Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UK hotel reviews
  3. Derbyshire hotel reviews
  4. Buxton hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of The Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa

Reviews of The Palace Hotel Buxton & Spa 4 stars

Palace Road, Buxton, SK17 6AG, United Kingdom

#7 of 8 hotels in Buxton

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5931 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.8

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Paid WiFi

    4.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2019

    7.5
    Had a lovely party but wouldn't stay there again due to disabled facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The disabled room...had no windows.....a shower over the bath which a disabled person was completely unable to use! and no heating in the bathroom so it was freezing

    The public areas were very good. The breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2019

    7.5
    Overnight in Buxton
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient booking, excellent location, good breakfast, no traffic noise but thought hotel rooms were a little tired - electric sockets coming away from wall, floorboards really creaked, floor in room was uneven.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2019

    7.9
    I would come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had dinner on one evening and it was very average. The gammon was severely over-cooked

    The heritage nature of the hotel The location Breakfasts good

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2019

    7.5
    General areas were great our room was disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was basic and too small and we were put in a room next to the heating/air con plant outside which was noisy all night, also our view was of that machinery/plant !

    Grand old hotel

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2019

    7.9
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated decor, room had a weird set up with the toilet. Unable to close toilet door toilet very hard to flush. Separate shower room which was OK. Only 1 chair in a double room and only 1 bottle of water with two glasses. Only minor details but will not be returning.

    Location was good

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2019

    7.1
    Really good only stayed one night but for such a grand place we did not feel out of place. certainly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    there were items in the bathroom that were broken the lock on the bathroom door was broken and. the flush handle on the toilet was broken you had to really fiddle with it to get it to flush.

    there were complimentary items in the room a really nice gesture.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2019

    8.3
    Excellent nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Excellent nights stay , from check in lovely reception, bar with piano player nice touch, room pool to check out . Would stay at the hotel again .

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2019

    5.0
    Was ok but won’t return to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleanliness of the room was very poor dirt around the taps and skitingboards very dusty No phone in room so room service was very challenging

    The location was great for all round activities. Breakfast was really good and tasty

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2019

    6.7
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit tired and windows stuck shut Made room bit stuffy kettle filthy changed if for one that didn’t work Then changed again for new one All in all ok for price Oh and a drink of coke at the bar is a whopping £2’60

    Location

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2019

    7.1
    Wouldn't pay a premium price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were clean and spacious but still seemed dated and cheap, the bed was very hard and uncomfortable, the room a decent size but arranged awkwardly, the TV blocked the window and the back of the dressing table which was in a poor lite corner with the kettle on it but not enough plugs for the kettle and hair dryer which made using it difficult, especially because all the teas and coffees where in the TV cabinet which i think would of been a clever use of storage if the kettle where plugged in there somehow. Also the bed side table had no plugs, there was an extension cable half-way under the bed that the bedside lamps were plugged into which made chargering phones very awkward especial considering the only other plug was occupied by the hairdryer/kettle. All in all I think establishment just needs updating and modernising, the dinner hall although large which gave the allusion of elegance with the piano player the colour scheme felt tacky and dated which ruined the allusion, the tables in the dinning hall were of poor quality, we struggled to eat breakfast without the table shaking also they looked like standard 70s style table which didn't fit the Georgian architecture, it wasn't a comfortable or well thought out space.

    Our room and the whole establishment was quite spacious, clean and gave a feeling of elegance although some parts fell dated or inexpensive. The bathroom in our room was a very comfortable size with good water pressure in the shower, a standard clean bath and toilet also a sink with enough space around the edge to use as a dressing table with good lighting. The location was very good! We came mainly for the brewery which was less than 5 five minutes just outside the properly along with many bars/restaurants and all the shopping amenities you could need within a small shopping centre and large Morrison's within walking distance also all shop owners welcomed us in and were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2019

    5.8
    Rooms were spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was overpriced and of poor quality. The car park is not large enough. Cars were left anywhere which made finding a space even harder. We had to park on a nearby street. The bed was uncomfortable.

    Rooms were spacious and clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2019

    5.4
    Glad I didn't pay the full rate ! Wouldn't stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food!

    The bed was very big which was nice...but very uncomfortable......didn't sleep well and had back ache from it. Only one pillow each! We ate in the bar...food was not good at all and cold!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2019

    6.7
    Lovely, warm but place needs some TLC - Breakfast amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Place really needs a good decorate, repair and general TLC. We come and stay about 10 times a year and every time it gets more and more run down, it's a shame as it it a beautiful place and the staff are great...

    Breakfast is always amazing but it was that busy by the time you got your food the table had someone else sat at it, the toast machine needs a good service and clean as it either warms the bread or burns it black...

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2019

    6.7
    Fine for the price but wouldn't stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we were parking we noticed a Rentokill crew going into the hotel! Not a good sign! The rooms were what we expected for the price - comfort room. But the breakfast was a bad experience. I queued for ages for a cooked breakfast because they kept running out of certain items and plates! My husband ended up eating alone while I was in the queue. Lots of food on offer but the long wait wasn't great. On the plus side the staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Excellent location - in central in Buxton with restaurants directly opposite the hotel

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2019

    6.3
    Hotel was probably amazing 100 years ago but it is in need of a refurb. Best bit was the breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (Standard Double) was VERY small and I would describe it as a compact rather than standard. Cheap flat pack furniture fit for student accommodation rather than a grand victorian hotel

    Nice breakfast, hotel was nice and the town is lovely

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2019

    7.0
    Nice size room for the money and a good location with ample...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room hadn’t been cleaned properly. They were feces in the toilet. Only one set of towels and only one pillow for the two of us. I mentioned the missing items on are way out at 2pm and they said they would sort it. We returned at 11pm and nothing had been done.

    Nice size room for the money and a good location with ample parking

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2019

    9.2
    Great place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed several times now and really love the place. This time I booked a room for my parents as well and they didn't have any shower gel in the shower, the toilet wouldn't flush and they couldn't get any hot water. My room was fine. Other than that great stay

    Excellent location, great value, friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2019

    7.1
    A grand hotel which has seen better days. Arrive with low expectations to prevent disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think minimalistic would be an apt word to use for this hotel. We had booked a double room but were disappointed to find that it had just one chair in it, When asked if we might have a second chair in the room, we were told that 'for health and safety reasons' this wouldn't be possible, even though the description of the room had stated that it would have a seating area. There was no handle on the outside of the toilet/bathroom door, and only one set of towels was originally provided. As we stayed over the Christmas break, the usual £5 per day hotel parking levy had been lifted, which was a bonus, but without prior warning, the spa and swimming facilities were closed for the two days of our stay. It was a curious experience. Some aspects of the hotel were good - location, exterior appearance - but others hinted at being a hotel that was struggling to be profitable. There were at least three coach parties in the hotel during our stay, which really stretched its breakfast facilities, with milk and coffee/tea mugs being in short supply on both mornings and only one choice of eggs (fried) available. The presentation of the cooked breakfast range was, overall, unappetising.

    The location of the hotel is excellent for exploring Buxton, getting around the town, and visiting the Opera House for a show.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2019

    7.1
    Great location but wouldn't pay a lot to stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool is very small and steam room broken whilst we were there On check-in not given any information about breakfast times, spa facilities or restaurant times - even though we hadn't already booked breakfast we could have been told times and cost as we did consider eating there but as this information was not easily available we went elsewhere Our room was right next to a generator of some sort which made noise intermittently at all times of the day and night

    Excellent location, right in the centre of everything

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2019

    5.4
    Location of hotel near to station and shops and the building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was tired bathroom was old & tap took 30mins to run bath hot water very slow no shampoo bed very hard and room cold due to small radiator separate w/c to bathroom with no basin!

    Location of hotel near to station and shops and the building was very impressive

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2019

    6.3
    Bring your cleaning products
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I walk into the room to find excrement all over the toilet I try to speak to some for over a day I had to clean it myself

    Great old hotel and a really good location. food was lovely I recommend the Sunday roast

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2019

    9.5
    A wonderful week-end break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our key-card was accidentally de-activated, so our room was not serviced that day. Not a big problem though.

    Very friendly and efficient staff (even lent me an umbrella when I found that I'd left mine at home).

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2019

    5.6
    Felt like a prison cell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was so small (235) you had to take it in turns to walk around the bed. The wardrobe was outside the bathroom door. Felt like we were in the store cupboard. Asked to move and were offered room 234, then told it was just as small. Have stayed here before and our bathroom was bigger than room 235. It was cheap but still very disappointed. Stain on wall above headboard. Used soap in shower.

    Location was good

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2019

    9.6
    Comfortable,clean,excellent breakfast.Good value for money and in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would have been useful to have some hooks on the back of the bathroom door to hang up towels(just a little niggle!)Also,we were able to manage the many steep steps leading up to the bedroom but anyone with Total knee replacements or arthritic knees would definately have struggled so it might be worth getting the staff to check with clients when booking in.

    Basic but comfortable room(although did have to climb 32 steps to get to it!)Everything in the room lovely and clean.Comfortable bed.Bottle of Buxton water a nice touch.Liked the generous supply of wooden hangers in the wardrobe.Breakfast was excellent and we found all the staff very friendly and helpful.Great location in the centre of town. Opera House and restaurants a 5 minute walk away.All in all,a great value hotel which we would use again.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2019

    7.5
    Good breakfast, comfortable lounge area and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeting from reception staff very poor. Breakfast staff disinterested. Otherwise a good stay

    Good breakfast, comfortable lounge area and value for money.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2019

    6.7
    Okay but wouldn't book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff seemed to be universally sullen. There was a distinct absence of any managers or senior presence. I felt like maybe this wasn't a great place to work? Breakfast was tasty but a bit disorganised. Big queues, no glasses at the drinks station and most of the drinks empty anyway. Room not so clean. Skirting in bathroom thick layer of fluff, same under wardrobes. Lots of disrepair, water/damp damage. Feels like company have done things on the cheap.

    The food was good. It's a lovely building and the setting is great Bed comfortable Rates were reasonable

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2019

    10
    A pleasant relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    £4.50 a day parking charge. Menu not available until mid afternoon. Paying twice as much for bed and breakfast as those arriving by coach with dinner included and no parking charges.

    Swimming pool. Grand Old hotel very clean but a little jaded. Extra pillows and blanket in wardrobe. Quiet. Polite staff.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2019

    7.5
    Breakfast buffet very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downfall was when departing we were informed a serious incident had occurred a couple of doors down where somebody had died

    Breakfast buffet very good

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2019

    7.5
    So busy the poor staff had barely enough time to clear...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So busy the poor staff had barely enough time to clear tables. Management need to look at the way they let people in to breakfast to ensure it’s a quality experience for everyone.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2019

    8.8
    I came to the palace hotel for confort & relaxation and thats exactly what i got
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In comparison to the entrance lobby and staircase the rooms are much more dated and in need of a spruce up My room 203 was a great size but the carpet was well worn the wardrobe was in need of a polish and one of the handles needs repair The pillows were old and hard (feather ones would be nicer) The bathroom could do with a spruce up Not many plug sockets (just 2 to be procise ) A nice cozy ambiance to the room -just in need of a goid spruce up done in keeping with the age and grandure if the rest of the building

    The building and grounds stand proud and grand and beautiful The grandure of the lobby is breathtaking elegant and indulgant Very welcoming and inviting and cozy A nice place to relax with a glass if wine and a good book I had room 203 which was advertised as a compact double but it was a great size-larger then the rooms on the wings which are advertised as doubles The staff are attentive and friendly The location is excellent Right beside the station and in walking distance to the shops the town and all the local sight seeing spots A tranquil elegant beautiful relaxing inviting place to stay

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2019

    9.6
    Excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious, modern and excellent value for money. A beautiful room and ensuite with little touches like, robes, toiletries, coat stand and modern furniture made our room feel more comfortable and luxurious. Staff were pleasant and friendly and we definitely plan to stay there again, especially as it is good value for money

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2019

    5.4
    Location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Low water pressure in the shower which took ages to run hot/warm. Bathroom could do with refurbishing. Room and bathroom rather chilly.

    Location is great. Good breakfast buffet selection.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2019

    7.9
    Very grand decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was far too hot. Heated towel rail had a mind of its own. Thought extra charges for parking and wifi was a shame.....but free use of the gym / pool was great

    Very grand decor. Magnificent stairs! Handy for town centre and getting in to peak district

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2019

    3.8
    SAVE YOUR MONEY AND STAY ELSEWHERE! AWFUL EXPERIENCE!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Save yourself the trouble and go elsewhere! Staff is awful to speak to, they gave us a room with NO TV. I had paid extra for a bigger room, and the room was tiny. Did not change our team either! RUDE STAFF - FOOD DISGUSTING!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    8.3
    Our room was very clean and the shower was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit of a trek to get to and quite small. The bed was very close to a low window and my husband cracked his head on the lintel.

    Our room was very clean and the shower was good. Good and varied breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    7.5
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived at 2pm and had to wait an hour before our room was ready, despite being told it would be 15 minutes. We would have been happy to go out and come back later, but were assured it would be ready soon so we waited. 1 hour later we finally got our room. This has never happened before, however, and will not put us off returning

    The beds are very comfortable and the size of them - huge!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    9.2
    Loved it .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area needs a refresh. Steam room could do with a light. A little confusion over having an evening meal one said order at bar she said order at restaurant then back to bar then told it might be too late at 7 50pm.. we were all ready to head off into town . But we got there In the end with a smile. Food was fantastic.

    Loved it . Its a very grand setting. very polite service staff. Nothing too much trouble the children did not want to go home and husband loved the relaxation. Smashing place will be returning in the summer

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2019

    10
    Superb location and excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Booked a compact double room and it was far more spacious than expected. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly, breakfast was of a very high standard a good buffet selection of hot and cold. Can't wait to return.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2019

    10
    Comfy beds, good size room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very warm, couldn’t regulate them. Bathroom a bit cramped in our second room and I could smell urine down one side of the toilet .

    Comfy beds, good size room . Staff very friendly, good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2019

    7.5
    Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disappointing breakfast - options not topped up quick enough and not enough choice anyway - not enough space for all the tables

    Comfy bed - quiet room - nice decor -

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2019

    7.5
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one complaint wasn’t able to be offered a robe for spa treatment .

    Beautiful place ,comfy room if anything a little too hot in the room but that’s not a complaint,lovely spa facilities,and value for money breakfast .

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2019

    9.2
    Overall I loved my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downfall I’d say is that a few things were dated and could do with renovating like some of the corridor’s awkward doors and the carpets. But overall it sill looked a fancy hotel with value for money.

    Overall I loved my stay. Very elegant and classy with a peaceful room and comfortable bed. The breakfast is an all you can eat buffet and is delicious! Will be staying here again soon.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2019

    7.1
    Great location, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was very busy and there was lots of noise from hotel guests late at night and early in the morning. Beds were quite uncomfortable.

    Great location, good value for money. Excellent spa.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2019

    8.8
    Lovely hotel within walking dostance of town for a friendly night out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely welcoming hotel which was nice and warm on a cold wet winters day. Easy walking distance into the town with lots of bars and restaurants to choose from. Lovely breakfast. We will return again.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    3.8
    The worst nights stay I have had in a hotel for a long time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in was NOT one of the compact rooms. The bed was so close to the bathroom door that when my husband was asleep at night with his feet hanging out of the bed I could no longer open the bathroom door. The mattress contained springs and you could feel every one of them, plus there was no mattress protector on the bed, only the sheet. When I opened the wardrobe the entire thing tipped toward me, since it had not been secured to the wall as all light weight modern fittings should be. All of these points were mentioned to reception upon check out. The bathroom was clean, but the sink was so small that you had to fill the kettle in the bath.

    The only thing that commends this hotel is the location. We have stayed here before and were bitterly disappointed this time round. Where in the past I would have recommended this hotel, I now would no longer do so - such a shame.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2019

    5.0
    Great locatiin, tired hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are tired and had insufficient heating for a December stay in the UK. The room didn't offer value for money compared to several alternatives.

    Externally the hotel is impressive,

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    7.1
    VERY DISAPOINTED ☹️
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Spa and pool facilities were CLOSED on my arrival ( the reason I picked the Hotel was in the title Hotel and Spa !!!!!! Nobody informed me that the pool and Spa would be closed during my stay .

    The location . 😊

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    4.6
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff attitude

    There was another couple in our room when allocated to us, key card wouldnt unlock the door, I had to insist that the room was re cleaned, staff were young and most unhelpful

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    9.6
    Lovely, relaxing stay with tasty breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't really like paying for parking as I think it should be in the price of the hotel. Also think the facilities should be in the price too and not an extra.

    Amazing location. We love walking around Buxton. The breakfast was lovely and the restaurant was beautifully declared for christmas. Our room had everything we needed.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    6.3
    Eventful last minute trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed and cleaner bathroom. More milk for coffee in the room

    Bed was shocking, legs were bent and wonky. Felt like i was sleeping on a slide. The bathroom was covered in hair. Felt like i was showering with chewbacca 🙄 staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    7.0
    Not at all bad but ROOM for improvement, literally!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small, disappointing room in characterless extension with a dreadful view. Rather unfriendly, long haired female receptionist who didn’t engage in a welcoming and genuine way. On checking out, I had to ring twice for attention and I felt as though I was disturbing her. Same lady on check in too. Toilets need a make over, rather shabby I’m afraid and the door into the main kitchen area is beyond battered, a coat of paint overnight would improve its appearance, it really does need attention. Breakfast was ok, sausages cheap tasting though, limited options, not worth £10! Beautiful Victorian hotel however steeped in character, location absolutely superb. A step back in time for sure. The pool and gym area looks great and is included, what a shame we forgot to bring our gear.

    Comfy bed, clean room!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2019

    10
    Ticked all the boxes for kids aged 10 to 19!!!!!!
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe the poss to have proper soap at the sink, including these freebies toiletries that make people happy when they leave. My room was quite old fashioned, but i did not mind , it was clean and quiet

    The style The way it brings us back to the Victorian times

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    10
    Very friendly reception staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY LAZY DINING ROOM STAFF Asked for more fresh grapefruit at breakfast. Took 10mins for dish to be returned ...buried underneath the grapefruit was a serving .. Very slow to fill dish up with bacon etc alot of empty dishes and queuing people

    Very friendly reception staff Got upgraded

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    6.7
    Worst room we have ever stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was definitely not worth the money! I know it was advertised as compact but it lacked a warm and inviting feel. There was only one bath towel and so I informed reception and asked for one to be left outside the room before the morning. At 8am there was still no towel. Not ideal when we paid £170 for one night. Would not go back. Everyone seemed very focused on the gala dinner but other guests matter too.

    Bed was comfy and room clean.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    8.8
    a beautiful stay in a beautiful hotel in a beautiful town, what more could you want?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was a bit on the hard side, but that's personal taste

    The room exceeded expectations, large, airy, light with everything you would need. The pool was excellent, and there was plenty breakfast to choose from, full english, toast, cereal, continental, etc.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    7.9
    The hotel is in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was really hot. Turned the radiator off and opened the windows and when we returned in the evening the temperature was bearable. At breakfast the food was good but the service struggled when busy. TIP - Take your own spoon!

    Room & view very pleasant. Location excellent! Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2019

    9.2
    Great location and comfy beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool steps broke as a lady was going down them, it was very dangerous and no maintenance on sight to fix them. We had to swim to the deep end holding the lady up as she couldn’t swim just so she could get out the pool. She was extremely anxious.

    Great location and comfy beds

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    9.2
    All in all we had a lovely relaxing time the rooms were very warm and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When completing my booking I was asked for Amy special requests, unfortunately my requests were not taken into consideration so I am a little confused why they put this question in their booking if it is not considered?

    As always we received a warm welcome from the staff team

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    6.7
    Bed uncomfortable, pillows to flat cleaner walked in room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable, pillows to flat cleaner walked in room while I was undressed saying we shouldn't be there after 11!! When we still had another night .So didn't have a very good night sleep so next morning just nodding off after a very uncomfortable night and fire alarm went off about 8oclock lol .however was a pleasant experience walking into the palace and we would stay again .

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    4.6
    left after 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was a disgrace and the waiter service.This would be much bether with a proper chef and better service with good customer service,instead off helping yourself to non discribable food.

    The building was perfect.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    5.4
    Ludicrously overpriced for poor accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plumbing system seems to date from the Industrial Railways era STILL. Very poor water pressure tepid water shower hardly working. Bath would have taken a lifetime to fill. Decoration in need of decoration. Lift slow and unresponsive. Bed uncomfortable. Price even for New Year a rip off at £210 - no breakfast in that.

    Not much. This hotel is VERY tired. Staff are pleasant but no more than that.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    4.5
    Does not warrant 4 stars rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Does not warrant 4 stars rating. Very shabby needs complete referb. Bedroom windows did not close properly gaps at bottom of frame. Bathroom very basic. Very overpriced for shabby 2star hotel.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    7.1
    Nice short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel bit dated, I would not rate four stars, toiletteries very poor in fact no toiletteries, bathroom tired, needs a bit of tlc I think,

    Good location, breakfast good, bed comfy, view from room great

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    5.8
    Location of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken every hour on the hour by Big Ben chiming nearby, we had no sleep, awful night. If it was Premier Inn that would have been 100% refund ! Restaurant food wasn’t hot, bar had no red wine and no beer ? Really !!! The hotel is tired and in need of major investment/refurbishment. Our bathroom was awful. Hotel lacked ambience and didn’t enjoy sharing with dogs !

    Location of the hotel

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2019

    6.3
    Excellent location to explore Buxton
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was awkward to access, up narrow corridors and tiny stairways making transfer to luggage difficult. Tatty and in a poor state of repair- loose steps, floor boards under carpet . The health and leisure facility was filthy, smelt of mould, broken floor tiles and a long cold slimy walk to and from the pool for the female changing upstairs. The surly reluctant staff here fortunately were not consistent with the pleasant helpful staff encountered elsewhere.

    Excellent location to explore Buxton

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing, friendly home from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What’s not to like? Plenty of hot water this time!

    Loved room 307. Quiet, quaint- not the biggest but really charming. Christmas decorations always look beautiful. Our 3rd visit to the Palace and we will definitely be coming back.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2018

    6.7
    Nice but grandeur faded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In need of an update. Needs more attention to rooms and not very clean. Ie soap not replenished, pubic hairs. Bed extremely hard with uncomfortable sheets. Rooms are small. Definitely not luxurious, as it looks from the outside.

    Good location, very large with nice breakfast. Staff good. Games room was a bonus.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2018

    7.1
    It was good value not sure if I would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bottle of water in our room was open and some was missing. I asked at reception twice for a fan as I was too hot in my room. The fan never arrived!

    The breakfast was nice, the hotel was clean. The cream tea was good.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2018

    6.7
    Location was superb, the entrance hall and staircase is very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a 4 star grand hotel such as this we thought the room we was given was very poor. Have stayed in better and cheaper B&Bs. The toilet was no bigger than a cupboard, tiles on the floor in the bathroom were all cracked and the room itself was located at the back of the hotel through a fire door all on its own so you really felt as though you was in one of the cheap rooms although I don't call £110 a night cheap. Evening meal menu we personally felt was poor, can't comment on the quality of the food as we went out every evening because of the poor choice.

    Location was superb, the entrance hall and staircase is very grand. Buffet breakfast was very good, you could fill up ready for a days walking.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    5.4
    For the price of the room it was poor, where the room was...
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price of the room it was poor, where the room was situated it was like walking to some cheap bedsit. The room was poor, with only one cup in a double room, and the double bed was two singles pushed together. I’ve stayed in better 3* for much less money.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    7.1
    Cleaner Heather was brilliant and tge bar staff too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not entirely suitable for disabled people but is manageable. Best thing woupd be to call the friendly staff and ask many questions before booking.

    Cleaner Heather was brilliant and tge bar staff too. The receptionists always did their best. The hotel IS DOG FRIENDLY although it doesn't say say on this on booking.com.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    9.2
    It was amazing and I cannot wait to visit Palace Hotel in Buxton again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit damp in the building led to unpleasant smells in the corridor but apart from that everything was perfect.

    The room was amazing the staff very helpful everything seemed organised amazing service for the amount we have paid!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2018

    3.8
    Never again...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was filthy, asked housekeeping to look, no one came. Parking extra, WiFi extra. Really was disgusting.

    Central location. Good breakfast. No other positives. I don't ever want to stay here again, yes it was that minging.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2018

    6.7
    It was Christmas and the staff did their best to make everyone comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The décor in our room ( executive twin) was very disappointing. The 'view' from our window was on to a rusting 'balcony' COVERED in old green moss. The bathroom desperately needs updating - old net curtains at the window, cracked floor tiles etc. I watched coaches bringing elderly guests with poor mobility struggle to enter the hotel doors - NO Disability access!? I think Britannia Hotels could do better and modernise.

    The staff were very friendly and polite. The initial ambiance and location good - short walk from the train station.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2018

    8.3
    Very well presented place, real sense of prestige on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Compact Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was on full blast on arrival, must have been 40’c and we almost asked to change rooms! Also, check out and breakfast on the website is out by an hour compared to leaflets in the room, made it very confusing!

    Very well presented place, real sense of prestige on arrival.

    Stayed in December 2018

Showing 1 – 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: