Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Patshull Park Hotel, Golf & Country Club This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Patshull Park, Pattingham, Pattingham, WV6 7HR, United Kingdom

#1 of 1 hotels in Pattingham

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 259 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was in need of update. Very spacious but could be so much better

    Good location. Lovely views. Very friendly atmosphere. Loved the food. Made our dog very welcome. I made good use of swimming pool. Bar area was in need of refit. Chairs very stained and so was carpet. This lets the hotel down

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 23, 2018

    8.3
    Very good for a short stay, as a base for travelling,,, or if you like golf!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This place is set in acres of stunning scenery, lakes everywhere, and a golf course all around, but on arrival we found our room to be a box room in the attic with a window which opened onto the kitchen roof extraction system, not good, but a quick word with Emily on reception and we found ourselves in a good, lake view balcony room, very good service. Everything else was good,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely place.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No mention of a £25 additional charge for taking my small dog when booking or pre paying that was added to my final bill .

    Staff lovely, grounds beautiful food delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    5.8
    Fire alarm at 6am with 2 autistic children. No staff to be seen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor selection of drinks for my children, entrance was so bumpy my daughter was shouting for me to stop (at 10mph) and there was a large person sized dip in the bed. Poor access times for children to use the pool. Worst part was the fire alarm at 6am. Fair enough false alarms happen and I would always rather an alarm work than not, but there were no staff to be seen. I rang reception to enquire about the alarm but by then my two children with autism were not coping at all and had to leave. I was hoping to have some breakfast but no staff and two overwhelmed and scared children combined leaving us hungry and out of our room by 6.15am. We didn't have chance to use the pool facilities and had to just leave the room key at reception and go.

    The surroundings look beautiful and the squirrels outside our patio doors were amusing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 7, 2018

    6.7
    never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our view of the hedges, the way the head waitress just looked at us as if we were alien's because we sat at the wrong table, ( only us and one more table were in there. 30 table's lol) when i asked and she told us we left.....................

    ???????????. we booked looking at a room with view of the lake but didn't get it so rather than moan we just got on with it. the small restuarant was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    9.6
    drinks at the bar very expensive, bring your own bottles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    drinks at the bar very expensive, bring your own bottles...………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..……………………………………………………………………..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    5.0
    Very informative and interesting. Slight improvement over time, but welcome not good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The welcome

    Staffs were very unwelcoming and bathroom was not as clean as it should be. Breakfast was wonderful and the view and golf course was fabulous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was the best.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only down fall The women who was their for breakfast. Walked straight past us and had too wait 5mins to be seen, so she could ask for our room number. Wasn’t just me People just walked in in the end, and she had to go peoples tables asking for their room numbers

    Breakfast was the best. Fresh and Delicious!!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    10
    Pleasurable
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing except at breakfast only had sliced bread would have been nice to have other breads

    Loved the hotel and all it offered staff were very pleasant planning on rebooking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    7.5
    Considering the beautiful countryside in which the hotel is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Considering the beautiful countryside in which the hotel is situated the room had a disappointing view, but it was comfortable and adequate. The dining room view compensated, though, as it looks directly onto the lake. Breakfast was good, though fairly pricy if you don't want a full English, as there was cereal, bread and marmalade/jam (no honey the morning we were there) but no cheese, ham or sausagemeat (which Germans, for example, enjoy at breakfasttime!) and we had to wait quite a while for English breakfast tea to be refilled.There was, however, a fairly wide choice of teas and infusions. As breakfast wasn't included our booking we had it in the cafe on our second morning - good choice of dishes, tasty, excellent value - without the view but with friendly service.The swimming pool with sauna is a definite plus as an extra.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    5.8
    The leisure facilities were good and the grounds
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was poor and the general state of repair of the building and the cleanliness was below average. This hotel needs some money spending on it to get it back to a good standard.

    The leisure facilities were good and the grounds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    5.4
    A disappinting hotel set in beautiful surroundings...a sorry state of disrepair.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bumpy and uncomfortable driveway to the hotel is unfortunately a grim introduction for what's to come. Sadly the hotel has not be maintained and now looks dreary and has become terribly outdated. The facilities from the pool, gym, to the dreadful breakfast are substandard and lack any sense of inspiration, care, or attention to detail... overall very disappointing and for such beautiful surroundings this really is a shame. The smell of deep fried food coming from the kitchen was all me and my colleague needed as an invitation to look elsewhere for food, and we ended up eating out at a lovely Italian in Bridgenorth. Definitely could not recommend nor would stay again.

    Beautiful surroundings, and a comfortable large bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 14, 2018

    8.3
    Good value - would stay again at a similar price.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a lot really. I would have to stay again before saying anything negative.

    The staff was / were very polite and helpful. Good availability for gym and pool. Food for evening dinner and breakfast were a good standard and priced so that it was value for money. Overall - good value at the price charged.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay which is quiet, comfortable, safe and affordable.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A couple of things just needed to be kept on top of. One of the our bathrooms had a loo seat that wasn't attached to the loo and the hairdryers are pointless as they stop after 30 seconds meaning you can't dry your hair - unattached ones need to be made available to people who need to look presentable in the morning!

    I had a large room with a very comfortable bed and a wonderful view. It was extremely quiet and therefore slept extremely well. The food in the bar was good and it worked well for a large party of tired people.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    7.5
    The chicken caesar salad was awful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The chicken caesar salad was awful.. chicken had clearly been microwaved and there was blood on the meat so I left my meal for fear of contamination. Room was rightr next to the public bar which I wasn't happy about

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 8, 2018

    6.3
    disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was shabby and in need of refurbishment. breakfast items were not kept stocked up, the hot water for tea ran out, the milk ran out, the yogurt ran out, the mushrooms ran out. the bar was in the corridor and the seats and ambience was not appealing. there was mould on the changing room ceiling and there were no locks on the shower doors. the bathroom basin did not drain well and the toilet needed re-flushing. the first room we were given smelt of cigarette smoke, the room was very small, the bathroom was poorly designed, meaning the toilet was behind the door and banged knees if it was opened when someone was on the toilet. it just did not meet up with expectations, for £150 I expected more, unfortunately it looks like i will have to book a chain because then at least i know what i will get. we did not use the golf course or the fishing and so maybe that is what the other guests came for.

    bed was comfy. staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing, I would not recommend or return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Worn,dated decoration,furnishings & carpets.Jacuzzi out of order,changing rooms communal & unclean.Dogs barking for hours in neighbouring rooms. No lift.

    The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 7, 2018

    9.2
    Very good great value for money, a good place to stay even if you don't golf or fish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the staff where very friendly and polite, one member of the gym staff was very rude to another customer, even though the customer was in the right.

    Good value for money great location and scenery.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 26, 2018

    7.9
    Lovely location but hotel really needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The whole place good do with rerurb, decor is what they would call classical but most would call dates. Buckets in corridors to catch drip from ceiling and smell of smoke. It’s a shame as it really could be a top hotel

    Quiet hotel in lovely location, room had patio overlooking golf course

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    6.3
    Lovely location and staff, room needs improving
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room smelt like airfreshener covering up a smoke smell. All our clothed stunk. The beds were squishy and uncomfortable.

    Location was beautiful and staff were really friendly and helpful.The pool was nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    4.6
    Patshull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Property tired not very clean bed very small and not comfortable. Breakfast was quite poor cheap sausages no scrambled eggs and staff were moving furniture Behind us whilst we were eating

    The view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect overnight stay in clean, warm and comfortable room. Superb staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The staff here were absolutely lovely, kind and welcoming when we arrived, they upgraded our room because I looked tired from travelling! The room was very comfortable, gorgeous lake-view, gallons of hot water on tap for a long much-needed soak. We had the best night's sleep in the comfy bed with quality linens and value for money was superb. Honestly couldn't fault it , would stay here again in a heartbeat. Completely exceeded our expectations, thank-you !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    6.7
    Could of been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was rubbish on the floor down the side of the bed and the bath looked like it had poly filler on it to cover a hole in it.

    Staff were very welcoming

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    4.6
    Wouldn't stay again. Very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool was dirty and smelt of urine. Renovation work being carried out and jacoozi was not available. Upon check in was not told about this and was not told about check out, breakfast and spa times. Hotel is very dated. Extremely small bath. Mould in bedroom.

    Breakfast was lovely.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    5.8
    OK, but given the setting it could/should be so much better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is 'tired' and is clearly in need of a make-over. It was not unpleasant, but like many hotels in the UK it is very dated. The swimming pool (which we used) was being renovated at one end - we were not advised of this when we booked. During breakfast the staff seemed more interested in preparing for a wedding they were hosting later in the day than serving the paying guests.

    The setting in the grounds of the golf club was lovely with the lake etc. The pool was a useful facility.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    7.1
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room a little dated could do with refurbishing the taps didn’t turn on or off very well the toilet didn’t flush very well either thought it was over priced for what it was

    Room was clean and comfortable

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    8.8
    A good stay and a lovely venue for my friend's wedding......
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in a lovely setting and with a few cosmetic changes, could be absolutely beautiful. It's a little tired looking in parts and is maybe not quite reaching its full potential.

    The hotel was nice, staff were friendly and it was clean. Our room was adequate and comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 16, 2018

    9.6
    All staff I encountered were warm and welcoming especially...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to do with the hotel, my only comment is that it is a little bit out of the way. This didn't matter to me as I had work in the area and it is a golf club but there is nowhere elseto go to without driving.

    All staff I encountered were warm and welcoming especially at Reception and in the bar. Thank you to them. Room was a good size; bed very comfortable. Lighting good. Shower excellent; hot and powerful; towels large! A rarity - Sky Sports on the room television. Bar meal in evening was excellent, simple but plentiful and fresh. Breakfast was outstanding, buffet but kept fresh and with high quality produce. Finally, the grounds were beautiful and looking at over the lake at breakfast was a treat!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 7, 2018

    6.3
    Slightly disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The reason we booked this property was to use the spa. The memeber of staff finishes at 4 ( check in was from 2) and did not work Sunday. The was the sole purpose of housing the property

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    7.1
    Good, but with some small improvements could have been great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room a bit tired, bath damaged, sink plug leaked. Patio door stiff.poor lighting in room.could do with larger TV. Board band connection poor.

    Swimming pool great, views great,didn't eat at hotel as seemed very expensive breakfast £13.00 just to much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 4, 2018

    10
    excellent stay in a excellent place loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was perfect

    The staff were fabulous amazing in every way and ever so helpful I would really recommend this place it gave me the break I need as it's away from everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 23, 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful surroundings, helpful staff, but a tired hotel is disappointing.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was shocking. Signal is so poor. Hotel is very dated. Room could of been warmer, draft was cold.

    Staff very helpful, upgraded room so it was easier to take out my dog using the patio doors.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    7.9
    Especially large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My particular room (34) had an adjoining door to next room - which is great for families travelling together. However the partition door was not sound proofed and quite clear conversations could be heard through this connection - which is not great if the party next door are not related and not particularly quiet !!!

    Especially large room. Comfortable bed. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was cold when we arrived, twin beds (as requested) but pushed together made for a little awkwardness between friends. Toiletteries provided were surprisingly low quality; rough, translucent toilet paper and very cheap looking shampoo/conditioner made for an unpleasant bathroom experience. To top it off we were given eight minutes notice that our request for late check out had been denied. Rather put a dampener on an already rainy day.

    The location is the hotels saving grace.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 9, 2017

    7.9
    Good place to stop over would be great in the summer
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel was dated but still comfortable.

    Great bed large double Breakfast hot and tasty lots of choice. Staff very polite and nothing was too much trouble.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    5.4
    Needs an up grade with decor and facilities.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The sports facilities where tired , dirty and needed an update. The pool wasn’t able to be used with no explaination, the sauna and steam rooms where falling apart.

    Surroundings where beautiful .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    7.9
    Relaxed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar shut early and menu not massively varied. Checkout was incredibly slow, a queue stretching about 15 people deep.

    Friendly and relaxed. Caters for people not exactly looking for a wild night life.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    10
    Great value for money and would certainly go back. Helpful staff and clean hotel.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the location and the views from the hotel over the lake. Breakfast was first rate and the staff were terrific. although the hotel is a bit tired, it doesn't detract from the quality of the rooms and the staff who were all top notch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2017

    3.3
    Frightening never again
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel needs updating, torn wall paper on the walls, Chipped bath tub, hairs round the taps, old wooden dark wardrobes, curtains look like they could do with a wash, stained bedsheets and was not worth the money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    4.2
    Room smelt very musty on first entering then we had water...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    Room smelt very musty on first entering then we had water leaking through ceiling had to move to another room a 2.30am now can understand musty smell obvious problem before as we also noticed cracking in ceiling plaster which water leak was coming from. 2nd room didn't have a leak but did have leaking drain pipe outside window unfortunately for us had heavy rain so could hear that dripping all night. Management never offered any reimbursement for incident or inconvenience. Hotel needs maintenance attention and updating. Would not recommend staying here in its present state but with investment and care it could be a very nice place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2017

    8.8
    Value for money . Would be lovely location in summer but not so good in the snow.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Décor feels dated , has a 90's feel to the place. disappointed that all the golf facilities shut at 7pm as I was looking forward to hitting the driving range after work.

    Breakfast was good although complete lack of fried or poached eggs.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    5.4
    Not what we had hoped for but fine for singles and couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We ordered a family room for myself, daughter and my 1yr old granddaughter. The room was small and cramped and unsafe for a toddler , blood on the wall outside the bathroom, baby picked up dropped malteser type sweets which the cleaners had missed from under one of the beds.At 6pm we were told to order our evening meal as the chef was moving to the main restaurant. Thankfully we had a prepared meal for the baby but we could not eat at a time to suit us as this was too early and the main restaurant was opening too late so from the perspective of a small child the accommodation was not suitable. For singles or couples it'd be perfect.Excellent food and service for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2017

    10
    What a fantastic find! Highly recommended
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room wasn't huge but perfectly adequate

    Breakfast was fabulous and all the staff were super, friendly, plates cleared fast after dinner (pet hate of mine is them being left!) and even gave us great directions for our onward travel. Lovely view of the lake for breakfast too, we loved it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    10
    Country retreat with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are a bit dated, but this added to the charm.

    Absolutely amazing place and views. The rooms are a bit dated but this adds to the charm. Breakfast is amazing and lots of choice both hot and cold. Staff are very friendly and allowed us to check in early.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 15, 2017

    10
    Wonderful location to spend some time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Odd way to get to your room,through a lounge,Where people were sitting drinking,carrying your luggage,not too keen on that.

    Beautiful location,large clean room,very good coffee and biscuits in the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    10
    The best business hotel we have stayed in , have already booked again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower in the room was just an over the bath on the taps and didn't have the pressure for a good shower.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. The room was excellent with a fabulous view of the lake. We watched the golfers on the tee and there was lovely wildlife on the lake, owls to hear at night and so peaceful. The breakfast was excellent, really hot and fresh which is unusual for a buffet style full English,great choice of cereals, fruit and pastries too. Lovely swimming pool and leisure facilities and ample spacious bays in the car park. The location is good too as the village of Pattingham is one and a half miles away which has a great pub The Pigot which is first class for evening meals.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    9.2
    a lovely oasis in a splendid setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    corridors leading to rooms rather confusing layout; the peace and quiet suited us but it is reached by some small lanes and is a little way out of Wolverhampton for anyone visiting the town

    lovely parkland setting, with a large lake; free use of pool and fitness centre; very peaceful at night; good quality breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    8.8
    peaceful and relaxing despite attending family funeral.
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Limited choice of food in main restaurant. Reception staff not especially professional. Tended to talk amongst themselves and guests needed to grab their attention. Not a huge problem just an observation.

    Breakfast very good. Waitress on Tuesday and Wednesday morning was excellent. Views superb and the walk in the grounds was pleasant despite being mainly golf course. Room size ( superior room with lake views). Bar staff very good. Price of meals in bar was very reasonable. Opening times of lounge bar and earls bar coordinated well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    7.5
    A well positioned hotel for tranquiity and ironbridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn't like the hard bed, breakfast after theyhad a wedding was very disorganised! Breakfast- we were not given any information like the fact we had to order toast or frued eggs! Coffee urns very poor as took too long to wait for it to heat up! The health spa didn't operate at weekends. Also, didn't like that our room was amongst yhe wedding guests who made so much noise going to bed inthe early hours

    We liked the location,

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay with friendly staff and clean rooms. Good value for money.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the hotel was built in the 1980s and is starting to look a bit tired. The patio doors from the rooms are worn and hard to open. There is no air-con in the rooms, so you did need to open the window a bit. The bathroom also needed updating. You are not going to get blasted be the force of this shower. the bare brick and brown wood did feel a bit austere. wifi was a bit slow.

    Lovely setting, even if you don't play golf or fish! the grounds were well cared for and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2017

    8.3
    A pleasant break apart from the golf shop experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was mould on my bedroom wall & cobwebs in the dining area. Also when I enquired at the golf shop to hire clubs I was told they didn't hire them. Although later I read in the brochure that they did. I'm Hoping this response was Not due to the fact I was a black man. ?? Judging by the way he looked me over I would not be surprised if it was. Very disappointed

    Leisure facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic setting.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a fantastic stay, the only slight unpleasantness was the arrogance of restaurant manager/waitress we encountered on the evening of our arrival. She was very abrupt and unhelpful. (Definitely needed some cutomer-care training!) After the receptionist she was the next person we encountered and as they say, 'first impression last'. That said. the bar staff, and the waiting staff at breakfast the following morning were superb ambassadors for the hotel. As was the duty manager, whom we spoke to about our experience the previous evening.

    Fantastic setting. An oasis in the middle of an urban jungle. Extremely peaceful and restful. The Ideal setting when you've been on the road all day and need a place to regenerate.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2017

    6.3
    Not good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was boiling hot, no one had bothered to open the window ready for us coming. It was filthy round the back of the bed and bedside table...yuck!! Towels were like emery boards and for the money that wasn't good. Wifi only worked in the bar which is no good when you're on business

    Staff in the bar were lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    10
    Quiet and peaceful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    As expected it was a quiet place to stay, the staff were very friendly and the restaurant and service was excellent, we enjoyed it so much we have booked 2 further nights in August.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    9.2
    The rooms were very warm all through the night with no air...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were very warm all through the night with no air conditioning. You did get a desk fan but to have that running all night with the window open you didn't get a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    7.5
    Beautiful location, dog friendly, good food
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The toilet was very dirty on entering the room, but staff moved us quickly, the new room was clean, but bath was very chipped and had copious amounts of silicone filling in holes (10cm²). Carpets were not very clean throughout the hotel.The swimming pool changing rooms were not good, greasy black floors, the steam room was awful, black, damaged and needed replacing (sauna was ok). Staff were very friendly, but there was not enough of them, nobody was serving at the bar and one person running the restaurant. With a little investment it good be a rally great place.

    The location is stunning, staff are very friendly, dogs welcome at no cost, lower ground room with patio doors outside were great for the dogs. Evening meal good value and good quality.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2017

    7.1
    Only stay if you play golf and enjoy big groups of noisy golfers as you eat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sent my lamb back as tough as old boots only to order a 6 ounce ribeye that was more than half fat.a message from the cook no doubt.

    Staff great. Food not so good.you cannot walk in the grounds

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2017

    4.6
    Great place but dreadful breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was terrible - such a shame as I would love to stay there more but the service was slow - toast not toasted and then bacon, milk, fruit and pastries ran out before breakfast was over... I've stayed numerous times, but they did not acknowledge this in any way For the price I paid, this was not value in any way - sadly I would not recommend it The score shown is generated by Booking.com - I would say its a 6/10

    Finally I had a room that had good Wifi - Room 37 The member of staff at check out was great - the rest of the team just did not seem bothered about guests The hotel has a great location and its near to my family - that makes it let down makes this even worse

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 6, 2017

    8.8
    Ok but
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Food was not good. Limited choice and mediocre quality. I order a traditional cheese burger and it came first without cheese :-)

    The staff was very friendly particularly Emily from the front desk. The room are specious and the countryside is nice. The interior is not everyone's taste but it does the job and is in good shape

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2017

    8.8
    Was very happy with most things,just that the room we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was very happy with most things,just that the room we were given was very small no view of the wonderful grounds and bath room was not the best.stayed in room 26. Regards paul nesbitt

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2017

    7.1
    the room was lovely and looking over the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The man on reception was rude to us Although we had breakfast included in the price of our room and we were told by one member of staff that we could have breakfast delivered to our room for £3 they said to take order to reception . When I went down after filling in breakfast request form the man on reception said I had to pay £8 each for breakfast and had to come down to restaurant no room service available and was sharp. I had my confirmation which said breakfast include so a didn't pay any more. We were disappointed with breakfast sausages not very warm.

    the room was lovely and looking over the lake

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2017

    9.2
    Overall a great place
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower in one of my colleagues rooms didn't work very well and the thermostatic value on the radiator was stuck to off. This was reported to reception who were extremely sorry.

    Very comfortable, beer was nice, dinner was very nice as was breakfast. Great location and friendly and efficient staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: February 1, 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable place to stay with lovely views over lake
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The speed bumps on the approach to the hotel were annoying.

    The pillows on our bed were great not like other hotels that give you man made filled. The breakfast was also extremely good and plenty of choice. The only down side was the weather which was very wet and no fault of the hotel staff who were very friendly and cheerful at all times.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2017

    5.8
    Disappointed..
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The fact that our room was extremely cold.we could not turn on the heating. We had someone try our door at 3am in the morning. So disturbed sleep.and then breakfast was not very good. Sausages were black, beans dry and hash browns were were greasy. The table where we were seated was right by where u got coffee and breakfast cereal. So we didn't sit in peace we had other guests walking around and bumping into our chairs as we were trying to eat. So disappointed to say the least. Would we stay again very doubtful.

    I liked how friendly the staff were especially the bar staff helpful and down to earth.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2016

    3.8
    Nasty
    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Non-Refundable Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Staff are very rude food was nasty found a slug in my 7 year old drink old and ruff and the staff are not nice when it don't go there way I wold not stay there ever again why I was there 4 famelys was moaning about the place

    Not much tbh

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2016

    7.5
    Would not recommend
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Martyn and Emily on reception were miserable, not helpful at all - when my colleague asked about the wifi not being good in the room, he was told to go and sit in the corner in the lounge by the window to get signal! This is not great for individuals who need to do work in the evenings!

    The bed was really comfortable and the woman who served breakfast was nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2016

    4.6
    Smelly and dated hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi does not work even after switching rooms. The whole hotel has a horrible smell to it - I used the pool and it was dirty I had to get out after 5 minutes. The leisure facilities are also very dated. The whole place needs a refurb. I think they are cheeky charging £80 a room when it's in that state!

    The only nice part is the outside lake... outside smells better than inside!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2016

    7.5
    if wifi improved it would be a great business location, especially if you like to keep active!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms need a spruce up as I had peeling paint from a previous water leak. Mobile signal was poor internally which is difficult when away on business.

    lovely location, great facilities such as golf course, gym and spa. friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2016

    9.6
    Not a golfer but still enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked at reception 45 mins after getting there for more coffee and cream for our room still waiting when we left two days later[got some from the cleaning staff the next day. Also at breakfast some items missing of the table, cups and salt and pepper otherwise a very nice place to stay

    very good meals and good value

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    5.4
    Has the chance to be a fantastic hotel/venue, needs a bit of money spending !!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decor, rooms, bars very dated, has the chance to be a top notch hotel which it misses sadly. Seems to be a popular wedding venue which is great but very noisy in rooms and corridors for those not in the party. Shortage of bar staff for both wedding party and those there for a rest and not involved in the celebrations.

    Lovely location, dining staff very good, given the facilities available, golf, fishing and spa etc with a bit of investment could be a stunning venue for everything. Electric ring main packed up on second night so TV hairdryer for my wife and kettle to make coffee didn't work in the morning. Food was very good if a bit limited in choice, some fresh fruit for breakfast would have been nice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2016

    8.8
    Great location, quiet and comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Taps, curtains a bit dated and it wouldn't take much to update it and lift it a star. However we would certainly stay again

    Big rooms comfortable bed and quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2016

    10
    excellent excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive at the bar Two lagers 8.40

    Located on a stunning lake. Bars a little pricey. Staff go the extra mile and are the friendliest I've ever come across

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2016

    9.6
    Overnight stay in August
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    With such lovely views around the hotel its a shame the lounge does not have any windows and is a bit dark. We stayed on a fine evening, it would have been nice to sit outside and enjoy our drinks before dinner. However the restaurant has stunning views.

    The location and food for both breakfast and evening meal were great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 14, 2016

    6.3
    Enjoyed my sisters wedding but rooms let it down
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel needs refurbishing urgently. It's decor is outdated and smells fusty. No fan in bathroom. Shower rubbish. Would not recommend anyone to stay

    Food good bed good

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2016

    8.3
    Peaceful, comfortable and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough fresh fruit at breakfast.

    Peaceful and beautiful rural location but not far from most things by car. Relaxed atmosphere typical of a golf club. Dinner had a fair number of choices and was reasonably priced even if you were a captive customer! Staff were uniformly helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: