Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Palm Court Hotel 3 stars

St Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough, YO11 2ES, United Kingdom

#12 of 28 hotels in Scarborough

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 905 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    I have wanted to stay here for a while the Hotel Looked...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything waste of money

    I have wanted to stay here for a while the Hotel Looked beautiful and location great but was some what dissapointed . The room for a superior double was very small bathroom old and dated . Bathrobes old and dated . Nothing g superior about this room or facilities . The breakfast was shocking not cooked fresh the bacon and black pudding were brittle and environment unwelcoming with staff more interested about there breakfast than customers v Poor experience won’t be going again .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.0
    Very poor value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1.Dirty old and v stained bedroom carpet. 2. Bedroom window cracked its whole length 3. V dated decor 4. V overpriced for what it was 5. The sort of bedroom and bathroom facilities I would expect in any basic b&b

    1.Not a lot. But pleasant if jaded public areas 2.The parking

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic Yorkshire welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the pool was downstairs and tucked away, the steps into the pool are very narrow and not easy to use, for me anyway. the pool was not very warm but with the weather being good we didn't mind too much.

    the welcome and helpfulness was really good, our room was spotless. The breakfast was tasty and they do a vegetarian one. Good location. Car parking complimentary.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    A charming stay in pleasant surroundings
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    People smoking outside and the fumes blowing back into the lounge & reception area is the only gripe from me.

    A really pleasant hotel in a great location to explore Scarborough. I had a couple of drinks at the bar which were very reasonably priced so overall a comfortable stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall very pleasant, will definitely be staying here again shortly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was ok although not the comfiest we have slept on. Only one fault really there was a lack of ashtrays outside if you smoked, we didn't like to leave cigarette Stubbs on the floor so had to pick them up and find a bin when an ashtray would have prevented this.

    Staff were very pleasant, hotel clean and tidy, overall very satisfied will be back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel nice food very clean hotel lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got a ticket for parking outside car park whilst sorting my wife out council are very quick to issue a ticket beware of where you park

    Right near all thing you want to do easy access

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay and the two issues we raised with staff could easily be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    4th floor room was very hot. The windows would only open by 6 inches. Windows needed to open fully - add bars to the window for health & safety. No Vegetarian option available on the evening meal menu

    Friendly staff. Lots of choice for breakfast. Good location - near to the city centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Friendly family hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening meal was disappointing. Why do the staff in the restaurant wear black. More suited to a funeral than holiday hotel.

    The hotel was excellent. Staff very friendly. Very handy for walking everywhere ie Spa, shops, and seafront.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.2
    Will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very out dated and very over priced!! Noise from outside the hotel left us sleepless

    Down stairs in the property appeared to be well looked after and we’ll layed out

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    The first room I checked into was of average size more then...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing of note, no negatives to report

    The first room I checked into was of average size more then suitable for me for one night, I unpacked and went for something to eat, when I got back the room was red hot too hot to sleep in after speaking with the lovely lady on reception I was upgated again (bear in mind I had already been upgraded from a single room on check in 😀) to a spacious room with a king size bed!!! Loved it

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    6.3
    Very disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Overall it was very disappointing for the price. Our room was very, very hot, even when we arrived on a cool, cloudy afternoon. It also had a strange musty smell. Entering the room we were greeted by an enormous, nasty stain on the carpet and the nasty smell. The coffee cups had not been cleaned properly and one had a chip in it. Not what you expect for the price. We asked if we could extend our check-out time for a little and were asked what we were willing to pay - very strange way of doing things!

    The location of the Palm Court is excellent and there is a calm atmosphere to the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    The rooms were lovely & spacious and the whole hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were really lovely & roomy but were so hot! No air conditioning and only 2 windows that partially opened, could of really done with a fan as was quite uncomfortable to try to sleep in, especially in hot weather!

    The rooms were lovely & spacious and the whole hotel was a really nice standard. Would definitely stop again. Lovely location too. Staff very nice & friendly & plenty of parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay overall.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very hot and the window did not open, but they did supply a fan. Also the chair covers in the dining room, could do with a wash or get some new ones.

    Nice breakfast, and very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.3
    I had booked the hotel for just me and my wife to have a mini break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price was very high, I had booked the room for me and my wife but when we arrived we recieved a family room and were also charged for it also, was exceptionally high priced for the amount of people staying in the room. As much as i enjoyed the pool that was it and don't think I will stay again.

    The fact there was an indoor swimming pool, that's it really

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    As a last minute booking I shouldn’t have expected much but for the price it should have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very warm especially as it was just above a tar roof. Also, the shower was not consistently hot or cold. If there was water pressure it would have been a hot/cold unpleasant experience

    The staff were superb. Nothing was too much trouble. They were always helpful. Most importantly they SMILED

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.1
    Flying Scotsman rail trip to London
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Requested (when booking the hotel) soya to be available at breakfast because lactose intolerant but the restaurant didn’t have any so couldn’t have cereal. Also the car park outside the hotel is Council owned NOT Hotel.

    The restaurant was very good and the menu choice was different. Sorbet was on the menu which is great for someone who is lactose intolerant. The White Goods are used in the bathrooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Only there as a stopgap
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely poor ventilation Windows were locked and although there was a portable fan provided it did absolutely nothing We were staying on the hottest weekend so far this year and had poor sleep due to no air Suggest air conditioning or making the windows open a fraction

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    It didn’t meet my expectations I felt it overpriced
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was stained and dirty in my room The swimming pool was dirty around the edges and the covering was coming away in places

    The staff were really cheerful and helpful. The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    6.3
    Bed was comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dirty and decor not finished. Taps were labelled incorrectly so nearly scolded myself with cold water !!!! Window was our air con . Had to use something to keep window open. Hole in window sill for a radiator tap I think ?? Evening meal over priced for 6 chips, a sirloin steak and 4 onion rings .... no sauces?????

    Bed was comfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Every member of staff gave the very best in customer service.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor was a little dated, but comfortable beds and everything we needed. There was nothing we didn’t like.

    Every member of staff gave the very best in customer service. So friendly, helpful, relaxed and professional. The hotel was immaculate.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    5.8
    The staff were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we stayed in looked tired and in need of a revamp - although the reception area and bars are immaculate I felt the room let my visit down. For the price we paid for a weekend you don't expect to have stains on the carpet and walls in need of re painting.

    The staff were very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    Lovely accommodation and walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is nothing I or my party did not like.

    The breakfast facilities - great food and service. Nothing is too much trouble. The hotels central position in the town and the parking facilities (security and no parking fees). The hotel is very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    We loved everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view, overlooking the backs of flats.

    We loved everything. The staff were so friendly and the hotel was beautiful. Excellent restaurant and even had a swimming pool we could use. Close to shops and near the tram to get to the beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar opening bit later a night came back to the hotel about 11 30 pm ask for a drink but felt uncomfortable did dare ask for another

    All most every thing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Very good value with excellent location and free car parking. Wonderful locally sourced food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the chairs in the dining room were looking a bit old but did not detract from an excellent 2 nights.

    Excellent location with it’s own free car park. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant food was excellent and would certainly recommend to others. Huge bedroom and bed in room 12

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Bank holiday treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was perfect for seafront/ shopping/restaurants.Room was very comfortable and bathroom a good size and clean. Good breakfast choices. As soon as I arrived the assistant manager came out of the bar to check us in as the receptionist was already checking someone in. Housekeeping staff very friendly and not intrusive. Restaurant staff lovely too.Pool was a lovely bonus,nice and little ideal for a quick dip,don't normal use them.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Gordon and Kathryns review
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel, friendly staff, lovely room and marvellous breakfast.Will definitely stay again.

    Excellent location,close to town centre and beach, would highly recommend to my friends

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Very relaxed atmosphere the staff were always smiling and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whilst the restaurant was good they didn't change the menu whilst we were there at least they didn't change the menu outside the dining room we would have used it more I think if the menu had varied what we had was good though and the breakfast was really good

    Very relaxed atmosphere the staff were always smiling and welcoming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.0
    its a good job the weather was good on that day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room had just been decorated so the gloss paint fumes were noticeable, the carpet was very badly stained it needed replacing,you couldn't open the right hand wardrobe door because of the fixed wall light

    the breakfast plates were served so fast they were just dropped down and left ,the selection off the buffet table for cereal's etc was very poor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Larger bedroom and bathroom

    Bed was extremely comfortable, bathroom a little cramped but adequate, staff were very helpful and happy. breakfast was very good on all three occasions, had one evening meal in restaurant which was huge and one evening meal in lounge, both very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    Staff ok breakfast ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 49 is not suitable for even a single room I felt very uncomfortable and it just looked like a poor bed sit, £70 for b&b I wouldn't pay that for a week.

    Hotel was ok

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.9
    Hotel on Derwentwater
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Management looking to save money when you have paid a premium price for all found.

    Staff helpful, rooms clean, in a good setting, new restaurant very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    realy nice hotel one of the best in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all ok for us

    the staff are very polite and welcoming room was very clean and well looked after the breakfast was exellent and served very hot and as you wanted it and presented well the bar and reception area are superb would go back to stay again

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Perfect as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are always friendly and are always happy to help although it's an old building it is well maintained. It is close to town and the sea the only place to stay in Scarborough.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful but quirky, facilities excellent, staff friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with updating but it adds to the charm. Everything else was excellent.

    Beautiful but quirky, facilities excellent, staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast excellent with a good choice, highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.4
    Average for high prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed terribly uncomfortable. Worn mattress that dipped in the middle. Attention to detail lacking. Poor cleaning and poor maintenance of the room. Such as grouting in bathroom coming away. Flooring edges coming away. Carpet stained in bedroom. Hacked coving to allow for curtain rail. Awful smell of air freshener. Pool not fit for purpose really. Black grit all over floor of pool and paint around the pool coming off. Needed money spending on it.

    Friendly staff and beautiful building. Superficially pleasant ... just don't look to close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    lovely staff, room and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only comment would be that only one hot chocolate drink sachet and one filter coffee sachet provided for two people.

    Excellent location. Friendly staff and guaranteed parking a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was small and in need of redecorating. The carpet was stained and had the imprint of an iron in two places. It just wasn’t what we were expecting.

    Friendly staff and a good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Excellent location, close to town centre and the sea front.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, close to town centre and the sea front. All of the staff were very cheerful and polite. Room was very spacious and fulfilling of our needs. Can't wait to stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Next time we’re going to ask for a larger room, the one we had was fine, but we realised we need a bit more room and we’d ask for a lower floor.

    We did fill in a hard copy survey, but we loved everything! The staff were friendly and helpful, always professional, they are a credit to your organisation. The location was great , we will be back 👍😁

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Hotel lovely but wouldn’t stay again, too noisy due to a pub opposite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we were at the front of the hotel and there is a pub opposite so it was really noisy after midnight with people shouting when they were leaving. Not the hotel’s fault but it did affect our stay

    We received a free upgrade on the room which was a nice surprise. The room was spacious and the bed was nice and comfy. Lots of wardrobe and drawer space. Tea and coffee facilities were also provided. Staff were lovely and breakfast was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows on the bed not very nice far too soft.

    We stayed in room 17 it is known as a small double room but it was lovely and cosy and lovely and clean .The free parking is a great advantage the ,breakfast was lovely will definitely book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    5.8
    The food was really good and the staff were pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very dated considering how much we paid expected more. Swimming pool was in need of much renovation didn’t even want to get in it!

    The food was really good and the staff were pleasant

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.7
    Good breakfast Very convenient car park Good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed uncomfortable person in adjacent bedroom had serious bad cough kept my wife awake We didn't feel this was the hotels fault.

    Good breakfast Very convenient car park Good location Room nice and clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.4
    Served a purpose but not a good quality hotel. No way worth £150/ night. Location good and parking
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not dirty but not clean - Staff show up late, messed up breakfast when had to get to meeting Room was clean but nothing refilled on day two - no water, shampoo, biscuits.

    Good location and friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location, lovely and helpful staff, beautiful lobby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were quite small and dated. Our radiator was stuck on which made the room uncomfortable but this was resolved quickly. Think the hotel needs to refurbish their rooms to keep up with the competition. Across the road there is a popular chain hotel who are selling rooms with bigger beds, bigger baths, air con and more up to date facilities for less money. But I suppose your paying a premium for the service, which was excellent.

    Great location, lovely and helpful staff, beautiful lobby and restaurant. Breakfast was very good. Parking was included and very close by which is rare for Scarborough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Just the place for an enjoyable short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the evening meals were a bit pricey.

    Parking,breakfast and wifi, were all excellent. Room was good, we like the pool though we didn't use it this time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Superb town-centre hotel
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our only minor criticism would be that the hotel was very warm and we had to have our window open almost constantly, even when it was cold and raining outside. Not really a major problem, though, and it didn't even give us cause to report it. The hotel overall is excellent.

    Staff were absolutely fantastic, the hotel is in a great location and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff make this hotel shine, and the facilities are excellent. It'll definitely be our first port of call when we're next in Scarborough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Overall a very nice stay! Friendly staff, great room, will definitely be visiting again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was let down by the cooked breakfast in the morning, the poached egg was snotty, the black pudding was too chewy, The bacon was also poor. I didn’t hardly touch any of it.

    The bed was very comfy, the dining room and lounge looked 5 star quality. The front of the hotel looks very nice also. Loved the big bath!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Lovely relaxing break, in a genteel, well situated hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For us it was way too hot in the room, but housekeeping/maintenance came and opened the window for us, and showed us where to turn off the very hot towel rail.

    Superior King was lovely, massive comfy bed, ensuite, all the usual & table & 2 chairs, all clean and fresh. Nice pool, excellent staff, good food - a grand old lady with stained glass & chandeliers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Lovely Palm Court
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Palm Court is a lovely hotel. The rooms are cosy and spotless. The food is great and well prepared. The lounge is very relaxing and the service is fantastic

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    A lovely relaxing weekend looked after by excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music was very repetitive and some entertainment would be Nice especially on holiday weekends

    Staff are always friendly and attentive and the location and parking are excellent for my elderly mum

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing and not worth the money paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service wasn't the best, it wasn't worth the money we paid and certainly wasn't a family room we paid for as my 7month old baby was woken to music and karaoke till 2am. No lightbulbs in the lights and the lift was broken meaning we had to carry the pram up 2 flights of steps. Breakfast was shocking and half the things we ordered we didn't get and it took 10 minutes to get a high chair for my baby meaning my breakfast was cold

    I liked how close it was to the beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.4
    Would not stay here again! Not value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift broken, very noisy from inside the hotel and blaring pubs across the road till past 1am in the morning! Asked for a quiet room! Breakfast was an absolute circus, waited 50 mins after ordering and still had nothing! Left without any food! Receptionist not bothered! No response to my two e mails to the manager to complain!

    Good location and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    9.2
    The stay was very comfortable and a very nice room staff were great
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to move the car after checking out even though we were staying for the day and loads of our family still had rooms for more nights Hotel policy 😒

    The hotel is in a great location and has free parking for guest

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    One or two reservations but on the whole good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner in dining room poor,not much in salad or vegetable choice,I ended up with steak which lacked flavour. Lounge bar menu better

    Friendly staff, brilliant location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    5.8
    well well well
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    well it was not worth £180 hence why we got £15 back the rooms was not in par with how posh it was/looked downstairs there was only a handful of staff and they was morbid only two members that was very lovely room 17 windows were screwed shut no air con and very small and view facing brick wall so we got moved to room42 4th floor were the carpet was a state not even just a little the carpet needed replacing it was badly stained and smelly the decor is dated and the lift is very dodgy wouldn’t recommend using also the pool wasn’t very inviting meant to be heated but it was cold and chatty and the area was dirty there was no privacy guests from the lounge can see straight into the pool area and the changing rooms was like a cupboard also the dinner service was posh but food quality was poor and didn’t taste fresh also in the bedroom tea and coffee the milk pots was off and the staff didn’t check and see if you needed anything you had to ask and the temperature in the room was way to hot you could not stop the heat we had to jam the window with something to keep it open also our relatives room had pubic hair or male body hair on the bed sheets and poo stains in the toilet way over priced for a 3 star and the good reviews are the people that probably get paid to do them also for complaining about the carpet we get a free upgrade to a suite next time we stay with them but sorry we wont be returning rather stay at premier inn across the road

    it was lovely when you walk in and warm lounge area relaxing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    9.2
    A quality hotel in an ideal location offering excellent food and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner menu should be displayed better, ie like the breakfast and lounge meals menus. It should also show the price of the dishes.

    The location was ideal. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    I wouldn't stay again..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cooked breakfast was poor..looked like some of the food on the plate had been deep fried including the fried bread,looked like it had been sat on the plate for a while in a oven.said on the menu eggs were cooked fresh to your preference i found this untrue,fried eggs were hard.. Hot Buffet self service would be much better. also we were given misguided information on parking and had to pay £10 ..parking was free! But apparently we parked im wrong place...wheni asked the receptionist if this payment could be wavered she said she would ask the manager, i along with my friends waited in the bar area for a reply..15 minutes passed no one came..i returned back to reception where the receptionist was busy on her computer i asked did you speak to the manager she said..oh yeah it carnt be wavered sorry. Found all this a little unprofessional.

    The hotel decor really nice ...the location was perfect..the room was lovely.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, despite the weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only criticism was the broccoli (Sunday night dinner) which my wife could not even cut with her knife. Very disappointed.

    Liked the presentation and quality of the food. Comfortable bed. Good ambience/music in the lounge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    10
    Scarborough is a lovely resort, the “ Palm Court”, just makes it better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, next time I will choose a double room, only because I don’t like single beds

    A lovely traditional Hotel, which is very well maintained. The staff are all helpful, and well trained, the atmosphere is warm and comfortable. The food served in both the restaurant,and the lounge is first class. Hotels of this quality, which are independent,are rare in this day and age.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    8.5
    Great location, amazing breakfast, friendly staff, lovely and clean Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like.

    The fact that this hotel was in such a great location, walking distance to bars and restaurants, was ideal. The breakfast was amazing, Will definately be staying at The Palm Hotel again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    4.6
    It was that bad we came home after one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very very uncomfortable when the upstairs toilet flushed it sounded like it was coming into our bathroom and the window banged all night .

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Very good will stay again . Reception staff excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry wrong box see above. !

    All fine except the pool was uninviting and dark so we didnt go in . Not enough seating round the pool and it was used for storage in the evening which is fine but customers shouldn’t be able to see that through the piano bar window !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.1
    The fire alarm went off early hours of the morning I could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm went off early hours of the morning I could not get back to sleep therefore felt too tired and dangerous to drive back home so went to a friends to hve three more hours sleep on her sofa befire setting off. This leaving me less time with my children before travelling to London

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    We had a wonderful stay at the hotel, which is situated ideally in the town area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fire alarm did go off early dawn for brieflyhowever this was due to a guest who had been smoking in their room 😡 The only criticism I have was there were no mirror to use in the main bedroom to do hair, especially for women who use straightners etc. I would recommend large mirror to be placed at main dressing table.

    Our stay at the hotel met our expectations. Staff were attentive but not over bearing like we have had with previous stays at other hotels. Staff and management ensured our stay was a pleasant one. Cannot fault the staff at all. Our room was very clean and tidy as well as warm and comfortable. There was a great selection of breakfast to chose from, I would recommend the full English breakfast and the smoked Haddock with poached egg.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.9
    A lovely stay, just let down by the fire alarm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm went off at 6.30am but was a false alarm. Continued to go on and off for about another 30 minutes, we had a 6 hour drive home ahead of us that day, this made the drive extra exhausting. The stairwell for the fire exists was also partially blocked by a double mattress and an old toilet unit. Staff didn’t apologise or mention the inconvenience of the fire alarm incident when checking out.

    Live pianist in bar was lovely. Location is great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    7.1
    Great staff, ok property, lacking breakfast. Overpriced by about £45
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was only just big enough for the king size bed. It was lacking in grandeur. I expected luxury for the room rate. Didn’t get it. Breakfast was pitiful. One funny tasting sausage, two rashers of bacon and a tiny burst fried egg. Who eats black pudding as standard any more?!?!?!?!

    The staff were warm, welcoming and very approachable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    6.3
    ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room not great bit dated for the money 2 days no Weetabix pillows rubbish were so flat I thought the room would have been a bit better than it was

    front entrance looks real posh

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    They did enjoy there stay but would have liked to have used the pool but was out of use.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I paid for this weekend 10.02.2018 for my daughter and husband called in the weekend before and paid.03.02.2018 When my daughter arrived the respresention staff was not very nice they said it had not been paid and could not find any information that it had been paid. My daughter had the receipt but still the staff questioned them . This really upset myself and my husband we both wished for our daughter to have a good weekend and did not need this they both have hard jobs and needed a nice rest.

    Hotel very good near the shops and the car park was excellent. Food good also.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.3
    Not what it seems...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t that clean and toilet made a noise all night.. beds very uncomfortable not worth the £119 we paid for a night also the cooked breakfast wasn’t great .. would Expect more from this lovely looking hotel. Disappointed 😩

    Very nice decor and restaurant area was really nice.. great location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Conveniently central. Would use again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No information on radiator control. Car noises from huge car park roof beneath our window (alarms went off both nights!). Slow drip in toilet cistern - all night! Broken lights above basin.

    Hotel very quiet, bed comfortable, lots of choice at breakfast. We were upgraded from "small" to "classic". Good size towels. Convenient for the station and the Art Gallery.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    2.5
    3 star hotel more like a hostel I wouldn't give it 1 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants were stale and when they were replaced the waiter used his gloveless hands and not tongs my coffee cup had a ring stain inside and coffee stains on out side of cup the scrambled eggs were under cooked the bacon fatty sausage cheap hash brown cremated along with the toast the juice glasses were water stained not been dried the afrternoon tea was as bad they brought the finger sandwiches one was missing the chicken corination tasted like they'd added curry powder to mayo and had the mixture marks on the outside of the bread very unprofessional the tea was cold the cakes were fine but the rest for £35 for 2 ppl is disgusting I paid £119 for the room with breakfast it was only worth £50 and that's being generous

    the best thing about this hotel was leaving Worst night I've ever spent in such a hotel Would have rather stayed at faulty towers

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s going a little bit on the edges,it’s due a makeover. Evening meals far to expensive,their is too much competition around them to be so dear.

    Location excellent,safe parking,very polite staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived on the Sunday. My husband first checked out the tv, but it did not work. The room was small, the wardrobe doors did not open fully. But it was ok. We reported the tv when we went out, and said they would sort it for when we got back. We got back about 3 hours later. As we was walking along the corridor we saw the door was wide open and all the lights was on in our room. We checked the room plus the tv, still not working. I went down to the reception to report what had happened, she said they could not get the tv working. I asked why they had left the door wide open. She replied she did not know. So she asked if we wanted to move rooms, I said yes. So we did. The room was a family room much bigger room. We went I the bathroom and it smelt of old cooking oil. Don't think we will go back. The breakfast was very good and the staff was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: