Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Parklands 4 stars

100 Banbury Road, Oxford, OX2 6JU, United Kingdom

#13 of 65 B&Bs and Inns in Oxford

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 705 B&B reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.1
    Overall great place, friendly staff and a nice breakfast included.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was very small, it was totally fine but I wouldn't have booked for that price if I'd known it was so small.

    Nice breakfast. Easy access to the centre of oxford - although a bit down the road, it's walkable and on the bus route.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.3
    It was an OK stay, just not up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property did not live up to the pictures. Two of the three windows in my room were painted shut. That would not have been a big problem except that the temperatures were quite warm. The cleaning crew also could be better as I discovered an empty soda bottle under the bed from a previous traveler.

    The location was good, especially with respect to the buses into the center of Oxford. The breakfast was good as well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    A very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very nice hotel. Our room was quite large. Breakfast was very good with lots of fresh fruit. It's close to a suburb of Oxford, with a good choice of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Excellant stay and would not hesitate to book again if visting the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Water pressure in shower slow but this could be due to pipes in a Victorian building.

    Hotel was very clean and comfortable. Good choice available for breakfast for continental and/or cooked. Staff welcoming and helpful. Hotel situated in a very pleasant area with only short walk into city centre. Ample parking available and bus stops within short distance of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location and friendly staff. Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower in our room (this time) was very small

    Very friendly staff, great breakfast. Great location and easy parking. The hotel is spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.1
    Very convenient and clean and good breakfast. Few minor irritations as above
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom had only one shelf for toiletries but that was over the toilet yuk! Could have had one near the basin. Bed was hard - had to use duvet to lie on to be able to sleep Parking under tree with pine (?) needles was a mistake as the wind resulted in hundreds of pine needles inside and on the car. Park around the front.

    It was hot weather and the window didn't open much but there was a fan in the room to keep us cool- great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.5
    Woukd not stay here again unless we had a better room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was okay but nothing special. The fruit was tinned. Our room was on top floor and very hot plus the duvets were heavy.

    The location was good. About 15 minute walk to town and there are frequent buses. Nice sitting area downstairs

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    This was an elegant BNB.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was an elegant BNB. It's a bit outside the hub of Oxford, but that's not a bad thing. You can get to where the action is with a 5 minute bus ride. It's a lovely hotel and the staff can't do enough for you. Our room was great but up two flights of stairs. Our breakfast was abundant and delicious. Definitely try Parklands when you visit Oxford.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Tastefully modernised public areas without compromising the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property did not have a lift. For elderly people this could be a problem.

    Tastefully modernised public areas without compromising the age and character of the building

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    I would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no shampoo - only body wash. One staff member told us that in the past guests never used the shampoo bottles - which I found rather hard to believe. The check in was a bit cold and impersonal - very quick though. Missing a little bit of warm atmosphere staffwise.

    Rooms were clean, breakfast was good - quick and efficient, check in/out very quick. Staff helpful overall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    Made welcome with complimentary glass of wine. Staff very pleasant and buses into the town good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the above everything was fine.

    New bathroom so very modern and well presented. No shampoo so had to buy some, it did say toiletries included.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Very comfortable, good facilities and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, tidy. Comfortable room and good en-suite. Breakfast available from 0700. Excellent location for central Oxford. Able to park my car on arrival in Oxford mid-morning.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    This B&B is charming and easily found on a corner with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small bed and the lack of fresh fruit and yogurt at breakfast on the first morning.

    This B&B is charming and easily found on a corner with great signage in a lovely setting. Parking is plentiful. It takes about 20 minutes to walk into town which suited us but there’s a bustop nearby. Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful and friendly. The room was too cramped though - one chair too many perhaps. Having chosen a superior double, I thought we’d get a queen bed but it was only a double, which is too small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay would def stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress slanted in a bit and when I sat on my side it was quite squeaky lol, every time I moved it squeaked. Shower could have been a bit more powerful.

    I loved the first impression when you walk in, looks cosy and decor was lovely. I liked the fact it was more personal and peaceful. I had a full English omelette, tastes great and all food was freshly made, croissants were warm and crispy. We are definitely going back. Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    Very lovely property and delicious breakfast, great welcome...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating was too high and we cou,d not turn it down

    Very lovely property and delicious breakfast, great welcome and even able to provide late night drinks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.9
    It was enjoyable,relaxing and above all friendly and accomandating.We will be staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Vegi breakfast sausages not good, vegi gammon again tough. Our room was cold in the evening but could have been because of change of weather.

    The staff on arrival was excellant and departure,staff in other areas were friendly and attentive. The decor was just right simple & relaxing.our room was spacious and shower was good as usually they are to hot or awkward to use. Easy walk to restaurants etc and lovely walk into city centre.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Parklands was a great place to stay, it was walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'd have personally preferred a later check out time as it is 10.30am currently and breakfast runs from 8am till 10am, maybe check out could be midday? Also, WiFi strength wasn't very strong on the top floor even though I tried all three WiFi names, but not a big negative!

    Parklands was a great place to stay, it was walking distance to and from the city centre and we were able to leave our car parked up as we arrived well before check in time! Staff were very friendly and were easy to talk to, property and room was clean, breakfast was also good!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Excellent location to explore Oxford and really good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was lovely and clean and smelt clean as soon as we walked in. The room was idea for what we needed and a good location to walk into Oxford. We were able to park the car early in the hotel car park and leave it there to walk into Oxford for the day. Breakfast was really nice and had a good selection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    A very nice place to stay when visiting Oxford on a Bed and Breakfast basis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A certain amount of disruption due to a water leak and decorating in progress and normal dining room not used. No batteries for the television remote control so unable to use television. However, we were able to move to another room!

    Great location, clean, nice bedrooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Our 1st time to Oxford, will definately return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a dislike, but a mirror with better lighting would have been good for make up application, but only a very small consideration overall

    A beautiful property, in an excellent location to Oxford centre, on main bus routes and easy walking distances for restaurants etc. All of the staff were friendly, helpful and made our stay everything we hoped for. Our room was comfortable, quite spacious and had everything we needed for our stay, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable ensuring a good night's sleep. We did not use the guest lounge as we had 2 gorgeous arm chairs in our room, but it was a lovely room with comfy sofas and chairs. Breakfast was excellent, both cooked and continental, freshly cooked to order, served with a smile. Our overall impression of Parklands and it's staff was excellent, and we would definately return to explore more of the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and very comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a bit squeeky and there was a slight noise from the road (but wasn't too bad).

    The breakfast was very good and the bedroom was very tidy. It was within 20 minutes walking distance of Oxford centre- which was easty to get to.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Had a brilliant time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was superb and the bed very comfy. Really enjoyed our stay and it was very handy for restaurants in one direction and Oxford sights in the other - within walking distance and we were able to park the car with a free pass at the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect hotel for city breaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small cute b&b situated just 20 min walk from Oxford city centre. Perfect location for city breaks, in calmer area and with good bus connection with the centre. Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is sufficient and cooked breakfasts are really delicious. Our room was quite small but nice, clean and very comfortable. There wasn't any wardrobe in the room, just few baskets in a shelf under the tv. However there was still enough space for all our stuff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.9
    Typical English B&B just outside the city center.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very warm in the room (in the whole building actually) and there were no means to regulate temperature other than opening the window. And it's a matter of taste, but the bed (single person's) was way too soft and springy.

    Very charming place in a typical Oxford house. My room , although small, was nicely renovated. Bathroom was fantastic! It lies a bit outside the city center (20 min walking), but is easily accessible by public transport. Very quiet, residential neighborhood! As for the breakfast, next to small buffet you could also order a number of warm dishes.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    Very good and we will definetely book there again.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ventilation in the room. The secondary double glazing worked perfectly - well done - but unable to get some air through. The bathroom was hot despite the towel rail heating being off all the tiem we were there (and before, probably)

    The upgrading that has gone on since we last stayed there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Exceeded my expectations
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stairs. It would havebeen lovely to have a lift

    The room was clean and comfortable and quiet. It was great to have a shower as they are working on our flat

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Welcoming and pleasant. I'll be back!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only complaint was that my bedside lamp wasn't quite bright enough for comfortable reading.

    Fresh fruit for breakfast, always good. Lovely, thick towels in the bathroom. Adjustable heating in the room (I was there during the big freeze). Selection of teas and good quality biscuits in the room. Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was quite small ,not quite wide enough for two pillows side by side.

    The best breakfast in Oxford,charming staff and great location-we will book again,in fact we already have.Thanks for a super stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities, excellent breakfast.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have stayed at Parkland's twice, and in one of the occasions the room was very small. The wi-fi network had occasional problems and I had to reconnect fairly often.

    The facilities were good and extremely clean, staff was very kind and helpful and the breakfast was great!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable stay close to central Oxford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could do with a make-up mirror in bathroom and shower caps. There is no lift although staff are helpful if asked to assist with luggage.

    Very convenient for our stay. Parking was a bonus. Good breakfast, very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    10
    If we were visiting Oxford again we would certainly use this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was just fine.

    Hotel location was excellent for the purpose of our visit. The room was really nice, and even the traffic on the main road did not deter our stay. Breakfast was excellent, and the choices wonderful. The Staff were polite and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Perfectly situated within easy walking distance from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly situated within easy walking distance from the city centre. Beautifully presented hotel with very helpful staff. The breakfast on offer was high quality and cooked to perfection. Will definitely be staying there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    I can't recommend it highly enough. What a lovely weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely little hotel with all of the quality of a much larger establishment. Beautiful room with everything you could need. Fantastic breakfast and great local knowledge fom the friendly staff. We will go there again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Great for a week end break in Oxford.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Car got covered in bird pooh as parking was under a big tree. Walls between rooms a bit thin. You could here people snoring in next room and lots of foot steps from people above. No one's fault so we just got on and enjoyed ourselves.

    Lovely homely atmosphere. Clean, warm and beautifully decorated. Perfect breakfast and very helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location and rooms
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed could have been more comfortable. The main problem was noise from an upstairs guest (heavy footed and television noise) until midnight and then woken by people in reception shortly after 6am - so not the most refreshing sleep. Not sure how sound proofing could be improved. My colleague had a top floor room and slept soundly so perhaps try that if you're a light sleeper!

    Great breakfast. Access to newspapers in the guest lounge - a nice touch Modern room and bathroom. Lovely touch having handmade biscuits and good selection of hot drinks and sparkling water in the rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.1
    A nice hotel but spoiled by being given a tiny attic room. Not enough space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was tiny. My bathroom at home is bigger. I feel we paid the full rate for a half sized room. NiWe couldn't unpack our bags as no where to put the clothes. The bathroom was tiny. The radiator would not turn off. Such a tiny room it got too hot. I had to open the windows all night. The car park was not adequate for the number of rooms.

    Beds were comfortable, power shower, clean and warm bedroom. The breakfast was very nice and a lot was given with much choice. The location was quite near to the city.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.2
    Highly enjoyable stay!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No door to the bathroom was a bit odd at first...(but ok, it was a single room).

    It's the perfect place for the mini-break, both cosy and modern, I had a room to the backyard and no noise from the main road. Buses run up to town every five minutes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Breakfast was brilliant, extremely helpful and friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Breakfast was brilliant, extremely helpful and friendly staff. Loved the uplighters in our room which changed colours. Didn't have an iron in our room, but we phoned down and one was brought up in under 5 minutes.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    7.9
    Generally a good stay with only a couple of minor negatives
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a light sleeper so unfortunately I found the road noise disturbed my sleep though my husband was fine. (We requested a quiet room but obviously one must not have been available). Breakfast on a weekday finishes at 0900! This is pretty early for some people on a leisure break. Finishing the breakfast period at 10.00 would be much better in my opinion.

    Lovely clean, good sized king room with an excellent shower room. Breakfast superb quality.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent stay overall, would stay again, good location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfortable.

    Close to city centre with easy access via buses. Staff very helpful and the room we were in was large and spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Would certainly go again and recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was amount of bird droppings left on my car. Obviously it is not a big issue but doesn’t look nice and had to get it cleaned

    Everything was perfect and could not ask for a better place to stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    9.2
    Very clean room, nice sized bathroom and thick walls (could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room temperature control - but being picky was very good.

    Very clean room, nice sized bathroom and thick walls (could not hear other guests). It felt private and the bed was very comfortable - not overly soft.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    6.5
    Pleasant part of North Oxford
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom mirror light doesn't switch off which is fine if there is a door between bedroom and bathroom but there wasn't one.

    Good breakfast. Staff were helpful in giving me a parking permit for the next day. I like the location but it is a longish walk from Oxford centre.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Super stay - delicious breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were extremely comfortable if a little tight by even European standards. But very well designed so we wanted for nothing. The staff was helpful and polite. Would definitely stay again!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Always stop here for excellent facilities, comfortable stay and great value. See you next year
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking OK but beware roosting birds in overhanging trees pooping on your car. Not a deal-breaker, just a bit annoying, and not an easily solved problem.

    Gd location 20min walk to City Centre. Single room small-ish but q. adequate, minimal furnishing but v. clean & modern,full in-room facilities. Exc.b/fast, v.friendly staff. Great value.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Really enjoyable.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The light in the mirror in the bathroom didn't work, but it's a very small point and I'm sure they would have fixed it promptly if I had told them about it!

    Really lovely little hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.7
    Lovely fresh fruit at breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed awfulness? A spring base. I cannot imagine a gentleman of 160 kilos sleeping in that bed.

    Lovely fresh fruit at breakfast. Bedroom very small but bathroom very modern, spotless and warm.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.4
    Bedroom v small but clean, bed awful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny room single bed very old style with bedsprings? Ensuite v good. Lady at reception not v helpful.

    Fresh fruit at breakfast lovely, cooked breakfast good, bacon very greasy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    The hotel is in an excellent location - you can easily get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is in an excellent location - you can easily get to Oxford either by walking or by bus. The breakfast was excellent, with a lovely choice of food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    5.0
    We looked forward to our stay but at the end decided we would not return again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is on a main OXford road and we had a room at the side of the hotel facing the turning from the main road. From 5am onwards the noise from the main road traffic was too much for us to sleep, so we arose tired and incovenienced. The owners are talking of exending the hotel at the back and these rooms will be quieter but we think they should firstly invest in double glazing to reduce the noise to their current rooms from traffic. It was therefore not value for money - £129 per night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    I would have no hesitation in recommending this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The B&B did not have an elevator which may be a problem for some people. Also, the WiFi reception was not very good.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful with information. The location is about a 20 min. walk to the centre of Oxford. It's about 10 min. drive from the Oxford ring road.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    - very kind staff
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - no fridge in the room

    - very kind staff - very comfortable bed - very nice and spacious bathroom - great breakfast - great value for money - definitely can recommend to everyone

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    Over all very satisfied except that the cooked breakfast could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast were only average. Scrambled eggs rubbery and bacon salty. Little storage space which was OK for our 2 night stay .

    Good location for public transport. Comfortable lounge. dining room light and airy Staff very helpful. Hotel and area quiet however this was during university holidays. Beds comfortable and room a reasonable size.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    7.1
    A b&B in oxford - next time i try somewhere else.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls and floors as thin as paper - so could hear neighbour snoring and walking. Very warm dampish small room (for Oct!) so had to have window open - then woken up by traffic from 5. So didnt sleep fantastically.

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    10
    Delightful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives at all.

    Have used Parklands several times and never been disappointed. Lovely rooms and excellent service. Nothing is too much trouble . Walkable into town, but on bus route, too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    Perfect home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely little place ideally located for exploring oxford. Breakfast is a feast. Very friendly people, quiet and some great bars and restaurants like Gees just down the road. We will be back for the half marathon next year if not before.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    We had a lovely, relaxing stay in a beautiful characterful period property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of stairs to our room.

    Beautiful house on a main road into the city. Local shops also very good. Attention to detail at Parklands - throughout, is very good. We would return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Expensive for what it is.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise coming from the road.No noise proof windows ! There are no curtain light shielding. The twin room is very, very small Certainly not a four star accommodation.

    Not far from the centre. Good breakfast with genuine fruits.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    Good location - easy to get into central Oxford on the bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small and soundproofing not great.

    Good location - easy to get into central Oxford on the bus. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were extremely welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    This was one of the best stays I have had in recent times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This was one of the best stays I have had in recent times. The house may be historical on the outside but inside is modern and very tastefully decorated. The single room was spacious with a very modern en suite. It is situation within an eeasy walk or bus ridee from the heart of Oxford with a regular supply of buses. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and variety. Despite being on a main road the room was quiet at night ( it was a side room).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.7
    Clean rooms and not too far from town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Standard room a bit on the small side. Superior room has more space but a bit pricey.

    Good breakfast, clean rooms, on-site parking and 20 min walk to town centre (frequent buses also nearby)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Great location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were at the top of the house and it was so hot at night which made it hard to sleep.

    Staff were fantastic and also loved the guest lounge to read the paper in after breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Small but perfectly formed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything I could have improved.

    Very clean, very welcoming, very friendly even though we arrived really early. Breakfast was fabulous, service was wonderful and they arranged free parking for us for the day when we had checked out. They couldn't have been nicer. Lovely place, great location, everything was perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    8.8
    Ideal for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very soft bed. We also were situated at front looking onto main road which can be a bit noisy for some, as Weather was hot and had window open. Which nobody can help. Fan was provided.

    Excellent location, staff, and BREAKFAST, public transport available frequently although we chose to walk as it's a beautiful city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Good B& B in Oxford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location just outside main area of Oxford, easily accessible by bus ( bus stop nearby). Comfortable rooms, good breakfast. Great advantage is availability of free parking on the premises.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    First class
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only draw back was we were at the top of the building and was a bit difficult to access as my partner has slight mobility difficulties

    The staff were excellent very helpful and the breakfasts were first class Alison was particularly helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stopping place for exploring Oxford. Good, clean accomodation supplying an excellent base.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was hot but the hotel could not do much about the weather! Fans were provided and alleviated the problem.

    Excellent bed and breakfast stop. Good transport into Oxford (on direct bus route) and also many godeating places within walking distance or take the bus into Oxford or taxi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.9
    Very good place, but prepare to walk if using public trans
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was OK, but involved more walking than I would have liked. The bus stop is about a five minute walk. Walking into town: about 20 minutes.

    Outstanding breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    Good location for arriving by car and being able to walk or bus to central Oxford
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little more choice of cereals and fruit juices at breakfast would be good - e.g. wheatabix or shredded wheat

    Comfortable bedroom; handy for bus route into central Oxford to save driving Lovely garden that you can sit in

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    From the minute I stepped through the door the service was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From the minute I stepped through the door the service was perfect. We had arrived later than expected and had planned to grab a drink before heading out for the evening and when I told the manager he bought two lovely chilled glasses of wine to our room so we could relax and enjoy getting ready without rushing. The breakfasts were great with good choices and all staff were extremely pleasant. Would definitely recommend Parklands and would love to stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    8.3
    Very good, but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was the most we paid for a hotel on our trip - and the room was the smallest. We asked for two twin beds, which may have limited our choices. Many stairs to the attic room. This was the only hotel that did not ask us if we wanted help with our luggage (Rob was not on duty when we checked in). Hotel is located just a little too far from the city centre.

    Rob in the hotel office was wonderful and all our requests were fulfilled.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.8
    Would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiniest room and tiniest shower we have ever been in. Up on the third floor, in the attic, and no elevator. The taller one of us could not have used one of the twin beds. He would have hit his head every time he sat up or did not duck his head when lying down. Also no AC and therefore hot as temperatures were around 28/29 Celsius even though there was a fan.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    8.3
    Best value just outside city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    All the elegance of a dorm room.

    Excellent included breakfast (actually a B&B). Very friendly and helpful staff. Convenient to downtown, either by walking (20 minutes) or cab. (No one in their right mind drives in downtown Oxford)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellant stay in beatiful gardened surrounding. Weather was also glorious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was located on the third floor and whilst it was bright , clean and airy the eves of the building created a sloping ceiling which in places meant one had to bend to avoid hitting ones head. Could potentially have been dangerous especially during the night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    9.6
    Great Accommodation with parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sausages were a little bit overcooked after the first day.

    Lovely big room and very comfy bed. Breakfast was very nice and good coffee. In a great position for Oxford City or Summertown - 15 to 20 minutes walk either way.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: