Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Passford House Hotel 3 stars

Mount Pleasant Lane, Lymington, SO41 8LS, United Kingdom

#18 of 29 hotels in Lymington

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 920 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited dinner menu. A daily special should be offered. At breakfast often food in hot pans wasn’t topped up quickly

    Food very good but a very limited menu for dinner if as we were accommodation over 7 days is required.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A few small things let it down., otherwise I would have scored it higher. The plates for hot breakfast were cold. Soda is in an old fashioned soda siphon, which is fine but not chilled, and when a fresh bottle of wine was opened it too was not chilled enough. Not a major problem, I had ice, but not quite as good as it could very easily be.

    A quiet location and a wonderful garden. The staff were polite and helpful, Nice menu and good food, though the menu didn't change for my 3 night stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally the hotel could do with a bit of modernisation.

    Very pleasant hotel. Excellent gardens and gym pool facility. Our VIP room was spacious light and highly satistlfactory

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Passford House has the most splendid garden setting so allow yourself plenty of time to find an arbour, sit, relax and enjoy the tranquility down by the fish pond.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sadly the outdoor swimming pool remained closed throughout our stay, quite disappointing. As dogs are permitted in some rooms, unfortunately there was some dog mess left in the lower garden near the pretty pond.

    The amount of recreation rooms to leisure in the house, the gardens were beautiful. Good choice for breakfast, very friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is lovely and quaint. Very welcoming staff. Very hard to fine but a hidden gem. Spotlessly clean. Beautiful gardens. Perfect location for the New Forest. A really nice surprise. Will stay here again if in the area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    we practically had to beg for coffee and french toast at breakfast, third person we asked brought it after we finihed breakfast but with all apologies etc

    beautiful spot/location clean, quite, beautiful building

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was really peaceful, on the edge of the New Forest. The hotel was done to a high standard, with lovely decor & rooms. It had a "stepping back in time" feeling when you entered the reception. Great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It's a real olde world hotel where the staff are friendly and helpful . The gardens are a must for a wander around , they are beautiful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room clean and functional but decor and fittings very 1980's and needs an upgrade to continue charging the rate we paid. Corridor ceilings to the room very out of character

    Staff from reception to bar to restaurant were very welcoming and accomodating

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our superior room looked out over the gravel extra car park area and one of the curtains had a hole in it.

    The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We liked the various lounges and garden spaces so not all guests were in the same area, we could spread out. It was quiet even with a wedding on Saturday night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor quite dated and requires some refurbishment, for the price I would expect a slightly higher spec room. This was clean but very basic. Bar was very basically stocked too which was a bit of a surprise for a hotel with a restaurant. We also had bikes (as we expect most people would!) and the hotel could not accommodate these so they stayed on the car.

    The hotel has a nice garden out the back and another at the front of the property. Hotel looks pretty from the front and staff are friendly though not overly forthcoming - nothing special either way but a nice, clean hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price was high for the standard and the bed mattress was not that comfortable, I could feel the buttons, a mattress topper would fix this.

    Pretty location and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You have to drive on narrow lanes to get to the hotel-but that probably adds to the charm!

    The room was a very good size and the onsuite bathroom was quite large . All the staff were very attentive,but not over the top with it. Overall the hotel was very well presented and set in well laid out gardens.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not keen on carpet in bathrooms, but just a personal preference, everything very clean

    Lovely room,large 4 poster bed extremely comfortable, large spotlessly clean bathroom, food at both dinner and breakfast was superb, reception and waiting staff very welcoming and professional.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was a little disappointing. Having stayed there before, you used to be able to have a set menu of say 2 or 3 courses, but now it is just Al a carte. The food was reasonably cooked, similar to good pub grub and not too expensive.

    The friendly staff. The room was very comfortable and the garden was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was well

    Booked for family as we had visited before. They were very pleased and the child’s bed was well received. All facilities praised including the indoor swimming pool and swing in the garden and, of course, the breakfast. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing other than the fact that we were a little too early to see the innumerable rhododendrons in their full glory. Next time we will aim to be there nearer to the end of May.

    This is an exceptional hotel in that it boasts both a wonderful place to stay and an outstanding garden to stroll around. Additionally, the family of robins which inhabit the courtyard garden, many of the windowsills and even the Bar, provide a constant source of charming amusement.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far away from centre of Lymington. We came down on the train so it cost us a lot in taxi fares. You really need a car to get around.

    Lovely old fashioned hotel. Grounds were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be helpful if there was a wider choice of vegetarian options on the menu. I realise it is common practice but it somewhat annoys me that vegetables are an added extra if wanted.

    The gardens were fabulous and it would be wonderful to stay there in dry hot/warm weather to make full use of the facilities. The Monet garden was very pretty ,peaceful and relaxing. All the staff were friendly, and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house-keeping staff walked into our room at 8:50am without knocking. At dinner we had to ask a couple of times for drinks/food that had either been forgotten or the wrong drink/food had been served by mistake.

    We were upgraded to a large room with a four poster bed and free-standing bath which was great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few issues over our dinner reservation. Staff were attentive after the fact and more than made up for the error.

    Beautiful hotel. Comfy bed and gorgeous grounds. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints a perfect stay

    Perfect location, room had easy access to grounds for walking the dog. The swimming pool was really welcome to relax in on a hot day. The staff were extremely friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Next time we visit we will certainly take the advice given and ask for a room with a view of the beautiful garden.

    The welcome and helpfulness given by Dan on Reception. An excellent Ambassador for the Hotel and the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    heating not on in evening, room was a bit chilly

    complimentary upgrade of room for our anniversary ! staff could not do enough to make us feel welcome. everyone was very welcoming and the hotel and grounds were beautiful. food in restaurant was of a very high standard

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For one night stay, two rooms and two meals for 3 of us, the overall cost was high..

    the room first allocated was very small to have 2 dogs but after requesting if there was anything bigger we were moved to a much nicer room. Our dogs did not settle in the room due to thunderstorms so cancelled dinner in the restaurant and just went for the "lounge" option where dogs were allowed. The staff very kindly agreed to serve us the restaurant menu here and the food was excellent

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is quite small and almost half of it is too shallow to swim in. Bed was far too soft for us, but am aware that's personal preference. Also, when out room was serviced, they threw away our half used toiletries and replaced them with new ones. There's no need to get rid of the ones we were using!

    The grounds were very nice to walk around. Staff were friendly and room was spacious. Wi-Fi was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the food in the restaurant worked out quite expensive. With having to have add on prices. We would have eaten in more if we could.

    The service was great in all areas. The massage we had was fabulous. Heather looked after us very well. The food was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only, very very minor down side was the toast at breakfast, which lacked the quality of the rest of the catering.

    I loved the country house feel and character. The quiet location suited me; the food was excellent, with service to match; and the staff were friendly, approachable, and not at all intrusive. I was very comfortable and well looked after. It was too wet to use the outdoor facilities but I enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and sauna.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bubbly tub near the pool is not really a hot tub, a real shame as a good bubbly tub can be really relaxing and a good place to sit and chat. however not the end of the world as this wonderful hotel has many places to sit and chat.

    really great breakfast, dinner was also outstanding , pool a little small when more than 8 guests , however wonderful to unwind after a hectic day. staff are so nice and helpful, it just goes to show how a simple smile and a kind word can turn a really good hotel into an outstanding home from home.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room needs updating. Food good but same menu every night. They need to change it daily we would have eaten there every evening if they had done this

    Lovely old fashioned English service. All staff were lovely. Very comfortable bed and we liked the log firesz

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    Very dated and vastly over-priced. The hotel needs new ownership and new decor. Whilst the serving staff are delightful they're English is appallingly bad.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although all the bathroom plumbing worked it was rather dated. The rooms were extremely hot but once we turned the radiator off and kept the windows open all night it was fine. Drinks in the bar seemed rather expensive. Felt it was more suited to the over 60's although there were several younger family groups

    Breakfast was lovely and the staff were very helpful throughout our stay. Would recommend the Monkey House pub down the road for an excellent meal

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our bedroom was right above the restaurant and we could hear the music and chat quiet loudly. It was not too much of an issue but would have been if the diners had stayed up late. The food was good but menu a little limited - a 'special'each day would have provided some variety

    The bed was very comfy, staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charge for dog was not advised prior to stay or even at check in, only discovered when paying final bill.

    Communication prior to stay was excellent, made stay with my disabled mum & my dog a breeze even in the snowy conditions.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sometimes - mainly in the restaurant the service was slow as there weren't enough staff. Maybe it was a busy weekend. However it didn't affect us. We were happy to linger at the table over dinner as it was a family celebration and outside was freezing!

    Very friendly staff and in the summer the outside facilties would be great. Food very good. The pool was good and the gym facilities went beyond the 3 or 4 machines usually found.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The chairs in the lounges and bar - extremely uncomfortable. The pornographic print in the gents. Totally inappropriate for children to see.

    Plenty of space to relax. Excellent food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool lacked of spa, and the gym was not inviting to be used.

    Dinner was very well cooked and presented. Breakfast has a good choice. Maybe it could have had extra continental items.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not to happy with carpet in the bathroom.Otherwise ten out of ten!

    Great to find a dog friendly hotel but a little pricey at £14 a night per dog and I had two.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't understand the non-jacuzzi next to pool, seemed like it didn't work and they just renamed it something convenient!

    Swimming pool and steam room nice and quiet. Dinner and breakfast was very nice and staff excellent. Imagine grounds are lovely in summer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Old-fashioned (though functional) bathroom; limited seating for couples in bar-lounge area; lack of crunchy nut cornflakes or shredded wheat at breakfast; no illuminated indication of time in bedroom. Good dinner menu, very well prepared and served but mainly the same every evening.

    Friendliness and efficiency of staff; warmth and comfort of bedroom; attractive dining room; wonderful weekend breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is leafy and beautiful, and hotel is all inclusive, but there is not much within walking distance.

    Cozy, comfortable, relaxing, lovely setting, in house restaurant, buffet breakfast, pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really sure what this hotel is trying to be, it feels stuck in the past and has a feeling of faded glory. Rooms small with dated decor. Although it’s dog friendly, they are not welcome in the bar or the restaurant, which was probably a good thing as both were dated and lacking any atmosphere. Trying to be all things for all people but missing the mark.

    Good food but had to be eaten off our laps as nowhere to eat with a dog. Beautiful gardens. Dog friendly rooms Wonderful country house Decent buffet breakfast, you can order poached eggs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the changing areas for the pool and gym a little on the small side.

    We liked everything about the hotel. Staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble.The food was excellent especially the breakfasts.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a couple of little things - the sauna has to be switched on to order - annoying when you ask but arrive and find it cold, especially as you had to go outside in a towel to go back to reception, and the vent in there needed fixing (the staff on reception said they would report it). The walls/floors in the room that we were in were pretty thin so we were woken up both mornings early by the people staying above us - unfortunately, they were pretty noisy and obviously very early risers.

    We had a pretty relaxing stay at this hotel - two nights. The restaurant menu was lovely and the breakfast range was extensive. The staff were very attentive and overall, we had a good stay.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Small duvet cover - Bathroom sink was filthy, I had to clean it before use. - Locks on windows, but no keys to unlock in case of fire. - Cannot sit on loo without knees hitting the radiator. Also, toilet too close to the wall.

    Old, classic building

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have faund a lot of blond or gray hair on the bathroom floor and didn't like the fact that there was a carpet. The hotel was a little bit dated.

    We loved the view from the room and the staff was very friendly

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above the menu. Long way to find somewhere else to eat as off the beaten track especially in the dark.

    Room upgraded to 4 poster which was very comfortable. Big double ended bath in corner plus a room with huge shower sink and loo. Breakfast good with plenty to choose from. Evening meal not so much choice and if eating there more than one night it would have been good to have a bit more option

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely old building with loads of character. Very helpful staff. Heather is an excellent masseuse. Interesting garden. Lots of activities including swimming pool, gym, tennis court, croquet and putting green.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible view of a gravel drive from bedroom and bad smell from sink and bath

    Very helpful and friendly staff.Lovely location.Good breakfast.Nice log fires

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast in the morning was great but waiting for the beans and scrambled eggs to be done was a little frustrating

    This is a lovely warm and welcoming place to be. Sitting in the evening in front of the open fire

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Many thanks

    Lovely Queen size bed and the bath was huge - a lovely hotel with a very relaxed feeling about it. Bar and lounges with their log fires, particularly welcoming at this time of year, and the grounds are so nice to stroll around. Pool and spa are a definite plus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bedroom was rather stuffy and we had to open all the windows even though it was winter. The radiator did not work properly so initially the room was very hot, and we couldn't adjust the temperature. Then the radiator did not work and the room was too cold. Eventually the problem did get resolved to our satisfaction.

    We stayed for a week. Very friendly and helpful staff. All our requests were met with enthusiasm and a wonderful attitude.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely comfy bed (four poster) amazing dinner very friendly and helpful staff. Great place to take dogs - they can stay in some rooms and lounge but not dining room which is fine by us as nice to have time on own

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very small comment and doesn't affect overall impression - shower needed somewhere to hold toiletries - rather than having to put them on shower floor.

    Spacious and comfortable room - really enabled us to relax. Huge bath and very efficient shower. Several lounges, some with open fires. Food beautifully presented, and lovely staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was disappointing as it was two single beds pushed together and one mattress was much firmer than the other

    Lovely hotel in scenic and peaceful location. We were also upgraded for free to a superior room, which was a nice surprise

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were so welcoming and the ambience so inviting and comfortable. The bar and lounges and dining room were beautifully appointed and warm and the setting quite idyllic. There is a good-sized indoor pool, and an outdoor, and spa facilities which I sadly didn't have the opportunity of using. I was staying in the old part of the hotel where the bathrooms are obviously in need now of refurbishment but in terms of value for money this hotel more than meets expectations and I can highly recommend it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints. Everything was perfect.

    The hotel provided an excellent reception, service and breakfast, the room was comfortable and warm and the surroundings were beautiful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi reception/signal from the ground floor (where we stayed the whole period, room 160) was exceedingly poor. When asked reception the receptionist reset the router, but this did not solve the problem. Please note that this note on the WiFi is not just a passing comment; it's fair to say that the WiFi barely worked, and as such, this is absolutely not acceptable for the price of the room per night. Having a reasonable Internet connection in your hotel room should not be considered an "extra" or a luxury by a hotel; it's become a modern necessity that people actively rely on or need to checkin on their business emails, for example, and access other important resources. This should be remedied, as it's not fair on future guests who are relying on the availability of a half-decent Internet connection. Please install some WiFi repeaters.

    The room was sparkling clean, and the atmosphere was very relaxing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing, but there are quite a lot of stairs and no lift.

    Beautiful country house hotel in very quiet surroundings. There are large grounds to stroll in when the weather permits and cosy sitting rooms with log fires. Our bedroom was very large with a comfortable sofa to relax on and beautiful furnishings. Also a large bathroom - 2 sinks, a walk in shower and a huge bath. This is our 4th stay and hopefully it will not be our last. We enjoyed good well presented meals in the restaurant. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming. Excellent all round.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A minor quibble....although the restaurant and the service was perfect as was most of the meal we were disappointed with the accompanying vegetables. Accompanying delicious fresh cod and in the case of my wife, delicious duck, with boiled parsnip, carrot and boiled potato seemed odd. How about fresh kale, grilled tomatoes, mange tout or green beans???

    everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar prices to my reckoning could be cheaper. We did restrict our bar orders, given the high prices.

    Comfy bed lovely spacious room, superb dinner and great breakfast. friendly staff. Lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Four Poster Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to improve excellent.

    It was my wifes 50th and all staff were amazing we enjoyed the evening as it was a xmas party evening and also a walk around he grounds in the morning. I would go back but stay in a less expensive room next time although room was excellent.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like carpeting in the bathroom - very unhygienic. Also a lot of noise - banging and clanging from the kitchen below us.

    The bed was comfy, spacious room. Staff were excellent, very welcoming and the hotel was so spacious with lots of small rooms to sit and log fires. Was really Christmassy. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm and friendly greeting from the staff. We were upgraded to a romantic 4 poster bedroom - huge, with a wonderfully comfortable bed and gorgeous bathroom. Log fires everywhere, great food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all of it. it was great break from home, just what we needed and a great place to stay, will be going back in the new year for a longer stay,cant wait. staff great , fires in all sitting rooms which was very nice to sit by,in fact our best stay in a hotel for a long time.D MORGAN

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Unfortunately the indoor swimming pool was not working. We were unaware of this at the time of booking. Not sure what you could have done about it, but it would have been nice to use.

    Lovely old world friendly atmosphere and very helpful staff. Gardens were nice and would be even better in the summer. Totally relaxing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was out of action. The heating had not been turned on in our room before we arrived.

    The bed was large and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent and the staff could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a shame that the pool wasn't functional the weekend that we were there.

    Beautiful room and grounds, decent food (if a little expensive), and above all absolutely lovely staff - plus they very kindly offered us quite a considerable discount due to the pool being out of action (which had initially been our main reason for choosing it). Would definitely like to come again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that the pool wasn't open was unfortunate. The pillows weren't comfortable :-(

    The cosiness on a Dec winters evening. The hospitality of the staff. The food was excellent in the restaurant. The scrambled eggs at breakfast :-)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was a little uncomfortable, but staff changed our mattress after the first night.

    Lovely, characterful hotel with charming bar, gorgeous rambling gardens and access to the New Forest on foot.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very pretty hotel with a cosy and comfortable interior. Food pretty good too. And a jazz saxophonist who played expertly and at just the right volume in the dining room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    I took my Mum away for the weekend and the service was superb. My Mum said she was made to feel like a lady of the manor. Praise indeed! The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The food was exquisite! It was a 5 star first class experience!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location wasn't quite what we would have chosen but that is a purely subjective thing. The price was a little on the expensive side. Bottles of beer at the bar were quite expensive too.

    An all round excellent experience. The staff were polite, helpful and friendly; the room was clean and comfortable; breakfast was tasty.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Children in the bar , one room without children would be nice.

    So welcoming and comfortable. This is our third visit and we will definitely be back again. We have been both in winter and in the summer and it has much to offer in all seasons , both in character and facilities.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: