Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parade Park

8,9,10 North Parade, Bath, BA 2 4AL, United Kingdom

#74 of 76 B&Bs and Inns in Bath

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1657 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.1

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    5.5
    It served the purpose and the breakfast was the redeeming feature.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The general decor is 'tired' and one had the feeling of a lack of upkeep. Lack of bedside lights and badly placed mirrors was irritating. For example, the mirror and shaving point meant standing over the toilet to use. The other mirror was placed at a height that I had to kneel to look into it.

    The advertised continental breakfast was very good and the cold meats were excellent. The staff in the breakfast room were very helpful. The bed was comfortable seemed in very good condition. Location is very good and it it is only 10 minutes level walk from the railway station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic location, brilliant staff and a quaint old Georgian building with loads of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (Double & Single bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would seem Friday nights are quite lively in the bar and the rendition of "Angels" being sung with rather more enthusiasm than tunefulness might have annoyed some. As it was, sent me off to sleep with a grin on my face.

    The staff were brilliant and the location excellent. The facilities in the room were clean if a little basic, but the hotel is a beautiful Georgian building with oodles of character. I intend to stay in this hotel again next year when I return to attend the Jane Austen festival as the location is so central you can get to almost all the notable places of interest on foot.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    2.5
    Total dump and waste if money
    • Couple
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place , dirty, scruff , and our dated

    Called 4 times in the week to make sure we had some where to change as we had a wedding at 1 pm and couldn’t check in till 3, we were promised they would find us a room, when we got there they had NO RECORD of our 4 phone calls and was offered a dirty public toilet to use, the place is not fit for purpose

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel, great location and super friendly staff
    • Group
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a tad small but value for money. Maybe add croissants and choc spread to the breakfast menu :)

    I’m am very happy with this hotel I use the same hotel on my annual visit to bath as the staff are so friendly and helpful and it’s a great location. I only booked for two nights and wasn’t expecting the maid to clean the room in between days so was happily surprised when she/he did I was a little embarrassed I had left it a tad messy as wasn’t expecting anyone in. Superb service and cleanliness. Will be booking this hotel again for next year.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    The hotel was very central so made sightseeing easy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room although described as budget didn't have bedside lights.,no proper mirror generally extremely basic.

    The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was very good and with good variety.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.6
    The central location, friendly staff, crisp white linen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little difficult, as I am a vegetarian celiac. There was fruit and cheese, however.

    The central location, friendly staff, crisp white linen. I was particularly impressed by the courtesy of the staff and will certainly be coming back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    6.7
    Was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a 3rd floor room with no lift (is not a modern building) and the aspect of the building wasn't as nice as we expected. Room was ok but not worth the price we paid.

    We loved the staff, always kind and helpful! The location was really good and the room was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    a very pleasant reasonable hotel in excellent position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower & bathroom facilities bit small. Breakfast rather basic.

    Bed was comfortable. Plenty of coffee & tea in rooms. Lovely view. Extremely convenient situation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    The location - perfect - overlooking Parade Gardens (and the...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better - but staff were excellent at breakfast and elsewhere. Provide egg cups!

    The location - perfect - overlooking Parade Gardens (and the house where Wordsworth stayed).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.6
    Couldn't Wait to Leave
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unclean and uncomfortable. Aging building, shabby furniture, ill-equipped, and multiple flights of stairs. The shared bathroom was repulsive.

    Central Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    5.8
    Old hotel (needs to be renovated) but centrally located to Bath downtown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room En-Suite (3 adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old rooms and bathroom equipment. Hotel needs to be renovated.

    Centrally located 2 min away from Bath downtown. Nice breakfast room with continental breakfast (no British breakfast).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all for the price. I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom.

    Friendly and helpful receptionist and staff. Lovely barman offered to carry my heavy case up to the 3rd floor. Very good and generous continental breakfast buffet. WiFi and TV worked which is always a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    6.7
    Excellent location, good breakfast,lousy room, not what we saw online
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we slept in was nowere near what we were shown in the booking site. Small,with a very small double bed and a miniscule shower booth

    The breakfast was plentifull and well served.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.9
    Location was very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was really poor. No vegan options at all. Nothing fresh. I booked for 2 doubles and a child but they had no room for the child so i had to upgrade. This costed me 25 pounds which is not terrible but anyway was not due.

    Location was very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice place, great location ... but do something about your neighboring club people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (Double & Single bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two things: steep and narrow staircase (no lift, since the building is historic), which was expected. Which was completely unexpected, is VERY LOUD noise under our windows in the dead of the night (betwwen 1 and 3+ a.m.). Turned out, there is a night club in the building, and at some point a lot of its patrons go outside and yell there at the top of their lungs. Therefore, don't expect to sleep much there.

    I reserved a triple room, and by the pictures shown in Booking.com assumed there will be 2 beds in one room - one queen and one twin ... which wouldn't be great since we (my husband and I) traveled with a grown-up daughter. We were pleasantly surprized to find our accomodation to be a 2 rooms turned into a suit, so everyone had enough personal space and privacy. Although, why didn't the website say so? :-) The roms were spacious enough, the breakfast was good, the location is just great!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Great central location for all the amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were unprofessional throwing drinks at each other and getting into a brawl!! Not the behaviour you expect at all. Also as the bar is open to the public as well as the residents there were some drunk people being loud and even one gentleman screamed in myself and sister in laws faces before being asked to leave by security!

    Great central location for all the amenities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Convenient location in the centre of the city with easy access to the places we needed to visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay extra for a ground floor room (required for mobility restricted guest). No parking available without paying quite high charges in the public car park. Not a great place for the disabled. The dining room was up on the first floor with no lift which meant that I had to climb stairs which is very difficult for me at present. The staff did offer to give us breakfast downstairs in the bar but as it was self-service this would have been difficult as we didn't know what was available. The breakfast was very basic and meagre and the service was quite slow. Noise from building work and lack of privacy at rear.

    The fact that our room was on the ground floor and that there was a bar in the hotel. The location in the centre of Bath was very convenient. It turned out that the staff had put us in the wrong room but as we didn't want to move after unpacking, they changed the arrangements to let us stay in the same room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Go back in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy position on the street but we had wanted to not climb stairs... so I guess there was a trade-off there.

    Ambience.. historical connections of all sorts.. position...lovely big space.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    5.8
    Excellent location but the interior is too ordinary for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property needs a makeover and no lift means stairs are a challenge for anyone with mobility issues. Perfunctory toiletries.

    Central location with convenient parking nearby. Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    5.0
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    £100 for single bed on roadside with no sound proofing. Stains to bed sheets. Hotel quite tired and in need of rooms and bathrooms painting

    Friendly staff. Comfortable bed and continental breakfast was alright

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is beautiful and good location but noise at midnight
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 single Beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed there on top floor on 25/7/18. It was unprecedently hot. We had to open the windows. No lift/air conditioner. Noise during the midnight by a bar on G/F and woke up at 4 am by lots of seagulls and pigeons.

    The hotel is old but clean and beautiful. It is next to Pulteney Bridge. Walking to Roman Bath Museum and Royal cresent is about 12 to 20 minutes. Staff was nice and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    The location is fantastic, walking distance and really close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel in general has a slightly run down feeling, our bedroom window had a crack in it, the toilet didn’t always flush first time and the bathroom was a little small for my boyfriend who is 6 foot tall! Breakfast was adequate but it might have been nice to have a few more pastries for people who prefer sweet breakfasts. However in spite of the little things I would still recommend the hotel, the location really is outstanding and we were comfortable there.

    The location is fantastic, walking distance and really close to the train and bus station as well as the Roman baths and Bath abbey! Our room had a beautiful view of the abbey and the gardens and river. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby and a late opening supermarket near the station! The bed was comfy and towels and hot drink making facilities were offered as promised in the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.8
    The location & the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked the property due to the location and that the property was undergoing renovations. The property and our rooms didnt appear to have any work done on the them for 20 or so years. The wifi wasn’t working for the whole stay. The window was full of dirt and was disgusting. The room was extremely small not big enough for one person let alone two. The bath mats they gave you where paper legit the stupidest thing I’ve seen. The where only stairs which sucks when you have heavy suitcases going up 4 sets of stairs & the railings where ricci

    The location & the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.4
    Great spot but very basic
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot room with no air con and no fan offered. Had to ask for a tiny oscillating fan. Wifi doesn't work 90% of the time. Hot water failed on second day.

    Friendly folks Amazing location Good value

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.8
    140 pounds for the night which was very expensive for what I got. Overall it was okay, no frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived early, I was attending a wedding that day, there was no reception area when you walk in, I had to ring a bell and a gentleman came to meet me. To be fair they offered me a room to get ready which was very kind of them. The room was clean but very small and the bathroom really needs some TLC. I had a cold shower that morning, when I got out of the shower a note came under the door to apologise, the boiler was broken. There was no access to water, it would be beneficial if they provided a water cooler in a communal area.

    The hotel is in an excellent location convenient to the centre, roman baths and the famous Sally Lunns Buns. The exterior of the building is beautiful and overlooks a fabulous park.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.9
    The bedding was very high quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was hot, did get a fan from the reception. Couldn't open the windows in our room because of fear of pigeons on the roof getting in. Minor thing.

    The bedding was very high quality. The bed was comfy. Property needs a little TLC on the shared areas. Great location. 24hr parking at the cricket club just a couple of minutes walk away from hotel, £15 for 24hrs. Good hotel for the price. Did not have breakfast so can not comment.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    6.7
    Ordinary sleep with no Fan or Aircon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Aircon or even a fan. Noise from street as windows needed to be open. No mini fridge. No lift only stairs. Older persons with luggage is difficult.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Atrocious view from the room and construction work
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Apart of these 2 positive facts, the rest is awful. First of all, there is a huge construction work going on in front of the hotel, so you will be woken up really early. Due to this construction you have an atrocious view from the room (at least from room 15). I do not know why but I could not sleep because of the gulls making a loud noise from time to time. Check in time is 3 p.m., which is too late in my opinion. No AC or fan... There was no internet until I asked to reboot. Coffee is bad, too waterish.

    The hotel is conveniently located close to the city center. Bed is comfy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    5.8
    Location is great., but don’t expect a palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (Double & Single bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This beautiful building just requires a bit of TLC . It a beautiful building on the outside , but rooms could do with painting, now furniture and bathrooms.

    The location was very good. It’s in a lovely position.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    My family and I were very comfortable and well taken care of. Thank you for a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room En-Suite (3 adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was mediocre ... Personally, I would have liked my eggs done on the spot to my taste and there could have been a variety of meats ... But on the whole, it was a good simple set-up.

    Everything was superb! Angie and George were helpful and very forthcoming.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.4
    Convenient, clean, pleasant, certainly not luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    3 floors up with no lift. Room small with eaves so partly unusable. Tiny washbasin in room and shared bathroom.

    Staff were friendly and accommodating

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.3
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was insanely noisy until at least 2-3am. There was a heat wave but the shower was pre-set to hot so it was not ideal.

    The location is amazing. The breakfast awesome. The bar downstairs great. The room lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    3.3
    VERY disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't think I would recommend this hotel as a place to stay for a number of reasons: There was no lift in the hotel ( which we were aware of as stated in the hotel description on website) and we were placed on the top floor. If you have heavy luggage, be prepared for a hike up a mountain of stairs! We were placed on the top floor and given a small attic room ( which was more like a large linen cupboard) The bed was clean but the room was not and the place was very run down, the whole hotel needs a TOTAL re-vamp. Very noisy due to slamming of doors from other guests & work being carried out, outside of our window by workmen. The room was very hot, and even with the window open, the humidity and heat was too much - we were not offered a fan even though we had booked for two nights. We were aware of a shared bathroom. However, the size of it was sooo small and the cleanliness of the bathroom was shocking, the shower looked as though it was about to break! After one night, we decided to check in at another hotel, upon leaving we expressed our concerns and how disappointed we were and tried to ask for a refund as we were not impressed with any of the facilities - The lady on reception was very rude, not helpful and point blank refused us or would even consider a refund. Zero customer service.

    The location of this hotel is ideal, only a short distance from the centre, train station, bus station, bars and restaurants and the tourist attractions - Roman Baths We were greeted by a lovely gentleman, we were allowed to leave bags until check in time so we could go off for a few hours to explore.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.5
    Location excellent rooms good, clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    . Breakfast awful continental is ok if the ingredients are quality, tinned fruit salad greasy cooked meats tasteless fruit juice is not what I expect for £94 single room. It really let it down for me

    Location excellent rooms good, clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely and helpful staff .Basic accommodation
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not keen on a single bed. No armchair. Overlooked main road and bus stop, so very noisy.Room and bathroom were just adequate but tiny!

    Helpful staff, great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    2.9
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Run down building smelly and dirty carpets curtains decor very poor very noisy windows rotted and kitchen poor standards, couldn’t shower due to mould unkept need refurbishment yesterday. Seagulls need shooting

    Location and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.9
    Good for a short stay this hotel is in the perfect location for seeing the sights of Bath.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room En-Suite (3 adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The ensuite is far too small for the size of the room. This needs to be much bigger. Drying yourself once out of the shower was only really do able near the toilet. Just not enough space especially if there are 5 of you in the room! A big shelf to put your toilet bag on would also be good as there is nowhere to put this. Black out curtains would also be good as they are far too thin and one above the door window in Room A would be good as those sleeping in the upper part of the room gets woken as soon as the sun's up. Not that this is a fault of the hotel at all, but the Seagulls never sleep...soooo noisy throughout the night!!! Tea & Coffee in room provided although there was a dirty saucer left in the pile of clean ones.

    The beds were comfy, plenty of clean towels too. Wifi was excellent & free. Room A (family room - down in the basement area) was huge, 4 beds sleeping 5 easily! (1 double and 1 single in lower part of the room and a further 2 singles in the upper part ...2 steps to get to this area and ensuite) Tea & Coffee available in the room. Able to store luggage FOC for you after check out until needed too was very useful. Continental breakfast was fine, choice of cereals, fresh fruits, fruit juice, cold meat, and boiled eggs. Lots of bread for toast etc (maybe adding croissants/danish pastries would make it even better. Location was perfect, beautiful view of the Abbey from the breakfast room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Great to be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place could do with freshening up, but that’s not a big issue in my opinion. They cover the important things well...

    This is a laid back hotel, friendly staff and a great location. It’s slightly quirky, which I love and they always look after my bags on the day of check out, so I’m not lugging them around...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Great comfortable stay in a fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small double rooms were very small and hot in the summer weather. A lot of money for the size.

    Beds were super comfy and clean. Bar was a fantastic place to have a drink and staff all very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    5.0
    Excellent location in centre of Bath old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room En-Suite (3 adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building. Somebody else’s rubbish left under bed (not cleaned properly). Ancient bathroom. Very pricey for what it was.

    Excellent location in centre of Bath old town. Large spacious family room (suite)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Fun and busy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking. Parkingin Bath is aweful. We found the cricket ground, over the river was the best place.

    The staff were amazing! We initially had a room on the 3rd floor, but a recent injury made it hard for me to get up the stairs. Even though it was a busy time, they found a ground floor room for us. We were so grateful. Loved the location, close to the Baths, and shops.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    I really am glad I booked here. Breakfast was the best. Thanks so much
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I coped with the stairs ok leaving my main luggage in the office.

    Super night staff and breakfast. Thank you so much. Restaurant on the corner was close and excellent. Super location. I left my luggage

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    4.2
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room En-Suite (3 adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to stay in the basement ( cellar) the carpet was dirty and it had many holes in it, the walls were full of dirty patches, the wifi wasnt working at all, at the time of booking has told us that our room will be in the basement the pictures of the room were very different to how it looked in real life The windows were looking at a very untidy awful backyard

    The location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Best location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too hot in the summer, they could install air conditioning

    Best location! Close to everything! Good value for money. Try to get a room thats not at the top ( many stairs....)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    4.6
    Overrated!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the word go it was old, run down, stuffy, cramped. The floir in the room and therefore the bed was not level. No fan in the room. The curtain was hanging loose, the noise at night coming from the bar was loud etc.

    Location and the breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Met most needs adequately.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room En-Suite (3 adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outlook was not good because there were building works next door. No fans and the room got very hot as it was very warm when we visited. No parking provided, though paid parking was available a block away from the hotel.

    The breakfast was good with plenty of choice and plenty of room. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    6.3
    very hot and sticky.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was up three flights of stairs and had shared bathroom, I was aware of this when I made my booking. Didn't quite realise that if you weren't the first to use the shower in the morning then the whole room would be flooded. It was also incredibly warm, no air conditioning and room backed onto active construction site.

    Location was Bang on for the train station and for my business meetings, after a long day pulling my luggage around finding the hotel just round the corner from the Station was ideal. Also super close to pubs/restaurants

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t really blame the hotel for the extreme heat we experienced but the room was sooo hot...unbearable...a proper stand up fan would do the job.

    Great location..staff were lovely..asked if we wanted to leave our bags for the day After check out..breakfast was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    This stay was pleasant enough, the beds were nice and the room was extremely clean although tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (3 single Beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is very tired and in bad need of refurbishment although I understand this may be happening. The facilities are poor because the rooms are just not up to standard you would expect for the price.

    The beds were lovely and comfortable and the gentleman on reception was very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.4
    Noisy and hot
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise outside from drunk people No air con I was faced with choice of opening window to hear drunken revellers or close window and be very hot and uncomfortable. There was a set of earbuds left on bedside table which were either from previous stayers or from the hotel itself as a pre emptied be measure .... As was so hot I chose open window but as s consequence had only 3 hours sleep so awoke in morning exhausted.

    Friendly, polite staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    5.4
    It was very noisy outside being a Monday when the students are lively into the early hours. And Engl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There decor in the room was awful! !!and the open loft door outside our room was a bit creepy.

    The bed wasn't comfy and then shower was nice and hot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    4.6
    Don't expect much sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty, rotten wood on the windows nice outside, construction site which I was told about plus noise inside could hear next door walking around taps on ect.

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    We loved the proximity to so many of the Bath tourist attractions, and the resulting vibe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (3 single Beds)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    External factor - fair amount of traffic and construction activity noise.

    The friendly helpful Management and Staff who solved a problem with the accommodation quickly and effectively and led to a comfortable and enjoyable stay of 4 days for my wife and myself..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Parade park top place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike everything was top notch couldn't find anything wrong with parade park

    The location was ideal for the reason of my visit the fact it had a decent bar helped too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location value priced traffic noise is a problem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The downtown location plus the lack of AC means that you have to open the windows to get any cool air means that you have to contend with road noise

    Location on the river near the center of town is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    Our stay was comfortable. The room was lovely and clean and the situation of the hotel was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was a little basic. There was no choice of a cooked breakfast.

    Thus hotel was in a perfect location to be in the centre of Bath and not far from the station.so we could walk to it. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    central location, clean comfy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    horrifically noisy due to location over bars, warm night had to have windows open and was kept awake until 4 am by the noise from street level drunks. probably less of an issue week days but I stayed a friday and saturday . I slept for less than 4 hours both nights, so value for money not good for this reason.

    central location, clean comfy rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    6.7
    If you are looking for very modest accommodation that places...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    refer above for full summary

    If you are looking for very modest accommodation that places you in the heart of Bath, then this place is for you. Best for solo travellers. I stayed in a single room and it was very compact, but then again it was not unexpected. Shared bathroom facility was convenient enough.....clean and functional.....two bathrooms located not far from room. Breakfast was brilliant. For a budget accommodation i was suitably impressed with the quality of choice.....and plenty of it.....Happy travels

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    6.3
    Luckily it was a one night stay. Location superb but I'd stay elsewhere next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms tired, in desperate need of updating Double room tiny 5 beds in the family room not 3 as advertised so we could've saved loads as we were a party of 10 - not impressed

    Beds were comfy and spotless Good continental breakfast Perfect location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    It was OK but there are still lots of improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room En-Suite (3 adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed covers was not changed for 5 night's and the family room was ok. There are places for improvement's.we were luky that the room was OK.

    The bath was clean and there was no mess.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    3.8
    Do not stay there!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When in our room. Every time someone had a shower water would run down by our window and got all my stuff wet that was on the window sill. And it stunk of toilet. Would not ever recommend this place to anyone not worth the money. Need cleaning and updating. Disgusting!!!!!

    The beds were comfy

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    My stay was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - there was a very poor selection. They really need to add more like bacon, sausages, oranges, apples, grapes etc.

    Great location! It was right near the Roman baths and the city centre. Its only 15 mins walk from the train and bus station. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Location amazing, room better than expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four-Poster Room En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs -we were on the 2nd floor and it was hard work getting suitcases up the stairs with no lift. Very basic breakfast included.

    Location amazing, room better than expected

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had three rooms for our group and one of them was quite musty and damp smelling. Room 26. But its probably down to the age of the building.

    Fantastic location. Just 5 mins walk from railway station, Bath cathedral and an array of shops and restaurants. The beds are comfortable and clean. The bathrooms and furniture are a little dated but the location makes this hotel perfect for a weekend in Bath.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    The bed was comfy and the linen very clean as was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room En-Suite (3 adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was very tired and in need of updating - but we only wanted it for somewhere to sleep - so didn't bother us. They couldn't serve us with a nightcap after 11pm in the bar!!

    The bed was comfy and the linen very clean as was the bathroom. The location for the Bath Festival couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    5.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Getting to the room was the down fall. It is a historic building which explains it but......going up 6 flights of stairs with suitcases was a nightmare.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    Location, location location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bathroon was very basic, more like an economy hotel, but the beds were comfortable, and the room was clean, and because of the location and price, it was a good value overall. I would stay here again.

    We had a great view of the park from our window, and we were only two blocks from the Roman Baths and Abbey, which was perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    4.2
    Good, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room En-Suite (3 adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a place you would want to spend more time than needed. I wish I could call this a time capsule of good old British hotel charm - but, to be true, we found it uncomfortable, shabby, and overpriced.

    Good, central location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.0
    Very unpleasant to walk past the two communal bathrooms when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unpleasant to walk past the two communal bathrooms when going to our room. Bathroom doors and toilet lids always open. Not nice to look down into a toilet when walking down the stairs!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.1
    Good value given location, price and breakfast but building in need of repair.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is in need of repair but it is an old building. No lifts and we were on 3rd floor.

    Close to city centre. Breakfast was quite good. Price was good. Staff friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    I loved Bath and this hotel stay made it excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - En Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bad noise in the middle of the night, repeated next day. I got a staff member to come up and see what it was. It was the heater vibration making a terrible moaning noise about 90 Decibels! Please fix that up.

    The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Great location - great staff - great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weak and temperamental wi-fi. Be aware there is not a lift - many stairs - didn't mind this - but be aware.

    Comfy bed, clean room, good bathroom facilities, friendly and helpful staff, filling and tasty variety of breakfast options. Quiet room - excellent location in town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.3
    Simple, period accommodation with basic amenities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy as room faced busy road, no lift/disabled access, only one plug socket (that we found), poor breakfast choices (we choose not to eat there), run down, slightly mouldy bathmat

    Period features, shutters on the windows, ear plugs provided, fantastic location, helpful receptionist, spacious room, fold-away luggage support wardrobe with full length mirror and hangers, dresser, tea and coffee in room, comfortable beds, extra blankets available

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Comfy, accessible and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room En-Suite (3 adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was adequate but I would have preferred a cooked breakfast.

    We booked a family room as there were three single adults and the room was excellent. One double bed and three singles as well as an en suite. Very comfy beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Friendly but basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the stairs, very small shower, hard pillows, no bedside light.

    Ask for a big room on the second floor. Small double is very small in the attic. Lovely staff and great location. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: