Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Park View Guest House 3 stars

22 Haxby Road, York, YO31 8JX, United Kingdom

#80 of 84 B&Bs and Inns in York

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 535 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.1
    JJ
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower only just warm. WiFi 5g on mobiles - cld not get option to access in our room as led to believe. As twin room would've appreciated bedside light each.

    Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.9
    Very staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinning area needs to be improved also Felt like I was being rushed to eat my breakfast even thou the time stated was 8am - 9am and we was down for 8.30am they kept standing over us

    Very staff very friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.7
    ok had a lot worse just a bit over priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we booked a double room and when we got there was given a family room so wasnt very romantic.tv to small for room, unfinished painting of ceiling,doors need a bit of oil on hindges, also we booked to stop at park view but given a room next door at burton villa.breakfast room a bit cramped, breakfast could had been a little more to fill the plate.

    bed ok room big

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    4.2
    Quite expensive considering the star rating , size of room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need a safe to store personal belongings as had the impression that items were not safe when left in the room during our absence. Shower drain was blocked when we arrived but staff kindly unblocked the next day.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    4.6
    Average stay in average place shame it's twiceprice on ebor weekend definitely not worth double
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lock on door has be opened with key on inside and outside of the room ours decided to give up and jammed so we were unable to get in the too we asked a staff member for help he was so rude telling us there was no staff stays on site after 6 as I was scared we could not get into our room on our return from going for a meal he got some oil to free up the lock ruined my jacket and said oh are you going to make this an issue too very very rude staff member letting down the whole place the whole place could do with a 're vamp everything looks old and bedding did not look fresh on arrival

    The manager is a very nice person went all out to sort out problems and make our stay a good one shame I can't say that about the other member of staff who ruined my jacket however the mananger paid for it but would have rather had the staff member pay breakfast was very good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    hotel adequate for our needs for a 1 night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to get hold of proprietor when we wanted them to order us a taxi into town but when we rang the hotel number they sorted the problem out

    HAPPY WITH ROOM AND BREAKFAST

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    3.3
    AWFUL!!! Only stayed one night,the worst place I have ever been to in over 50 years of travelling.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Disgustingly dirty room/bathroom. NOT a twin room as requested - filthy pillows/tablecloth/curtains/mattresses etc.etc. Cracked and chipped wash basin, dirty, rusty shower and poorly installed. Could not close curtains at night. As for the towels supplied, I have better ones for drying my dog.

    NOTHING

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, close to the center of town and tourist...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. Bathroom very small and cramped.

    Excellent location, close to the center of town and tourist attractions. Also close to the railway station -- easy bus ride. Very friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    York rocks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    our bedroom (no.6) was at the front of the house so on a main (haxby) road...bit noisy for me (personally)!

    nice staff and very clean with a good power shower

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location, price fair but wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First impression, car park spaces very narrow. Decor very dated. Room small and especially bathroom very tiny. Poor ventilation and as room at top of the house, incredibly hot. Even with fan provided difficult to sleep. Wi-fi not working on top floor, DVD player also not working. Only 1hr slot for breakfast, not enough tables for all guests so had to eat with others on a dirty table. Cream provided in room for coffee out of date.

    Beds comfy, location excellent and price fair

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Everyone was very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was okay had no issues. Would be nice to have a little fridge in room to store drinks and foods

    Everyone was very friendly. Staff spoke when passing by. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.9
    Extremely polite staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was simply too small The breakfast room was too crowded The window in my room was hard to open and close

    Extremely polite staff The breakfast was good The location was quiet

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.5
    Very convienient location and staff very polite. Overall good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite basic room for the price but roomy and comfy.

    Close to town centre, 10 minutes walk. Basic accommadation but clean and tidy. Polite and friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent i would recommend this B & B and if I am up that way again I will be stayling there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    Location Perfect Staff Very Helpful and friendly Breakfast Wonderful beds clean and comfortable. Bathroom small but compact, our room bathroom could have done with another hook or two and another towel rail or ring. Other wise excellent. Parking excellent. over our stay we were surprised they change bed cloths and all towels during our short stay full marks for this.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stairs were rather steep and the breakfast time was limited.

    The location. The bed was also very comfy. And the free bottle of wine was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.5
    Walking distance into the heart of York.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not god. Cut in and out a lot. No one was around at 6 pm when we tried to check in. We rang the doorbell twice and a guest was actually the one to let us in. I used the house phone to call the number on the front door and someone came in about 10 minutes, so it worked out ok.

    Walking distance into the heart of York. Good breakfast, we were able to leave our baggage during the day after checking out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.0
    Adequate
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast none. Cleaner shut my window and opened curtains and turned fan off when i got to my room at 5pm it was like a sauna!!!

    Didn’t make breakfast because it was 8-9 bit late for business people like myself.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location & friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only served between 8-9am. So not good if you need to be somewhere early, the staff were good about letting me make some toast in the kitchen though.

    Good location and the staff were friendly. Plenty of food provided for breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    Good if you are out all day
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only faults I found was the door was sticking to the bedroom and then had to manoeuvre going in or you will Walk straight into the bed

    Friendly staff with in walking. Distance from town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    10
    Room was great comfy airy and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all to complain about

    Room was great comfy airy and clean.. plenty of tea coffee etc excellent value for money. Staff were fantastic and accommodating. Couldn't ask for a better value for money place to stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.0
    Next time we shall go for something better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    .The shower cubicle was rather small for average persons. We had to wait for a long time for hot water to reach our shower; and the small wash basin installed can only serve to wash your hands, and the stopper not functioning functioning.Only 1 side bed unit and 1 lampshade in a double bed room. We were given a room on third floor and had to go up and down 3 flights of stairs every time - no lift is available - which considering our age was a big disappointment for us., especially on our last day when we had to to carry all our suitcases downstairs ourselves.

    Breakfast was good and in time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    4.6
    quite dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we were promised a quiet twin room on the top floor instead we got a double bed which was quite noisy with all the road noise

    the breakfast and bed were ok,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Overall our stay was enjoyable easy walk to city and lovely park opposite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower was small anyone bigger would have struggled ,also the glass shelf ,you could not lean over the sink ,Itdid not spoil our stay ,but maybe it could be removed.

    The bed was comfy and the room well decorated and clean .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    Cheep and cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small, my partner is very tall and struggled with the short bed and small bathroom. Walls and doors were also very thin so could hear creaky floors easily through them.

    The price was reasonable, especially so close to the centre. Breakfast was good too. Free parking was also an extra bonus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.3
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe just the cigarette waste outside front door if you want to be picky.Cannot fault the B and B.

    Plenty of tea and coffee in room,plus 2 bottles of water, breakfast excellent. Sunday night price great value for money. Room very clean.Location good for a short walk into city centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    Basic but value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small and basic, decor is in need of attention and the next rooms boiler was so loud it woke us up at 6 am. The breakfast was ok but i think deep fried sausages are not what the average guest wants.

    Good location, car park, and if you want no frills and a place to stay for the night, early start it would be ideal. The Raj restaurant is great so take up the 15% off offer that comes with the stay. Don't want to be too negative though as it was only £50.00 for the night which is cheap for a stay in York with parking and breakfast. If the place was redecorated and the noisy boiler sorted it would be a great place.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    3.8
    Memorable for all the wrong reasons. Sorry guys you have a lot to learn but maybe you don't want to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mattress worn out and although requested it be changed twice, the 2(!) changes were inadequate and my back spasmed. I had to cancel third night and find alternative. Pillows soiled without pillow protectors. Shabby room, shabby furniture and poky unheated bathroom. Room door coming off hinges. Average cooked breakfast including cold eggs/beans on cold plate in cramped dining room. No apologies/recompense for bed and to add insult to injury offered me 15% discount when I revisit so I had to explain that I would not be doing so.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Exterior very scruffy, just needs a good clean and a lick of paint. Overall the guys running this pl
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The guys running this place are doing a good job but it needs maybe a woman's touch/attention to detail. A very sulky unfriendly girl crossed my path when I was first there which is depressing for a lone traveller. She should be trained to greet guests if she is anything to do with the place. The guys seem to get confused over charging and to be honest I almost left without paying because I had no idea it didn't work like Travel Lodge with the amount automatically taken. The approach to service style at breakfast is oddly like being in a restaurant in the evening but they were kind attentive and polite. I enjoyed the food and the coffee in a teapot!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Cosy little b & b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was just a bit awkward to find even with the sat nav. There wasn't much parking areas.

    The staff were very polite and helpful. It was a very welcoming little b & b. We would recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    4.6
    Location good. Only good for one nights stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t clean. Bed cover didn’t do up properly. Rubbish in drawers from previous guests. Room was very hot-poor nights sleep. Staff not very approachable

    Good location. Tea and coffee in room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    3.8
    Sorry , wont be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't worth £100 per night. More like £50-55. Breakfast portion really small. Staff didnt talk to us only talked to each other in their own language. Room was small and didn't smell very fresh. The staff must have known this because they came in and sprayed air freshener while we were unpacking.

    In easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and bars. And york minster and wall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.9
    Great little guest house, nice staff, clean & tidy. Perfectly suited for our overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have catered for a vegetarian breakfast (added vegetarian sausages to the breakfast menu), and maybe cranberry juice as well as the standard apple/orange

    It was quirky which we loved !!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice would definitely book again when coming to York
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very accommodating the room large and comfortable and the breakfast was good excellent location to York centre and the bonus was they had parking

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    2.5
    An object lesson in how not to treat guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leave aside the mediocre food and the fact that the front garden of this B&B was strewn with trash which employees never bothered to pick up. Ignore the sagging mattresses and the broken curtain and the cramped, stuffy, badly decorated room. Even if we don’t complain that it took forever for hot water to emerge from the tap or for the shower to drain, there is a fundamental and unforgivable problem with this accommodation: the people who run it, from the manager on down, only seem interested in making money. They refuse to take responsibility or apologize for any problems, offering instead a litany of lame excuses. Don’t believe a word they say. Although this “guest house” was a long walk from the center of town, my wife and I made the mistake of booking it for two nights because it offered free parking. But when we arrived, no parking space was available. We were instructed to leave our car in a space on the street and move it by 9 a.m., yet it turned out that parking on the street was forbidden after 7:30. Our attempts to find a legal space at 8 were unsuccessful, resulting in a £35 parking ticket. We anticipated expressions of regret and appropriate compensation for our inconvenience and expense. Alas, after repeated remonstrations on our part, the employee who had made this blunder merely proposed to deduct half the fine from the price of our room. Getting him to admit error or say he was sorry was like pulling teeth. Persuading him to do the right thing and reimburse us the entire £35 proved impossible. Upset and irritated with his unprofessional attitude and behavior, we asked to speak to the manager, but he was unavailable. Later, however, the employee claimed to have spoken to his boss and gotten the best offer he could: a £20 deduction. He claimed his hands were tied and it was simply impossible for them to cover the full fine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The ensuite was very narrow!

    The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was great. The location gives just a short 10 minute walk to the city centre and the off street parking is a bonus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    5.4
    Would travel further next time to find something else if could find the value for money bit !
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Carpet in front of en-suite was soaking wet. Needed to leave at eight so couldn't get the breakfast as they didn't start it till then. Drunk people outside which was not their fault but left an impression.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    6.3
    Good location, but a bit cramped on space. Price is OK for this.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no-one present at the time of my arrival, and the phone was on the Tesco answering service, so I had to wait half an hour in my car. The guest house was squeezing too many rooms into what was essentially a 1890's middle-class house. The double bed took nearly all the space of the room, and the wc-shower was in effect a large cupboard. The well equipped breakfast room had so many tables squeezed in, that guests had to shunt tables and chairs to get to their place.

    The location is within easy walking distance of York inner city. Good and very necessary guest parking lot. Quality of breakfast food was good. Bed was large and comfortable. House was generally in a good state of cleanliness.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.7
    Ok would probably stay again, perhaps in different room. Great Curry house nearby with 15% off .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped bathroom Sink and tiles could have been much cleaner Dodgy key and door not fitting well

    Closeness to Minster (10mins) Friendly helpful staff Good breakfast Parking available

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    Nice breakfast thats about it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unclean. Cobwebs all over the ceilings and stuff. Alot of mold/damp in bathroom. Bathroom tiny nothing look3d how it did on the photos. Language barrier was not the best quite difficult but most people who worked there seemed ok. All men just so people know. Did not like the fact the main door is left unlocked on a latch you cant change unless your staff, i think thats dangerous as randoms walked in shouting 1 night we where there. Quite undated, mostly the fact of being unclean! I stayed in bedroom number 2 first floor.

    Breakfast was lovely and great distance from everything we wanted

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely weekend in York
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn’t keen on the coffee a bit tasteless.

    Room was big and comfortable , everything we needed, good breakfast , friendly staff, free parking was a bonus .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    4.6
    Glad it was only one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    God where shall I start. Dated and old fashioned. Hairs in the shower. Bed sheets dirty. Breakfast absolutely disgusting all deep fried!!!!!!

    The location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Overall very good.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is serving only between 8-9am and staffs doesn’t want to serve the customers even though they arrived before 9am. They want customers to eat quick.

    Overall very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing and centrally located guest house to explore York
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower was very hot and couldn't adjust this, we did point out to landlord however was not rectified during our stay. Typical of property of this type the stairs are narrow and steep so to bear in mind if one of your party has mobility issues

    Ideally placed for the city centre, just a short walk away, also parking on site Family run and pleasant Actually got a generous sized family room when we only booked the twin Lovely décor and very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.8
    Bed was very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In all fairness the place for us was faultless.

    Bed was very comfy. Staff were pleasant and friendly. Room was to a high standard of cleanliness. Bathroom was small but adequate for a weekend stay. Shower was fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    5.8
    Park View Guest House, York
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very basic and could do with a little more attention to detail, the price of the Guest House did not reflect what you got. At breakfast there was no cereal, fruit juice etc out, they asked us if we wanted these one of the mornings but not the other.

    The location was amazing, only 5 minutes walk to the town centre.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.6
    park view was a very pleasant guest house in a ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    for the price i don t think we could have expected any more .

    park view was a very pleasant guest house in a convenient location. within easy distance from the minster area. it was very good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    comfy bed and not too far from the centre - easy walk
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did think the breakfast was a little early for a Sunday 8am-9am, most places I`ve stayed at offer it until 10am. So we didn`t end up eating our breakfast there.

    comfy bed and not too far from the centre - easy walk

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Overall, it was a nice B&B and good value for money. It was a 10-minute walk from the Centre of York
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fried egg at breakfast was like rubber- inedible and the bacon was beyond crispy.

    Location is great and beds were comfortable. Functional, clean and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    10
    Clean and spacious room. Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast served 8.00 - 9.00 am. However the hours of serving breakfast could be extended as I don't like getting up early especially when I am on holiday.

    The room I stayed in was very spacious with a very clean bathroom. Full English breakfast was a bonus. Close walking distance to the city centre. There was a problem with a noisy guest next door but it was dealt quickly by the hotel staff. Good value for money if you are on a budget. Would recommend.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    Overall satisfied with the services receive
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were very thin and it was a bit noisy at night became of the other guests talking outloud The bulb in the lamp wasn't working.

    The property was within walking distance from the railway station and main museums Staff friendly and approachable, helped me with setting the wireless on my phone I had required a warm room and I was pleased because they took this into consideration The staff were willing to give me suggestions for visiting

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.3
    Fair B&B, close to town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could be more clear. There could have been more choice for breakfast and it could be served a bit longer 8-9 for breakfast was a little early for us considering we were on holiday.

    Breakfast was quick and easy, decent location only a short walk into town. Staff were friendly and would listen if you needed anything.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    2.5
    York's worst b&b
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom a disgrace, I'm not big and could hardly move in there. Water was set to tepid. Room freezing at night. Called but nobody bothered to return my call. Staff could not care less. I booked this property at Aud 88 or English £50. When I went to pay £80. It was a very run down place and the bed I slept had a poor quality matress and squeaked each time you turned over. Staff pretended not to speak English but they definitely mastered the language well. They have been to school in England.

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay and would visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was too soft for my taste but other individuals may like a soft bed

    Excellent location and excellent value for money. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Place to Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is lovely with a good view from the window. Extra service every morning for free coffee and tea. Location is good, 7 mins walk to city center.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    7.9
    Very good value and very nice staff
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We appeared to be next to the kitchen and late at night it was very noisy.

    The staff were very helpful. I am on crutches and even though I can manage a few stairs they prepared a ground floor room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful city (York), lots to see and do, loads of fantastic restaurants and pubs all very central.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t really think of anything, breakfast was nice.

    Fantastic location, easy walk to city centre. Staff pleasant and helpful but unobtrusive.Everything you needed for a short stay, yes room a little on small size but perfectly adequate.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    6.7
    I would not hasten to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although a twin room had been booked online - the room given had a double bed which was made and two pull down temporary beds( neither had been made). Towels were only provided for one person. However this was remedied and one bed was made up. The single temporary bed proved to be extremely uncomfortable and after a poor night's sleep they organised another temporary bed that was better. After returning at 9.30 pm on the first night we arrived back to find no heating on and the room was freezing. We rang both of the 2 numbers advertised to get assistance only to get voicemails. The heating was only sorted after we were able to speak to staff on the 2nd morning at breakfast.

    The breakfast was great - well cooked, tasty and plenty of food. The staff were helpful and tried their best to assist. The room and bedding was clean

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    3.3
    Pay a bit extra but go elsewhere to save yourself the trouble
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor customer service, cold and dirty room. I was almost left on the street because they were not expecting me and seemed really unprepared to accept guests in general.

    The location is the only good thing about this place.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    park view is very close to York center with a 10 min walk we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    park view is very close to York center with a 10 min walk we were there with no fuss, our room was very clean with everything we needed for our stay, breakfast was good also.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    Okay but good staffs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is though near to main city centre and Shambles,about 10 mins walk but still you feel little isolated mainly for night times.

    The staffs are of good behaviour.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.9
    Breakfast was really nice bed was really comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the light in the bathroom didn’t work and the staff didn’t communicate great deal

    Breakfast was really nice bed was really comfortable and was very clean everywhere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    9.6
    Marvellous saty, all that a B&B should be with
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was ok for me but its a good 10 minute walk out of town, on the level.

    Everything was splendid, a warm welcome and the room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent, not greasy. Also, the owners gave me 15% discount at a restaurant they own in town, The Raj, which turned out to be excellent !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    very good for short stay, also parking and near to city centre , able to walk into centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bathroom sink too small and too crowded with glass and soap dispenser so couldn't use it easily water didn't warm up.

    beds very comfortable shower good ,nice and warm and staff polite and friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant! Me and my partner had a brilliant time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like

    Everyone was very welcoming, good destination as only 15 minute walk into york itself. Would highly recommend people to stay there

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    4.2
    We wish we stayed somewhere else and I have never written a bad review about anywhere before
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty, there were holes in the walls in the bedroom, damp patches in shower room and bedroom, carpets were clean and new but everything else was quite frankly disgusting including the mould and flies in the bedroom. The room was so cold, we asked for an extra duvet and they gave us a single one between 2 of us. They cleanliness was that poor that it put us off staying for breakfast.

    The location was good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Was good place to stay TV signal a bit poor and could do a...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was good place to stay TV signal a bit poor and could do a chair or something thing in room overall nice place and good staff well worth its value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.8
    basic but clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was a little bit too far to walk for me, but thats me, i would have preferred heating on in the room it was cold, also found someone elses spectacles under bed.

    nice staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    10
    fantastic short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    The guest house was in a perfect location our room was large and comfortable the bathroom was clean and well stocked and most imprtant of all the staff were fantastic

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    5.8
    Good we were able to walk into York city and explore the historic town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I do not like dark colours in a bedroom, that’s just me .... I prefer, fresh, light, and clean looking. Unfortunately our room was red and black which makes me feel dark and dingy. Sorry!

    The staff try very hard to please

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Excellent comfortable stay - would recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike at all.

    Location just a short walk into York town centre. Immaculately clean throughout spacious twin room. Excellent in-room facilities and value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.4
    Good location but a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Firstly, the hotel booked us for the wrong number of nights (despite calling in advance and booking correctly online), and were asked to move rooms one night before leaving. Only received an apology when we were moving but, were not helped. Only discovered we would be moved two days after arriving; staff did not talk to one another or us about the situation until we asked (when we did discuss the move, the staff member did even take his earphones out). Room had cobwebs, bucket for a bin, mans shirt in wardrobe on arrival from previous guest (when we gave it to a staff member he was not concerned), no TV remote or coffee on arrival, and tissues and crisps under bed. Although we asked for clean towels (as we could not dry them in the room), and a top up of hand-wash as there was none, had to wait two days for this to be carried out by staff. Shower was not cleaned when we were there as hair was still present from previous days (the tissues remained also). Breakfast was ok (very cheap bread for toast which always came out cold, and shriveled up mushrooms) but, no room in dinning room for guests to get out of their seats when busy. Like many guests, we booked because it was cheap and York is a very expensive city. The only saving grace was a comfy bed and a great location (10min walk to York Minster) but, if you book, do not expect cleanness, customer service (there was also a language barrier with many staff members) or good food, and if you ask for anything, you probably won't get it; even if you call in advance. There was a sale sign in the front garden on the floor (along with an empty vodka bottle and takeaway box) therefore, we could only presume that they have recently brought the B&B and do not know how to run it.

    Comfy bed, good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    3.3
    Awful !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was uncomfortable, pull down single bed was awful and very hard, the double bed mattress was dreadful very soft and cheap. There was nothing nice about the room decor disgusting. Didn't stop for breakfast felt unclean.

    Good parking facility, staff friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    5.8
    Adequate, first and last time at this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was terrible. Limited number of spaces and incredibly narrow. 5cm at either side of my car. They really should pay for permits and allow guests to park on the street.

    Warm welcome, though not very organised.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay. Location allows a short walk into town. Staff were attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was a challenge.

    Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast excellent. Staff very friendly. But a challenge going up and down stairs with three small children. Parking was tight but was allowed to use the property resident parking pass and use the street. No complaint on that. Location proved excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    4.6
    Very ,very ,disappointed, amazed at how a bicycle ended up in dining room run by unprofessionals
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    EVERYTHING!!. Room on top floor, very drab, dirty underbed , hanging rail fell out, steel door stop dangerous, unable to fill kettle under sink tap. Room not serviced until requested at 2.30 pm, and still unmade bed, no landing lights, bulbs gone and handrail loose on top floor, high fire risk. Breakfast no choice, and items not available as per menu. Dining room overcrowded, run by untrained staff, worst place in 30 years of B and B ever stayed in. Not recommended.

    Only the bed which was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: