Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Park Lodge Hotel 3 stars

Western Road,Strongarbh, Tobermory, PA75 6PR, United Kingdom

#5 of 6 hotels in Tobermory

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 756 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel and room rather dated. Could do with some refurbishment to justify the cost of the accommodation. Looked convenient and had parking but quite a walk up a steep hill from the main street to the hotel. We used free parking in the town car park when we went out.

    Friendly and helpful staff. Really good breakfast selection including gluten free. Good shower and comfortable twin beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the food was excellent; good choice and good price. the bedroom was massive (superior double) with views across Tobermory Bay. Staff were not only cheerful and friendly, but very helpful. All in all a top class hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on motorbikes & the parking was limited, we were lucky to get a space. Building & rooms are dated, shower pressure is poor. Some rooms still awaiting updating. No lift, lots of stairs to room.

    The location was excellent, 5 minute walk into Tobermory. Staff were very friendly, especially the Spanish receptionist who was very helpful with check in and additional information. Food was ok. Slept well. Breakfast was good. Good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from other residents unlocking and locking bedroom doors is very disruptive to sleep. Maybe get better doors and lock systems.

    Good location helpful staff hotel has a lovely family feel. No corporate style nonsense good homely hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel looked very tired, as though the owners had lost any enthusiasm they might have once had. It would not survive in an area with more competition.

    The room was a good size. The meals were good value, especially by Tobermory standards.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Park Lodge is a fine, modern hotel with good if not dazzling facilities. I like it for the quiet away from the hastle of the Main Street. I will return. Caveat : Tobermory is HILLY!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing particular

    The staff, the lady at the reception was very helpful and spent almost an hour for us on the phone to make sure we would have a ticket for the ferry back that was in high demand.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was very difficult. There is a small parking area next to the hotel and fortunately a space became available as we arrived so we could unload easily. However we went out in the car to eat at a local restaurant in the evening and by the time we returned the only parking space we could find was down the hill on the harbour. Not sure what is available for those with mobility restrictions - suggest you ask before booking ANY guesthouse in Tobermory.

    Tobermory is very pretty. Breakfast was tasty, promptly served and plentiful. Nice marmalade! All staff were pleasant and helpful. We booked late and had to have a twin room but it was light with plenty of space and comfy beds.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were a group of paddlers coming back to civilization after 8 days of paddling and wild camping around Mull, so obviously Park Lodge Hotel seemed like heaven on earth, 6 stars luxury facility :))) And yet, trying to be a little objective, it is a cozy, pretty, neat, pleasant and friendly little place, with everything one should expect from a budget hotel, and then some.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waited to be seen for check in but no fault of the chap that did as he was the only person working the bar, serving and checking in. Breakfast was mediocre.

    Generally clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get room supplies replenished fully each day so had to request Mir tea bags. Room wifi went off during ourcstay and stayed off. Menu ok but not exceptional.

    Good location. Had to request a change of room initially but this was done efficiently and pleasantly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very small room with the toilet door at the head of the bed, the hot water was scalding, no warning sign. The floor tiles were exceptionaly slippy when wet. the roasting towel rail far to near the bath. A kettle was available sitting on a small thin shelf of the exit/entrance at the door, for safety aspects these issues require to be made safe.

    Good location and a comfy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception wasn't always occupied. Whilst this wasn't a probably if you wanted to go out for the day or even check out if you were pretty paid, I needed to discuss something with the staff and leave quickly. Having said that, I found some staff in the dining room, and they relayed my message. The hotel is at the top of a very steep hill which is accessed by a very narrow road. If you're not confident driving narrow one track roads or slightly unstable walking, then access might be an issue. I arrived during the music festival which meant that the small car park was full. On the first night I had to leave my car in town and walk to the hotel. However, every other night was fine once things had calmed down.

    The location within Tobermory was good. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were pretty standard for a hotel of this cost. Brea was great and the whole place has a very relaxed atmosphere. The views from the hotel were very scenic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. We were there for a christening and other members of the family joined us for an evening meal which was excellent,good portions and value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel probably not good value for money compared to other places in Tobermory, but booked late so had little choice.

    Hotel was fine. Felt safe, warm, reasonably comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Linen needs replacing. Getting to Tobermory on a Sunday, with no bus service, and once in Tobermory, getting up the hill were an unanticipated problem.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Homely and old-fashioned style was lovely. Facilities need updating, especially linen.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner menu could have been more adventurous and the bar needs more of an atmosphere (and less loud TV). There was no heating in the bathroom, which was freezing!

    The people who work at the hotel were, to a man and woman, friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make the stay as special as possible. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was superb, lovely and welcoming staff. Angela was superb at check in and the barman was fantastic too. Comfy bed and great location with added bonus of parking!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s up a big hill, but that can’t be helped lol.

    Facilities excellent, staff brilliant, room size amazing. Evening meal lovely. Shower great, plenty hot water. Plenty electric sockets. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the outside it looked a bit dated, the rooms could have done with a bit of a spruce up and the bar area was quite cold at times.

    Good location in tobermory, good price, they had veggie sausages in the breakfast and the hotel served food even in winter season.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could have been better,the advertising made it out to be a lot different so not the hotels fault. Food was very slow to be served and was a bit on the burnt side.

    Staff were nice and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to dislike at all

    Staff were friendly, made you feel at ease, location was peaceful and beautiful. Breakfast was a very high standard. Would recommend this hotel to others. Hotel clean and quiet. Bar area was comfortable and peaceful for food and drinks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Steep walk back to the hotel from the shore. Road lighting could be better.

    Comfortable hotel with good breakfast options. Easy downhill walk to the main street of Tobermory. Convenient on-site parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    when we were shown our room(21) on the second floor, there were no lifts, there were 2 single beds and a large sofa(maybe a sofa bed?) which took up so much space, we had to walk one at a time round the room. The room lacked any personality, it seemed drab as everything was beige, the tartan blankets on the end of the bed were a nice touch but also beige, (try blue or purple?) we told the staff that our bathroom heater did not work on our first day but nothing was done. also the shower control was so stiff it was difficult to turn and hot water was only available once it had been turned all the way. there was no extractor fan. The breakfast was OK but it was mass produced bread, there was a lovely bakery in the town, there was plenty provided and the choice was good, the staff were great. We thought that the hotel was on the harbour, it didnt state this but there was a photo of the harbour on its website, it is up a very steep hill, we were fine but older people could not cope with this incline. on our last morning we were woken by another guest bumping their case down all the stairs, Bliss! Our room was next to the stairs.

    The staff were friendly. the towels were clean. the bathroom seemed newly decorated.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old tired & shabby hotel but in a pretty elevated location. First impressions not helped by brusque busy & irritated staff whose collective demeanour failed to improve over a 3 day stay. Btw, don't hold out hope that all will be redeemed by a fine traditional Scottish breakfast. Instead walk down the picturesque 'Devils elbow' road to the harbour-front for an excellent coffee & expansive postcard Tobermory views to remind you why you made the epic trek to Mull.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The time we had to wait in the restaurant for a meal in the evening. Only one man who was expected to take the order, serve it and attend to the bar-he was "run off his feet"

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening dinner menu had a lot of choice but quite standard and not that exciting. Disappointing to be served plain white bread you can get in any supermarket. Would have been nice if local rolls or freshly made bread was offered

    All staff were really friendly and knew about the local area. Breakfast was good and plenty of choice. Room was spacious and wasn't disturbed at all with any noise.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towels still wet from shower day before. Room felt cold and damp. Hotel decor a bit tired.

    Food was mediocre certainly not the standard of the fish pie which was superb and the chef(s) are obviously capable of doing. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two old ladies with bad knees put on the third floor and the elevator is no longer in use. Parking was limited. Very narrow steep hill to get to hotel.

    Very clean and comfortable hotel. Full breakfast and evening meal delicious. Lovely views of Tobermory from the hotel area.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a bit of a funny smell in the corridors.

    We had to leave early in the morning before breakfast was served, so they made us a packed lunch to take with us at no extra charge. The hotel is a short walk downhill to the shops, port and distillery.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the room we were in was a twin, it was so small. To be honest, it would have felt tiny even if it had been a single!! Very claustrophobic and uncomfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room are just too small and although they are asking the best of what they have, the hotel needs a make over to reach the 3 stars claimed.

    They are trying their best, but the property is just looking so tired. Rooms area clean and the breakfast was really excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit worn. The bathrooms were totally remodeled but flushing the total was a challenge.

    Comfortable, relaxed, friendly but worn. The breakfast and dinner were tasty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our only criticism would be that the bed were not supportive enough for my husband.

    The breakfasts were lovely and lots of choice. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A selection of local ales would have been nice. Limited to standard lagers and beers that you can get anywhere.

    Friendly staff, decent accommodation for the cost.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom lights could have been better for reading.

    Very nice staff who made us and our dog feel very welcome. Also we were able to have our room before the official check in time which on a wet day was very welcome

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food excellent staff very friendly and most helpful would come back again and would recommend to friends. Your staff even helped me out by taking our bags to distillery office. That is what I call exscellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It started off badly by then not putting their address in Booking.com so satnav can't find it from the postcode only. Annoying enough but the desk clerk then tells us satnav is hopeless he gets this every second day! To say this hotel is tired would be too kind. The hotel Is dirty throughout and the staff are very poorly presented. Frayed jeans should never be worn by hotel staff. In a two night stay they moved us while we were out, handling all our personal things which really incensed me. If it was necessary they should have spoken to us while we were in the building and allowed us to do it ourselves. The photos are the cracked toilet bowl, the broken bathroom window, the filthy floor and skirting and the shower which looks like it was installed when the hotel was built fifty years ago and produces NO hot water. I could go on, this place is a disaster.

    Nothing at all

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff excellent and friendly. The hotel is nice and clean. Breakfast great. I would definitely go back. It is nothing I could point out. We stayed a night. Nice and quiet. Dog friendly but clean !!! I'm really struggle for other words. !!!! recommend !!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had difficulty flushing toilet in the ensuite and the bathroom door didn't close without a big push at it.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. I liked the relaxed atmosphere in the lounge/bar and dining area. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view was none existent, unless you count other buildings.

    The accommodation was okay, the price was okay but long walk to the village and its either steep down or steep up. Take your walking shoes. Isle of Mull is a rural Scottish island, don't expect 5 star hotels or roads.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was too small. You could hear the people in the next room (or above), every time a door was opened or closed, the shower door, everything could be heard.

    Staff friendly, nothing too much trouble for them. Evening meal menu was varied and reasonable. Location, although up a steep hill, was still walkable and the view over the harbour is lovely.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi coverage was OK in the bar and dining area but very poor in the room.

    Park Lodge is an old school hotel a short walk from the centre of Tobermorey. The rooms are large, quiet and clean. The staff were friendly

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a twin bedded room. One of the bedside lamps did not work. My side was okay but my son's bedside lamp did not work. He said he didn't mind but in hindsight, I should have asked the hotel to fix the problem as my son tried to read at night and he could only do this with the overhead lights on.

    The room was wonderful. It was spacious and the shower was excellent. Everything was as expected.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast coisants came in little indiviual wrapped packets like you might expect on an airplane. But even worse, they were stale. The total atmosphere just wasn't great.

    The location was decent if you had a car. The front desk girl helped me cancel my second day reservation even though it was less than the required 24 hour notice. That was very kind of her.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We traveled by ferry to the Isle of Mull and drove to Tobermory. Had a little trouble finding the hotel but with directions from the friendly local police station, we realized we were very near the hotel. Good onsite parking, quiet location. We had the room on the second floor which was part of the turret on the end of the hotel. This room was great! It had plenty of electrical outlets for recharging the laptop and the camera PLUS it was the only place we stayed (we stayed in 22 hotels/b&bs) which had USB ports for our phone charging. Plenty of windows for good ventilation, a nice hospitality area in a dressing area with lots of room for our luggage and a big bathroom. Our friends were on the first floor and also had a comfortable room. Nice wide stairs--no elevator. We ate supper in the hotel restaurant and the food was good as was the service. Breakfast was plentiful and good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was very noisy early in the morning. Table for breakfast was too small for 4 people. Breakfast was cold very disappointing as we have stayed here befor.

    Room was clean good hostess tray.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi-Fi didn't work in bedroom. Was given a card with password on it. Made many attempts to get online but failed. In the evening a member of staff told me the hub I was using didn't work and gave me an alternative password for a different hub. This only worked in the bar area. On leaving when I mentioned this I was then told there was a third hub to try. Hopefully this will be resolved!!!

    Big room with comfortable bed. Very nice breakfast. Close, walkable distance to the centre of Tobermory (although up a steepish hill). Large carpark - easy to park.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar was a bit dated but OK. Good dining room.

    Excellent freshly cooked breakfast. Good clean room and ensuite bathroom. Excellent location and easy parking.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was a little poor & outdated in need of updating, no blind on the window, light shined through with just a thin curtain on it, door on room was not a proper fire door and had a gap of more than 3 inches at the bottom light from corridor shone through all night had to stuff a blanket against the gap to try an alleviate this.

    the staff were extremely helpful and polite really lovely staff, the staff were very informative and couldn't do enough for us, staff are a credit to the hotel...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints. Would have liked to get onto the Josie Jump balcony with my daughter!

    Lovely clean room. Large clean bathroom. Very comfortable. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, everything was good

    Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice, staff were very friendly and rooms were ready for us even though we were early. Good position near to the harbour at Tobermory just a shame the weather wasn't great for sight seeing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisey. bedroom next to reception. . Swinging doors . could hear people in next room using the bathroom and room above had creaking floors

    Not over pricedno

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is above Tobermory but to get there you go up a series of very steep hills which for the elderly or infirm attempting to walk up there would be a huge problem. Even driving up there was bad enough

    Lovely hotel, staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is not pretty and rather tired and the fire alarm kept going off in the morning.

    It is in Tobermory and walking distance down a steep hill

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Would have liked option of a continental breakfast instead of packed lunch. Had an evening meal which though adequate not very exciting. Husbands Fish & chips a bit strange in that chips although cooked were extremely pale. My vegetable lasagne was a bit tasteless.

    because we had an early start a packed lunch provided instead of breakfast. Hotel was old fashioned but very nice in that extremely clean & furniture gleeming. Staff helpful & pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have difficulty with stairs, there doesn't seem to be a lift

    Comfortable hotel in super location with parking & pleading glimpses of the sea from bedroom window.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception was not continually manned. On arrival, there was no one in reception except a little girl playing on a computer. As the receptionist was also the barmaid, she was serving in the bar and we had to wait over ten minutes to get her attention. When the receptionist did arrive at the reception there was no apology, or explanation as to her absence. We were given the key to our room, with an explanation as how to gain accesses to the hotel late at night as there was no night manager, which I found a little unnerving if there was an emergency during the night. The restaurant was next to the bar, which was very noisy, with locals drinking raucously, children and a dog running in and out of the restaurant. The room was fine with the exception that the people in the joining room, could be heard moving around and talking, as well as hearing the TV. As we were leaving early on the morning of our departure, to catch the early ferry, I asked if we could have an early breakfast. I was told that this was not possible, but was offered a packed lunch instead. I was disappointed that we could not have even been offered cereal tea and toast.

    This hotel was just OK, It was a family run hotel, and the staff other than the receptionist, were attentive. The food was good and well cooked. Parking was on site. My request for a ground floor room was granted.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor dirty small room, bed very uncomfortable spring base, ended up sleeping on the floor, over priced . Did complain and got 1/3 refund

    Nothing very poor and run down hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Signage to the place. Well there isn't any !!!

    Hopeless signage to this hotel. We passed by the end of the road several times. It needs a sign at the bottom of the narrow hair pin bend showing where the hotel is and then another just before the other hotel on that road. We were so annoyed by this is spoilt the start of our visit here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We enyoed the stay. Nice room, very good breakfast and dinner. Harbour/Centre of Tobermory is easy to reach after a very short walk. Tobermory is a good starting point to explore the Isle of Mull.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No soundproof whatsoever, you could hear literally everything inside the house or from neighbouring rooms.

    The Hotel is quite close to harbour and city and lies in a quiet area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Utility hotel that doubles as a local.

    Hotel was situated up a hill with 2 hair-pin blind bends to negotiate. There was basic food available at the hotel but good seafood restaurants were down the hill, easy going down but steep going back for those with mobility issues. There are at least 2 taxi firms available in the evenings although we did mot need to use them. We had a large room with dressing room and bathroom. Managed to get the last onsite parking space on both nights but not sure where the alternative parking would have been. Location not really suitable for those with mobility issues.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpets were old and worn and smelled musty. Hotel has seen better days though the staff were all pleasant and helpful.

    I liked being in Tobermory as it is a quaint village on a road less traveled.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room very basic 2 beds and bedside tables 4 open lockers with hanging space above. one wooden upright chair. Red wine stored at 12 oC

    staff excellent. Dinner and breakfast excellent

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    hotel up steep roads no good for people with walking problems unless you drive everywhere

    friendly staff great breakfasts,, warm comfortable rooms, bar area parking provided.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had trouble finding the hotel. Understaffed at dinner, so slow service. Room was cold & we found no heat provision. Asked for help, but no one every came - another under-staffing issue.

    Friendly staff, spacious room, and tasty food.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have just said

    Cooked breakfast very good,meal night before not so good.Chicken was very dry&no salad dressing.Asked fir some,all they had was balsamic!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi didn't work in the room! I was in a room on the top floor of the hotel, so I can't say if it works in other rooms or not, but it would not connect for me. I had to sit in the bar or at the bottom of the stairs to use wifi for my work and this was a bit inconvenient being 7 months pregnant when I wanted to be able to work from my bed after a long day!

    Friendly staff, especially breakfast staff. Nice clean, comfortable rooms. Excellent location and pet friendly. :)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wi fi not available in the bedrooms. Should be available for the price. A bit expensive but the staff were lovely.

    Nice location and friendly staff. I would use the hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt that the prices we paid were pricy £95 a double room per night .. but at the time of booking there wasn't much choice. We stayed 4 nights. The carpets in the hall and stairs seemed a bit worn.

    The hotel was within 5 mins walking distance of Toblemory a bonus. The bedroom was comfortable but a bit on the small side. Good ensuite bathroom with hot showers. Bonus of tea and coffee making facilities. We used the restaurant which had a good choice of local food i.e. Fish, game. The hotel was fully booked when we were there, and a couple of times we got the last parking space, and parking is at a premium. I don't know what happens when it's full..which I'm sure that happens! The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs updating. Could not get wifi in room which in 2017 is poor.

    Short walk to harbour but road is steep. Good size room which was clean. Good breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    More smoked salmon for breakfast was a small amount however very tasty.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, great food both dinner and breakfast, very comfortable beds and large en suite with good shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a superior room which could have had a bigger bed. The walk back to the hotel from Tobermory town was very steep and could be difficult for some people.

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel was clean and tidy. The small outside garden area was nice to sit in. A short walk downhill to Tobermory town, which is lovely. Good location to take boat rides and access other beautiful areas on the island.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we booked was described as "superior" and cost £52.50 pp for B and B, but it was cramped and had only one chair, a hard wooden one with no cushion, so we had to sit on the bed to watch TV and read. The booking confirmation said it had a bath, but it didn't. So what could a room that was not "superior" be like? It could not be more cramped or have inferior seating. Some rooms in the hotel had a sea view, but ours didn't; were they "extra superior"?

    Breakfast excellent, esp. in provision of gluten-free bread and very tasty sausages.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: