Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of P&J Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Derby Rd, Nottingham, NG7 2DP, United Kingdom

Review Score

Based on 521 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    6.7
    Staff were friendly and very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room looked like my gran’s old bedroom. Room had a single bed and a double - the mattress on the double was poor so I ended up in the single bed which was slightly better. Bathroom was not the worst. I was going to Queen’s Medical Centre so location was great, it’s saving grace I think.

    Staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were not very comfortable, they squeaked and cracked when you moved, although the bedding was clean. The curtains were very thin so when the sun came up you were awake! Bathroom was very small and dirty. In my opinion the room needed updating.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. Good size room for three people. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 20, 2018

    10
    A fantastic girly weekend made extra special by P & J Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of anything!

    We were upgraded to the apartment at no extra cost. It was great for me and my 3 friends. It was so spacious and comfortable. There was always staff around if needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant. Good value for money
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Dated furniture, a bit drab in places like bathrooms, old worn carpets.

    White cotton bed sheets, breakfast room, very friendly and helpful staff. Cooked breakfast, car parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2018

    6.3
    Good location for a university visit
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were allocated into the adjacent apartment which just felt a bit cut off and in need of some attention. Had a slightly damp feel to it. Just didn't feel very lived in.

    Staff very welcoming. Cooked breakfast was good. Very handy for the university open day. Cheaper than some nearby hotels

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were very cold in the room. The heating did not come on until well into the evening (after 10pm when we went to bed because of the cold). The hot water tap on the bathroom wash basin was cold. One of the shower doors kept coming of the track. No mirror in the bed room to use with the hair dryer. Cobwebs on the ceiling. We paid £104.50 for bed only in a very small room. The first time we have used this hotel when visiting Nottingham and probably the last.

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.1
    Cheap and cheerful, surprisingly comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I'm honest, my expectations were very low as I chose the hotel purely on the low price.

    Cheap and surprisingly cheerful. I wasn't expecting more than just a crash-space for us at that price, but it was certainly more pleasant than that. But that being said, I would only stay here if I needed crash-space for a night out in Nottingham, it's certainly not the right choice for those looking for anything more.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 14, 2018

    7.9
    Adequate, friendly close to hospital
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom dated & shower basic but clean. The staff v friendly & v close to Queens hospital as my son had appt there- main purpose of our stay. Sheets & towels clean.

    Very good staff. Easy to use in line.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    7.9
    Easy access to hospitals, friendly staff happy to help.
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Easy access to hospitals, friendly staff happy to help. Parking ok if you get there early enough however we didn't arrive till very late so no room left. Would benefit from parking bays been painted in car park to stop inappropriate parking by selfish people .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    5.4
    Great location but very basic and because of decor and cleanliness is over priced
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looks dirty but probably only because it is dire need of renovations. Didn't want to take a shower as it looked grubby. Really uncomfortable pillows and bed.

    Very friendly helpful staff. Great location to city and universities. Rooms very basic, property needs a lot of work doing to it as very dated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    7.1
    Delicious breakfast with comfy bed.
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower cubicle was way too small. Bathroom wasn't cleaned during my stay and forgotten to change towels. Heaters were not switched on until I ask about them.

    Bed was extra comfy. Meals were tasty. Close to QMC, City Center and food outlets.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 28, 2018

    7.5
    The staff was all very pleasant, happy to stop and chat very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was very uncomfortable and squeaky every time you moved and the pillows wasn't the bed,also the traffic right out side bedroom window siren all night, which isn't down to the hotel by any means. Also other guest being very noisy when coming in pass midnight no respect given to others,again not really down to hotel,but respect cost nothing

    The staff was all very pleasant, happy to stop and chat very welcoming.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    6.7
    Cheap, average accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Asked for card details on arrival even though I had paid. Noise from pelican crossing every 1 minute Old style room

    The price was good, but got what I paid for

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for a cheap stop over with no frills
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit of a trek to the loo at 2am but reflected in the price I chose to pay.

    Small single bed room. Very Clean room. Clean sheets, TV, tea coffee etc. Sink in the room as this room had shared toilet and bathroom. Very clean shared facilities. I didn't stay for breakfast this time but VFM Limited parking but I got a space.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    8.3
    Very cosy hotel, well connected by public transport and lovely staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I stayed for 2 nights and the room wasn't cleaned the next day - being very muddy outside, the floor did get a bit dirty. Also tea/coffee not replenished but given when asked so thanks! Non of this was a real issue though! Would suggest a change of the hotel photo on booking.com as it appears very pink - which the hotel is not!

    Excellent location and very well connected for public transport. Excellent and friendly staff - helped to get my clothes cleaned at no cost after being badly splashed by a motorist - thanks to Daniel and other staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    7.5
    Very pleasent
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Lots of stairs to climb with luggage. Don't no if there is ground floor rooms for elderly people . However they did offer to carry the bags up

    Parking. warm rooms comfy clean beds

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    7.9
    Very friendly staff , clean accomodation and fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast should be included in the price, no fruit juices or cereals on offer at breakfast. Sausages and beans were cheap quality.

    Bit cold in the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant stay - good trade off between comfort, location and price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very minor criticisms - cold water tap didn't work on wash basin and no plug (which is a bit of a pain for us contact lens wearers). Shower not brilliant, but perfectly adequate. When we wanted to leave, someone had blocked us in - but I guess you can't blame the hotel for the ignorance of some of their visitors. Fortunately the person appeared fairly soon and moved their car.

    Friendly staff. Comfortable. Decent price - and well enough located for us. A little over a mile to the city centre - a straightforward 30 mins walk or there seemed to be plenty of buses if you didn't fancy that.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    8.8
    Great short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had three rooms - one of the rooms there's a street light right outside the window, and busy traffic lights, no way to completely block the light out. A full blind or blocking the top of the window there would fix this I think. The other two rooms were great no problems at all :)

    Great place, very helpful and friendly staff. Parking very good, WIFI good, breakfast isn't included but excellent quality so worth the little extra. Shared showers/bathrooms excellent quality, plenty of them so there was no issues. Within walking distance of central Nottingham, whilst being out the way enough it's peaceful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2017

    7.1
    Perfectly adequate foe our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower not working on our floor -staff did try to fix with no success, so had to use one on the floor below -adequate, but not ideal.

    Location. Car parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    6.3
    A warm clean room although dated. Staff friendly, but unfortunately will not rebook to came again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No hot water and a shower that didn’t work and when someone came to fix it, my husband got a warm shower, but I got a cold shower. Also breakfast was ok but there wasn’t fresh coffee or plates for your toast and you had to help yourself to knives and forks after they brought up the breakfast.

    Very warm and clean. Liked the Duke Box in the bar.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    7.5
    Good value place in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit dated but not a problem.

    Location was good , 30 min walk to town. Staff lovely and friendly. Breakfast was good and very reasonably priced. Would recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    5.0
    As per booking.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As per booking.com you pay on arrival.but they took the payment from my personal card.asked why.they said we do this incase people don't turn up.i have now got to wait 4 weeks to be reimbursed by my company.not happy at all.and also the toilet wouldn't flush.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    8.8
    Location was ideal for me. Good price for Nottingham. Facilities and amenities basic but sufficient.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noise from adjacent rooms and corridor. No do not disturb sign for rooms! Would have been nice to have breakfast bundled with room price.

    Compfy bed and pillows. Free parking although slightly tricky busy car park. Staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    7.9
    It served the purpose of our visit but would not necessarily recommend.
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disabled facilities were non existent, and made it virtually impossible to access dining room.

    It was very close to where I needed to go in Nottingham.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    6.3
    All in all, pretty poor value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower in the room didn't work, ended up wandering the corridors, wrapped in a towel looking for a bathroom. I booked car parking but the carpark was full and I had to park 2 streets away. Room was quite dated.

    Friendly welcome and easy check in.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2017

    10
    could not have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    we enjoyed everything from arrival to departure, the staff were friendly and extremely helpful nothing was too much for them. The room was very clean, cosy and comfortable and our breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    9.2
    All you need if for a cheaper alternative to the East Midlands Conference center accommodation
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Couldn't really knock it at all. Cheap and cheerful, slightly dated decor but lovely staff and somewhere comfy to lay your head. Parking is ample but can be a bit tight, and access through a secure door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    7.5
    Was good and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was a bit dated and wasn't over keen on the bed covers.

    It was very good for the price and clean, staff were friendly and I would definitely stay again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    8.3
    The staff were brilliant, I got lost and the receptionist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking was difficult as small area. The beds and pillows were like concrete, I woke up both mornings with a terrible headache and aching all over

    The staff were brilliant, I got lost and the receptionist came out to find me and direct me back to the hotel! Very clean, warm spacious rooms and plenty of hot water

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable room and bed. Hotel idealy situated for where we needed to be over 2 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of beautiful wood floor bed castors slipped easily, so sitting up in bed and leaning back bed moved away from wall! (perhaps small piece of rubber under each wheel?) Need carpet in room above as every step of guest was heard, from early in morning till late at night.

    Room clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    4.2
    Quite shocking. Would never go back nor recommend to a dog.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above please. Breakfast advertised but no evidence of it. No staff on bar, in fact only ever saw one. Lights near bed didnt work. Money taken before I arrived. No welcome. Poor in every aspect.

    Leaving in the morning. It was really very very poor for 51pounds, I expected more. Tiny room. Bleeping traffic lights outside every 28 seconds day and night. Radiator on, couldnt turn off. Not en-suite.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2017

    10
    First class place to stay, Staff is awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was awesome, very accommodating and went out of their way to help us. For example the night manager moved her car so I could park. She was so nice and went above and beyond to help.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2017

    7.1
    Quaint old style BnB. Clean. Friendly staff. Terrible shower.
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower.

    Staff great, lovely little BnB. Everywhere clean. Electric shower was a let down as the temperature was temperamental and therefore my son could not shower in case he burnt himself. Mattress very soft but fairly comfortable. Stayed one night only. Would not stay longer than two nights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2017

    8.8
    The warm welcome, being able to park off road & having...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly we had to check out at 7.0 & breakfast wasn't served until 8.30. (Saturday) So had to eat elsewhere! The mattress was uncomfortable, we could feel the springs - time for a new one !! Would have preferred semi skimmed or skimmed milk for in room tea ( only full fat available)

    The warm welcome, being able to park off road & having security lighting! Decent size bath towel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    3.3
    Fair but i wont recommend it to any of my friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The manager was rude and I had informed them on the phone I will pay cash on arrival for private reasons and he went ahead and debited my account using the my card which I had specifically ask NOT TO use?

    Comfy bed and the house keeper was polite and very accommodating.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2017

    9.2
    A very nice, comfortable stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Blackout curtains might have been nice since the sun streamed into the room in the morning.

    Bed was comfy, everything was clean, and the place was pretty quiet!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2017

    10
    A happy atmosphere, friendly staff and a cosy little hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room temperature was a little too hot.

    The staff and customers at the bar were friendly and just an overall jolly atmosphere overall! Would definitely come back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 25, 2017

    9.6
    Clean and comfortable, great value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really.

    Great value for money and will keep going back! Staff friendliness and willing to help. 5 minute bus ride straight into the town centre.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    7.9
    Staff are very attentive and do all they can to help you,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff are very attentive and do all they can to help you, nice bar with free jukebox and some good oldies on there too. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    9.6
    Cheap,clean,welcoming and really nice reception lady's and a very helpful Chinese chap called Dillow
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no chair in my room so I had to pull the bed over to the wall shelf / table to use it for eating off and making butties plus to hold my cup of teas. It was a little cold when I woke up and had no instant heating but as soon as the sun came out of the clouds room warmed up.

    It was cheap and close to the place I went there for. The people working there were wonderful and very helpful. The bed was very comfortable and clean. The bedroom was clean and shower worked great .. It had a lovely lounge and bar and super dinning room. I would go again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.1
    Not great, fortunately reception bent over backwards to be helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from bar area, also next to pedestrian crossing which beeps. Dripping bathroom tap. Breakfast tasteless, cheap, cardboard brown bread.

    Very friendly and helpful reception

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2017

    7.1
    Good location, comfy beds slightly over priced considering breakfast not included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The furniture was tired , the curtains were nt blackout

    Beds were very comfortable and the room was large and clean. Location was ideal for walking into Nottingham.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2017

    7.9
    Room in Robin Hood Land
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not aware that we booked for shared toilet means sharing with other roomers. But we were offered ensuite toilet immediately.👍

    Generally, good for the pricing. Very friendly and good chef. We enjoyed our breakfast very much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    9.6
    Excellent Stay, very satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Due to the heat wave, room did get quite hot at night, possibly a roof fan or some sort of cooling facility would of made the stay perfect

    Excellent staff, very helpful and welcoming, room was very comfortable and facilities worked very well. Staff helped me find my way around town, telling me good restaurants and pubs to visit, overall very satified with my stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    8.0
    My stay at the Friendly P and J Hotel
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room no 2 though spacious is facing the Derby Road so you must be prepared for the noise of traffic, especially as if, in the summer, the window is wide open. Internet was ok but not 100% reliable in the room.

    Room 2 large bright comfortable and airy. Bar and Lounge, much higher standard than anticipated from a hotel of this size, ambience very good Breakfast room lovely, modern, clean, bright and airy. Had the Quick to Go breakfast, delicious and more than adequate. Very convenient for city centre with the bus stopping almost opposite the hotel. Provision of free parking, rare in hotels of this size near the city centre. Most of all, loved the very friendly and helpful staff. I was in Nottingham for my brother's funeral and at the last minute had to make changes to my eulogies. The staff were very supportive and let me use their printers to print new versions, and were very sympathetic and considerate at what was for me a difficult time. Also Thank you Ricardo? ( we never formally introduced ourselves) for the lovely breakfast and conversations.Good Luck.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    7.9
    Nice walk to town and the Uni (v. close to Triumph road)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    P&J is near the town and the Uni - a nice walk to both. Although Derby Road can get busy in the rush hour, my room at the back was quiet. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2017

    9.6
    Ideal
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Toast should be standard on breakfast like tea & coffee is. Not 80p. That's all if I'm being extremely picky.

    Nice quiet hotel even on main road traffic noice minimal. 15/20 mins walk to centre. Lovely staff good chat and nice bar area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    8.3
    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast...
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom could do with a little attention e.g. painting and the toilet and sink were old and different colours, but was adequate.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great and good value. Was walking distance across the park to the QMC which was perfect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    5.8
    You get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was at the back of the hotel very dark. Bathroom a bit tired, with fittings missing off the wall.

    Conveniently located to visit my daughter at Nottingham University Basic comfortable accommodation - pretty much as expected!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2017

    3.3
    Horrible!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was clearly put in the worst room in the hotel. It was like a joke. You could not open the door as it hit the bed. The room was tiny. And it might aswell not have had a window. Horrible.!!

    Very little

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 9, 2017

    7.1
    The hotel had a good ambience, the breakfast was good and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The toilet flush was not working and the three days we stayed there we had to use the toilets outside which was slightly inconvenient for the children.

    The hotel had a good ambience, the breakfast was good and the lounge was a good relaxing place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: May 7, 2017

    7.9
    Staff are always very pleasant and willing to make the stay...
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are always very pleasant and willing to make the stay more comfortable. For me it is a great location, affordable and clean. The interior decor is eclectic and things could be updated, but then the price would go up and there are plenty of more expensive hotels about.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2017

    7.5
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy at front of building. Lots of road noise and pedestrian crossing right outside my window. V small room, almost claustrophobic. Dated decor. Shared loo and shower not ideal but was ok if u don't need to get up in night!

    Close to university. Some parking. V friendly staff. Reasonably comfortable bed. Clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 5, 2017

    8.8
    Very pleased with the hotel and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price through booking .com and the fact that breakfast wasn't included in the price. It would have been included if we booked direct to hotel.

    The room was Clean and warm and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2017

    5.0
    nice for a short stay but lots of room for improvemtn
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was not clean, room was not ready when we arrived so we had to wait. There was ongoing refurbishment that created noise and disturbance. flooring and trimmings were damaged. General quality of the rooms was not what I would of expected for what we paid

    Very Friendly staff and nice location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2017

    5.8
    Extremely disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The door to the bedroom opened on to the car park/yard. The room was cold, although the heating was on. The door to the yard had two notices, "Keep Clear" and " Fire Exit". In effect, my room was part of the fire escape route for the whole building. There was a locked door in my room which I could not open and I assume led to the rest of the Hotel and which I guess, would be used in the event of an emergency. During the night I was woken several times by doors on the other side of the locked door being banged loudly. My room felt isolated from the rest of the hotel and apart from the Chef at breakfast I only saw 2 members of staff, one when I booked in and one when I checked out. I was not shown where the bar was but as there didn't seem to be anyone else staying at the hotel ( I only saw a Mother and 2 children at breakfast) I don't think this mattered.

    Booking out after one night rather than staying for 2 as planned. Although I had paid for 2 nights, I didn't bother asking for a refund.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2017

    7.1
    Rooms a little dated but absolutely fine for what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms a little dated but absolutely fine for what we needed. Shower in our room did not work but staff found us an alternative shower and swapped our room as soon as they could.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2017

    10
    Great place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very nice place to stay indeed. Extremely friendly staff. Clean rooms. All the special atmosphere of small unique one-of-a-kind hotel (not possible in boring chain hotels). Great location and all kinds of eating places nearby (excellent fish&chips nearby - thanks for recommendation guys, pubs, sandwich bar, shops). I'll happily come and stay again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2017

    5.8
    Convenient for uni visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Phoned the day before arrival and was told I had an ensuite bathroom - told on check in that had been allocated to another guest. Hotel did not attempt to contact me about that change. Also very noisy neighbours who were shouting until 5am - managed 3 hours sleep.

    Convenient for uni visit

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2017

    8.8
    Good location. Tidy and quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hangers and chest looked a little bit old but that's fine. Location shows in Google map seems not correct if I only typed "P&J hotel", probably because my apple ID is not UK based. But can locate the hotel precisely using the postcode.

    The two receptionists I met were extremely nice, friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2017

    6.3
    Expensive for what it was
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well if they had a notice on the front door indicating that disabled access was to the rear of the building and a doorbell for the front desk... Would solve the problem of the horrible front door steps...the room was so small that the door couldn't be opened without hitting the single bed....I didn't like the cost of breakfast which was £10.85 on top of the price of the room with only a wash basin and no loo although I must confess i peed in the basin probably about 4 times....the remote control to the TV did not function properly....and to top it all off the noise from the traffic was unbelievable...I had a room overlooking the Derby Road and there is no soundproofing whatsoever....was not a particularly happy camper the only thing that was good about it was it's proximity to the hospital...and of course Katerina.... if I was 30years younger lol

    I liked Katerina....the lovely Italian young lady who welcomed me in..the bed was quite comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 16, 2017

    7.9
    Very suitable hotel with excellent staff let down by shabby decor and incoherant interior design.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture needing upgraded as a bit shabby in lounge area. FloorTiling in en suite may need looked at in Rm 4. Slightly grubby bathroom with damaged partition wall. Coffee was a little too cheap and watery so spoiling the ship for a hae'penny worth of tar a bit.

    Friendly helpful staff. Comfortable beds and rooms with fresh linen and good selection of breakfast for all tastes and budgets. Very good value in the round and very close to university which was ideal for a short visit. Quiet hotel even though close to road.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 6, 2017

    6.7
    The building is quirky and homely, the dining area looked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No window in our room so we couldn't let any air in, only had an emergency exit door which was locked shut behind a curtain. I've stayed in much nicer places for the same money. Place could do with renewing (there was slight mold in the shower, rust on the toilet paper holder, bare pipes in the bathroom, dirty nooks and crannies etc) I'm not usually picky with things like that but considering how much we paid I wouldn't expect the place to be so run down.

    The building is quirky and homely, the dining area looked nice, but we didn't have a meal when we stayed. I liked the decor, it was quite old fashioned. It was about 20 minute walk to Rock City so it was convenient for a one night stay for a gig. The staff were really helpful and friendly. Free WiFi.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2017

    9.2
    Really friendly place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were brilliant and so very helpful. They were really proud of their hotel and wanted to share their enthusiasm for it . My sister and I really enjoyed our stay . The breakfast was really lovely . All excellent value for money .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2017

    7.9
    P&J Stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No thermostat on the radiator it was broken and missing. Light in bathroom had a life of its own on then off... No breakfast room or bar operational.

    Location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2017

    8.8
    Friendly staff, great location for Nottingham University and City Centre.
    • Family with young children
    • En Suite Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower door was broken and almost falling off. Useable, but could have been better.

    Friendly staff. Comfortable beds. Clean. Great situation for Nottingham City Centre and Nottingham University.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2017

    5.0
    Shabby and depressing, but clean
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor throughout was shabby and depressing. The top floor shower room was really unappealing. No bedside light in my room and the electrical point broken.

    The staff were friendly and accomodating. The rooms were clean and the wifi excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2017

    9.6
    Perfect!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The double bed squeakes a litlle bit.

    We stayed here for attending to a conference at the University of Nottingham. We arrived really late, 02:30am, yet they were waiting for us. I just loved this hotel!! Nice, clean and quiet. The room was bigger than I expected, has everything we need. The crew was really helpful, especially Daniel, thank you!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 17, 2017

    5.4
    Receptionist dedicated to improve the customers experience:)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hairdryer out of order, window either opened very wide or not at all, absolutely hot in the room on the arrival!!! TV remote sticky disgusting...bed cover dirty...pillows smelled of sweat...

    Receptionist dedicated to improve the customers experience:)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2017

    7.1
    Made me scrambled eggs as couldn't have the cereal
    • Family with older children
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Freezing cold - had to ask to put radiator on in February Light broken in room. Light broken above mirror in bathroom No toilet roll holder (just holes where it was)

    Made me scrambled eggs as couldn't have the cereal

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2017

    7.5
    Cosy and clean hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast was a bit dull.We were unfortunate to have been woken up by another guest who was crying and screaming due to mental problems and the police had to come.

    Nice big room and very cosy decor

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2017

    7.5
    Overnight stay
    • Solo traveler
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Constant noise from A52 - traffic throughout the night. So if you are a light sleeper request a room at the back of hotel.

    Friendly helpful staff. Close to the university campus

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2017

    6.7
    Clean comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • En Suite Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There were no coffee or tea making supplies when we arrived.They were given when we asked, but were not very generous. WiFi connectivity poor in the room so could not download maps etc.

    The room was clean with comfortable beds.Location a brisk walk from the city centre.Had a chintzy and comfortable style.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    7.1
    Cost was low quality of stay was good clean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shared Shower Facilities
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Free wifi didn't work when pointed out to staff, all they said was "yes it does that to me" offered no help I'm resolving the issue, only ever seen the same member of staff on all weekend covering reception, bar etc and her English was not the best, she didn't know the answers to simple questions

    Cost was low quality of stay was good clean rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse P&J Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: