were lovely, well equipped. A proper hairdryer-not one you had to keep your finger on!!! Lovely ,well kept, spacious grounds. Friendly staff. Dogs welcome in rooms and bar where you could take all meals.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    6.7
    Staff good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service poor wife ordered veg breakfast first morning omelette came with bacon in it and room cleaner left key in our door unattended with all our valuables inside , no replenishing of tea/ coffee in the room but to his credit the manager gave us a bottle of wine as an apology which was a nice touch but wouldn't stay again

    Staff good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Lovely country hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little pricey but i booked it last minute on easter weekend. The window and door aren't isolated so i can imagine that in cold days rooms might be cold. The bathroom only has a small extractor fan so it's poorly ventilated. Very limited food for room service and a 4 pound charge for it even if food was costly enough. Cellphones have bad reception and hotel wifi wasn't good enough.

    Very pet friendly, almost everyone had a pet with them, there is even an area where you can dine with your pet. Hotel is in the middle of nowhere but its nice as there are lots of areas to walk around. Plenty of parking and nice room space. Very clean although we did find some cobwebs on ceiling. It has proper central heating that you can regulate and nice bedding.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    7.5
    Quiet hotel don't rely on the wifi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free WiFi was not available throughout the hotel and what could be described at best as intermitant in public areas.

    Staff friendly a helpful. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.9
    Lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we did not sleep very well due to a radiator banging every half hour or so during the night until we turned it off at 4 am.

    We loved the peace and quite of the hotel due to its location. staff very friendly and we had an excellent meal. Breakfast good but if you dont want cooked breakfast not much choice (continental)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    5.8
    Good but needs major overhaul of heating and hot hot water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough hot water for bath, ran cold at toe depth, heating wasn't on, radiator driven not thermostat, When turned radiators up noise of pipes all night made for uncomfortable sleep.

    Room was large, clean and tidy, large bath

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    5.8
    No assistance at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Me and my husband has to rushed into the hospital in the middle of the night and we had no help . No one was in the reception and we had to leave our room key in the desk I have shouted for help and tried to call but no one listen or came for help And it was very dark outside and no lights so we couldn't see where our car was parked We was very disappointed as we didn't have any assistance at all . It will be a place I won't visit again specially as a family as there is no assistance if we need anything .

    I loved the restaurant : Lovely place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    Luxurious Hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mobile phone reception & Wifi poor, but room for improvement, don't let this put you off from stopping there, it's nice to get away from the phone for a weekend.

    Everybody was friendly, couldn't do enough for us, dog friendly hotel, luxury suite rooms, lovely settings.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Fabulous - recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked this for my parents for their 50th Anniversary. Staff couldn't have been better! They looked after my parents wonderfully and my parents loved their stay and really rated the hotel highly. Thanks so much!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.1
    Room 24 was large , nice and private.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although staff worked hard to satisfy somethings didn't happen. Room was not cleaned one day (disappointing) . Limited dinner menu , steak tough and chocolate torte just a lump.

    Room 24 was large , nice and private. Situated at the far end of the hotel overlooking pleasant gardens.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    8.3
    Staff were really friendly and helpful
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many slugs in the courtyard Nor enough hand rails for people with walking difficulties. Bistro menu quite disappointing

    Staff were really friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    5.8
    Lovely setting, shocking member of staff.....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girl on room service was asleep when I requested toothpaste at 10.30pm. She was very put out when I asked for it to be delivered to my room that evening. She'd assumed I'd wanted it for the morning.

    Lovely setting, nice clean room, although they'd left the windows open so there were over 100 midges / crane flies / spiders in the room.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    6.3
    Wouldn't take much to make this lovely hotel an exceptional hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds too small, King beds are the norm these days. Staff were inexperienced, young and lacked customer service etiquette. The room walls were way too thin I was kept awake all night by our neighbours snoring

    Location was idylic. Food was very good. Lindsey was exceptional. Rooms were spacious.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.8
    My breakfast spoilt by an irresponsible dog owner allowing his dog to foul in full view of eaters.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside the restaurant is an area of grass and irresponsible dog owners allowed dogs to foul in sight of people eating their meals, very off putting to see dogs being allowed to do this when the literature claims that there's acres of land to walk in. Why don't these owners consider all visitors to this lovely location.

    The Staff were generally very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    3.3
    I put this as a 2 star hotel. It must be hard upgrading an old building to meet modern requirements
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was awful and very small portions which actually might not have been a bad thing ! Staff did not know what they were doing. Lager was off. Asked for a glass for my bottled beer,never came. Wardrobe collapsed. It was a bit like Fawlty Towers.

    Gardens were well maintained

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    6.3
    Peaceful break
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not very comfortable. The quilt was very thick and heavy, too warm for summer. Wifi and tv reception was very poor.

    This hotel is in an excellent location. Very quite and peaceful. Staff were helpful and accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    7.9
    Had an excellent time on an excellent occasion
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were good and worked hard but it did seem there were not enough of them

    The room (11) was fine but some attention needed on the bath/shower. Very good venue for the wedding

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    9.2
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi unreliable, probably due to location - but supposed to be on a short break to get away from all that anyway!

    Friendliness and helpfulness of staff Fabulous evening meal, steak was like butter!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    7.1
    Beautiful hotel let down by poor service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service by staff other than reception was very poor! We waited 5mins to be served at the bar in the evening despite 3 members of staff walking by. Breakfast was also disappointing, we arrived to eat at 9am and there were no clean tables and nobody attempted to clear one for us. We were forced to sit at a dirty table, our setting was then set around us and in the case of my husband his was thrown on the table in front of him without a single word! We won't be returning to this hotel!

    The setting of the hotel is beautiful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    6.0
    Communication Breakdown.
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of mobile phone connection and wifi only connected in my room. Tv was ok but hifi wasn't working which is what my preference is.USB on tv only allowed individual tunes to be played not albums. Radio on the TV was limited.

    The country setting was very good. Good venue for the Wedding I attended.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.9
    Nice location for a wedding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in desk was not constantly manned and the staff were too distracted. Also had to complain as there was no towels in the room, but this was quickly rectified

    Breakfast was nice and the croissants were fresh

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    The dining arrangements need attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heavy winter duvet. Dreadful wine. Poor restaurant service. Certainly not Michelin .

    The location and nice gardens

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Ambiance and friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ambiance and friendly service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful grounds and gardens, stunning scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful grounds and gardens, stunning scenery. Clean comfortable and spacious rooms. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful grounds and stunning scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful grounds and stunning scenery. Very comfy clean rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    nice dog friendly hotel with beautiful grounds
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    lovely grounds

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Worth a visit. Very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly knowledgeable staff. Very pleasant loyal staff and obliging Great location quiet and comfortable Nothing is too much trouble

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent property with a very high standard of comfort and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is cooked to order which is wonderful but it did make it rather slow

    Excellent property with a very high standard of comfort and service

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Quiet and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing stay with excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent service, food fantastic and Jay the manager was attentive and caring nothing too much trouble, it made our stay perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable we will be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attentive staff, beautiful quiet surroundings

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: