Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Park Head Hotel & Restaurant 3 stars

13 Park View Terrace, Bishop Auckland, DL14 8QB, United Kingdom

#1 of 3 hotels in Bishop Auckland

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 544 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No biscuits in room prefer them to a shower cap I won't use. Carpet dusty/dirty around the edges. Breakfast 1st morning partly inedible due to rancid sausage served that morning. When the issue was raised I felt no one knew how to deal with complaint.

    Food available til late Secure parking facilty.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were clean and comfortable but a little dated and worn out! The cereal choice at breakfast wasn’t very varied for my liking!

    Staff were very friendly and helpful! Large car park, and rooms easy to get to! Cooked breakfast was good!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is very friendly, helpful, and kind. Greet very well. Welcoming and make us feel special. Look after my dad very well. Special thanks to tony and staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very ordinary. The bacon and sausage were a bit cold, and the orange juice wasn't actually juice.

    The staff were great, really helpful and friendly, and went above and beyond.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a king size bed as that is what we are use to do not much room otherwise good

    Went to visit friends nice hotel restaurant quite good very friendly staff and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally we felt that the building was shabby and could have done with a lick of paint and updating. The bathroom was in a poor state of decoration. Also the hot water was never really hot.

    Staff were excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, I had rung ahead to say we'd be late checking in and they were fine about it. Decent breakfast, comfortable & quiet room. Not far from all the places we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar selection(drinks) very limited. A strange "buy one get one free" in the restaurant which was not really very helpful for a single guy! And a lot of guests were on their own(on business?)

    The staff were friendly and as helpful as they could be.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We only stayed the one night but the staff made us more than welcome. The room we were given was very clean and more than I was expecting. We only booked a twin room and were given the family suite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a lovely hotel and a pleasant surprise. Staff were lovely and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. Definitely recommend. Food was delicious too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were moved from a lovely room in the main hotel to one on the court yard when it was remembered that we had a dog with us. The second room was adequate but not as nice as he first room offered to us. There is a presumption that you do not want a nice room if you are travelling with a dog but having travelled extensively in the Lakes region with our dog we have not found this to be the case there. There was a lot of noise from creaky floorboards above us as we were in a ground floor room The self serve breakfast was not fully available when we arrived at 9am (it is served until 10am). There was no hot water left for tea, no brown bread and some of the hot items were not available.

    Good location for travelling between Northumberland and Leeds. The shower was good and the room was warm and secure.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room hasn’t been updated from the eighties. The shower took 5 minutes to get warm and by that time the bath had filled with cold water which didn’t drain as there must be an issue there. My chips that came with my burger were not cooked properly and the brioche bun was slightly burnt. The mattress was quite thin too. Breakfast was ok. But the cost was low so maybe that is the rub.

    The cost was low and it’s proximity to Durhamgate. Car park is good too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    the busy roads nearby did not bother me at all once i had entered the grounds of the hotel,however if cycling there like me take care. i kept to paths and it was OK.

    cycle racks,layout of courtyard and the relaxed atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cannot think of anything that would have made my stay more enjoyable.

    Friendly cheerful helpful staff. Lovely comfortable, clean, warm room. Delicious breakfast, exactly what I requested.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast, lovely room but could do with a new carpet. Some previous occupant must have decided to put a hot iron on the carpet!! Some people have no respect. Shame the weather wasn't better cos it would have been lovely to sit out in the "court yard" area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Set up for breakfast was a little podantic. Sat over the top of people rather than being able to choose where to sit. Bought two gins at the bar staggered to find out the cost of £20 .

    Clean room , nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows, heating could have been better, room numbering method gives a poor impression, walk in the rain from the rooms to the hotel

    Good friendly staff, convenient location, excellent food, good facilities, good size beds, plenty of parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But bedroom was very ordinary with cheap wooden furniture, bathroom was a bit old, cheap shower curtain, not obviously clean worn looking shower head. Kettle and tea making OK but no adjacent plug for it! Good TV but remote was missing battery cover, a minor fault but it meant it didn't always work reliably.

    The welcome and aid with decaf tea on arrival at 10pm was super. The court yard is very nice. We did not have any food or drink so cannot comment on that or the main building.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a problem with our room, the staff were very helpful and gave us a choice of two different ones. We moved and were very comfortable.

    Staff extremely helpful. Lovely room, tasty breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had broken springs a dodgy bed head that needed resecuring and the mattress had dips and hollows that wasn’t comfortable. But this was the only thing that was below par.

    The staff! Fantastically friendly and helpful! Went out of their way to ensure all was well!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outside metal,staircase was noisy, drive was a river on arrival and car parks were fooded - apparently happens regularly, breakfasts were not great, toiletries provided only after being requested, water pressure not great and shower difficult to regulate temperature.

    Room was spacious and beds comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property wasn’t clean but the bed was or we wouldn’t have stayed there. It desperately needs a refurbishment. They are obviously catering for workmen so don’t care what the rooms are like. They need to STOP advertising for general customers and need to stick to workmen. Even the receptionist didn’t ask if everything was ok for us.

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the courtyard and guests in adjacent rooms.

    I booked on line and upon arrival, staff were able to put me in a ground floor room, something that was extremely important to me.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only standard rooms listed on website be happy to pay slightly more for a little more luxury!

    Convenient location with pub/restaurant on site and easy parking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    central heating on all night for a start. especially with the bad weather snow gales blizzards

    what started off good night on st patricks day they had excellent band on the tickets were £18 each you only got small soup bowl and i mean mine was full of grissle my stew so couldn,t eat it the baileys cheese cake tasted just like eating yogurt no taste whats so ever then the radiator in our room must of been on timer so room was freezing in all that snow cold weather so up all night freezing the heating didn,t come back on untill 7ish sunday morning every time open the door to the room the whole bedroom got covered in leaves with the snow and wind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very outdated room. Windows awful. Curtains old & worn. Bathroom dated, bath panel held on with 2 inches of white mastic. Picture on wall awful. Old tv fixture still on wall. Room 27 needs a complete makeover. No breakfast included in the £45 a night price .

    The room was clean & warm , bed comfortable and plenty hot water .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls as I was informed at 2100hrs by the young woman next door that she could hear every word of my telephone call and could I keep it down......

    Braised steak in the restaurant was very good, lots of parking, great shower and bath if a bit dated, good staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was quite a lot of noise from the occupants above, the walls are thin so could hear them inside and when they come down the stairs. Breakfast was really nice, the bacon and sausages good quality...just shame about the eggs...we had poached and scrambled and had to leave it.

    The evening food at the restaurant was very nice and the staff in both the hotel, bar and restaurant were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Very good value for money and would stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing other than a little less salt!

    The room was very comfortable and warm in a very cold period. Staff were excellent - friendly and helpful. Food was good and excellent value, though a little too salty for my taste. I'd be very happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The WiFi was iffy in my room. The bathroom definitely needs modernisation, the shower controls a bit hit and miss . At breakfast, I would like to see better coffee as in filter coffee, rather than pouring hot water over coffee powder. Arrival of various different cooked breakfast items slow on my one breakfast there, such as fried eggs, beans etc being delayed. Maybe this was a bad morning. The positives of the place far outweigh the negatives.

    Bargain price for room only. The bedroom appeared dated circa 1970s style but was comfortable enough. I would have been disappointed had I expected much better, which I didn't for the price. What made the stay for me was the genuine warmth of the staff in the hotel. Also the quality of the night time meals was high and far exceeded my expectations at very reasonable prices too. The communal areas of the hotel were comfortable. I think if the bedrooms and bathrooms were modernised, the place could be really excellent, because the ambience in the grounds and hotel is pleasant. I stayed on a few cold February days but I would like to revisit in the Summer months. The location is convenient to a main road providing access to Bishop Auckland, Durham etc. I was not aware of traffic noise from my room. At the moment, I feel this hotel offers a real competitive alternative to the monotonous if not soulless character of many chain budget motel/hotels.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not the world's most comfortable bed - but perfectly adequate. I'm not a great fan of their foam pillows though. Creaky floor in bathroom. Just off a busy main road that can be very noisy but the garden rooms are well away from this so any road noise is not noticeable. However, perhaps signage to car park off the main road could be better (not so obvious in the dark).

    Convenient location to use as a base when travelling to a number of places in the immediate area, and even to Teesside or Hartlepool. Excellent value for money. Also well set out to suit single travellers on business. Very good food portions. Good car parking facilities off the (very busy) main road.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stain on ceiling, weary and chipped furniture, stained bathroom floor and tile grouting etc. Just a bit weary and worn room. Can't complain for the price however. My friend in the next room along couldn't work her shower - it didn't seem to work whether she pulled the knob up for pushed it down. Would have appreciated prepared fruit (grapefruit/oranges) with the breakfast. I cut up an apple with a blunt breakfast knife with difficulty!

    Double glazing on windows - the room was quiet even though on such a busy main road. Comfortable bed, excellent parking facilities, helpful staff, clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast not clear what you should do, as sat down and waited then got up and served myself and then asked someone walking passed if I could have a cooked breakfast.

    room price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one very small item. The bathroom window looked out onto the stairs to the rooms above us. The glass is frosted and the window had a mesh curtain. But at night you can see into the bathroom, OK you can't see anything but figure outlines but I think a curtain would be better.

    The hotel is on a busy main road but there was no road noise at all considering its location. Bedroom was roomy and comfortable. Staff were very polite and helpful. We asked to stay a little after the check out time and they were very happy to allow us a couple of hours extra. Good selection at the bar and the breakfast was also very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could hear everything that was going on in the room above us e end the floorboards squeaking when people upstairs were walking. The rooms are dated and need updating. There were burns in the carpet and mold in the bathroom. The room was clean just old. Could have done with an entire new bathroom suite. But for £38 per night I would stay again. We were at a wedding at nearby Whitworth Hall so it was ideal for this location and way cheaper.

    The set out is nice with the rooms in the courtyard. I could imagine it being nice in the summer as there were fire pits, a beer garden and children's play area. The views were nice surrounding the hotel. The food in the restaurant was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast finishing at 10am when check out is also the same time. Should be a later check out time.

    Set up and layout of the hotel. Alot of character

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress . Could feel the dents from usage

    The greeting on arrival . The organisation. Speedy service even when changing food order . Food was excellent. Room was clean and spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As lovely as the staff were on my visit, there was no mobile reception (EE) and only occasional, faint wifi reception in my bedroom. It was impossible to send and receive business emails and calls. Phone and wifi reception issues should be clearly stated before booking process.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room needs updating and a bit more attention to cleaning behind doors! But the bedding and towels where very clean

    Bed was very comfortable, iron, ironing board, hairdryer extra pillows AND soap, shampoo, sealed plastic cups all great when you want to travel lightly. Big free, secure car park and a lovely courtyard, that I am sure, looks even more pretty in the summer. But the best bit was the food, one word - gorgeous

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is essentially a pub with rooms. As a pub with rooms, it's above average. Calling itself a country hotel and restaurant may make you expect more than you're going to get, but look at the price you're paying (it's really excellent value) and you'll have reasonable expectations. The bedrooms are roomy, they're clean and well furnished, and the bed is comfortable. The bathroom is fine, and it has a bath which I know is important to many people. The food is pub food and, as pub food, it's good. I stayed here in a cold winter but I wouldn't mind coming back in summer to make use in the evenings of the seats around the garden/courtyard that is walled on three sides by the pub and the bedrooms. A nice change from Premier Inns and a comfortable stay. One thing you need to know -- it's on a road that is fairly busy all night long and even in a room at a distance from the road I heard the occasional truck hurtling past.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed was not totally comfortable

    The way that the staff accommodated and facilitated needs as travelling with elderly relative couldnt have been more accommodating and facilitating

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard could do with updating. Bathroom grout could do with redoing. But nothing major.

    From walking in we were made very welcome by friendly staff and management. Room was lovely and clean. Very accomodating if you need anything. And very helpful. Will be back.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom window faced walkway, I'm not sure if frosted glass and net curtain gave complete privacy

    I booked a single room, but was upgraded to a larger triple room without having to ask, as the hotel was not busy Bed was very comfortable staff were very pleasant breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked to have been able to soak in the bath after a long journey north, only I couldn't see how to alter the tap settings, so the shower facility was the only option.

    Reception staff were very helpful, especially the guy who came out to assist with our parking, there is sloped access to the car park and the snow had made it awkward to park. John who carried our luggage to our room and arranged for us to have some chips, even though the kitchen had closed for the night, was particularly helpful. The room was cosy and warm with an adjustable thermostat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cold when we got there. The bathroom tap wouldn’t turn off. Also there was tea and coffee in the room which was lovely. But there was nothing for people who don’t drink those berages like myself

    The bed was really comfy. The staff were lovely and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was in a court yard nice in summer not late autumn. The hotel had a private party unfortunately these guests had to keep walking through the dining room to get to the bar.

    A very good range vegetarian options as well as gluton free meals available in the restaurant with friendly staff. Hotel has secure parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the room above

    The staff are fantastic, really friendly and very helpful. The food is absolutely gorgeous, steak is so nice and the onion rings complement it very well, as do the salad and the perfectly cooked chips. Beer is good :) If you are looking for a nice place to stay with reasonable prices and on a main bus route to Durham, about 50 minutes on bus no 6 from the garage across the road, this is the place, and you will not meet staff nicer than the ones here, I promise.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit dated. Little bit of mould around shower.

    Lovely welcoming staff, nicely decorated hallways and eating area. Perfect for what we needed.. great price, a comfy bed and short distance from the wedding venue we attended.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room across the courtyard from the main building was very bare and extremely dated. Carpet worn, paint awful, window frames rotted, bathroom worn, dated and mildewy.

    Friendly staff, good evening meal and breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We realise that all staff now have to be paid a minimum wage but we felt that the breakfast cost was a bit steep.

    Reception staff were brilliant and extremely helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no comfortable chairs at all in the room for sitting in only one wood hard back chair at desk only place to sit being on bed the room being badly in need of decorating and worn carpeting As this was our 44 years wedding anniversary it fell way below our expected standard of living The food was swimming in grease breakfast no option fruit ie grapefruit prunes etc we only had one evening meal ,which was the first day as the lasanger was very fatty To sum up we would never stay at Park Head Hotel again very disappointed

    Bed very comfortable thats all

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower was rather uncontrollable

    The evening meal at the hotel was very good. The welcome at reception was warm and friendly. Very helpful and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought that the doors to the apartments were dirty, did not look enticing. Furniture in rooms were undated. Shower curtain, maybe need screens.

    The staff were very friendly and made us welcome. Lovely quiet area. Restaurant food was amazing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style shower but seriously..it didn't matter as everything else spot on

    Staff were so helpful and kind , brilliant. Food like home from home mmmmm

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is very 'tired' and that is being kind. The rooms clearly need a make over. The bathroom is way overdue for an update. Damage to the sink was repaired with a filler which had been trowelled on. The bed was hard and you could feel the struts under the mattress. The windows have tiny panes, the paint around which was peeling. Room access is external, like a motel and we got there via a metal staircase (similar to a fire escape) however, the over flow from another bathroom was leaking all over it. This could be heard ALL night (already reported the previous day) and we had to go through it every time we left and returned, risking a soaking.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was also very quiet and peaceful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the bathroom is clean and has everything you need it is a little dated and needs upgrading.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and bright. It was a nice room. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice and the staff was very attentive.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower wasn't that great and the size of the bed is really small. The friends we travelled with had a far superior room to us for the same money so we felt short changed.

    The location and parking is excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to the kitchen extractor fan and it was very loud. We also were sent a letter through the night that the hot water wasn't available. No showers for us in the morning which was a good job as there were no blinds in the bathroom that was over looking the car park. We were told we would receive a £25 refund, we are still waiting for the refunded sum.

    Easy access to the town, good well stocked bar and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had 22 was not worth 87 a nite inc breakfast 50 would have been more appropriate ,the overflow pipe in next door was leaking and dripping ,all nite.when the people in the next room saw us they apoligised and said they had mentioned it 2 the management 24hours sooner this cud have been worse if an elderly person had slipped on the staircase due to slippery surface also in winter ice . The bed was of a poor standard there was stains allover the walls and the bath round the edges was not cleaned properly would not stay here again due to the uncleanness of the room it needs to charge a lot cheaper rates ,health and safety issues need resolving ,

    The location near to kinran food and choice was good the selection of drinks

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a basic but spotlessly clean hotel. The towels and bed linen are immaculate. We ate in the Bishop's Grill and the food was very good. All staff were helpful and attentive. We used it as a stay over after attending the brilliant and nearby Kynren.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    The room was bigger than expected and very light and airy, with 3 windows we could easily open. The bed was very comfy with loads of storage space. The bar and restaurant are excellent , well run by very friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    as we were visiting to attend the kyren festival, could I suggest the hotel provide transport to and from the event. As we paid for a taxi anyway , I am sure that guests attending the event would be willing to pay for the peace of mind of not having to book their own return at the end of the event.

    Friendly staff, good food and pleasant surroundings.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flying ants wanted to share my bubble filled bath with me. Could of had a few more hand towels during my stay.

    Staff were very attendtive and helpful in every part of my stay. Food was promptly prepared and served with a smile. Nice to meet the coach holiday people who were staying at hotel too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    No improvements needed

    Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and well-priced. Very good range for cooked and cold breakfasts. The two rooms were great and all of the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a real ale drinker, I wasn't very keen on the two available

    The staff were extremely accomadating and could help you enough. Breakfast was very enjoyable. The little courtyard outside reception is a lovely, quite sun trap

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were adequate but the place is a little tired.

    We chose this because we were going to the Kynren and we also wished to see some other places of interest which were relatively close. Getting to and from the Kynren was fine ( bus to the Market Place a 15 minute walk to the venue (and back ) then a taxi from the town centre. It is near to Bowes Museum and Raby Castle .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The public areas - the restaurant and the bar were very dark - dark furniture, carpet and ceiling. The bathroom plumbing was not good - the shower was damaged and the water pressure was poor. The food was only average, and the beer was expensive.

    The room was very clean and quiet - it was in a small courtyard with rooms on 3 sides, and the hotel on the 4th, no noise from other guests. The car park was very big, and was locked at night for security. The bedroom was large, with a very comfortable bed. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't really find fault with anything.

    Breakfast selection and quality was excellent. Service and every bite of food in the restaurant was exceptional. The room was clean and comfortable, good value overall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs updating. The shower didn't work properly, not much choice for cold breakfast. Bird poo outside our door, swing in the garden wasn't secure.

    The staff were very accommodating

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel wasn't cheap so I don't expect to set my own table for breakfast, had to make our tea and toast. Had noisy people in the room above no telephone in room to ring reception was told we could have got in touch with the night porter but seeing our room was in an annex this meant getting dressed. I have had better service in a Youth Hostel.

    The staff were helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the bed was terribly uncomfortable! When mentioned in the morning we were only offered an apology. The bed had a ridge down the middle and sagged at the head and feet but was apparently a new mattress - they should get a refund

    food good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    rooms a little tired including bathroom. price ok but would have been disappointed if paid full hotel price & not booking.com discount

    staff brilliant. breakfast really good. nice atmosphere in bar/restaurant area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is not one thing that I didn't like .

    the staff were fantastic, Caroline the receptionist was really helpful, friendly and welcoming. John who took care of us in the restaurant is great , very cheerful and happy. all in all a great stay, will definitely be going back again .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel itself was fine, however I'd say the rooms themselves are tired and require refurbishment, especially after seeing the facilities at the Radisson Blu, in Durham where my son and his girlfriend stayed...I appreciate they paid £25.00 more for their stay but they where in the middle of the City, with everything on hand.

    We had breakfast on both mornings and couldn't fault them. We also dined in the hotel on Friday night and again had no problems and thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room in the courtyard area and it was a bit tired, could do with an upgrade, peeling paint work, dated carpet & bathroom suite, the shower wasn't great. That said the bed was comfy, with extra pillows. The main building where the reception, Bar & breakfast room were was lovely, so not sure if the rooms in there were any better presented.

    The staff were lovely, very friendly & helpful. The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice, delicious food, piping hot, really good. The food in the restaurant was really nice, tasty, well presented, not a bad price. The restaurant itself was lovely, nice decor & atmosphere. The courtyard area was very pretty, nice to sit out in the sun.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Park Head Hotel & Restaurant traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: